DETAILED ACTION
Contents
Response to Amendment 2
Response to Arguments 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 5
Allowable Subject Matter 12
Conclusion 12
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 1/28/26. Claims 1-21 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Shan does not teach “determining keyframe residue comprising at least depth residue based on the processed measurements” because Shan has depth measurements rather than residual error quantities (see pg. 8-9). This argument is not persuasive since Shan incorporates depth readings into the VIO phrase and the VIO attaches depot the feature observations, verifies depth and calculates the camera visual reprojection error using the verified depth features. Furthermore, the term depth residue does not recite the interpretation as expressed by the applicant wherein the residual error quantities are calculated. Rather, Shan’s camera visual residual, reprojection error calculation can be interpreted to meet the claimed limitation. Thus, the reprojection residual can be reasonably meet the claimed residue based on processed depth measurements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless - (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2-3, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shan et al (Sensor: “RGBD-Inertial Trajectory Estimation and Mapping for Ground Robots”). Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a method for performing visual inertial odometry (VIO) at a user equipment (UE) (see abstract, section 1), the method comprising: processing measurements from an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a camera, and a depth sensor of the UE (see abstract, section 1, section 3.1); determining keyframe residue comprising at least depth residue based on the processed measurements (see section 3.1, 4.3); generating and optimizing a sliding window graph based on factors derived from the keyframe residue (see section 3.3, 3.3.2); and estimating an object pose of the UE based on the optimized sliding window graph (see abstract, section 3.3.2, 4, experimental results).
Regarding claims 2, 3, Shan teaches receiving a data stream from the IMU and performing pre-integration for the data stream to generate an IMU pre-integrate term (see 3.2); capturing a frame through the camera, and performing feature detection and tracking for the captured frame to generate a two-dimensional (2D) feature track (see 3.1); and generating a depth measurement for a detected feature of the captured frame through the depth sensor (see 3.3);
determining an IMU residue using the IMU pre-integrate term; determining a 2D feature residue from the 2D feature track; and determining the depth residue from the depth measurement (see section 3.2-3.3, 3.1, 4.1, 4.3).
Regarding claim 7, Shan discloses performing keyframe initialization using the IMU pre-integrate term and the 2D feature track to generate an initial keyframe, wherein the sliding window graph is generated based on the initial keyframe (see section 3.1-3.3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan et al (Sensor: “RGBD-Inertial Trajectory Estimation and Mapping for Ground Robots”) in view of Liu et al (US 10,390,003 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Shan teaches a method comprising: process measurements from the IMU, the camera, and the depth sensor (see abstract, section 1, section 3.1); determine keyframe residue comprising at least depth residue based on the processed measurements (see section 3.1, 4.3); generate and optimize a sliding window graph based on factors derived from the keyframe residue (see section 3.3, 3.3.2); and estimate an object pose of the UE based on the optimized sliding window graph (see abstract, section 3.3.2, 4, experimental results). Shan does not teach expressly embedding user equipment (UE); an inertial measurement unit (IMU); a camera; a depth sensor; a processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to.
Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches user equipment (UE) (see col. 5, lines 30-40; apparatus); an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (see col. 6, lines 38-60; IMU); a camera (see col. 4, lines 8-25; camera); a depth sensor (see col. 67, lines 15-25; depth sensor); a processor(see col. 5, lines 55-67; processor); and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to (see col. 28, lines 55-67; non-transitory computer readable storage medium).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shan to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Liu. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance the speed and accuracy of the odometry system (see col. 3, lines 55-67). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Shan, while the teaching of Liu continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 12, Shan teaches receive a data stream from the IMU and performing pre-integration for the data stream to generate an IMU pre-integrate term (see 3.2); capture a frame through the camera, and performing feature detection and tracking for the captured frame to generate a two-dimensional (2D) feature track (see 3.1); and generate a depth measurement for a detected feature of the captured frame through the depth sensor (see 3.3).
Regarding claim 13, Xu teaches determine an IMU residue using the IMU pre-integrate term; determine a 2D feature residue from the 2D feature track; and determine the depth residue from the depth measurement (see section 3.1-3.3.2, 4.1, 4.3).
