DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
The Amendment filed 12/30/2025 has been entered. Claims 21-27, 30, 32-36 and 39 are pending in the application with claims 21 and 32 amended, claims 1-20, 28, 29, 31, 37, 38, 40 cancelled. The previous 35 USC 112 rejection of claim 21-27, 30, 32-36, 39 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 21-27, 30, 32-35 and 39 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Saadat et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0272977, hereinafter Saadat) in view of Moll et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0043338, hereinafter Moll).
In regard to claim 21, Saadat discloses a surgical instrument assembly (Figs. 17A-17B) comprising:
a guide tube (120) including a distal end, wherein the guide tube is positionable in a first configuration and a second configuration, and wherein in the first configuration the distal end of the guide tube is facing a distal direction, and in the second configuration the distal end of the guide tube is facing a proximal direction (Figs. 18A-18C illustrates the guide tube can transition between proximal and distal facing directions);
a first instrument (132,158) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube proximal of the distal end (Fig. 12 illustrates the tool exit ports are slightly proximal of the distal end), and wherein the first instrument is in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the second configuration (Figs.18A-18C illustrates the guide tube can transition to a proximal and distal facing directions and therefore the first instrument would be in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the proximal facing direction); and
an imaging instrument (18) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube proximal of the distal end (Fig. 12 illustrates the tool exit ports are slightly proximal of the distal end), and wherein the imaging instrument is in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the second configuration (Figs.18A-18C illustrates the guide tube can transition to a proximal and distal facing directions and therefore the imaging instrument would be in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the proximal facing direction).
Saadat is silent with respect to wherein the guide tube is removeably coupled to a moveable support portion of a telesurgical manipulator system and wherein the guide tube is rotatable about its longitudinal axis; wherein the first instrument is removably coupled to a first actuator of the telesurgical manipulator system, and wherein the first instrument is independently actuatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the first actuator and is independently rotatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the first actuator, wherein the first instrument is independently rotatable about its longitudinal axis; and wherein the imaging instrument is removeably coupled to a second actuator of the telesurgical manipulator system, and wherein the imaging instrument is independently actuatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the second actuator and is independently rotatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the second actuator, wherein the imaging instrument is independently rotatable about its longitudinal axis.
Moll teaches an analogous assembly as illustrated in Fig. 194C comprising a larger endoscopic instrument (820, i.e. guide tube) mounted to an instrument driver (866) which is rotatably disposed about a frame, the larger endoscopic instrument having a plurality of channels (858, 859) for receiving a first endoscopic instrument (18,30) and a second endoscopic instrument (818, 819). Moll teaches that each of the instruments are removably attached to instrument drivers (16,871) via control element interface assemblies (132), Par. 330. The detachable nature of the instruments with respect to the instrument driver is best illustrated in Fig. 6. The instrument drivers (16) contain motors that actuate the control element interface assemblies (132) of the instruments enabling axial movement and independent articulations of the each of the instruments. The instrument drivers (16) are controlled via a user at a workstation (2) for remote control of the actuations of the instruments. Each of the instrument drivers (16,871) in which the first endoscopic instrument (18,30) and second endoscopic instrument (818,819) is rotatable about an axis coincident with the longitudinal axis of the endoscopic instruments via flanged bearing structure (278) and roll motor (280) as taught in Par. 188, Fig. 98.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify each of the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument of Saadat to each be mounted to a respective instrument driver (16) of Moll enabling the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument to be removably attached to an instrument driver for controlling independent movements and articulations of the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument. The detachable nature between the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument enables the instrument to be interchanged or replaced without having to replace the entire instrument driver assembly as well.
