DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 11 March 2026 fails to place the application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, and 12-15 are currently pending and under examination.
Status of Rejections
Previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) are herein withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment field 6 August 2025.
All previous rejections are herein maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al (US 2013/0277222 A1).
As to claims 1 and 8, Kwon discloses a sterilized water generator (“water treatment apparatus” Title. Figs. 2-4) comprising:
a water inlet pipe through which water flows to the sterilized water generator (#150 water supply pipe);
a water outlet pipe through which sterilized water flows from the sterilized water generator (#170 purified water pipe );
a plurality of electrolysis modules arranged in parallel to each other, along a flow path, between the water inlet pipe and the water outlet pipe, the plurality of electrolysis modules configured to electrolyze the water flowing through the water inlet pipe to produce the sterilized water (#s 121/122 “first electrochemical filter” “Second electrochemical filter” [0099]); and
a controller (#130) configured to while the water flowing through the water inlet pipe flows through the plurality of electrolysis modules to the water outlet pipe ([0101], [0087] “he control unit 130 may control the first electrochemical filter 121 to perform the water purifying operation when the second electrochemical filter 121 needs to be recycled.”
control a forward voltage not to be applied to a first electrolysis module of the plurality of electrolysis modules ([0085] “the control unit 130 may control the second electrochemical filter 122 to perform a water purifying operation when the first electrochemical filter 121 needs to be recycled” where the purifying applied a reverse voltage – [0009], [0126]),
control the forward voltage to be applied to a second electrolysis module of the plurality of electrolysis modules while the forward voltage is not applied to the first electrolysis modules of the plurality of electrolysis modules ([0093] “the control unit 130 may control the second electrochemical filter 122 to perform the water purifying operation when the first electrochemical filter 121 performs the recycling operation.),, and
rotate between chanting between the control of the forward voltage not to be applied to the first electrolysis module while the control of the forward voltage is applied to the second electrolysis module ([0093] “In this case, when the recycling of the first electrochemical filter 121 has been completed, the control unit 130 may perform a filter switching operation such that the first electrochemical filter 121 performs the water purifying operation.”, [0073]-[0077],[0099], [0074] “The allowable water purification time and the recycling time of the electrochemical filter are preset, depending on the configuration of the electrochemical filter.”).
Kwon further discloses a sensor module configured to measure a condition of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe (#221 conductivity sensor which is a measure of the TDS thus satisfying the determination of instant claim 6 – [0120]), wherein the controller is configured to compare the amount of TDSs in the water flowing through the water inlet pipe with a reference concentration (measurement at #221 and compared with reference value from #222 – [0110], [0115]-[0116) determine a number of first electrolysis modules based on the condition of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe, and control the forward voltage not to be applied to the determined number of first electrolysis modules ([0115]-[0118] where the number of modules being determined is inherently 1 due to the explicit use of the first electrochemical filter and wherein the sensor module is configured to measure the magnitude of a current flowing in the water passing the plurality of electrolysis modules, and wherein the controller is configured to determine a number of the first electrolysis modules based on the magnitude of the current. (as required by instant claim 8 – “conductivity sensor” [0123], [0215]-[0217]).
As to claim 2, Kwon further discloses wherein the controller is configured to control a reverse voltage so that the reverse voltage is applied to an electrode of the first electrolysis module. ([0085], [0009],[0126]).
As to claim 3, Kwon further discloses wherein the controller is configured to control a voltage so that the voltage is not applied to an electrode of the first electrolysis module. (“idle state” [0197] where since it is not operating as a purifier or being regenerated, not voltage is being applied).
As to claim 12, Kwon further discloses a flow volume sensor configured to detect flow volume of the water brought in ([0041]), wherein the controller is configured to, when flow volume of the sterilized water flowing out after the water is electrolyzed is equal to or larger than a reference flow volume, control the forward voltage not to be applied to the first electrolysis module of the plurality of electrolysis modules and control the forward voltage to be applied to the second electrolysis module of the plurality of electrolysis modules ([0041], [0110]-[0111]).
As to claim 15, Kwon discloses a water purifier comprising:
A first connection flow path through which water flows to the water purifier (Path from #110)
A second connection flow path through which water flows from the water purifier (path to #140)
A filter arranged along the first connection flow path to filter the water (#125)
a sterilized water generator (“water treatment apparatus” Title. Figs. 2-4) comprising
a water inlet pipe through which water flows to the sterilized water generator (#150 water supply pipe);
a water outlet pipe through which sterilized water flows from the sterilized water generator (#170 purified water pipe );
a plurality of electrolysis modules arranged in parallel to each other, along a flow path, between the water inlet pipe and the water outlet pipe, the plurality of electrolysis modules configured to electrolyze the water flowing through the water inlet pipe to produce the sterilized water (#s 121/122 “first electrochemical filter” “Second electrochemical filter” [0099]); and
a controller (#130) configured to while the water flowing through the water inlet pipe flows through the plurality of electrolysis modules to the water outlet pipe ([0101], [0087] “he control unit 130 may control the first electrochemical filter 121 to perform the water purifying operation when the second electrochemical filter 121 needs to be recycled.”
