DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 – 6, 16 – 19, 21 – 25, and 28 - 32 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 16 – 19, 21 – 25, and 28 - 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shih (U.S. Patent No. 9,922,845).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 20 (with Figure 20 being upside down), Shih discloses a printed circuit board, comprising: a bump pad layer (21) comprising a unitary bump pad (322) embedded in a first dielectric material (21), the unitary bump pad being a single, integrally-formed conductive structure, a first portion of the unitary bump pad extending above a first surface of the first dielectric material and operable to receive a solder ball (622) and a second portion of the unitary bump pad being embedded within the first dielectric material and having a bottom surface that is substantially planar with respect to a second surface of the first dielectric material (Figure 20); and a trace metal layer (201) separate from the bump pad layer (layer 21, 322 is adjacent to pads 204, but are separate layers; see Figure 10 of the claimed invention in which bump pad layer 410 is adjacent to trace metal layer 710), the trace metal layer comprising a trace (204) plated on the bottom surface of the second portion of the unitary bump pad, the trace metal layer being embedded in a second dielectric material (201).
Regarding claim 2, Shih discloses wherein the first portion of the bump pad is adapted to electrically couple to a pillar of an electronic component mounted on the printed circuit board (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 3, Shih discloses wherein the bump pad layer prevents a solder bridge from forming between connection points on the printed circuit board when an electronic component is mounted on the printed circuit board (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 4, Shih discloses wherein the bump pad layer prevents solder non-wetting between the bump pad in the bump pad layer and the solder ball when an electronic component is mounted on the printed circuit board (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 5, Shih discloses wherein the bump pad extends approximately ten micrometers or less above the first surface of the first dielectric material (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 6, Shih discloses wherein the bump pad layer substantially covers the trace metal layer (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 16, in Figure 20 (with Figure 20 being upside down), Shih discloses a printed circuit board, comprising: a bump pad layer (21) comprising a connection means (322) embedded in an etched dielectric material (21), the connection means being a single, integrally-formed conductive structure, the etched dielectric material having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the connection means such that a first portion of the connection means extends above a surface of the etched dielectric material (Figure 20) and is operable to receive a coupling means (622) and wherein a second portion of the connection means is embedded within the etched dielectric material and has a bottom surface that is substantially planar with respect to a second surface of the etched dielectric material (Figure 20); and a trace metal layer (201) separate from the bump pad layer (layer 21, 322 is adjacent to pads 204, but are separate layers; see Figure 10 of the claimed invention in which bump pad layer 410 is adjacent to trace metal layer 710) and comprising a signal transmission means (204) embedded in a second dielectric material (201) wherein the signal transmission means is electrically coupled to the bottom surface of the second portion of the connection means (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 17, Shih discloses wherein the first portion of the connection means extends approximately ten micrometers or less above the surface of the etched dielectric material (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 18, Shih discloses wherein the signal transmission means is plated on the bottom surface of the second portion of the first connection means (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 19, Shih discloses wherein the bump pad layer substantially covers the trace metal layer (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 21, Shih discloses wherein the connection means prevents non-wetting between the connection means and the coupling means when an electronic component is mounted on the printed circuit board (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 22, Shih discloses wherein the connection means prevents a bridge from forming between adjacent connection means on the printed circuit board when an electronic component is mounted on the printed circuit board (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 23, in Figure 20 (with Figure 20 being upside down), Shih discloses a printed circuit board, comprising: a first layer (21) comprising: a first dielectric material (21) etched to a first height; and a unitary bump pad (322) embedded in and extending through the first dielectric material, the unitary bump pad being a single, integrally-formed conductive structure and having a second height that is greater than the first height (Figure 20), such that: a first portion of the unitary bump pad extends above a first surface of the first dielectric material; and is operable to receive a bonding material (622); and a second portion of the unitary bump pad is embedded in the first dielectric material such that a bottom surface of the second portion of the unitary bump pad is planar with respect to a second surface of the first dielectric material (Figure 20); and a second layer (201) comprising: a second dielectric material (201); and a trace (204) embedded in the second dielectric material and directly coupled to the bottom surface of the second portion of the unitary bump pad (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 24, Shih discloses wherein the first portion of the unitary bump pad is electrically coupleable to a pillar of an electronic component (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 25, Shih discloses wherein the trace is plated to the bottom surface of the second portion of the unitary bump pad (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 28, Shih discloses wherein the unitary bump pad prevents solder non-wetting between the unitary bump pad and the bonding material when an electronic component is mounted on the printed circuit board (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 29, Shih discloses wherein the unitary bump pad prevents a bridge from forming between adjacent connection points on the printed circuit board when an electronic component is mounted on the printed circuit board (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 30, Shih discloses wherein the second layer extends substantially along the first layer (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 31, Shih discloses wherein the first portion of the unitary bump pad and the second portion of the unitary bump pad are plated as a single, unitary structure (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 32, Shih discloses wherein the connection means is a unitary structure (Figure 20).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847