Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, 15, 17, and 20-22 are pending and rejected. Claims 1, 13, 17, and 20 are amended. Claims 2, 8, 14, 16, 18, and 19 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim indicates that the first insulation material covers the first electronic component, however, claim 1 has been amended to require that the first electronic component comprises a ground connection, such that the specification does not support covering the first component comprising a ground connection. Specifically, the specification does not indicate that the ground connection is covered by the first insulating material. Appropriate action is required without adding new matter.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, as noted above, the specification does not have support for covering the first component comprising the ground connection with the first insulation material. Further, since the shielding layer is applied to contact the ground connection of the first electronic component, where the shielding layer is outside the first insulation material, it is unclear how the first insulation material covers the ground connection while the shielding layer contacts the ground connection. For the purposes of examination, the claim is being interpreted as though the first insulation material covers a portion of the first electronic component. Appropriate action is required without adding new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 11-13, 15, 17, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nielsen, US 2009/0084586 A1 (provided on the IDS of 4/6/2022) in view of Marshall, US 2003/0031339 A1, Yazaki, US 2019/0363055 A1, and Strader, US 2018/0255666 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 12, and 13, Nielsen a method of manufacturing an electronic circuit of an audio device (a method of manufacturing an electronic component assembly, 0053, where the assembly includes a circuit, 0104 and 0110, where the component is a hearing instrument or hearing aid, i.e., and audio device, 0005, 0048, 0081, and 0110), the method comprising:
providing a circuit board of the audio device (where a substrate for the component is a printed circuit board, 0027, 0104, and Fig. 2a, indicating that a circuit board is provided, where the component is used in a hearing aid, 0048, such that it will be a circuit board of an audio device);
mounting one or more electronic components including a first electronic component on the circuit board (where a SMD-component is mounted on a carrier, the carrier being a circuit board, 0104 and Fig. 2, where the SMD is an electronic component, 0006);
applying a first insulation layer outside the first electronic component (where a layer of electrically insulating material is applied to the SMD component, 0056 and Fig. 2a, so as to be outside the first electronic component);
applying a first shielding layer outside the first insulation layer, wherein the first shielding layer is above a first part of the circuit board (applying a layer of electrically conductive material that acts as a shielding layer over the insulation layer, 0059, 0110, and Fig. 2a, so as to be outside the first insulation layer and above a first part of the circuit board, i.e., the area of the circuit board covered by the shielding layer); and
applying a first protection layer outside the first shielding layer, wherein the first protection layer is electrically insulative (applying an electrically insulating layer to at least parts of the electrically conductive layer, 0068, such that the second insulating layer is considered to be a protective layer outside the first shielding layer);
wherein the first insulation layer is made of a first insulation material comprising one or more polymers (where the insulation material is in the form of a polymer, 0024 and 0103), and wherein the applying the first insulation layer outside the first electronic component comprises jetting or spraying the first insulation material towards the first electronic component (where the insulating layer is provided by spraying, 0073, where a lacquer is understood to be a polymer or resin).
Since they teach that the electrically insulating layer is applied to at least parts of the electrically conductive layer, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the layer to the entire surface of the first shielding layer because they teach that the range of coverage is at least part, suggesting that the entire shielding layer can be covered. Specifically, the range of coating at least parts of the electrically conductive layer overlaps a range of coating the entire electrically conductive layer. According to MPEP 2144.05, “in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
They further teach that the thickness of the electrically insulating layer is in the range from 1 to 30 microns (0072), so as to be within the claimed range. According to MPEP 2131.03, “[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art.” Titanium Metals Corp.v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citing In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 682, 133 USPQ 275, 280 (CCPA 1962)) (emphasis in original).
They do not specifically teach that the protection layer covers a second part of the circuit board different from the first part of the circuit board.
