DETAILED ACTION
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 16 December 2025 fails to place the application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-8 and 10-16 are currently pending and under examination.
Status of Rejections
Previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are herein withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment field 6 August 2025.
Previous rejections of claims 10 and 11 are herein withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment filed 6 August 2025. New rejections are provided herein.
All previous rejections are herein maintained.
Claim Interpretation
As to claims 10, the recitation of “is configured to receive…weather information…wherein…determine…based on the weather information indicating a temperature” is interpreted under MPEP 2111.04 I so as to not further limit specific structural capability of a communication module. In other words, the recitation is deemed to recite type of information received which does not impart any particular differentiation to a communication module. For example, a wireless network adapter, i.e. communication module, has the ability to receive multiple types of information, where the adapter itself does not require particular configuration to received different types of data.
As to claims 11, the recitation of “is configured to receive…water quality information…wherein…increase…based on the water quality information indicating hard water” is interpreted under MPEP 2111.04 I so as to not further limit specific structural capability of a communication module. In other words, the recitation is deemed to recite type of information received which does not impart any particular differentiation to a communication module. For example, a wireless network adapter, i.e. communication module, has the ability to receive multiple types of information, where the adapter itself does not require particular configuration to received different types of data.
Any other interpretation would render the limitations unenabled as the instant disclosure lacks any description of particular differentiation of the configured limitations specific to outside environment, weather, or water quality as related to the environment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claim 10, the recitation “the controller is configured to…determine a number of the first electrolysis modules based on whether the temperature exceeds the reference temperature” is deemed to lack appropriate written description in accordance with MPEP 2161.01 I. The instant specification does not provide or describe in sufficient detail the algorithm used in ascertaining the required number of electrolysis modules dependent upon any outside weather information. The recitation of “weather information indicating a temperature” is so broad in terms performing the function, the instant specification is devoid of the control parameters in performing this determination. Particularly, the images and descriptions of associated limitations in the claim merely restate the function and thereby deemed to not be sufficient.
As to claim 11, the recitation “the controller is configured… when the water quality information indicates hard water, determine two of the plurality of electrolysis modules as the first electrolysis modules” is deemed to lack appropriate written description in accordance with MPEP 2161.01 I. The instant specification does not provide or describe in sufficient detail the algorithm used in ascertaining the required number of electrolysis modules dependent upon any outside water quality information. The recitation of “water quality information indicating hard water” is so broad in terms performing the function, the instant specification is devoid of the control parameters in performing this determination. Particularly, the images and descriptions of associated limitations in the claim merely restate the function and thereby deemed to not be sufficient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al (US 2013/0277222 A1).
As to claim 1, Kwon discloses a sterilized water generator (“water treatment apparatus” Title. Figs. 2-4) comprising:
a water inlet pipe through which water flows to the sterilized water generator (#150 water supply pipe);
a water outlet pipe through which sterilized water flows from the sterilized water generator (#170 purified water pipe );
a plurality of electrolysis modules arranged in parallel to each other, along a flow path, between the water inlet pipe and the water outlet pipe, the plurality of electrolysis modules configured to electrolyze the water flowing through the water inlet pipe to produce the sterilized water (#s 121/122 “first electrochemical filter” “Second electrochemical filter” [0099]); and
a controller (#130) configured to while the water flowing through the water inlet pipe flows through the plurality of electrolysis modules to the water outlet pipe ([0101], [0087] “he control unit 130 may control the first electrochemical filter 121 to perform the water purifying operation when the second electrochemical filter 121 needs to be recycled.”
control a forward voltage not to be applied to a first electrolysis module of the plurality of electrolysis modules ([0085] “the control unit 130 may control the second electrochemical filter 122 to perform a water purifying operation when the first electrochemical filter 121 needs to be recycled” where the purifying applied a reverse voltage – [0009], [0126]),
control the forward voltage to be applied to a second electrolysis module of the plurality of electrolysis modules while the forward voltage is not applied to the first electrolysis modules of the plurality of electrolysis modules ([0093] “the control unit 130 may control the second electrochemical filter 122 to perform the water purifying operation when the first electrochemical filter 121 performs the recycling operation.),, and
rotate between chanting between the control of the forward voltage not to be applied to the first electrolysis module while the control of the forward voltage is applied to the second electrolysis module ([0093] “In this case, when the recycling of the first electrochemical filter 121 has been completed, the control unit 130 may perform a filter switching operation such that the first electrochemical filter 121 performs the water purifying operation.”, [0073]-[0077],[0099], [0074] “The allowable water purification time and the recycling time of the electrochemical filter are preset, depending on the configuration of the electrochemical filter.”).
As to claim 2, Kwon further discloses wherein the controller is configured to control a reverse voltage so that the reverse voltage is applied to an electrode of the first electrolysis module. ([0085], [0009],[0126]).
As to claim 3, Kwon further discloses wherein the controller is configured to control a voltage so that the voltage is not applied to an electrode of the first electrolysis module. (“idle state” [0197] where since it is not operating as a purifier or being regenerated, not voltage is being applied).
As to claims 5, 6, and 8, Kwon further discloses a sensor module configured to measure a condition of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe (#221 conductivity sensor which is a measure of the TDS thus satisfying the determination of instant claim 6 – [0120]), wherein the controller is configured to determine a number of first electrolysis modules based on the condition of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe, and control the forward voltage not to be applied to the determined number of first electrolysis modules ([0115]-[0118] where the number of modules being determined is inherently 1 due to the explicit use of the first electrochemical filter and wherein the sensor module is configured to measure the magnitude of a current flowing in the water passing the plurality of electrolysis modules, and wherein the controller is configured to determine a number of the first electrolysis modules based on the magnitude of the current. (as required by instant claim 8 – “conductivity sensor” [0123], [0215]-[0217]).
