DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claims filed on July 6, 2026, for the application filed on April 7, 2022, which is a continuation-in-part of Non-Provisional Application No. 17/379,661 filed on July 19, 2021, which is a continuation of Non-Provisional Application No. 17/147,232 filed on January 12, 2021, which is a continuation-in-part of Non-Provisional Application No. 17/021,895 filed on September 15, 2020, which claims priority to Provisional Application No. 62/910,232 filed on October 3, 2019. Claims 2, 17, and 32 were cancelled. Claims 1, 3 – 15, 18– 31, and 33 – 45 are currently pending and have been examined as discussed below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4 – 7, 15 – 16, 19 – 21, 30 – 31, 34 – 37, and 45 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over an associated one of independent claims 1, 14, and 27 of Mason ‘417 (copending Application No. 18/324,417) in view of Brown (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0411170 A1), Nolan (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0275259 A1), and Mason ‘886 (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0275886 A1).
Regarding independent claims 1, 16, and 31 of the instant application, representative claim 27 of Mason ‘417 reads the limitations of representative claim 31 identified in bold (i.e., bold italicized font and bold regular font) as:
a. A system (Amended claim 27 of Mason ‘417 as filed on December 6, 2024, “A system”) comprising: (This limitation in italics is not recited in claims 1 and 16.)
b. a processor (Amended claim 27 of Mason ‘417 as filed on December 6, 2024, “a processor”); and (This limitation in italics is not recited in claim 1.)
c. a memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (Amended claim 27 of Mason ‘417 as filed on December 6, 2024, “a memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to”): (This limitation in italics is not recited in claim 1.)
d. receive a set of treatment plans, wherein each treatment plan comprising the set of treatment plans is associated with a user capable of using a treatment device to perform the associated treatment plan (Amended claim 27 of Mason ‘417 as filed on December 6, 2024, “wherein the at least one resource deployment prediction indicates at least one treatment device to be used by the user to perform a treatment plan”; see also amended claim 28 of Mason ‘417 as filed on December 6, 2024, “wherein, the user performs the treatment plan using at least one treatment device contained in the set of treatment devices.);
e. receive healthcare professional profile information associated with respective healthcare professionals comprising a set of healthcare professionals (Amended claim 27 of Mason ‘417 as filed on December 6, 2024, “receive healthcare professional profile information associated with respective healthcare professionals which comprises a set of healthcare professionals capable of interacting with the user”) capable of utilizing at least one aspect of the one or more treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans;
f. receive, while a plurality of users of a cohort of users uses each respective treatment device of the set of treatment devices, one or more measurements from one or more sensors associated with respective treatment devices of a set of treatment devices, wherein each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users has at least one healthcare characteristic that is the same as at least one healthcare characteristic of each other user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users, and wherein each treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is configured based on the at least one healthcare characteristic of each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users;
g. generate, based on the one or more measurements from the one or more sensors associated with the respective treatment devices of the set of treatment devices, treatment device information for each treatment device of the set of treatment devices, wherein each treatment device is capable of being used by the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans (Amended claim 27 of Mason ‘417 as filed on December 6, 2024, “identify treatment device information for each treatment device which comprises a set of treatment devices capable of being used by users having user profiles at least partially associated with the at least one user profile of the user”); and
h. use an artificial intelligence engine that is configured to use at least one machine learning model that is configured to generate resource deployment predictions, generating at least one resource deployment prediction, wherein the at least one machine learning model generates the at least one resource deployment prediction based on at least some treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, at least some of the healthcare professional profile information, and at least some of the treatment device information (Amended claim 27 of Mason ‘417 as filed on December 6, 2024, “generate, using an artificial intelligence engine that uses at least one machine learning model configured to generate resource deployment predictions, at least one resource deployment prediction, wherein the at least one machine learning model generates the at least one resource deployment prediction based on at least part of the at least one user profile, user profiles associated with other users, at least some of the healthcare professional profile information, and at least some of the treatment device information, and wherein the at least one resource deployment prediction indicates at least one treatment device to be used by the user to perform a treatment plan.”).
Claim 27 of Mason ‘417 discloses generating the treatment plan, based on the at least one resource deployment prediction, for the user.
Claim 27 of Mason ‘417 does not appear to explicitly recite, but Brown teaches the limitation “cause the processor to: receive a set of treatment plans” (Paragraph [0073] of Brown, The patient information 252 can include patient information regarding current patients of one or more healthcare systems (e.g., patients that have entered the healthcare system via at least one entry point) and their medical needs. For example, the patient information 252 can include care plan information 240 that describes or defines care plans for the patients (if available). For example, the care plan can include information on a list or timeline of the various prescribed clinical treatment to for the patient in association with a course of patient care. In some implementations, the care plan information can also be associated with information identifying patient rest and recovery periods/times, such as amounts of time and/or periods of time during which the patient is required or preferred to rest (e.g., between procedures or appointments and the like)… The patient information can also include medical history information for current and past patients, such as that provided in the EHR data 244. For example, the patient medical history information can include … information aggregated for patients across various disparate healthcare organizations/vendors (e.g., internal and third-party organizations/vendors) via a healthcare information exchange system (HIE).)
Claim 27 of Mason ‘417 does not appear to explicitly recite, but Nolan teaches the limitation “receive, while a plurality of users of a cohort of users uses each respective treatment device of the set of treatment devices, one or more measurements from one or more sensors associated with respective treatment devices of a set of treatment devices, wherein each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users has at least one healthcare characteristic that is the same as at least one healthcare characteristic of each other user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users, and wherein each treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is configured based on the at least one healthcare characteristic of each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users” (Paragraphs [0040], [0059] – [0061], and [0071] – [0073], and [0080] of Nolan. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “receive, while a plurality of users of a cohort of users uses each respective treatment device of the set of treatment devices, one or more measurements from one or more sensors associated with respective treatment devices of a set of treatment devices” reads on the patient feedback system in Nolan (Paragraphs [0059] – [0061]) receiving, from the monitoring device, collected monitoring data as personal profile data for the patient being monitored, while other patients use respective therapeutic devices with associated therapeutic device settings stored in the database as reference device settings, such that the database is filled automatically and may grow dynamically. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “wherein each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users has at least one healthcare characteristic that is the same as at least one healthcare characteristic of each other user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users, and wherein each treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is configured based on the at least one healthcare characteristic of each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users” reads on the patient feedback system in Nolan (Paragraphs [0040] and [0071] – [0073]) determining the reference patients having identical profile data as the patient (e.g. having the same age, the same physics and the same type and extent of disease, information on those other people choose their therapeutic device settings) and a recommendation adapted to that patient’s particular situation, with the other patients; therapeutic device settings serving as a basis for the patient to change the settings of the therapeutic device if the settings of the therapeutic device are outside the normal use.).
Claim 27 of Mason ‘417 does not appear to explicitly recite, but Nolan teaches the limitation “generate, based on the one or more measurements from the one or more sensors associated with the respective treatment devices of the set of treatment devices, treatment device information for each treatment device of the set of treatment devices, wherein each treatment device is capable of being used by the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans” (Paragraph [0073] of Nolan, The broadest reasonable interpretation of “generate, based on the one or more measurements from the one or more sensors associated with the respective treatment devices of the set of treatment devices, treatment device information” reads on the type identifier in Nolan (Paragraph [0073]) identifying the therapeutic device of the patient or reference patient could be included in the profile data (in the personal profile data of the patient or the reference profile data of each of the reference patients), with the type identifier being a device type identifier indicating which type of device the patient or reference patient uses, or a serial number for uniquely identifying the exact device the patient or reference patient uses.).
Claim 27 of Mason ‘417 does not appear to explicitly recite, but Mason ‘886 teaches the limitation “wherein, according to the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one user associated with at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is enabled to perform the at least one treatment plan using at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices” (Paragraphs [0059] and [0082] of Mason ‘886. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “wherein, according to the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one user associated with at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is enabled to perform the at least one treatment plan using at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices” reads on the activity in Mason ‘886 (Paragraphs [0059] and [0082], see also [0100]) of remotely communicating, between an assistant (e.g., a doctor, a nurse, a physical therapist, or a technician) and a patient and/or treatment apparatus (i.e.,. at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices), to enable the assistant to provide assistance or guidance to a patient (i.e., user) by communicating an audio signal (i.e., at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans), an audiovisual signal (i.e., at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans), an interface control signal (i.e., at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans)for controlling a function of the patient interface, and an interface monitor signal (i.e., at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans) for monitoring a status of the patient interface, e.g., a pedal radius setting.).
Claim 27 of Mason ‘417 does not appear to explicitly recite, but Mason ‘886 teaches the limitation “while the at least one user uses the at least one treatment device to perform the at least one treatment plan, controlling, based on the at least one treatment plan and the at least one resource deployment prediction, a pedal radius of at least one pedal of the at least one treatment device” (Paragraphs [0059] and [0082] of Mason ‘886. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “while the at least one user uses the at least one treatment device to perform the at least one treatment plan, controlling, based on the at least one treatment plan and the at least one resource deployment prediction, a pedal radius of at least one pedal of the at least one treatment device” reads on the activity in Mason ‘886 (Paragraphs [0059] and [0082]) of remotely communicating, between an assistant (e.g., a doctor, a nurse, a physical therapist, or a technician) and a patient and/or treatment apparatus, to enable the assistant to provide assistance or guidance to a patient (i.e., user) by communicating an apparatus control signal (i.e., the at least one treatment plan and the at least one resource deployment prediction) for changing an operating parameter of the treatment apparatus (i.e.,. at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices), e.g., a pedal radius setting.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical data mining and healthcare resource management at the time of the filing to modify the method, computer readable medium, and system of Mason ‘417 (claims 1, 14, and 27) to implement the processor to receive the set of treatment plans, as taught by Brown (Paragraph [0073]) in order to coordinate operating entities and patients in a meaningful fashion to deliver optimal operating efficiency utilizing all available resources in a network to drive an optimized, and patient specific experience according to patient preference (Paragraph [0004] of Brown); implement the processor to receive, while a plurality of users of a cohort of users uses each respective treatment device of the set of treatment devices, one or more measurements from one or more sensors associated with respective treatment devices of a set of treatment devices, wherein each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users has at least one healthcare characteristic that is the same as at least one healthcare characteristic of each other user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users, and wherein each treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is configured based on the at least one healthcare characteristic of each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users, and generate, based on the one or more measurements from the one or more sensors associated with the respective treatment devices of the set of treatment devices, treatment device information for each treatment device of the set of treatment devices, wherein each treatment device is capable of being used by the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, as taught by Nolan (Paragraphs [0040], [0059] – [0061], and [0071] – [0073], and [0080]) in order to obtain dedicated feedback on how other patients with comparable profiles (comparison of personal profile data of the patient to reference profile data, i.e. personal profile data of the reference patients) use their therapeutic devices (Paragraph [0033] of Nolan); and according to the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one user associated with at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is enabled to perform the at least one treatment plan using at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices, and while the at least one user uses the at least one treatment device to perform the at least one treatment plan, controlling, based on the at least one treatment plan and the at least one resource deployment prediction, a pedal radius of at least one pedal of the at least one treatment device, as taught by Mason ‘886 (Paragraphs [0059], [0082], and [0100]) in order to provide the technical solution of distally controlling a treatment apparatus, lead to faster recovery times and/or better results for the patients, and select and implement, in real-time, at any given moment, the treatment plan that most accurately fits their characteristics (Paragraph [0032] of Mason ‘886).