In regard to claim 32, Saadat teaches teleoperated surgical assembly (Figs. 17A-17B) comprising:
a guide tube (120) including a distal end face, wherein a first side port (130) in the guide tube is located proximal of the distal end face, a second side port (130) of the guide tube is located proximal of the distal end face, and third side port (128) of the guide tube is located proximal of the distal end face (Figs. 12, 13A, 17B) and wherein in the first configuration the distal end face of the guide tube is facing a distal direction, and in the second configuration the distal end face of the guide tube is facing a proximal direction (Figs. 18A-18C illustrates the guide tube can transition between proximal and distal facing directions);
a first instrument (132,158) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube through the first side port (Figs. 12, 13A, 17B), and wherein the first instrument is in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the second configuration (Figs.18A-18C illustrates the guide tube can transition to a proximal and distal facing directions and therefore the first instrument would be in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the proximal facing direction);
a second instrument (132, 158) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube through the second side port (Fig. 17B), and wherein the second instrument is in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the second configuration (Figs.18A-18C illustrates the guide tube can transition to a proximal and distal facing directions and therefore the second instrument would be in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the proximal facing direction); and
an imaging instrument (18) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube through the third side port (Fig. 17B), and wherein the imaging instrument is in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the second configuration (Figs.18A-18C illustrates the guide tube can transition to a proximal and distal facing directions and therefore the imaging instrument would be in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the proximal facing direction).
Saadat is silent with respect to wherein the guide tube is removeably coupled to a moveable support portion of a telesurgical manipulator system and wherein the guide tube is rotatable about its longitudinal axis; wherein the first instrument is removably coupled to a first actuator of the telesurgical manipulator system, and wherein the first instrument is independently actuatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the first actuator and is independently rotatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the first actuator, wherein the first instrument is independently rotatable about its longitudinal axis; wherein the second instrument is removably coupled to a second actuator of the telesurgical manipulator system, and wherein the second instrument is independently actuatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the second actuator and is independently rotatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the second actuator; and wherein the imaging instrument is removeably coupled to a third actuator of the telesurgical manipulator system, and wherein the imaging instrument is independently actuatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the third actuator and is independently rotatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the third actuator, wherein the imaging instrument is independently rotatable about its longitudinal axis.
Moll teaches an analogous assembly as illustrated in Fig. 194C comprising a larger endoscopic instrument (820, i.e. guide tube) mounted to an instrument driver (866) which is rotatably disposed about a frame, the larger endoscopic instrument having a plurality of channels (858, 859) for receiving a first endoscopic instrument (18,30) and a second endoscopic instrument (818, 819). Moll teaches that each of the instruments are removably attached to instrument drivers (16,871) via control element interface assemblies (132), Par. 330. The detachable nature of the instruments with respect to the instrument driver is best illustrated in Fig. 6. The instrument drivers (16) contain motors that actuate the control element interface assemblies (132) of the instruments enabling axial movement and independent articulations of the each of the instruments. The instrument drivers (16) are controlled via a user at a workstation (2) for remote control of the actuations of the instruments. Each of the instrument drivers (16,871) in which the first endoscopic instrument (18,30) and second endoscopic instrument (818,819) is rotatable about an axis coincident with the longitudinal axis of the endoscopic instruments via flanged bearing structure (278) and roll motor (280) as taught in Par. 188, Fig. 98.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify each of the guide tube, first instrument, second instrument and imaging instrument of Saadat to each be mounted to a respective instrument driver (16) of Moll enabling the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument to be removably attached to an instrument driver for controlling independent movements and articulations of the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument. The detachable nature between the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument enables the instrument to be interchanged or replaced without having to replace the entire instrument driver assembly as well.
In regard to claim 22, Saadat teaches further comprising: a second instrument (132,158) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube proximal of the distal end (Saadat teaching two instruments and an imager exiting the guide tube from tool exit ports proximal of the distal end of the guide tube, Figs. 17B).
In regard to claims 23 and 33, Saadat teaches wherein the imaging instrument is at an angular orientation between the first instrument and the second instrument (Fig. 17B).
In regard to claims 24 and 34, Saadat teaches wherein the first instrument includes a first end effector and the second instrument includes a second end effector and wherein the first and second end effectors are configured to act in a working area that is within a field of view of the imaging instrument (Fig. 17B, Par. 95).
