Drawings
Previous objections to the drawings are now withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous rejections based on 35 USC 112 are now withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Amo et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2003/0006444).
Regarding claim 1, Amo teaches an integrated circuit (IC) device structure comprising:
one or more gate electrodes, each adjacent to a channel region comprising a semiconductor material [fig. 8, 5, 6 and 7 are gates on semiconductor material 1 with channel under gates];
a source and a drain, each coupled to the semiconductor material, wherein one of the gate electrodes is between the source and the drain [fig. 8, 11 and 12 with gates 5/6/7 between source/drain regions];
a first terminal contact metallization in contact with a first of the source or drain [fig. 8, 13 on the right side of gate 5 in the logic sram region];
a second terminal contact metallization in contact with a second of the source or drain [fig. 8, 13 on the left side of gate 5 in the logic sram region]; and
a jumper metallization in contact with a top surface of a first of the gate electrodes and in contact with a top surface of the first terminal contact metallization, [fig. 8, 48 in contact with a top surface of gate 6 (fig. 6 shows gate six, the number omitted in fig 8), and a top surface of 13 to the left of gate 6 and the right of gate 5 in the logic sram region].
A dielectric material over the one or more gate electrodes, over the first terminal contact metallization, over the second terminal contact metallization, and over the jumper metallization [fig. 8, 21];
A line metallization over the dielectric material layer [fig. 8, 35]; and
A via metallization extending through the dielectric material layer, wherein the via metallization is in contact with the line metallization and in contact with the second terminal contact metallization [fig. 8, 46/56 in contact with 13 on the left side of gate 5 in the logic sram region].
Regarding claim 2, Amo discloses the IC device structure of claim 1, wherein the jumper metallization has the same composition as the via metallization [paragraphs [0057, 0063 and 0069] teach via metallization 46/56 and jumper metallization 48 are W].
Regarding claim 3, Amo teaches the IC device structure of claim 2, further comprising a gate contact metallization in contact with one of the one or more gate electrodes, wherein a top surface of the gate contact metallization is coplanar with a top surface of the dielectric material layer [fig. 8, 26 is in electrical contact with gate 6, top surface coplanar with 21], and wherein at least two of the via metallization, the gate contact metallization, and the jumper metallization have substantially the same composition [paragraphs [0057, 0063 and 0069] teach via metallization 46/56 and jumper metallization 48 are W].
Regarding claim 5, Amo discloses the IC device structure of claim 2, wherein the jumper metallization has a different composition than both of the first terminal contact metallization and the one or more gate electrodes [paragraph [0049] teaches terminal contact metallization is silicide, it also teaches cobalt silicide is formed over gate electrodes 5 and 7, the gates are therefore silicon or polysilicon, paragraph [0063] teaches jumper 48 is W].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Amo does not teach the jumper metallization positioned over a top surface of a gate electrode and first terminal contact metallization but under a top of via metallization that interconnects second terminal contact metallization with overlying line metallization. As shown in the rejection above, applicants amendments have caused a reinterpretation of the structure Amo and all features in claim 1 are anticipated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 and 21-24 are allowed.
Claims 4 and 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the device as claimed. Specifically, the prior art fails to teach a second jumper metallization interconnects a drain of the second pull-up transistor to a gate electrode of the first pull-up transistor; and a top of the first and second jumper metallizations is at a first heigh that is below a second height of a top of the via metallization.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the device as claimed. Specifically, the prior art fails to teach a first jumper metallization interconnects the first source contact metallization or first drain contact metallization to a gate electrode of the second transistor structure and a second jumper metallization interconnects the second source contact metallization or the second drain contact metallization to a gate electrode of the first transistor structure, a top of the first and second jumper metallizations is at a first height which is below a second height of the a top of the via metallization.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN M PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2899