DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
Plurality of spacers extending between the first and second load plates as in claim 34,
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 34 recites, “wherein the spacer is one of a plurality of spacers extending between the first and second load plates” which appears to be new matter not supported by the originally filed specification. None of the originally filed written description, claims, or drawings, provide support for the above-mentioned limitation.
Clarification or amendment are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stocken et al. (US 7,023,701 – hereinafter, “Stocken”) in view of Lin (US 2012/0162919).
With respect to claims 9, Stocken teaches (In Fig 2) an apparatus, comprising: a plurality of DIMMs (5, ¶ 0016, “The memory chips of the DIMM modules”) including a first DIMM (Right most 5 in Fig 2) and a second DIMM (Second to right most 5 in Fig 2), the first and second DIMMs adjacent to one another with no other DIMM therebetween (See Fig 2, the rightmost 5 and the second to right most 5 are adjacent to one another with no other DIMM between them, see Fig A below); a first heat spreader (Left 12 on the right most DIMM in Fig 2, see Fig A below) that is thermally coupled to respective memory chips (8) of a first side (Left side) of the first DIMM; a second heat spreader (Right 12 on the second to right most DIMM in Fig 2, see Fig A below) that is thermally coupled to respective memory chips (8) of a second side (Right side) of the second DIMM (See Fig 2), both the first and second heat spreaders between the first and second DIMMs (See Fig A below); a spring (11) between the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader (See Fig 2); a first load plate (Right vertical member of 10); a second load plate (Left vertical member of 10) coupled to the first load plate (See Fig 2), the plurality of DIMMs (5) between the first load plate and the second load plate (See Fig 2); and a heat sink (Top horizontal member of 10) the first DIMM to be between the heat sink and a connector (6) that the first DIMM is to plug into (See Fig 2), the heat sink to receive heat from the first and second heat spreaders (¶ 0014, “The contact area 12 can produce a connection between basic body 10 and the memory chips 8, which connection can ensure a good heat flow”), the heat sink having thermal transfer structures to facilitate thermal transfer between the heat sink and the heat sink’s ambient.
Stocken fails to specifically teach or suggest that the first and second load plates to be urged towards one another.
Lin, however, teaches (In Figs 1-2) first (Left 120) and second (Right 120) load plates urged towards one another (Via 200).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin with that of Stocken, such that, in Stocken the first and second load plates are urged toward one another, as taught by Lin, since doing so would assure good thermal conduction between the chips on the DIMM and the heat sink element.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25, 30-33, 35-44 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claim 25, see pp. 4-5 of the non-final rejection dated 1/16/2026
With respect to claims 30-33, 35-44, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 30 and at least in part because claim 30 recites, “tightening hardware to couple the first load plate to the second load plate, the tightening hardware to urge the first and second load plates towards one another to urge the first and second DIMMs towards the first and second heat spreaders respectively”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 30 are believed to render said claim 30 patentable over the art of record.
While Stocken teaches many of the limitations of claim 30 as per the above rejection to claim 9, neither Stocken nor Lin nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 30.
Claims 27-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 27, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 27 and at least in part because claim 27 recites, “wherein the spring is to urge the first heat spreader towards the first DIMM and to urge the second heat spreader towards the second DIMM”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 27 are believed to render said claim 27 patentable over the art of record.
While Stocken and Lin teaches many of the limitations of claim 27 as per the above rejection to claim 9, neither Stocken nor Lin nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 27.
With respect to claim 28, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 28 and at least in part because claim 28 recites, “the first load plate is adjustably moveable relative to the second load plate and adjustably moveable relative to the heat sink, and the second load plate is adjustably moveable relative to the heat sink”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 28 are believed to render said claim 28 patentable over the art of record.
While Stocken and Lin teaches many of the limitations of claim 28 as per the above rejection to claim 9, neither Stocken nor Lin nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 28.
With respect to claim 29, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 29 and at least in part because claim 29 recites, “the first and second load plates are a first distance apart, and the heat sink extends a second distance in a direction transverse to the first and second load plates, the second distance greater than the first distance”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 29 are believed to render said claim 29 patentable over the art of record.
While Stocken and Lin teaches many of the limitations of claim 29 as per the above rejection to claim 9, neither Stocken nor Lin nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 29.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claim 9 that, “As agreed during the Examiner Interview held on March 24, 2026, none of the cited references teach or suggest the recitations of claim 9. Accordingly, claim 9 and all claims depending therefrom are in condition for allowance.” (Present remarks page 7) the Examiner respectfully notes that current claim 9 was never presented to the Examiner for consideration during the interview on 3/24/26 and no agreement was reached on the allowability of said claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835