DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 6/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-9 remain pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsan US 2010/0259041 (hereinafter Tsan) in view of Dean US 6626605 (hereinafter Dean) in view of Matievich US 3777358 (hereinafter Matievich).
Re. Cl. 1, Tsan discloses: A locking assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: a first column portion (3, Fig. 1) having an inner surface (see Fig. 1-2) and a hollow interior (see 31, Fig. 2) with a generally circular cross-section along a length of the first column portion (see Fig. 1-2) and a guiding protuberance on the inner surface (32, Fig. 2); an insert (4, Fig. 1-2) having an outer surface (see Fig. 2), the insert having a first end which is solid contained within the first column portion (see Fig. 2), a threaded channel (42, Fig. 2) passing through the solid end (see Fig. 2), an inner cavity (41, Fig. 2), and a second end which opens to the inner cavity (see Fig. 2, end which opens to 41); wherein the inner cavity has a non-circular cross-section (see Fig. 2, the cross-section of 41 as shown has a tapered and non-circular shape); a second column portion (1, Fig. 2) having a main body (see Fig. 2) and a first end (see end with 2, Fig. 2), the first end having a non- circular cross-section (see taper of portion 21 which is non-circular in cross section) corresponding to that of the inner cavity of the insert (see Fig. 3), wherein the first end is slidingly (see Fig. 1-3, sliding 21 into 41) but not rotatably engaged with the inner cavity of the insert (see Fig. 3, when tightened using 22 and 42, the portions 2 and 4 are not rotatably engaged), the second column portion further having a channel through the first end (see Fig. 2, where 22 penetrates 21), the channel being coaxial with the threaded channel of the insert (see Fig. 2-3); and a fastening rod (22, Fig. 2) having a threaded end (see Fig. 2), wherein the fastening rod passes through the channel of the second column portion and engages the threaded channel of the insert (see Fig. 3).
Re. Cl. 3, Tsan discloses: the non-circular cross-section of the inner cavity of the insert is selected from square, rectangular, triangular, and polygonal (see Fig. 2, the portion of 4 which extends from 41 down towards 42 is formed a tapering in a truncated triangular fashion and then has a polygonal section between 41 and 42).
Re. Cl. 4, Tsan discloses: the non-circular cross-section of the first end of the second column portion is selected from square, rectangular, triangular (see Fig. 2, the portion 21 is tapered in a truncated triangular shape), and polygonal.
Re. Cl. 7, Tsan discloses: the first column portion has an outer diameter which is the same as an outer diameter of the main body of the second column portion (see Fig. 3, the outer diameter of 1 is the same at 3).
Re. Cl. 1, Tsan does not disclose the insert with a channel corresponding to the guiding protuberance, or wherein the fastening rod further includes a fastening ring adjacent the threaded end, wherein the fastening ring has external dimensions greater than those of the channel of the second column portion. Dean discloses a locking assembly (Fig. 3) which includes a first column portion (12, Fig. 3) and an insert (16, Fig. 3) which fits within the first column portion (see Fig. 3). Re. CI. 1, Dean discloses the first column portion having a hollow interior having a guiding protuberance (24, Fig. 5) on the inner surface (see Fig. 5); the insert having an outer surface with a channel (42, Fig. 4-5) corresponding to the guiding protuberance (see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the protuberance of Tsan with the protuberance and channel configuration of Dean with reasonable expectation of success since Dean states that such a modification provides a snap-fit and positive engagement which helps provide a more reliable and stronger connection (Col. 3, Lines 50-54).
Re. Cl. 1, Tsan does not specifically and clearly disclose how the connection is carried out other than disclosing that somehow fastener (22) is threaded into opening (42). Therefore, Tsan in view of Dean does not disclose wherein the fastening rod further includes a fastening ring adjacent the threaded end, wherein the fastening ring has external dimensions greater than those of the channel of the second column portion. Matievich discloses a locking assembly (Fig. 1-2) between a first portion and a second portion (10, 12, Fig. 1-2); wherein the second portion having a channel through its first end (see 14, Fig. 1-2), and an insert (20, Fig. 1) including a threaded channel (26, Fig. 1-2), the locking assembly further including a fastening rod (28, Fig. 1-2) which passes through the channel of the second portion and engages the threaded channel of the insert (see Fig. 1-2), wherein the fastening rod includes a fastening ring (38, Fig. 1) adjacent the threaded end (see 34, Fig. 1-2), wherein the fastening ring has external dimensions greater than those of the channel (see Fig. 1-2, external dimensions of 38 is greater than channel through 10 which 28 extends).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Tsan device to include the fastener and fastening ring of Matievich with reasonable expectation of success since Matievich states that such a modification prevents withdrawal of the fastener (Col. 2, Lines 44-49).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsan in view of Dean in view of Matievich as applied above, and further in view of Macphee US 2016/0256992 (hereinafter Macphee).
Re. Cls. 5-6, Tsan discloses the use of corresponding or matching shapes but does not explicitly disclose that the polygons are squares. Macphee discloses that it is known to use matching shapes between mated parts to prevent relative rotation (see shape of 5/6 and 2, Fig. 1-3). Macphee discloses that the matching shapes are square (Paragraph 0025, Lines 14-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the matching shapes of Tsan to be square as disclosed by Macphee with reasonable expectation of success since Macphee states that such a modification prevents relative rotation (Paragraph 0025, Lines 14-16). Such a modification would hold the parts relative to one another so that the fastener can be properly inserted and tightened.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatani US 5746407 in view of Tsan in view of Dean in view of Matievich.
Re. Cl. 8, Nakatani discloses: A stationary platform (Fig. 4) comprising a central column (3, Fig. 4), the central column comprising a locking assembly (see Fig. 2, Fig. 6-7, or Fig. 9-10).
Re. Cl. 9, Nakatani discloses: the stationary platform is a tripod (see Fig. 4).
Re. Cl. 8, Nakatani does not disclose the locking assembly of claim 1. As discussed above, the combination of Tsan in view of Dean in view of Matievich discloses a locking assembly of claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the locking assembly of Nakatani with the locking assembly of Tsan in view of Dean in view of Matievich since it has been held obvious to replace one known means with another to achieve the predictable result of securing first and second column portions together. KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bayley US 2862738, Chen US 8298633, Larkin US 3736010, Wu US 6692180 and Wu US 6669395 disclose other known guidance protuberance connections between a column and an insert which are presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632