DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Since the Office Action mailed on 08 December 2025, claim 21 has been amended, and applicant remarks have been filed, which have been fully considered and responded to in this Office Action. Claims 21-40 remain in the application and are being further examined in light of its prior art.
The 102 and 103 rejections are maintained in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-27 and 29-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hwangbo et al (US 2024/0266611 A1). This prior art reference cited as Hwangbo in this Office Action hereinafter.
Regarding claim 21, Hwangbo discloses a battery cell (1 Fig. 5; “a cylindrical battery 1” [0161]) suitable to be used in a battery (3 Fig. 24; “a battery pack 3” [0308]), characterized by comprising:
an electrode assembly (10 Fig. 6; “an electrode assembly 10” [0161]), comprising a first tab (12 Fig. 6; “a second electrode tab 12 will be called the second uncoated region 12. The second uncoated region 12 is provided at a lower portion of the electrode assembly 10 accommodated in the battery can 20 in the height direction (parallel to the Z-axis). … the second current collector 80, explained later, and the second uncoated region 12 are welded” [0166]) and a second tab (11 Fig. 6; “a first electrode tab 11 will be called the first uncoated region 11. The first uncoated region 11 is provided at an upper portion of the electrode assembly 10 accommodated in the battery can 20 in a height direction (parallel to the Z-axis).” [0164] and “the first current collector 60, explained later, and the first uncoated region 11 are welded in this region” [0165]) with opposite polarities (“The first uncoated region 11 may be, for example, a positive electrode tab.” [0164] and “The second uncoated region 12 may be, for example, a negative electrode tab.” [0166]);
a casing for accommodating the electrode assembly (20 Fig. 6; “battery can 20 may be referred to as a battery housing” [0161] and “The battery can 20 accommodates the electrode assembly 10 through the opening formed at the bottom, and also accommodates an electrolyte together.” [0179]), wherein the casing comprises a cylinder body (“A side surface (outer circumferential surface) … of the battery can 20” [0179]) and a cover body connected to the cylinder body (“upper surface of the battery can 20 (a surface parallel to the X-Y plane), namely an outer surface 20a of the closed portion” [0179]), the cylinder body is disposed around an outer periphery of the electrode assembly (In Fig. 6, battery can, or housing, 20 has sidewalls that surrounds the outer circumference of the electrode assembly), the cover body is provided with an electrode lead-out hole (In Fig. 7, outer surface 20a of the battery can 20 has a space in its central portion for terminal 40 and insulating gasket 50 to be disposed in), and at least part of the cover body is suitable to be used for electrically connecting a first connecting member of the battery (153 Fig. 21; “a plurality of second bus bar terminals 153” [0278]) and the first tab (“lower beading portion 21b may include a flat portion substantially parallel to the closed portion of the battery can 20” [0182], “The lower beading portion 21b may function as a support portion for fixing the contact portion 83a of the second current collector 80” [0182], “the second current collector 80, explained later, and the second uncoated region 12 are welded” [0166] and “plurality of second bus bar terminals 153 may be electrically coupled to the outer surface 20 a of each cylindrical battery 1” [0280]); and
an electrode terminal (40 Fig. 6; “a penetrating terminal 40” [0161]) for electrically connecting a second connecting member of the battery (152 Fig. 21; “a plurality of first bus bar terminals 152” [0278]) and the second tab (“the electric connection portion 42a of the terminal insert portion 42 may be electrically connected to the first uncoated region 11” [0195] and “The plurality of first bus bar terminals 152 may protrusively extend from one side of the body portion 151 toward the terminal 40 of each cylindrical battery 1 and may be electrically coupled to the terminal 40.” [0280]), wherein the electrode terminal is disposed at the cover body (“The terminal insert portion 42 may pass through approximately the center of the closed portion of the battery can 20” [0195]) in an insulating manner (“The insulation gasket 50 is interposed between the battery can 20 and the terminal 40 to prevent the battery can 20 and the terminal 40 having opposite polarities from contacting each other.” [0217]) and installed at the electrode