DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 02/26/2026 is sufficient to overcome the rejection of independent claims 1 and 11 based upon Zhao (CN 210121136 U) in view of Hall (US 20180078191 A1) failing to fully teach all aspects of the amened claims.
Claims 3 and 13 have been canceled, while claims 6 and 16 were previously canceled. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-12, 14, 15, 17-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 11 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, a new rejection has been made further in view of Hu (CN 104323770 A).
Zhao teaches a seat upon which a third electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned (Fig 1; third electrode sheet 7), wherein the seat is partially on the support structure (Fig 1; the toilet seat 2 located on the support structure main body 1; [0019] toilet bowl main body 1, a toilet seat 2).
Hall teaches a right arm rest upon which a first electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned; (Fig 5; [0033] Toilet 400 further includes handles 502 and 504 which comprise bioimpedance sensors 506 and 508. A user may place a right and a left hand on each of bioimpedance sensors 506 and 508 respectively to make measurements through the user's hands. Different pairs of bioimpedance sensors may be used either as a single pair or with other pairs of bioimpedance sensors); a left arm rest upon which a second electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned ([0033]) wherein the right arm rest and the left arm rest are part of a support structure that is coupled to the commode (Fig 5; [0033] Toilet 400 further includes handles 502 and 504 which comprise bioimpedance sensors 506 and 508).
Hu further teaches wherein the right arm rest and the left arm rest are part of a support structure that is coupled to the commode ([0019] the supporting rod in the back side of the toilet main body is fixed connection; the handrail is two, the right armrest and the left handrail, two handrail connected with the support connection rod set on the two sides of the toilet. the front toggle arm support surface left test electrode for electrocardiogram measurement in the test device 7 and the right arm electrode for testing 8 to two handrail; the support connected to one end of the rod is provided with a supporting rod 9), wherein the seat is partially on the support structure ([0019] the supporting rod in the back side of the toilet main body is fixed connection) (supporting rod is connected to the main body 1 where the seat 2 is connected to the main body; [0019] FIG. 1, comprising a toilet main body 1 and a seat on the main body port of the toilet 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 210121136 U) in view of Hall (US 20180078191 A1), further in view of Hu (CN 104323770 A).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a system comprising: a commode comprising ([abstract]): an electrode assembly comprising a set of electrodes to perform an electrocardiogram (ECG) (Fig 2; the ECG acquisition circuit 8-3) by sensing an electrical signal corresponding to heart activity of a user ([Pg 3, Para 4] FIG. 5, the ECG acquisition circuit 8-3 comprises heart rate collecting chip U4 and second three-connector P4) when in contact with skin of the user ([Pg 4, Para 4] user needs to sit on the toilet seat 2, the buttocks and the second electrode sheet 6 and third electrode sheet 7 contact the thumb presses the detecting head of the pulse sensor 4, and arm or palm and the first electrode sheet 5) and output the electrical signal ([Pg 4, Para 1] voltage output end VDD pin 5 of voltage regulator chip U2 is voltage regulator circuit 8-1); a seat upon which a third electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned (Fig 1; third electrode sheet 7), wherein the seat is partially on the support structure (Fig 1; the toilet seat 2 located on the support structure main body 1; [0019] toilet bowl main body 1, a toilet seat 2); a converter assembly operatively coupled to the electrode assembly ([Pg 4, Para 6] the second electrode sheet 6 and third electrode sheet 7 transmits the user the electrocardiogram signal detected to the ECG acquisition circuit 8-3. Electrocardiogram collecting circuit of heart 8-3 heart acquisition chip U4 in the electrocardiogram signal transmission processing to the received converted into digital signal), the converter assembly to convert the electrical signal to a modulated signal, wherein the modulated signal carries the electrical signal ([Pg 4, Para 6] the second electrode sheet 6 and third electrode sheet 7 transmits the user the electrocardiogram signal detected to the ECG acquisition circuit 8-3. electrocardiogram collecting circuit of heart 8-3 heart acquisition chip U4 in the electrocardiogram signal transmission processing to the received converted into digital signal); and a transmitter to transmit the modulated signal ([Pg 3, Para 4] a wireless transmission module 8-5 connected to the controller 8-4, with the upper computer wireless communication); and a computing device to receive the modulated signal ([Pg 3, Para 4] pulse signal filter circuit 8-2 filtering the pulse signal transmitted by the pulse sensor and transmitting to the controller; the electrocardio collecting circuit the electrocardiogram signal 8-3 the second electrode sheet, a third electrode sheet transmitted into digital signal is transmitted to the controller) and determine whether the electrical signal indicates that the user is experiencing a heart condition ([Pg 3, Para 2] The utility model combines capable of calculating the blood pressure value of the user by the electrocardiogram signal and pulse signal, so as to realize the function of the blood pressure over-high alarming).
