DETAILED ACTION
This is an Office action based on application number 17/709,810 filed 31 August 2022, which is a continuation of PCT/US202/053774 filed 1 October 2020, which claims priority to US Provisional Application No. 62/908,871 filed 1 October 2019. Claims 1-4, 6-10, 13, 15, 17-22 are pending. Claims 5, 11-12, 14, 16, and 23 are canceled.
Amendments to the claims, filed 31 July 2026, have been entered into the above-identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 13, 15, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0329959 A1) (Barnes) in view of Navarro et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2012/0157629 A1) (Navarro).
Regarding instant claims 1 and 22:
Barnes discloses a two part curable composition comprising:
a first part comprising a cyanoacrylate component and a peroxide catalyst (Part A); and
a second part comprising a free radical curable component and a transition metal catalyst (Part B);
wherein when mixed together, the peroxide catalyst initiates cure of the free radical curable component, and the transition metal initiates cure of the cyanoacrylate component (Claim 1).
Barnes discloses that the cyanoacrylate component includes cyanoacrylate monomer (paragraph [0023]).
Barnes further discloses that additives are included in either or both of the Part A or the Part B compositions to influence a variety of performance properties (paragraph [0108]).
Barnes further discloses that said additives are inclusive of core-shell rubber particles (i.e., rubber particles having a shell) having an average particle size of less than about 200 nm (paragraph [0124]).
Barnes further discloses that the core is comprised of a polymeric material having rubbery properties (paragraph [0125]) (i.e., a polymeric rubber core).
Barnes further discloses that the shell is comprised of a thermoplastic polymer having a glass transition temperature greater than ambient temperatures, e.g., greater than about 50° C) (paragraph [0125]).
Barnes further discloses that the composition contains from about 5 to about 35 weight percent rubber particles (paragraph [0132]), which overlaps the claimed range; however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
Barnes does not disclose the specific core-shell polymers comprising at least two polymeric layers that are different from each other and wherein at least one layer comprises a gradient polymer.
However, Navarro discloses a core-shell copolymer impact modifier particle comprising a polymeric core and at least two polymeric layers, each layer with a different composition, wherein at least one polymeric layer comprises a polymer that is a gradient polymer (Claim 1).
Navarro defines “gradient polymer” as a copolymer that has gradient in repeat units arranged from mostly monomer A to mostly monomer B along much or all of the copolymer chain (paragraph [0047]).
Navarro teaches that the core-shell polymers are included in polymer compositions in proportions between 2/98 and 15/75 (paragraph [0099]).
Navarro further discloses that the core-shell copolymer impact modifier particles have a particle size advantageously between 170 nm and 350 nm (paragraph [0056]).
Navarro further discloses that the core comprises a rubber polymer (paragraph [0071]).
Navarro further discloses that at least one shell is a thermoplastic shell (paragraph [0056]). The scope of this disclosure encompasses an embodiment wherein the outermost shell is a thermoplastic.
Navarro further discloses that at least the outer shell has a glass transition temperature (Tg) greater than 25° C (paragraph [0057]).
Navarro teaches that an impact modified resin composition comprising the impact modifier has a good compromise of properties inclusive of having high impact strength while not decreasing the viscosity of the polymer composition and color change at elevated temperatures (paragraph [0042]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the prior art combination before him or her, to use the core-shell rubber particle comprising a gradient polymer shell layer of Navarro as the core-shell rubber particle desired by Barnes. The motivation for doing so would have been to impart, to the cured product, high impact strength without decreasing the viscosity of the polymer composition or causing color change at elevated temperatures.
As to the claimed “drop impact strength” recited by claims 1 and 22, the scope of the prior art combination encompasses an embodiment that is substantially identical to Applicant’s invention as set forth in the rejection of the claims above. One of ordinary skill in the art would necessarily conclude that such an encompassed embodiment must have the same properties as Applicant’s invention (i.e., inclusive of the drop impact strength recited by the instant claims). Therefore, the prior art combination necessarily obviates the property limitations recited by the instant claims.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP §2112.01(I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Navarro with Barnes to obtain the invention as specified by the instant claims.
Regarding instant claim 2:
Barnes further discloses that the cyanoacrylate component comprises H2C=C(CN)-COOR, wherein R is selected from alkyl, alkoxyalkyl, cycloalkyl, alkenyl, aralkyl, aryl, allyl, and haloalkyl groups (Claim 2).
Regarding instant claim 3:
Barnes further discloses that the peroxide catalyst comprises perbenzoates (Claim 3).
Regarding instant claim 4:
Barnes further discloses that the peroxide catalyst is t-butyl perbenzoate (Claim 4).
