DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 26, 27, 33-35, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igeta et al. (US 2016/0041436, “Igeta”) in view of Kang et al. (US 2020/0388783, “Kang”).
Regarding claims 1 and 33-35, Igeta teaches an electronic device having a display panel (e.g., Fig. 3, [0050]) having a protective film disposed on the rear surface (layer 12, having base layer 12st, Fig. 7, [0069], and see [0084], Figs. 4 and 5), having a middle area (see Figs. 3-5, display area DP, [0045], [0069]) first side area extending from a first edge of a middle are, a second side area that intersects a first edge of a middle area, and corner portions extending form the side portions (see Fig. 5, [0072], and see also Figs. 3 and 4 showing layers 12 existing in middle, side, and corner portions). Igeta shows implementations wherein layer 12 completely fills the entirely of the corner areas. For example, Figs. 6 and 7 show implementations wherein a corner area of a base substrate 12 (or 12st) is covered in portions by opening slits that are formed in the insulating film OC over the substrate layer 12 (Figs. 6, 7, [0080] – [0088]). These slits are not formed through layer 12st and thus layer 12st, which exists in the corner area, may be considered to correspond to the claimed first layer that entirely fills the corner area (Figs. 5-7, [0107], [0080] - [0088]). Igeta additionally teaches the inclusion of additional layers that do not completely cover the corner areas (see, e.g., Fig. 7, OC layer not completely covering layer 12st, OC layer having slits therein, [0069]). The Examiner notes that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 CCPA 1966).
Igeta fails to teach the inclusion of a heat dissipation layer in the cover protective film. However, in the same field of endeavor of cover layers for display devices ([0003] – [0005]), Kang teaches to include a heat dissipation layer in a cover window in order to effectively dissipate heat emanating from an underlying pixel array, for example ([0009], [0010], [0076]). It therefore would have been obvious to have included such a metallic heat dissipation layer in order to effectively dissipate heat emanating from an underlying pixel array, for example ([0009], [0010], [0076]).
Regarding claim 2, Igeta additionally teaches that the second layer (i.e., layer 12f or OC, Fig. 7, [0069], [0072], Fig. 5) may overlap the middle areas, the first and second side areas of the first layer and expose a corner of the first layer (see Figs. 3-5, OC corner areas having slits to expose underlying layer 12st, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Igeta additionally teaches that the corner area may comprise first and second areas (see, e.g., Figs. 7 – 9, slit sections and sections that do not have slits). Igeta additionally teaches that the second layer (i.e., layer 12f or OC, Fig. 7, [0069], [0072], Fig. 5) may overlap the middle areas, the first and second side areas of the first layer and expose a corner of the first layer (see Figs. 3-5, OC corner areas having slits to expose underlying layer 12st, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Igeta additionally teaches that the second area may be spaced apart from the first side area and the second side area (see Fig. 8, wherein the slits in the OC layer have the effect of making different areas or sections in the corner area) and the first area may surround at least a portion of the second area (see Figs. 8 and 9). The Examiner additionally notes that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 CCPA 1966). In this case adjusting the shape of the slits so as to provide areas that area spaced apart and so one surrounds another would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art so as to improve water resistance in the display device ([0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Igeta additionally teaches that the first area may comprise first and second line areas wherein the first line area may be between the first and second side areas (i.e., in the corner, see Figs. 8 and 9) and a second line area may be between a second side area and a second area in the corner area itself (see, generally Figs. 8 and 9). Additionally, the adjustment of the slit lines in the corner area would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. The Examiner notes that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 6, Igeta additionally teaches that the corner areas may have first and second areas, each having line and space areas extending in first and second directions and being disposed alternatively (see, e.g., Figs. 8 and 9, having slits disposed alternatively and extending in radial and circumferential directions). Additionally, the adjustment of the slit lines in the corner area would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. The Examiner notes that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 7, Igeta additionally teaches that the shapes in the corner section may have a sectoral or radial shape, having radial and circumferential directions (see Figs. 8 and 9). Additionally, the adjustment of the slit lines in the corner area would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. The Examiner notes that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 8, Igeta additionally teaches sections wherein the width of each of the line areas in a first direction (see Fig. 8 wherein the width of a section increases for at least one of the shapes in a first direction). Additionally, the adjustment of the slit lines in the corner area would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. The Examiner notes that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 10, Igeta additionally teaches that the substrate layer may include an additional covering oriented film layer that would cover the corner areas and would cover areas exposed by the slits in layers 12f or OC (e.g., [0059]).
Regarding claim 26, modified Igeta (Kang) additionally teaches that the heat dissipation layer may include a metal layer (Kang, [0010]).
Regarding claim 27, Kang additionally teaches an embodiment wherein the second layer may be configured to expose an entirety of a corner area of the first layer (see Fig. 9, wherein an entire corner portion is exposed). The Examiner notes that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 9 and 28-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igeta in view of Kang as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2017/0012026, “Choi”).