Regarding claims 4, 19, and 34 of the instant application, claims 4, 17, and 30 of Mason ‘417 as filed on December 6, 2024 recite “wherein, for a respective healthcare professional contained in the set of healthcare professionals, the healthcare professional profile information includes at least one of credential information associated with the respective healthcare professional, professional experience information associated with the respective healthcare professional, and availability information associated with the respective healthcare professional.”
The claims of Mason ‘417 as modified by Brown, Nolan, and Mason ‘886 and applied to an associated one of claims 1, 16, and 31 teaches that, for a respective healthcare professional comprising the set of healthcare professionals, the healthcare professional profile information includes at least one of information associated with … credential or degree information associated with the respective healthcare professional (Paragraph [0034] of Brown, The system can further extract and receive up-to-date information from the different operating entities regarding who or whom is available to perform the tasks, and who is the best person/persons to perform the tasks. Paragraph [0043] of Brown, In this regard, the term healthcare task as used herein can include essentially any defined (predefined or defined by the task assessment module 110) task involved in a course of patient care that is provided by and/or controlled by one or more individuals that are associated with the operating entity or entities involved in the course of patient care. The one or more individuals can include employees/staff, volunteers, independent contractors, patients, and/or patient aids (e.g., a friend or family member of the patient, a personal assistant/aid of the patient, etc.). For example, the healthcare tasks can include clinical tasks, clerical tasks, administrative tasks, environmental services tasks and the like, performed by and/or facilitated by clinicians, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, therapists, emergency services clinicians/technicians, community health workers, transportation workers, care coordinators, law enforcement, complimentary/alternative medicine practitioners, behavioral health workers, environmental services workers, food service workers, and the like. Paragraph [0048] of Brown, The task assessment module 110 can also determine and associate resource attributes with the healthcare tasks that identify or indicate requirements for resources to be used for the tasks, including requirements for healthcare workers authorized to perform the tasks (e.g., based on credentials, job description, performance levels, fatigue levels, etc.).).
Regarding claims 5, 20, and 35 of the instant application, the claims of Mason’417 as modified by Brown and Nolan and applied to an associated one of claims 1, 16, and 31 teaches that, for a respective healthcare professional comprising the set of healthcare professionals, the healthcare professional profile information includes at least one of identities of healthcare professionals potentially available to treat the user if the respective healthcare professional is unavailable, and information associated with the healthcare professionals potentially available (Paragraph [0034] of Brown, The system can further extract and receive up-to-date information from the different operating entities regarding who or whom is available to perform the tasks, and who is the best person/persons to perform the tasks. Paragraph [0043] of Brown, In this regard, the term healthcare task as used herein can include essentially any defined (predefined or defined by the task assessment module 110) task involved in a course of patient care that is provided by and/or controlled by one or more individuals that are associated with the operating entity or entities involved in the course of patient care. The one or more individuals can include employees/staff, volunteers, independent contractors, patients, and/or patient aids (e.g., a friend or family member of the patient, a personal assistant/aid of the patient, etc.). For example, the healthcare tasks can include clinical tasks, clerical tasks, administrative tasks, environmental services tasks and the like, performed by and/or facilitated by clinicians, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, therapists, emergency services clinicians/technicians, community health workers, transportation workers, care coordinators, law enforcement, complimentary/alternative medicine practitioners, behavioral health workers, environmental services workers, food service workers, and the like.).
Regarding claims 6 and 21 of the instant application, claims 5 and 18 of Mason ‘417 and applied to an associated one of claims 1 and 16 recite that an associated one of the method and computer readable medium that, for a respective treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices, the treatment device information includes at least one of identification information associated with the respective treatment device; location information associated with the respective treatment device; and availability information associated with the respective treatment device (Amended claims 5 and 18 of Mason ‘417 as filed on December 6, 2024, “wherein, for a respective treatment device of the set of treatment devices, the treatment device information includes at least one of identification information associated with the respective treatment device; location information associated with the respective treatment device; and availability information associated with the respective treatment device.”).
Regarding claim 7 of the instant application, claims 6 and 19 of Mason ‘417 recite that an associated one of the method and the computer readable medium includes the at least one resource deployment prediction defining a mapping of at least some of the healthcare professionals contained in the set of healthcare professionals and at least some treatment devices contained in the set of treatment devices (Amended claims 6 and 19 of Mason ‘417 as filed on December 6, 2024, “wherein the at least one resource deployment prediction defines a mapping of at least some of the healthcare professionals contained in the set of healthcare professionals, and at least some treatment devices contained in the set of treatment devices.”).
Claims 6 and 19 of Mason ‘417 as modified by Brown, Nolan, and Mason ‘886 and applied to an associated one of claims 1 and 16 teaches that the at least one resource deployment prediction defines a mapping between or among at least some of the healthcare professionals comprising the set of healthcare professionals, the users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, and at least some treatment devices comprising the set of treatment devices (Paragraph [0034] of Brown, The system can further extract and receive up-to-date information from the different operating entities regarding who or whom is available to perform the tasks, and who is the best person/persons to perform the tasks. Paragraph [0043] of Brown, In this regard, the term healthcare task as used herein can include essentially any defined (predefined or defined by the task assessment module 110) task involved in a course of patient care that is provided by and/or controlled by one or more individuals that are associated with the operating entity or entities involved in the course of patient care. The one or more individuals can include employees/staff, volunteers, independent contractors, patients, and/or patient aids (e.g., a friend or family member of the patient, a personal assistant/aid of the patient, etc.). For example, the healthcare tasks can include clinical tasks, clerical tasks, administrative tasks, environmental services tasks and the like, performed by and/or facilitated by clinicians, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, therapists, emergency services clinicians/technicians, community health workers, transportation workers, care coordinators, law enforcement, complimentary/alternative medicine practitioners, behavioral health workers, environmental services workers, food service workers, and the like.).
Regarding claim 36 of the instant application, the claims of Mason ‘417 as modified by Brown, Nolan, and Mason ‘886 and applied to claim 31 teaches the system that, for a respective treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices, the treatment device information includes at least one of identification information associated with the respective treatment device; location information associated with the respective treatment device; and availability information associated with the respective treatment device (Paragraph [0054] of Brown, Although the embodiments, described above are directed to evaluating and determining availability of healthcare workers (e.g., humans), the resource assessment module 114 can also evaluate relevant dynamic operating data 104 to determine information regarding the availability of other system resources. For example, the other system resources can include supplies, instruments, equipment, machines, technology, and the like that are needed to perform and/or facilitate performance of the healthcare tasks. Thus, in some embodiments, the resources availability data 116 can also include information regarding availability of other resources, such as current availability status of the resources (e.g., whether they are in-use, clean, dirty, in repair, offline, overloaded, power levels, etc.), expected availability status of the resources (e.g., when they will be available for use), locations of the resources, and the like.).
Regarding claim 37 of the instant application, claim 31 of Mason ‘417 as modified by Brown, Nolan, and Mason ‘886 teaches that the at least one resource deployment prediction defines a mapping between or among at least some of the healthcare professionals comprising the set of healthcare professionals, the users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, and at least some treatment devices comprising the set of treatment devices (Paragraph [0034] of Brown, In one or more embodiments, the system collects and combines real-time and historical data from various integrated healthcare provider systems and sources regarding patient needs and all aspects of operations of the different healthcare providers that are available to provide healthcare services to patients. In this regard, the system can access and retrieve or receive operating information from different operating entities in real-time over a course of operating of the one or more operating entities regarding what task needs to be done (e.g., clinical tasks and non-clinical task for performance by a wide range of clinicians, healthcare workers and the like, when and where within the healthcare system at a current point in time and/or over a defined, upcoming period of time. The system can further extract and receive up-to-date information from the different operating entities regarding who or whom is available to perform the tasks, and who is the best person/persons to perform the tasks. The system can further evaluate the information using various machine learning models and/or optimization models/algorithms to determine how to schedule performance of the tasks with respect to time and location and how to assign resources (e.g., workers and optionally non-human resources) to the tasks in a manner that results in performing the tasks in the most efficient and effective manner, using the right resources at the right time for the right patient in the right place. For example, the system can determine how to optimize the operations of individual operating entities with respect to scheduling and managing performance of all healthcare tasks at the individual operating entities in a manner that results in the most efficient and effective utilization of available system resources while accounting for the collective and personal needs and preferences of all patients. Using similar machine learning and optimization techniques, the system can further determine how to optimize the operations of the different operating entities as a whole to achieve even greater efficiency in terms of resource utilization while providing patients more personalized and timely access to appropriate clinical care by coordinating and synchronizing patient and provider needs leveraging shared resources. Paragraph [0043] of Brown, In this regard, the term healthcare task as used herein can include essentially any defined (predefined or defined by the task assessment module 110) task involved in a course of patient care that is provided by and/or controlled by one or more individuals that are associated with the operating entity or entities involved in the course of patient care. The one or more individuals can include employees/staff, volunteers, independent contractors, patients, and/or patient aids (e.g., a friend or family member of the patient, a personal assistant/aid of the patient, etc.). For example, the healthcare tasks can include clinical tasks, clerical tasks, administrative tasks, environmental services tasks and the like, performed by and/or facilitated by clinicians, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, therapists, emergency services clinicians/technicians, community health workers, transportation workers, care coordinators, law enforcement, complimentary/alternative medicine practitioners, behavioral health workers, environmental services workers, food service workers, and the like. In some implementations, the healthcare tasks can include non-clinical tasks, such as tasks involving transporting patients and/or supplies, EVS tasks, task involving equipment/technology repair and maintenance, administrative tasks (e.g., verifying insurance qualifications, obtaining authorization for procedures, etc.), and the like. Although various embodiments are described with the assumption that the one or more individuals include humans, in some implementations, the one or more individuals can include machines that are configured to perform certain healthcare tasks autonomously and/or at the control of a human (e.g., intelligent machines, robots, self-driving vehicles, etc.). The term healthcare worker is used herein to refer to any individual or machine associated with an operating entity that can perform a healthcare task.).
Regarding claims 15, 30, and 45 of the instant application, claims 1, 14, and 27 of Mason ‘417 as modified by Brown, Nolan, and Mason ‘886 teaches that the treatment device information includes at least information indicating an availability of the treatment device (Paragraph [0054] of Brown, Although the embodiments, described above are directed to evaluating and determining availability of healthcare workers (e.g., humans), the resource assessment module 114 can also evaluate relevant dynamic operating data 104 to determine information regarding the availability of other system resources. For example, the other system resources can include supplies, instruments, equipment, machines, technology, and the like that are needed to perform and/or facilitate performance of the healthcare tasks. Thus, in some embodiments, the resources availability data 116 can also include information regarding availability of other resources, such as current availability status of the resources (e.g., whether they are in-use, clean, dirty, in repair, offline, overloaded, power levels, etc.), expected availability status of the resources (e.g., when they will be available for use), locations of the resources, and the like.).
