DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 10, and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Self et al. (U.S. Patent Number 6,112,308) and Kashem et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0205252).
Regarding Claim 1, Self discloses a device (Figure 6) comprising:
system phase lock loop (PLL) circuitry (Figure 6, item 600, Column 8, lines 47-49; i.e., the “multiple PLL integrated circuit” 600 is equivalent to the claimed “system PLL circuitry”) to:
receive an external reference clock from outside of the device as the only PLL circuitry receiving the external reference clock at the device (Figure 6, item 670);
generate one or more reference clocks from the external reference clock (Figure 6, item 680, Column 8, lines 38-55); and
transmit the one or more reference clocks to the plurality of chips (Column 8, lines 38-55; i.e., a reference clock signal is sent from the system PLL to the multiple PLLs located within items 684 and 694, which are located within integrated circuit chips 682 and 692); and
a plurality of PLL circuitries on the plurality of chips (Figure 6, see plural PLLs located within items 684 and 694, Column 8, lines 38-55; i.e., each of the plurality of PLLs within items 684 and 694 are located within the integrated circuit chips 682 and 692) to:
receive respective reference clocks of the one or more reference clocks at the plurality of chips using inter-die communications (Column 8, lines 38-55; i.e., there are multiple integrated circuit dies 600, 682, and 692; therefore, the clock communications that occur between these various dies is equivalent to the claimed “inter-die communications”),
generate respective sub-reference clocks from the received respective reference clocks (Column 8, lines 41-44; i.e., each PLL of the plurality of PLLs within items 684 and 694 provides a sub-reference clock to its associated subsystem), and
transmit the respective sub-reference clocks from respective PLL circuitries of the plurality of PLL circuitries to drive operations of the plurality of chips (Figure 6, subsystems 1 and 2 within integrated circuits 682 and 692) using the respective sub-reference clocks, wherein one or more of the respective sub-reference clocks drive one or more chip of the plurality of chips (Column 8, lines 41-44; i.e., the subsystems 1 and 2 operate based on [are driven by] the respective sub-reference clocks received from the associated PLLs located within items 684 and 694), and the plurality of PLL circuitries and their respective plurality of chiplets do not receive any external reference clocks from outside of the device (Figure 6; i.e., the plural PLLs located within items 684 and 694 only receive the reference clock from item 600, which is within the device shown in Figure 6).
Self does not expressly disclose a plurality of chiplets; and
receive the respective reference clocks to compensate for different respective skews based at least in part on different propagation delays due to different trace lengths and to compensate the different respective reference clocks based at least on chiplet-specific electrical properties, routing, and interconnections between the plurality of chiplets.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., clock synchronization techniques), Kashem teaches a plurality of chiplets (Figure 4, items 430, paragraphs 0022-0023); and
receive the respective reference clocks (Figure 4, item 440, paragraph 0022; see also Figure 3, item 320, paragraph 0020) to compensate for different respective skews (paragraphs 0019, 0021, and 0023) based at least in part on different propagation delays due to different trace lengths (paragraph 0019) and to compensate the different respective reference clocks based at least on chiplet-specific electrical properties (paragraph 0019; i.e., different chiplets can have different electrical properties caused by manufacturing variations that must be accounted for to correct the skew), routing, and interconnections between the plurality of chiplets (paragraphs 0020 and 0024; i.e., the branches of the clock tree involve different types of routing paths and interconnections that result in different sink points [i.e., chiplets] receiving the clock at different times, which must be accounted for in correcting the skew).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kashem’s teachings of clock synchronization techniques with the teachings of Self, for the purpose of increasing flexibility and scalability, reduced manufacturing costs, and enhanced performance by allowing for modular design, enabling manufacturers to mix and match different chiplets to create customized solutions and improve yields (these are all known advantages of chiplets) and further for the purpose of ensuring that all of the clocks are received in synchronization to the chiplets based on the particular needs of the circuit design.
Regarding Claim 2, Self discloses the plurality of chiplets, wherein each chiplet of the plurality of chiplets comprises a PLL circuitry of the plurality of PLL circuitries (Figure 6, item 684, Column 8, lines 38-55).
