DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10, 14-16, 19-29, 31-35, 37, and 38 are pending. Of the pending claims, claims 1-10, 14-16, 19-29, 31, 37, and 38 are presented for examination on the merits, and claims 32-35 are withdrawn from examination.
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 19-22, 24, 26, 27, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2556916 (A1) to Vivari (“Vivari”) in view of US 2017/0136585 (A1) to Shimizu (“Shimizu”).
Regarding claim 1, Vivari discloses a solder material containing flux (solvent composition) and solder particles dispersed therein (solvent composition in which the solder particles are dispersed). Title; abstract.
The flux can include an activator containing a weak organic acid or an amine (activator comprising at least one of a group of activator materials, the group consisting of an organic acid or salt thereof and an amine or salt thereof). Para. [0055]. The flux further contains solvent (solvent composition comprising at least one solvent) as a constituent of the flux. Abstract; para. [0009], [0017], [0045], [0050], [0054].
The flux is made by dissolving, mixing, and melting the individual constituent components (e.g., activator and solvent). Para. [0064]. Then, an alloy powder (the solder particles) is mixed with the flux. Para. [0064]. By incorporating the solvent in the flux and fabricating the flux before dispersing the alloy powder therein, the flux contains at least one solvent wherein all or nearly of the activator is arranged in the solvent composition.
Melting temperatures of the solder are in excess of about 150oC, typically in the range of about 185oC to about 280oC (para. [0030]) (solder particles are configured for a soldering temperature between about 200oC to about 450oC), which overlaps the claimed range. An example reflow temperature is 230oC. Para. [0066].
The overlap between the ranges taught in the prior art and recited in the claims creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select from among the prior art ranges because there is utility over an entire range disclosed in the prior art.
Vivari teaches that the solder particles may comprise tin (Sn), lead (Pb), silver (Ag), bismuth (Bi), copper (Cu), antimony (Sb), indium (In), zinc (Zn), or nickel (Ni), or alloys or combinations thereof, as is appropriate for the application. Para. [0061]. Since Vivari teaches that lead (Pb) one of a variety of metals for the solder (para. [0061]), it is an optional element and need not be contained (solder material is lead-free).
Vivari discloses nickel as an option for the solder particle and that alloys of combinations of the aforementioned listed metals make up the solder particles (para. [0061]), but does not specifically disclose solder particles comprising at least 30 wt.% nickel of a total weight of all solder particles and in which the solder particles comprise a first group and second group of solder particles, the second group of particles including a material different from the first group.
Shimizu is directed to a nickel particle composition for bonding. Title; abstract; para. [0001]. To obtain sufficient bonding strength, the nickel particles are divided into two groups. Para. [0012]. One group is Component A, which is made of nickel particles containing 99 wt.% or more nickel in one embodiment (corresponds to first group of solder particles). Para. [0015], [0019], [0043]. The other group is Component B, which is made of a nickel fine particles containing 50 wt.% or more nickel element and may contain 1-10 wt.% content of a metal other than nickel, such as tin, titanium, cobalt, copper, chromium, manganese, iron, zirconium, tungsten, molybdenum, vanadium, or noble metal (e.g., gold, silver, platinum, palladium, iridium, osmium, ruthenium, rhenium) (corresponds to second group of solder particles including a material different from the first group of solder particles). Para. [0016], [0020], [0021], [0047], [0048]. The bonding particles are composed of Component A and Component B, each of which is more than half nickel. It therefore follows that nickel is at least 30% by weight nickel of the total weight of all bonding particles.
By selecting this combination of metal particles and sizes for the bonding composition, the bonding composition readily undergoes inter-particle sintering. Para. [0013]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have imported the nickel particle composition of Shimizu as the nickel solder particles of Vivari because the varied size and composition would facilitate and enhance joining and adhesion between particles in the solder.
Regarding claims 2-4, Vivari discloses that the activator may be an amine hydrohalide, such as dimethylamine HCl, among others (amine salt, amine hydrohalide salt, organic amine or salt thereof). Para. [0055].