Claims 8 – 12, 23 – 27, and 38 – 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over an associated one of independent claims 1, 14, and 27 of Mason ‘417 as modified by Brown, Nolan, and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31, and further in view of Gnanasambandam (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0177846 A1).
Regarding claims 8, 23, and 38 of the instant application, claims 1, 14, and 27 of Mason ‘417 as modified by Brown, Nolan, and Mason ‘886 do not appear to explicitly disclose, but Gnanasambandam teaches that the method, computer readable medium, and system implement the at least one resource deployment prediction is associated with an optimized outcome for the cohort of users associated with the respective treatment plans (Paragraph [0217] of Gnanasambandam, In some embodiments, the artificial intelligence engine 100 may generate the resource utilization plan to minimize costs to the healthcare facility. For example, the machine learning models may be trained to minimize a cost objective function that performs numerous iterations adjusting costs associated with resources to find a combination of resource utilization that provides a lowest cost relative to other combinations. The iterations may be performed in various simulations using various utilization types (e.g., admittance of a patient, emergency, specialist, specialist follow-up, primary care, and laboratory) and resource requirements for an integrated delivery network to determine a maximum resource utilization at a minimum cost. A simulation may include scheduling a first number of healthcare professionals at a first cost and ordering a first number of laboratory testing supplies at a first cost and determining a first resource utilization level and a first total cost; then, another simulation may include scheduling a second number of healthcare professionals at a second cost and ordering a second number of laboratory testing supplies at a second cost and determining a second resource utilization level and second total cost. The artificial intelligence engine 100 may compare the first resource utilization level and total cost to the second resource utilization level and total cost to determine which resource utilization plan and/or total cost are more desirable.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical data mining and healthcare resource management at the time of the filing to modify the method, computer readable medium, and system of Mason ‘417 (claims 1, 14, and 27) such that the at least one resource deployment prediction is associated with an optimized outcome for the cohort of users associated with the respective treatment plans, as taught by Gnanasambandam (Paragraph [0217]) in order to improve the health outcomes of a group by improving clinical outcomes while lowering costs (Paragraph [0002] of Gnanasambandam).
Regarding claims 9, 24, and 39 of the instant application, claims 1, 14, and 27 of Mason ‘417 as modified by Brown, Nolan, and Mason ‘886 do not appear to explicitly disclose, but Gnanasambandam teaches that the method, computer readable medium, and system include instructions further causing the processor to identify super-cohorts of users comprising the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, wherein, further, based on the identified super-cohorts of users, the at least one machine learning model generates the at least one resource deployment prediction (Paragraph [0202] of Gnanasambandam, As depicted in FIG. 17 , the data has been assigned to different cohorts. Cohort A includes data for patients having similar first attributes, first disease progression levels, first treatment plans, first results, first utilization types, first resources, and first costs. Cohort B includes data for patients having similar second attributes, second disease progression levels, second treatment plans, second results, second utilization types, second resources, and second costs. For example, cohort A may include first attributes of patients in their twenties without any additional medical conditions, and such cohort A patients' disease progression levels may indicate a low risk of reaching the next stage of a disease continuum. Based on the disease progression level of the patients, cohort A may include first resources for these users that staff a low amount of healthcare professionals over a certain period of time because it is unlikely they will be needed at a healthcare facility for these patients. In such a way, resources may not be wasted by over staffing a healthcare facility and the resources not staffed may be staffed somewhere else. Paragraph [0203] of Gnanasambandam, Further, cohort B may include second attributes of patients in their sixties with one or more additional medical conditions, and cohort B patients' disease progression levels may indicate a high risk of reaching the next stage of the disease continuum. Based on the disease progression level of the patients, cohort B may include second resources for these users that staff a high amount of healthcare professionals over a certain period of time because it is likely they will be needed at a healthcare facility for these patients. In such a way, resources may be staffed where needed as appropriate.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical data mining and healthcare resource management at the time of the filing to modify the method, computer readable medium, and system of Mason ‘417 (claims 1, 14, and 27) such that the instructions further cause the processor to identify super-cohorts of users comprising the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, wherein, further, based on the identified super-cohorts of users, the at least one machine learning model generates the at least one resource deployment prediction, as taught by Gnanasambandam (Paragraphs [0202] and [0203]) in order to improve the health outcomes of a group by improving clinical outcomes while lowering costs (Paragraph [0002] of Gnanasambandam).
Regarding claims 10, 25, and 40 of the instant application, claims 1, 14, and 27 of Mason ‘417 as modified by Brown, Nolan, and Mason ‘886 do not appear to explicitly disclose, but Gnanasambandam teaches that the method, computer readable medium, and system include instructions further causing the processor to receive, subsequent to the at least one machine learning model generating the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one of a subsequent treatment plan, subsequent healthcare professional profile information, and subsequent treatment device information (Paragraph [0217] of Gnanasambandam, In some embodiments, the artificial intelligence engine 100 may generate the resource utilization plan to minimize costs to the healthcare facility. For example, the machine learning models may be trained to minimize a cost objective function that performs numerous iterations adjusting costs associated with resources to find a combination of resource utilization that provides a lowest cost relative to other combinations. The iterations may be performed in various simulations using various utilization types (e.g., admittance of a patient, emergency, specialist, specialist follow-up, primary care, and laboratory) and resource requirements for an integrated delivery network to determine a maximum resource utilization at a minimum cost. A simulation may include scheduling a first number of healthcare professionals at a first cost and ordering a first number of laboratory testing supplies at a first cost and determining a first resource utilization level and a first total cost; then, another simulation may include scheduling a second number of healthcare professionals at a second cost and ordering a second number of laboratory testing supplies at a second cost and determining a second resource utilization level and second total cost. The artificial intelligence engine 100 may compare the first resource utilization level and total cost to the second resource utilization level and total cost to determine which resource utilization plan and/or total cost are more desirable.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical data mining and healthcare resource management at the time of the filing to modify the method, computer readable medium, and system of Mason ‘417 (claims 1, 14, and 27) including instructions that further cause the processor to receive, subsequent to the at least one machine learning model generating the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one of a subsequent treatment plan, subsequent healthcare professional profile information, and subsequent treatment device information, as taught by Gnanasambandam (Paragraph [0217]) in order to improve the health outcomes of a group by improving clinical outcomes while lowering costs (Paragraph [0002] of Gnanasambandam).
Regarding claims 11, 26, and 41 of the instant application, claims 1, 14, and 27 of Mason ‘417 as modified by Brown, Nolan, and Gnanasambandam and applied to claims 10, 25, and 40 teach that the method, computer readable medium, and system include:
a. the subsequent treatment plan corresponds to one of at least one treatment plan comprising the set of treatment plans or to a treatment plan not in the set of treatment plans (Paragraph [0041] of Gnanasambandam, Medical data may be stored in the data store 108 in the form of electronic health records (EHRs) that are associated with one or more patients. In some implementations, EHRs from different, disparate medical providers of a patient are stored in the data store 108. The health information exchanged between computing devices in the system 100 (e.g., between client computing device 104 and another computing device) may include health records associated with a patient such as medical and treatment histories of the patient but can go beyond standard clinical data collected by a healthcare provider. For example, health records may include a patient's medical history, diagnoses, medications, treatment plans, immunization dates, allergies, radiology images, and laboratory and test results.);
b. the subsequent healthcare professional profile information corresponds to one of at least one healthcare professional comprising at least the set of healthcare professionals and at least a healthcare professional not in the set of healthcare professionals (Paragraph [0034] of Gnanasambandam, “Results” may refer to medical results or medical outcomes. Results and outcomes may refer to responses to medical actions. A “medical action(s)” may refer to any suitable action(s) performed by a healthcare professional, and such action or actions may include diagnoses, prescriptions for treatment plans); and
c. the subsequent treatment device information corresponds to one of at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices and at least one treatment device not in the set of treatment devices (Paragraph [0038] of Gnanasambandam, The server 102 is configured to store and to provide data related to managing treatment plans. The server 102 may include one or more computers and may take the form of a distributed and/or virtualized computer or computers. The server 102 may be configured to store data regarding treatment plans. For example, the server 102 may be configured to hold system data, such as data pertaining to treatment plans for treating one or more patients. The server 102 may also be configured to store data regarding performance by a patient in following a treatment plan. For example, the server 102 may be configured to hold medical data, such as data pertaining to one or more patients, including data representing each patient's performance within the treatment plan. In addition, the server 102 may store attributes (e.g., personal, performance, measurement, etc.) of patients, disease progression levels of medical conditions of patients, treatment plans followed by patients, results of the treatment plans, utilization types (e.g., admittance to healthcare facility, emergency, specialty healthcare professional, specialty follow-up, lab work, etc.) resources of healthcare facilities (e.g., available healthcare professionals, available rooms, available medical imaging devices, available laboratory testing supplies, etc.).).
Regarding claims 12, 27, and 42 of the instant application, claims 1, 14, and 27 of Mason ‘417 as modified by Brown, Nolan, and Gnanasambandam and applied to claims 10, 25, and 40 teaches that the method, computer readable medium, and system include instructions further causing the processor to generate, using the at least one machine learning model via the artificial intelligence engine , at least one subsequent resource deployment prediction, wherein the at least one machine learning model generates the at least one subsequent resource deployment prediction based, at least in part, on the subsequent treatment plan, the subsequent healthcare professional profile information, and the subsequent treatment device information (Paragraph [0216] of Gnanasambandam, In some embodiments, the actionable item may include ordering one or more laboratory diagnostic test supplies treatment plan may indicate the patient should start taking one or more new medications, adjust dosage levels of one or more medications, stop taking one or more medications, or a combination thereof. Alternatively, or in addition, actionable items may include one or more lab test to perform on the patient. For example, the treatment plan may indicate the patient should start having one or more new lab tests. Paragraph [0217] of Gnanasambandam, In some embodiments, the artificial intelligence engine 100 may generate the resource utilization plan to minimize costs to the healthcare facility. For example, the machine learning models may be trained to minimize a cost objective function that performs numerous iterations adjusting costs associated with resources to find a combination of resource utilization that provides a lowest cost relative to other combinations. The iterations may be performed in various simulations using various utilization types (e.g., admittance of a patient, emergency, specialist, specialist follow-up, primary care, and laboratory) and resource requirements for an integrated delivery network to determine a maximum resource utilization at a minimum cost. A simulation may include scheduling a first number of healthcare professionals at a first cost and ordering a first number of laboratory testing supplies at a first cost and determining a first resource utilization level and a first total cost; then, another simulation may include scheduling a second number of healthcare professionals at a second cost and ordering a second number of laboratory testing supplies at a second cost and determining a second resource utilization level and second total cost. The artificial intelligence engine 100 may compare the first resource utilization level and total cost to the second resource utilization level and total cost to determine which resource utilization plan and/or total cost are more desirable.).