Regarding Claim 3, Self discloses wherein one of the plurality of chiplets comprises the system PLL circuitry (Column 8, lines 49-51; i.e., the system PLL is located within an integrated circuit chip 600).
Regarding Claim 4, Self discloses a system PLL chiplet that comprises the system PLL circuitry (Column 8, lines 49-51; i.e., the system PLL is located within an integrated circuit chip 600).
Regarding Claim 5, Self discloses the plurality of chiplets, wherein a chiplet of the plurality of chiplets comprises a corresponding PLL circuitry of the plurality of PLL circuitries and drives at least two chiplets of the plurality of chiplets (Column 9, lines 15-20; i.e., there may be a chain or cascade of PLL circuits).
Regarding Claim 6, Kashem teaches wherein the at least two chiplets are similar chiplets (paragraph 0022).
Regarding Claim 7, Kashem teaches wherein the at least two chiplets have a same function type (paragraph 0022; i.e., the plurality of chiplets have a slave function type).
Regarding Claim 9, Self discloses a multi-die package (Figure 6) comprising:
first system phase lock loop (PLL) circuitry (Figure 6, item 600, Column 8, lines 47-49; i.e., the “multiple PLL integrated circuit” 600 is equivalent to the claimed “first system PLL circuitry”) to:
receive an external reference clock from outside of the multi-die package as the only PLL circuitry receiving the external reference clock at the multi-die package (Figure 6, item 670);
generate a first one or more reference clocks from the external reference clock (Figure 6, item 680, Column 8, lines 38-55); and
transmit the first one or more reference clocks (Column 8, lines 38-55; i.e., a reference clock signal is sent from the system PLL to the multiple PLLs located within item 684); and
a plurality of PLL circuitries on a plurality of chips of the multi-die package (Figure 6, see plural PLLs located within items 684 and 694, Column 8, lines 38-55; i.e., each of the plurality of PLLs within items 684 and 694 are located within the integrated circuit chips 682 and 692 [the claimed “multi-die package”]) to receive the first one or more reference clocks at the plurality of chips using inter-die communications (Column 8, lines 38-55; i.e., there are multiple integrated circuit dies 600, 682, and 692; therefore, the clock communications that occur between these various dies is equivalent to the claimed “inter-die communications”), wherein the plurality of PLL circuitries and respective pluralities of chips do not receive any external reference clocks from outside of the multi-die package (Figure 6; i.e., the plural PLLs located within item 684 only receive the reference clock from item 600, which is within the device shown in Figure 6).
Self does not expressly disclose a plurality of chiplets; and
receive the respective reference clocks to compensate for different respective skews based at least in part on different propagation delays due to different trace lengths and to compensate the different respective reference clocks based at least on chiplet-specific electrical properties, routing, and interconnections between the plurality of chiplets.
In the same field of endeavor, Kashem teaches a plurality of chiplets (Figure 4, items 430, paragraphs 0022-0023); and
receive the respective reference clocks (Figure 4, item 440, paragraph 0022; see also Figure 3, item 320, paragraph 0020) to compensate for different respective skews (paragraphs 0019, 0021, and 0023) based at least in part on different propagation delays due to different trace lengths (paragraph 0019) and to compensate the different respective reference clocks based at least on chiplet-specific electrical properties (paragraph 0019; i.e., different chiplets can have different electrical properties caused by manufacturing variations that must be accounted for to correct the skew), routing, and interconnections between the plurality of chiplets (paragraphs 0020 and 0024; i.e., the branches of the clock tree involve different types of routing paths and interconnections that result in different sink points [i.e., chiplets] receiving the clock at different times, which must be accounted for in correcting the skew).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10, Self discloses wherein the first plurality of PLL circuitries generates respective sub-reference clocks from the first one or more reference clocks and transmits the respective sub-reference clocks to drive operations of a plurality of chips (Column 8, lines 41-44; i.e., the subsystems 1 and 2 [the “plurality of chips”] operate based on [are driven by] the respective sub-reference clocks received from the associated PLLs located within item 684).