lead-out hole (“The terminal 40 penetrates an upper surface of the battery can 20, namely a surface (parallel to the XY plane)” [0194] and “The terminal insert portion 42 may pass through approximately the center of the closed portion of the battery can 20” [0195]), one of the cover body and the electrode terminal is a positive output pole of the battery cell (“the terminal 40 may have a positive polarity” [0275]), and the other is a negative output pole of the battery cell (“the outer surface 20a of the closed portion of the battery can 20 may have a negative polarity” [0275]); the cover body and the electrode terminal are located at a same end of the battery cell (“The terminal 40 penetrates an upper surface of the battery can 20, namely a surface (parallel to the XY plane) located at a side of the battery can 20 opposite to the opening. The terminal 40 is electrically connected to the first uncoated region 11 of the electrode assembly 10, for example. In this case, the terminal 40 has a first polarity. Accordingly, the terminal 40 may function as a first electrode terminal in the cylindrical battery 1 of the present disclosure. If the terminal 40 has the first polarity like this, the terminal 40 is electrically insulated from the battery can 20 with the second polarity. The electrical insulation between the terminal 40 and the battery can 20 may be realized in various ways. For example, the insulation may be realized by interposing an insulation gasket 50, explained later, between the terminal 40 and the battery can 20.” [0194]); the cover body and the electrode terminal are located at a same end of the battery cell (terminal 40 is disposed in the same end of the battery as outer surface 20a of the battery, which is the end of the battery that outer surface 20a forms, shown in Figs. 5-8),
wherein the cover body and the cylinder body are formed as an integral structure (“A side surface (outer circumferential surface) and an upper surface of the battery can 20 may be integrally formed.” [0179]);
wherein the cover body comprises a connecting portion (In Fig. 6, surface indicated as 20a) and a bending portion (In Fig. 6, the surface circumferentially surrounding the 20a surface and is formed as an inclined surface), the electrode lead-out hole is provided on the connecting portion (In Fig. 6, the space that terminal 40 and insulating gasket 50 is disposed in is in the central portion of the 20a surface), at least a portion of the connecting portion is suitable to be used for connecting the first connecting member and the first tab (“the second current collector 80 may be configured to electrically connect the second uncoated region 12 of the electrode assembly 10 and the battery can 20” [0253], and “the plurality of second bus bar terminals 153 may be electrically coupled to the outer surface 20 a of each cylindrical battery 1” [0280]), and the bending portion is used for connecting the cylinder body and the connecting portion (In Fig. 6, the inclined surface that circumferentially surrounds the 20a surface connects the 20a surface formed in the XY-plane with the cylindrical side surface of battery can, or housing, 20); and
wherein the bending portion comprises a first end portion for connecting the connecting portion (In Fig. 6, the side of the inclined surface circumferentially surrounding 20a that makes contact with 20a) and a second end portion for connecting the cylinder body (In Fig. 6, the side of the inclined surface circumferentially surrounding 20a that makes contact with the cylindrical side surface of battery can, or housing, 20), and in a direction from the first end portion to the second end portion, a thickness of the bending portion gradually decreases (“In the battery can 20, the thickness of the sidewall may be formed smaller than the thickness of the closed portion.” [0185]).
Regarding claim 22, Hwangbo discloses the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 21 above, and wherein the connecting portion comprises a main body portion (W2 Fig. 22; “the second overlapping region has a second width (W2). Here, the second overlapping region is a region where the outer surface 20 a and the second bus bar terminal 153 overlap” [0289]), the main body portion is suitable to be used for connecting the first connecting member and the first tab (“the second current collector 80 is electrically connected to the battery can 20” [0253] and “ The second current collector 80 is coupled to an end of the second uncoated region 12. The coupling between the second uncoated region 12 and the second current collector 80 may be performed, for example, by laser welding.” [0255]).
