CTFR 17/710,658 CTFR 100838 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Status The amendments to claim 1 dated 11 May 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 3-25 have been cancelled. Claims 26-48 have been added. Claims 27, 36, and 45 are withdrawn, as being drawn to non-elected species. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 33 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp. , 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “encasing” in claims 33 and 42 is used by the claims to mean “covering” (as shown in Figure 1), while the accepted meaning is “enclosing.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. For the purpose of examination, the term “encasing” will be replaced with “at least partially encasing”, consistent with the specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 26, 28-29, 33-35, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju et al (US 20130077252 A1, hereinafter “Ju”), in view of Lee (US 20160374189 A1, hereinafter “Lee”), and further in view of Eid et al (US 20210407877 A1, hereinafter “Eid”) . Regarding Claim 1 - Ju discloses an apparatus, comprising: an integrated circuit assembly comprising: an electronic substrate (20 [0037] and Fig. 3) attached to a board substrate (3 [0039] and Fig. 3); and an integrated circuit device (21 [0037] and Fig. 3) attached to the electronic substrate; and a chassis housing the integrated circuit assembly (1 [0035] and Fig. 3), the chassis comprising: at least one recess extending through the chassis from a first surface to a second surface thereof (13 [0036] and Fig. 3), wherein the integrated circuit assembly is adjacent to the second surface (12 [0036] and Fig. 3). Ju fails to disclose a modification structure within the at least one recess, wherein the modification structure comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles having a lamellar structure. However, Lee discloses a modification structure within the at least one recess (130, Lee [0054] and Fig. 2A). Lee discloses a chassis structure with heat spreading capability analogous to Ju. Lee teaches a modification structure in the recess for the benefit of additional heat dissipation in a circuit board (Lee [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ju and Lee to place a modification structure in the recess for the benefit of additional heat dissipation in a circuit board. Lee fails to disclose the modification structure comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles having a lamellar structure. However, Eid discloses the modification structure (considered a heat spreader material 475, Eid [0048]) comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles having a lamellar structure (Eid [0048], [0054], and Figs. 4B and 5). Like Ju, Eid discloses a structure that comprises a dissipation path for heat generated by an IC. Eid teaches using a porous modification structure formed by particles for the benefit of having direct contact with the structure to be cooled without the use of an intervening thermal interface material (TIM) (Eid [0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Eid to form a modification structure using a plurality of fused material particles for the benefit of eliminating the thermal interface material in a thermal conduction path. PNG media_image1.png 471 446 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 238 466 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 390 593 media_image3.png Greyscale PNG media_image4.png 696 584 media_image4.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 2 – Ju modified by Lee and Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid further discloses the modification structure has a higher thermal conductivity than a thermal conductivity of the chassis (The thermal conductivity of the heat spreader material 475 may exceed that of the frame material 410, Eid [0052]). Eid discloses an analogous structure to Ju that comprises a heat dissipation structure for removing heat generated by an IC. Eid teaches making the modification structure thermal conductivity higher than that of the chassis for the benefit of improved thermal performance (Eid [0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Ju and Eid to make the modification structure thermal conductivity higher than that though the chassis for the benefit of improved thermal performance. Regarding Claim 26 – Ju modified by Lee and Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 2. The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid further discloses a heat dissipation device on the second surface of the chassis (22, Ju [0040] and Fig. 3) and adjacent to the modification structure, wherein the fused modification material particles comprise one of copper, aluminum, nickel, diamond, or graphite (Eid [0056-0057]). Regarding Claim 28 – Ju modified by Lee and Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid inherently discloses the modification structure has a lower density than a density of the chassis (Modification structure may comprise aluminum, Lee [0054], and chassis may comprise Invar, Lee [0052]. See MPEP 2112(II)). Regarding Claim 29 – Ju modified by Lee and Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid inherently discloses the modification structure has a higher yield strength than a yield strength of the chassis (The modification structure may comprise aluminum (Lee [0054]), and the chassis may comprise epoxy (Lee [0052]). See MPEP 2112(II)). Regarding Claim 33 – Ju discloses an apparatus, comprising: an assembly comprising: a substrate (20 [0037] and Fig. 3) coupled to a board (3 [0039] and Fig. 3); and an integrated circuit device coupled to the substrate (21 [0037] and Fig. 3); and a chassis at least partially encasing the assembly (1 [0035] and Fig. 3), the chassis comprising: a recess extending through