DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 11-13, 17-19, and 21 are amended. Claim 34 is cancelled Claims 1-33 are pending in the application.
Examiner’s Notes
The Examiner cites particular sections in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant(s) fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Response to Amendment
Amendments to claims 11-13 and 17-19 are fully considered and are satisfactory to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) directed to claims 11-20 in the previous Office Action.
Amendments to claims 1, 11, and 21 are fully considered and are satisfactory to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §101 directed to claims 1-26 in the previous Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 27-33 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13: “wherein instructions” (line 1) should have been –wherein the instructions—.
Claim 27 is listed as “Currently Amended”. However, no amendments were presented for this claim. As such, the status of claim 27 should have been –Previously Presented—.
Claims 28-33 inherit the features of claim 27 and are objected to accordingly.
Appropriate corrections are required. Applicant is advised to review the entire claims for further needed corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “circuitry to: identify…; and concurrently cause” in lines 1-4. It is not clear if these limitations are referring to intended use of the circuitry (i.e. the circuitry can perform the identify and cause functions) or to actual functionality actually implemented by the circuitry (i.e. circuitry actually performing the identify and cause functions).
For the following analysis, the Examiner will consider the limitation “circuitry to: identify…; and concurrently cause” as referring to the circuitry actually performing the recited functions.
Claims 2-10 inherit the features of claim 1 and are rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 27-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to claim 27: Claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more because:
Step 2A, Prong 1: The limitation “identifying whether one or more first software modules and one or more second software modules can be concurrently launched to be performed” as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper, such as determining whether two or more software modules can be launched concurrently. Thus, this limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP §2106.04(a)(2).
Step 2A, Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional element “concurrently causing, based on whether the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules can be concurrently launched to be performed, one or more operations to be performed to launch the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules, the one or more operations to be performed by one or more processors” are nothing more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element “concurrently causing, based on whether the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules can be concurrently launched to be performed, one or more operations to be performed to launch the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules, the one or more operations to be performed by one or more processors” amount to no more than mere instructions, or generic computer/computer components to carry out the exception which do not amount to significantly more, thus, cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
With respect to claims 28-33: Claims 28-33 also do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea because:
Claims 28-33 are directed to additional elements that are no more than mere instructions or generic computer/computer components to carry out the exception which do not amount to significantly more; and
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12, 16, 18, 20-23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al. (WO 2016/145632 A1; from IDS filed on 10/07/2022; hereinafter Tian) in view of Asthana (US 11,055,812 B1).
With respect to claim 1, Tian teaches: One or more processors (see e.g. Tian, Fig. 2: “Processor 200”), comprising circuitry (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 39: “processor 200 can be implemented on one or more chips or as an SoC integrated circuit”; and Fig. 6, 12) to:
concurrently cause, based on whether the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules can be concurrently launched to be performed (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 60: “executing multiple simultaneous threads”; paragraph 65: “thread dispatcher 604 that arbitrates thread initiation requests from the graphics and media pipelines and instantiates the requested threads on one or more execution units 608A-608N”; and paragraph 70: “in response to an add instruction the execution unit performs a simultaneous add operation across each color channel representing a texture element or picture element”), one or more operations to be performed to launch the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 60: “each execution unit (e.g. 608A) is an individual vector processor capable of executing multiple simultaneous threads and processing multiple data elements in parallel for each thread”; paragraph 65: “instantiates the requested threads on one or more execution units 608A-608N”; and paragraph 70: “in response to an add instruction the execution unit performs a simultaneous add operation across each color channel representing a texture element or picture element”), the one or more operations to be performed by the one or more processors (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 60: “each execution unit (e.g. 608A) is an individual vector processor capable of executing multiple simultaneous threads and processing multiple data elements in parallel for each thread”; paragraphs 36, 43, 59; and Fig. 2, 3, 6) or another processor (see e.g. Tian, Fig. 2: “Graphics Processor 208”; paragraph 59: “thread execution logic 600 including an array of processing elements employed in some embodiments of a GPE”; and Fig. 3: “Graphics Processor 300”, “GPE 310”).