Regarding claim 23, Hwangbo discloses the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 22 above, and wherein a thickness of the main body portion is greater than a wall thickness of the cylinder body (“In the battery can 20, the thickness of the sidewall may be formed smaller than the thickness of the closed portion.” [0185]).
Regarding claim 24, Hwangbo discloses the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 23 above, and wherein a difference between the thickness D1 of the main body portion and the wall thickness D2 of the cylinder body satisfies: 0.1 mm ≤ D1-D2 ≤ 2mm (“The closed portion of the battery can 20, namely a region forming the upper surface, may have a thickness in the range of, for example, about 0.4 mm to 1.2 mm, more preferably in the range of about 0.6 mm to 1.0 mm.” [0186] and “Meanwhile, in the battery can 20, the sidewall constituting the outer circumferential surface may have, for example, a thickness in the range of about 0.3 mm to 0.8 mm, more preferably in the range of about 0.4 mm to 0.6 mm.” [0187] – citations disclose a D1-D2 range of 0.1 mm to 0.9 mm, which is enclosed within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 25, Hwangbo discloses the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 22 above, and wherein the cylinder body is cylindrical (“cylindrical sidewall of the battery can 20” [0230]), the electrode lead-out hole is a circular hole (In Fig. 6, the space in the central portion of surface 20a that terminal 40 and insulating gasket 50 is disposed in is formed circularly), a central axis of the cylinder body and a central axis of the electrode lead-out hole are arranged to overlap (In Fig. 6, terminal 40 is disposed within the same axis as the axis of the spacing in the central portion of surface 20a).
Regarding claim 26, Hwangbo discloses the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 25 above, and wherein an inner radius L1 of the cylinder body (In Figs. 22-23, an inner radius is equivalent to ½*E1+G+E2 where “diameter (E1) of the terminal 40 exposed out of the battery can 20 … diameter (E1) of the terminal 40 exposed out of the battery can 20 … width (E2) of the outer surface 20a of the first end of the battery can 20 parallel to the upper surface of the terminal 40” [0291]-[0292]) and a width L2 of the main body portion (In Figs. 22-23, this claimed feature corresponds to ‘W2’; “(W2). Here, the second overlapping region is a region where the outer surface 20 a and the second bus bar terminal 153 overlap” [0289]) satisfy: 0.2 ≤ L2/L1 ≤ 0.8 (“E2 = 0.5*(D – 2Rd – 2G – E1)” [0293] renders the cited expression of ½*E1+G+E2 to 0.5D – Rd, which “In a specific example, … D is 46 mm, W1 and W2 are 6 mm, G is 0.5 mm and Rd is 1 mm” [0295] discloses a corresponding L1 of 22 mm, L2 of 6 mm, and L2/L1 of 0.27), and the width L2 of the main body portion is a difference between an outer radius of the main body portion and an inner radius of the main body portion (In Figs. 22-23, W2 is a difference of 0.5*D and ½*E1+G+E2, which is cited as the corresponding inner radius in a prior limitation of this claim above).
Regarding claim 27, Hwangbo discloses the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 22 above, and wherein the main body portion is suitable to be welded with the first connecting member ([0289]) and forming a first welding area on the main body portion (“The electrical connection between the second bus bar terminal 153 and the outer surface 20a may be achieved by laser welding, ultrasonic welding, or the like.” [0280], which is suitable to be done in the area “marked by hatching” [0289], referring to Figs. 22-23), the first welding area is disposed to be spaced apart from a first end portion of the bending portion (In Figs. 22-23, the marked hatching area does not include Rd), and the first end portion is used for connecting the main body portion (the inner end of Rd corresponds to the claimed first end portion, and the marked hatching area of 153 includes areas that is spaced apart from this end).
