DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 11-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2021/0375857 A1, hereinafter Huang ‘857) in view of Vellianitis et al. (US 2021/0376096 A1, hereinafter Vellianitis ‘096) in view of Jang (US 6,110,648, hereinafter Jang ‘648) and in further view of Frougier et al. (US 2022/0384574 A1, hereinafter Frougier ‘574), in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 1 Huang ‘857 discloses an integrated circuit structure (Fig 1-20E), comprising:
a plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires (124, Fig 9A, Para [0043])(Para [0013] discloses channel 124 as nanowires);
a gate structure (180, Fig 9A, Para [0027]) over the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires (124);
an epitaxial source or drain structure (240, Fig 10, Para [0035]) at an end of the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires (124)(Fig 9A & 10 and Para [0036] discloses epitaxial source/drain regions are formed at end of nanowires 124), and
a conductive trench contact structure (280, Fig 12, Para [0047]) vertically over (disclosed in Fig 12) the epitaxial source or drain structure (240), the conductive trench contact structure (280) electrically connected (disclosed in Para [0047]) to a top (disclosed in Fig 12) of the epitaxial source or drain structure (240) of the epitaxial source or drain structure (240); and
a dielectric plug (255, Fig 12, Para [0046]) adjacent to and in contact with a side of the conductive trench contact structure (280)(255 adjacent to and in contact with a side of conductive trench contact structure 280 is disclosed in Fig 13),
But Huang ‘857 fails to explicitly disclose the epitaxial source or drain structure having a maximum lateral width between laterally opposing sides of the epitaxial source or drain structure; and a conductive trench contact structure connected to at least 10% of a length of the laterally opposing sides of the epitaxial source or drain structure, the conductive trench contact having a lateral width greater than the maximum lateral width of the epitaxial source or drain structure.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096), Vellianitis ‘096 teaches the epitaxial source or drain structure (255, Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096, Para [0034]) having a maximum lateral width (maximum lateral width as shown in annotated Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096) between laterally opposing sides (opposite sides of 255 as shown in annotated Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096, hereinafter LOS) of the epitaxial source or drain structure (255); and a conductive trench contact structure (290, Fig 17B-3, Para [0034]) connected to at least 10% of a length of the laterally opposing sides (length of LOS)(Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096 discloses the contact 290 covers all sides of LOS) of the epitaxial source or drain structure (255), the conductive trench contact (290) having a lateral width (lateral width of 290 as shown in annotated Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096) greater than the maximum lateral width (maximum lateral width as shown in annotated Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096) of the epitaxial source or drain structure (255)(Annotated Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096 discloses trench contact 290 having a greater lateral width than source/drain structure 255).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Vellianitis ‘096’s teaching of the epitaxial source or drain structure having a maximum lateral width between laterally opposing sides of the epitaxial source or drain structure; and a conductive trench contact structure connected to at least 10% of a length of the laterally opposing sides of the epitaxial source or drain structure, the conductive trench contact having a lateral width greater than the maximum lateral width of the epitaxial source or drain structure into Huang ‘857’s integrated circuit structure. Huang ‘857 teaches a gate all around FinFET structure with contacts to the epitaxial source/drain regions. Vellianitis ‘096 also teaches a gate all around FinFET structure with contacts that wrap around the epitaxial source/drain regions. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang ‘857 in the manner set forth above, at least, because the teaching of Vellianitis ‘096’s contacts wrapping around the epitaxial source/drain regions, as taught in Para [0010 of Vellianitis ‘096] states that forming wrap around source/drain contacts in the manner described above can lower the contact resistance between the contact and the source/drain structures and creating that structure integrates seamlessly with current manufacturing process, thereby allowing the ordinary artisan to improve the performance and simplify the manufacturing process of the device.
As incorporated, the source/drain connection structure (290) of Vellianitis ‘096 would be used as the conductive trench contact structure (280) of Huang ‘857.
Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 fails to expressly disclose the dielectric plug having an uppermost surface above an uppermost surface of the conductive trench contact structure.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 3a-3f of Jang ‘648), Jang ‘648 teaches a barrier material (165, Fig 3f of Jang ‘648, Col 6, Lines 62-65) over an uppermost surface (top of 170) of a conductive trench structure (170, Fig 3f of Jang ‘648, Col 6, Lines 62-63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Jang ‘648’s teaching of a barrier material over an uppermost surface of a conductive trench structure into Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096’s device. Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 teaches an integrated circuit structure with an electrical contact. Jang ‘648 teaches a conductive contact trench structure and further teaches the use of a protective barrier layer over the conductive contact. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 in the manner set forth above, at least, because this layer provides an additional layer of protection for the conductive contact “…to protect the surrounding insulating material from the diffusion of copper and the attendant problems of corrosion and delamination” (Col 7, Lines 5-7 of Jang ‘648).