Marshall teaches mounting a microphone array and associated electronics of a hearing aid (abstract). They teach that a telecoil assembly includes a telecoil 12, an integrated circuit 14, and a substrate 16 (0057 and Fig. 1a-b). They teach that the ends of the telecoil are soldered to the substrate and the substrate provides electrical connections from the ends to terminals of the integrated circuit (0058 and Fig. 1a). They teach that the packaging provides RF electromagnetic shielding for the enclosed telecoil (0066). They teach that the cover 32A provides the RF shielding, where the cover is a metal (0067 and Fig. 3A). They teach that the edges of the metal cover connect to the ends and sides of the ground plane 28 of the substrate to complete the RF shield (0067 and Fig. 3A). They teach that the cover 32B can comprise a metal coated plastic cover having a center plastic layer and metal layers or coatings 46 and 48 on the inner and outer surface of the plastic layer (0068 and Fig. 4a-b). They teach that the cover packaged telecoil assembly may be temperature insulated so as be encapsulated by Kapton or epoxy (0071). They teach that the metal layer 178 may be below an encapsulant, where a conformal protective layer 180 is applied to encase the telecoil 12 and the integrated circuit 14 (0097 and Fig. 17c-d). They teach that the conformal protective layer 180 protects the telecoil and the integrated circuit from contamination by the metal layer, where the conformal protective layer may comprise an epoxy or a polyurethane (0097). They teach that to complete the RF shield, the metal layer encases the telecoil and connects to the sides and edges of the ground plane on or within the substrate (0097). They teach that the telecoil assembly is then encapsulated with epoxy to form the assembly (0097 and Fig. 17c-d). They teach that the epoxy encapsulant provides structural strength to protect the telecoil from damage (0094). Therefore, they teach applying an insulating layer to encapsulate a component on a circuit board in a hearing aid for protecting the device, forming a metal layer over the insulating layer for RF shielding, where an encapsulating layer completely covers the metal layer so as to cover a second region on the substrate different from a first region covered by the shielding layer.
From the teachings of Marshall, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Nielsen to have applied the further electrically insulating layer to encapsulate the shielding layer on the substrate because Marshall teaches that such a method is desirable for protecting a component on a circuit board for a hearing aid such that it will be expected to provide the further insulating layer as desired by Nielsen while also providing protection. Therefore, the protection layer will be provided to cover the shielding layer, where the shielding layer is above a first part of the circuit board and the protection layer will cover the shielding layer and a second part of the circuit board that is different from the first part of the circuit board, i.e., the region of the board on the outside of the shielding layer that is covered by the thickness of the protection layer that encapsulates the shielding layer.
Nielsen further teaches that the electromagnetic screen is electrically connected to a ground plane (0023, 0104, and Fig. 2a), such that it is coupled to the ground connection. They depict the screen as having an electrical pad connection on the substrate to the ground reference on the top surface (Fig. 2a).
Marshall teaches using a ground plane that may be on top of the surface 24, at the bottom surface 26, and/or within the substrate 16 (0059 and Fig. 1a).
They do not teach that the first electronic component comprises a ground connection at a major surface of the circuit board and wherein the first shielding layer is applied to contact the ground connection of the first electronic component at the major surface of the circuit board.
Yazaki teaches an electronic component including a thin-film shield layer that includes a wiring substrate, surface mount devices mounted to a first principal surface of the wiring substrate, a metal thin-film shield layer, and a magnetic metal thin-film shield layer (abstract). They teach that device land conductors 411 and 412 are provided on the first principal surface of the wiring substrate with a ground terminal conductor 301 and an external connection terminal conductor 311 being provided on the second principal surface of the wiring substrate (0047 and Fig. 1). They teach that the surface mount device 51 is mounted to the device land conductors 411 and the surface mount device 52 is mounted to the device land conductors 412 (0049 and Fig. 1). They teach that a sealing resin layer 60 covers the surface mount devices and the first principal surface (0050 and Fig. 1). They teach that the metal thin-film shield layer covers the sealing resin layer (0051 and Fig. 1). They teach that the metal thin-film shield layer 70 is connected to the conductor patterns 211 and is thus connected to the ground terminal conductor 301 (0053). They teach that the device land conductors 411 and 412 are connected to the ground terminal conductor 301 and the external connection terminal conductor 311 through the conductor patterns 211 and the interlayer connection conductors 212 (0048 and Fig. 1). Therefore, Yazaki teaches grounding a shielding layer by connecting it to a ground connection of a surface mounted device.