Regarding claim 29, Hwangbo discloses the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 21 above, and wherein the second tab is provided at one end of the electrode assembly facing the cover body (“a first electrode tab 11 will be called the first uncoated region 11. The first uncoated region 11 is provided at an upper portion of the electrode assembly 10 accommodated in the battery can 20 in a height direction (parallel to the Z-axis).” [0164]), and the first tab is provided at the other end of the electrode assembly away from the cover body (“a second electrode tab 12 will be called the second uncoated region 12. The second uncoated region 12 is provided at a lower portion of the electrode assembly 10 accommodated in the battery can 20 in the height direction (parallel to the Z-axis).” [0166]);
the cylinder body is used for connecting the first tab and the cover body (“A side surface (outer circumferential surface) and an upper surface of the battery can 20 may be integrally formed.” [0179] and “The lower beading portion 21b may function as a support portion for fixing the contact portion 83a of the second current collector 80, the sealing gasket 90, and the like as well as the cap 30” [0182]), to enable the first tab to be electrically connected to the cover body (inherent of the cited portions for the prior limitation above).
Regarding claim 30, Hwangbo discloses the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 21 above, and wherein the first tab is a negative pole tab (“The second uncoated region 12 may be, for example, a negative electrode tab. Meanwhile, at least a part of the second uncoated region 12 may include a plurality of segments divided along the winding direction of the electrode assembly 10. In this case, the plurality of segments may be bent along the radial direction of the electrode assembly 10. The plurality of bent segments may be overlapped in multiple layers. In this case, a second uncoated region coupling portion 82 of the second current collector 80, explained later, may be coupled to a region in which the plurality of segments are overlapped in multiple layers.” [0166]), and a base material of the casing is steel (“As a material of the battery can 20, for example, steel” [0179]).
Regarding claim 31, Hwangbo discloses the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 21 above, and wherein the cylinder body has an opening at one end away from the cover body (“an opening formed at the lower end of the battery can 20” [0167]), and the battery cell further comprises a cover plate for closing the opening (“The cap 30 seals the opening (or, the opened end) formed at a bottom end of the battery can 20.” [0188]).
Regarding claim 33, Hwangbo discloses a battery (“Referring to FIG. 24 , a battery pack 3 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure includes a secondary battery assembly in which a plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure as described above are electrically connected, and a pack housing 2 for accommodating the secondary battery assembly.” [0308]) comprising:
the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 21 above;
the first connecting member connected to the cover body (“In FIG. 24 of the present disclosure, components for electrical connection such as a bus bar, a cooling unit and a power terminal are not depicted for convenience of illustration. The electrical connection structure of the plurality of batteries 1 for manufacturing the battery pack 3 has been exemplarily described above with reference to FIGS. 20 and 21.” [0308] and “the plurality of second bus bar terminals 153 may be electrically coupled to the outer surface 20 a of each cylindrical battery 1” [0280]); and
the second connecting member connected to the electrode terminal (“The plurality of first bus bar terminals 152 may protrusively extend from one side of the body portion 151 toward the terminal 40 of each cylindrical battery 1 and may be electrically coupled to the terminal 40.” [0280]).
Regarding claim 34, Hwangbo discloses a battery (“Referring to FIG. 24 , a battery pack 3 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure includes a secondary battery assembly in which a plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure as described above are electrically connected, and a pack housing 2 for accommodating the secondary battery assembly.” [0308]) comprising:
the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 22 above;
the first connecting member connected to the cover body (“In FIG. 24 of the present disclosure, components for electrical connection such as a bus bar, a cooling unit and a power terminal are not depicted for convenience of illustration. The electrical connection structure of the plurality of batteries 1 for manufacturing the battery pack 3 has been exemplarily described above with reference to FIGS. 20 and 21.” [0308] and “the plurality of second bus bar terminals 153 may be electrically coupled to the outer surface 20 a of each cylindrical battery 1” [0280]); and
the second connecting member connected to the electrode terminal (“The plurality of first bus bar terminals 152 may protrusively extend from one side of the body portion 151 toward the terminal 40 of each cylindrical battery 1 and may be electrically coupled to the terminal 40.” [0280]).
