DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-20 and withdraws the claims 21-25 in the reply filed on 08/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sankman, U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0357721.
Regarding claim 1, Sankman discloses a microelectronic package comprising (3a).
a substrate 140,
a first die 114a connected to the substrate, the first die having a first perimeter, (the outer portion of 114a Fig.3A);
a second die 104a having a second perimeter (the outer portion of 104a, Fig. 3A), and
a layer located in between the first die and the second die, the layer 331,332/306,316 including a thermally conductive material and extending past at least one of a first portion of the first perimeter and a second portion of the second perimeter (paragraph 48, also see figure 3a, layer 331, 332/306.316 extends further in the horizontal direction than each of first and second dice 114a and 104a).
Regarding claims 2-3, Fig. 3A, Sankman discloses wherein the layer extends past opposite ends of at least one of the first perimeter and the second perimeter, or extends past an entire portion of the at least one of the first perimeter and the second perimeter.
Regarding claim 4, Sankman discloses wherein at least a portion of the thermally conductive layer 306 connected to substrate (Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 7, Sankman discloses at least one via extending from second die to first die (Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 9-10, Sankman discloses further comprising a heat sink or heat spreader (fig. 1).
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akram, U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0044773.
Regarding claim 1, Akram discloses a microelectronic package comprising (Fig. 1A):
a substrate 110,
a first die 130b connected to the substrate, the first die having a first perimeter(perimeter is boundary around the die);
a second die 130c having a second perimeter (perimeter is boundary around the die), and
a layer 150b located in between the first die and the second die, the layer 150b including a thermally conductive material and extending past at least one of a first portion of the first perimeter and a second portion of the second perimeter (paragaraph 23, see figure 1A layer 150b extends past the boundary of dice 130b and 130c).
Regarding claims 2-3, Fig. 1A, Akram discloses wherein the layer extends past opposite ends of at least one of the first perimeter and the second perimeter, or extends past an entire portion of the at least one of the first perimeter and the second perimeter.
Regarding claim 5, Akman discloses a plurality of electrical interconnects 138 (Fig. 1A) extending through at least a portion of the plurality of dies, wherein the plurality of layers defines through holes sized to allow vias to pass therethrough (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 6, Akram discloses the layer extending past the first portion and second portion of the perimeters is flexible (the heat transfer layer is placed by flex tape, [0038]).
Regarding claim 7, Akman discloses wherein the layer 150 includes a metallic material [0023].
Regarding claims 9-10, Akman discloses further comprising a heat sink or heat spreader (fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 11, Akram discloses a microelectronic package comprising (Fig. 1A):
a substrate 110,
a plurality of dies 130b, 130c stacked upon one another, each having a perimeter;
a plurality of layers 150 (150a-150d) including a thermally conductive material located between two adjacent dies die, the layer 159/150 and extending past a portion of the perimeter of the adjacent dies (Fig. 1A, paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 12, Akman discloses wherein at least one layer of the plurality of layers extends past opposite ends of at least one die of the plurality of dies (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claims 13-14, Akman discloses wherein a portion of one layer is connected to the substrate (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 15, Akman discloses a plurality of electrical interconnects 138 (Fig. 1A) extending through at least a portion of the plurality of dies, wherein the plurality of layers defines through holes sized to allow vias to pass therethrough (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 16, Akram discloses the layer extending past the first portion and second portion of the perimeters is flexible (the heat transfer layer is placed by flex tape, [0038]).
Regarding claim 17, Akman discloses wherein at least one layer includes a metallic material [0023].
Regarding claims 19-20, Akman discloses further comprising a heat sink or heat spreader (fig. 1A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akram, U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0044773.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Akram lacks specifically disclosing wherein the layer includes a graphene or carbon based material.
It is well known in the art, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Akram to use use graphene or carbon based material for the layer between the dies in order to provide best flexibility.
Conclusion
/THAO P LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818