DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claim 1 has been amended; support for the amendment can be found in Fig. 3, 14 and 20 and [0012] of the original specification.
Claims 5-8 have been canceled.
Claims 1-4 and 9-21 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Zhou does not teach “wherein along the height direction of the connection assembly, an Nth weakened portion in the length direction of the connection assembly of the first insulating film and an Nth weakened portion in the length direction of the connection assembly of the second insulating film are arranged in a staggered manner” (pg. 7-8).
This argument is not found persuasive because the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a staggered manner” is positioned alternately on one side and the other of a line (Oxford English Dictionary, “staggered (adj.), sense 2.a,” July 2023, https://doi.org/10.1093/OED/1022010788.). According to this interpretation, W1 of Zhou is on one side of a line (i.e. the interface between W1 and W2) and W2 is on another side of the line in the Y direction. The examiner notes that it appears that applicant intends to claim “arranged in a staggered manner along the length direction” but has presently claimed arranged in a staggered manner along the height direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the connecting sheets" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-4 and 9-21 are rejected for dependence on claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the weakened portions" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-4 and 9-21 are rejected for dependence on claim 1.
Claim 1 is indefinite because the recitation “the first insulating film and the second insulating film each are provided with a plurality of the weakened portions spaced apart along a length direction of the connection assembly, and along the height direction of the connection assembly, the plurality of weakened portions of the first insulating film are arranged in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of weakened portions of the second insulating film” is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear if the first insulating film and the second insulating film each are provided with a plurality of the weakened portions spaced apart along a length direction of the connection assembly, and along the height direction of the connection assembly, or if along the height direction of the connection assembly, the plurality of weakened portions of the first insulating film are arranged in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of weakened portions of the second insulating film. For examination, the latter interpretation is used. Claims 2-4 and 9-21 are rejected for dependence on claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the weakened portion of the first insulating film" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 10 is rejected for dependence on claim 9.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the weakened portion of the second insulating film" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 10 is rejected for dependence on claim 9.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the two" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the weakened portion of the first insulating film" in line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 12-14 are rejected for dependence on claim 11.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the weakened portion of the second insulating film" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 12-14 are rejected for dependence on claim 11.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the diameter" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the first arc portion" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (CN 207149613 U, machine translation used for rejection below).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a connection assembly (Fig. 4; element 100) for a battery module (Fig. 3; elements 200), wherein the connection assembly (100) comprises:
a connecting sheet (Fig. 4; 10), the connecting sheet (10) electrically connects battery cells (Fig. 3; 200) constituting the battery module (200); and
an insulating film (Fig. 4; 20), a plurality of the connecting sheets (Fig. 4; 10) are mounted onto the insulating film (20), and are insulated (Fig. 4) from each other;
wherein the insulating film (20) is provided with a weakened portion (Fig. 4; 22) and when the insulating film (20) is subjected to external force greater than a specified value, the insulating film (20) is deformed (“elastic deformation portion”; [0056]) at a position of the weakened portion (22),
wherein the insulating film (Fig. 4; 20) comprises a first insulating film (annotated Fig. 4; 1IF) and a second insulating film (annotated Fig. 4; 2IF);
along a height direction (annotated Fig. 4; Y) of the connection assembly (100), at least part (Fig. 4; 10) of the connecting sheet (10) is located between (Fig. 4) the first insulating film (1IF) and the second insulating film (2IF); and
the first insulating film (1IF) and the second insulating film (2IF) each are provided with a plurality of the weakened portions (annotated Fig. 4; 22 in 1IF and 2IF) spaced apart along a length direction (annotated Fig. 4; X) of the connection assembly (100), and along (Fig. 4) the height direction (Y) of the connection assembly (100), the plurality of weakened portions (22 of 1IF) of the first insulating film (1IF) are arranged in one to one correspondence (Fig. 4) with the plurality of weakened portions (22 of 2IF) of the second insulating film (2IF),
wherein along the height direction (Y) of the connection assembly (100), an Nth weakened portion (annotated Fig. 4; W1 is first in 1IF’s weakened portions in the X direction, ergo N=1) in the length direction (X) of the connection assembly (100) of the first insulating film (1IF) and an Nth weakened portion (annotated Fig. 4; W2 is first in 2IF’s weakened portions in the X direction, ergo N=1) in the length direction (X) of the connection assembly (100) of the second insulating film (2IF) are arranged in a staggered manner (Fig. 4; W1 is not in the same plane, along direction Y, as W2), N is a positive integer (N=1).