Claims 13, 14, 28, 29, 43, and 44 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over an associated one of independent claims 1, 14, and 27 of Mason ‘417 in view of Brown and Nolan and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31, and further in view of Einav (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0277074 A1).
Regarding claims 13, 28, and 43, claims 1, 14, and 27 of Mason ‘417 as modified by Brown, Nolan, and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31 do not appear to explicitly disclose, but Einav teaches that the method, computer readable medium, and system with at least one treatment device of the set of treatment devices includes at least one pedal (Paragraph [0120] of Einav, Mr. Smith's therapy plan may include some exercises designed to develop coordinated movement of upper and lower body parts. Optionally, this may be accomplished by use of multiple modules 350 as detailed hereinabove. Alternately, or additionally, an exercise device 600 in accordance with an exemplary embodiment of the invention (FIG. 6) may be employed, for example a full body treatment device located in daily activity room 280 or private room 235. According to this embodiment of the invention, optional lower limb training section includes a base 602 having a pedal 604 mounted thereon. Optionally, pedal 604 is capable of rotary motion relative to a horizontal axis (e.g., as in a bicycle) alternatively or additionally to rotation around its axis.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical data mining and healthcare resource management at the time of the filing to modify the method, computer readable medium, and system of Mason ‘417 (claims 1, 14, and 27) such that at least one treatment device of the set of treatment devices includes at least one pedal, as taught by Einav (Paragraph [0120]) in order to organize rehabilitation to reduce wastage of time of the patient, reduce waiting time, and make efficient use of the patient's time and/or rest periods (Paragraph [0006] of Einav).
Regarding claims 14, 29, and 44 of the instant application, claims 1, 14, and 27 of Mason ‘417 as modified by Brown, Nolan, and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31 do not appear to explicitly disclose, but Einav teaches that the method, computer readable medium, and system have at least one treatment device of the set of treatment devices including at least one hand grip or hand pedal (Paragraph [0120] of Einav, Mr. Smith's therapy plan may include some exercises designed to develop coordinated movement of upper and lower body parts. Optionally, this may be accomplished by use of multiple modules 350 as detailed hereinabove. Alternately, or additionally, an exercise device 600 in accordance with an exemplary embodiment of the invention (FIG. 6) may be employed, for example a full body treatment device located in daily activity room 280 or private room 235. According to this embodiment of the invention, optional lower limb training section includes a base 602 having a pedal 604 mounted thereon. Optionally, pedal 604 is capable of rotary motion relative to a horizontal axis (e.g., as in a bicycle) alternatively or additionally to rotation around its axis.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical data mining and healthcare resource management at the time of the filing to modify the method, computer readable medium, and system of Mason ‘417 (claims 1, 14, and 27) such that at least one treatment device of the set of treatment devices includes at least one hand grip or hand pedal, as taught by Einav (Paragraph [0120]) in order to organize rehabilitation to reduce wastage of time of the patient, reduce waiting time, and make efficient use of the patient's time and/or rest periods (Paragraph [0006] of Einav).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3 – 16, 18 – 31, and 33 – 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Eligibility Step 1:
Under Step 1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it must be determined whether each claim as a whole falls within one of the statutory categories of invention (i.e., a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). See MPEP 2106.03. In the instant application, claims 1 and 3 – 15 are directed to a method (i.e., a process); claims 16 and 18 – 30 are directed to tangible, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (i.e., an article of manufacture); and claim 31 and 33 – 45 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine).
While each one of claims 1, 3 – 16, 18 – 31, and 33 – 45 appears to fall within one or more statutory categories of invention, the Office has determined that the full eligibility analysis is required because there is doubt as to whether the applicant is effectively seeking coverage for a judicial exception itself. The eligibility of each claim is not self-evident at least because each claim as a whole did not appear to clearly improve a technology or computer functionality. To the contrary, each claim as a whole appeared to merely apply one or more judicial exceptions on a computer.
Accordingly, it has been determined that each one of claims 1, 3 – 16, 18 – 31, and 33 – 45 as a whole falls within one or more statutory categories under Step 1, and the Office proceeds with the full eligibility analysis (the Alice/Mayo test described in MPEP 2106(III)) as discussed below.
Eligibility Step 2A, Prong One:
Under Step 2A, Prong One of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it must be determined whether each claim is directed to one or more of the judicial exceptions (i.e., an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon). See MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1). After evaluation, it has been determined that claims 1, 3 – 15, 18– 31, and 33 – 45 are directed to judicial exceptions because claims 1, 3 – 15, 18– 31, and 33 – 45 recite an abstract idea. (The Office will not determine that a claim is not directed to a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong One for the mere reason that claim further recites one or more additional elements beyond the judicial exception.)
Independent claims 1, 16, and 31 are determined to be directed to a judicial exception including an abstract idea, i.e., certain method of organizing human activity (CMOHA). Representative claim 31 recites the mental process identified in bold as:
a. A system comprising: (This limitation in italic font is not recited in claims 1 and 16.)
b. a processor; and (This limitation in italic font is not recited in claim 1.)
c. a memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (This limitation in italic font is not recited in claim 1.)
d. receive a set of treatment plans, wherein each treatment plan comprising the set of treatment plans is associated with a user capable of using a treatment device to perform the associated treatment plan;
e. receive healthcare professional profile information associated with respective healthcare professionals comprising a set of healthcare professionals capable of utilizing at least one aspect of the one or more treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans;
f. receive, while a plurality of users of a cohort of users uses each respective treatment device of the set of treatment devices, one or more measurements from one or more sensors associated with respective treatment devices of a set of treatment devices , wherein each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users has at least one healthcare characteristic that is the same as at least one healthcare characteristic of each other user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users, and wherein each treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is configured based on the at least one healthcare characteristic of each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users;
g. generate, based on the one or more measurements from the one or more sensors associated with the respective treatment devices of the set of treatment devices, treatment device information for each treatment device of the set of treatment devices, wherein each treatment device is capable of being used by the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans;
h. use an artificial intelligence engine that is configured to use at least one machine learning model that is configured to generate resource deployment predictions, generating at least one resource deployment prediction, wherein the at least one machine learning model generates the at least one resource deployment prediction based on at least some treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, at least some of the healthcare professional profile information, and at least some of the treatment device information;
i. wherein, according to the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one user associated with at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is enabled to perform the at least one treatment plan using at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices; and
j. while the at least one user uses the at least one treatment device to perform the at least one treatment plan, controlling, based on the at least one treatment plan and the at least one resource deployment prediction, a pedal radius of at least one pedal of the at least one treatment device.
The identified limitations of “generate, based on the one or more measurements from the one or more sensors associated with the respective treatment devices of the set of treatment devices, treatment device information for each treatment device of the set of treatment devices, wherein each treatment device is capable of being used by the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans,” “generating at least one resource deployment prediction, wherein … generates the at least one resource deployment prediction based on at least some treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, at least some of the healthcare professional profile information, and at least some of the treatment device information,” “wherein, according to the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one user associated with at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is enabled to perform the at least one treatment plan using at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices,” and “while the at least one user uses the at least one treatment device to perform the at least one treatment plan, controlling, based on the at least one treatment plan and the at least one resource deployment prediction, a pedal radius of at least one pedal of the at least one treatment device” define the activity of a physical therapist developing an physical therapy plan for a subject (e.g., a patient or the patient’s caretaker) based on the availability of the subject (i.e., to schedule an appointment based on the location and time zone for the patient and/or patient’s caretaker), with the patient or the patient’s caretaker being enabled to perform the physical therapy plan and controlling the pedal radius of a pedal exerciser according to the physical therapy plan. The limitations in bold fall within the subject matter grouping of CMOHA because those limitations are rules or instructions followed by a healthcare professional to perform human activities (i.e., the well-known activity of managing and administering a physical therapy plan). This activity amounts to managing the personal behavior of the patient and/or the patient’s caretaker. Thus, this activity represents an abstract idea falling in the “CMOHA” grouping under Step 2A, Prong one.
Regarding dependent claims 3 – 15, 18 – 30, and 33 – 45, each combination identified in bold as “during a telemedicine session, the at least one user associated with the at least one treatment plan is enabled to perform the at least one treatment plan using the at least one treatment device” in claims 3, 18, and 33, “for a respective healthcare professional, the healthcare professional profile information includes at least one of information associated with the respective healthcare professional, credential or degree information associated with the respective healthcare professional, professional experience information associated with the respective healthcare professional, and availability information associated with the respective healthcare professional” in claims 4, 19, and 34, “for a respective healthcare professional, the healthcare professional profile information includes at least one of identities of healthcare professionals potentially available to treat the user if the respective healthcare professional is unavailable, and information associated with the healthcare professionals potentially available“ in claims 5, 20, and 35, “for a respective treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices, the treatment device information includes at least one of identification information associated with the respective treatment device; location information associated with the respective treatment device; and availability information associated with the respective treatment device” in claims 6, 21, and 36, “the at least one resource deployment prediction defines a mapping between or among at least some of the healthcare professionals comprising the set of healthcare professionals, the users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, and at least some treatment devices comprising the set of treatment devices” in claims 7 and 37, “the at least one resource deployment prediction is associated with an optimized outcome for the cohort of users associated with the respective treatment plans” in claims 8, 23, and 38, “the instructions further cause the processor to identify super-cohorts of users comprising the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, wherein, further, based on the identified super-cohorts of users, … generates the at least one resource deployment prediction” in claims 9, 24, and 39, “the instructions further cause the processor to receive, subsequent to … generating the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one of a subsequent treatment plan, subsequent healthcare professional profile information, and subsequent treatment device information” in claims 10, 25, and 40, “the subsequent treatment plan corresponds to one of at least one treatment plan comprising the set of treatment plans or to a treatment plan not in the set of treatment plans; the subsequent healthcare professional profile information corresponds to one of at least one healthcare professional comprising at least the set of healthcare professionals and at least a healthcare professional not in the set of healthcare professionals; and the subsequent treatment device information corresponds to one of at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices and at least one treatment device not in the set of treatment devices” in claims 11, 26, and 41, “the instructions further cause the processor to generate… at least one subsequent resource deployment prediction, … generates the at least one subsequent resource deployment prediction based, at least in part, on the subsequent treatment plan, the subsequent healthcare professional profile information, and the subsequent treatment device information” in claims 12, 27, and 42, “at least one treatment device of the set of treatment devices includes at least one pedal” in claims 13, 28, and 43, and “at least one treatment device of the set of treatment devices includes at least one hand grip or hand pedal” in claims 14, 29, and 44, “the treatment device information includes at least information indicating an availability of the treatment device” in claims 15, 30, and 45 further defines the activity of a physical therapist developing an physical therapy plan for a subject (e.g., a patient or the patient’s caretaker) based on the availability of the subject (i.e., to schedule an appointment based on the location and time zone for the patient and/or patient’s caretaker), with the patient or the patient’s caretaker being enabled to perform the physical therapy plan and controlling the pedal radius of a pedal exerciser according to the physical therapy plan. These limitations fall within the subject matter grouping of CMOHA because those limitations are rules or instructions followed by a healthcare professional to perform human activities (i.e., the well-known activity of managing and administering a physical therapy plan). This activity amounts to managing the personal behavior of the patient and/or the patient’s caretaker. Thus, this activity represents an abstract idea falling in the “CMOHA” grouping under Step 2A, Prong one.