Strader teaches a multilayered thin film board level shield (BLS) (abstract). They teach that the BLS may be attached to the PCB ground traces or ground ring (0020). They teach that the shielding layer includes an electrically-conductive shielding layer 5 (e.g., a metal layer, metallization, metal coating, metal foil, etc.) disposed between inner and outer dielectric layers 9 and 13 (0037 and Fig. 1). They teach that the BLS may be attached directly to the PCB ground traces or ground ring 25 (0038 and Fig. 1). They indicate that the inner insulating layer is applied over a first part of the circuit board, the metal layer is over a second part, and the second insulating layer is over a third part (0041, Fig. 1, and Fig. 2). They provide a system in package that includes a copper foil 205 sandwiched between two thermoplastic layers 209, 213 (Fig. 8). They teach that the configuration includes a coper to coper contact 211 between the copper foil 205 and the copper ground plane 225 of the PCB 221 (0061 and Fig. 8). They teach that the multilayer thin film BLS includes a dielectric layer that provides electrical insulation to inhibit the BLS from electrically shorting any components received under the BLS (0033). Therefore, Strader provide a ground connection on a major surface of the PCB below the shielded component, where the shield layer is connected to the ground connection.
From the teachings of Yazaki, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have connected the shielding layer by connecting it to a ground connection of a surface mounted device because Yazaki teaches that such a configuration is suitable for grounding a shielding layer on a wiring substrate such that it will be expected to provide a suitable device configuration. Further, from the teachings of Strader, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the ground connection on the top surface of the circuit board so that the first shielding layer is applied to contact the ground connection at a first major surface of the circuit and so that the electronic component is connected to the ground at the major surface because Nielsen depicts providing a ground reference on the surface that is in contact with the shielding layer, Marshall teaches that the ground plane can be on the top or bottom of the substrate, Yazaki teaches connecting both a device and shielding layer to the same ground connection and Strader depicts a configuration in which the component is located on a ground connection and where the shielding layer is connected to the ground connection such that it will be expected to provide a suitable location for the ground connection and desirable electrical connections.
Regarding claim 6, Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader suggests the limitations of instant claim 1. Nielsen further teaches providing a first mask layer for screening areas of a surface of the component intended for not being covered by an electrically insulating layer (0055), indicating that a mask is applied before the spraying of the first insulation material.
Regarding claim 7, Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader suggests the limitations of instant claim 1. Nielsen further teaches that the first insulation material covers the first electronic component (Fig. 2a).
Marshall also teaches that the conformal protective layer, that is an epoxy or polyurethane so as to be insulating, encases the telecoil (0097 and Fig. 17c-d), such that it will cover the electronic component.
Regarding claim 11, Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader suggests the limitations of instant claim 1. Nielsen further teaches that the process can be done with more than one component (abstract, 0011, 0014-0020, Fig. 1b, and Fig. 2b). Therefore, the process will include a second component and the first insulation layer will also be applied outside the second electronic component.
Regarding claim 15, Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader suggests the limitations of instant claim 13. As discussed above for claim 11, Nielsen teaches including a second electronic component. They teach applying the shielding layer to cover the second electronic component (Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 17, Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader suggest the process of instant claim 13. Nielsen further depicts the shielding layer as being on top of the grounding pad so as to sandwich the ground connection between a part of the shielding layer and a part of the circuit board (Fig. 2a).
Strader also depicts sandwiching the ground connection between a part of the first shielding layer and a part of the circuit board (Fig. 1 and Fig. 8).
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader suggests the limitations of instant claims 1 and 13. Nielsen further teach that the term ‘electrically insulating’ is taken to mean being essentially electrically non-conducting, where examples of electrically insulating material for use in the present context are polyethylene or PVC (0024).
Marshall teaches forming the conformal protective layer from materials such as epoxy or polyurethane and the encapsulation layer from epoxy (0093 and 0097).