Tian does not but Asthana teaches:
identify whether one or more first software modules and one or more second software modules can be concurrently launched to be performed (see e.g. Asthana, column 16, lines 27-31: “firmware 520 may attempt to opportunistically launch the work in geometry stage 2 (6042). In such embodiments, the geometry stage 2 (6042) may be launched at the same time (or even prior to) geometry stage 0 (6040)”) based on one or more launch dependencies between an operation corresponding to the one or more first software modules and an operation corresponding to the one or more second software modules (see e.g. Asthana, column 15, lines 4-6: “a block diagram 600 illustrating the dependencies between the geometry stages 604X and fragment stages 606X of exemplary render commands 602X”; column 16, lines 6-11: “the fact that fragment stage 2 (6062) reads from the same hypothetical memory resource 2 that both the geometry stage 0 (6040) of render command 0 (6020) and the fragment stage 1 (606.sub.1) of render command 1 (6021) are writing to may create an artificial dependency barrier between geometry stage 0 (6040) and geometry stage 2 (6042)” ; column 16, lines 42-48: “opportunistic launch scheme may cause the geometry operations 531 to proceed many commands ahead of the fragment operations 532, but, because of the launch conditions imposed by the scheme, this does not pose any dependency problems or read/write hazards—and (assuming that there are no out of memory conditions) actually serves to increase the parallelism of the GPU 530”; and Fig. 6); and
Tian and Asthana are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing parallel execution of software modules. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian with the teachings of Asthana. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve the parallel processing efficiency (see e.g. Asthana, column 16, lines 22-49).
With respect to claim 2, Tian as modified teaches: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is to perform one or more software drivers (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”), wherein the one or more software drivers are to concurrently cause the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules to be performed by the one or more processors or one or more other processors (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”; paragraph 108: “graphics driver 1029 communicates with graphics processor 1032 to dispatch commands and instructions”; and paragraph 60: “each execution unit (e.g. 608A) is an individual vector processor capable of executing multiple simultaneous threads and processing multiple data elements in parallel for each thread”).
With respect to claim 3, Tian as modified teaches: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is to concurrently cause the one or more operations to launch (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 27: “process instructions which, when executed, perform operations for system and user software”) the one or more first software modules to be performed concurrently with the one or more operations to launch the one or more second software modules (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 27: “one or more processors 102 each include one or more processor cores 107 to process instructions which, when executed, perform operations for system and user software. In some embodiments, each of the one or more processor cores 107 is configured to process a specific instruction set 109”; and paragraph 60: “each execution unit (e.g. 608A) is an individual vector processor capable of executing multiple simultaneous threads and processing multiple data elements in parallel for each thread”).
With respect to claim 6, Tian as modified teaches: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein an application programming interface (API) (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “API calls”; and paragraph 115: “3D APIs like OpenGL/DirectX”) is to cause one or more software drivers (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls”) to concurrently perform operations to prepare the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules to be launched concurrently (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 61: “execution units in array 608A-608N execute an instruction set that includes native support for many standard 3D graphics shader instructions, such that shader programs from graphics libraries (e.g., Direct 3D and OpenGL) are executed”; paragraph 60: “each execution unit (e.g. 608A) is an individual vector processor capable of executing multiple simultaneous threads and processing multiple data elements in parallel for each thread”; and paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”).
With respect to claim 7, Tian as modified teaches: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein to concurrently cause the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules to be performed by one or more processors includes performing operations concurrently to prepare the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules to be performed by one or more graphics processing cores (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 58: “graphics processor 500 includes scalable thread execution resources featuring modular cores 580A-580N (sometimes referred to as core slices) , each having multiple sub-cores 550A-550N, 560A-560N (sometimes referred to as core sub-slices) (e.g., 550A)… Each sub-core in the set of first sub-cores 550A-550N includes at least a first set of execution units 552A-552N… Each sub-core in the set of second sub-cores 560A-560N includes at least a second set of execution units 562A-562N”; paragraph 60: “each execution unit (e.g. 608A) is an individual vector processor capable of executing multiple simultaneous threads and processing multiple data elements in parallel for each thread”; and Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 8, Tian as modified teaches: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein to concurrently cause the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules to be performed includes performing operations concurrently to verify the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules are setup to be performed by one or more graphics processing units (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 111: “generate a software simulation 1110 of an IP core design in a high level programming language (e.g., C/C++) . The software simulation 1110 can be used to design, test, and verify the behavior of the IP core”; paragraph 112: “The HDL may be further simulated or tested to verify the IP core design”; paragraph 110: ““IP cores, ” are reusable units of logic for an integrated circuit”; and paragraph 60).