Regarding claim 9, Igeta teaches a protective film (layer 11, having base layer 11, Fig. 12, [0060] – [0065]), having a middle area (see Figs. 3-5, display area DP, [0045], [0069]) a first side area extending from a first edge of a middle are, a second side area that intersects a first edge of a middle area, and corner portions extending form the side portions (see Fig. 5, [0072], and see also Figs. 3 and 4 showing layers 11 existing in middle, side, and corner portions). Igeta additionally teaches that layers 11 may include additional layers that do not completely cover the corner areas (see, e.g., Figs. 10 and 12, BM layer not completely covering layer 11, [0107]). Igeta additionally teaches that the first layer may comprise a light-shielding layer (black matrix layer, see Fig. 12, BM, [0064]), a layer that may be considered to be a cushion layer (e.g., sealing layer or member SLp, Fig. 12, [0067]) and an insulating layer between those layers (see Fig. 12, layer OC1, [0064] may be a resin material). Igeta fails to specifically teach what the resin layer OC1 is made of, however in the same field of endeavor of display devices ([0005]), Choi teaches that a PET is a suitable material out of which to make an electrically insulating material (see, e.g., [0047]). It therefore would have been obvious, in the absence of a specific teaching by Igeta, to have used a PET as the insulating material of layer of Igeta in order to provide sufficient insulation and because the simple substitution of one known element or compound for another would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (see MPEP 2143, and see Park, [0047]).
Regarding claims 28 – 30, Igeta teaches a protective film (layer 11, having base layer 11, Fig. 12, [0060] – [0065]), having a middle area (see Figs. 3-5, display area DP, [0045], [0069]) a first side area extending from a first edge of a middle are, a second side area that intersects a first edge of a middle area, and corner portions extending form the side portions (see Fig. 5, [0072], and see also Figs. 3 and 4 showing layers 11 existing in middle, side, and corner portions). Igeta additionally teaches that layers 11 may include additional layers that do not completely cover the corner areas (see, e.g., Figs. 10 and 12, BM layer not completely covering layer 11, [0107]). Igeta additionally teaches that the first layer may comprise a light-shielding layer (black matrix layer, see Fig. 12, BM, [0064]), a layer that may be considered to be a cushion layer (e.g., sealing layer or member SLp, Fig. 12, [0067]) and an insulating layer between those layers (see Fig. 12, layer OC1, [0064] may be a resin material). Igeta shows implementations wherein layer 12 completely fills the entirely of the corner areas. For example, Figs. 6 and 7 show implementations wherein a corner area of a base substrate 12 (or 12st) is covered in portions by opening slits that are formed in the insulating film OC over the substrate layer 12 (Figs. 6, 7, [0080] – [0088]). These slits are not formed through layer 12st and thus layer 12st, which exists in the corner area, may be considered to correspond to the claimed first layer that entirely fills the corner area (Figs. 5-7, [0107], [0080] - [0088]). Igeta additionally teaches that layers 12 may include additional layers that do not completely cover the corner areas (see, e.g., Fig. 7, OC layer not completely covering layer 12st, [0069]). The Examiner notes that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 CCPA 1966). Igeta fails to teach the inclusion of a heat dissipation layer in the cover protective film. However, in the same field of endeavor of cover layers for display devices ([0003] – [0005]), Kang teaches to include a heat dissipation layer in a cover window in order to effectively dissipate heat emanating from an underlying pixel array, for example ([0009], [0010], [0076]). It therefore would have been obvious to have included such a metallic heat dissipation layer in order to effectively dissipate heat emanating from an underlying pixel array, for example ([0009], [0010], [0076]). Igeta fails to specifically teach what the resin layer OC1 is made of, however in the same field of endeavor of display devices ([0005]), Choi teaches that a PET is a suitable material out of which to make an electrically insulating material (see, e.g., [0047]). It therefore would have been obvious, in the absence of a specific teaching by Igeta, to have used a PET as the insulating material of layer of Igeta in order to provide sufficient insulation and because the simple substitution of one known element or compound for another would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (see MPEP 2143, and see Park, [0047]).
Regarding claim 31, modified Igeta (Kang) additionally teaches that the heat dissipation layer may include a metal layer (Kang, [0010]).
Regarding claim 32, Kang additionally teaches an embodiment wherein the second layer may be configured to expose an entirety of a corner area of the first layer (see Fig. 9, wherein an entire corner portion is exposed). The Examiner notes that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 CCPA 1966).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Igeta fails to teach a first layer that entirely fills the corner area. The Applicant argues that, Igeta teaches that its layer corresponding to the claimed first layer has slits or cuts in it and therefore cannot be said to entirely fill the corner area. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described above, Igeta shows implementations wherein layer 12 completely fills the entirely of the corner areas. For example, Figs. 6 and 7 show implementations wherein a corner area of a base substrate 12 (or 12st) is covered in portions by opening slits that are formed in the insulating film OC over the substrate layer 12 (Figs. 6, 7, [0080] – [0088]). These slits are not formed through layer 12st and thus layer 12st, which exists in the corner area, may be considered to correspond to the claimed first layer that entirely fills the corner area (Figs. 5-7, [0107], [0080] - [0088]).
Therefore, claims 1-10 and 26-35 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782