DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 5-8 and 16-17 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 2, 9-11, 14, 15, 18 and 21 have been amended; support for the amendment can be found in original claims 16 and 17 and Fig. 3.
Claim 22 is newly added; support for this claim can be found in Fig. 14.
Claims 1-4, 9-15 and 18-22 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 07/29/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “wherein the connection assembly further comprises a circuit board, the circuit board is configured to be electrically connected to the plurality of connecting sheets, and the insulating film connects the circuit board and the plurality of connecting sheets together, the weakened portions is located between the plurality of connecting sheets and the circuit board” should read “wherein the connection assembly further comprises a circuit board, the circuit board is configured to be electrically connected to the plurality of connecting sheets, and the weakened portions [[is]]are located between the plurality of connecting sheets and the circuit board.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the combination of “wherein the width dimension, a, is aligned with the width dimension b along the height direction” (claim 22) and “wherein along the length direction of the connection assembly, an Nth weakened portion in the length direction of the connection assembly of the first insulating film and an Nth weakened portion in the length direction of the connection assembly of the second insulating film are arranged in a staggered manner, N is a positive integer” (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “wherein the width dimension, a, is aligned with the width dimension b along the height direction” which finds support in Fig. 14 of the original specification. Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein along the length direction of the connection assembly, an Nth weakened portion in the length direction of the connection assembly of the first insulating film and an Nth weakened portion in the length direction of the connection assembly of the second insulating film are arranged in a staggered manner, N is a positive integer” which is supported by Fig. 20 of the specification. However, the specification does not support the combination of “wherein along the length direction of the connection assembly, an Nth weakened portion in the length direction of the connection assembly of the first insulating film and an Nth weakened portion in the length direction of the connection assembly of the second insulating film are arranged in a staggered manner, N is a positive integer” and “wherein the width dimension, a, is aligned with the width dimension b along the height direction” as the illustration (Fig. 20) and description ([0092]) of the staggering establish that the weakened portions are completely offset without overlap. Therefore, claim 22 is rejected for the introduction of new matter.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “wherein the width dimension, a, is aligned with the width dimension b along the height direction” which finds support in Fig. 14 of the original specification. Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein along the length direction of the connection assembly, an Nth weakened portion in the length direction of the connection assembly of the first insulating film and an Nth weakened portion in the length direction of the connection assembly of the second insulating film are arranged in a staggered manner, N is a positive integer” which is supported by Fig. 20 of the specification. The illustration (Fig. 20) and description ([0092]) of the staggering establish that the weakened portions are completely offset without overlap. Therefore, it is unclear how the weakened portions of claim 22 are both staggered (as required in claim 1) and aligned in the height direction (as required by claim 22). Therefore, claim 22 is rendered indefinite. For examination, the staggered manner is interpreted as an overlapping manner wherein the weakened portions are offset with overlap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-11, 15 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 207149613 U, machine translation used for rejection below) in view of Ishii (US20080179079A1), Lin (CN208173687U, machine translation used for rejection below) and Son (US-20190181418-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a connection assembly (Fig. 4; element 100) for a battery module (Fig. 3; elements 200), wherein the connection assembly (100) comprises:
a plurality of connecting sheets (Fig. 4; 10), the plurality of connecting sheets (10) electrically connects battery cells (Fig. 3; 200) constituting the battery module (200); and
an insulating film (Fig. 4; 20), the plurality of the connecting sheets (Fig. 4; 10) are mounted onto the insulating film (20), and are insulated (Fig. 4) from each other;
wherein the insulating film (20) is provided with a plurality of weakened portions (Fig. 4; 22) and when the insulating film (20) is subjected to external force greater than a specified value, the insulating film (20) is deformed (“elastic deformation portion”; [0056]) at a position of the weakened portions (22),
wherein the insulating film (Fig. 4; 20) comprises a first insulating film (annotated Fig. 4; 1IF) and a second insulating film (annotated Fig. 4; 2IF);
along a height direction (annotated Fig. 4; Y) of the connection assembly (100), at least part (Fig. 4; 10) of the plurality of connecting sheets (10) is located between (Fig. 4) the first insulating film (1IF) and the second insulating film (2IF); and
wherein along the length direction (X) of the connection assembly (100), an Nth weakened portion (annotated Fig. 4; top Nth) in the length direction (X) of the connection assembly (100) of the first insulating film (1IF) and an Nth weakened portion (annotated Fig. 4; bottom Nth) in the length direction (X) of the connection assembly (100) of the second insulating film (2IF) are arranged in a manner (Fig. 4), N is a positive integer (annotated Fig. 4; N of Nth is 1), the first insulating film (1IF) and the second insulating film (2IF) each are provided with the plurality of the weakened portions (annotated Fig. 4; 22 in 1IF and 2IF) spaced apart along a length direction (annotated Fig. 4; X) of the connection assembly (100), and along (Fig. 4) the height direction (Y) of the connection assembly (100), the plurality of weakened portions (22 of 1IF) of the first insulating film (1IF) are arranged in one to one correspondence (Fig. 4) with the plurality of weakened portions (22 of 2IF) of the second insulating film (2IF), the weakened portions (22) are located between the plurality of connecting sheets (10).