Accordingly, dependent claims 3 – 15, 18 – 30, and 33 – 45 recite judicial exceptions under Step 2A, Prong One.
Eligibility Step 2A, Prong Two:
Claims 1, 16, and 31 recite additional limitations beyond the judicial exceptions. Representative claim 31 recites the additional limitations identified in bold as:
a. A system comprising: (This limitation in bold italicized font is not recited in claims 1 and 16.)
b. a processor; and (This limitation in bold italicized font is not recited in claim 1.)
c. a memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (This limitation in bold italicized font is not recited in claim 1.)
d. receive a set of treatment plans, wherein each treatment plan comprising the set of treatment plans is associated with a user capable of using a treatment device to perform the associated treatment plan;
e. receive healthcare professional profile information associated with respective healthcare professionals comprising a set of healthcare professionals capable of utilizing at least one aspect of the one or more treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans;
f. receive, while a plurality of users of a cohort of users uses each respective treatment device of the set of treatment devices, one or more measurements from one or more sensors associated with respective treatment devices of a set of treatment devices, wherein each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users has at least one healthcare characteristic that is the same as at least one healthcare characteristic of each other user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users, and wherein each treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is configured based on the at least one healthcare characteristic of each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users;
g. generate, based on the one or more measurements from the one or more sensors associated with the respective treatment devices of the set of treatment devices, treatment device information for each treatment device of the set of treatment devices, wherein each treatment device is capable of being used by the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans;
h. use an artificial intelligence engine that is configured to use at least one machine learning model that is configured to generate resource deployment predictions, generating at least one resource deployment prediction, wherein the at least one machine learning model generates the at least one resource deployment prediction based on at least some treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, at least some of the healthcare professional profile information, and at least some of the treatment device information;
i. wherein, according to the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one user associated with at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is enabled to perform the at least one treatment plan using at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices; and
j. while the at least one user uses the at least one treatment device to perform the at least one treatment plan, controlling, based on the at least one treatment plan and the at least one resource deployment prediction, a pedal radius of at least one pedal of the at least one treatment device.
The additional limitations of “the system,” “the processor,” “the memory,” “the artificial intelligence engine that is configured to use at least one machine learning model that is configured to generate resource deployment predictions,” and “the at least one machine learning model” in claims 16 and 31 are determined to implement the judicial exception (i.e., managing and administering a physical therapy plan) recited at a high level of generality. Each claim as a whole does not provide a provide a particular solution to a problem and thus amounts to mere instructions to apply an abstract idea to generic computer components. See MPEP 2106.05(a) citing MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims do not recite any particular treatment device information, how the treatment device information is generated based on the one or more measurements from the one or more sensors associated with the respective treatment devices, how each treatment device is capable of being used by the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans, any particular resource deployment prediction, how the resource deployment prediction is generated based on at least some of the treatment plans, at least some of the healthcare professional profile information, and at least some of the treatment device information, how at least one user is enabled to, according to the at least one resource deployment prediction, perform the at least one treatment plan using at least one treatment device, and how the pedal radius of the at least one treatment device is controlled based on at least one treatment plan.
Regarding the consideration under MPEP 2106.05(g), the additional limitations of “receive a set of treatment plans, wherein each treatment plan comprising the set of treatment plans is associated with a user capable of using a treatment device to perform the associated treatment plan,” “receive healthcare professional profile information associated with respective healthcare professionals comprising a set of healthcare professionals capable of utilizing at least one aspect of the one or more treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans,” and “receive, while a plurality of users of a cohort of users uses each respective treatment device of the set of treatment devices, one or more measurements from one or more sensors associated with respective treatment devices of a set of treatment devices, wherein each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users has at least one healthcare characteristic that is the same as at least one healthcare characteristic of each other user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users, and wherein each treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is configured based on the at least one healthcare characteristic of each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users” (i.e., post-solution activity of necessary data gathering) are determined to add no more than insignificant extra-solution activities to the judicial exception. The claim as a whole represents the primary process (i.e., managing and administering a physical therapy plan) to which the extra-solution activities are incidental. Regarding the consideration under MPEP 2106.05(h), the additional limitations, individually or in combination, also amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception. In the instant application, the additional limitations (i.e., the processors, the image bay having the controller display, etc.) do no more than link the abstract idea (i.e., managing and administering a physical therapy plan) to artificial intelligence. Thus, the additional limitations fail to add an inventive concept to the claims.
Accordingly, independent claims 1, 16, and 31 do not recite additional elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Dependent claims 3 – 15, 18 – 30, and 33 – 45 present additional information in tandem with further details regarding elements and the abstract idea from an associated one of independent claims 1, 16, and 31and are therefore directed to an abstract idea for similar reasons as given Under Step 2A, Prong One above. Claims 3 – 15, 18 – 30, and 33 – 45 do not recite any additional limitations beyond the abstract idea of determining the updated schedule of medical imaging examinations.
Eligibility Step 2B:
Regarding independent claims 1, 16, and 31, the Office carries over its identification of the additional elements (and combinations thereof) from Step 2A, Prong Two so as to apply the same additional elements in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05(II). The Office further carries over its conclusions from the considerations discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a) through (c), (e) through (h) in Step 2A, Prong Two so as to apply the same considerations in Step 2B.
Under Step 2B of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it must be determined whether the claim provides an inventive concept by determining if the claims include additional elements or a combination of elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. After evaluation, there is no indication that an additional element or combination of elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong Two, each claim as a whole does not provide an improvement to technology or technical field under MPEP 2106.05(a), and the additional limitations amount to mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP 2106.05(f), necessary data gathering and/or outputting under MPEP 2106.05(g), and no more than a link the abstract idea (i.e., managing and administering a physical therapy plan) and artificial intelligence. Evidence that automated management and administration of physical therapy plans is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function is provided by Mason (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0275886 A1).
Furthermore, looking at the limitations individually or as any ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at each claim as a whole. There is no indication that the individual elements or combinations of elements amount to an inventive concept.
Therefore, claims 1, 16, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
As previously discussed under step 2A, prong two of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it has been determined that dependent claims 2-15, 17-30, and 32-45 merely further define the judicial exceptions (i.e., CMOHA, mental processes) in associated independent claims 1, 16, and 31. Therefore, claims 2-15, 17-30, and 32-45 do not include an element or a combination of elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (i.e., whether the additional element(s) are well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry. Evidence that automated management and administration of physical therapy plans is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function is provided by Mason (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0275886 A1).
Therefore, dependent claims 3 – 15, 18 – 30, and 33 – 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 7, 15 – 16, 18 – 22, 30 – 31, 33 – 37, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brown (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0411170 A1) and Nolan (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0275259 A1) and Mason ‘886 (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0275886 A1).
Regarding independent claims 1, 16, and 31, Brown teaches the limitations of representative claim 31 identified in bold (i.e., bold italicized font and bold regular font) as:
a. A system (Paragraph [0036] of Brown, Turning now to the drawings, FIG. 1 illustrates a block diagram of an example, non-limiting system 100 for coordinating and optimizing healthcare resource utilization and delivery of healthcare services across an integrated healthcare system using a machine learning framework, in accordance with one or more embodiments of the disclosed subject matter. Embodiments of systems described herein can include one or more machine-executable components embodied within one or more machines (e.g., embodied in one or more computer-readable storage media associated with one or more machines). Such components, when executed by the one or more machines (e.g., processors, computers, computing devices, virtual machines, etc.) can cause the one or more machines to perform the operations described.) comprising: (This limitation in bold italicized font is not recited in claims 1 and 16.)
b. a processor (Paragraph [0037] of Brown, For example, in the embodiment shown, system 100 includes a healthcare delivery optimization server device 108 and a plurality of healthcare information systems/sources 102. The healthcare delivery optimization server device 108 can include various computer executable components, including but not limited to, a task assessment module 110, a resource assessment module 112 and a task scheduling and resource assignment optimization module 118. The healthcare delivery optimization server device 108 can include or be operatively coupled to at least one memory 124 and at least one processor 122.); and (This limitation in bold italicized font is not recited in claim 1.)
c. a memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (Paragraph [0037] of Brown, For example, in the embodiment shown, system 100 includes a healthcare delivery optimization server device 108 and a plurality of healthcare information systems/sources 102. The healthcare delivery optimization server device 108 can include various computer executable components, including but not limited to, a task assessment module 110, a resource assessment module 112 and a task scheduling and resource assignment optimization module 118. The healthcare delivery optimization server device 108 can include or be operatively coupled to at least one memory 124 and at least one processor 122.): (This limitation in bold italicized font is not recited in claim 1.)
