DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh et al (US Publication 20230068485) in view of Williamson et al (US Publication 20220319954).
Regarding claim 1, Hsueh teaches a device comprising:
a main body structure comprising an integrated circuit (IC) die (Fig. 6A, 100), wherein:
the IC die comprises a backside (Fig. 6A, top of 100), and a front side opposite the backside (Fig. 6A, bottom of 100), the front side comprising a footprint and a plurality of conductive contacts (Fig. 6A, bottom of 100 and contacts 150/160);
an exterior surface of the main body structure comprises:
the backside of the IC die (Fig. 6A, top of 100); and
a sidewall structure comprising a first portion proximate the front side and substantially perpendicular to the backside (Fig. 6A, 110P1 proximate and perpendicular to top of 100); and
an overhang portion proximate the backside (Fig. 6A, overhang portion proximate to top of 100 including 110P3 and 110P2), the overhang portion adjoining the sidewall structure and extending outside of the footprint (Fig. 6A, overhang potion 110P2 and 110P3 adjoins sidewall 110P1 and extends past footprint at bottom of 100).
Hsueh does not specifically teach a film on the main body structure, the film comprising a thermal dissipation material, wherein the film extends along the overhang portion.
Williamson teaches a film on the main body structure (Fig. 2A, 152), the film comprising a thermal dissipation material (para 18), wherein the film extends along the overhang portion (Fig. 2A, 152 covers full length of 150 die).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Hsueh to include the thermal dissipation film as taught by Williamson in order to improve the thermal management properties of the device.
Regarding claim 2, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 2 depends.
Hsueh teaches wherein the sidewall structure is a first sidewall structure (Fig. 6A, 110P1), and wherein the overhang portion further comprises a second sidewall structure which is substantially perpendicular to the backside of the IC die (Fig. 6A, 110P2 perpendicular to top of 100).
Regarding claim 3, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 3 depends.
Hsueh teaches wherein the IC die comprises the sidewall structure and the overhang portion (Fig. 6A, 100 includes 110P1-P3).
Regarding claim 4, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 4 upon which claim 4 depends.
Hsueh teaches wherein the sidewall structure is a first sidewall structure (Fig. 6A, 110P1), and wherein the overhang portion is a first overhang portion (Fig. 6A, 110P2), the device further comprising: a package mold structure which extends around the main body structure (Fig. 9, 600 around 100), wherein: an exterior surface of the package mold structure comprises a second sidewall structure which is substantially perpendicular to the backside of the IC die (Fig. 9, 600SW perpendicular to top of 100); and an overhang portion of the package mold structure adjoins the second sidewall structure (Fig. 9, 600 adjoins 110P2).
Regarding claim 5, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 5 depends.
Hsueh teaches wherein the main body structure further comprises a package mold which extends around the IC die, wherein the package mold comprises the sidewall structure and the overhang portion (Fig. 9, 600).
Regarding claim 6, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 6 depends.
Hsueh teaches wherein the overhang portion of the main body structure comprises an inward curving transitional surface (Fig. 6A, 110P3).
Regarding claim 7, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 7 depends.
wherein a width of the overhang portion is in a range of 5 microns to 200 microns (Fig. 4, H2, para 50) and a height of the overhang region is in a range of 5 microns to 12 microns (Fig. 4, W3, para 48).
Regarding claims 8-10, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claims 8 and 9 depend.
Hsueh does not specifically teach:
[claim 8] wherein the film comprises one or more of Cu, Al, Ag, Au, diamond, SiC, or a ceramic material.
[claim 9] further comprising an underfill material which adjoins the sidewall structure.
[claim 10] wherein the underfill material comprises an organic polymer comprising one of bisphenol A resins, bisphenol F resins, or cycloaliphatic epoxy resins.
Williamson teaches:
[claim 8] wherein the film comprises one or more of Cu, Al, Ag, Au, diamond, SiC, or a ceramic material (para 18).
[claim 9] further comprising an underfill material which adjoins the sidewall structure (Fig. 6A, 234).
[claim 10] wherein the underfill material comprises an organic polymer comprising one of bisphenol A resins, bisphenol F resins, or cycloaliphatic epoxy resins (para 18, no filler bisphenol).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Hsueh to include the thermal dissipation film and underfill material as taught by Williamson in order to improve the thermal management properties of the device.
Regarding claim 11, Hsueh teaches a packaged device comprising:
a substrate Fig. 6A, 500;
an integrated circuit (IC) die comprises a backside (Fig. 6A, top of 100), and a front side opposite the backside (Fig. 6A, bottom of 100), the front side comprising a footprint and a plurality of conductive contacts (Fig. 6A, bottom of 100 and contacts 150/160);
a main body structure coupled to the substrate (Fig. 6A, 100 coupled to 500), the main body structure comprising the IC die (Fig. 6A, 100), wherein:
the front side is closer to the substrate than the backside is to the substrate (Fig. 6A, bottom of 100 closer to 500 than top of 100);
an exterior surface of the main body structure comprises:
a sidewall structure comprising a first portion proximate the front side and substantially perpendicular to the backside (Fig. 6A, 110P1 proximate to bottom of 100 and perpendicular to top of 100); and
an overhang portion proximate the backside, the overhang portion adjoining the sidewall structure and extending outside the footprint (Fig. 6A, 110P2 adjoining 110P1 and extending outside bottom of 100).