With respect to claim 10, Tian as modified teaches: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is to perform one or more software drivers (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”), wherein the one or more software drivers are to perform operations to encode work submissions from one or more central processing cores to be performed by one or more graphics processing cores (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”; paragraph 108: “user mode graphics driver 1026 uses operating system kernel mode functions 1028 to communicate with a kernel mode graphics driver 1029. In some embodiments, kernel mode graphics driver 1029 communicates with graphics processor 1032 to dispatch commands and instructions”; and Fig. 10).
With respect to claims 11-12, 16, and 18: Claims 11-12, 16, and 18 are directed to a system implementing active functions corresponding to the active functions implemented by the one or more processors recited in claims 1-2, 8, and 10, respectively; please see the rejections directed to claims 1-2, 8, and 10 above which also cover the limitations recited in claims 11-12, 16, and 18. Note that, Tian also discloses a system 100 with processor(s) 102 and memory 120 storing instructions 121 and data 122 to implement functions (see e.g. Tian, Fig. 1) corresponding to the functions implemented by the one or more processors disclosed in claims 1-2, 8, and 10.
With respect to claim 20, Tian as modified teaches: The system of claim 11, wherein to concurrently cause the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules to be performed includes performing operations to encode work submissions from different central processing cores to be performed by one or more graphics processing cores (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”; paragraph 105: “processor 1030 includes a graphics processor 1032 and one or more general-purpose processor core (s) 1034. The graphics application 1010 and operating system 1020 each execute in the system memory 1050 of the data processing system”; paragraph 108: “user mode graphics driver 1026 uses operating system kernel mode functions 1028 to communicate with a kernel mode graphics driver 1029. In some embodiments, kernel mode graphics driver 1029 communicates with graphics processor 1032 to dispatch commands and instructions”; and Fig. 10).
With respect to claims 21-23 and 26: Claims 21-23 and 26 are directed to a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon one or more instructions, which if performed by one or more processors, cause one or more processors to perform operations corresponding to the operations performed by the one or more processors recited in claims 1-3 and 6, respectively; please see the rejections directed to claims 1-3 and 6 above which also cover the limitations recited in claims 21-23 and 26. Note that, Tian also discloses a machine-readable medium including instructions to be executed by a processor in order to perform operations (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 110) corresponding to the operations performed by the one or more processors recited in claims 1-3 and 6.
Claims 27, 31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian in view of Greathouse (US 2019/0325005 A1).
With respect to claim 27, Tian teaches: A method comprising:
concurrently causing, based on whether the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules can be concurrently launched to be performed (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 60: “executing multiple simultaneous threads”; paragraph 65: “thread dispatcher 604 that arbitrates thread initiation requests from the graphics and media pipelines and instantiates the requested threads on one or more execution units 608A-608N”; and paragraph 70: “in response to an add instruction the execution unit performs a simultaneous add operation across each color channel representing a texture element or picture element”), one or more operations to be performed to launch the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 60: “each execution unit (e.g. 608A) is an individual vector processor capable of executing multiple simultaneous threads and processing multiple data elements in parallel for each thread”; paragraph 65: “instantiates the requested threads on one or more execution units 608A-608N”; and paragraph 70: “in response to an add instruction the execution unit performs a simultaneous add operation across each color channel representing a texture element or picture element”), the one or more operations to be performed by one or more processors (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 60: “each execution unit (e.g. 608A) is an individual vector processor capable of executing multiple simultaneous threads and processing multiple data elements in parallel for each thread”; paragraphs 36, 43, 59; and Fig. 2, 3, 6).
Tian does not but Greathouse teaches:
identifying whether one or more first software modules and one or more second software modules can be concurrently launched to be performed (see e.g. Greathouse, paragraph 17: “analyzing the input matrix to determine which rows and factors can be solved in parallel, then launching a new kernel for each level that includes a thread for solving each of the rows in the level in parallel”); and
Tian and Greathouse are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing parallel execution of software modules. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian with the teachings of Greathouse. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve the parallel processing efficiency.