control a forward voltage not to be applied to a first electrolysis module of the plurality of electrolysis modules ([0085] “the control unit 130 may control the second electrochemical filter 122 to perform a water purifying operation when the first electrochemical filter 121 needs to be recycled” where the purifying applied a reverse voltage – [0009], [0126]),
control the forward voltage to be applied to a second electrolysis module of the plurality of electrolysis modules while the forward voltage is not applied to the first electrolysis modules of the plurality of electrolysis modules ([0093] “the control unit 130 may control the second electrochemical filter 122 to perform the water purifying operation when the first electrochemical filter 121 performs the recycling operation.),, and
rotate between changing between the control of the forward voltage not to be applied to the first electrolysis module while the control of the forward voltage is applied to the second electrolysis module ([0093] “In this case, when the recycling of the first electrochemical filter 121 has been completed, the control unit 130 may perform a filter switching operation such that the first electrochemical filter 121 performs the water purifying operation.”, [0073]-[0077],[0099], [0074] “The allowable water purification time and the recycling time of the electrochemical filter are preset, depending on the configuration of the electrochemical filter.”).
Kwon further discloses a sensor module configured to measure a condition of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe (#221 conductivity sensor which is a measure of the TDS thus satisfying the determination of instant claim 6 – [0120]), wherein the controller is configured to compare the amount of TDSs in the water flowing through the water inlet pipe with a reference concentration (measurement at #221 and compared with reference value from #222 – [0110], [0115]-[0116) determine a number of first electrolysis modules based on the condition of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe, and control the forward voltage not to be applied to the determined number of first electrolysis modules ([0115]-[0118] where the number of modules being determined is inherently 1 due to the explicit use of the first electrochemical filter and wherein the sensor module is configured to measure the magnitude of a current flowing in the water passing the plurality of electrolysis modules, and wherein the controller is configured to determine a number of the first electrolysis modules based on the magnitude of the current. (as required by instant claim 8 – “conductivity sensor” [0123], [0215]-[0217]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Hirota et al (US 2001/0004962 A1)
As to claim 7, Kwon discloses sensor module as cited above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sensor module is configured to measure water temperature of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe, and wherein the controller is configured to determine a number of the first electrolysis modules based on the water temperature of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe
Hirota discloses an electrolytic apparatus comprising wherein the sensor module is configured to measure water temperature of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe, and wherein the controller is configured to determine a number of the first electrolysis modules based on the water temperature of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe ([0029])
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used temperature sensor module as taught by Hirota in the apparatus of Kwon because it is possible to safely and most suitably sterilize the water in the ranges of the heat-resistant temperatures of the electrolytic tank and the water treating path ([0030]).
Claim 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakatani et al (JP 2002/028653 A).
As to claims 13 and 13, Kwon fails to explicitly disclose a display or notifier as instantly claimed associated with the controller.
Nakatani further discloses a display, wherein the controller is configured to control the display to display an indication of an electrolysis module required to be replaced among the plurality of electrolysis modules. (display unit 7 [0017] as required by instant claim 13) and a notifier, wherein the controller is configured to control the notifier to output an alarm indicating an electrolysis module causing a malfunction or fault among the plurality of electrolysis modules. ([0017] “alarm” as required by instant claim 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used an explicit display and notifier as disclosed in Nakatani with the controller of Kwon in order to display information with respect to the electrolysis modules and enable indication of a malfunction of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant provides a summary of the amended subject matter on pgs. 6-7 of the response.
In response to Applicant’s arguments on pg. 8 that Kwon does not disclose comparing the conductivity after the water sterilization, this argument is not persuasive because sensor #221 does perform the claimed TDS reading on the inlet water as confirmed by Applicant’s citation at pg. 8 lines 1-4 of the response. Applicant further alleges that Kwon does not disclose comparing the amount of TDS with a reference concentration. This argument is not persuasive as Kwon compares the values between sensors 221 and 222. Thus, in this instance, sensor 222 provides a reference value for which to compare the value from 221. This difference is necessarily a comparison between the two values absent further recitation as to the type of comparison or the like.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Kwon does not inherently determine a number of modules for use, this argument is not persuasive because upon determining to perform sterilization, Kwon inherently determines the one module as being used. The claims merely require “a number” be determined when a forward voltage is applied. When Kwon determines to apply the voltage, it is to one of the cells in parallel, regardless as to which one. Thus, absent further recitation as to how the number is determined, either formulaically or choosing two or more modules to apply the forward voltage, the recitation is deemed met.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Kwon does not disclose controlling the forward voltage no tot be applied to the determine number of first electrolysis modules, this argument is not persuasive because Kwon only applied the forward voltage to a singular module at one time, thereby rendering the other cell as not receiving the forward voltage.
No further arguments are presented.
Conclusion
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795