Zhao fails to fully teach a right arm rest upon which a first electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned: a left arm rest upon which a second electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned wherein the right arm rest and the left arm rest are part of a support structure that is coupled to the commode, wherein the seat is partially on the support structure.
However, Hall teaches a right arm rest upon which a first electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned; (Fig 5; [0033] Toilet 400 further includes handles 502 and 504 which comprise bioimpedance sensors 506 and 508. A user may place a right and a left hand on each of bioimpedance sensors 506 and 508 respectively to make measurements through the user's hands. Different pairs of bioimpedance sensors may be used either as a single pair or with other pairs of bioimpedance sensors); a left arm rest upon which a second electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned ([0033]) wherein the right arm rest and the left arm rest are part of a support structure that is coupled to the commode (Fig 5; [0033] Toilet 400 further includes handles 502 and 504 which comprise bioimpedance sensors 506 and 508), a seat upon which a third electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned ([0033] FIG. 5 illustrates bioimpedance sensors 410 and 412 on the seat which come in contact with a user's thighs when the user is seated on toilet 500). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include a right arm rest upon which a first electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned: a left arm rest upon which a second electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned wherein the right arm rest and the left arm rest are part of a support structure that is coupled to the commode. Doing so allows the patients arms to rest on a support while reading the ECG signals from the arm rests.
Hu further teaches wherein the right arm rest and the left arm rest are part of a support structure that is coupled to the commode ([0019] the supporting rod in the back side of the toilet main body is fixed connection; the handrail is two, the right armrest and the left handrail, two handrail connected with the support connection rod set on the two sides of the toilet. the front toggle arm support surface left test electrode for electrocardiogram measurement in the test device 7 and the right arm electrode for testing 8 to two handrail; the support connected to one end of the rod is provided with a supporting rod 9), wherein the seat is partially on the support structure ([0019] the supporting rod in the back side of the toilet main body is fixed connection) (supporting rod is connected to the main body 1 where the seat 2 is connected to the main body; [0019] FIG. 1, comprising a toilet main body 1 and a seat on the main body port of the toilet 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include wherein the seat is partially on the support structure. Doing so would couple the seat to the support device for ease of connecting electronic parts throughout the commode.
Regarding claim 4, Zhao teaches the system of claim 1, but fails to fully teach wherein each of the right arm rest and the left arm rest comprise handles that can be gripped by the user. However, Hall teaches wherein each of the right arm rest and the left arm rest comprise handles that can be gripped by the user (Fig 5; [0033] Toilet 400 further includes handles 502 and 504 which comprise bioimpedance sensors 506 and 508. A user may place a right and a left hand on each of bioimpedance sensors 506 and 508 respectively to make measurements through the user's hands). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include wherein each of the right arm rest and the left arm rest comprise handles that can be gripped by the user. Doing so allows the patients arms to rest on a support while reading the ECG signals in the arm rests.
Regarding claim 5, Zhao teaches the system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the third electrode is positioned on a left side of the seat to contact a left leg of the user. However, Hall teaches wherein the third electrode is positioned on a left side of the seat to contact a left leg of the user ([0033] FIG. 5 illustrates bioimpedance sensors 410 (right) and 412 (left) on the seat which come in contact with a user's thighs when the user is seated on toilet 500). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include wherein the third electrode is positioned on a left side of the seat to contact a left leg of the user. Doing so creates a 3 lead ECG reading.
