DETAILED ACTION
Final Rejection
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, filed 09/01/2026 to claims are accepted. In this amendment, claims 1, 7-8,10 and 19 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartetzko et al. (US20160341834) in views of Donzier et al. (US 2018/0003032) and Borrel et al. (US 2019/0034812).
Regarding Claims 1, 10 and 19. Bartetzko teaches a method for determining, via a pattern based control point detector, control points of a drilling system comprising (fig. 3-4; processor: [0004]; [0067]):
obtaining, via a plurality of logging while drilling sensors (i.e. gamma ray measurement tools, resistivity tools :[0023]), wellbore measurements while propagating a wellbore trajectory through a formation, wherein the wellbore measurements include plurality of formation-related measurement channels and corresponding wellbore positions (LWD: [0023], [0029]-[0030]; target and reference: [0037]-[0043]; 61, 62: fig.2; 120, 130: fig.10);
evaluating the combined measurement feature set with a pattern detector configured with a plurality of predetermined combined measurement patterns to determine whether at least one of the plurality of combined measurement predetermined patterns is detected in the combined measurement feature set(120, 130, 132,134: fig.10; 63: fig. 2),
wherein each of the plurality of predetermined combined measurement patterns is correlated to a geological event (a processor continuously monitors measurement data for patterns corresponding to features of interest; features of interest are pre-defined by marking changes or patterns in the reference log data before and/or during drilling: [0044]-[0047], [0067]-[0071]; 63: fig. 2), and wherein the plurality of predetermined combined measurement patterns are represented with a function (the measurement and reference data are compared to identify similar features, such as groups or sections of data that have the same or similar patterns of magnitude as a function of depth or time. calculated, features of interest, such as changes in lithology or interfaces between layers, are identified in the reference data at subsequent depths or times and the depths or times of the subsequent features of interest are noted: [0045],[0048]-[0049] [0054], [0072], [0074]; 64: fig.2;132, 134: fig. 10);
based on detection, via the pattern detector (a processor continuously monitors measurement data for patterns corresponding to features of interest: [0067]; features of interest are pre-defined by marking changes or patterns in the reference log data before and/or during drilling: [0069]), of a first predetermined combined measurement pattern from the plurality of predetermined combined measurement patterns in a subset of the wellbore measurements, labeling the subset of the wellbore measurements and corresponding wellbore position as a potential control point (d1’…d4’: [0071] & fig. 8; 64: [0068]; fig. 5-6, 10); and
performing a geosteering operation with a drill bit based on the potential control point (claim 4, [0050]; [0068];65: fig. 2).
Bartetzko silent about combining, during the propagating of the wellbore trajectory,
However, Donzier teaches combining(S6: fig. 7), during the propagating of the wellbore trajectory,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the modified invention of Bartetzko, ombining, during the propagating of the wellbore trajectory, at least two of the formation-related measurement channels to generate at least one combined measurement feature set, wherein the at least one combined measurement feature set comprises a relationship between measurements of the different formation properties that is derived from a joint evaluation of the formation- related measurement channelsl, as taught by Donzier, so as to during the drilling, the evaluation, the completion and subsequently the production of a hydrocarbon well, various parameters related to the drilled earth formations and the different phases (e.g. oil, gas and water) of multiphase fluid mixtures flowing into the borehole of the hydrocarbon well from the hydrocarbon bearing zones are measured and monitored.
The modified Bartetzko silent about wherein the plurality of predetermined patterns are based on domain knowledge.
However, Borrel teaches the plurality of predetermined combined measurement patterns are based on domain knowledge (the planning, implementation, and maintenance of oil reservoirs may include domain knowledge: [0002]; domain experts: [0015]; knowledge base manage 46: [0016]; match a pattern of features across the two data sets. Feature matching 26 may use prior patterns from historical stratigraphic layer interpretations stored in stratigraphic knowledge base 52 and processed through algorithms: [0018]-[0019])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the modified invention of Bartetzko, the plurality of predetermined combined measurement patterns patterns are based on domain knowledge, as taught by Borrel, so as to calculate probability of a given pattern of seismic data corresponding to a layer feature and extracting providing a layer profile for a given column of the seismic data.