From this, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the same electrically insulating material in the first insulation layer and the protection layer because Nielsen teaches using insulating materials for both layers, where they indicate that PE and PVC are examples of insulating materials for use in the invention such that by using PE or PVC for both layers it will be expected to provide suitable insulating materials and further because Marshall teaches that epoxy can be used for both the outer encapsulating layer and the conformal protective layer, indicating that the same materials can be used to sandwich the metal layer.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nielsen, US 2009/0084586 A1 (provided on the IDS of 4/6/2022) in view of Marshall, US 2003/0031339 A1.
Regarding claim 20, as discussed above, Nielsen in view of Marshall provides the limitations of instant claim 20 of manufacturing an electronic circuit of an audio device, the method comprising: providing a circuit board of the audio device; mounting one or more electronic components including a first electronic component on the circuit board; applying a first insulation layer outside the first electronic component; applying a first shielding layer outside the first insulation layer, wherein the first shielding layer is above a first part of the circuit board; and applying a first protection layer outside the first shielding layer, wherein the first protection layer is electrically insulative, and is applied to cover at least a part of the first shielding layer and a second part of the circuit board, wherein the second part of the circuit board covered by the first protection layer is different from the first part of the circuit board.
Nielsen teaches that a further electrically insulating layer is applied to at least parts of the electrically conductive layer (0068), where it is suggested to encapsulate the shielding layer. Nielsen further teaches that the electromagnetic screen is electrically connected to a ground plane (0023, 0104, and Fig. 2a).
Marshall teaches that the metal layer connects to the sides and edges of the ground plane on or within the substrate (0097 and Fig. 17c-d).
Therefore, when applying the second insulating layer to the entire surface of the electrically conductive layer to encapsulate it, it will also result in the ground connection to be between the first insulation layer and the protection layer as depicted in Fig. 2a because the shielding layer will contact the ground and be sandwiched between the first insulating layer and the protection layer.
Claims 1, 5, 6, 7, 9-13, 15, 17, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins, US 5,639,989 (provided on the IDS of 4/6/2022) in view of Nielsen, US 2009/0084586 A1 (provided on the IDS of 4/6/2022), Yazaki, US 2019/0363055 A1, and Strader, US 2018/0255666 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 12, and 13, Higgins teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic circuit (a method of making a shielded electronic component assembly on a circuit board substrate, title and abstract), the method comprising:
providing a circuit board (where a component is mounted on a printed circuit board substrate, abstract, Col. 5, lines 31-61 and Fig. 1);
mounting one or more electronic components including a first electronic component on the circuit board (where a device is attached or mounted to the substrate, Col. 5, lines 63-66 and Fig. 1, where the device is an electronic component, i.e., a semiconductor die, abstract, Col. 5, lines 31-62, and Col, 8, lines 1-14);
applying a first insulation layer outside the first electronic component (where an insulative layer is dispensed and cured over the die and other regions of the substrate which will be shielded, Col. 6, lines 17-47 and Fig. 1, so as to be outside of the first electronic component);
applying a first shielding layer outside the first insulation layer (depositing a shielding layer over the insulative coating, Col. 6, line 64 through Col. 7, line 13 and Fig. 1, so as to be outside the first insulation layer); and
applying a first protection layer outside the first shielding layer, wherein the first protection layer is electrically insulative, and is applied to fully cover the first shielding layer (where multilayered shielding coatings can be formed, wherein each layer is formulated to contain a specific mixture of fillers to target specific E of H field frequencies of attenuation, Col. 4, lines 1-30, where in the multilayer embodiment, a highly insulative polymer coating is first applied and then a series of individual coatings are applied, each chosen to shield a specific subset of interference frequencies, where a second coating is highly electrically conductive, Col. 4, lines 54-65, and where between any given shielding layers there may be an insulating layer which electrically isolates the shielding layers from one another, Col. 19, lines 32-53, therefore, the first shielding layer is considered to be the first electrically conductive layer and the protective layer is considered to be one of the insulating layers formed between the subsequent shielding layers, where since the insulating layer is between the shielding layers to electrically isolate them, it will fully cover the first shielding layer to provide the electrical insulation);
wherein the first insulation layer is made of a first insulation material comprising one or more polymers (where the insulative layer is a polymer, Col. 6, lines 17-47), and wherein the applying the first insulation layer outside the first electronic component comprises jetting or spraying the first insulation material towards the first electronic component (where the insulating layer is deposited by spraying, Col. 6, lines 17-47).