Regarding instant claim 6:
Barnes further discloses that the rubber particles having a core-shell structure have a core comprised of a polymeric material having rubbery properties (i.e., a glass transition temperature less than about 0° C) (paragraph [0125]).
Similarly, Navarro further discloses that the core-shell impact modifier comprises a polymeric core and at least two polymeric layers, each layer with a different polymer composition, one polymeric layer is a polymeric core layer with a different polymer composition than the core, wherein the polymeric core layer comprises a polymer that is a gradient polymer (paragraph [0039]).
Navarro further discloses that the core layer has a glass transition temperature (Tg) of less than 0° C (paragraph [0063]).
Regarding instant claim 7:
Navarro further discloses that the core-shell impact modifier comprise a polymeric core, at least one polymeric core layer, and at least two polymeric shell layers, wherein the core layer has a different composition than the polymeric core layer and the shell layers, wherein each shell layer has a different polymeric composition, and wherein at least one polymeric shell layer comprises a polymer that is a gradient polymer (paragraph [0040]).
Regarding instant claim 8:
Barnes further discloses that the rubber particles having a core-shell structure have a core comprised of a polymeric material having rubbery properties (i.e., a glass transition temperature less than about 0° C) (paragraph [0125]).
Similarly, Navarro further discloses that the rubber core has a glass transition temperature of more particularly between -90° C and -40° C (paragraph [0060]).
Regarding instant claim 9:
Barnes further discloses that the rubber particles having a core-shell structure have a core comprised of a polymeric material having rubbery properties (i.e., a glass transition temperature less than about 0° C) (paragraph [0125]).
Similarly, Navarro further discloses that the rubber core has a glass transition temperature of preferably between -80° C and -40° C (paragraph [0060]).
Regarding instant claim 10:
Barnes further discloses that the core is comprised of a diene homopolymer or copolymer (e.g., a homopolymer of butadiene or a copolymer of butadiene with one or more ethylenically unsaturated monomers) (paragraph [0125]).
Barnes further discloses that the core is comprised of a diene copolymer (e.g., a copolymer of butadiene with one or more ethylenically unsaturated monomers inclusive of vinyl aromatic monomers) (paragraph [0125]).
Barnes further discloses that the core is comprised of a diene copolymer (e.g., a copolymer of butadiene with one or more ethylenically unsaturated monomers inclusive of vinyl aromatic monomers and (meth)acrylates) (paragraph [0125]).
Similarly, Navarro further discloses that the rubber core is made of butadiene homopolymers and copolymers of butadiene with a vinyl monomer inclusive of styrene, an alkyl (meth)acrylate (paragraph [0061]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use both styrene and an alkyl (meth)acrylate as comonomers in combination with butadiene as both styrene and alkyl (meth)acrylates are recognized as copolymerizable with butadiene to form the disclosed rubber core. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007). See MPEP § 2143(A).
Regarding instant claims 13 and 15:
Barnes further discloses that additives are included in either or both of the Part A or the Part B compositions to influence a variety of performance properties (paragraph [0108]).
Navarro teaches that an impact modified resin composition comprising the impact modifier has a good compromise of properties inclusive of having high impact strength while not decreasing the viscosity of the polymer composition and color change at elevated temperatures (paragraph [0042]).
As each part of Barnes is combined to form the curable composition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the impact modifier in either one of or both parts of the curable composition to achieve a cured composition having the desired properties.
Regarding instant claim 17:
Barnes further discloses that the peroxide catalyst is present in an amount from about 0.01% to about 10% by weight of the cyanoacrylate component (Claim 6).
Regarding instant claim 18:
Barnes further discloses that the free radical curable component is a (meth)acrylate component selected from the group inclusive of polyethylene glycol di(meth)acrylates, tetrahydrofuran (meth)acrylates and di(meth)acrylates, hydroxypropyl (meth)acrylate, hexanediol di(meth)acrylate, trimethylol propane tri(meth)acrylate, diethylene glycol dimethacrylate, triethylene glycol dimethacrylate, benzylmethacrylate, tetraethylene glycol dimethacrylate, dipropylene glycol dimethacrylate, di-(pentamethylene glycol) dimethacrylate, tetraethylene diglycol diacrylate, digycerol tetramethacrylate, tetramethylene dimethacrylate, ethylene dimethacrylate, neopentyl glycol diacrylate, trimethylol propane triacrylate, ethoxylated bisphenol-A (meth)acrylate, ethoxylated bisphenol-F (meth)acrylate, and methacrylate-functional urethanes (Claim 8).
