DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 was filed in this application after appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, but prior to a decision on the appeal. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the appeal has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114 and prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on 12/1/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-9 remain pending in the present application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the fastening ring engages the shelf of the first end of the second column portion” in Claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Applicant’s figure 2 appears to show the shelf and the fastening ring but not the engagement between the two as required by the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. Cl. 1, the limitation “a circular recess and a shelf” in Line 13 renders the claim indefinite in the Examiner’s position. Applicant’s specification and figures appear to indicate that the circular recess and shelf are part of the same structure or are one in the same structure. Specifically, Applicant’s specification in Paragraph 0047 states that “the male end 22 also includes a shelf 25 which, in the embodiment shown, is a circular recess in the male end.” Also as seen in Fig. 2, the portion where reference character (25) points to appears to be both a “shelf” and “circular recess.” Therefore, the limitation in claim 1 appears to require two separate structures which is indefinite in view of Applicant’s disclosure. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will treat the structures to be one and the same. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collin US 2008/0190630 (hereinafter Collin) in view of Dean US 6626605 (hereinafter Dean) in view of Sargent US 2011/0312437 (hereinafter Sargent) in view of Matievich US 3777358 (hereinafter Matievich).
Re. Cl. 1, Collin discloses: A locking assembly (Fig. 3) comprising: a first column portion (2b, Fig. 3) having an inner surface and a hollow interior (see Fig. 3); an insert (18, Fig. 3) secured within an end portion of the first column portion (see Fig. 3-5, 18 is welded into 2b), the insert having a first end which is solid contained within the first column portion (see Fig. 3-5), a threaded channel (22, Fig. 3) passing through the solid end (see Fig. 3-5), an inner cavity (21, Fig. 3), and a second end which opens to the inner cavity (see Fig. 3); a second column portion (10, Fig. 3-4) having a main body and a first end (see Fig. 3-4), the first end having a non- circular cross-section (see Fig. 3-4) corresponding to that of the inner cavity of the insert (see Fig. 3-5, the first end corresponds to the inner cavity as being aligned with it), wherein the first end is slidingly but not rotatably engaged with the inner cavity of the insert (see Fig. 2-3, via 11 and 12), the second column portion further having a channel through the first end (see Fig. 3-5, 14), the channel being coaxial with the threaded channel of the insert (see Fig. 5); and a fastening rod (23, Fig. 3) having a threaded end (see Fig. 3-5, end which engages 22), wherein the fastening rod passes through the channel of the second column portion and engages the threaded channel of the insert (see Fig. 5).
Re. Cl. 4, Collin discloses: the non-circular cross-section of the first end of the second column is selected from square, rectangular, triangular, and polygonal (see Fig. 3-4).
Re. Cl. 7, Collin discloses: the first column portion has an outer diameter which is the same as an outer diameter of the main body of the second column portion (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 1 and 3, Collin discloses that the insert is welded to the first column (see Fig. 5, through 19) not disclose the hollow interior with a generally circular cross-section along a length of the first column portion and a guiding protuberance on the inner surface; the insert having an outer surface with a channel corresponding to the guiding protuberance, wherein the inner cavity has a non-circular cross-section, the first end further having a circular recess and a shelf, wherein the fastening rod further including a fastening ring adjacent the threaded end, wherein the fastening ring secured to the fastening rod by engagement with a groove, wherein the fastening rod engages the shelf of the first end of the second column portion (Cl. 1), the fastening ring has external dimensions greater than those of the channel of the second column portion (Cl. 2), the non-circular cross-section of the inner cavity of the insert is selected from square, rectangular, triangular, and polygonal (Cl. 3). Dean discloses a locking assembly (Fig. 3) which includes a first column portion (12, Fig. 3) and an insert (16, Fig. 3) which fits within the first column portion (see Fig. 3). Re. Cl. 1, Dean discloses the first column portion having a hollow interior with a general circular cross section (see Fig. 3) having a guiding protuberance (24, Fig. 5) on the inner surface (see Fig. 5); the insert having an outer surface with a channel (42, Fig. 4-5) corresponding to the guiding protuberance (see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the welded connection between insert and first column of Collin with the protuberance and channel configuration of Dean with reasonable expectation of success since Dean states that such a modification provides a snap-fit and positive engagement which helps provide a more reliable and stronger connection (Col. 3, Lines 50-54). Such a modification would also provide a quicker assembly since the user would not be required to use tools to assemble the device.
