DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 9/3/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1 and 8 have been amended. Claims 13-21 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2020/0203215 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2013/0277759 A1) and Steimle (US 2005/0287729 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches a semiconductor device (device in Figs. 1 to 12A-12C), comprising:
two or more fins (ACT1), the fins separated by one or more inter-fin trenches (trenches TR1) having an inter-fin trench depth (depth of trenches TR1);
a gate dielectric (GI of the gate line structure LST1 in Fig. 2B) over each of the two or more fins;
a gate (wordline WL in Fig. 2B) covering the gate dielectric of the two or more fins;
an isolation structure (ST3 in Fig. 2B) adjacent to the two or more fins, the isolation structure having a depth greater than the inter-fin trench depth (as shown in Fig. 2B of Jang), the isolation structure filled with a dielectric (BI in Fig. 6A which becomes buried dielectric layer BI in Fig. 2B) that also extends into the one or more inter-fin trenches to a common level in both the isolation structure and the inter-fin trenches (see Fig. 6A);
wherein the two or more fins are included in a memory array (array of memory cells DS in MCR in Fig. 1 of Jang), and wherein the isolation structure separates the memory array from peripheral circuits (the peripheral circuit CPR)
But Jang does not teach the dielectric is a single dielectric and the peripheral circuits operate at a higher voltage than the memory array.
Chen teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 24A of Chen) comprising a plurality of small fins (64 in Fig. 23-24A) separated by inter-fin trenches (66 as shown in Fig. 13) and a large fin (unlabeled fin on the right of Fig. 23); the large fin is separated from the plurality of small fins by an isolation structure (portion of isolation 76 between the large fin and the group of small fins in Fig. 24A) having a depth greater than the inter-fin trench depth (as shown in Fig. 24A), the isolation structure is filled with a single dielectric that also extends into the one or more inter-fin trenches (as described in [0026]-[0027] of Chen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the isolation structure of Jang as disclosed by Chen, i.e. using a single dielectric layer, in order to simplify manufacturing processes.
But Jang in view of Chen does not teach that the peripheral circuits operate at a higher voltage than the memory array.
Steimle teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 14 of Steimle) that comprises: a memory region (28) and a high-voltage region (26) at the peripheral region of the memory region (see [0009] of Steimle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the peripheral circuits operate at a higher voltage than the memory array in order to avoid interfering with the charges stored in the memory array.
Regarding claim 4, Jang-Chen-Steimle teaches all limitations of the semiconductor device of claim 1, and also teaches wherein the two or more fins include a fin lithographic dimension (distance between two adjacent fins), and a fin pitch is one lithographic dimension (as defined above).
Regarding claim 5, Jang-Chen-Steimle teaches all limitations of the semiconductor device of claim 1, and also teaches wherein the two or more fins include a fin lithographic dimension (this is defined to be half fin pitch), and a fin pitch is two lithographic dimensions (as defined above).
Regarding claim 6, Jang-Chen-Steimle teaches all limitations of the semiconductor device of claim 5, and also teaches wherein the isolation structure is a first isolation structure on a first side (right side) of the two or more fins (fins ACT1 adjacent to ST3) and further including a second isolation structure ( as implies in Fig. 1 of Jang, the isolation structure ST3 surrounds the memory cell array MCR. So there is another ST3 on the other side of the MCR) on a second side (left side) of the two or more fins.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Chen and Steimle, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2023/0215915 A1) (hereinafter referred to as Chen2023).
Regarding claim 2, Jang-Chen-Steimle teaches all limitations of the semiconductor device of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the semiconductor device includes a DRAM memory array.
Chen2023 teaches a memory device (100 in Fig. 1A of Chen2023) comprising: a memory cell array (102) and a peripheral circuit (104); the memory cell array includes DRAM memory array (see [0034] of Chen2023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used DRAM memory in the memory cell array of Jang due to its simple design and low cost compared to other types of memory.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Chen and Steimle, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Phoa et al. (US 2017/0025533 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Jang-Chen-Steimle teaches all limitations of the semiconductor device of claim 1, but does not teach wherein an operating voltage of at least some components of the semiconductor device is 3.5 volts or greater.
Phoa teaches a memory device with high voltage transistor are utilized for I/O or other circuitry within the IC (see Abstract); the high-voltage transistor has threshold voltage greater than 3V (see [0020] of Phoa).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used high voltage transistor with threshold voltage greater than 3V in memory device of Jang-Steimle since these are known operating range of high-voltage device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Chen and Steimle, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Yoo et al. (US 2016/0155741 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Jang-Chen-Steimle teaches all limitations of the semiconductor device of claim 6, but does not teach wherein the first and second isolation structures are two lithographic dimensions wide.