Regarding claim 35, Hwangbo discloses a battery (“Referring to FIG. 24 , a battery pack 3 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure includes a secondary battery assembly in which a plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure as described above are electrically connected, and a pack housing 2 for accommodating the secondary battery assembly.” [0308]) comprising:
the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 23 above;
the first connecting member connected to the cover body (“In FIG. 24 of the present disclosure, components for electrical connection such as a bus bar, a cooling unit and a power terminal are not depicted for convenience of illustration. The electrical connection structure of the plurality of batteries 1 for manufacturing the battery pack 3 has been exemplarily described above with reference to FIGS. 20 and 21.” [0308] and “the plurality of second bus bar terminals 153 may be electrically coupled to the outer surface 20 a of each cylindrical battery 1” [0280]); and
the second connecting member connected to the electrode terminal (“The plurality of first bus bar terminals 152 may protrusively extend from one side of the body portion 151 toward the terminal 40 of each cylindrical battery 1 and may be electrically coupled to the terminal 40.” [0280]).
Regarding claim 36, Hwangbo discloses a battery (“Referring to FIG. 24 , a battery pack 3 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure includes a secondary battery assembly in which a plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure as described above are electrically connected, and a pack housing 2 for accommodating the secondary battery assembly.” [0308]) comprising:
the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 24 above;
the first connecting member connected to the cover body (“In FIG. 24 of the present disclosure, components for electrical connection such as a bus bar, a cooling unit and a power terminal are not depicted for convenience of illustration. The electrical connection structure of the plurality of batteries 1 for manufacturing the battery pack 3 has been exemplarily described above with reference to FIGS. 20 and 21.” [0308] and “the plurality of second bus bar terminals 153 may be electrically coupled to the outer surface 20 a of each cylindrical battery 1” [0280]); and
the second connecting member connected to the electrode terminal (“The plurality of first bus bar terminals 152 may protrusively extend from one side of the body portion 151 toward the terminal 40 of each cylindrical battery 1 and may be electrically coupled to the terminal 40.” [0280]).
Regarding claim 37, Hwangbo discloses a battery (“Referring to FIG. 24 , a battery pack 3 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure includes a secondary battery assembly in which a plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure as described above are electrically connected, and a pack housing 2 for accommodating the secondary battery assembly.” [0308]) comprising:
the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 25 above;
the first connecting member connected to the cover body (“In FIG. 24 of the present disclosure, components for electrical connection such as a bus bar, a cooling unit and a power terminal are not depicted for convenience of illustration. The electrical connection structure of the plurality of batteries 1 for manufacturing the battery pack 3 has been exemplarily described above with reference to FIGS. 20 and 21.” [0308] and “the plurality of second bus bar terminals 153 may be electrically coupled to the outer surface 20 a of each cylindrical battery 1” [0280]); and
the second connecting member connected to the electrode terminal (“The plurality of first bus bar terminals 152 may protrusively extend from one side of the body portion 151 toward the terminal 40 of each cylindrical battery 1 and may be electrically coupled to the terminal 40.” [0280]).
Regarding claim 38, Hwangbo discloses a battery (“Referring to FIG. 24 , a battery pack 3 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure includes a secondary battery assembly in which a plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure as described above are electrically connected, and a pack housing 2 for accommodating the secondary battery assembly.” [0308]) comprising:
the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 26 above;
the first connecting member connected to the cover body (“In FIG. 24 of the present disclosure, components for electrical connection such as a bus bar, a cooling unit and a power terminal are not depicted for convenience of illustration. The electrical connection structure of the plurality of batteries 1 for manufacturing the battery pack 3 has been exemplarily described above with reference to FIGS. 20 and 21.” [0308] and “the plurality of second bus bar terminals 153 may be electrically coupled to the outer surface 20 a of each cylindrical battery 1” [0280]); and
the second connecting member connected to the electrode terminal (“The plurality of first bus bar terminals 152 may protrusively extend from one side of the body portion 151 toward the terminal 40 of each cylindrical battery 1 and may be electrically coupled to the terminal 40.” [0280]).