the chassis from a first surface to a second surface thereof (13 [0036] and Fig. 3), wherein the integrated circuit device of the assembly is adjacent to the second surface (12 [0036] and Fig. 3); and a structure within the recess, wherein the structure comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles having a lamellar structure. Ju fails to disclose a structure within the recess, wherein the structure comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles having a lamellar structure. However, Lee discloses a structure within the recess (130, Lee [0054] and Fig. 2A). Lee discloses a chassis structure with heat spreading capability analogous to Ju. Lee teaches a structure in the recess for the benefit of additional heat dissipation in a circuit board (Lee [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ju and Lee to place a structure in the recess for the benefit of additional heat dissipation in a circuit board. Lee fails to disclose the structure comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles having a lamellar structure. However, Eid discloses the structure (considered a heat spreader material 475, Eid [0048]) comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles having a lamellar structure (Eid [0048], [0054], and Figs. 4B and 5). Like Ju, Eid discloses a structure that comprises a dissipation path for heat generated by an IC. Eid teaches using a porous structure formed by particles for the benefit of having direct contact with the structure to be cooled without the use of an intervening thermal interface material (TIM) (Eid [0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Eid to form a structure using a plurality of fused material particles for the benefit of eliminating the thermal interface material in a thermal conduction path. Regarding Claim 34 – Ju modified by Lee and Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 33. The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid further discloses the structure has a higher thermal conductivity than a thermal conductivity of the chassis (The thermal conductivity of the heat spreader material 475 may exceed that of the frame material 410, Eid [0052]). Eid discloses an analogous structure to Ju that comprises a heat dissipation structure for removing heat generated by an IC. Eid teaches making the structure thermal conductivity higher than that of the chassis for the benefit of improved thermal performance (Eid [0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Ju and Eid to make the structure thermal conductivity higher than that though the chassis for the benefit of improved thermal performance. Regarding Claim 35 – Ju modified by Lee and Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 34. The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid further discloses a heat dissipation device on the second surface of the chassis (22, Ju [0040] and Fig. 3) adjacent to the structure, wherein the fused modification material particles comprise one of copper, aluminum, nickel, diamond, or graphite (Eid [0056-0057]). Regarding Claim 37 – Ju modified by Lee and Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 33. The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid inherently discloses the structure has a lower density than a density of the chassis (Modification structure may comprise aluminum, Lee [0054], and chassis may comprise Invar, Lee [0052]. See MPEP 2112(II)). Regarding Claim 38 – Ju modified by Lee and Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 33. The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid inherently discloses the structure has a higher yield strength than a yield strength of the chassis (The modification structure may comprise aluminum (Lee [0054]), and the chassis may comprise epoxy (Lee [0052]). See MPEP 2112(II)) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 30-32, 39-44, and 46-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju et al (US 20130077252 A1, hereinafter “Ju”), in view of Lee (US 20160374189 A1, hereinafter “Lee”), and further in view of Eid et al (US 20210407877 A1, hereinafter “Eid”), and further in view of Hirono et al (US 20200080792 A1, hereinafter “Hirono”) . Regarding Claim 30 – Ju modified by Lee and Eid discloses all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid fails to expressly disclose the modification structure is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough. However, Hirono discloses the modification structure (Porous metal film, Hirono [0039]) is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough (working fluid boiled in pores, Hirono [0061], so air in inherently possible as alternative fluid). Hirono presents an analogous application of a metal structure for heat transfer. Hirono teaches a metal film with inter-connected pores to allow fluid flow through the film for the benefit of efficient heat exchange (Hirono [0055-0058], [0110]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a modification structure sufficiently porous to allow fluid flow through the structure for the benefit of efficient heat exchange. Regarding Claim 31 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid and Hirono, discloses all the limitations of claim 30. The combination of Ju, Lee, Eid, and Hirono further discloses a fan on the second surface of the chassis (considered to be the side on which Hirono presents the fan over the modification structure in Fig. 5) and over the at least one recess and the modification structure (Hirono [0108] and Fig. 5). Hirono discloses a system for heat exchange and dissipation analogous to Ju. Hirono teaches installing a fan and heat pipe on the second surface of the chassis for the benefit of enhancing the heat exchange (Hirono [0108-0110]) in a circuit board (Lee [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ju and Hirono to consider placing a fan on the second surface of the chassis to enhance heat exchange in a circuit board. PNG media_image5.png 771 558 media_image5.