As to claim 12, Kwon further discloses a flow volume sensor configured to detect flow volume of the water brought in ([0041]), wherein the controller is configured to, when flow volume of the sterilized water flowing out after the water is electrolyzed is equal to or larger than a reference flow volume, control the forward voltage not to be applied to the first electrolysis module of the plurality of electrolysis modules and control the forward voltage to be applied to the second electrolysis module of the plurality of electrolysis modules ([0041], [0110]-[0111]).
As to claim 15, Kwon discloses a water purifier comprising:
A first connection flow path through which water flows to the water purifier (Path from #110)
A second connection flow path through which water flows from the water purifier (path to #140)
A filter arranged along the first connection flow path to filter the water (#125)
a sterilized water generator (“water treatment apparatus” Title. Figs. 2-4) comprising
a water inlet pipe through which water flows to the sterilized water generator (#150 water supply pipe);
a water outlet pipe through which sterilized water flows from the sterilized water generator (#170 purified water pipe );
a plurality of electrolysis modules arranged in parallel to each other, along a flow path, between the water inlet pipe and the water outlet pipe, the plurality of electrolysis modules configured to electrolyze the water flowing through the water inlet pipe to produce the sterilized water (#s 121/122 “first electrochemical filter” “Second electrochemical filter” [0099]); and
a controller (#130) configured to while the water flowing through the water inlet pipe flows through the plurality of electrolysis modules to the water outlet pipe ([0101], [0087] “he control unit 130 may control the first electrochemical filter 121 to perform the water purifying operation when the second electrochemical filter 121 needs to be recycled.”
control a forward voltage not to be applied to a first electrolysis module of the plurality of electrolysis modules ([0085] “the control unit 130 may control the second electrochemical filter 122 to perform a water purifying operation when the first electrochemical filter 121 needs to be recycled” where the purifying applied a reverse voltage – [0009], [0126]),
control the forward voltage to be applied to a second electrolysis module of the plurality of electrolysis modules while the forward voltage is not applied to the first electrolysis modules of the plurality of electrolysis modules ([0093] “the control unit 130 may control the second electrochemical filter 122 to perform the water purifying operation when the first electrochemical filter 121 performs the recycling operation.),, and
rotate between changing between the control of the forward voltage not to be applied to the first electrolysis module while the control of the forward voltage is applied to the second electrolysis module ([0093] “In this case, when the recycling of the first electrochemical filter 121 has been completed, the control unit 130 may perform a filter switching operation such that the first electrochemical filter 121 performs the water purifying operation.”, [0073]-[0077],[0099], [0074] “The allowable water purification time and the recycling time of the electrochemical filter are preset, depending on the configuration of the electrochemical filter.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Hirota et al (US 2001/0004962 A1)
As to claim 7, Kwon discloses sensor module as cited above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sensor module is configured to measure water temperature of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe, and wherein the controller is configured to determine a number of the first electrolysis modules based on the water temperature of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe
Hirota discloses an electrolytic apparatus comprising wherein the sensor module is configured to measure water temperature of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe, and wherein the controller is configured to determine a number of the first electrolysis modules based on the water temperature of the water flowing through the water inlet pipe ([0029])
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used temperature sensor module as taught by Hirota in the apparatus of Kwon because it is possible to safely and most suitably sterilize the water in the ranges of the heat-resistant temperatures of the electrolytic tank and the water treating path ([0030]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Sasaki et al (US 2023/0392271 A1)
As to claim 9 , Kwon fails to explicitly disclose a communication module configured to receive outside environment information from a server corresponding to an outside environment of the sterilized water generator from, wherein the controller is configured to determine a quantity of the first electrolysis modules based whether the received outside environment information indicates a favorable condition for electrolysis, and control the forward voltage not to be applied to the determined number of first electrolysis modules.
Sasaki discloses an electrolytic apparatus (Abstract) comprising a communication module configured to receive outside environment information from a server (#2222 Fig. 29), wherein the controller is configured to determine a number of the first electrolysis modules based on the outside environment information, and control the forward voltage not to be applied to the determined number of first electrolysis modules.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a communication module as taught by Sasaki in the apparatus of Kwon because it is enables networking control of the electrolysis apparatus (Sasaki [0181]).
Claim 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakatani et al (JP 2002/028653 A).
As to claims 13 and 13, Kwon fails to explicitly disclose a display or notifier as instantly claimed associated with the controller.
Nakatani further discloses a display, wherein the controller is configured to control the display to display an indication of an electrolysis module required to be replaced among the plurality of electrolysis modules. (display unit 7 [0017] as required by instant claim 13) and a notifier, wherein the controller is configured to control the notifier to output an alarm indicating an electrolysis module causing a malfunction or fault among the plurality of electrolysis modules. ([0017] “alarm” as required by instant claim 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used an explicit display and notifier as disclosed in Nakatani with the controller of Kwon in order to display information with respect to the electrolysis modules and enable indication of a malfunction of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Kwon “simply describes initiating the next purification cycle based on the completion of a specific operation,” and thus not tantamount to changing according to the passage of time, this argument is not persuasive because the cycles are explicitly tied to specific time domains in carrying out each electrolysis and recycling times ([0074] for example). Applicant further cites to instant Figs. 5 and 6 as showing a different process from Kwon. This argument is not persuasive as the process is the same as Kwon, that for a defined period of time, a cell is applied with a forward voltage and another cell with a reverse voltage, and thus switched after a defined period of time. The instant claims do not cite any particular method or specific determination method as to when to change, evaluation that goes into the determination, or the like, outside a description of an elapsed period of time.
No further arguments are presented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795