d. receive a set of treatment plans, wherein each treatment plan comprising the set of treatment plans is associated with a user capable of using a treatment device to perform the associated treatment plan (Paragraph [0063] of Brown, In the embodiment shown, the healthcare information systems/sources 102 include one or more databases that provide static/semi-static system data 106 for an operating entity or group of operating entities, including … patient information 252. Paragraph [0073] of Brown, For example, the patient information 252 can include care plan information 240 that describes or defines care plans for the patients (if available). For example, the care plan can include information on a list or timeline of the various prescribed clinical treatment to for the patient in association with a course of patient care. In some implementations, the care plan information can also be associated with information identifying patient rest and recovery periods/times, such as amounts of time and/or periods of time during which the patient is required or preferred to rest (e.g., between procedures or appointments and the like)… The patient information can also include medical history information for current and past patients, such as that provided in the EHR data 244. For example, the patient medical history information can include … information aggregated for patients across various disparate healthcare organizations/vendors (e.g., internal and third-party organizations/vendors) via a healthcare information exchange system (HIE).);
e. receive healthcare professional profile information associated with respective healthcare professionals comprising a set of healthcare professionals capable of utilizing at least one aspect of the one or more treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans (Paragraph [0034] of Brown, In one or more embodiments, the system collects and combines real-time and historical data from various integrated healthcare provider systems and sources regarding … all aspects of operations of the different healthcare providers that are available to provide healthcare services to patients. In this regard, the system can access and retrieve or receive operating information from different operating entities in real-time over a course of operating of the one or more operating entities regarding what task needs to be done (e.g., clinical tasks and non-clinical task for performance by a wide range of clinicians, healthcare workers and the like, when and where within the healthcare system at a current point in time and/or over a defined, upcoming period of time. The system can further extract and receive up-to-date information from the different operating entities regarding who or whom is available to perform the tasks, and who is the best person/persons to perform the tasks. Paragraph [0043] of Brown, In this regard, the term healthcare task as used herein can include essentially any defined (predefined or defined by the task assessment module 110) task involved in a course of patient care that is provided by and/or controlled by one or more individuals that are associated with the operating entity or entities involved in the course of patient care… Although various embodiments are described with the assumption that the one or more individuals include humans, in some implementations, the one or more individuals can include machines that are configured to perform certain healthcare tasks autonomously and/or at the control of a human (e.g., intelligent machines, robots, self-driving vehicles, etc.). The term healthcare worker is used herein to refer to any individual or machine associated with an operating entity that can perform a healthcare task.); 4
f. receive, while a plurality of users of a cohort of users uses each respective treatment device of the set of treatment devices, one or more measurements from one or more sensors associated with respective treatment devices of a set of treatment devices, wherein each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users has at least one healthcare characteristic that is the same as at least one healthcare characteristic of each other user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users, and wherein each treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is configured based on the at least one healthcare characteristic of each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users;
g generate, based on the one or more measurements from the one or more sensors associated with the respective treatment devices of the set of treatment devices, treatment device information for each treatment device of the set of treatment devices, wherein each treatment device is capable of being used by the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans (Paragraph [0048] of Brown, The task assessment module 110 can further determine … what additional (non-human) resources are used (e.g., supplies, instruments, equipment, technology, etc.). For example, the task assessment module 110 can determine and associate attribute information with each task that identifies a defined type or classification of the task (e.g., determined based on predefined task classification/type coding system), a time of origination of the task, a time or time frame for completing the task, an expected duration of the task, a location associated with the task, a priority level associated with the task, an and the like... The task assessment module 110 can also determine and associate resource attributes with the healthcare tasks that identify or indicate requirements for resources to be used for the tasks, including… requirements for non-human resources, such as required medications, medical supplies, devices, equipment, technology and the like for use in association with performing the respective tasks);
h. use an artificial intelligence engine that is configured to use at least one machine learning model that is configured to generate resource deployment predictions, generating at least one resource deployment prediction, wherein the at least one machine learning model generates the at least one resource deployment prediction based on at least some treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, at least some of the healthcare professional profile information, and at least some of the treatment device information (Paragraph [0056] of Brown, Turning now to the third component, using parameters provided by the indexed task data 112, the resource availability data 116, the dynamic operating data 104 and the static/semi-static system data 106 as input, the task scheduling and resource assignment optimization module 118 can employ one or more machine learning and/or optimization algorithms/models to determine how to schedule performance of the healthcare tasks to optimize utilization of the available resources in view of patient preference and need. In this regard, the task scheduling and resources assignment optimization module 118 can intelligently determine if a task should performed (e.g., based on authorization restrictions, necessity etc.), when the task should performed, where the task should performed, how the task should be performed (e.g., in person, using telemedicine), who or whom should perform the task (e.g., a person or person), and/or what additional (non-human) resources should be used (e.g., supplies, instruments, equipment, technology, etc.), based one or more optimization criteria. For example, the optimization criteria can include (but is not limited to), facilitating optimal patient flow, minimizing delay between performance of tasks, meeting fixed constraints (e.g., regarding timing and order, location, quality/standard of care, etc.), meeting patient preferences/needs, maximizing utilization of resources, minimizing costs, and/or maximizing revenue. Paragraph [0105] of Brown, Various features and functionalities of the task assessment module 108 involve evaluating dynamic operating data 104 in real-time in view of coinciding static/semi-static system data to identify pending and/or forecasted healthcare tasks (e.g., by the task identification component 304), to determine grouping constraints for two or more of the healthcare tasks (e.g., by the task grouping component 308), to determine ordering constraints for two or more healthcare tasks (e.g., by the task ordering component 310), to determine relevant attributes associated with the healthcare tasks (e.g., by the attribute defining component 312), and/or to determine a status (e.g., currently pending or in-progress) of the healthcare tasks (e.g., by the task status monitoring component 314). In some embodiments, the task assessment module 106 can include task assessment machine learning component 318 to facilitate determining one or more of these task parameters in real-time using various suitable machine learning and/or artificial intelligence (AI)-based schemes.);
i. wherein, according to the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one user associated with at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is enabled to perform the at least one treatment plan using at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices; and
j. while the at least one user uses the at least one treatment device to perform the at least one treatment plan, controlling, based on the at least one treatment plan and the at least one resource deployment prediction, a pedal radius of at least one pedal of the at least one treatment device.
Brown does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Nolan teaches the limitation “receive, while a plurality of users of a cohort of users uses each respective treatment device of the set of treatment devices, one or more measurements from one or more sensors associated with respective treatment devices of a set of treatment devices, wherein each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users has at least one healthcare characteristic that is the same as at least one healthcare characteristic of each other user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users, and wherein each treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is configured based on the at least one healthcare characteristic of each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users” (Paragraphs [0040], [0059] – [0061], and [0071] – [0073], and [0080] of Nolan. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “receive, while a plurality of users of a cohort of users uses each respective treatment device of the set of treatment devices, one or more measurements from one or more sensors associated with respective treatment devices of a set of treatment devices” reads on the patient feedback system in Nolan (Paragraphs [0059] – [0061]) receiving, from the monitoring device, collected monitoring data as personal profile data for the patient being monitored, while other patients use respective therapeutic devices with associated therapeutic device settings stored in the database as reference device settings, such that the database is filled automatically and may grow dynamically. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “wherein each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users has at least one healthcare characteristic that is the same as at least one healthcare characteristic of each other user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users, and wherein each treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is configured based on the at least one healthcare characteristic of each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users” reads on the patient feedback system in Nolan (Paragraphs [0040] and [0071] – [0073]) determining the reference patients having identical profile data as the patient (e.g. having the same age, the same physics and the same type and extent of disease, information on those other people choose their therapeutic device settings) and a recommendation adapted to that patient’s particular situation, with the other patients; therapeutic device settings serving as a basis for the patient to change the settings of the therapeutic device if the settings of the therapeutic device are outside the normal use.).
Brown does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Nolan teaches the limitation “generate, based on the one or more measurements from the one or more sensors associated with the respective treatment devices of the set of treatment devices, treatment device information for each treatment device of the set of treatment devices, wherein each treatment device is capable of being used by the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans” (Paragraph [0073] of Nolan, The broadest reasonable interpretation of “generate, based on the one or more measurements from the one or more sensors associated with the respective treatment devices of the set of treatment devices, treatment device information” reads on the type identifier in Nolan (Paragraph [0073]) identifying the therapeutic device of the patient or reference patient could be included in the profile data (in the personal profile data of the patient or the reference profile data of each of the reference patients), with the type identifier being a device type identifier indicating which type of device the patient or reference patient uses, or a serial number for uniquely identifying the exact device the patient or reference patient uses.).
Brown does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Mason ‘886 teaches the limitation “wherein, according to the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one user associated with at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is enabled to perform the at least one treatment plan using at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices” (Paragraphs [0059] and [0082] of Mason ‘886. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “wherein, according to the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one user associated with at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is enabled to perform the at least one treatment plan using at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices” reads on the activity in Mason ‘886 (Paragraphs [0059] and [0082], see also [0100]) of remotely communicating, between an assistant (e.g., a doctor, a nurse, a physical therapist, or a technician) and a patient and/or treatment apparatus (i.e.,. at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices), to enable the assistant to provide assistance or guidance to a patient (i.e., user) by communicating an audio signal (i.e., at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans), an audiovisual signal (i.e., at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans), an interface control signal (i.e., at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans)for controlling a function of the patient interface, and an interface monitor signal (i.e., at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans) for monitoring a status of the patient interface, e.g., a pedal radius setting.).
Brown does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Mason ‘886 teaches the limitation “while the at least one user uses the at least one treatment device to perform the at least one treatment plan, controlling, based on the at least one treatment plan and the at least one resource deployment prediction, a pedal radius of at least one pedal of the at least one treatment device” (Paragraphs [0059] and [0082] of Mason ‘886. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “while the at least one user uses the at least one treatment device to perform the at least one treatment plan, controlling, based on the at least one treatment plan and the at least one resource deployment prediction, a pedal radius of at least one pedal of the at least one treatment device” reads on the activity in Mason ‘886 (Paragraphs [0059] and [0082]) of remotely communicating, between an assistant (e.g., a doctor, a nurse, a physical therapist, or a technician) and a patient and/or treatment apparatus, to enable the assistant to provide assistance or guidance to a patient (i.e., user) by communicating an apparatus control signal (i.e., the at least one treatment plan and the at least one resource deployment prediction) for changing an operating parameter of the treatment apparatus (i.e.,. at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices), e.g., a pedal radius setting.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical data mining and healthcare resource management at the time of the filing to modify the system of Brown to cause the processor to: receive, while a plurality of users of a cohort of users uses each respective treatment device of the set of treatment devices, one or more measurements from one or more sensors associated with respective treatment devices of a set of treatment devices, wherein each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users has at least one healthcare characteristic that is the same as at least one healthcare characteristic of each other user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users, and wherein each treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is configured based on the at least one healthcare characteristic of each user of the plurality of users of the cohort of users, and generate, based on the one or more measurements from the one or more sensors associated with the respective treatment devices of the set of treatment devices, treatment device information for each treatment device of the set of treatment devices, wherein each treatment device is capable of being used by the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, as taught by Nolan (Paragraphs [0040], [0059] – [0061], and [0071] – [0073], and [0080]) in order to obtain dedicated feedback on how other patients with comparable profiles (comparison of personal profile data of the patient to reference profile data, i.e. personal profile data of the reference patients) use their therapeutic devices (Paragraph [0033] of Nolan); and according to the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one user associated with at least one treatment plan of the set of treatment plans is enabled to perform the at least one treatment plan using at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices, and while the at least one user uses the at least one treatment device to perform the at least one treatment plan, controlling, based on the at least one treatment plan and the at least one resource deployment prediction, a pedal radius of at least one pedal of the at least one treatment device, as taught by Mason ‘886 (Paragraphs [0059], [0082], and [0100]) in order to provide the technical solution of distally controlling a treatment apparatus, lead to faster recovery times and/or better results for the patients, and select and implement, in real-time, at any given moment, the treatment plan that most accurately fits their characteristics (Paragraph [0032] of Mason ‘886)..