The examiner notes that the limitations “a staggered manner” has been interpreted as positioned alternately on one side and the other of a line (Oxford English Dictionary, “staggered (adj.), sense 2.a,” July 2023, https://doi.org/10.1093/OED/1022010788.) as is consistent with its broadest reasonable interpretation. According to this interpretation, W1 is on one side of a line (i.e. the interface between W1 and W2) and W2 is on another side of the line in the Y direction.
Regarding claim 11, Zhou discloses wherein the weakened portion (22 of 1IF) of the first insulating film (1IF) is provided as a first through hole (annotated Fig. 4; W1), and the weakened portion (22 of 2IF) of the second insulating film (2IF) is provided as a second through hole (annotated Fig. 4; W2).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou discloses wherein the first insulating film (1IF) is provided with a first via hole (annotated Fig. 4; 23 in 1IF), and the second insulating film (2IF) is provided with a second via hole (annotated Fig. 4; 23 in 2IF); and along the height direction (Y) of the connection assembly (100), a connecting portion (Fig. 4; 111-113) of the connecting sheet (10) is between the first via hole (23) and the second via hole (23).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou discloses a battery module (Fig. 3; 100, 200), wherein the battery module comprises: a battery cell (Fig. 3; 200), wherein the battery cell (200) comprises electrode leads (Fig. 3; 201); and a connection assembly (Fig. 3; 100), wherein the connection assembly (100) is the connection assembly (100) according to claim 1; a connecting portion (Fig. 4; 111-113) of the connecting sheet (10) is configured to connect ([0051]) the electrode leads (231) of the battery cell (200).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou discloses a battery pack (Fig. 3; 100-300), wherein the battery pack comprises a box body (Fig. 3; 300) and the battery module (100, 200) according to claim 18, and the battery module (200) is fastened (Fig. 3) in the box body (300).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 207149613 U, machine translation used for rejection below) as applied to claim 1 and 11 above and further in view of Hosoda (JP H09205257 A, machine translation used for rejection below).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses wherein the weakened portion (22) comprises a first body portion (Fig. 4; 22); and along an extension direction (annotated Fig. 4; Z) of the first body portion (22), an end (Fig. 4; 222) of the first body portion (22) but fails to disclose an arc portion and is connected to the first arc portion.
Hosoda discloses a connection assembly (“flexible printed wiring board”; [0001]) comprising a weakened portion (Fig. 2; element 6, 6a), the weakened portion comprising a first body portion (Fig. 2; element 6) and a first arc portion (Fig. 1; element 6a; “circular portion”; [0007];) and along an extension direction (annotated Fig. 2; Y) of the first body portion (6), an end (Fig. 2; end of 6 attached to 6a) of the first body portion (6) is connected to the first arc portion (6a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Zhou by substituting the weakened portion of Hosada for the weakened portion of Zhou such that the weakened portion of Zhou in view of Hosada comprises a first body portion and a first arc portion; and along an extension direction of the first body portion, an end of the first body portion is connected to the first arc portion in order to prevent the tearing ([0007]) of the tip of the body portion and prevent the occurrence of excessive stress ([0010]) as Hosada teaches.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou in view of Hosada discloses wherein the first arc portion (Hosada 6a) is a circular structure (Hosada Fig. 2; 6a) having an opening (Hosada Fig. 2; opening of 6a), and the first arc portion (6a) communicates with the first body portion (6) through the opening (Fig. 2; opening of 6a); and a diameter D (Fig. 2; diameter of 6a) of the first arc portion (6a) is greater than a width dimension a (Fig. 2; width of 6 in the X direction) of the first body portion (6).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou discloses a width dimension, a (annotated Fig. 4; width of 222 of W1in X direction), of the first through hole (W1) and a width dimension, b (annotated Fig. 4; width of 222 of W2 in X direction), of the second through hole (W2).
Zhou fails to disclose wherein a is smaller than b.
Hosoda discloses wherein a width dimension, a (annotated Fig. 2; width of 6 in the X direction), of a first through hole (Fig. 2; 6, 6a) is smaller than a width dimension b (annotated Fig. 2; diameter of 5a in the X direction) of a second through hole (Fig. 2; 5, 5a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Zhou by substituting the first and second through hole of Hosoda for the first and second through hole of Zhou such that a width dimension, a, of the first through hole is smaller than a width dimension b of the second through hole in order to prevent the tearing ([0007]) of the tip of the body portion and prevent the occurrence of excessive stress ([0010]) as Hosoda teaches.