With respect to claim 31, Tian as modified teaches: The method of claim 27, the method further comprising:
receiving, at one or more software drivers (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls”), instructions from an application programming interface (API) (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “API calls”; and paragraph 115: “3D APIs like OpenGL/DirectX”) to prepare one or more first graphics kernels and one or more second graphics kernels to be performed concurrently (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 61: “execution units in array 608A-608N execute an instruction set that includes native support for many standard 3D graphics shader instructions, such that shader programs from graphics libraries (e.g., Direct 3D and OpenGL) are executed”; paragraph 60: “each execution unit (e.g. 608A) is an individual vector processor capable of executing multiple simultaneous threads and processing multiple data elements in parallel for each thread”; and paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”).
With respect to claim 33, Tian as modified teaches: The method of claim 27, the method further comprising:
performing, with one or more software drivers (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”), one or more operations to encode work submissions from one or more central processing cores to be performed by one or more graphics processing cores (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”; paragraph 108: “user mode graphics driver 1026 uses operating system kernel mode functions 1028 to communicate with a kernel mode graphics driver 1029. In some embodiments, kernel mode graphics driver 1029 communicates with graphics processor 1032 to dispatch commands and instructions”; and Fig. 10).
Claims 4, 5, 9, 13-15, 17, 19, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian in view of Asthana as applied to claims 1, 11, and 21 above, and further in view of Gummaraju et al. (US 2013/0160016 A1; from IDS filed on 10/07/2022; hereinafter Gummaraju).
With respect to claim 4, Tian as modified teaches: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules… that are to be performed by a single graphics processing unit (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 42: “graphics processor 300 includes… graphics processing engine (GPE) 310”; paragraph 59: “thread execution logic 600 including an array of processing elements employed in some embodiments of a GPE”; and Fig. 3, 6).
Tian does not but Gummaraju teaches:
include one or more first graphics kernels and one or more second graphics kernels respectively (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 20: “allocating compute kernels to different types of processors”; and paragraph 22: “Kernels are sometimes also referred to by other terms such as shaders, shader programs, or programs. According to an embodiment, a compute kernel may have the same code base to be executed on different processor types, such as GPUs”)
Tian and Gummaraju are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing software module executions within graphics processing units. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian with the teachings of Gummaraju. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve software module execution by refining resource allocations (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 23).
With respect to claim 5, Tian as modified teaches: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules… that are to be performed by a plurality of graphics processing units (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 42: “graphics processor 300 includes… graphics processing engine (GPE) 310”; paragraph 59: “thread execution logic 600 including an array of processing elements employed in some embodiments of a GPE”; paragraph 121: “executed by multiple GPUs simultaneously”; and Fig. 3, 6).
Tian does not but Gummaraju teaches:
include one or more first graphics kernels and one or more second graphics kernels respectively (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 20: “allocating compute kernels to different types of processors”; and paragraph 22: “Kernels are sometimes also referred to by other terms such as shaders, shader programs, or programs. According to an embodiment, a compute kernel may have the same code base to be executed on different processor types, such as GPUs”)
Tian and Gummaraju are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing software module executions within graphics processing units. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian with the teachings of Gummaraju. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve software module execution by refining resource allocations (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 23).
With respect to claim 9, Tian as modified teaches: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is to perform one or more software drivers (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”), wherein the one or more software drivers are to include a data tracking structure (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 117: “I/O registers, GPU page tables, etc.”) to synchronize one or more operations that are to be performed in parallel and performed in sequence (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 93: “graphics processor command sequence 910 may begin with a pipeline flush command 912 to cause any active graphics pipeline to complete the currently pending commands for the pipeline… In response to a pipeline flush, the command parser for the graphics processor will pause command processing until the active drawing engines complete pending operations and the relevant read caches are invalidated.. pipeline flush command 912 can be used for pipeline synchronization”; paragraph 117: “graphics commands are forwarded down to a hypervisor layer 1410 which includes a mediator 1412 that traps all privileged accesses from the driver 1403 (e.g., to I/O registers, GPU page tables, etc) , emulates the vGPU 1416, and replays the configuration”; and paragraph 118: “all the pGPUs1420-1421 have the same configuration (e.g., registers, GPU page table entries, etc) , so each of them is in a state expected by the graphics driver 1403 and thus any one of them can execute the GPU commands submitted from the graphics driver 1403”)
Tian does not but Gummaraju teaches:
to prepare one or more first graphics kernels and one or more second graphics kernels to be launched (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 20: “allocating compute kernels to different types of processors”; and paragraph 22: “Kernels are sometimes also referred to by other terms such as shaders, shader programs, or programs. According to an embodiment, a compute kernel may have the same code base to be executed on different processor types, such as GPUs”).
