DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Previous action: claims 1 through 11 and 13 through 16 rejected, claim 12 cancelled, claims 17 through 20 non-elected.
Present action: claims 1 through 11 and 13 through 16 rejected, claim 12 cancelled, claims 17 through 20 non-elected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized and struck through claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0355637) in view of Park (US 2020/0381368).
Regarding claim 1.
Chen teaches:
A microelectronic assembly, comprising:
a stack of layers comprising dies (fig 2,8d:201; [para 0023]), adjacent layers being coupled by at least fusion bonds (fig 8c; [para 0059]);
a package substrate (fig 2,8d:101; [para 0023]) coupled to a first layer (fig 2,8d:2034,1134; [para 0023]) in the stack of layers (fig 2,8d:201; [para 0023]); one or more dummy dies (fig 2,8d:2034; [para 0023]) and one or more integrated circuit (IC) dies (fig 2,8d:1134; [para 0023]) in the first layer (fig 2,8d:2034,1134; [para 0023]);
and one or more dummy dies (fig 2,8d:2033; [para 0023]) and one or more IC dies (fig 2,8d:1133; [para 0023]) in a second layer (fig 2,8d:1133,2033; [para 0023]) in the stack of layers (fig 2,8d:201; [para 0023]), the one or more IC dies (fig 2,8d:1133; [para 0023]) of the second layer (fig 2,8d:1133,2033; [para 0023]) coupled to the one or more IC dies (fig 2,8d:1134; [para 0023]) of the first layer (fig 2,8d:2034,1134; [para 0023]) by metal-to-metal bonds (fig 7e:0050,0028]),
wherein: alining (fig 2,8d:1171-4; [para 0023]) is between adjacent surfaces of any two adjacent dies in at least one of the first layer (fig 2,8d:2034,1134; [para 0023]) and the second layer (fig 2,8d:1133,2033; [para 0023]), and the lining (fig 2,8d:1171-4; [para 0023]) contacts and substantially covers the adjacent surfaces, and the adjacent surfaces of the any two adjacent dies are separated by a gap filled with the lining (fig 2,8d:1171-4; [para 0023]).
Chen does not teach a copper lining
Park teaches:
a copper lining (fig 2f:300L; [para 0043]) is between adjacent surfaces of any two adjacent dies (fig 2d:200; [para 0042]) in at least one of the first layer (fig 2f; [para 0024]), and the copper lining (fig 2f:300l; [para 0043]) contacts and substantially covers the adjacent surfaces (fig 2f; [para 0043]), and the adjacent surfaces of the any two adjacent dies are separated by a gap filled with the copper lining (fig 2f:300l; [para 0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the filing date of the claimed invention to fill the gaps in Chen with copper as is taught by Park in order to improve the electromagnetic protection of the device.
Regarding claim 3.
Chen in view of Park teaches the microelectronic assembly of claim 1, further
Chen teaches:
the fusion bonds comprise oxide (fig 7d,7e:7031; [para 0032,0049)]-oxide (fig 7d,7e:501; [para 0032,0034]) bonds.
Regarding claim 4.
Chen in view of Park teaches the microelectronic assembly of claim 1, further
Chen teaches:
the dummy dies are one of: semiconductor dies without any ICs, and semiconductor dies (fig 2,8d:2031-4; [para 0023]) having non-functional ICs, and the IC dies (fig 2,8d:1131-4; [para 0023]) comprise semiconductor dies having functional ICs.
Regarding claim 5.
Chen in view of Park teaches the microelectronic assembly of claim 4, further
Chen teaches:
each of the IC dies (fig 2,8d:1131-4; [para 0023]) comprises a substrate (fig 4b:405; [para 0027]) and a metallization stack (fig 4b:407; [para 0027]), an active region (fig 4b; [para 0029]) is between the substrate (fig 4b:405; [para 0027]) and the metallization stack (fig 4b:407; [para 0027]), and the metallization stack (fig 4b:407; [para 0027]) comprises a plurality of layers of interlayer dielectric (ILD) material (fig 4b:411; [para 0030]) and conductive traces (fig 4b:413; [para 0030]) connected by conductive vias (fig 4b:413; [para 0030]) through the ILD material (fig 4b:411; [para 0030]).
Regarding claim 6.
Chen in view of Park teaches the microelectronic assembly of claim 4, further
Chen teaches:
a subset of the dummy dies (fig 2,8d:2031-4; [para 0023,0065]) is proximate to a peripheral region of the microelectronic assembly (annotated figure).