Regarding claim 6, Vivari discloses that the flux may contain carboxylic acid, such as azelaic acid, or dicarboxylic acids having 3 or more carbon atoms (C1-C10 monocarboxylic and dicarboxylic acid). Para. [0054], [0060].
Regarding claims 8 and 9, it is noted that the organic diamines (claim 8) and the N-alkyl-substituted and unsubstituted organic diamines (claim 9) are optional claim elements because parent claim 6 only requires a minimum of one of the activator materials to fulfill the activator component (“at least one of”). In the present instance, Vivari already teaches carboxylic acid, such as azelaic acid, or dicarboxylic acids having 3 or more carbon atoms (C1-C10 monocarboxylic and dicarboxylic acid). Para. [0054], [0060]. Therefore, Vivari meets the claim as currently recited.
Regarding claim 19, Vivari discloses that the presence of a solvent in the flux, but does not name any of the claimed solvents.
Shimizu discloses that terpineol, such as a-terpineol (alpha-terpineol), is an acceptable solvent for the bonding composition. Para. [0086]. This has a boiling point in the range of 100°C-300°C to ensure stability and promote volatilization during heating. Para. [0084].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the solvents of Shimizu in the solder material of Vivari because it possesses a vaporization point that facilitates joining.
Regarding claims 20, 21, and 24, Vivari discloses that the flux may include a rosin, such as tall oil rosin. Para. [0051], [0052], [0056]. The rosin as first component may be less than 50 wt.% of the flux (para. [0051]), which encompasses the claimed range.
Regarding claim 22, Vivari discloses that the flux (solvent composition) can further contain a thixotrope (thixotropic agent). Para. [0056].
Regarding claim 26, Vivari discloses an example solder material containing an amount of 85 wt.% solder particles, the balance being the flux. Para. [0063]. This weight ratio of 85 wt.% falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 27 and 37, Vivari discloses that the solder particles may comprise tin (Sn). Para. [0061]. Shimizu discloses that the Component B particles may contain tin. Para. [0048].
Regarding claim 38, Shimizu discloses that the Component A particles may be 99.0 wt.% or more nickel. Para. [0043]. This meets the transitional phrase “consisting of” because the range encompasses particles that may be 100 wt.% nickel, i.e., no other alloying elements present.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivari in view of Shimizu, as applied to claim 1 above, with evidence from PubChem Compound Stearic Acid (“PubChem”).
Regarding claim 5, Vivari discloses an teaches stearic acid as an example organic acid (para. [0054]), but is silent regarding its pKa value.
The pKa of stearic acid is 4.75 (PubChem at Section 13.2.2 – Environmental Fate / Exposure Summary; 13.2.5 – Environmental Fate), which falls within the claimed range.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivari in view of Shimizu, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US 2016/0311067 (A1) to Nachreiner et al. (“Nachreiner”).
Regarding claim 7, Vivari discloses that the flux may contain dicarboxylic acids having 3 or more carbon atoms (C1-C10 monocarboxylic and dicarboxylic acid) (para. [0060]), but does not specify the claimed compounds.
Nachreiner is directed to solder pastes for the mounting of electronic components and substrates. Abstract; para. [0002]. It is advantageous for the flux to contain dicarboxylic acids, such as adipic acid and oxalic acid, in addition to an amine. Para. [0022], [0032]. Amines, in addition to adipic and oxalic acid, help solder paste not spread upon heating. Abstract; para. [0020], [0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the dicarboxylic acids taught by Nachreiner as additional components in the paste of Vivari because they would decrease spreading of the paste upon heating, which would improve predictability of the areal coverage of the solder on the component being bonded.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Vivari does not teach an organic diamine selected from a N-alkyl-substituted diamines and unsubstituted organic diamines.