Regarding claim 7, Zhao teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly begins performing the ECG in response to the user sitting on the commode ([Pg 4, Para 4] user needs to sit on the toilet seat 2, the buttocks and the second electrode sheet 6 and third electrode sheet 7 contact the thumb presses the detecting head of the pulse sensor 4, and arm or palm and the first electrode sheet 5).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao teaches an apparatus comprising: a housing comprising: an electrode assembly comprising a set of electrodes to perform an electrocardiogram (ECG) (Fig 2; the ECG acquisition circuit 8-3) by sensing an electrical signal corresponding to heart activity of a user ([Pg 3, Para 4] FIG. 5, the ECG acquisition circuit 8-3 comprises heart rate collecting chip U4 and second three-connector P4) when in contact with skin of the user ([Pg 4, Para 4] user needs to sit on the toilet seat 2, the buttocks and the second electrode sheet 6 and third electrode sheet 7 contact the thumb presses the detecting head of the pulse sensor 4, and arm or palm and the first electrode sheet 5) and output the electrical signal ([Pg 4, Para 1] voltage output end VDD pin 5 of voltage regulator chip U2 is voltage regulator circuit 8-1); a converter assembly operatively coupled to the electrode assembly ([Pg 4, Para 6] the second electrode sheet 6 and third electrode sheet 7 transmits the user the electrocardiogram signal detected to the ECG acquisition circuit 8-3. Electrocardiogram collecting circuit of heart 8-3 heart acquisition chip U4 in the electrocardiogram signal transmission processing to the received converted into digital signal), a seat upon which a third electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned (Fig 1; third electrode sheet 7), wherein the seat is partially on the support structure (Fig 1; the toilet seat 2 located on the support structure main body 1; [0019] toilet bowl main body 1, a toilet seat 2); the converter assembly to convert the electrical signal to a modulated signal, wherein the modulated signal carries the electrical signal, wherein the housing is shaped as a commode (Fig 1; [abstract]).
Zhao fails to teach a right arm rest upon which a first electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned: a left arm rest upon which a second electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned wherein the right arm rest and the left arm rest are part of a support structure that is coupled to the housing, wherein the seat is partially on the support structure.
However, Hall teaches a right arm rest upon which a first electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned; (Fig 5; [0033] Toilet 400 further includes handles 502 and 504 which comprise bioimpedance sensors 506 and 508. A user may place a right and a left hand on each of bioimpedance sensors 506 and 508 respectively to make measurements through the user's hands. Different pairs of bioimpedance sensors may be used either as a single pair or with other pairs of bioimpedance sensors); a left arm rest upon which a second electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned ([0033]) wherein the right arm rest and the left arm rest are part of a support structure that is coupled to the housing (Fig 5; [0033] Toilet 400 further includes handles 502 and 504 which comprise bioimpedance sensors 506 and 508), a seat upon which a third electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned ([0033] FIG. 5 illustrates bioimpedance sensors 410 and 412 on the seat which come in contact with a user's thighs when the user is seated on toilet 500). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include a right arm rest upon which a first electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned: a left arm rest upon which a second electrode of the set of electrodes is positioned wherein the right arm rest and the left arm rest are part of a support structure that is coupled to the housing. Doing so allows the patients arms to rest on a support while reading the ECG signals from the arm rests.
Hu further teaches wherein the right arm rest and the left arm rest are part of a support structure that is coupled to the commode ([0019] the supporting rod in the back side of the toilet main body is fixed connection; the handrail is two, the right armrest and the left handrail, two handrail connected with the support connection rod set on the two sides of the toilet. the front toggle arm support surface left test electrode for electrocardiogram measurement in the test device 7 and the right arm electrode for testing 8 to two handrail; the support connected to one end of the rod is provided with a supporting rod 9), wherein the seat is partially on the support structure ([0019] the supporting rod in the back side of the toilet main body is fixed connection) (supporting rod is connected to the main body 1 where the seat 2 is connected to the main body; [0019] FIG. 1, comprising a toilet main body 1 and a seat on the main body port of the toilet 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include wherein the seat is partially on the support structure. Doing so would couple the seat to the support device for ease of connecting electronic parts throughout the commode.
Regarding claim 12, Zhao teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the apparatus further comprises: a transmitter to transmit the modulated signal to a computing device ([Pg 3, Para 4] a wireless transmission module 8-5 connected to the controller 8-4, with the upper computer wireless communication).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao teaches the system of claim 11, but fails to fully teach wherein each of the right arm rest and the left arm rest comprise handles that can be gripped by the user. However, Hall teaches wherein each of the right arm rest and the left arm rest comprise handles that can be gripped by the user (Fig 5; [0033] Toilet 400 further includes handles 502 and 504 which comprise bioimpedance sensors 506 and 508. A user may place a right and a left hand on each of bioimpedance sensors 506 and 508 respectively to make measurements through the user's hands). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include wherein each of the right arm rest and the left arm rest comprise handles that can be gripped by the user. Doing so allows the patients arms to rest on a support while reading the ECG signals in the arm rests.