Tian and Gummaraju are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing software module executions within graphics processing units. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian with the teachings of Gummaraju. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve software module execution by refining resource allocations (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 23).
With respect to claim 13, Tian as modified teaches: The system of claim 11, wherein instructions, if performed by the one or more processors, further cause the system to perform one or more software drivers (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”), wherein the one or more software drivers are to cause… to be performed concurrently (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”; paragraph 108: “graphics driver 1029 communicates with graphics processor 1032 to dispatch commands and instructions”; and paragraph 60: “each execution unit (e.g. 608A) is an individual vector processor capable of executing multiple simultaneous threads and processing multiple data elements in parallel for each thread”)
Tian does not but Gummaraju teaches:
one or more first graphics kernels and one or more second graphics kernels… by causing at least a first graphics kernel and a second graphics kernel to be performed (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 20: “allocating compute kernels to different types of processors”; paragraph 22: “Kernels are sometimes also referred to by other terms such as shaders, shader programs, or programs. According to an embodiment, a compute kernel may have the same code base to be executed on different processor types, such as GPUs”; and paragraph 36: “execute multiple instances of a compute kernel in parallel. Each instance of an executing compute kernel may be referred to as a "workitem." In GPU 102, for example, workitems may simultaneously execute on each processing element 121, 122, 123, and 124”).
Tian and Gummaraju are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing software module executions within graphics processing units. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian with the teachings of Gummaraju. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve software module execution by refining resource allocations (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 23).
With respect to claims 14-15 and 17: Claims 14-15 and 17 are directed to a system implementing active functions corresponding to the active functions implemented by the processor recited in claims 4-5 and 9, respectively; please see the rejections directed to claims 4-5 and 9 above which also cover the limitations recited in claims 14-15 and 17.
With respect to claim 19, Tian as modified teaches: The system of claim 11, wherein the memory storing instructions, if performed by the one or more processors, further cause the system to perform one or more software drivers (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”), wherein the one or more software drivers includes a data tracking structure (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 117: “I/O registers, GPU page tables, etc.”) to track progress of the one or more operations that are to be performed in parallel and to be performed in sequence (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 93: “graphics processor command sequence 910 may begin with a pipeline flush command 912 to cause any active graphics pipeline to complete the currently pending commands for the pipeline… In response to a pipeline flush, the command parser for the graphics processor will pause command processing until the active drawing engines complete pending operations and the relevant read caches are invalidated.. pipeline flush command 912 can be used for pipeline synchronization”; paragraph 117: “graphics commands are forwarded down to a hypervisor layer 1410 which includes a mediator 1412 that traps all privileged accesses from the driver 1403 (e.g., to I/O registers, GPU page tables, etc) , emulates the vGPU 1416, and replays the configuration”; and paragraph 118: “all the pGPUs1420-1421 have the same configuration (e.g., registers, GPU page table entries, etc) , so each of them is in a state expected by the graphics driver 1403 and thus any one of them can execute the GPU commands submitted from the graphics driver 1403”)
Tian does not but Gummaraju teaches:
to prepare one or more graphics kernels to launch (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 20: “allocating compute kernels to different types of processors”; and paragraph 22: “Kernels are sometimes also referred to by other terms such as shaders, shader programs, or programs. According to an embodiment, a compute kernel may have the same code base to be executed on different processor types, such as GPUs”).
Tian and Gummaraju are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing software module executions within graphics processing units. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian with the teachings of Gummaraju. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve software module execution by refining resource allocations (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 23).
With respect to claims 24 and 25: Claims 24 and 25 are directed to a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon one or more instructions, which if performed by one or more processors, cause one or more processors to perform operations corresponding to the operations performed by the processor recited in claims 4 and 5, respectively; please see the rejections directed to claims 4 and 5 above which also cover the limitations recited in claims 24 and 25.
Claims 28-30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian in view of Greathouse as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Gummaraju.