Regarding claim 39, Hwangbo discloses a battery (“Referring to FIG. 24 , a battery pack 3 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure includes a secondary battery assembly in which a plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure as described above are electrically connected, and a pack housing 2 for accommodating the secondary battery assembly.” [0308]) comprising:
the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 27 above;
the first connecting member connected to the cover body (“In FIG. 24 of the present disclosure, components for electrical connection such as a bus bar, a cooling unit and a power terminal are not depicted for convenience of illustration. The electrical connection structure of the plurality of batteries 1 for manufacturing the battery pack 3 has been exemplarily described above with reference to FIGS. 20 and 21.” [0308] and “the plurality of second bus bar terminals 153 may be electrically coupled to the outer surface 20 a of each cylindrical battery 1” [0280]); and
the second connecting member connected to the electrode terminal (“The plurality of first bus bar terminals 152 may protrusively extend from one side of the body portion 151 toward the terminal 40 of each cylindrical battery 1 and may be electrically coupled to the terminal 40.” [0280]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwangbo (US 2024/0266611 A1) in view of Peng et al (WO 2022/184081 A1). The latter prior art reference cited as Peng in this Office Action hereinafter.
Regarding claim 28, Hwangbo discloses the battery cell with all features set forth in claim 27 above, but does not disclose wherein a welding depth D3 of the first welding area and the thickness D1 of the main body portion satisfy: 0.1 ≤ D3/D1 ≤ 0.8.
However, Peng discloses a battery cell (the whole shown in Fig. 1; “a battery” [0059]) comprising an electrode assembly (40 Fig. 1; “a cell assembly” [0059]) that comprises a first tab and a second tab with opposite polarities (41 and 42 Fig. 1; “a first pole ear 42 and a second pole ear 41” [0062]), a casing that accommodates the electrode assembly and comprises a cylinder body and a cover body (“shell assembly includes a shell 10 and a top cover, wherein the shell 10 and the top cover enclose a receiving cavity … the receiving cavity is used to receive the cell assembly 40” [0059] and “the top cover includes a first metal sheet 13” [0061]), wherein the casing comprises a connecting portion (middle portion of 12 shown in Fig. 2) and a bending portion (the corner portions of 12 shown in Fig. 2), and wherein the connecting portion comprises a main body portion (the center portion of 12 shown in Fig. 2) and a first welding area is formed on (123 Figs. 4-5 which comprises of 1231; “first weld 123” [0078] and “a molten pool depression 1231 is formed on the surface of the first weld 123” [0082]).
Peng teaches wherein a welding depth D3 of the first welding area (thickness of the corresponding main body portion expounded on in the next citation, minus depth of depression 1231, which “the depth of the molten pool depression 1231 ranges from 0.005 mm to 0.05 mm” [0082]) and the thickness D1 of the main body portion (“the height of the outer surface of the sealing cover 14 protruding from the outer surface of the bottom wall 12 ranges from 0.02mm to 2mm” [0086]) satisfy: 0.1 ≤ D3/D1 ≤ 0.8 (the prior two citations above equate to a range of corresponding D3/D1 between 0.0005 and 0.9975, which is an enclosing range to the claimed range that a prima facie case of obviousness exists, according to MPEP 2144.05 Section I).
Peng further teaches that the specified ratio range of the welding depth of the main body portion to the thickness of the main body portion is sufficient enough to improve sealing between the main body portion and a connecting member to the main body portion (14 Figs. 4-5; “sealing cover 14” [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a welding depth (D3) of the first welding area such that, with the the thickness (D1) of the main body portion, a ratio of D3/D1 satisfies: 0.1 ≤ D3/D1 ≤ 0.8 in view of Peng. The person of ordinary skill would thus be able to achieve improved sealing between the main body portion and the first connecting member of the battery.