Regarding claims 3, 18, and 33, Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31 teaches that, during a telemedicine session, the at least one user associated with the at least one treatment plan comprising the set of treatment plans is enabled to perform the at least one treatment plan using the at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices (Paragraph [0031] of Brown, Various embodiments of the disclosed subject matter provide systems, methods and computer readable media that enable an integrated delivery system using a team-based approach to deliver healthcare services to patients across various patient care settings (e.g., inpatient, outpatient, home, doctor's office, telemedicine/virtual, etc.), balancing and coordinating all patient's needs, available operating entity capabilities and resources in real-time and space. Paragraph [0043] of Brown, In this regard, the term healthcare task as used herein can include essentially any defined (predefined or defined by the task assessment module 110) task involved in a course of patient care that is provided by and/or controlled by one or more individuals that are associated with the operating entity or entities involved in the course of patient care. The one or more individuals can include employees/staff, volunteers, independent contractors, patients, and/or patient aids (e.g., a friend or family member of the patient, a personal assistant/aid of the patient, etc.). For example, the healthcare tasks can include clinical tasks, clerical tasks, administrative tasks, environmental services tasks and the like, performed by and/or facilitated by clinicians, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, therapists, emergency services clinicians/technicians, community health workers, transportation workers, care coordinators, law enforcement, complimentary/alternative medicine practitioners, behavioral health workers, environmental services workers, food service workers, and the like. In some implementations, the healthcare tasks can include non-clinical tasks, such as tasks involving transporting patients and/or supplies, EVS tasks, task involving equipment/technology repair and maintenance, administrative tasks (e.g., verifying insurance qualifications, obtaining authorization for procedures, etc.), and the like. Although various embodiments are described with the assumption that the one or more individuals include humans, in some implementations, the one or more individuals can include machines that are configured to perform certain healthcare tasks autonomously and/or at the control of a human (e.g., intelligent machines, robots, self-driving vehicles, etc.). The term healthcare worker is used herein to refer to any individual or machine associated with an operating entity that can perform a healthcare task.).
Regarding claims 4, 19, and 34, Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31 teaches that, for a respective healthcare professional comprising the set of healthcare professionals, the healthcare professional profile information includes at least one of information associated with the respective healthcare professional, credential or degree information associated with the respective healthcare professional, professional experience information associated with the respective healthcare professional, and availability information associated with the respective healthcare professional (Paragraph [0034] of Brown, The system can further extract and receive up-to-date information from the different operating entities regarding who or whom is available to perform the tasks, and who is the best person/persons to perform the tasks. Paragraph [0043] of Brown, In this regard, the term healthcare task as used herein can include essentially any defined (predefined or defined by the task assessment module 110) task involved in a course of patient care that is provided by and/or controlled by one or more individuals that are associated with the operating entity or entities involved in the course of patient care. The one or more individuals can include employees/staff, volunteers, independent contractors, patients, and/or patient aids (e.g., a friend or family member of the patient, a personal assistant/aid of the patient, etc.). For example, the healthcare tasks can include clinical tasks, clerical tasks, administrative tasks, environmental services tasks and the like, performed by and/or facilitated by clinicians, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, therapists, emergency services clinicians/technicians, community health workers, transportation workers, care coordinators, law enforcement, complimentary/alternative medicine practitioners, behavioral health workers, environmental services workers, food service workers, and the like. Paragraph [0048] of Brown. The task assessment module 110 can also determine and associate resource attributes with the healthcare tasks that identify or indicate requirements for resources to be used for the tasks, including requirements for healthcare workers authorized to perform the tasks (e.g., based on credentials, job description, performance levels, fatigue levels, etc.).).
Regarding claims 5, 20, and 35, Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31 teaches that, for a respective healthcare professional comprising the set of healthcare professionals, the healthcare professional profile information includes at least one of identities of healthcare professionals potentially available to treat the user if the respective healthcare professional is unavailable, and information associated with the healthcare professionals potentially available (Paragraph [0034] of Brown, The system can further extract and receive up-to-date information from the different operating entities regarding who or whom is available to perform the tasks, and who is the best person/persons to perform the tasks. Paragraph [0043] of Brown, In this regard, the term healthcare task as used herein can include essentially any defined (predefined or defined by the task assessment module 110) task involved in a course of patient care that is provided by and/or controlled by one or more individuals that are associated with the operating entity or entities involved in the course of patient care. The one or more individuals can include employees/staff, volunteers, independent contractors, patients, and/or patient aids (e.g., a friend or family member of the patient, a personal assistant/aid of the patient, etc.). For example, the healthcare tasks can include clinical tasks, clerical tasks, administrative tasks, environmental services tasks and the like, performed by and/or facilitated by clinicians, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, therapists, emergency services clinicians/technicians, community health workers, transportation workers, care coordinators, law enforcement, complimentary/alternative medicine practitioners, behavioral health workers, environmental services workers, food service workers, and the like.).
Regarding claims 6, 21, and 36, Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31 teaches that an associated one of the method and computer readable medium that, for a respective treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices, the treatment device information includes at least one of identification information associated with the respective treatment device; location information associated with the respective treatment device; and availability information associated with the respective treatment device (Paragraph [0054] of Brown, Although the embodiments, described above are directed to evaluating and determining availability of healthcare workers (e.g., humans), the resource assessment module 114 can also evaluate relevant dynamic operating data 104 to determine information regarding the availability of other system resources. For example, the other system resources can include supplies, instruments, equipment, machines, technology, and the like that are needed to perform and/or facilitate performance of the healthcare tasks. Thus, in some embodiments, the resources availability data 116 can also include information regarding availability of other resources, such as current availability status of the resources (e.g., whether they are in-use, clean, dirty, in repair, offline, overloaded, power levels, etc.), expected availability status of the resources (e.g., when they will be available for use), locations of the resources, and the like.).
Regarding independent claims 7, 22, and 37, Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31 teaches that the at least one resource deployment prediction defines a mapping between or among at least some of the healthcare professionals comprising the set of healthcare professionals, the users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, and at least some treatment devices comprising the set of treatment devices (Paragraph [0034] of Brown, The system can further extract and receive up-to-date information from the different operating entities regarding who or whom is available to perform the tasks, and who is the best person/persons to perform the tasks. Paragraph [0043] of Brown, In this regard, the term healthcare task as used herein can include essentially any defined (predefined or defined by the task assessment module 110) task involved in a course of patient care that is provided by and/or controlled by one or more individuals that are associated with the operating entity or entities involved in the course of patient care. The one or more individuals can include employees/staff, volunteers, independent contractors, patients, and/or patient aids (e.g., a friend or family member of the patient, a personal assistant/aid of the patient, etc.). For example, the healthcare tasks can include clinical tasks, clerical tasks, administrative tasks, environmental services tasks and the like, performed by and/or facilitated by clinicians, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, therapists, emergency services clinicians/technicians, community health workers, transportation workers, care coordinators, law enforcement, complimentary/alternative medicine practitioners, behavioral health workers, environmental services workers, food service workers, and the like.).
Regarding independent claims 15, 30, and 45, Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31 teaches that the method, computer readable medium, and system implementing the treatment device information includes at least information indicating an availability of the treatment device (Paragraph [0054] of Brown, Although the embodiments, described above are directed to evaluating and determining availability of healthcare workers (e.g., humans), the resource assessment module 114 can also evaluate relevant dynamic operating data 104 to determine information regarding the availability of other system resources. For example, the other system resources can include supplies, instruments, equipment, machines, technology, and the like that are needed to perform and/or facilitate performance of the healthcare tasks. Thus, in some embodiments, the resources availability data 116 can also include information regarding availability of other resources, such as current availability status of the resources (e.g., whether they are in-use, clean, dirty, in repair, offline, overloaded, power levels, etc.), expected availability status of the resources (e.g., when they will be available for use), locations of the resources, and the like.).
Claims 8 – 12, 23 – 27, and 38 – 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31, and further in view of Gnanasambandam.
Regarding claims 8, 23, and 38, Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31 does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Gnanasambandam teaches that the method, computer readable medium, and system implement the at least one resource deployment prediction is associated with an optimized outcome for the cohort of users associated with the respective treatment plans (Paragraph [0217] of Gnanasambandam, In some embodiments, the artificial intelligence engine 100 may generate the resource utilization plan to minimize costs to the healthcare facility. For example, the machine learning models may be trained to minimize a cost objective function that performs numerous iterations adjusting costs associated with resources to find a combination of resource utilization that provides a lowest cost relative to other combinations. The iterations may be performed in various simulations using various utilization types (e.g., admittance of a patient, emergency, specialist, specialist follow-up, primary care, and laboratory) and resource requirements for an integrated delivery network to determine a maximum resource utilization at a minimum cost. A simulation may include scheduling a first number of healthcare professionals at a first cost and ordering a first number of laboratory testing supplies at a first cost and determining a first resource utilization level and a first total cost; then, another simulation may include scheduling a second number of healthcare professionals at a second cost and ordering a second number of laboratory testing supplies at a second cost and determining a second resource utilization level and second total cost. The artificial intelligence engine 100 may compare the first resource utilization level and total cost to the second resource utilization level and total cost to determine which resource utilization plan and/or total cost are more desirable.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical data mining and healthcare resource management at the time of the filing to modify the method, computer readable medium, and system of Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 such that the at least one resource deployment prediction is associated with an optimized outcome for the cohort of users associated with the respective treatment plans, as taught by Gnanasambandam (Paragraph [0217]) in order to improve the health outcomes of a group by improving clinical outcomes while lowering costs (Paragraph [0002] of Gnanasambandam).
Regarding claims 9, 24, and 39, Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31 does not appear to disclose, but Gnanasambandam teaches that the method, computer readable medium, and system include instructions further causing the processor to identify super-cohorts of users comprising the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, wherein, further, based on the identified super-cohorts of users, the at least one machine learning model generates the at least one resource deployment prediction (Paragraph [0202] of Gnanasambandam, As depicted in FIG. 17 , the data has been assigned to different cohorts. Cohort A includes data for patients having similar first attributes, first disease progression levels, first treatment plans, first results, first utilization types, first resources, and first costs. Cohort B includes data for patients having similar second attributes, second disease progression levels, second treatment plans, second results, second utilization types, second resources, and second costs. For example, cohort A may include first attributes of patients in their twenties without any additional medical conditions, and such cohort A patients' disease progression levels may indicate a low risk of reaching the next stage of a disease continuum. Based on the disease progression level of the patients, cohort A may include first resources for these users that staff a low amount of healthcare professionals over a certain period of time because it is unlikely they will be needed at a healthcare facility for these patients. In such a way, resources may not be wasted by over staffing a healthcare facility and the resources not staffed may be staffed somewhere else. Paragraph [0203] of Gnanasambandam, Further, cohort B may include second attributes of patients in their sixties with one or more additional medical conditions, and cohort B patients' disease progression levels may indicate a high risk of reaching the next stage of the disease continuum. Based on the disease progression level of the patients, cohort B may include second resources for these users that staff a high amount of healthcare professionals over a certain period of time because it is likely they will be needed at a healthcare facility for these patients. In such a way, resources may be staffed where needed as appropriate.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical data mining and healthcare resource management at the time of the filing to modify the method, computer readable medium, and system of Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 such that the instructions further cause the processor to identify super-cohorts of users comprising the cohort of users associated with respective treatment plans comprising the set of treatment plans, wherein, further, based on the identified super-cohorts of users, the at least one machine learning model generates the at least one resource deployment prediction, as taught by Gnanasambandam (Paragraphs [0202] and [0203]) in order to improve the health outcomes of a group by improving clinical outcomes while lowering costs (Paragraph [0002] of Gnanasambandam).
