DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B, Subspecies 1, in the reply filed on 8 December 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 3, 6, 11, 14, 20, and 23 are therefore withdrawn, as reading on unelected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20160374189 A1, hereinafter “Lee”), in view of Eid et al (US 20210407877 A1, hereinafter “Eid”).
Regarding Claim 1 – Lee discloses an apparatus, comprising: a chassis (100, Lee [0051] and Fig. 2A), wherein the chassis comprises: at least one recess (Cavity C, Lee [0054] and Fig. 2A); and a modification structure within the at least one recess (130, Lee [0054] and Fig. 2A).
Lee fails to disclose the modification structure comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles.
However, Eid discloses the modification structure (considered a heat spreader material 475, Eid [0048]) comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles (Eid [0048] and Fig. 4B).
Like Lee, Eid discloses a structure that comprises a heat dissipation structure for removing heat generated by an IC. Eid teaches using a porous modification structure formed by particles for the benefit of having direct contact with the structure to be cooled without the use of an intervening thermal interface material (TIM) (Eid [0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Eid to form a modification structure using a plurality of fused material particles for the benefit of eliminating the thermal interface material in a thermal conduction path.
Regarding Claim 2 – Lee modified by Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Lee and Eid further discloses the modification structure has a higher thermal conductivity than a thermal conductivity of the chassis (The thermal conductivity of the heat spreader material 475 may exceed that of the frame material 410, Eid [0052]).
Eid discloses an analogous structure to Lee that comprises a heat dissipation structure for removing heat generated by an IC. Eid teaches making the modification structure thermal conductivity higher than that of the chassis for the benefit of improved thermal performance (Eid [0031]).
Regarding Claim 4 – Lee modified by Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Lee and Eid inherently discloses the modification structure has a lower density than a density of the chassis (Modification structure may comprise aluminum, Lee [0054], and chassis may comprise Invar, Lee [0052]. See MPEP 2112(II)).
Regarding Claim 5 – Lee modified by Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Lee and Eid inherently discloses the modification structure has a higher yield strength than a yield strength of the chassis (The modification structure may comprise aluminum (Lee [0054]), and the chassis may comprise epoxy (Lee [0052]). See MPEP 2112(II)).
Regarding Claim 7 – Lee modified by Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Lee and Eid further discloses the chassis comprises a first surface and an opposing second surface (1st Surface and 2nd Surface in annotated Lee Fig. 2A), and wherein the at least one recess extends through the chassis from the first surface to the second surface thereof (Cavity C may pass through the entire chassis, Lee [0056] and Fig. 2A).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20160374189 A1, hereinafter “Lee”), in view of Eid et al (US 20210407877 A1, hereinafter “Eid”), and further in view of Hirono et al (US 20200080792 A1, hereinafter “Hirono”).
Regarding Claim 8 – Lee modified by Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 7.
The combination of Lee and Eid fails to expressly disclose the modification structure is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough.
However, Hirono discloses the modification structure (Porous metal film, Hirono [0039]) is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough (working fluid boiled in pores, Hirono [0061], so air in inherently possible as alternative fluid).
Hirono presents an analogous application of a metal structure for heat transfer. Hirono teaches a metal film with inter-connected pores to allow fluid flow through the film for the benefit of efficient heat exchange (Hirono [0055-0058], [0110]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a modification structure sufficiently porous to allow fluid flow through the structure for the benefit of efficient heat exchange.
Claims 9-10, 12-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju et al (US 20130077252 A1, hereinafter “Ju”), in view of Lee (US 20160374189 A1, hereinafter “Lee”), and further in view of Eid et al (US 20210407877 A1, hereinafter “Eid”).
Regarding Claim 9 – Ju discloses an apparatus, comprising: an integrated circuit assembly (processor 2, Ju [0037] and Fig. 4); a chassis at least partially encasing the integrated circuit assembly (main circuit board 1, Ju [0035] and Fig. 4), wherein the chassis comprises: at least one recess (through hole 13, Ju [0036] and Fig. 4).
Ju fails to disclose a modification structure within the at least one recess, wherein the modification structure comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles.
However, Lee discloses a modification structure within the at least one recess (130, Lee [0054] and Fig. 2A).
Lee discloses a chassis structure with heat spreading capability analogous to Ju. Lee teaches a modification structure in the recess for the benefit of additional heat dissipation without additional height (Lee [0007]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ju and Lee to place a modification structure in the recess for the benefit of additional heat dissipation without additional height.