As incorporated, the teaching of a barrier material (165) of Jang ‘648 over a conductive contact would be used over the uppermost surface of conductive trench contact structure (280) of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 such that the dielectric plug (255) of Huang ‘857 would have an uppermost surface (top of 255 of Huang ‘857) above an uppermost surface of the conductive trench contact structure (280 of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096); the uppermost surface of (280 of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096) being lower than (255 of Huang ‘857) as the barrier metal (165 of Jang ‘648) is over the uppermost surface of (280 of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096).
Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 and further modified by Jang ‘648 fails to expressly disclose wherein the dielectric plug does not vertically overlap with the epitaxial source or drain structure.
But in a related endeavor (Fig 19 of Frougier ‘574), Frougier ‘574 teaches wherein the dielectric plug (150, Fig 19 (X1-X1 cross section) of Frougier ‘574, Para [0056]) does not vertically overlap with the epitaxial source or drain structure (138, Fig 17 (X1-X1 cross section)( Fig 19 (X1-X1 cross section) of Frougier ‘574 discloses 150 does not vertically overlap with source drain structure 138).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Frougier ‘574’s teaching of wherein the dielectric plug does not vertically overlap with the epitaxial source or drain structure into Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 and further modified by Jang ‘648’s device. In this teaching, Frougier ‘574 teaches the dielectric plug overlapping the gate structure of the device, not the source/drain region. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to further modify Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 and further modified by Jang ‘648 in the manner set forth above, at least, because this teaching would reduce the horizontal dimension of the device while still providing dielectric protection between adjacent conductive contacts.
As incorporated, the teaching of Frougier ‘574 of wherein the dielectric plug (150 of Frougier ‘574) does not vertically overlap with the epitaxial source or drain structure (138 of Frougier ‘574) would be used in Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 and further modified by Jang ‘648 such that the dielectric plug (255 of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 and further modified by Jang ‘648) would ovelap fin structure 150 of Huiang ‘857 and would not vertically overlap the source or drain structure (240) of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 and further modified by Jang ‘648.
With respect to Claim 2 Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 discloses all limitations of the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, and Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 discloses further comprising:
a metal silicide layer (270, Fig 12, Para [0047]) between and in contact with (Para [0047] discloses 270 formed between 280 and 240) the conductive trench contact structure (280 as modified above) and the epitaxial source or drain structure (240).
With respect to Claim 3 Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 discloses all limitations of the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, and Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 discloses further comprising:
a second conductive trench contact (280 (280 as modified above) in center of structure shown in Fig 12, Para [0047] discloses a plurality of contacts) structure laterally spaced apart (disclosed in Fig 12) from the conductive trench contact structure (280 on left side of structure shown in Fig 12) by the dielectric plug (255 as modified above).
With respect to Claim 4 Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 discloses all limitations of the integrated circuit structure of claim 3, and Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 discloses further comprising:
an etch stop layer portion (portion of 250 under dielectric plug 255, shown in annotated Fig 12 of Huang ‘857, Para [0038]) vertically beneath (annotated Fig 12 of Huang ‘857 discloses etch stop portion 250 below dielectric plug 255) the dielectric plug (255 as modified above).
With respect to Claim 5 Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 discloses all limitations of the integrated circuit structure of claim 4, and Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 discloses further wherein the etch stop layer portion (portion of 250 under dielectric plug 255, shown in annotated Fig 12 of Huang ‘857), is not in contact with the epitaxial source or drain structure (240)(annotated Fig 12 of Huang ‘857 discloses etch stop portion 250 below dielectric plug 255 odes not contact source or drain structure 240).