With respect to claim 28, Tian as modified teaches: The method of claim 27, wherein concurrently causing the one or more first software modules and the one or more second software modules to be performed further includes:
performing operations… on one or more graphics processing cores (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 58: “graphics processor 500 includes scalable thread execution resources featuring modular cores 580A-580N (sometimes referred to as core slices) , each having multiple sub-cores 550A-550N, 560A-560N (sometimes referred to as core sub-slices) (e.g., 550A)… Each sub-core in the set of first sub-cores 550A-550N includes at least a first set of execution units 552A-552N… Each sub-core in the set of second sub-cores 560A-560N includes at least a second set of execution units 562A-562N”; paragraph 60: “each execution unit (e.g. 608A) is an individual vector processor capable of executing multiple simultaneous threads and processing multiple data elements in parallel for each thread”; and Fig. 5).
Tian does not but Gummaraju teaches:
to prepare one or more first graphics kernels and one or more second graphics kernels to be launched (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 20: “allocating compute kernels to different types of processors”; and paragraph 22: “Kernels are sometimes also referred to by other terms such as shaders, shader programs, or programs. According to an embodiment, a compute kernel may have the same code base to be executed on different processor types, such as GPUs”).
Tian and Gummaraju are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing software module executions within graphics processing units. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian with the teachings of Gummaraju. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve software module execution by refining resource allocations (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 23).
With respect to claim 29, Tian as modified teaches: The method of claim 27, the method further comprises:
obtaining one or more operations to run in parallel and one or more operations to run in sequence… on one or more graphics processing cores (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 93: “graphics processor command sequence 910 may begin with a pipeline flush command 912 to cause any active graphics pipeline to complete the currently pending commands for the pipeline… In response to a pipeline flush, the command parser for the graphics processor will pause command processing until the active drawing engines complete pending operations and the relevant read caches are invalidated.. pipeline flush command 912 can be used for pipeline synchronization”; paragraph 117: “graphics commands are forwarded down to a hypervisor layer 1410 which includes a mediator 1412 that traps all privileged accesses from the driver 1403 (e.g., to I/O registers, GPU page tables, etc) , emulates the vGPU 1416, and replays the configuration”; and paragraph 118: “all the pGPUs1420-1421 have the same configuration (e.g., registers, GPU page table entries, etc) , so each of them is in a state expected by the graphics driver 1403 and thus any one of them can execute the GPU commands submitted from the graphics driver 1403”).
Tian does not but Gummaraju teaches:
to launch one or more first graphics kernels and one or more second graphics kernels (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 20: “allocating compute kernels to different types of processors”; and paragraph 22: “Kernels are sometimes also referred to by other terms such as shaders, shader programs, or programs. According to an embodiment, a compute kernel may have the same code base to be executed on different processor types, such as GPUs”).
Tian and Gummaraju are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing software module executions within graphics processing units. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian with the teachings of Gummaraju. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve software module execution by refining resource allocations (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 23).
With respect to claim 30, Tian as modified teaches: The method of claim 27, the method further comprises:
receiving from one or more central processing cores requests… on one or more graphics processing cores (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 88: “driver software for the graphics processor translates API calls that are specific to a particular graphics or media library into commands that can be processed by the graphics processor”; paragraph 105: “processor 1030 includes a graphics processor 1032 and one or more general-purpose processor core (s) 1034. The graphics application 1010 and operating system 1020 each execute in the system memory 1050 of the data processing system”; paragraph 108: “user mode graphics driver 1026 uses operating system kernel mode functions 1028 to communicate with a kernel mode graphics driver 1029. In some embodiments, kernel mode graphics driver 1029 communicates with graphics processor 1032 to dispatch commands and instructions”; and Fig. 10).
Tian does not but Gummaraju teaches:
to prepare one or more first graphics kernels and one or more second graphics kernels to be launched (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 20: “allocating compute kernels to different types of processors”; and paragraph 22: “Kernels are sometimes also referred to by other terms such as shaders, shader programs, or programs. According to an embodiment, a compute kernel may have the same code base to be executed on different processor types, such as GPUs”)
Tian and Gummaraju are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing software module executions within graphics processing units. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian with the teachings of Gummaraju. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve software module execution by refining resource allocations (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 23).