Zhou fails to disclose a staggered manner; wherein the connection assembly further comprises a circuit board, the circuit board is configured to be electrically connected to the plurality of connecting sheets, and the insulating film connects the circuit board and the plurality of connecting sheets together, the weakened portions is located between the plurality of connecting sheets and the circuit board.
Ishii discloses wherein along a length direction (annotated Fig. 11; X) of the connection assembly (10), an Nth weakened portion (Fig. 11; W1) in the length direction (X) of the connection assembly (10) of a first insulating film (Fig. 11; 20) and an Nth weakened portion (annotated Fig. 11; W2) in the length direction (X) of the connection assembly (10) of a second insulating film (Fig. 30) are arranged in a staggered manner (Fig. 11), N is a positive integer (N=1).
Ishii and Zhou are analogous art because they are both related to composite electrical connectors with sections designed to be bent or deformed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Zhou by substituting the manner of Zhou for the staggered manner of Ishii such that the Nth weakened portion of the first insulating film and the Nth weakened portion of the second insulating film arranged in a staggered manner along the length direction in order to prevent cracks generated by torsional stress as taught by Ishii ([0032]).
Zhou in view of Ishii still fails to disclose wherein the connection assembly further comprises a circuit board, the circuit board is configured to be electrically connected to the plurality of connecting sheets, and the insulating film connects the circuit board and the plurality of connecting sheets together, the weakened portions is located between the plurality of connecting sheets and the circuit board.
Lin discloses wherein a connection assembly (Fig. 4) further comprises a circuit board (Fig. 4; 13), the circuit board (13) is configured to be electrically connected ([0028]) to a plurality of connecting sheets (Fig. 4; 12), and an insulating film (Fig. 4; 11 and 14) connects the circuit board (13) and the plurality of connecting sheets (12) together,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Zhou in view of Ishii by adding the circuit board of Lin to the connection assembly of Zhou in view of Ishii such that the connection assembly further comprises a circuit board, the circuit board is configured to be electrically connected to the connecting sheets, and the insulating film connects the circuit board and the connecting sheets together in order to collect voltage and temperature information as taught by Lin ([0028]).
Zhou in view of Ishii and Lin still fails to disclose the weakened portions is located between the plurality of connecting sheets and the circuit board.
Son discloses weakened portions (Fig. 4; BR1 to BR2; plurality per Fig. 3) located between a plurality of connecting sheets (Fig. 4; SI conductive portion; plurality per Fig. 3; Fig. 3; 15) and a circuit board (Fig. 4; SO and Fig. 3; C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Zhou in view of Ishii and Lin by positioning the weakened portions of Zhou in view of Ishii and Lin between the connecting sheets as taught by Zhou and between the connecting sheets and the circuit board in order to absorb stress between the circuit board and connecting sheets as taught by Son (0067]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin, Son discloses a minimum distance (Ishii annotated Fig. 11; distance between W1 and W2 in the X direction) between each of the weakened portions (W1) of the first insulating film (1IF) and each of the weakened portions (W2) of the second insulating film (2IF) is t (Ishii annotated Fig. 11; distance between W1 and W2 in the X direction) but fails to disclose
0 < t ≤ 0.5 mm.