They further teach that the thickness of the electrically insulating layer is in the range from 1 to 250 microns (Col. 6, lines 17-63), so as to be within the claimed range. According to MPEP 2131.03, “[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art.” Titanium Metals Corp.v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citing In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 682, 133 USPQ 275, 280 (CCPA 1962)) (emphasis in original).
Further, since there is no indication that the shielding layer is discontinuous, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the insulating protective layer to cover the first shielding layer so as to electrically isolate the different layers of the multilayer shielding coating.
They teach that when forming multiple shielding layers, it may be desirable for shielding layer 60 to not cover ground ring 56 or the left most through-hole 20 as depicted on the left side of Fig. 3 (Col. 10, lines 1-35 and Fig. 3). They teach that this allows subsequently deposited shielding layer 62 to be in direct contact to ground ring 56 (Col. 10, lines 1-35 and Fig. 3). They teach that it may be desirable for shielding layer to be connected to different and independent ground sources (Col. 10, lines 1-35 and Fig. 3). Therefore, when forming a multilayered shielding structure having insulating layers between the conducting layers, the first or second insulating layer will cover a second region on the substrate different from the first region covered by the first conductive shielding layer because the second and third shielding layer will cover different regions from the first so as to contact different and independent ground source as depicted in Fig. 3 such that the insulating layers between the conductive layers will also cover different regions from the first shielding layer.
They do not teach that the circuit is for an audio device.
As discussed above in the rejection using Nielsen, Nielsen teaches applying an insulating layer and a shielding layer on electronic components mounted on a circuit board for a hearing aid.
From the teachings of Nielsen, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Higgins to have applied the insulating and shielding layers onto electronic components in an electronic circuit for a hearing aid because Nielsen teaches that such coatings are desired in a hearing aid circuit such that it will be expected to provide a desirable use for the process. Therefore, the process will be for manufacturing an electronic circuit of an audio device such that the circuit board will be of an audio device.
They do not teach that the first electronic component comprises a ground connection at a major surface of the circuit board and wherein the first shielding layer is applied to contact the ground connection of the first electronic component at the major surface of the circuit board.
As noted above, Nielsen depicts the ground connection as being on the top surface in contact with the shielding layer (Fig. 2a).
As discussed above, from the teachings of Yazaki, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have connected the shielding layer by connecting it to a ground connection of a surface mounted device because Yazaki teaches that such a configuration is suitable for grounding a shielding layer on a wiring substrate such that it will be expected to provide a suitable device configuration. Further, from the teachings of Strader, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the ground connection on the top surface of the circuit board so that the first shielding layer is applied to contact the ground connection at a first major surface of the circuit and so that the electronic component is connected to the ground at the major surface because Nielsen depicts providing a ground reference on the surface that is in contact with the shielding layer, Yazaki teaches connecting both a device and shielding layer to the same ground connection and Strader depicts a configuration in which the component is located on a ground connection on the top surface and where the shielding layer is connected to the ground connection such that it will be expected to provide a suitable location for the ground connection and desirable electrical connections.
Regarding claim 6, Higgins in view of Nielsen, Yazaki, and Strader suggests the limitations of instant claims 1 and 13. Higgins further teaches that to avoid coating circuit regions which are to be left uncoated with the insulation layer, it may be necessary to remove the coating through various means (Col. 6, lines 17-47).
Higgins does not teach using a mask.
Nielsen further teach providing a first mask layer for screening areas of a surface of the component intended for not being covered by an electrically insulating layer (0055), indicating that a mask is applied before the spraying of the first insulation material. They teach removing the mask to remove the insulating material applied to the mask (0057).