Lee fails to disclose the modification structure comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles.
However, Eid discloses the modification structure (considered a heat spreader material 475, Eid [0048]) comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles (Eid [0048] and Fig. 4B).
Like Ju, Eid discloses a structure that comprises a dissipation path for heat generated by an IC. Eid teaches using a porous modification structure formed by particles for the benefit of having direct contact with the structure to be cooled without the use of an intervening thermal interface material (TIM) (Eid [0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Eid to form a modification structure using a plurality of fused material particles for the benefit of eliminating the thermal interface material in a thermal conduction path.
Regarding Claim 10 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid, discloses all the limitations of claim 9.
The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid further discloses the modification structure has a higher thermal conductivity than a thermal conductivity of the chassis (The thermal conductivity of the heat spreader material 475 may exceed that of the frame material 410, Eid [0052]).
Eid discloses an analogous structure to Lee that comprises a heat dissipation structure for removing heat generated by an IC. Eid teaches making the modification structure thermal conductivity higher than that of the chassis for the benefit of improved thermal performance (Eid [0031]).
Regarding Claim 12 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid, discloses all the limitations of claim 9.
The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid inherently discloses the modification structure has a lower density than a density of the chassis (The modification structure may comprise aluminum, Lee [0054], and the chassis may comprise Invar, Lee [0052]. See MPEP 2112(II)).
Regarding Claim 13 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid, discloses all the limitations of claim 9.
The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid inherently discloses the modification structure has a higher yield strength than a yield strength of the chassis (The modification structure may comprise aluminum (Lee [0054]), and the chassis may comprise epoxy (Lee [0052]). See MPEP 2112(II)).
Regarding Claim 15 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid, discloses all the limitations of claim 9.
The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid further discloses the chassis comprises a first surface and an opposing second surface (1st Surface and 2nd Surface in annotated Lee Fig. 2A), and wherein the at least one recess extends through the chassis from the first surface to the second surface thereof (Cavity C may pass through the entire chassis, Lee [0056] and Fig. 2A).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju et al (US 20130077252 A1, hereinafter “Ju”), in view of Lee (US 20160374189 A1, hereinafter “Lee”), and further in view of Eid et al (US 20210407877 A1, hereinafter “Eid”), and further in view of Hirono et al (US 20200080792 A1, hereinafter “Hirono”).
Regarding Claim 16 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid, discloses all the limitations of claim 15.
The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid fails to expressly disclose the modification structure is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough.
However, Hirono discloses the modification structure (Porous metal film, Hirono [0039]) is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough (working fluid boiled in pores, Hirono [0061], so air in inherently possible as alternative fluid).
Hirono presents an analogous application of a metal structure for heat transfer. Hirono teaches a metal film with inter-connected pores to allow fluid flow through the film for the benefit of efficient heat exchange (Hirono [0055-0058], [0110]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a modification structure sufficiently porous to allow fluid flow through the structure for the benefit of efficient heat exchange.
Regarding Claim 17 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid and Hirono, discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
The combination of Ju, Lee, Eid, and Hirono further discloses a fan adjacent the modification structure (Hirono [0108] and Fig. 5).
Hirono discloses a system for heat exchange and dissipation analogous to Ju. Hirono teaches installing a fan in the vicinity of the modification structure for the benefit of enhancing the heat exchange (Hirono [0108]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ju and Hirono to place a fan in the vicinity of the modification structure to enhance heat exchange.
Claims 18-19, 21-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju et al (US 20130077252 A1, hereinafter “Ju”), in view of Lee (US 20160374189 A1, hereinafter “Lee”), and further in view of Eid et al (US 20210407877 A1, hereinafter “Eid”).
Regarding Claim 18 – Ju discloses a system, comprising: a board substrate; an integrated circuit assembly (processor 2, Ju [0037] and Fig. 4) electrically attached to the board substrate (Ju [0041]); and a chassis at least partially encasing the integrated circuit assembly (main circuit board 1, Ju [0035] and Fig. 4), wherein the chassis comprises: at least one recess (through hole 13, Ju [0036] and Fig. 4).
Ju fails to disclose a modification structure within the at least one recess, wherein the modification structure comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles.
However, Lee discloses a modification structure within the at least one recess (130, Lee [0054] and Fig. 2A).