In regard to claim 25, Saadat teaches wherein the guide tube includes a side exit port and the first instrument is configured to extend through the side exit port (Figs. 12,17B).
In regard to claim 26, Saadat teaches wherein the guide tube includes a side exit port and the imaging instrument is configured to extend through the side exit port (Figs. 12,17B).
In regard to claim 27, Saadat teaches further comprising: a second instrument (132,158) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube at a distal exit port in the distal end (Fig. 17B).
In regard to claim 30, Saadat teaches wherein the first instrument and the imaging instrument are configured for withdrawal from the guide tube (the instruments and the imager are configurated to be withdrawn through lumens of the guide tube).
In regard to claim 35, Saadat teaches wherein the first side port is spaced approximately 180 degrees from the second side port (Figs. 12,13A,17B).
In regard to claim 39, Saadat teaches wherein the first instrument, the second instrument, and the imaging instrument are configured for withdrawal from the guide tube (the instruments and the imager are configurated to be withdrawn through lumens of the guide tube).
Claim 36 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Saadat et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0272977, hereinafter Saadat) in view of Moll et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0043338, hereinafter Moll), as applied to claim 32, and further in view of Sugiyama et al. (WO 2005/009227, hereinafter Sugiyama) using US 8,753,262 as an English equivalent
In regard to claim 36, Saadat does not expressly teach further comprising: a third instrument extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube at a distal exit port in the distal end face.
Sugiyama teaches an analogous device (400, Fig. 13) comprising a guide tube (10a) with a plurality of channels (131-135) extending through the guide tube allowing instruments to be inserted through each of the channels. Additionally, Sugiyama teaches that any number of apertures can be employed within the guide tube allowing versatility in the number of surgical instruments that can be inserted therethrough (Col. 13, Lines 13-15).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the guide tube of Saadat to include an additional lumen as taught by Sugiyama enabling additional surgical instruments to be inserted through the guide tube for conducting surgical procedures within a body cavity
Claims 21-27, 30, 32-36 and 39 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sugiyama et al. (WO 2005/009227, hereinafter Sugiyama) using US 8,753,262 as an English equivalent in view of Moll et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0043338, hereinafter Moll) and Saadat et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0272977, hereinafter Saadat).
In regard to claim 21 Sugiyama discloses a surgical instrument assembly (400, Fig. 13) comprising:
a guide tube (10a) including a distal end (Fig. 13);
a first instrument (241) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube proximal of the distal end (Fig. 13), and
an imaging instrument (243) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube proximal of the distal end (Fig. 13).
Sugiyama is silent with respect to wherein the guide tube is removeably coupled to a moveable support portion of a telesurgical manipulator system and wherein the guide tube is rotatable about its longitudinal axis; wherein the first instrument is removably coupled to a first actuator of the telesurgical manipulator system, and wherein the first instrument is independently actuatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the first actuator and is independently rotatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the first actuator, wherein the first instrument is independently rotatable about its longitudinal axis; and wherein the imaging instrument is removeably coupled to a second actuator of the telesurgical manipulator system, and wherein the imaging instrument is independently actuatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the second actuator and is independently rotatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the second actuator, wherein the imaging instrument is independently rotatable about its longitudinal axis.
Moll teaches an analogous assembly as illustrated in Fig. 194C comprising a larger endoscopic instrument (820, i.e. guide tube) mounted to an instrument driver (866) which is rotatably disposed about a frame, the larger endoscopic instrument having a plurality of channels (858, 859) for receiving a first endoscopic instrument (18,30) and a second endoscopic instrument (818, 819). Moll teaches that each of the instruments are removably attached to instrument drivers (16,871) via control element interface assemblies (132), Par. 330. The detachable nature of the instruments with respect to the instrument driver is best illustrated in Fig. 6. The instrument drivers (16) contain motors that actuate the control element interface assemblies (132) of the instruments enabling axial movement and independent articulations of the each of the instruments. The instrument drivers (16) are controlled via a user at a workstation (2) for remote control of the actuations of the instruments. Each of the instrument drivers (16,871) in which the first endoscopic instrument (18,30) and second endoscopic instrument (818,819) is rotatable about an axis coincident with the longitudinal axis of the endoscopic instruments via flanged bearing structure (278) and roll motor (280) as taught in Par. 188, Fig. 98.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify each of the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument of Sugiyama to each be mounted to a respective instrument driver (16) of Moll enabling the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument to be removably attached to an instrument driver for controlling independent movements and articulations of the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument. The detachable nature between the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument enables the instrument to be interchanged or replaced without having to replace the entire instrument driver assembly as well.