From the teachings of Nielsen, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied a mask to the surface of the circuit in the regions where the insulation material is not desired before spraying because Nielsen teaches that masking can to be used to selectively provide the insulating material such that it will be expected to also provide selective application of the insulating material as desired by Higgins.
Regarding claim 7, Higgins in view of Nielsen, Yazaki, and Strader suggests the limitations of instant claims 1 and 13. Higgins further teaches that the first insulation material, 24, covers the first electronic component (Col. 6, lines 18-47 and Fig. 1), such that the process will cover at least a portion of the first component as noted in the 112(b) rejection above.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Higgins in view of Nielsen, Yazaki, and Strader suggests the limitations of instant claims 1 and 13. Higgins further teaches that the shielding layer is made of a first shielding material, i.e., a precursor material, filled with a plurality of particles (Col. 3, lines 12-30), where the particles are indicated as being copper, silver, nickel, iron, cobalt, etc. to impart high electrical conductivity (Col. 7, lines 14-45) or nickel-zinc ferrites (Col. 15, lines 21-53). Therefore, the electrically conductive shielding layer will include metal particulates.
Regarding claims 11 and 15, Higgins in view of Nielsen, Yazaki, and Strader suggests the limitations of instant claims 1 and 13. Higgins further teaches that the electronic assembly includes various electronic components, such that the other devices will be mounted on the circuit board, where the devices also have the insulating layer and the shielding layer (Col. 8, lines 1-14, Col. 8, lines 35-63, and Fig. 2). Therefore, the first insulation layer and the first shielding layer will also be applied outside the second electronic component.
Regarding claim 17, Higgins in view of Nielsen, Yazaki, and Strader suggests the limitations of instant claim 13. Higgins further teaches that the one or more shielding layers are in electrical contact with a grounding (abstract), such that the first shielding layer will be applied so as to be coupled with a ground connection. They depict the shielding layer as being applied over the grounding ring (Col. 6, lines 64-66, Fig. 1, and Fig. 2), such that it is considered to sandwich the ground connection between a part of the first shielding layer and a part of the circuit board.
Strader also depicts sandwiching the ground connection between a part of the first shielding layer and a part of the circuit board (Fig. 1 and Fig. 8).
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Higgins in view of Nielsen, Yazaki, and Strader suggest the process of instant claims 1 and 13. Higgins further teaches using a pure polymer having a low modulus of elasticity, such as a silicone gel or elastomer, polyurethane, epoxy, polysiloxane, acrylic, and the like for the insulating layer 24 (Col. 6, lines 17-47). They teach using a similar silicone polymer matrix as that used for coating 24, but with the addition of filler particles for the shielding layer (Col. 18, lines 16-32). From this, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the same polymer used for the insulating layer and the insulating protective layer between the shielding layers because Higgins teaches using the same polymer in the insulating layer and the shielding layers with the addition of filler, where the polymer is insulating such that it will be expected to provide a suitably insulating material for use between the shielding layers. Therefore, the first protection layer will be made from a material having the same composition as that of the first insulation material of the first insulation layer.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Higgins, US 5,639,989 (provided on the IDS of 4/6/2022).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader suggests the limitations of instant claim 1.
They do not teach that the shielding layer comprises metal particulates.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 1 using Higgins in view of Nielsen, Higgins teaches applying an insulation layer and a shielding layer to electronic components. Higgins further teaches that the shielding layer is made of a first shielding material, i.e., a precursor material, filled with a plurality of particles (Col. 3, lines 12-30), where the particles are indicated as being copper, silver, nickel, iron, cobalt, etc. (Col. 7, lines 14-45) or nickel-zinc ferrites (Col. 15, lines 21-53). They teach that the particles are selected to attenuate electromagnetic signals (Col. 3, lines 12-29).