Regarding claim 40, modified Hwangbo discloses a battery (“Referring to FIG. 24 , a battery pack 3 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure includes a secondary battery assembly in which a plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure as described above are electrically connected, and a pack housing 2 for accommodating the secondary battery assembly.” [0308]) comprising:
the battery cell with all features set forth in claim 28 above;
the first connecting member connected to the cover body (“In FIG. 24 of the present disclosure, components for electrical connection such as a bus bar, a cooling unit and a power terminal are not depicted for convenience of illustration. The electrical connection structure of the plurality of batteries 1 for manufacturing the battery pack 3 has been exemplarily described above with reference to FIGS. 20 and 21.” [0308] and “the plurality of second bus bar terminals 153 may be electrically coupled to the outer surface 20 a of each cylindrical battery 1” [0280]); and
the second connecting member connected to the electrode terminal (“The plurality of first bus bar terminals 152 may protrusively extend from one side of the body portion 151 toward the terminal 40 of each cylindrical battery 1 and may be electrically coupled to the terminal 40.” [0280]).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwangbo (US 2024/0266611 A1) in view of Okuno et al (US 2023/0216115 A1 ). The latter prior art reference cited as Okuno in this Office Action hereinafter.
Regarding claim 32, Hwangbo discloses the battery cell with all the features set forth in claim 22 above, but does not disclose wherein the connecting portion further comprises a first concave portion, the main body portion is disposed around an outer periphery of the first concave portion, the first concave portion is recessed from an outer surface of the main body portion in a direction facing the electrode assembly, the electrode lead-out hole penetrates a bottom wall of the first concave portion, and communicates the first concave portion with an inner portion of the casing;
the battery cell further comprises a first insulating member, the first concave portion is configured to accommodate at least a portion of the first insulating member, and a portion of the first insulating member that is accommodated within the first concave portion is attached to a side wall and/or bottom wall of the first concave portion.
However, Okuno discloses a battery cell (10 Figs. 1-2; “a secondary battery” [0024]) that comprises an electrode assembly (40 Fig. 2; “a battery device 40” [0029]), a casing for accommodating the electrode assembly (10 Figs. 1-2; “the outer package can 10 is an outer package member having a flat and columnar shape, and has a hollow structure to contain the battery device 40” [0035]), the casing comprises a cylinder body (11 Fig. 2; “a container part 11” [0038]) and a cover body (12 Fig. 2; “a cover part 12” [0038]), the cover body provided with an electrode lead-out hole (“The cover part 12 has a through hole 12K” [0040]), at least part of the cover body is suitable to be used for electrically connecting a first connecting member (“and is welded to the container part 11 at the opening 11K” [0040] and “the outer package can 10 (the container part 11 and the cover part 12) includes one or more of electrically conductive materials including, without limitation, a metal material and an alloy material. Examples of the electrically conductive materials include iron, copper, nickel, stainless steel, an iron alloy, a copper alloy, and a nickel alloy.” [0057], which discloses that cover part 12 is capable of being welded to metal connecting members), and an electrode terminal (20 Fig. 2; “an external terminal 20” [0034]).
Okuno teaches wherein the connecting portion further comprises a first concave portion (12H Fig. 2; “a bent part 12H” [0031]), the main body portion is disposed around an outer periphery of the first concave portion (In Fig. 2, the main body portion of 12 peripherally surrounds bent part 12H), the first concave portion is recessed from an outer surface of the main body portion in a direction facing the electrode assembly (“includes the bent part 12H which is provided by bending the cover part 12 to cause the cover part to protrude in part toward the inside of the container part 11” [0044]), the electrode lead-out hole penetrates a bottom wall of the first concave portion (“through hole 12K is provided in the bent part 12H” [0044]), and communicates the first concave portion with an inner portion of the casing (“the external terminal 20 is disposed in the through hole 12K provided in the cover part 12. The external terminal 20 is thus exposed in part outside the outer package can 10 and exposed in part inside the outer package can 10.” [0064]);
the battery cell further comprises a first insulating member (30 Fig. 2; “the secondary battery further includes a gasket 30” [0034]), the first concave portion is configured to accommodate at least a portion of the first insulating member (“the gasket 30 is disposed between an upper surface of the cover part 12 and a lower surface of the external terminal 20 inside the bent part 12H” [0072]), and a portion of the first insulating member that is accommodated within the first concave portion is attached to a side wall and/or bottom wall of the first concave portion (In Fig. 2, gasket 30 is disposed on the bottom wall of bent part 12H).