Sugiyama does not expressly teach wherein the guide tube is positionable in a first configuration and a second configuration, and wherein in the first configuration the distal end of the guide tube is facing a distal direction, and in the second configuration the distal end of the guide tube is facing a proximal direction, wherein the first instrument is in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the second configuration, wherein the imaging instrument is in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the second configuration.
Saadat teaches an analogous surgical system comprising a guide tube (120) with a plurality of channels (128,130) enabling surgical instrument and imaging instruments to be inserted therethrough. The guide tube (120) includes a plurality of deflectable sections (180,182,184) enabling the guide tube to assuming a plurality of different shapes which include a straight shape (first configuration, Fig. 18A) and a retroflexed shape (second configuration, Fig. 18C). The plurality of deflectable sections provides increased maneuverability for positioning the surgical and imaging instruments adjacent target tissue when performing the surgical procedure.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the guide tube of Sugiyama with the articulatable sections of Saadat providing a surgeon with a greater range of maneuverability in positioning the guide tube and surgical instruments with respect to target tissue allowing the guide tube and instrument to be distally facing or proximally facing.
In regard to claim 22, Sugiyama teaches further comprising:
a second instrument (242) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube proximal of the distal end (Fig. 13).
In regard to claim 23, Sugiyama teaches wherein the imaging instrument is at an angular orientation between the first instrument and the second instrument (Fig. 13).
In regard to claim 24, Sugiyama teaches wherein the first instrument includes a first end effector (241b) and the second instrument includes a second end effector (242b) and wherein the first and second end effectors are configured to act in a working area that is within a field of view of the imaging instrument (Fig. 13).
In regard to claim 25, Sugiyama teaches wherein the guide tube includes a side exit port (132) and the first instrument is configured to extend through the side exit port (Fig. 13).
In regard to claim 26, Sugiyama teaches wherein the guide tube includes a side exit port (133) and the imaging instrument is configured to extend through the side exit port (Fig. 13).
In regard to claim 27, Sugiyama teaches further comprising:
a second instrument (221) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube at a distal exit port in the distal end (Fig. 13).
In regard to claim 30, Sugiyama teaches wherein the first instrument and the imaging instrument are configured for withdrawal from the guide tube (Fig. 13).
In regard to claim 32, Sugiyama discloses a teleoperated surgical assembly (400, Fig. 13) comprising:
a guide tube (10a) including a distal end face, wherein a first side port (131) in the guide tube is located proximal of the distal end face, a second side port (132) of the guide tube is located proximal of the distal end face, and third side port (133) of the guide tube is located proximal of the distal end face (Fig. 13);
a first instrument (242) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube through the first side port (Fig. 13);
a second instrument (241) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube through the second side port (Fig. 13); and
an imaging instrument (243) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube through the third side port (Fig. 13).
Sugiyama is silent with respect to wherein the guide tube is removeably coupled to a moveable support portion of a telesurgical manipulator system and wherein the guide tube is rotatable about its longitudinal axis; wherein the first instrument is removably coupled to a first actuator of the telesurgical manipulator system, and wherein the first instrument is independently actuatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the first actuator and is independently rotatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the first actuator, wherein the first instrument is independently rotatable about its longitudinal axis; wherein the second instrument is removably coupled to a second actuator of the telesurgical manipulator system, and wherein the second instrument is independently actuatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the second actuator and is independently rotatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the second actuator; and wherein the imaging instrument is removeably coupled to a third actuator of the telesurgical manipulator system, and wherein the imaging instrument is independently actuatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the third actuator and is independently rotatable with respect to the guide tube via robotically assisted operation of the third actuator, wherein the imaging instrument is independently rotatable about its longitudinal axis.