From the teachings of Higgins, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader to have used a precursor filled with the metal particles or particulates of Higgins as the shielding layer because Higgins teaches that such materials can be used for shielding electronic components on a circuit board such that it will be expected to provide a desirable shielding layer in the process of Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader or Higgins in view of Nielsen, Yazaki, and Strader as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen, US 2020/0075708 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader and Higgins in view of Nielsen, Yazaki, and Strader both suggest the limitations of instant claim 1, where they teach both spraying the insulation material.
They do not teach that applying the first insulation layer also comprises performing molding.
Chen teaches a structure and formation method of a semiconductor device (abstract). They teach forming the semiconductor device structure on a semiconductor substrate which may include multiple device elements (0016). They teach forming multiple layers to provide a magnetic element on the substrate (0037). They teach forming a dielectric layer over conductive lines 118A and 118B, isolation elements 116’, and the magnetic element 109 (0071). They teach that the dielectric layer is made of or includes a polymer material (0072). They teach that the dielectric layer may be formed using a spray coating process, an injecting process, a molding process, one or more other suitable processes, or a combination thereof (0072).
From the teachings of Chen, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader or Higgins in view of Nielsen, Yazaki, and Strader to have formed the insulation layer using a combination of spraying and molding because Chen teaches that such techniques can be combined to deposit a polymeric insulating layer on a component on a substrate such that it will be expected to also successfully result in the deposition of the insulating layer on the electronic components.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader or Higgins in view of Nielsen, Yazaki, and Strader as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song, US 2016/0309577 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader and Higgins in view of Nielsen, Yazaki, and Strader both suggest the process of claim 1, where they teach spraying the insulation material.
They do not teach jetting the material.
Song teaches a circuit assembly provided on an electrically conductive structure, such as a board level shield (abstract). They teach that a dielectric material is applied to the outer surfaces of the BLS by inkjet printing, spraying, painting, etc. (0024, 0026, and Fig. 1). They teach that the BLS is attached to a substrate such as a printed circuit board (0022). They teach that the electrically nonconductive layer is applied by one or more of printing at least part of the electrically nonconductive layer, and/or spraying at least part of the electrically nonconductive layer, and/or painting at least part of the electrically nonconductive layer (claim 20). They teach that the dielectric material provides electrical isolation between the BLS and an applied electrically conductive material (0026, 0032, Fig. 1, and Fig. 2). Therefore, Song teaches that an insulating material can be applied to a component on a circuit board using one or more of spraying and/or printing, where printing is done by inkjet printing.
From the teachings of Song, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Nielsen in view of Marshall, Yazaki, and Strader or Higgins in view of Nielsen, Yazaki, and Strader to have deposited in the insulating layer using inkjet printing because Song teaches that one or more of spraying and printing can be used to apply insulation to a component on a PCB, where the printing is done by inkjet printing such that it will be expected to provide a suitable application method for forming layers of the first insulation on the electrical components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments dated 12/4/2025 have been fully considered.
In light of the amendments to the claims, new 112(a) and 112(b) rejections have been made.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments over claim 20, as discussed above, since Nielsen teaches that the further insulation covers at least a part of the electrically conductive layer, this includes a range where the entirety of the layer is covered such that it is suggested to cover the entire layer. Further, Marshall suggests encapsulating the entire conductive layer. Therefore, when the other insulating layer is applied, the ground connection will be between the insulating layers. It is noted that the claim does not require that the entirety of the ground connection is between the layers, only that it is between a portion of the first insulation layer and the protection layer. If it is desired for the entirety of the ground connection to be between the first and second insulating layer, this is a feature that may be suggested by Fig. 1 of Strader.
Applicant’s arguments directed to amended claims 1 and 13 are considered persuasive. Therefore, the new rejection of Strader has been included to indicate that a component can be placed on a ground connection that is connected to the shielding layer, such that the combination of Yazaki suggesting connecting the component to the same ground and Strader are considered to suggest the claimed features.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Foster, US 2012/0320558 A1 (Fig. 11c depicting a ground connection 175 that is in contact with shielding layer 171 and sandwiched between insulating layers 173A and 173B, 0086).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA D MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718