Regarding Claims 2 and 11. Bartetzko further teaches the wellbore measurements comprise measurements of a set of one or more formation properties ( [0023]; fig. 8).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12 Bartetzko further teaches evaluating the wellbore measurements against the plurality of predetermined combined measurement patterns to determine whether at least one of the plurality of predetermined combined measurement patterns is detected in the combined measurement feature set comprises evaluating measurements of a formation properties against the set of predetermined patterns ([0067]-[0076]; fig.10) .
Regarding Claims 4 and 13. Bartetzko further teaches evaluating measurements of combined of the formation properties against the set of predetermined combined measurement patterns comprises, identifying which of the predetermined combined measurement patterns corresponds to the combination of the formation properties and evaluating the measurements of the combination of formation properties against those of the predetermined combined measurement patterns identified as corresponding to the combination of the formation properties ([0067]-[0076];figs. 10 & 12 ) .
Regarding Claims 5 and 14. Bartetzko further teaches the wellbore measurements comprise wellbore position measurements ([0067]-[0076]; figs. 8, 10) .
Regarding Claims 6 and 15 . Bartetzko further teaches evaluating the combined measurement feature sets against the plurality of predetermined combined measurement patterns to determine whether at least one of the plurality of predetermined combined measurement patterns is detected combined measurement feature set comprises evaluating the wellbore position measurements against the set of predetermined combined measurement patterns ([0067]-[0076]; fig. 10).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16. Bartetzko further teaches the at least one of a depth corresponding to the potential control point and the first predetermined combined measurement pattern corresponding to the potential control point is communicated to an interpreter for interpretation ([0050], [0075]-[0076]; fig.12]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17. Bartetzko further teaches interpretation of the potential control point is performed by manual interpretation or automated interpretation([0050]).
Regarding Claims 9, 18 and 20. Bartetzko further teaches a predetermined combined measurement pattern is represented with at least one of function and a set of one or more conditions that relate to magnitude, rate of change, or relative changes between different types of wellbore measurements ([0045]; [0067]-[0073]; fig.10).
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect 103 rejection, specially claims 1, 10 and 19 have been considered but are moot because a new ground of rejection made over amended limitation based on same cited prior art with different embodiment, i.e. fig.7 of Bartetzko, see the updated rejection above.
.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a)Cao et al. (US 20120046868) disclose a closed-loop method for geosteering includes acquiring logging while drilling data and processing the logging while drilling data downhole while drilling to obtain a geosteering correction (a correction to the drilling direction based upon the LWD measurements). The geosteering correction is further processed downhole to obtain new steering tool settings which are then applied to the steering tool to change the direction of drilling. These steps are typically repeated numerous times without the need for uphole processing or surface intervention..
b) Sun et al. (US 20220127951) disclose accessing type log reference data respectively associated with a plurality of reference wells in a geological vicinity of a well being drilled; using the type log reference data, performing a type log alignment for the plurality of reference wells using multi-stage optimization to generate an aligned geosteering depth log; using the aligned geosteering depth log, determining a stratigraphic depth of a bottom-hole assembly (BHA) in the well during drilling; and using the aligned geosteering depth log, steering the drilling of the well based on the stratigraphic depth towards a predetermined target.
c) Wes. (US 20170328192) disclose Systems and methods for drilling a borehole into the earth are provided. The systems and methods include drilling a first portion of a borehole with a drilling system comprising a disintegrating device, the first portion extending from the surface to a subsurface reference point, wherein steering within the first portion is performed based on a first coordinate system with a first origin, creating a second coordinate system, wherein the second coordinate system has a second origin that is related to subsurface reference point, and drilling a second portion of the borehole with the drilling system, wherein steering within the second portion is performed based on the second coordinate system.
d) Chahine et al, (US 20200291764) disclose a method and system for drilling a wellbore. A method for drilling a wellbore includes: generating a library of defined patterns, each of the defined patterns corresponding to an operational behavior of drilling equipment used to drill the wellbore; collecting, during operation of the drilling equipment, measurements from sensors coupled to the drilling equipment; characterizing the measurements as correlating to one of the defined patterns; detecting the one of the defined patterns in the measurements; extracting a feature from the measurements; determining a condition of the drilling equipment by comparing a value of the feature to a threshold derived from the one of the defined patterns; and activating an actuator coupled to the drilling equipment to adjust operation of the drilling equipment based on the condition.
Contact Information
/MOHAMMAD K ISLAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857