Okuno further teaches that these features reduces the height of the battery cell, which therefore increases the energy density per unit volume as compared to a case where the electrode terminal protrudes above the cover body (“the external terminal 20 is disposed inside the bent part 12H with the gasket 30 interposed therebetween. The external terminal 20 is thus insulated from the cover part 12 via the gasket 30 as described above. Here, the external terminal 20 does not protrude above the cover part 12 (the bent part 12H). A reason for this is that this reduces the height H of the secondary battery and therefore increases the energy density per unit volume as compared with a case where the external terminal 20 protrudes above the cover part 12.” [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill the art to add a first concave portion and a first insulating member to the battery cell of Hwangbo, in view of Okuno, wherein the connecting portion further comprises a first concave portion, the main body portion is disposed around an outer periphery of the first concave portion, the first concave portion is recessed from an outer surface of the main body portion in a direction facing the electrode assembly, the electrode lead-out hole penetrates a bottom wall of the first concave portion, and communicates the first concave portion with an inner portion of the casing;
the battery cell further comprises a first insulating member, the first concave portion is configured to accommodate at least a portion of the first insulating member, and a portion of the first insulating member that is accommodated within the first concave portion is attached to a side wall and/or bottom wall of the first concave portion.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would then be able to achieve an increase in energy density per unit volume of the battery cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant appears to remark that none of the prior art cited so far does not disclose the limitation in claim 21 of “in a direction from the first end portion to the second end portion, a thickness of the bending portion gradually decreases” considering that prior art reference Hwangbo is not prior art based on applicant assertion of “For a U.S. patent that claims foreign priority, the effective filing date of disclosure is the filing date of the U.S. application unless the subject matter was publicly disclosed earlier in a priority document”, drawing support from MPEP 2132.02 and 35 U.S.C. 102(d).
In response to applicant remark made above, there is no such requirement for U.S. patent applications claiming foreign priority in MPEP 2132.02 as MPEP 2132 covers “Pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)” and only one subsection is included in this chapter of the MPEP, titled “2132.01 – Overcoming a Pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) Rejection based on a Printed Publication or Patent”.
The examiner could assume that applicant is instead relying on MPEP 2135(IV), which pertains to patent application examined under Pre-AIA . This section of the MPEP is not related to the instant patent application because the instant is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA , which is stated in the prior Office Action as well as this Office Action. Nonetheless, this section of the MPEP discloses that “the claims need not be identical or even within the same statutory class. If applicant is granted a foreign patent which fully discloses the invention and which gives applicant a number of different claiming options in the U.S., the reference in pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(d) to "‘invention... patented’ necessarily includes all the disclosed aspects of the invention. Thus, the [pre-AIA ] section 102(d) bar applies regardless whether the foreign patent contains claims to less than all aspects of the invention." 9 F.3d at 946, 28 USPQ2d at 1788. In essence, a pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(d) rejection applies if applicant’s foreign application supports the subject matter of the U.S. claims. Id. at 944, 947, 28 USPQ2d at 1786, 1789”
Another section of the MPEP that pertains to patent applications examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA and sets requirements for U.S. patent applications claiming foreign priority is MPEP 210, which discloses “Whether an application was filed before, on, or after March 16, 2013, 35 U.S.C. 119(b)(1) requires a claim for priority identifying the foreign application.” A claim is disclosed in [0001] of Hwangbo, which qualifies the earliest filing date of January 19, 2021 to be the effective filing date of Hwangbo, and is before the effective filing date of the instant application. Therefore, Hwangbo qualifies as prior art and discloses the limitation cited set forth in the currently standing rejection of claim 21.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721