Re. Cls. 1 and 3, Collin discloses that the sections (11 and 12) provide a torsion resistance configuration between the column parts and that other configurations can be used to provide the same torsion resistance (Paragraph 0027, Lines 1-13). Collin in view of Dean does not disclose the hollow interior with a generally circular cross-section along a length of the first column portion and a guiding protuberance on the inner surface; the insert having an outer surface with a channel corresponding to the guiding protuberance, wherein the inner cavity has a non-circular cross-section, the first end further having a circular recess and a shelf, wherein the fastening rod further including a fastening ring adjacent the threaded end, wherein the fastening ring secured to the fastening rod by engagement with a groove, wherein the fastening rod engages the shelf of the first end of the second column portion (Cl. 1), the fastening ring has external dimensions greater than those of the channel of the second column portion (Cl. 2), the non-circular cross-section of the inner cavity of the insert is selected from square, rectangular, triangular, and polygonal (Cl. 3). Sargent discloses a locking assembly (Fig. 3) between a first column portion (330) and a second column portion (100), the first column portion including an insert (200, Fig. 3) and having a hollow interior with a generally circular cross-section along a length of the first column portion (see Fig. 3), the insert having an inner cavity which has a non-circular cross-section (see 200, Fig. 3 and 11-14 and Paragraph 0163, Lines 17-21). Re. Cls. 3-4, Sargent discloses disclose the non-circular cross-section of the inner cavity of the insert is selected from square, rectangular, triangular, and polygonal and the non-circular cross-section of the first end of the second column is selected from square, rectangular, triangular, and polygonal (Paragraph 0163, Lines 17-21). Re. Cl. 7, Sargent also discloses that the first column portion and second column portion have outer diameters which are the same (see Fig. 2-3, outer dimensions of 330 match the outer dimensions of 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the configuration (11 and 12) of Collin with the inner cavity being non-circular mating with a corresponding non-circular shaped portion of the first end of the second column as disclosed by Sargent with reasonable expectation of success since it has been held to be obvious to replace one known means with another to achieve the predictable result of preventing relative rotation. KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second columns of Collin to have circular cross sections as disclosed by Sargent with reasonable expectation of success since it has been held to be an obvious matter of choice to change the shape of a device absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed configuration. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Re. Cls. 1-2, the combination discussed above does not disclose the first end further having a circular recess and a shelf, wherein the fastening rod further including a fastening ring adjacent the threaded end, wherein the fastening ring secured to the fastening rod by engagement with a groove, wherein the fastening rod engages the shelf of the first end of the second column portion (Cl. 1), the fastening ring has external dimensions greater than those of the channel of the second column portion (Cl. 2). Matievich discloses a locking assembly (Fig. 1-2) between a first portion and a second portion (10, 12, Fig. 1-2) which includes a first end having a circular recess (see end with recess 16, Fig. 1) and a shelf (see 16, Fig. 1), and a fastening rod (28, Fig. 1-2) which includes a fastening ring (38, Fig. 1) adjacent a threaded end (see 34, Fig. 1-2), wherein the fastening ring secured to the fastening rod by engagement with a groove (see Fig. 3, groove configuration 36, Col. 2, Lines 50-67), wherein the fastening rod engages the shelf of the first end of the second column portion (see Fig. 2). Re. Cl. 2, Matievich discloses that the fastening ring has external dimensions greater than those of the channel (see Fig. 1-2, external dimensions of 38 is greater than channel through 10 which 28 extends).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Collin device to include the circular recess and fastening ring of Matievich with reasonable expectation of success since Matievich states that such a modification prevents withdrawal of the fastener (Col. 2, Lines 44-49).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collin in view of Dean in view of Sargent in view of Matievich as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Macphee US 2016/0256992 (hereinafter Macphee).
Re. Cls. 5-6, Sargent discloses the use of corresponding or matching shapes including polygons but does not explicitly disclose that the polygons are squares. Macphee discloses that it is known to use matching shapes between mated parts to prevent relative rotation (see shape of 5/6 and 2, Fig. 1-3). Macphee discloses that the matching shapes are square (Paragraph 0025, Lines 14-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the matching shapes of Sargent to be square as disclosed by Macphee with reasonable expectation of success since Macphee states that such a modification prevents relative rotation (Paragraph 0025, Lines 14-16).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatani US 5746407 in view of Collin in view of Dean in view of Sargent in view of Matievich.
Re. Cl. 8, Nakatani discloses: A stationary platform (Fig. 4) comprising a central column (3, Fig. 4), the central column comprising a locking assembly (see Fig. 2, Fig. 6-7, or Fig. 9-10).
Re. Cl. 8, Nakatani discloses: the stationary platform is a tripod (see Fig. 4).
Re. Cl. 8, Nakatani does not disclose the locking assembly of claim 1. As discussed above, the combination of Collin in view of Dean in view of Sargent discloses a locking assembly of claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the locking assembly of Nakatani with the locking assembly of Collin in view of Dean in view of Sargent since it has been held obvious to replace one known means with another to achieve the predictable result of securing first and second column portions together. KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re. Applicant’s argument that the amendment made to claim 1 overcomes the prior art combination presented by the Examiner in the most recent office action, the Examiner disagrees. As set forth above, it is the Examiner’s position that Matievich still discloses what has been amended into claim 1. Applicant does not explicitly point out what structures required by the claims Matievich lacks. Since it is the Examiner’s position Matievich discloses Applicant’s claimed structure, Applicant’s argument has been considered but is not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bayley US 2862738, Chen US 8298633, Larkin US 3736010, Wu US 6692180 and Wu US 6669395 disclose other known guidance protuberance connections between a column and an insert which are presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632