However, it is the examiner’s position that employing a minimum distance of greater than 0 and less than or equal to 0.5 mm would not result in a different performance from the performance of the device of Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son as such a modification would still be expected to prevent the occurrence of cracks due to torsional stress as taught by Ishii ([0032]). Therefore, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin, Son renders the instant claim obvious as the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 10, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin, Son discloses wherein along the height direction (Y), the first insulating film (1IF) and the second insulating film (2IF) overlap together (Ishii Fig. 11; OP), and an overlapping part (Ishii Fig. 11; OP) of the first insulating film (1IF) and the second insulating film (2IF) is between (Ishii Fig. 11) each of the plurality of weakened portions (W1) of the first insulating film (1IF) and each of the plurality of weakened portions (W2)
of the second insulating film (2IF).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son discloses wherein each of the weakened portions (22 of 1IF) of the first insulating film (1IF) is provided as a first through hole (annotated Fig. 4; W1), and each of the weakened portions (22 of 2IF) of the second insulating film (2IF) is provided as a second through hole (annotated Fig. 4; W2).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son discloses wherein the first insulating film (1IF) is provided with a first via hole (annotated Fig. 4; 23 in 1IF), and the second insulating film (2IF) is provided with a second via hole (annotated Fig. 4; 23 in 2IF); and along the height direction (Y) of the connection assembly (100), a connecting portion (Fig. 4; 111-113) of the plurality of connecting sheets (10) is between the first via hole (23) and the second via hole (23).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son discloses a battery module (Fig. 3; 100, 200), wherein the battery module comprises: a battery cell (Fig. 3; 200), wherein the battery cell (200) comprises electrode leads (Fig. 3; 201); and a connection assembly (Fig. 3; 100), wherein the connection assembly (100) is the connection assembly (100) according to claim 1; a connecting portion (Fig. 4; 111-113) of the plurality of connecting sheets (10) is configured to connect ([0051]) the electrode leads (231) of the battery cell (200).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son discloses a battery pack (Fig. 3; 100-300), wherein the battery pack comprises a box body (Fig. 3; 300) and the battery module (100, 200) according to claim 18, and the battery module (200) is fastened (Fig. 3) in the box body (300).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son fails to explicitly disclose a device, using a battery cell as a power supply, wherein the device comprises: a power source, the power source is configured to provide driving force for the device; and the battery module according to claim 18 configured to provide electrical energy for the power source.
Zhou discloses a device (“personalized electronic products”; [005]), using a battery cell (“rechargeable batter[y]”; [005]) as a power supply ([005]), wherein the device comprises: a power source (“battery module”; [005]), the power source ([005]) is configured to provide driving force (“voltage”; [005]) for the device ([005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son by adding the device taught by Zhou to Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son’s battery module of claim 18 such that the device, uses a battery cell as a power supply, the device comprises: a power source, the power source is configured to provide driving force for the device; and the battery module according to claim 18 is configured to provide electrical energy for the power source. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to supply electricity to the device as taught by Zhou ([005]).
Regarding claim 21, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son discloses wherein the first insulating film (1IF) and the second insulating film (2IF) are configured to insulate (Zhou [0052]) between (Lin Fig. 4) the circuit board (Lin 13) and the battery cells (Zhou 200).
Claims 2, 4, 12-14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 207149613 U, machine translation used for rejection below) in view of Ishii (US20080179079A1), Lin (CN208173687U, machine translation used for rejection below) and Son (US-20190181418-A1) as applied to claim 1 and 11 above and further in view of Hosoda (JP H09205257 A, machine translation used for rejection below).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son discloses wherein each of the weakened portions (22) comprises a first body portion (Fig. 4; 22); and along an extension direction (annotated Fig. 4; Z) of the first body portion (22), an end (Fig. 4; 222) of the first body portion (22) but fails to disclose an arc portion and is connected to the first arc portion.
Hosoda discloses a connection assembly (“flexible printed wiring board”; [0001]) comprising a weakened portion (Fig. 2; element 6, 6a), the weakened portion comprising a first body portion (Fig. 2; element 6) and a first arc portion (Fig. 1; element 6a; “circular portion”; [0007];) and along an extension direction (annotated Fig. 2; Y) of the first body portion (6), an end (Fig. 2; end of 6 attached to 6a) of the first body portion (6) is connected to the first arc portion (6a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son by substituting the weakened portion of Hosada for the weakened portion of Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son such that the weakened portion comprises a first body portion and a first arc portion; and along an extension direction of the first body portion, an end of the first body portion is connected to the first arc portion in order to prevent the tearing ([0007]) of the tip of the body portion and prevent the occurrence of excessive stress ([0010]) as Hosada teaches.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin, Son and Hosada discloses wherein the first arc portion (Hosada 6a) is a circular structure (Hosada Fig. 2; 6a) having an opening (Hosada Fig. 2; opening of 6a), and the first arc portion (6a) communicates with the first body portion (6) through the opening (Fig. 2; opening of 6a); and a diameter D (Fig. 2; diameter of 6a) of the first arc portion (6a) is greater than a width dimension a (Fig. 2; width of 6 in the X direction) of the first body portion (6).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son discloses a width dimension, a (annotated Fig. 4; width of 222 of W1in X direction), of the first through hole (W1) and a width dimension, b (annotated Fig. 4; width of 222 of W2 in X direction), of the second through hole (W2).
Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son fails to disclose wherein a is smaller than b.
Hosoda discloses wherein a width dimension, a (annotated Fig. 2; width of 6 in the X direction), of a first through hole (Fig. 2; 6, 6a) is smaller than a width dimension b (annotated Fig. 2; diameter of 5a in the X direction) of a second through hole (Fig. 2; 5, 5a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son by substituting the first and second through hole of Hosoda for the first and second through hole of Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin and Son such that a width dimension, a, of the first through hole is smaller than a width dimension b of the second through hole in order to prevent the tearing ([0007]) of the tip of the body portion and prevent the occurrence of excessive stress ([0010]) as Hosoda teaches.
Regarding claim 13, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin, Son and Hosoda discloses wherein a length dimension L1 (Hosoda annotated Fig. 2; length of 6 in the Y direction) of the first through hole (Hosoda 6, 6a) is greater than a length dimension L2 (Hosoda annotated Fig. 2; length of 5a in the Y direction) of the second through hole (5, 5a).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin, Son and Hosoda discloses wherein each of the plurality of weakened portions comprises a first body portion (Hosoda Fig. 2; element 6) and a first arc portion (Hosoda Fig. 1; element 6a; “circular portion”; [0007];) and along an extension direction (Hosoda annotated Fig. 2; Y) of the first body portion (6), an end (Hosoda Fig. 2; end of 6 attached to 6a) of the first body portion (6) is connected to the first arc portion (6a);
wherein the length dimension L2 (Hosoda annotated Fig. 2; length of 5a in the Y direction) of the second through hole (5, 5a) and the length dimension L1 (Hosoda annotated Fig. 2; length of 6 in the Y direction) of the first through hole (6, 6a) satisfy (see Hosoda Fig. 2): L2 < L1-2*D, wherein D is the diameter (Hosoda Fig. 2; diameter of 6a) of the first arc portion (Hosoda Fig. 2; 6a).
Regarding claim 22, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin , Son and Hosoda discloses wherein the width dimension, a (width of 6 in the X direction), is aligned with (Ishii Fig. 11; edge of 21 and 31 overlap) the width dimension b (diameter of 5a in the X direction) along the height direction (see 112b rejection; Y).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 207149613 U, machine translation used for rejection below) in view of Ishii (US20080179079A1), Lin (CN208173687U, machine translation used for rejection below), Son (US-20190181418-A1) and Hosoda (JP H09205257 A, machine translation used for rejection below) as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Matsumoto (US 20150282295 A1, cited in IDS filed 04/20/2022).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin, Son and Hosoda discloses wherein a section (Hosoda Fig. 2; 6) of the first body portion (Hosoda 6) is rectangular (Hosoda Fig. 2; 6), the first arc portion (Hosoda 6a) is a circular arc structure (Hosoda Fig. 2; 6a), and the first arc portion (6a) is tangent (Fig. 2) to two side walls (Hosoda Fig. 2; two straight portions of 6) of the first body portion (6). Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin, Son and Hosoda fails to disclose wherein a diameter D of the first arc portion is equal to a width dimension a of the first body portion.
Matsumoto teaches a connection assembly (“elastic flexible substrate”; [0003]) with a weakened portion (Fig. 1; element (c)), the weakened portion (c) having a first body portion (annotated Fig. 1; 1BP) and a first arc portion (annotated Fig. 1; one of 1AP), wherein a section (annotated Fig. 1; 1BP) of the first body portion (1BP) is rectangular (Fig. 1; (c)), the first arc portion (1AP) is a circular arc structure (annotated Fig. 1; one of 1AP), and the first arc portion (1AP) is tangent (Fig. 1) to two side walls (annotated Fig. 1; long sides of 1BP) of the first body portion (1BP); and a diameter D (annotated Fig. 1; short side of 1BP) of the first arc portion (1AP) is equal to a width dimension, a, (annotated Fig. 1; short side of 1BP) of the first body portion (1BP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin, Son and Hosoda by substituting the shape of Matsumoto’s weakened portion in place of the shape of Zhou in view of Ishii, Lin, Son and Hosoda’s weakened portion such that a diameter D of the first arc portion is equal to a width dimension a of the first body portion, as taught by Matsumoto. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to prevent the end portion of the weakened portion from splitting as taught by Matsumoto ([0054]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723