Hsueh does not specifically teach a film on the main body structure, the film comprising a thermal dissipation material, wherein the film extends along the overhang portion.
Williamson teaches a film on the main body structure (Fig. 2A, 152), the film comprising a thermal dissipation material (para 18), wherein the film extends along the overhang portion (Fig. 2A, 152 covers full length of 150 die).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Hsueh to include the thermal dissipation film as taught by Williamson in order to improve the thermal management properties of the device.
Regarding claim 12, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 11 upon which claim 12 depends.
Hsueh teaches wherein the IC die comprises the sidewall structure and the overhang portion (Fig. 6A, 100 with 110P1-P3).
Regarding claim 13, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 12 upon which claim 13 depends.
Hsueh teaches wherein the sidewall structure is a first sidewall structure (Fig. 6A, 110P1), and wherein the overhang portion is a first overhang portion (Fig. 6A, 110P2), the packaged device further comprising: a package mold structure which extends around the main body structure (Fig. 9, 600 around 100), wherein: an exterior surface of the package mold structure comprises: a second sidewall structure (Fig. 9, 600SW); and an overhang portion of the package mold structure adjoins the second sidewall structure and extends outside horizontally past a footprint of the package mold structure on the substrate (Fig. 9, 600 at 110P2 horizontally outside of bottom of 100); and a second film on the package mold structure, the second film comprising a thermal dissipation material, wherein the second film extends along the overhang portion of the package mold structure (Williamson, Fig. 2A, 152 second film).
Regarding claim 14, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 11 upon which claim 14 depends.
Hsueh teaches wherein the main body structure further comprises a package mold which extends around the IC die (Fig. 9, 600), wherein the package mold comprises the sidewall structure and the overhang portion (Fig. 9, 600 at 110P2), and wherein the overhang portion extends outside horizontally past a footprint of the package mold on the substrate (Fig. 9, 600 at 110P2 horizontally outside bottom of 100).
Regarding claim 15, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 11 upon which claim 15 depends.
Hsueh teaches wherein the overhang portion comprises a transitional surface having a radius of curvature in a range of 5 to 15 micrometers (Fig. 4, 110P3, para 48).
Regarding claim 16, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 11 upon which claim 16 depends.
Hsueh teaches wherein a width of the overhang portion is in a range of 5 microns to 200 microns (Fig. 4, H2, para 50), and a height of the overhang region is in a range of 5 microns to 12 microns (Fig. 4, W3, para 48).
Regarding claim 17, Hsueh teaches a system comprising:
a packaged device comprising:
a main body structure comprising an integrated circuit (IC) die (Fig. 6A, 100), wherein:
the IC die comprises a backside (Fig. 6A, top of 100), and a front side opposite the backside (Fig. 6A, bottom of 100), the front side comprising a footprint and a plurality of conductive contacts (Fig. 6A, bottom of 100 and contacts 150/160);
an exterior surface of the main body structure comprises:
the backside of the IC die (Fig. 6A, top of 100); and
a sidewall structure comprising a first portion proximate the front side and substantially perpendicular to the backside (Fig. 6A, 110P1 proximate and perpendicular to top of 100); and
an overhang portion proximate the backside and extending outside the footprint (Fig. 6A, overhang portion proximate to top of 100 including 110P3 and 110P2)
Hsueh does not specifically teach a film on the main body structure, the film comprising a thermal dissipation material, wherein the film extends along the overhang portion; and a power supply to deliver power to the packaged device.
Williamson teaches a film on the main body structure (Fig. 2A, 152), the film comprising a thermal dissipation material (para 18), wherein the film extends along the overhang portion (Fig. 2A, 152 covers full length of 150 die); and a power supply to deliver power to the packaged device (para 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Hsueh to include the thermal dissipation film as taught by Williamson in order to improve the thermal management properties of the device.
Regarding claim 18, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 17, upon which claim 18 depends.
Hsueh teaches wherein the sidewall structure is a first sidewall structure (Fig. 6A, 110P1), and wherein the overhang portion further comprises a second sidewall structure which is substantially perpendicular to the backside of the IC die (Fig. 6A, 110P2 perpendicular to top of 100).
Regarding claim 19, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 17, upon which claim 19 depends.
Hsueh teaches wherein the IC die comprises the sidewall structure and the overhang portion (Fig. 6A, 100 includes 110P1-P3).
Regarding claim 20, the modified invention of Hsueh teaches the limitations of claim 17, upon which claim 20 depends.
Hsueh teaches wherein the main body structure further comprises a package mold which extends around the IC die, wherein the package mold comprises the sidewall structure and the overhang portion (Fig. 9, 600 around 100).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7, 11, 16, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS LELAND HUTSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818