Regarding claim 15, Zhao teaches the system of claim 13, but fails to teach wherein the third electrode is positioned on a left side of the seat to contact a left leg of the user. However, Hall teaches wherein the third electrode is positioned on a left side of the seat to contact a left leg of the user ([0033] FIG. 5 illustrates bioimpedance sensors 410 (right) and 412 (left) on the seat which come in contact with a user's thighs when the user is seated on toilet 500). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include wherein the third electrode is positioned on a left side of the seat to contact a left leg of the user. Doing so creates a 3 lead ECG reading.
Regarding claim 17, Zhao teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the electrode assembly begins performing the ECG in response to the user sitting on the housing ([Pg 4, Para 4] user needs to sit on the toilet seat 2, the buttocks and the second electrode sheet 6 and third electrode sheet 7 contact the thumb presses the detecting head of the pulse sensor 4, and arm or palm and the first electrode sheet 5).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the set of electrodes performs a three lead ECG ([abstract] the utility model comprises a handle, a pulse sensor, a first electrode sheet, a second electrode sheet, a third electrode sheet and an information processing circuit).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 210121136 U) in view of Hall (US 20180078191 A1), further in view of Hu (CN 104323770 A), further in view of Banet (US 20170188957 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao teaches the system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the computing device is further to: process the modulated signal to generate ECG data; and display the ECG data. However, Banet teaches wherein the computing device is further to: process the modulated signal to generate ECG data; and display the ECG data ([0107] a graphical user interface (GUI) and may rely instead strictly on the mobile device 90 for this functionality, which somewhat simplifies overall construction of the floormat. For example, the GUI could be rendered on the mobile device 90 with a downloadable software application that operates on standard mobile operating systems, e.g., Android or iOS operating systems. During use, the GUI can prompt the patient 105 to step on the floormat 100; display the various information that it measures; plot trends in numerical values; graph time-dependent waveforms). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include wherein the computing device is further to: process the modulated signal to generate ECG data; and display the ECG data. Doing so would allow for the reading and interpretation of ECG signals.
Claim(s) 8, 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 210121136 U) in view of Hall (US 20180078191 A1), further in view of Hu (CN 104323770 A), further in view of Song (KR 20160116867 A).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao teaches the system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the electrode assembly further comprises: one or more photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensors to detect a PPG signal corresponding to additional health-related parameters of the user and produce an electrical PPG signal representing the detected PPG signal, wherein the converter assembly modulates the electrical PPG signal to generate a modulated PPG signal and transmits the modulated PPG signal to the computing device. However, Song teaches wherein the electrode assembly further comprises: one or more photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensors to detect a PPG signal corresponding to additional health-related parameters of the user and produce an electrical PPG signal representing the detected PPG signal ([Fig 2; [Pg 4, Para 9] oxygen saturation (PPG) sensor unit 130, an oxygen saturation (PPG) signal preprocessing unit 135), wherein the converter assembly modulates the electrical PPG signal to generate a modulated PPG signal ([Pg 6, Para 2] The A / D converter 170 converts the signals received from the oxygen saturation (PPG) signal preprocessor 135, the body fat signal preprocessor 145, the electrocardiogram signal preprocessor 155 and the body temperature signal preprocessor 165 into digital And transmits the signal to the operation processing unit 180) and transmits the modulated PPG signal to the computing device ([Pg 6, Para 8] And transmits the bio-signal parameters detected in the bio-signal parameter detection step to the main server 300 as a transmission step to the main server). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include wherein the electrode assembly further comprises: one or more photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensors to detect a PPG signal corresponding to additional health-related parameters of the user and produce an electrical PPG signal representing the detected PPG signal, wherein the converter assembly modulates the electrical PPG signal to generate a modulated PPG signal and transmits the modulated PPG signal to the computing device. Doing so allows the PPG signal to detect other health related aspects of the patient.
Regarding claim 10, Zhao teaches the system of claim 8, but fails to teach wherein the computing device is further to: process the modulated PPG signal to determine the additional health related parameters of the user. However, Song teaches The system of claim 8, wherein the computing device is further to: process the modulated PPG signal to determine the additional health related parameters of the user ([Pg 6, Para 2] The A / D converter 170 converts the signals received from the oxygen saturation (PPG) signal preprocessor 135, the body fat signal preprocessor 145, the electrocardiogram signal preprocessor 155 and the body temperature signal preprocessor 165 into digital And transmits the signal to the operation processing unit 180). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include wherein the electrode assembly further comprises: one or more photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensors to detect a PPG signal corresponding to additional health-related parameters of the user. Doing so allows the PPG signal to detect other health related aspects of the patient.
