DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted by the applicant and listed below have been considered and are included in the file.
24 September 2025
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-13, 15-16, 18, and 20-21 are currently pending.
Independent claim(s) 1, 9 and 16 and dependent claims 6-7 and 20 have been amended and claim 21 newly added by applicant’s amendments received 16 March 2026. No new matter has been introduced.
Claims 5, 14 and 19 have been canceled, and therefore the prior rejections is/are moot.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 7-8 of Remarks, filed 16 March 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 9, 16 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a newly found prior art reference, in response to the amendments filed.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 16 applicant cites that the cited art Kondo (JP 6369613) fails to anticipate or make obvious the newly added limitations “wherein the signal line does not supply a current for causing the light emitting elements to emit light”, and “the oxide film is formed continuously along the first direction”. Additionally, the applicant notes that in view of these newly added limitations that the connection wiring (76) of Kondo equates to the signal line as claimed, as light up signal line (75) applies a current. This is persuasive, and so the prior rejections under Kondo have been withdrawn, however after search and consideration of these new limitations, new art has been found as is applied below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (US 20140034982 A1), and in view of Nakanishi (US 20210088928 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, as an oxide film acts as an insulator, Yamazaki teaches a light emitting device, comprising
a semiconductor substrate (Figs 1A, 1B, 11A, 11B; substrate (100));
a light-emitting-element section formed on the semiconductor substrate and including a plurality of light emitting elements that radiate light ([0177] - [0179]; Fig. 8 which shows a pixel portion (120), which has multiple light-emitting pixels (253));
a signal line that is formed along a first direction on the semiconductor substrate and that transmits a signal to the light emitting elements ([0177] - [0179], [0253]), wherein the signal line does not supply a current for causing the light emitting elements to emit light ([0183], [0199] - [0212]; Figs. 11A, B where signal line (272) is separate from power line (273));
and an oxide film (insulator) formed between the signal line and the semiconductor substrate along an extension direction of the signal line ([0199] - [0212]), wherein
and the oxide film (insulator) is formed continuously between the signal line and the semiconductor substrate over an entire region where the signal line is formed ([0199] - [0212]; Figs. 11A, B where insulating layer (oxide film) (102) occurs continuously above substrate (100) and below signal lines (272)).
Yamazaki does not inherently teach that the light-emitting-element section includes a plurality of areas.
Nakanishi teaches a light-emitting-element section includes a plurality of areas, and the light emitting elements are connected to the signal line in each of the plurality of areas ([0147] - [0150]; Figs. 3, 17A where element array chips (C1 to C29) each are formed as light emitting device (100) and connected via connector (270)).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Yamazaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakanishi to combine multiple light emitting sections (pixel portions), where each pixel portion has a plurality of emitting elements as taught by Yamazaki, with a reasonable expectation of success of creation of an emitter array, which is grouped into subsects of emitters. The light emitting device of Yamazaki is similar to the light emitting device taught by Nakanishi ([0037]; Fig. 2A, 2B, emitter (100)) which has a plurality of emitters on a semiconductor substrate, where the emitters are thyristors. Additionally, Yamazaki teaches use of the pixel portion within larger device arrays (Figs. 24A-E), and so the combination would have predictable results of forming a larger emitter array with separate groups of pixels/emitters.
Regarding claim 2, Yamazaki as modified above teaches the light emitting device according to Claim 1, wherein
the signal line transmits a signal from a terminal disposed in the semiconductor substrate to the light- emitting-element section ([0178] - [0179], [0201]; where the signal lines can occur in channel formations within the semiconductor layers).
Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki as modified above teaches the light emitting device according to Claim 2, wherein
a signal for causing the light emitting elements to emit light is transmitted from the terminal to the signal line ([0177] - [0179], [0281]).
Regarding claim 4, Yamazaki as modified above teaches the light emitting device according to Claim 3, wherein
the signal line has a same potential regardless of distances from the light emitting elements ([0194]; where the system may set the potential of the signal lines to a specific value).
Regarding claim 6, Yamazaki as modified above teaches the light emitting device according to Claim 1, where a signal line is arranged along the row of LED emitters ([0177] - [0179], [0253]; Fig. 8),
Yamazaki fails to teach the signal line is aligned between a plurality of areas, where each area is made up of a plurality of light emitting elements that radiate light.