With respect to Claim 11 Huang ‘857 discloses a computing device (Fig 1-20E), comprising:
a board (110, Fig 12, Para [0015]); and
a component (Para [0013 and 0014] discloses device in Fig 1-20E of Huang ‘857 as a semiconductor device) coupled to the board (110), the component (device disclosed in Fig 1-20E of Huang ‘857) including an integrated circuit structure (Para [0014] discloses device disclosed in Fig 1-20E of Huang ‘857 as an integrated circuit structure), comprising:
a plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires (124, Fig 9A, Para [0043])(Para [0013] discloses channel 124 as nanowires);
a gate structure (180, Fig 9A, Para [0027]) over the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires (124);
an epitaxial source or drain structure (240, Fig 10, Para [0035]) at an end of the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires (124)(Fig 9A & 10 and Para [0036] discloses epitaxial source/drain regions are formed at end of nanowires 124), and
a conductive trench contact structure (280, Fig 12, Para [0047]) vertically over (disclosed in Fig 12) the epitaxial source or drain structure (240), the conductive trench contact structure (280) electrically connected (disclosed in Para [0047]) to a top (disclosed in Fig 12) of the epitaxial source or drain structure (240) of the epitaxial source or drain structure (240); and
a dielectric plug (255, Fig 12, Para [0046]) adjacent to and in contact with a side of the conductive trench contact structure (280)(255 adjacent to and in contact with a side of conductive trench contact structure 280 is disclosed in Fig 13),
But Huang ‘857 fails to explicitly disclose the epitaxial source or drain structure having a maximum lateral width between laterally opposing sides of the epitaxial source or drain structure; and a conductive trench contact structure connected to at least 10% of a length of the laterally opposing sides of the epitaxial source or drain structure, the conductive trench contact having a lateral width greater than the maximum lateral width of the epitaxial source or drain structure.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096), Vellianitis ‘096 teaches the epitaxial source or drain structure (255, Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096, Para [0034]) having a maximum lateral width (maximum lateral width as shown in annotated Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096) between laterally opposing sides (opposite sides of 255 as shown in annotated Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096, hereinafter LOS) of the epitaxial source or drain structure (255); and a conductive trench contact structure (290, Fig 17B-3, Para [0034]) connected to at least 10% of a length of the laterally opposing sides (length of LOS)(Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096 discloses the contact 290 covers all sides of LOS) of the epitaxial source or drain structure (255), the conductive trench contact (290) having a lateral width (lateral width of 290 as shown in annotated Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096) greater than the maximum lateral width (maximum lateral width as shown in annotated Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096) of the epitaxial source or drain structure (255)(Annotated Fig 17B-3 of Vellianitis ‘096 discloses trench contact 290 having a greater lateral width than source/drain structure 255).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Vellianitis ‘096’s teaching of the epitaxial source or drain structure having a maximum lateral width between laterally opposing sides of the epitaxial source or drain structure; and a conductive trench contact structure connected to at least 10% of a length of the laterally opposing sides of the epitaxial source or drain structure, the conductive trench contact having a lateral width greater than the maximum lateral width of the epitaxial source or drain structure into Huang ‘857’s integrated circuit structure. Huang ‘857 teaches a gate all around FinFET structure with contacts to the epitaxial source/drain regions. Vellianitis ‘096 also teaches a gate all around FinFET structure with contacts that wrap around the epitaxial source/drain regions. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang ‘857 in the manner set forth above, at least, because the teaching of Vellianitis ‘096’s contacts wrapping around the epitaxial source/drain regions, as taught in Para [0010 of Vellianitis ‘096] states that forming wrap around source/drain contacts in the manner described above can lower the contact resistance between the contact and the source/drain structures and creating that structure integrates seamlessly with current manufacturing process, thereby allowing the ordinary artisan to improve the performance and simplify the manufacturing process of the device.
As incorporated, the source/drain connection structure (290) of Vellianitis ‘096 would be used as the conductive trench contact structure (280) of Huang ‘857.
Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 fails to expressly disclose the dielectric plug having an uppermost surface above an uppermost surface of the conductive trench contact structure.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 3a-3f of Jang ‘648), Jang ‘648 teaches a barrier material (165, Fig 3f of Jang ‘648, Col 6, Lines 62-65) over an uppermost surface (top of 170) of a conductive trench structure (170, Fig 3f of Jang ‘648, Col 6, Lines 62-63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Jang ‘648’s teaching of a barrier material over an uppermost surface of a conductive trench structure into Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096’s device. Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 teaches an integrated circuit structure with an electrical contact. Jang ‘648 teaches a conductive contact trench structure and further teaches the use of a protective barrier layer over the conductive contact. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 in the manner set forth above, at least, because this layer provides an additional layer of protection for the conductive contact “…to protect the surrounding insulating material from the diffusion of copper and the attendant problems of corrosion and delamination” (Col 7, Lines 5-7 of Jang ‘648).
As incorporated, the teaching of a barrier material (165) of Jang ‘648 over a conductive contact would be used over the uppermost surface of conductive trench contact structure (280) of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 such that the dielectric plug (255) of Huang ‘857 would have an uppermost surface (top of 255 of Huang ‘857) above an uppermost surface of the conductive trench contact structure (280 of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096); the uppermost surface of (280 of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096) being lower than (255 of Huang ‘857) as the barrier metal (165 of Jang ‘648) is over the uppermost surface of (280 of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096).
Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 and further modified by Jang ‘648 fails to expressly disclose wherein the dielectric plug does not vertically overlap with the epitaxial source or drain structure.
But in a related endeavor (Fig 19 of Frougier ‘574), Frougier ‘574 teaches wherein the dielectric plug (150, Fig 19 (X1-X1 cross section) of Frougier ‘574, Para [0056]) does not vertically overlap with the epitaxial source or drain structure (138, Fig 17 (X1-X1 cross section)( Fig 19 (X1-X1 cross section) of Frougier ‘574 discloses 150 does not vertically overlap with source drain structure 138).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Frougier ‘574’s teaching of wherein the dielectric plug does not vertically overlap with the epitaxial source or drain structure into Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 and further modified by Jang ‘648’s device. In this teaching, Frougier ‘574 teaches the dielectric plug overlapping the gate structure of the device, not the source/drain region. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to further modify Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 and further modified by Jang ‘648 in the manner set forth above, at least, because this teaching would reduce the horizontal dimension of the device while still providing dielectric protection between adjacent conductive contacts.
As incorporated, the teaching of Frougier ‘574 of wherein the dielectric plug (150 of Frougier ‘574) does not vertically overlap with the epitaxial source or drain structure (138 of Frougier ‘574) would be used in Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 and further modified by Jang ‘648 such that the dielectric plug (255 of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 and further modified by Jang ‘648) would ovelap fin structure 150 of Huiang ‘857 would not vertically overlap the source or drain structure (240) of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 and further modified by Jang ‘648.
With respect to Claim 14 Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 discloses all limitations of the computing device of claim 11, and Huang ‘857 further discloses wherein the component (device disclosed in Fig 1-20E of Huang ‘857) is a packaged integrated circuit die (Para [0014] disclose component as part of an integrated circuit).
With respect to Claim 15 Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 discloses all limitations of the computing device of claim 11, and Huang ‘857 further discloses wherein the component (device disclosed in Fig 1-20E of Huang ‘857) is selected from the group consisting of a processor, a communications chip, and a digital signal processor (Para [0014] discloses component of Fig 1-20E “may be intermediate devices fabricated during processing of an integrated circuit (IC), or a portion thereof, that may include static random access memory (SRAM), logic circuits, passive components, such as resistors, capacitors, and inductors, and/or active components, such as p-type field effect transistors (PFETs), n-type FETs (NFETs), multi-gate FETs, metal-oxide semiconductor field effect transistors (MOSFETs), complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) transistors, bipolar transistors, high voltage transistors, high frequency transistors, other memory cells, and combinations thereof”).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang ‘857 in view of Vellianitis ‘096 in view of Jang ‘648 inv view of Frougier ‘574 in further view of Glass et al. (US 2020/0258982 A1, hereinafter Glass ‘982), in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 12 Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 discloses all limitations of the computing device of claim 11, but Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 fails to explicitly disclose further comprising:
a memory coupled to the board.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-4 of Glass ‘982), Glass ‘982 teaches a memory (DRAM, Fig 4 of Glass ‘982, Para [0067]) coupled to the board (1002, Fig 4 of Glass ‘982, Para [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Glass ‘982’s teaching of a memory coupled to the board into Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574’s device. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 in the manner set forth above, at least, because the further addition of a memory component on the board would increase the functionality of the end device.
As incorporated, the memory (DRAM) coupled to the board (1002) of Glass ‘982 would be incorporated in the device of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 so that Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574’s device and the memory would be on the same board.
With respect to Claim 13 Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 discloses all limitations of the computing device of claim 11, but Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 fails to explicitly disclose further comprising:
a communication chip coupled to the board.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-4 of Glass ‘982), Glass ‘982 teaches a communication chip (1006, Fig 4 of Glass ‘982, Para [0066]) coupled to the board (1002, Fig 4 of Glass ‘982, Para [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Glass ‘982’s teaching of a communication chip coupled to the board into Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574’s device. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 in the manner set forth above, at least, because the further addition of a communication chip component on the board would increase the functionality of the end device.
As incorporated, the communication chip (1006) coupled to the board (1002) of Glass ‘982 would be incorporated in the device of Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574 so that Huang ‘857 as modified by Vellianitis ‘096 as modified by Jang ‘648 and further modified by Frougier ‘574’s device and the communication chip would be on the same board.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A BERRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898