Nachreiner teaches that amines, in addition to adipic and oxalic acid, help solder paste not spread upon heating. Abstract; para. [0020], [0023]. Specific amines include 1,2-tetramethylethylenediamine; 1,2-tetraethylethylenediamine; or 1,2-tetrapropylethylenediamine. Para. [0034]. Amines also include N-coco-1,3-diaminopropane; 1,6-diaminohexane; 1,7-diaminoheptane; 1,8-diaminooctane; 1,9-diaminononane; and 1,10-diaminodecane. Para. [0040].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the diamines taught by Nachreiner as additional or alternative amines in the paste of Vivari because they would decrease spreading of the paste upon heating, which would improve predictability of the areal coverage of the solder on the component being bonded.
Regarding claim 10, Nachreiner teaches adding monoamines to the paste. Para. [0048], [0049]. Examples include diethanolamine and triethanolamine. Para. [0050].
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivari in view of Shimizu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2008/0035710 (A1) to Furuno et al. (“Furuno”).
Regarding claims 14-16, Vivari discloses an activator containing amine hydrohalide (para. [0055]), but not specifically a metal organic salt.
Furuno teaches that activator can be an organic acid metal salt for regulating the action of the organic film. Para. [0018], [0019], [0032], [0033]. Controlling the action of the organic film is important because it controls the final amount of solder in the solder layer. Abstract; para. [0014]-[0017]. The organic acid metal salt acts to inhibit coalescence of the solder powder, which is needed to balance the acceleration of the coalescence of the solder powder and to make the solder layer uniform. Para. [0015]-[0017]. The organic metal salt is made of the acid component and the metal constituting the particle of the solder powder. Claim 7. This would be nickel or tin for the nickel and tin in the solder powders of Vivari and Shimizu.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the organic acid metal salt, as taught by Furuno, as the organic acid in Vivari in view of Shimizu because it would help the uniformity of the solder layer.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivari in view of Shimizu, as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of US 2008/0000549 (A1) to Sheng et al. (“Sheng”).
Regarding claim 23, Vivari discloses that the flux (solvent composition) can further contain a thixotrope (thixotropic agent) (para. [0056]), but does not disclose the claimed thixotropic agents.
Sheng is directed to a no-clean, low residue solder paste. Abstract; para. [0001]. The thixotropic agent allows for the modification of the rheological properties of the flux. Para. [0025]. Example thixotropic agents include glyceryl tris-12-hydroxy stearate, modified glyceryl tris-12-hydroxy stearate, polyamide, stearamide, or a combination thereof. Para. [0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a known thixotropic agent, such as the agents taught by Sheng, as the thixotropic agent in Vivari because it would permit the user to customize the viscosity of the solder paste, as needed.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivari in view of Shimizu, as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of US 2014/0084461 (A1) to Sidhu et al. (“Sidhu”).
Regarding claim 25, Vivari teaches that the flux can contain a thixotrope (thixotropic agent) (para. [0056]), but does not specify an amount or range.
Sidhu, directed to flux materials for solder placement, teaches that thixotropic agent can be added for the purpose of controlling the temperature at which solid materials can resist softening. Para. [0030]-[0033]. Control of this temperature is important for solder placement for ensuring no bleeding during solder placement. Para. [0026]. In some embodiments, the flux may include 10-80% by weight of thixotropic agent (para. [0033]), which overlaps the claimed range. The flux may be combined with metal powder to form a solder paste. Para. [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a proportion of thixotropic agent in the flux composition of Vivari using the values taught by Sidhu because it would permit the user to control the softening temperature of the flux, thereby controlling accurate placement of the solder and improve the accuracy of the printing.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivari in view of Shimizu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EP 0140344 (A2) to Hwang (“Hwang”).
Regarding claim 28, Vivari discloses viscosity of the flux, but is silent regarding the viscosity of the solder paste.