Nakanishi teaches a signal line which can be arranged between the areas ([0043] - [0048], [0147]; Figs. 3, 17A-C, where element array chips (C1-C29) are formed as device (100) of Fig. 3, and could be oriented so that lighting signal lines (80, 82, 84, 86) are aligned between element sections).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Yamazaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakanishi to combine multiple emitter devices, where each device has a plurality of emitting elements as taught by Yamazaki, with a reasonable expectation of success of creation of an emitter array with connective signal wiring aligned between the groups of emitters. Arrangement of the light emitting devices of Nakanishi (Fig. 17A, C1 to C29) so that the signal lines of each semiconductor light emitting device (Fig. 3, (100)) are aligned between element sections would not have modified the operation of the device of Fig. 17A, and therefore would be a predictable rearrangement of parts.
Regarding claim 7, Yamazaki as modified above teaches the light emitting device according to Claim 1, wherein
a width of the signal line in a short-side direction is smaller than a width of each of the areas in plan view ([0199] - [0212]; Figs. 11A, 11B where signal line (272) is narrower than width of one pixel, and therefore would be narrower than an area which includes a plurality of pixels).
Regarding claim 21, Yamazaki as modified above teaches the light emitting device according to Claim 1, further comprising
an anode electrode to which the current for causing the light emitting elements to emit light is supplied, wherein the signal line is a wiring different from a wiring connected to the anode electrode ([0149]; Fig. 1A, 1B where pixel electrode (106) may serve as a cathode or anode and supplies power to the light-emitting device).
Claim(s) 10-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (US 20140034982 A1), in view of Nakanishi (US 20210088928 A1) and further in view of Shimada et al. (hereinafter Shimada, US 20240213281 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Yamazaki as modified above teaches the light emitting device according to Claim 1.
Yamazaki fails to teach an optical measurement apparatus which includes a light receiver or a measurer to determine distance.
Shimada teaches a distance measuring system, where a light receiver receives light emitted from the light emitting device and reflected by an object ([0267] - [0269]; Fig. 32, receiver (652))
and a measurer that measures a distance to the object based on a flight distance of light emitted from the light emitting device and received by the light receiver ([0269] - [0270]; Fig. 32, signal processing circuit (653)).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to incorporate the emitter device of Yamazaki as modified by Nakanishi into a distance measurement system as taught by Shimada with a reasonable expectation of success. Shimada notes that the type of laser source within their system can be arbitrarily set to align with the application of the distance measuring system ([0265]). This would incorporate the emitter array of Yamazaki as modified by Nakanishi with predictable results where a distance measuring system emits light and the reflected light is received by the system, such that a time-of-flight distance measurement is obtained between the system and an object in the environment.
Claim 11 is similarly rejected to claim 10.
Claim 12 is similarly rejected to claim 10.
Claim 13 is similarly rejected to claim 10.
Claim 15 is similarly rejected to claim 14.
Claim(s) 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (US 20140034982 A1), in view of Nakanishi (US 20210088928 A1) and further in view of Kondo (JP 6369613).
Regarding claim 16, Yamazaki teaches a light emitting device, comprising
a semiconductor substrate (Figs 1A, 1B, 11A, 11B; substrate (100));
a light-emitting-element section formed on the semiconductor substrate and including a plurality of light emitting elements that radiate light ([0177] - [0179]; Fig. 8 which shows a pixel portion (120), which has multiple light-emitting pixels (253));
a signal line that is formed along a first direction on the semiconductor substrate and that transmits a signal to the light emitting elements ([0177] - [0179], [0253]), wherein the signal line does not supply a current for causing the light emitting elements to emit light ([0183], [0199] - [0212]; Figs. 11A, B where signal line (272) is separate from power line (273));
and an oxide film (insulating layer) formed between the signal line and the semiconductor substrate along an extension direction of the signal line ([0199] - [0212]), wherein
and the oxide film (insulator) is formed continuously between the signal line and the semiconductor substrate over an entire region where the signal line is formed ([0199] - [0212]; Figs. 11A, B where insulating layer (oxide film) (102) occurs continuously above substrate (100) and below signal lines (272)).