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 32 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid and Hirono, discloses all the limitations of claim 31. The combination of Ju, Lee, Eid, and Hirono further discloses a heat pipe on the second surface of the chassis and adjacent to the fan (61, Hirono [0103] and Fig. 5). Regarding Claim 39 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid, discloses all the limitations of claim 33. The combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid fails to expressly disclose the structure is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough. However, Hirono discloses the structure (Porous metal film, Hirono [0039]) is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough (working fluid boiled in pores, Hirono [0061], so air in inherently possible as alternative fluid). Hirono presents an analogous application of a metal structure for heat transfer. Hirono teaches a metal film with inter-connected pores to allow fluid flow through the film for the benefit of efficient heat exchange (Hirono [0055-0058], [0110]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a modification structure sufficiently porous to allow fluid flow through the structure for the benefit of efficient heat exchange. Regarding Claim 40 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid and Hirono, discloses all the limitations of claim 39. The combination of Ju, Lee, Eid, and Hirono further discloses a fan on the second surface of the chassis (considered to be the side on which Hirono presents the fan over the modification structure in Fig. 5) and over the recess and the structure (Hirono [0108] and Fig. 5). Hirono discloses a system for heat exchange and dissipation analogous to Ju. Hirono teaches installing a fan and heat pipe on the second surface of the chassis for the benefit of enhancing the heat exchange (Hirono [0108-0110]) in a circuit board (Lee [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ju and Hirono to consider placing a fan on the second surface of the chassis to enhance heat exchange in a circuit board. Regarding Claim 41 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid and Hirono, discloses all the limitations of claim 40. The combination of Ju, Lee, Eid, and Hirono further discloses a heat pipe on the second surface of the chassis and adjacent to the fan (61, Hirono [0103] and Fig. 5). Regarding Claim 42 - Ju discloses an apparatus, comprising: an integrated circuit assembly comprising: an electronic substrate (20 [0037] and Fig. 3) on a board substrate (3 [0039] and Fig. 3); and an integrated circuit device on the electronic substrate (21 [0037] and Fig. 3); a chassis at least partially encasing the integrated circuit assembly (1 [0035] and Fig. 3), the chassis comprising: a recess extending through the chassis from a first surface to a second surface thereof (13 [0036] and Fig. 3), wherein the integrated circuit assembly of the integrated circuit assembly is adjacent to the second surface (12 [0036] and Fig. 3). Ju fails to disclose a modification structure within the recess, wherein the modification structure comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles having a lamellar structure, and the modification structure is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough; and a fan on the second surface and over the modification structure, the fan to draw air through the modification structure. However, Lee discloses a modification structure within the recess (130, Lee [0054] and Fig. 2A). Lee discloses a chassis structure with heat spreading capability analogous to Ju. Lee teaches a modification structure in the recess for the benefit of additional heat dissipation in a circuit board (Lee [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ju and Lee to place a modification structure in the recess for the benefit of additional heat dissipation in a circuit board. Lee fails to disclose the modification structure comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles having a lamellar structure, and the modification structure is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough; and a fan on the second surface and over the modification structure, the fan to draw air through the modification structure. However, Eid discloses the modification structure (considered a heat spreader material 475, Eid [0048]) comprises a plurality of fused modification material particles having a lamellar structure (Eid [0048], [0054], and Figs. 4B and 5). Like Ju, Eid discloses a structure that comprises a dissipation path for heat generated by an IC. Eid teaches using a porous modification structure formed by particles for the benefit of having direct contact with the structure to be cooled without the use of an intervening thermal interface material (TIM) (Eid [0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Eid to form a modification structure using a plurality of fused material particles for the benefit of eliminating the thermal interface material in a thermal conduction path. Eid fails to expressly disclose the modification structure is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough; and a fan on the second surface and over the modification structure, the fan to draw air through the modification structure. However, Hirono discloses the modification structure (Porous metal film, Hirono [0039]) is sufficiently porous to allow air flow therethrough (working fluid boiled in pores, Hirono [0061], so air in inherently possible as alternative fluid); and a fan on the second surface and over the modification structure (considered to be the side on which Hirono presents the fan over the modification structure in Fig. 5), the fan to