Yoo teaches a fin-removing region (FRR) has width of one fin pitch.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the isolation structure with width of a fin pitch in order to optimize the device density.
As incorporated, the isolation structure (measured from one sidewall of a fin of one fin region to another sidewall of a fin of another fin region) would have width of a fin pitch. This is two lithographic dimension (as defined in claim 5 above).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steimle in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 8, Steimle teaches a semiconductor device (memory device in Fig. 14 of Steimle), comprising:
a planar device (56) formed on a semiconductor substrate (12);
a device (58-60) formed on the semiconductor substrate adjacent the planar device, the device including:
one or more channels (channels of transistors 58-60);
a gate dielectric (38) over each of the one or more fin channels;
a gate (50-52, as labeled in Fig. 13) covering the gate dielectric of the one or more fin channels; and
wherein the device is included in a memory array (as described in [0009] of Steimle), and wherein the planar device is included in peripheral circuitry that operate at a higher voltage than the memory array (as described in [0008] of Steimle).
But Steimle does not teach that the device is a FinFET device, and that the one or more channels are fin channels, the fin channels separated by one or more inter-fin trenches having an inter-fin trench depth; and the semiconductor device comprising: an isolation structure separating the planar device from the FinFET device, the isolation structure having a depth greater than the inter-fin trench depth, the isolation structure filled with a single dielectric that also extends into the one or more inter-fin trenches to a common level in both the isolation structure and the inter-fin trenches;
Chen teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 24A of Chen) comprising a plurality of small fins (64 in Fig. 23-24A) separated by inter-fin trenches (66 as shown in Fig. 13) and a large fin (unlabeled fin on the right of Fig. 23); the large fin is separated from the plurality of small fins by an isolation structure (portion of isolation 76 between the large fin and the group of small fins in Fig. 24A of Chen) having a depth greater than the inter-fin trench depth (as shown in Fig. 24A of Chen), the isolation structure is filled with a single dielectric that also extends into the one or more inter-fin trenches (as described in [0026]-[0027] of Chen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the isolation structure of Chen in between the planar device and FinFET device of Steimle in order to provide better isolation between different groups of transistors from interfering with one another.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the device of Steimle as finFET device with one or more fin channels, and to have formed the isolation structure separating the high voltage region from memory region of Steimle, as according to Jang. FinFETs would allow more transistors to be formed on a unit area. The isolation structure would help isolating different groups of transistors from interfering with one another.
Regarding claim 9, Steimle in view of Chen teaches all limitations of the semiconductor device of claim 8, and also teaches wherein the planar device includes a planar transistor (as shown in Fig. 14 of Steimle).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Steimle, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Phoa.
Regarding claim 10, Steimle in view of Chen teaches all limitations of the semiconductor device of claim 8, but does not teach wherein an operating voltage of the semiconductor device is 3.5 volts or greater.
Phoa teaches a memory device with high voltage transistor are utilized for I/O or other circuitry within the IC (see Abstract); the high-voltage transistor has threshold voltage greater than 3V (see [0020] of Phoa).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used high voltage transistor with threshold voltage greater than 3V in memory device of Jang-Steimle since these are known operating range of high-voltage device.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steimle in view of Chen, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Chen2023.
Regarding claim 11, Steimle in view of Chen teaches all limitations of the semiconductor device of claim 8, but does not teach wherein the semiconductor device includes a DRAM memory array.
Chen2023 teaches a memory device (100 in Fig. 1A of Chen2023) comprising: a memory cell array (102) and a peripheral circuit (104); the memory cell array includes DRAM memory array (see [0034] of Chen2023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used DRAM memory in the memory cell array of Steimle due to its simple design and low cost compared to other types of memory.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steimle in view of Chen and Chen2023, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Jang.
Regarding claim 12, Steimle-Chen-Chen2023 teaches all limitations of the semiconductor device of claim 11, but does not teach wherein the planar device is included in a wordline driver of the DRAM memory array.
Jang teaches that the word line driver transistors are placed in the peripheral circuit (see [0017] of Jang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the planar device the wordline driver of the DRAM array, as disclosed by Jang, in order to simplify the layout of the memory cell region and to minimize electrical coupling with the memory cell region which could deteriorate the charge storage capability of the cells.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Tuan A Hoang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898