Yamazaki does not inherently teach that the light-emitting-element section includes a plurality of areas, or a resistor in the circuit.
Nakanishi teaches a light-emitting-element section includes a plurality of areas, and the light emitting elements are connected to the signal line in each of the plurality of areas ([0147] - [0150]; Figs. 3, 17A where element array chips (C1 to C29) each are formed as light emitting device (100) and connected via connector (270)).
Kondo teaches a resistor that limits a current to the light emitting elements ([0032] - [0034], [0054]; Figs. 5,6 where light-emitting chip (C1) has resistors (Rg1) to (Rg128));
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Yamazaki to incorporate the teachings of Nakanishi to combine multiple light emitting sections (pixel portions), where each pixel portion has a plurality of emitting elements as taught by Yamazaki, and to incorporate the teachings of Kondo to explicitly include a resistor within the circuit, with a reasonable expectation of success of creation of an emitter array, which is grouped into subsects of emitters, with the currents controlled. The light emitting device of Yamazaki is similar to the light emitting device taught by Nakanishi ([0037]; Fig. 2A, 2B, emitter (100)) which has a plurality of emitters on a semiconductor substrate, where the emitters are thyristors. Yamazaki teaches use of the pixel portion within larger device arrays (Figs. 24A-E), and so the combination would have predictable results of forming a larger emitter array with separate groups of pixels/emitters. Additionally, Yamazaki notes that the system already inherently includes taking resistance of components into account ([0074]), and as resistors are well known circuit components, integration would have the predictable result of specifically controlling the current at points within the emitter array.
Regarding claim 18, Yamazaki as modified above teaches the light emitting device according to Claim 16, wherein
the insulating layer is further formed in a predetermined region around the region of the resistor ([0231] - [0329]; Figs. 9, 11A-B, 14, 15; wherein if the system as modified in claim 16 incorporates resistors within the circuits such as in Fig. 14, the resistors will be formed in the regions of the first transistor (261) and the second transistor (262) and therefore will be reasonably formed in an area with the insulating layer (102) underlying it).
Regarding claim 20, Yamazaki as modified above teaches the light emitting device according to Claim 16, where a signal line is arranged along the row of LED emitters ([0177] - [0179], [0253]; Fig. 8),
Yamazaki fails to teach the signal line is aligned between a plurality of areas, where each area is made up of a plurality of light emitting elements that radiate light.
Nakanishi teaches a signal line which can be arranged between the areas ([0043] - [0048], [0147]; Figs. 3, 17A-C, where element array chips (C1-C29) are formed as device (100) of Fig. 3, and could be oriented so that lighting signal lines (80, 82, 84, 86) are aligned between element sections).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Yamazaki and Kondo to incorporate the teachings of Nakanishi to combine multiple emitter devices, where each device has a plurality of emitting elements as taught by Yamazaki, with a reasonable expectation of success of creation of an emitter array with connective signal wiring aligned between the groups of emitters. Arrangement of the light emitting devices of Nakanishi (Fig. 17A, C1 to C29) so that the signal lines of each semiconductor light emitting device (Fig. 3, (100)) are aligned between element sections would not have modified the operation of the device of Fig. 17A, and therefore would be a predictable rearrangement of parts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Anzaki et al. (US 5173759 A) teaches an array of light emitting devices or detectors, where the invention relates to an optical printer head using plural light emitting devices, or an image sensor or other array using plural photo detectors, and an apparatus for printing or reading using the array, method of manufacturing the array, and method of mounting the array.
Lee et al. (US 12014509 B2) teaches an optical device with an emitter and receiver, where the emitter contains a plethora of light emitting units in element groups, which make up an array connected by a conductive circuit.
Endo (US 20230005400 A1) teaches a light emitting apparatus, with an array of pixel includes current paths situated between the pixels all formed on a semiconductor substrate with an insulating layer.
Fukutome (US 20180095336 A1) teaches a semiconductor device with an array, driver circuit, and use of oxide and insulating films within the device which may overlap with wiring.
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645