Moll teaches an analogous assembly as illustrated in Fig. 194C comprising a larger endoscopic instrument (820, i.e. guide tube) mounted to an instrument driver (866) which is rotatably disposed about a frame, the larger endoscopic instrument having a plurality of channels (858, 859) for receiving a first endoscopic instrument (18,30) and a second endoscopic instrument (818, 819). Moll teaches that each of the instruments are removably attached to instrument drivers (16,871) via control element interface assemblies (132), Par. 330. The detachable nature of the instruments with respect to the instrument driver is best illustrated in Fig. 6. The instrument drivers (16) contain motors that actuate the control element interface assemblies (132) of the instruments enabling axial movement and independent articulations of the each of the instruments. The instrument drivers (16) are controlled via a user at a workstation (2) for remote control of the actuations of the instruments. Each of the instrument drivers (16,871) in which the first endoscopic instrument (18,30) and second endoscopic instrument (818,819) is rotatable about an axis coincident with the longitudinal axis of the endoscopic instruments via flanged bearing structure (278) and roll motor (280) as taught in Par. 188, Fig. 98.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify each of the guide tube, first instrument, second instrument and imaging instrument of Sugiyama to each be mounted to a respective instrument driver (16) of Moll enabling the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument to be removably attached to an instrument driver for controlling independent movements and articulations of the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument. The detachable nature between the guide tube, first instrument and imaging instrument enables the instrument to be interchanged or replaced without having to replace the entire instrument driver assembly as well.
Sugiyama does not expressly teach wherein the guide tube is positionable in a first configuration and a second configuration, and wherein in the first configuration the distal end of the guide tube is facing a distal direction, and in the second configuration the distal end of the guide tube is facing a proximal direction, wherein the first instrument is in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the second configuration, wherein the second instrument is in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the second configuration, wherein the imaging instrument is in a retroflexive position when the guide tube is in the second configuration.
Saadat teaches an analogous surgical system comprising a guide tube (120) with a plurality of channels (128,130) enabling surgical instrument and imaging instruments to be inserted therethrough. The guide tube (120) includes a plurality of deflectable sections (180,182,184) enabling the guide tube to assuming a plurality of different shapes which include a straight shape (first configuration, Fig. 18A) and a retroflexed shape (second configuration, Fig. 18C). The plurality of deflectable sections provides increased maneuverability for positioning the surgical and imaging instruments adjacent target tissue when performing the surgical procedure.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the guide tube of Sugiyama with the articulatable sections of Saadat providing a surgeon with a greater range of maneuverability in positioning the guide tube and surgical instruments with respect to target tissue allowing the guide tube and instrument to be distally facing or proximally facing.
In regard to claim 33, Sugiyama teaches wherein the imaging instrument is at an angular orientation between the first instrument and the second instrument (Fig. 13).
In regard to claim 34, Sugiyama teaches wherein the first instrument includes a first end effector (242b) and the second instrument includes a second end effector (241b) and wherein the first and second end effectors are configured to act in a working area that is within a field of view of the imaging instrument (Fig. 13).
In regard to claim 35, Sugiyama teaches wherein the first side port is spaced approximately 180 degrees from the second side port (Col. 13, Lines 13-28, Fig. 13 teaches any number of apertures can be disposed on a circumference of the guide tube which would allow the apertures to be spaced 180° radially apart).
In regard to claim 36, Sugiyama teaches further comprising:
a third instrument (244) extending within the guide tube and configured to exit the guide tube at a distal exit port in the distal end face (Fig. 13).
In regard to claim 39, Sugiyama teaches wherein the first instrument, the second instrument, and the imaging instrument are configured for withdrawal from the guide tube (Fig. 13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-27, 30, 32-36 and 39 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 March 14, 2026