Regarding claim 7.
Chen in view of Park teaches the microelectronic assembly of claim 6, further
Chen teaches:
another subset of the dummy dies (fig 2,8d:2031-4; [para 0023,0065]) is in a medial region of the microelectronic assembly (annotated figure above).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0355637) in view of Park (US 2020/0381368) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Lee (US 2017/0025361).
Regarding claim 2.
Chen in view of Park teaches the microelectronic assembly of claim 1, above
Chen in view of Park does not teach the copper lining is approximately 10 micrometers wide.
Lee teaches:
a copper lining that is approximately 10 microns wide (fig 5; [para 0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the copper lining 10 microns wide in order to provide a sufficient electromagnetic shield (paragraph 6).
Further, given the teaching of the references, it would have been obvious to determine the optimum lining thicknesses. See In re Aller, Lacey and Hall (10 USPQ 233-237) It is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575,1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0355637) in view of Park (US 2020/0381368) as applied to claim 7 and further in view of Hsieh (US 2022/0285289)
Regarding claim 8.
Chen in view of Park teaches the microelectronic assembly of claim 7, above
Chen in view of Park does not teach the spacing between die.
Hsieh teaches:
the dummy dies (fig 3b:1320a; [para 0041]) in the another subset are located between two IC dies (fig 3b:1200a,c; [para 0041]) that are spaced (fig 3b:G1; [para 0041]) at least 500 micrometers apart (fig 3b; [para 0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place dummy die in spaces between stacks of die in order to minimize vacancy space and thereby reduce warpage (paragraph 44).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0355637) in view of Park (US 2020/0381368) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Teshiba (US 2018/0175476)
Regarding claim 9
Chen in view of Park teaches the microelectronic assembly of claim 1, above
Chen in view of Park does not teach metal bond pads.
Teshiba teaches:
metal-metal bonds (fig 4:412a,c; [para 0027]) have a pitch of less than 10 micrometers between adjacent ones of the metal-metal bonds (fig 4; [para 0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the metal bond pitch to be less than 10 microns in order to have a high connection density which will increase the amount of data that can be transferred between die.
Claim(s) 10, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0355637) in view of Park (US 2020/0381368) in view of Yang (US 2022/0045034).
Regarding claim 10.
Chen teaches:
An IC package, comprising: a first layer comprising a first plurality of dies (fig 2,8d:2034,1134; [para 0023]) comprising one or more dummy dies (fig 2,8d:2034; [para 0023]) and one or more integrated circuit (IC) dies (fig 2,8d:1134; [para 0023]);
a second layer comprising a second plurality of dies (fig 2,8d:1133,2033; [para 0023]) comprising one or more dummy dies (fig 2,8d:2033; [para 0023]) and one or more integrated circuit (IC) dies (fig 2,8d:1133; [para 0023]), wherein the first (fig 2,8d:2034,1134; [para 0023]) and second (fig 2,8d:1133,2033; [para 0023]) layers are bonded by at least fusion bonds (fig 8c; [para 0059]) and the one or more IC dies (fig 2,8d:1134; [para 0023]) of the first layer (fig 2,8d:2034,1134; [para 0023]) are coupled to the one or more IC dies (fig 2,8d:1133; [para 0023]) of the second layer (fig 2,8d:1133,2033; [para 0023]) by metal-to-metal bonds (fig 7e; [para 0050,0028]);
and a package substrate (fig 2,8d:101; [para 0023]) coupled to the first plurality of dies (fig 2,8d:2034,1134; [para 0023]), wherein: the first plurality of dies (fig 2,8d:2034,1134; [para 0023]) is between the second plurality of dies (fig 2,8d:1133,2033; [para 0023]) and the package substrate (fig 2,8d:101; [para 0023]), a lining (fig 2,8d:1171-4; [para 0023]) is between adjacent surfaces of any two adjacent dies in the first plurality of dies (fig 2,8d:2034,1134; [para 0023]) or the second plurality of dies (fig 2,8d:1133,2033; [para 0023]), and the lining (fig 2,8d:1171-4; [para 0023]) contacts and substantially covers the adjacent surfaces, and the adjacent surfaces of the any two adjacent dies are separated by a gap filled with the lining (fig 2,8d:1171-4; [para 0023]).