draw air through the modification structure (Hirono [0108] and Fig. 5). Hirono discloses a system for heat exchange and dissipation compatible with Ju. Hirono teaches a metal film with inter-connected pores to allow fluid flow through the film, a fan, and a heat pipe on the second surface of the chassis for the benefit of enhancing the heat exchange (Hirono [0055-0058], [0108-0110]) in a circuit board (Lee [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a modification structure sufficiently porous to allow fluid flow through the structure, and include a fan and heat pipe for the benefit of efficient heat exchange. Regarding Claim 43 – Ju modified by Lee, Eid, and Hirono discloses all the limitations of claim 42. The combination of Ju, Lee, Eid, and Hirono further discloses a second modification structure within a second recess of the chassis, the second modification structure having a higher thermal conductivity than a thermal conductivity of the chassis (The thermal conductivity of the heat spreader material 475 may exceed that of the frame material 410, Eid [0052]). Eid discloses an analogous structure to Ju that comprises a heat dissipation structure for removing heat generated by an IC. Eid teaches making the modification structure thermal conductivity higher than that of the chassis for the benefit of improved thermal performance (Eid [0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Ju and Eid to make the modification structure thermal conductivity higher than that though the chassis for the benefit of improved thermal performance. Regarding Claim 44 – Ju modified by Lee, Eid, and Hirono discloses all the limitations of claim 43. The combination of Ju, Lee, Eid, and Hirono further discloses a heat dissipation device on the second surface of the chassis adjacent to the modification structure (22, Ju [0040] and Fig. 3), wherein the fused modification material particles comprise one of copper, aluminum, nickel, diamond, or graphite (Eid [0056-0057]). Regarding Claim 46 – Ju modified by Lee, Eid, and Hirono discloses all the limitations of claim 42. The combination of Ju, Lee, Eid, and Hirono fails to expressly disclose a second modification structure within a second recess of the chassis, the second modification structure having a lower density than a density of the chassis. However, a second modification structure within a second recess of the chassis represents a duplication of parts, and is not patentable over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Additionally, the combination of Ju, Lee, Eid, and Hirono inherently discloses the second modification structure having a lower density than a density of the chassis (This is a duplication of parts, and is not patentable over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Furthermore, the modification structure may comprise aluminum, Lee [0054], and chassis may comprise Invar, Lee [0052]. See MPEP 2112(II)). Regarding Claim 47 – Ju modified by Lee, Eid, and Hirono discloses all the limitations of claim 42. The combination of Ju, Lee, Eid, and Hirono inherently discloses a second modification structure within a second recess of the chassis, the second modification structure having a higher yield strength than a yield strength of the chassis (This is a duplication of parts, and is not patentable over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Furthermore, the modification structure may comprise aluminum (Lee [0054]), and the chassis may comprise epoxy (Lee [0052]). See MPEP 2112(II)). Regarding Claim 48 – Ju modified by Lee, and further modified by Eid and Hirono, discloses all the limitations of claim 42. The combination of Ju, Lee, Eid, and Hirono further discloses a heat pipe on the second surface of the chassis and adjacent to the fan (61, Hirono [0103] and Fig. 5). Response to Arguments Claim 1 was amended to incorporate an electronic substrate, a board substrate, and integrated circuit device, as well the modification structure having a lamellar structure. These points have been addressed above with reference to Ju, Lee and Eid. The electronic substrate (20, Ju [0037] and Fig. 3) attached to a board substrate (3, Ju [0039] and Fig. 3); and an integrated circuit device (21, Ju [0037] and Fig. 3) are presented by Ju, and motivation to combine with Lee and Eid explained above. The other, new claims follow the same basic apparatus structure provided by the combination of Ju, Lee, and Eid, with the addition of the teachings of Hirono for enhanced cooling. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JASON MCDONALD whose telephone number is (571) 272-5944. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8a-6p Eastern, alternating Fridays out of office. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julio Maldonado can be reached at (571) 272-1864. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JASON MCDONALD/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898 Application/Control Number: 17/710,658 Page 2 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 17/710,658 Page 3 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 17/710,658 Page 4 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 17/710,658 Page 5 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 17/710,658 Page 6 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 17/710,658 Page 7 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 17/710,658 Page 8 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 17/710,658 Page 9 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 17/710,658 Page 10 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 17/710,658 Page 11 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 17/710,658 Page 12 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 17/710,658 Page 13 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 17/710,658 Page 14 Art Unit: 2898