With respect to claim 32, Tian as modified teaches: The method of claim 27, the method further comprising:
obtaining a status… based, at least in part, on a data tracking structure (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 117: “I/O registers, GPU page tables, etc.”) of one or more software drivers that track progress of operations that run in parallel and operations that run in sequence (see e.g. Tian, paragraph 93: “graphics processor command sequence 910 may begin with a pipeline flush command 912 to cause any active graphics pipeline to complete the currently pending commands for the pipeline… In response to a pipeline flush, the command parser for the graphics processor will pause command processing until the active drawing engines complete pending operations and the relevant read caches are invalidated.. pipeline flush command 912 can be used for pipeline synchronization”; paragraph 117: “graphics commands are forwarded down to a hypervisor layer 1410 which includes a mediator 1412 that traps all privileged accesses from the driver 1403 (e.g., to I/O registers, GPU page tables, etc) , emulates the vGPU 1416, and replays the configuration”; and paragraph 118: “all the pGPUs1420-1421 have the same configuration (e.g., registers, GPU page table entries, etc) , so each of them is in a state expected by the graphics driver 1403 and thus any one of them can execute the GPU commands submitted from the graphics driver 1403”)
Tian does not but Gummaraju teaches:
of preparing one or more graphics kernels to be launched (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 20: “allocating compute kernels to different types of processors”; and paragraph 22: “Kernels are sometimes also referred to by other terms such as shaders, shader programs, or programs. According to an embodiment, a compute kernel may have the same code base to be executed on different processor types, such as GPUs”)… to prepare the one or more graphics kernels (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 20: “allocating compute kernels to different types of processors”; and paragraph 22: “Kernels are sometimes also referred to by other terms such as shaders, shader programs, or programs. According to an embodiment, a compute kernel may have the same code base to be executed on different processor types, such as GPUs”).
Tian and Gummaraju are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing software module executions within graphics processing units. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian with the teachings of Gummaraju. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve software module execution by refining resource allocations (see e.g. Gummaraju, paragraph 23).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In detail:
(i) Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §101 (Remarks, page 10), the Examiner notes that while the amendments presented to claims 1, 11, and 21 are satisfactory to overcome these rejections, no amendments were presented to claim 27. As such, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §101 directed to claims 27-33 as being directed to an abstract idea are maintained. For more details, please see the corresponding rejections above.
(ii) Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) directed to claims 1-10 (Remarks, pages 10-11), the Examiner notes that the capability of a processor identifies what the processor is capable of doing, such as it can identify software modules, or it can launch software modules. However, this only identifies an intended use for the processor. Specifically, the language used in claims 1-10 recites the processor is “to: identify…; and concurrently cause…” which are intended use cases for the processor.
As such, it is not clear if the processor recited in claims 1-10 actually performs the recited functions therewith or if these are merely optional functions the processor can perform which consequently renders the metes and bounds of the claim indefinite. Therefore, the Examiner maintains the rejections under U.S.C. §112(b) directed to claims 1-10. For more details, please see the corresponding rejections above.
(iii) Regarding Applicants arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 directed to claim 27 (Remarks, pages 12-14), the Examiner notes claim 27 does not recite “based on one or more launch dependencies between an operation corresponding to the one or more first software modules and an operation corresponding to the one or more second software modules” as recited in amended claim 1.
Greathouse discloses determining which input rows and factors can be performed in parallel and launching kernels to perform such rows in parallel (see Greathouse, paragraph 17: “analyzing the input matrix to determine which rows and factors can be solved in parallel, then launching a new kernel for each level that includes a thread for solving each of the rows in the level in parallel”).
As such, Greathouse teaches the limitation “identifying whether one or more first software modules and one or more second software modules can be concurrently launched to be performed” as recited in claim 27.
Furthermore, both Tian and Greathouse are directed to evaluating software modules in general which is analogous to the “software modules” as recited in the claim. That is, Tian is not modified to implement the input matrix of Greathouse but to evaluate software modules (as disclosed by both Tian and Greathouse) to determine which ones can be launched in parallel.
Consequently, the Examiner maintains the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 under Tian in view of Greathouse directed to claim 27. For more details, please see the corresponding rejection above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nagendra Kumar et al. (US 2020/0027189 A1) discloses launching workloads concurrently or simultaneously based on resource utilization dependencies (see paragraphs 36, 38).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/UMUT ONAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194