Regarding claims 10, 25, and 40, Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31 does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Gnanasambandam teaches that the method, computer readable medium, and system include instructions further causing the processor to receive, subsequent to the at least one machine learning model generating the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one of a subsequent treatment plan, subsequent healthcare professional profile information, and subsequent treatment device information (Paragraph [0216] of Gnanasambandam, In some embodiments, the actionable item may include ordering one or more laboratory diagnostic test supplies treatment plan may indicate the patient should start taking one or more new medications, adjust dosage levels of one or more medications, stop taking one or more medications, or a combination thereof. Alternatively, or in addition, actionable items may include one or more lab tests to perform on the patient. For example, the treatment plan may indicate the patient should start having one or more new lab tests. Paragraph [0217] of Gnanasambandam, In some embodiments, the artificial intelligence engine 100 may generate the resource utilization plan to minimize costs to the healthcare facility. For example, the machine learning models may be trained to minimize a cost objective function that performs numerous iterations adjusting costs associated with resources to find a combination of resource utilization that provides a lowest cost relative to other combinations. The iterations may be performed in various simulations using various utilization types (e.g., admittance of a patient, emergency, specialist, specialist follow-up, primary care, and laboratory) and resource requirements for an integrated delivery network to determine a maximum resource utilization at a minimum cost. A simulation may include scheduling a first number of healthcare professionals at a first cost and ordering a first number of laboratory testing supplies at a first cost and determining a first resource utilization level and a first total cost; then, another simulation may include scheduling a second number of healthcare professionals at a second cost and ordering a second number of laboratory testing supplies at a second cost and determining a second resource utilization level and second total cost. The artificial intelligence engine 100 may compare the first resource utilization level and total cost to the second resource utilization level and total cost to determine which resource utilization plan and/or total cost are more desirable.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical data mining and healthcare resource management at the time of the filing to modify the method, computer readable medium, and system of Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 such that the instructions further cause the processor to receive, subsequent to the at least one machine learning model generating the at least one resource deployment prediction, at least one of a subsequent treatment plan, subsequent healthcare professional profile information, and subsequent treatment device information, as taught by Gnanasambandam (Paragraphs [0216] and [0217]) in order to improve the health outcomes of a group by improving clinical outcomes while lowering costs (Paragraph [0002] of Gnanasambandam).
Regarding claims 11, 26, and 41, Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 10, 25, and 40 does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Gnanasambandam teaches that the method, computer readable medium, and system include:
a. the subsequent treatment plan that corresponds to one of at least one treatment plan comprising the set of treatment plans or to a treatment plan not in the set of treatment plans (Paragraph [0041] of Gnanasambandam, Medical data may be stored in the data store 108 in the form of electronic health records (EHRs) that are associated with one or more patients. In some implementations, EHRs from different, disparate medical providers of a patient are stored in the data store 108. The health information exchanged between computing devices in the system 100 (e.g., between client computing device 104 and another computing device) may include health records associated with a patient such as medical and treatment histories of the patient but can go beyond standard clinical data collected by a healthcare provider. For example, health records may include a patient's medical history, diagnoses, medications, treatment plans, immunization dates, allergies, radiology images, and laboratory and test results.);
b. the subsequent healthcare professional profile information that corresponds to one of at least one healthcare professional comprising at least the set of healthcare professionals and at least a healthcare professional not in the set of healthcare professionals; and (Paragraph [0034] of Gnanasambandam, “Results” may refer to medical results or medical outcomes. Results and outcomes may refer to responses to medical actions. A “medical action(s)” may refer to any suitable action(s) performed by a healthcare professional, and such action or actions may include diagnoses, prescriptions for treatment plans.); and
c. the subsequent treatment device information that corresponds to one of at least one treatment device comprising the set of treatment devices and at least one treatment device not in the set of treatment devices (Paragraph [0038] of Gnanasambandam, The server 102 is configured to store and to provide data related to managing treatment plans. The server 102 may include one or more computers and may take the form of a distributed and/or virtualized computer or computers. The server 102 may be configured to store data regarding treatment plans. For example, the server 102 may be configured to hold system data, such as data pertaining to treatment plans for treating one or more patients. The server 102 may also be configured to store data regarding performance by a patient in following a treatment plan. For example, the server 102 may be configured to hold medical data, such as data pertaining to one or more patients, including data representing each patient's performance within the treatment plan. In addition, the server 102 may store attributes (e.g., personal, performance, measurement, etc.) of patients, disease progression levels of medical conditions of patients, treatment plans followed by patients, results of the treatment plans, utilization types (e.g., admittance to healthcare facility, emergency, specialty healthcare professional, specialty follow-up, lab work, etc.) resources of healthcare facilities (e.g., available healthcare professionals, available rooms, available medical imaging devices, available laboratory testing supplies, etc.).).
Regarding claims 12, 27, and 42, Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 10, 25, and 40 does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Gnanasambandam teaches that that the method, computer readable medium, and system include instructions further causing the processor to generate, using the at least one machine learning model via the artificial intelligence engine , at least one subsequent resource deployment prediction, wherein the at least one machine learning model generates the at least one subsequent resource deployment prediction based, at least in part, on the subsequent treatment plan, the subsequent healthcare professional profile information, and the subsequent treatment device information (Paragraph [0216] of Gnanasambandam, In some embodiments, the actionable item may include ordering one or more laboratory diagnostic test supplies treatment plan may indicate the patient should start taking one or more new medications, adjust dosage levels of one or more medications, stop taking one or more medications, or a combination thereof. Alternatively, or in addition, actionable items may include one or more lab tests to perform on the patient. For example, the treatment plan may indicate the patient should start having one or more new lab tests. Paragraph [0217] of Gnanasambandam, In some embodiments, the artificial intelligence engine 100 may generate the resource utilization plan to minimize costs to the healthcare facility. For example, the machine learning models may be trained to minimize a cost objective function that performs numerous iterations adjusting costs associated with resources to find a combination of resource utilization that provides a lowest cost relative to other combinations. The iterations may be performed in various simulations using various utilization types (e.g., admittance of a patient, emergency, specialist, specialist follow-up, primary care, and laboratory) and resource requirements for an integrated delivery network to determine a maximum resource utilization at a minimum cost. A simulation may include scheduling a first number of healthcare professionals at a first cost and ordering a first number of laboratory testing supplies at a first cost and determining a first resource utilization level and a first total cost; then, another simulation may include scheduling a second number of healthcare professionals at a second cost and ordering a second number of laboratory testing supplies at a second cost and determining a second resource utilization level and second total cost. The artificial intelligence engine 100 may compare the first resource utilization level and total cost to the second resource utilization level and total cost to determine which resource utilization plan and/or total cost are more desirable.).
Claims 13, 14, 28, 29, 43, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31, and further in view of Einav.
Regarding claims 13, 28, and 43, Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31 does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Einav teaches that the method, computer readable medium, and system with at least one treatment device of the set of treatment devices includes at least one other pedal (Paragraph [0120] of Einav, Mr. Smith's therapy plan may include some exercises designed to develop coordinated movement of upper and lower body parts. Optionally, this may be accomplished by use of multiple modules 350 as detailed hereinabove. Alternately, or additionally, an exercise device 600 in accordance with an exemplary embodiment of the invention (FIG. 6) may be employed, for example a full body treatment device located in daily activity room 280 or private room 235. According to this embodiment of the invention, optional lower limb training section includes a base 602 having a pedal 604 mounted thereon. Optionally, pedal 604 is capable of rotary motion relative to a horizontal axis (e.g., as in a bicycle) alternatively or additionally to rotation around its axis.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical data mining and healthcare resource management at the time of the filing to modify the method, computer readable medium, and system of Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 such that at least one treatment device of the set of treatment devices includes at least one pedal, as taught by Einav (Paragraph [0120]) in order to organize rehabilitation to reduce wastage of time of the patient, reduce waiting time, and make efficient use of the patient's time and/or rest periods (Paragraph [0006] of Einav).
Regarding claims 14, 29, and 44, Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 and applied to claims 1, 16, and 31 does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Einav teaches that the method, computer readable medium, and system with at least one treatment device of the set of treatment devices includes at least one hand grip or hand pedal (Paragraph [0120] of Einav, Mr. Smith's therapy plan may include some exercises designed to develop coordinated movement of upper and lower body parts. Optionally, this may be accomplished by use of multiple modules 350 as detailed hereinabove. Alternately, or additionally, an exercise device 600 in accordance with an exemplary embodiment of the invention (FIG. 6) may be employed, for example a full body treatment device located in daily activity room 280 or private room 235. According to this embodiment of the invention, optional lower limb training section includes a base 602 having a pedal 604 mounted thereon. Optionally, pedal 604 is capable of rotary motion relative to a horizontal axis (e.g., as in a bicycle) alternatively or additionally to rotation around its axis. As shown, two base sections 602 and 602' (with a pedal 604') are shown. A chair, for example, Mr., Smith's robotic chair 150 is optionally placed between the base sections. An optional upper limb section comprises at least one arcuate element 606 on which at least one limb unit 612 is attached. Arcuate element 606 is optionally hinged so that it can rotate around an axis 624. A first hinge 608 attaches arcuate element 606 to base 602. A second hinge 610 may be used to couple arcuate element 606 to its mirror element 606'. Limb unit 612 optionally includes a base section 614 capable of manual, motorized and/or resistance to motion along arcuate element 606. A handle 616 optionally telescopes from base section 614 and includes an optional grip 618 at its end.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of medical data mining and healthcare resource management at the time of the filing to modify the method, computer readable medium, and system of Brown as modified by Nolan and Mason ‘886 such that the treatment device information includes at least information indicating an availability of the treatment device, as taught by Einav (Paragraph [0120]) in order to organize rehabilitation to reduce wastage of time of the patient, reduce waiting time, and make efficient use of the patient's time and/or rest periods (Paragraph [0006] of Einav).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments (Second Paragraph on Page 17 to Last Paragraph on Page 18 of the Amendment filed July 6, 2026) and amendments regarding the provisional double patenting rejection of claims 1, 3 – 16, 18 – 31, and 33 – 45 have been fully considered and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendment.
Applicant (Third Paragraph on Page 17 of the Amendment) stated that a response to this rejection will be deferred until claims in the reference application are allowed, claims in the present application are allowable, and it is determined whether this provisional rejection becomes an actual rejection. MPEP 804(I)(B)(1) states “A complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims, or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action (see MPEP § 1490 for a discussion of terminal disclaimers). Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional. As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only compliance with objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated.”
Applicant's arguments (First Paragraph on Page 19 to Third Paragraph on Page 21 of the Amendment filed July 6, 2026) regarding the rejection of claims 1, 3 – 16, 18 – 31, and 33 – 45 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been fully considered and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendment.
Applicant's arguments (Fifth Paragraph on Page 19 to Last Paragraph on Page 25 of the Amendment filed July 6, 2026) regarding the rejections of claims 1, 3 – 16, 18 – 31, and 33 – 45 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.C.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3686
/DEVIN C HEIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3686