Self does not expressly disclose a plurality of chiplets.
In the same field of endeavor, Kashem teaches a plurality of chiplets (Figure 4, items 430, paragraphs 0022-0023).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 13, Self discloses a plurality of dedicated PLL chips that comprises the plurality of PLL circuitries (Figure 6, items 684 and 694, Column 8, lines 41-44; i.e., the PLL circuits may be in the form of integrated circuit chips [Kashem teaches a plurality of chiplets - see Figure 1, items 110, paragraph 0064]).
Regarding Claim 14, Self discloses a plurality of chiplets driven using the first one or more reference clocks, wherein the plurality of chiplets comprises the plurality of PLL circuitries (Figure 6, item 684, Column 8, lines 38-55).
Regarding Claim 15, Self discloses a plurality of chiplets driven using the first one or more reference clocks (Figure 6, items 684 and 694, Column 8, lines 41-44; i.e., the PLL circuits may be in the form of integrated circuit chips), and
an interconnect of the interconnections that connects at least two of the plurality of chips (Figure 6, item 600), wherein at least one of the plurality of PLL circuitries is located on the interconnect (Figure 6; i.e., item 600, which contains plural PLL circuitries, interconnects the plurality of integrated circuit chips 682 and 692 [Kashem teaches a plurality of chiplets - see Figure 4, items 430, paragraphs 0022-0023]).
Regarding Claim 16, Self discloses a multi-die package (Figure 6) comprising:
system phase lock loop (PLL) circuitry (Figure 6, item 600, Column 8, lines 47-49; i.e., the “multiple PLL integrated circuit” 600 is equivalent to the claimed “system PLL circuitry”) to:
receive an external reference clock from outside of the multi-die package as the only PLL circuitry receiving the external reference clock at the multi-die package (Figure 6, item 670),
generate first reference clocks from the external reference clock (Figure 6, item 680, Column 7, lines 56-67 and Column 8, lines 38-55; i.e., plural first reference clocks can be provided through the use of the programmable divider/counter, each having a different frequency), and
transmit the first reference clocks (Column 8, lines 38-55; i.e., a reference clock signal is sent from the first system PLL to the multiple PLLs located within item 684); and
a first plurality of PLL circuitries on a first plurality of chips (Figure 6, see plural PLLs located within items 684 and 692, Column 8, lines 38-55; i.e., each of the plurality of PLLs within items 684 and 694 are located within the integrated circuit chips 682 and 692) to:
receive the first reference clocks at the plurality of chips using inter-die communications (Column 8, lines 38-55; i.e., there are multiple integrated circuit dies 600, 682, and 692; therefore, the clock communications that occur between these various dies is equivalent to the claimed “inter-die communications”);
generate first sub-reference clocks from the first reference clocks (Column 8, lines 41-44; i.e., each PLL of the plurality of PLLs within item 684 provides a sub-reference clock to its associated subsystem); and
transmit the first sub-reference clocks from the first plurality of PLL circuitries to drive operation of the first plurality of chips (Column 8, lines 41-44; i.e., the subsystems 1 and 2 operate based on [are driven by] the respective sub-reference clocks received from the associated PLLs located within item 684), wherein the first plurality of PLL circuitries and the first plurality of chips do not receive any external reference clocks from outside of the multi-die package (Figure 6; i.e., the plural PLLs located within item 684 only receive the reference clock from item 600, which is within the device shown in Figure 6); and
a second plurality of PLL circuitries (Figure 6, see any additional plural PLLs located within item 684, Column 8, lines 38-55) to:
receive the first reference clocks (Column 8, lines 38-55);
generate second sub-reference clocks from the first reference clocks (Column 8, lines 41-44; i.e., each PLL of the plurality of additional PLLs within item 684 provides a sub-reference clock to its associated subsystem); and
transmit the second sub-reference clocks from the second plurality of PLL circuitries to drive operation of a second plurality of chips (Column 8, lines 41-44; i.e., the subsystems 1 and 2 operate based on [are driven by] the respective sub-reference clocks received from the associated PLLs located within item 694), wherein the second plurality of PLL circuitries and the second plurality of chips do not receive any external reference clocks from outside of the multi-die package (Figure 6; i.e., the plural additional PLLs located within item 684 only receive the reference clock from item 600, which is within the device shown in Figure 6).