Regarding claim 13, Zhou in view of Hosoda discloses wherein a length dimension L1 (Hosoda annotated Fig. 2; length of 6 in the Y direction) of the first through hole (Hosoda 6, 6a) is greater than a length dimension L2 (Hosoda annotated Fig. 2; length of 5a in the Y direction) of the second through hole (5, 5a).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou in view of Hosoda discloses wherein the length dimension L2 (Hosoda annotated Fig. 2; length of 5a in the Y direction) of the second through hole (5, 5a) and the length dimension L1 (Hosoda annotated Fig. 2; length of 6 in the Y direction) of the first through hole (6, 6a) satisfy (see Hosoda Fig. 2): L2 < L1-2*D, wherein D is the diameter (Hosoda Fig. 2; diameter of 6a) of the first arc portion (Hosoda Fig. 2; 6a).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 207149613 U, machine translation used for rejection below) in view of Hosoda (JP H09205257 A, machine translation used for rejection below) as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Matsumoto (US 20150282295 A1, cited in IDS filed 04/20/2022).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou in view of Hosada discloses wherein a section (Hosoda Fig. 2; 6) of the first body portion (Hosoda 6) is rectangular (Hosoda Fig. 2; 6), the first arc portion (Hosoda 6a) is a circular arc structure (Hosoda Fig. 2; 6a), and the first arc portion (6a) is tangent (Fig. 2) to two side walls (Hosoda Fig. 2; two straight portions of 6) of the first body portion (6). Zhou in view of Hosoda fails to disclose wherein a diameter D of the first arc portion is equal to a width dimension a of the first body portion.
Matsumoto teaches a connection assembly (“elastic flexible substrate”; [0003]) with a weakened portion (Fig. 1; element (c)), the weakened portion (c) having a first body portion (annotated Fig. 1; 1BP) and a first arc portion (annotated Fig. 1; one of 1AP), wherein a section (annotated Fig. 1; 1BP) of the first body portion (1BP) is rectangular (Fig. 1; (c)), the first arc portion (1AP) is a circular arc structure (annotated Fig. 1; one of 1AP), and the first arc portion (1AP) is tangent (Fig. 1) to two side walls (annotated Fig. 1; long sides of 1BP) of the first body portion (1BP); and a diameter D (annotated Fig. 1; short side of 1BP) of the first arc portion (1AP) is equal to a width dimension, a, (annotated Fig. 1; short side of 1BP) of the first body portion (1BP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Zhou in view of Hosoda by substituting the shape of Matsumoto’s weakened portion in place of the shape of Zhou in view of Hosoda’s weakened portion such that a diameter D of the first arc portion is equal to a width dimension a of the first body portion, as taught by Matsumoto. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to prevent the end portion of the weakened portion from splitting as taught by Matsumoto ([0054]).
Claims 16, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 207149613 U, machine translation used for rejection below) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Xialiang (CN-109103405-A, machine translation used for rejection below).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou fails to disclose wherein the connection assembly further comprises a circuit board, the circuit board is configured to be electrically connected to the connecting sheet, and the insulating film connects the circuit board and the connecting sheet together.
Xialiang discloses a connection assembly (Fig. 1; 100) comprising a circuit board (Fig. 2; 102), the circuit board (102) is configured to be electrically connected ([0055]) to a connecting sheet (Fig. 2; 104), and an insulating film (Fig. 2; 101, 103, 105, 106) connects (Fig. 2) the circuit board (102) and the connecting sheet (104) together.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Zhou by adding the circuit board of Xialiang to the connection assembly of Zhou such that the connection assembly further comprises a circuit board, the circuit board is configured to be electrically connected to the connecting sheet, and the insulating film connects the circuit board and the connecting sheet together in order to collect voltage and temperature information as taught by Xialiang ([0048]; [0055]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou in view of Xialiang discloses wherein the weakened portion (22) is located between (Zhou Fig. 4) adjacent connecting sheets (Zhou Fig. 4; adjacent elements 10) of the plurality of connecting sheets (Zhou 10).
Regarding claim 21, Zhou in view of Xialiang discloses wherein the first insulating film (1IF) and the second insulating film (2IF) are configured to insulate (Zhou [0052]) between (Xialiang Fig. 2) the circuit board (Xialiang 102) and the battery cells (Zhou 200).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 207149613 U, machine translation used for rejection below) as applied to claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, Zhou discloses a device (“personalized electronic products”; [005]), using a battery cell (“rechargeable batter[y]”; [005]) as a power supply ([005]), wherein the device comprises: a power source (“battery module”; [005]), the power source ([005]) is configured to provide driving force (“voltage”; [005]) for the device ([005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Zhou by adding the device taught by Zhou to Zhou’s battery module of claim 18 such that the device, uses a battery cell as a power supply, the device comprises: a power source, the power source is configured to provide driving force for the device; and the battery module according to claim 18 is configured to provide electrical energy for the power source. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to supply electricity to the device as taught by Zhou ([005]).