Regarding claim 17, Shan discloses perform keyframe initialization using the IMU pre-integrate term and the 2D feature track to generate an initial keyframe, wherein the sliding window graph is generated based on the initial keyframe (see section 3.1-3.3).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan et al (Sensors: “RGBD-Inertial Trajectory Estimation and Mapping for Ground Robots”) and in view of Proenca et al (Robotics and Autonomous Systems: “Probabilistic RGB-D odometry based on points, lines and planes under depth uncertainty”).
Regarding claim 8, Shan teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 2. Shan does not teach expressly synchronizing feature detection and tracking for the captured frame with depth measurement of the detected feature.
Proenca, in the same field of endeavor, teaches synchronizing feature detection and tracking for the captured frame with depth measurement of the detected feature (see section 2-3.2).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shan to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Proenca. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance the visual odometry performance (see section 6). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Shan, while the teaching of Proenca continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan et al (Sensors: “RGBD-Inertial Trajectory Estimation and Mapping for Ground Robots”) and further in view of Kim et al (Robot Intelligence Technology and Applications: “Visual Odometry Algorithm Using an RGB-D Sensor and IMU in a Highly Dynamic Environment”)
Regarding claim 9, Shan teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 1. Shan does not teach expressly computing feature velocity in image and depth domains based on the feature detection and tracking and the depth measurement.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches computing feature velocity in image and depth domains based on the feature detection and tracking and the depth measurement (see section 2-3).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shan to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Kim. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance the reliability for computing visual odometry in a highly dynamic environment (see conclusion). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Shan, while the teaching of Kim continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan et al (Sensors: “RGBD-Inertial Trajectory Estimation and Mapping for Ground Robots”), Liu et al (US 10,390,003 B1) and further in view of Proenca et al (Robotics and Autonomous Systems: “Probabilistic RGB-D odometry based on points, lines and planes under depth uncertainty”).
Regarding claim 18, Shan with Liu teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 1. Shan with Liu does not teach expressly synchronize feature detection and tracking for the captured frame with depth measurement of the detected feature.
Proenca, in the same field of endeavor, teaches synchronize feature detection and tracking for the captured frame with depth measurement of the detected feature (see section 2-3.2).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shan with Liu to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Proenca. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance the visual odometry performance (see section 6). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Shan with Liu, while the teaching of Proenca continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan et al (Sensors: “RGBD-Inertial Trajectory Estimation and Mapping for Ground Robots”) with Liu et al (US 10,390,003 B1) and further in view of Kim et al (Robot Intelligence Technology and Applications: “Visual Odometry Algorithm Using an RGB-D Sensor and IMU in a Highly Dynamic Environment”).
Regarding claim 19, Shan with Liu teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 1. Shan with Liu does not teach expressly compute feature velocity in image and depth domains based on the feature detection and tracking and the depth measurement.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches compute feature velocity in image and depth domains based on the feature detection and tracking and the depth measurement (see section 2-3).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shan with Liu to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Kim. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance the reliability for computing visual odometry in a highly dynamic environment (see conclusion). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Shan with Liu, while the teaching of Kim continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan et al (Sensor: “RGBD-Inertial Trajectory Estimation and Mapping for Ground Robots”) in view of Kerl et al (CVG: “Dense visual SLAM for RGB-D Cameras”).
Regarding claim 21, Shan teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 1. Shan does not teach expressly depth residue corresponds to a difference between an actual measurement obtained from the depth sensor and a predicted measurement.
Kerl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches depth residue corresponds to a difference between an actual measurement obtained from the depth sensor and a predicted measurement (see section III, III.D.).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shan to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Kerl. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance pose accuracy and reduce errors (see abstract). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Shan, while the teaching of Kerl continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 10, 14-16, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 4-6, 10, 14-16, 20, none of the references of record alone or in combination suggest or fairly teach wherein generating and optimizing the sliding window graph comprises: determining an IMU factor based on the IMU residue; determining an anchor frame vision factor based on at least the depth residue, in case that the captured frame is an anchor frame; determining a non-anchor frame vision factor based on the 2D feature residue and the depth residue, in case that the captured frame is a non-anchor frame; and optimizing the sliding window graph based on the IMU factor and one of the anchor frame vision factor and the non-anchor frame vision factor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephone: (571)270-1576 | Fax: 571.270.2576 | Edward.Park@uspto.gov
For email communications, please notate MPEP 502.03, which outlines procedures pertaining to communications via the internet and authorization. A sample authorization form is cited within MPEP 502.03, section II.
The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9-6 CST.
/EDWARD PARK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666