Lee discloses a chassis structure with heat spreading capability analogous to Ju. Lee teaches a modification structure in the recess for the benefit of additional heat dissipation without additional height (Lee [0007]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ju and Lee to place a modification structure in the recess for the benefit of additional heat dissipation without additional height.
Lee fails to disclose the modification structure comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles.
However, Eid discloses the modification structure (considered a heat spreader material 475, Eid [0048]) comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles (Eid [0048] and Fig. 4B).
Like Ju, Eid discloses a structure that comprises a dissipation path for heat generated by an IC. Eid teaches using a porous modification structure formed by particles for the benefit of having direct contact with the structure to be cooled without the use of an intervening thermal interface material (TIM) (Eid [0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Eid to form a modification structure using a plurality of fused material particles for the benefit of eliminating the thermal interface material in a thermal conduction path.
Regarding Claim 19 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid, discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid further discloses the modification structure has a higher thermal conductivity than a thermal conductivity of the chassis (The thermal conductivity of the heat spreader material 475 may exceed that of the frame material 410, Eid [0052]).
Eid discloses an analogous structure to Lee that comprises a heat dissipation structure for removing heat generated by an IC. Eid teaches making the modification structure thermal conductivity higher than that of the chassis for the benefit of improved thermal performance (Eid [0031]).
Regarding Claim 21 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid, discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid inherently discloses the modification structure has a lower density than a density of the chassis (The modification structure may comprise aluminum, Lee [0054], and the chassis may comprise Invar, Lee [0052]. See MPEP 2112(II)).
Regarding Claim 22 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid, discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid inherently discloses the modification structure has a higher yield strength than a yield strength of the chassis (The modification structure may comprise aluminum (Lee [0054]), and the chassis may comprise epoxy (Lee [0052]). See MPEP 2112(II)).
Regarding Claim 24 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid, discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid further discloses the chassis comprises a first surface and an opposing second surface (1st Surface and 2nd Surface in annotated Lee Fig. 2A), and wherein the at least one recess extends through the chassis from the first surface to the second surface thereof (Cavity C may pass through the entire chassis, Lee [0056] and Fig. 2A).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju et al (US 20130077252 A1, hereinafter “Ju”), in view of Lee (US 20160374189 A1, hereinafter “Lee”), and further in view of Eid et al (US 20210407877 A1, hereinafter “Eid”), and further in view of Hirono et al (US 20200080792 A1, hereinafter “Hirono”).
Regarding Claim 25 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid, discloses all the limitations of claim 24.
The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid fails to expressly disclose the modification structure is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough.
However, Hirono discloses the modification structure (Porous metal film, Hirono [0039]) is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough (working fluid boiled in pores, Hirono [0061], so air in inherently possible as alternative fluid).
Hirono presents an analogous application of a metal structure for heat transfer. Hirono teaches a metal film with inter-connected pores to allow fluid flow through the film for the benefit of efficient heat exchange (Hirono [0055-0058], [0110]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a modification structure sufficiently porous to allow fluid flow through the structure for the benefit of efficient heat exchange.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karci et al, “Design of a high-precision, 0.5 m aperture Cassegrain collimator”, Applied Optics, Vol. 50, No. 27, 20 September 2020; (https://www.researchgate.net/publication/343959705_Design_of_a_high-precision_05_m_aperture_Cassegrain_collimator) - Karci confirms aluminum has a density of 2.7 g/cm3, which is lower than Invar at a density of approximately 8.1 g/cm3, Karci Table 2).
Engineering ToolBox (The Engineering ToolBox (2008). Aluminum Alloys - Mechanical Properties. [online] Available at: https://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/properties-aluminum-pipe-d_1340.html [Accessed 2 February 2026], hereinafter “ETB”) - ETB verifies the yield strength of aluminum may range from 24 MPa to 483 MPa (ETB Table “Aluminum Alloys – Mechanical Properties”).
Ku et al, “Tensile Test of Glass Powder Reinforced Epoxy Composites: Pilot Study”, Advanced Materials Research, ISSN: 1662-8985, Vol. 214, Feb. 2011, pp 1–5, hereinafter “Ku”) - Ku verifies the yield strength of epoxy is approximately 18 MPa and lower, depending on glass content (Ku [Fig. 1]).
/JASON MCDONALD/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898