Regarding claim 18, Zhao teaches the system of claim 11, but fails to teach wherein the electrode assembly further comprises: one or more photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensors to detect a PPG signal corresponding to additional health-related parameters of the user and produce an electrical PPG signal representing the detected PPG signal, wherein the converter assembly modulates the electrical PPG signal to generate a modulated PPG signal and transmits the modulated PPG signal to the computing device. However, Song teaches wherein the electrode assembly further comprises: one or more photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensors to detect a PPG signal corresponding to additional health-related parameters of the user and produce an electrical PPG signal representing the detected PPG signal ([Fig 2; [Pg 4, Para 9] oxygen saturation (PPG) sensor unit 130, an oxygen saturation (PPG) signal preprocessing unit 135), wherein the converter assembly modulates the electrical PPG signal to generate a modulated PPG signal ([Pg 6, Para 2] The A / D converter 170 converts the signals received from the oxygen saturation (PPG) signal preprocessor 135, the body fat signal preprocessor 145, the electrocardiogram signal preprocessor 155 and the body temperature signal preprocessor 165 into digital And transmits the signal to the operation processing unit 180) and transmits the modulated PPG signal to the computing device ([Pg 6, Para 8] And transmits the bio-signal parameters detected in the bio-signal parameter detection step to the main server 300 as a transmission step to the main server). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include wherein the electrode assembly further comprises: one or more photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensors to detect a PPG signal corresponding to additional health-related parameters of the user and produce an electrical PPG signal representing the detected PPG signal, wherein the converter assembly modulates the electrical PPG signal to generate a modulated PPG signal and transmits the modulated PPG signal to the computing device. Doing so allows the PPG signal to detect and display other health related aspects of the patient.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 210121136 U) in view of Hall (US 20180078191 A1), further in view of Hu (CN 104323770 A), further in view of Song (KR 20160116867 A), in view of Hu (US 20190387972 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao teaches the system of claim 8, but fails to teach wherein the additional health-related parameters include a blood flow of the, a heart rate of the user, a blood oxygen saturation of the user and a change in blood volume in the skin of the user. However, Hu teaches wherein the additional health-related parameters include a blood flow of the user ([0023] The optical sensing platform may also serve as a planar integrated speckle imaging system for measuring blood flow properties), a heart rate of the user ([0023] PPG pulse oximeter, it is designed to measure heart rate (HR)), a blood oxygen saturation of the user ([0023] PPG pulse oximeter, it is designed to measure blood oxygen saturation (SpO.sub.2)) and a change in blood volume in the skin of the user ([0056] FIG. 1B depicts a PPG waveform generated by optical detection of blood volume variations due to periodic heart contractions and relaxations). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include teach wherein the additional health-related parameters include a blood flow of the, a heart rate of the user, a blood oxygen saturation of the user and a change in blood volume in the skin of the user. Doing so assesses other health aspects of the patient for a well-rounded assessment of the current state.
Regarding claim 19, Zhao teaches the system of claim 18, but fails to teach wherein the additional health-related parameters include a blood flow of the, a heart rate of the user, a blood oxygen saturation of the user and a change in blood volume in the skin of the user. However, Hu teaches wherein the additional health-related parameters include a blood flow of the user ([0023] The optical sensing platform may also serve as a planar integrated speckle imaging system for measuring blood flow properties), a heart rate of the user ([0023] PPG pulse oximeter, it is designed to measure heart rate (HR)), a blood oxygen saturation of the user ([0023] PPG pulse oximeter, it is designed to measure blood oxygen saturation (SpO.sub.2)) and a change in blood volume in the skin of the user ([0056] FIG. 1B depicts a PPG waveform generated by optical detection of blood volume variations due to periodic heart contractions and relaxations). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Zhao to include wherein the additional health-related parameters include a blood flow of the, a heart rate of the user, a blood oxygen saturation of the user and a change in blood volume in the skin of the user. Doing so assesses other health aspects of the patient for a well-rounded assessment of the current state.
Conclusion
/ASHLEIGH LAUREN KERN/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/ADAM Z MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794