Claims 1, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 207149613 U, machine translation used for rejection below) in view of Ishii (US20080179079A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a connection assembly (Fig. 4; element 100) for a battery module (Fig. 3; elements 200), wherein the connection assembly (100) comprises:
a connecting sheet (Fig. 4; 10), the connecting sheet (10) electrically connects battery cells (Fig. 3; 200) constituting the battery module (200); and
an insulating film (Fig. 4; 20), a plurality of the connecting sheets (Fig. 4; 10) are mounted onto the insulating film (20), and are insulated (Fig. 4) from each other;
wherein the insulating film (20) is provided with a weakened portion (Fig. 4; 22) and when the insulating film (20) is subjected to external force greater than a specified value, the insulating film (20) is deformed (“elastic deformation portion”; [0056]) at a position of the weakened portion (22),
wherein the insulating film (Fig. 4; 20) comprises a first insulating film (annotated Fig. 4; 1IF) and a second insulating film (annotated Fig. 4; 2IF);
along a height direction (annotated Fig. 4; Y) of the connection assembly (100), at least part (Fig. 4; 10) of the connecting sheet (10) is located between (Fig. 4) the first insulating film (1IF) and the second insulating film (2IF); and
the first insulating film (1IF) and the second insulating film (2IF) each are provided with a plurality of the weakened portions (annotated Fig. 4; 22 in 1IF and 2IF) spaced apart along a length direction (annotated Fig. 4; X) of the connection assembly (100), and along (Fig. 4) the height direction (Y) of the connection assembly (100), the plurality of weakened portions (22 of 1IF) of the first insulating film (1IF) are arranged in one to one correspondence (Fig. 4) with the plurality of weakened portions (22 of 2IF) of the second insulating film (2IF),
wherein along the height direction (Y) of the connection assembly (100), an Nth weakened portion (annotated Fig. 4; W1 is first in 1IF’s weakened portions in the X direction, ergo N=1) in the length direction (X) of the connection assembly (100) of the first insulating film (1IF) and an Nth weakened portion (annotated Fig. 4; W2 is first in 2IF’s weakened portions in the X direction, ergo N=1) in the length direction (X) of the connection assembly (100) of the second insulating film (2IF) are arranged in a staggered manner (Fig. 4; W1 is not in the same plane, along direction Y, as W2), N is a positive integer (N=1).
Zhou fails to disclose the Nth weakened portion of the first insulating film and the Nth weakened portion of the second insulating film arranged in a staggered manner along the length direction and the height direction.
Ishii discloses wherein along a height direction (annotated Fig. 11; Y) of a connection assembly (Fig. 11; 10) and a length direction (annotated Fig. 11; X) of the connection assembly (10), an Nth weakened portion (Fig. 11; W1) in the length direction (X) of the connection assembly (10) of a first insulating film (Fig. 11; 20) and an Nth weakened portion (annotated Fig. 11; W2) in the length direction (X) of the connection assembly (10) of a second insulating film (Fig. 30) are arranged in a staggered manner (Fig. 11), N is a positive integer (N=1).
Ishii and Zhou are analogous art because they are both related to composite electrical connectors with sections designed to be bent or deformed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Zhou by substituting the staggered manner of Zhou for the staggered manner of Ishii such that the Nth weakened portion of the first insulating film and the Nth weakened portion of the second insulating film arranged in a staggered manner along the length direction and the height direction in order to prevent cracks generated by torsional stress as taught by Ishii ([0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou in view of Ishii discloses a minimum distance (Ishii annotated Fig. 11; distance between W1 and W2 in the X direction) between the weakened portion (W1) of the first insulating film (1IF) and the weakened portion (W2) of the second insulating film (2IF) is t (Ishii annotated Fig. 11; distance between W1 and W2 in the X direction) but fails to disclose
0 < t ≤ 0.5 mm.
However, it is the examiner’s position that employing a minimum distance between the weakened portion of the first insulating film and the weakened portion of the second insulating film of greater than 0 and less than or equal to 0.5 mm would not result in a different performance from the performance of the device of Zhou in view of Ishii as such a modification would still be expected to prevent the occurrence of cracks due to torsional stress as taught by Ishii ([0032]). Therefore, Zhou in view of Ishii renders the instant claim obvious as the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 10, Zhou in view of Ishii discloses wherein along the height direction (Y), the first insulating film (1IF) and the second insulating film (2IF) overlap together (Ishii Fig. 11; OP), and an overlapping part (Ishii Fig. 11; OP) of the two (1IF, 2IF) is between (Ishii Fig. 11) the weakened portion (W1) of the first insulating film (1IF) and the weakened portion (W2)
of the second insulating film (2IF).
Conclusion
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723