DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 5/11/26. Claims 1-16 and 21-24 are pending. Claims 21-24 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rodriguez Alvarez et al. (US Pub 2023/0005747, hereinafter referred to as “Alvarez”).
Alvarez discloses the semiconductor method as claimed. See figures 1A-1C, and corresponding text, where Alvarez teaches, in claim 8, a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising:
forming a first layer (12) over a silicon carbide (SiC) layer (101g), wherein:
an electrical contact formation region of the first layer has a first surface distal the SiC layer and a second surface proximal the SiC layer, and the first layer comprises a metal; and
performing a plurality of laser shots (18) on the first surface of the electrical contact formation region (101) of the first layer to form a metal silicide layer (16) from the metal of the first layer (12) and silicon of the SiC layer (101g), wherein:
each laser shot of the plurality of laser shots comprises illuminating a section of the first surface with a laser pulse, each section of the first surface is illuminated via at least two laser shots of the plurality of laser shots; (figures 1A-1C; [0022-0033], examiner views that each region where there are recesses (13), damage (14), and roughness areas the illuminating section areas where plurality of shots are performed for each section)
a first illumination area illuminated by a first laser shot of the plurality of laser shots overlaps a second illumination area illuminated by a second laser shot of the plurality of laser shots; (figures 1B and 1C; [0022-0033]) and
at least one laser shot, of the plurality of laser shots, illuminates material of the first layer having a surface roughness. (figures 1B- 1C; [0023-0034])
Alvarez teaches, in claim 9, wherein: (figures 1A-1C; [0022-0033], examiner views that each region where there are recesses (13), damage (14), and roughness areas the illuminating section areas where plurality of shots are performed for each section)
the plurality of laser shots comprise a third laser shot and a fourth laser shot, the third laser shot comprises illuminating a first section of the first surface with a first laser pulse, the fourth laser shot comprises illuminating the first section of the first surface with a second laser pulse, and a duration of time between the third laser shot and the fourth laser shot is at least a threshold duration of time.
Alvarez teaches, in claim 10, wherein: (figures 1A-1C; [0022-0033], examiner views that each region where there are recesses (13), damage (14), and roughness areas the illuminating section areas where plurality of shots are performed for each section) the third laser shot melts metal of the first layer to form melted metal, the threshold duration of time is based upon a solidification time of the melted metal, and the melted metal solidifies prior to the fourth laser shot.
Alvarez teaches, in claim 11, wherein:
after the third laser shot and prior to the fourth laser shot, the first section of the first surface has a first surface roughness, and after the fourth laser shot, the first section of the first surface has a second surface roughness less than the first surface roughness. (figures 1A-1C; [0022-0033], examiner views that each region where there are recesses (13), damage (14), and roughness areas the illuminating section areas where plurality of shots are performed for each section)
Alvarez teaches, in claim 12, wherein: (figures 1A-1C; [0022-0033], examiner views that each region where there are recesses (13), damage (14), and roughness areas the illuminating section areas where plurality of shots are performed for each section)
a second section of the first surface, comprising the first section of the first surface, is illuminated with the first laser pulse, a third section of the first surface, comprising the first section of the first surface, is illuminated with the second laser pulse, the third section of the first surface is offset from the second section of the first surface, and the third section and the second section overlap at the first section.
Alvarez teaches, in claim 13, comprising: (figures 1A-1C; [0022-0033], examiner views that each region where there are recesses (13), damage (14), and roughness areas the illuminating section areas where plurality of shots are performed for each section)
after performing the plurality of laser shots, forming one or more metal layers over the metal silicide layer; and
affixing a layer of the one or more metal layers to a lead frame (figure 3; [0038-0041]).
Alvarez teaches, in claim 14, wherein:
the first layer comprises silicon (figure 1A; [0022]).
Alvarez teaches, in claim 15, wherein: the metal comprises nickel ([0026]).
Alvarez teaches, in claim 16, wherein:
the first layer is formed to have a thickness less than 200 nanometers ([0027]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 and 21-24 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art of record and to the examiner’s knowledge does not suggest or render obvious a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, particularly characterized by directing second thermal energy to the first surface of the metal silicide layer having the surface roughness to reduce the surface roughness of the first surface of the metal silicide layer, as detailed in claim 1. Claims 2-7 depend from claim 1.
The closest prior art of record and to the examiner’s knowledge does not suggest or render obvious a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, particularly characterized by directing second thermal energy to the first surface of the metal silicide layer having the surface roughness to reduce the surface roughness of the first surface of the metal silicide layer, as detailed in claim 21. Claims 22-24 depends from claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s amendment has necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/STANETTA D ISAAC/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 July 29, 2026