Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6, 10, 11, 13, 15, 17, and 18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/13/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen et al. (US- 20210296278 A1, hereinafter Yen) in view of Kuo et al. (US 20210118770 A1, hereinafter Kuo) and Sover et al. (US 2022/0201889, hereinafter Sover).
Regarding Claim 1, Yen discloses, a semiconductor package module (10, Fig. 1),
comprising: an encapsulated structure (1035 in Fig. 1), comprising a device die ( 1031/1032/1033 in Fig. 1) and an encapsulant laterally enclosing the device die; a package substrate (101 in Fig. 1), attached to a first side (1011 in Fig. 1) of the encapsulated structure; a composite thermal interfacial structure (1071 in Fig. 1), disposed on a second side (top side of 103 in Fig. 1) of the encapsulated structure, and
a ring structure (1039 in Fig. 1), attached to the package substrate and laterally surrounding the encapsulated structure; and a heat spreader (1051 in Fig. 1), attached to the second side (top side of 103 in Fig. 1) of the encapsulated structure through the composite thermal interfacial structure, and supported by the ring structure.
Yen does not disclose, comprising thermally conductive elements arranged side by side or stacked along a vertical direction.
Kuo discloses (Figs. 2A & 3 and par [0035]) a TIM layer 212 comprising a core material 214 (e.g., an epoxy resin) and a thermally conductive filler 220 comprising particles of different sizes which are arranged side by side. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have included a thermally conductive filler particles into thermal interfacial structure as taught by Kuo in order to improve heat dissipation of the device.
Yen further does not disclose a wicking structure disposed on a top surface of the heat spreader, wherein the wicking structure is a boiling enhancement coating (BEC) layer.
Figure 1 of Sover discloses an electronic system 200 with a heat spreader 260 having a wicking structure that is a BEC layer 270 on a top surface thereof (para. [0050). In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Yen to include a BEC layer on the heat spreader to enhance the heat dissipation properties.
Regarding Claim 7, Yen discloses, the semiconductor package module (10, Fig. 1) according to claim 1, wherein a peripheral region of the encapsulated structure (the lower slanted portion of 1035) is not overlapped with the composite thermal interfacial structure (1071).
Regarding Claim 9, Yen discloses, A semiconductor package module (10, Fig. 1), comprising: a semiconductor package (103 in Fig. 1); a package substrate (101 in Fig. 1), attached to a first side (1011 in Fig. 1) of the semiconductor package; a composite thermal interfacial structure (1071 in Fig. 1), disposed on a second side of the semiconductor package (top side of 103 in Fig. 1), and a ring structure (1039 in Fig. 1), attached to the package substrate and laterally surrounding the semiconductor package; and a heat spreader (1051 in Fig. 1), having a plate portion (top side of 1051 in Fig. 1) lying over the composite thermal interfacial structure and supported by the ring structure, and having an engaging portion (bottom part of 1051 in Fig. 1) extending from the plate portion and attached to the composite thermal interfacial structure.
Yen does not disclose, comprising thermally conductive elements arranged side by side or stacked along a vertical direction.
Kuo discloses (Figs. 2A & 3 and par [0035]) a TIM layer 212 comprising a core material 214 (e.g., an epoxy resin) and a thermally conductive filler 220 comprising particles of different sizes. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have included a thermally conductive filler particles into thermal interfacial structure as taught by Kuo in order to improve heat dissipation of the device. This would result in thermally conductive elements being side by side (filler particles are side by side).
Yen further does not disclose a wicking structure disposed on a top surface of the heat spreader, wherein the wicking structure is a boiling enhancement coating (BEC) layer.
Figure 1 of Sover discloses an electronic system 200 with a heat spreader 260 having a wicking structure that is a BEC layer 270 on a top surface thereof (para. [0050). In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Yen to include a BEC layer on the heat spreader to enhance the heat dissipation properties.
Regarding Claim 14, Yen discloses, the semiconductor package module (10 in Fig. 1) according to claim 9, wherein trenches (Fig. 1) are formed at a side of the plate portion (top side of 1051 in Fig. 1) of the heat spreader (1051 in Fig. 1) facing away from the composite thermal interfacial structure (1071 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, after the above combination, the wicking structure as taught by Sover will cover the sides of the plate portion of the heat (the coating of Sover would cover all exposed portions of the heat spreader).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen, Kuo, and Sover, and in further view of Hua et al. (US-7704798 B2) (“Hua”).
Regarding Claim 2, Yen does not disclose the semiconductor package module according to claim 1, wherein the composite thermal interfacial structure comprises a metallic layer and a gel thermal interfacial material (TIM) laterally enclosing the metallic layer.
Hua discloses (Fig. 3, and par [37-42]), the semiconductor package module (300) according to claim 1, wherein a composite thermal interfacial structure (top of die 302) comprises a metallic layer (320 and in par [39]) and a gel thermal interfacial material (324 & 326 and in par [41]) laterally enclosing the metallic layer. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have used the composite thermal interfacial structure as taught by Hung in order improve heat dissipation from the device hot spots.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen in view of Kuo, Sover, and Hua, and further in view of Bozorg-Grayeli et al. (US-20200411395 A1) (“Bozorg-Grayeli”).
Regarding Claim 3, Yen does not disclose, the semiconductor package module according to claim 2, wherein the composite thermal interfacial structure further comprises a first adhesion layer and a second adhesion layer, the metallic layer and the gel TIM are sandwiched between the first and second adhesion layers, and the first and second adhesion layers are respectively formed of a conductive material.