Hwang, directed to pastes for joining by soft soldering, infiltrating, facing metal work, or for a molding purpose, teaches that solder pastes typically have viscosities in the range of 20,000 cps to 200,000 cps (20-200 Pa·s) as measured by a Brookfield technique, with preferred viscosity depending on the method of dispensing or application of the paste to the materials to be joined. Page 1, lines 1-4; page 6, lines 10-11; page 7, lines 6-12; page 19, lines 13-28.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified or maintained a solder paste viscosity of 20-200 Pa·s in the solder pastes of Vivari in view of Shimizu because the viscosity is a demonstrated as a suitable viscosity value, promoting the creation of a bonding paste that sufficiently and adequately joins objects in a soldering process. Although Hwang is silent as to the temperature at which the viscosity measurement was made, it would have been obvious to have measured at room temperature (about 20-30oC) because that is the temperature of the coupon before heating (page 21 at lines 1-6).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivari in view of Shimizu and Hwang, as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of US 2014/0130940 (A1) to Okada (“Okada ‘940”) and US 2014/0150929 (A1) to Sandstrom (“Sandstrom”).
Regarding claim 29, Vivari is silent regarding the shear thinning index of the solder paste.
Okada ‘940, directed to a solder paste, teaches that it is preferable for a solder paste to have a viscosity of 50-150 Pa·s and a thixotropic ratio of 0.3-0.5 (shear thinning index). Abstract; para. [0026]. When the thixotropic agent is lower, the stress is small against displacement (less resistance against shear). Para. [0064]. This allows the solder paste to be filled in even minute apertures. Para. [0064].
Although Okada ‘940 does not refer to the thixotropic ratio as a shear thinning index, the amount of energy needed to establish the slippage plane that allows for shearing is known as shear-thinning. Sandstrom at para. [0065], [0066]. Thus, the thixotropic ratio in Okada ‘940 is considered a measure of the shear thinning index.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have limited the shear thinning index of the pastes of Vivari to 0.3-0.5, as taught by Okada ‘940, because that shear thinning index value would permit the paste to be used in tools and spaces that are narrow or small. Okada ‘940 and Sandstrom are silent as to the method of measurement, but it would be obvious to use the Brookfield tool of Hwang at room temperature because it can measure the ease with which fluid can flow when subjected to shear stress (viscosity), a property which is related to the thixotropic ratio.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivari in view of Shimizu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2015/0027589 (A1) to Okada et al. (“Okada ‘589”).
Regarding claim 31, Kukimoto is silent as to the amount of flux (solvent composition) evaporated at the soldering temperature.
Okada ‘589, directed to a solder paste, teaches that solder paste can become residue-free when the components evaporate/subline in the process of heating during soldering. Para. [0068], [0069]. It is desirable to decompose and evaporate the flux during heating during soldering so that no residue remains in the soldered portion and causes corrosion. Para. [0022], [0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have burned all of the flux of the solder paste of Vivari at the conclusion of the soldering process so that no residue is in the final soldered product, leaving the bonding joint clean and less susceptible to corrosion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to Kukimoto (US 2008/0160331 (A1)) are moot because Kukimoto is not relied upon to reject the claims in this Office action.
Applicant argues that Vivari is directed to Sn-based particles and that importing the Ni-based sintering particles of Shimizu would fundamentally alter the Sn-based solder paste of Vivari.
In response, the argument is not persuasive because Vivari discloses that the solder particles mixed with the flux may comprise tin, lead, silver, bismuth, copper, antimony, indium, zinc, or nickel (Ni), or alloys or combinations thereof, as is appropriate for the application (para. [0061]). Although Example 1 of Vivari uses Sn-based solder particles, prior art is not limited solely to disclosed examples or particular embodiments, and disclosed examples are not evidence of teaching away from the broader disclosure permitted by the document. See MPEP § 2123(II).
Applicant argues that Shimizu does not disclose solder alloy particles and does not disclose a solder paste.
In response, Shimizu seeks to improve upon solder materials (para. [0003], [0004], [0096]). The bonding composition contains common soldering paste components (e.g., solvent, thixotropic agents) (para. [0088]), and the bonding composition is used in a bonding method that is operated at the same temperatures as the soldering temperatures Vivari (para. [0090]). Therefore, Shimizu’s particles are pertinent to the field of soldering pastes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
July 02, 2026