Self does not expressly disclose a first and second plurality of chiplets; and
receive the first reference clocks to compensate for different respective skews based at least in part on different propagation delays due to different trace lengths and to compensate the different respective reference clocks based at least on chiplet-specific electrical properties, routing, and interconnections between the plurality of chiplets.
In the same field of endeavor, Kashem teaches first and second plurality of chiplets (Figure 4, items 430, paragraphs 0022-0023); and
receive the first reference clocks (Figure 4, item 440, paragraph 0022; see also Figure 3, item 320, paragraph 0020) to compensate for different respective skews (paragraphs 0019, 0021, and 0023) based at least in part on different propagation delays due to different trace lengths (paragraph 0019) and to compensate the different respective reference clocks based at least on chiplet-specific electrical properties (paragraph 0019; i.e., different chiplets can have different electrical properties caused by manufacturing variations that must be accounted for to correct the skew), routing, and interconnections between the plurality of chiplets (paragraphs 0020 and 0024; i.e., the branches of the clock tree involve different types of routing paths and interconnections that result in different sink points [i.e., chiplets] receiving the clock at different times, which must be accounted for in correcting the skew).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 16.
Regarding Claim 17, Self discloses the first plurality of chiplets, wherein the first plurality of PLL circuitries are not disposed on the first plurality of chiplets (Figure 6; i.e., this would be the case if subsystems 1 and 2 within item 682 were interpreted as the claimed “first plurality of chiplets”).
Regarding Claim 18, Self discloses the first plurality of chiplets, wherein the first plurality of PLL circuitries are disposed on the first plurality of chiplets (Figure 6, item 684, Column 8, lines 38-55).
Regarding Claim 19, Self discloses the second plurality of chiplets, wherein the second plurality of PLL circuitries are not disposed on the second plurality of chiplets (Figure 6; i.e., this would be the case if subsystems 1 and 2 within item 692 were interpreted as the claimed “second plurality of chiplets”).
Regarding Claim 20, Self discloses the second plurality of chiplets, wherein the second plurality of PLL circuitries are disposed on the second plurality of chiplets (Figure 6, item 694, Column 8, lines 38-55).
Regarding Claim 21, Kashem teaches wherein the interconnections comprise an embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (Figure 2, items 205 and 215, paragraph 0017).
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Self and Kashem as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Bajaj et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2004/0104750).
Regarding Claim 8, Self and Kashem do not expressly disclose wherein the system PLL circuitry is to disable transmission of at least one of at least one of the one or more reference clocks to place a corresponding at least one of the chiplets in an idle mode.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., clock synchronization techniques), Bajaj teaches wherein the system PLL circuitry (Figure 2) is to disable transmission of at least one of at least one of the one or more reference clocks to place a corresponding at least one of the chiplets (Figure 2, item 209) in an idle mode (paragraph 0031; i.e., the clock is terminated from point 206 onward to the chiplet 209 is placed in an idle mode).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Bajaj’s teachings of clock synchronization techniques with the teachings of Self and Kashem, for the purpose of reducing power consumption of the integrated circuit when the clock is not needed.
Regarding Claim 11, Self and Kashem do not expressly disclose wherein the first system PLL circuitry disables transmission of at least one of the first one or more reference clocks to place an at least one of the chiplets in an idle mode.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., clock synchronization techniques), Bajaj teaches wherein the first system PLL circuitry (Figure 2) disables transmission of at least one of the first one or more reference clocks to place an at least one of the chiplets (Figure 2, item 209) in an idle mode (paragraph 0031; i.e., the clock is terminated from point 206 onward to the chiplet 209 is placed in an idle mode).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Bajaj’s teachings of clock synchronization techniques with the teachings of Self and Kashem, for the purpose of reducing power consumption of the integrated circuit when the clock is not needed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because each reference discloses a device for cascading a plurality of phased lock loop circuits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL M ZAMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175