Regarding instant claim 19:
Barnes further discloses that the transition metal comprises a member selected from the group consisting of copper, vanadium, cobalt, and iron (Claim 9).
Regarding instant claim 20:
Barnes further discloses that the first part is housed in a first chamber of a dual chamber syringe and the second part is housed in a second chamber of a dual chamber syringe (Claim 10).
Regarding instant claim 21:
Barnes further discloses that that the second part comprises at least one of a plasticizer and a filler (Claim 11).
Answers to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art rejections of record are fully considered, but are unpersuasive.
Applicant traverses the section 103 rejections and maintains that Barnes and Navarro do not establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In support of their position, Applicant provides a Declaration under 37 CFR §1.132 by Seamas M. Grant (Grant July 2026 Declaration).
Applicant first contends that the purported combination of Barnes do not provide a reasonable expectation of success. Applicant argues that the cited references address fundamentally different systems, cyanoacrylate systems are chemically sensitive and unpredictable, and Navarro’s core-shell additive is not the same as Barnes’ core-shell additive.
Applicant’s first argument that the references represent fundamentally different systems is unpersuasive. The Barnes reference positively discloses that core-shell rubber particles comprising a rubber core and thermoplastic shell are readily incorporated into two-part curable composition; therefore, it would be within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art to use the similar core-shell rubber particles of Navarro as especially when those core-shell rubber particles of Navarro have the additional advantages of imparting high impact strength while not decreasing the viscosity of the polymer composition and causing color change at elevated temperatures. In other words, a reasonable expectation of success exists when replacing one core-shell rubber particle composition with another core-shell rubber particle composition that offers additional benefits. Although the two references disclose different systems into which the rubber particles, the Examiner maintains the position that the remarkably similar aspects of the two core-shell rubber particles disclosed in both references, as mapped out in the prior art rejections above, provides a reasonable expectation of success that of the interchangeability of one particle for another. Furthermore, the disclosure of Navarro that those compositions comprising the core-shell impact modifiers have a good compromise of properties inclusive of high impact strength and viscosity provide a motivation for such a replacement.
Applicant’s argument as to the chemical sensitivity and unpredictability of cyanoacrylate systems are unpersuasive. Both Applicant’s Arguments and the Grant July 2026 Declaration make broad statements that the properties of cyanoacrylates can be significantly changed by the selection and inclusion of additives and then conclude that the addition of Navarro’s core-shell cannot be added to such cyanoacrylate systems reliably. Such conclusions are not supported by evidence and are considered mere conjectures that the proposed combination of references would render the cyanoacrylate composition inoperable for its intended use. Such conjectures do not replace evidence to rebut any prima facie case of obviousness when evidence is necessary.
Applicant’s argument that the core-shell additive of Navarro is not the same as Barnes’ core-shell particle are unpersuasive. As mapped out above, the core-shell particles of both references are remarkably similar in terms of composition and intended use. If Applicant has evidence that the particles of Navarro would not function in the composition of Barnes or render any such function inoperable for its intended use, such evidence commensurate in scope of the claims should be presented to rebut any prima face case of obviousness.
Applicant further contends that the Office’s substantially identical embodiment theory is improper. Specifically, Applicant argues that no such embodiment exists in the prior art because no one reference discloses the composition of the claims, and the embodiment only exists after the Office constructs a hypothetical combination using Applicants’ claims as a roadmap.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive. As mapped out the in the rejection of record, the prior art combination discloses all of the claimed compositional requirements of the claims and a motivation to make such a combination. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the construction of the prior art must have the same properties as those recited by the claims. As to Applicant’s argument that the Office only constructs the hypothetical combination using Applicant’s claims as a roadmap, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant finally concludes that the claimed composition demonstrates unexpected results by way of the data in their original disclosure and in the Grant July 2026 Declaration. Applicant argues that neither Barnes nor Navarro provide those of ordinary skill in the art with the requisite expectation of success with respect to the level or direction of performance of this particular impact modifier in a two-part cyanoacrylate/free radical curable composition.
Applicant’s arguments as to unexpected results are unpersuasive. Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. See MPEP §716.02(d). In the instant case, Applicant’s evidence is narrower in scope than that of the claims because the evidence relies upon specific cyanoacrylate compositions, specific free radical curable components, and specific core-shell polymer particles, whereas Applicant’s broadest claimed invention (i.e., Claim 1) recites at least any cyanoacrylate monomer, any free radical curable component, and a broad core-shell rubber particle without specific recitation of composition. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably conclude that the narrower scope of the data provided by Applicant is evidence that the entire scope broader claimed invention would necessarily have the same unexpected results.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1788 10/09/2026
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788