Bozorg-Grayeli discloses (Fig. 1/3 & par [0024]), a first adhesion layer (146) and a second adhesion layer (140), the first and second adhesion layers are respectively formed of a conductive material and are sandwiching the TIM layer (104). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have added the adhesion layers as taught by Bozorg-Grayeli to the disclosers Yen, Kuo, Sover and Hua et al. in order to have a metallic layer and the gel TIM sandwiched by the adhesion layers. Such an addition will improve the heat dissipation of the device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen, Kuo, and Sover, and in further view of Bozorg-Grayeli et al. (US-20200411395 A1, hereinafter Bozorg-Grayeli).
Regarding Claim 4, Yen does not disclose, the semiconductor package module according to claim 1, wherein the composite thermal interfacial structure comprises a metallic TIM, a first adhesion layer and a second adhesion layer, the first and second adhesion layers are respectively formed of a conductive material, the metallic TIM is attached to the encapsulated structure through the first adhesion layer, and attached to the heat spreader through the second adhesion layer.
Bozorg-Grayeli discloses (Fig. 1/3 & par [0024]) , the semiconductor package module (150 in Fig. 3 according to claim 1, wherein the composite thermal interfacial structure (146/104/140 in Figs. 1 & 3) comprises a metallic TIM (104) , a first adhesion layer (146) and a second adhesion layer (140), the first and second adhesion layers are respectively formed of a conductive material, the metallic TIM is attached to the encapsulated structure (106) through the first adhesion layer, and attached to the heat spreader (121) through the second adhesion layer. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have used the composite thermal interfacial structure as taught by Bozorg-Grayeli in order improve heat dissipation of the device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen, Kuo, and Sover, and in further view of Kim et al. (US-20200388549 A1, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding Claim 5, Yen in view of Sover does not disclose, the semiconductor package module
according to claim 1, wherein the composite thermal interfacial structure comprises laterally separated pillar structures respectively comprising a conductive pillar and solder joints attaching terminals of the conductive pillar to the encapsulated structure and the heat spreader.
Kim discloses (Fig. 15), the semiconductor package module (200g in Fig. 15) according to claim 1, wherein the composite thermal interfacial structure (253/263 in Figs. 5 &15) comprises laterally separated pillar structures (253/263 in Figs. 5 &15) respectively comprising a conductive pillar (2531 in Fig. 5) and solder joints (2533 in Fig. 5) attaching terminals of the conductive pillar to the encapsulated structure (230 in Fig. 15) and the heat spreader (285 in Fig. 15). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have used the laterally separated pillar structures as taught by Kim in order improve heat dissipation from the device.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen, Kuo, and Sover, and in further view Chu et al. (US-6396700 B1) (“Chu”).
Regarding Claim 8, Yen does not disclose, the semiconductor package module according to claim 1, wherein the composite thermal interfacial structure has separate patterns, partially covering the device die in the encapsulated structure.
Chu discloses (in Fig. 4A) a composite thermal interfacial structure having separate patterns (50 in Fig. 14A) partially covering the device die (30 in Fig. 4A). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed patterned thermal interfacial structure aligned to the hot spots of the integrated circuit die as taught by Chu in order improve heat dissipation of the device.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen, Kuo, and Sover, and in further view of Hung et al. (US-20150035134 A1) (“Hung”).
Regarding Claim 12, Yen does not disclose, the semiconductor package module according to claim 9, wherein the engaging portion of the heat spreader comprises separate patterns, and a device die in the semiconductor package is partially overlapped with the separate patterns. Hung discloses (Fig. 14 & par [0029]), protruding portions (separate patterns) of heat dissipating lid (24 in Fig. 14) partially attached to portions 12B of die 12. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have used the heat dissipation scheme with protruding portions as taught by Hung in order improve heat dissipation from the device hot spots.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kuo in view of Sover.
Regarding claim 19, Figure 4 of Kuo discloses an electronic system, comprising a printed circuit board 202 and a semiconductor package module 100/210/208 attached to the printed circuit board, wherein the semiconductor package module comprises:
a semiconductor package 120; a package substrate 70A, attached to a first side of the semiconductor package: a composite thermal interfacial structure 212, disposed on a second side of the semiconductor package (top side of 70A), and comprising thermally conductive elements 221 arranged side by side (para. [0035]); a ring structure 210, attached to the package substrate and laterally surrounding the semiconductor package; and a heat spreader 208, attached to the second side of the semiconductor package through the composite thermal interfacial structure, and supported by the ring structure.
Kuo does not disclose a wicking structure disposed on a top surface of the heat spreader, wherein the wicking structure is a boiling enhancement coating (BEC) layer; and a tank, accommodating the electronic system and filled with dielectric cooling liquid, wherein the electronic system is submerged in a bath of the dielectric cooling liquid.
Figure 1 of Sover discloses an electronic system 200 submerged in a bath of dielectric cooling liquid 120 (para. 0051) with a heat spreader 260 having a wicking structure that is a BEC layer 270 on a top surface thereof (para. [0050). In view of such teaching, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kuo to include a BEC layer on the heat spreader and the place the package system in a tank of dielectric cooling liquid to enhance the heat dissipation properties.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo in view of Sover as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Miyoshi (US 20170064862).
Regarding claim 20, Kuo and Sover do not disclose a condenser, lying over the bath of the dielectric cooling liquid. Miyoshi discloses a condenser (116 in Fig. 1 & par [0063]) lying over a bath of a dielectric cooling liquid (104 in Fig. 1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed a condenser over the bath of the dielectric cooling liquid as taught by Miyoshi in order to liquify the vapor and return it to the pool.
Conclusion
MATTHEW C. LANDAU
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891