Chen does not teach that the lining comprises copper
Park teaches:
a copper lining (fig 2f:300L; [para 0043]) is between adjacent surfaces of any two adjacent dies (fig 2d:200; [para 0042]) in the first plurality of dies, and the copper lining (fig 2f:300L; [para 0043]) contacts and substantially covers the adjacent surfaces, and the adjacent surfaces of the any two adjacent dies (fig 2d:200; [para 0042]) are separated by a gap filled with the copper lining (fig 2f:300L; [para 0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the filing date of the claimed invention to fill the gaps in Chen with copper as is taught by Park in order to improve the electromagnetic protection of the device.
Chen does not teach bonding die face to face.
Yang teaches:
an IC package comprising a plurality of die wherein the first (fig 1:116; [para 0026]) and second (fig 1:120; [para 0026]) layers are bonded face to face (fig 1; [para 0026])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bond die face to face in order to enable more IO connections and thinner die (Yang; [para 0064]).
Regarding claim 11.
Chen in view of Park in view of Yang teaches the IC package of claim 10, further
Chen teaches:
the dummy dies are one of: semiconductor dies without any integrated circuits, and semiconductor dies (fig 2,8d:2031-2034; [para 0023]) having non-functional integrated circuits, and the IC dies (fig 2,8d:1131-4; [para 0023]) comprise semiconductor dies with functional integrated circuits.
Regarding claim 14.
Chen in view of Park in view of Yang teaches the IC package of claim 10, further
Chen teaches:
more than one die (fig 2,8d:1131-1133; [para 0023]) in the second plurality of dies is coupled to one of the dies (fig 2,8d:1134; [para 0023]) in the first plurality of dies.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0355637) in view of Park (US 2020/0381368) in view of Yang (US 2022/0045034) as applied to claim 11 and further in view of Yu (US 2021/0327778)
Regarding claim 13,
Chen in view of Park in view of Yang teaches the IC package of claim 11, above.
Chen in view of Park in view of Yang teaches does not teach first and second of a second plurality dies coupled on a first die
Yu teaches:
wherein: a first subset in the second plurality of dies comprises IC dies (fig 12:68; [para 0019]), the IC dies in the first subset are coupled to a medial region of one of the dies in the first plurality of dies (fig 12:96; [para 0020]), and a second subset in the second plurality of dies (fig 12:68; [para 0019]) comprises dummy dies (fig 12:106; [para 0038]) coupled to a peripheral region of the one of the dies in the first plurality of dies (fig 12:96; [para 0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bond dummy die and IC die to a first IC die in order to provide for greater variability in die size and related die function in the stacked arrangement of die.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0355637) in view of Park (US 2020/0381368) in view of Yang (US 2022/0045034) as applied to claim 10 and further in view of Hsieh (US 2022/0285289) in view of Agarwal (US 2019/0189590)
Regarding claim 15.
Chen in view of Park in view of Yang teaches the IC package of claim 10, above.
Chen in view of Park in view of Yang does not teach the spacing between die.
Hsieh teaches:
dies in the first plurality of dies or the second plurality of dies and a dummy die (fig 3a,3b:1320A; [para 0041]) is located in any space (fig 3b:G1,G2; [para 0041]) larger than approximately 500 micrometers between adjacent IC dies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place dummy die in spaces in order to minimize vacancy space and thereby reduce warpage (paragraph 44).
Chen in view of Park in view of Yang does not teach the spacing between the first and second plurality of dies is less than 10 microns.
Agarwal teaches:
dies in the first plurality of dies (fig 2,6:265,280,22; [para 0036]) or the second plurality of dies are not more than [40] micrometers apart (; [para 0034])
Given the teaching of the references, it would have been obvious to determine the optimum spacing of die to be not more than 10 microns. See In re Aller, Lacey and Hall (10 USPQ 233-237) It is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575,1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0355637) in view of Park (US 2020/0381368) in view of Yang (US 2022/0045034) as applied to claim 10 and further in view of Doan (US 2005/0167799)
Regarding claim 16.
Chen in view of Park in view of Yang teaches the IC package of claim 10, above.
Park teaches:
surfaces of the dies (fig 2d:200; [para 0042]) in contact with the copper lining (fig 2f:300L; [para 0043]).
Chen in view of Park in view of Yang does not teach a die coating comprising silicon and nitrogen.
Doan teaches:
surfaces of the dies (fig 9:102; [para 0030]) have a coating (fig 9,10:130,142; [para 0029,0043]) of a compound comprising silicon and nitrogen (; [para 0007])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the die with a coating of silicon nitride in order to seal the die from moisture and contamination (paragraph 7)
Conclusion
/D.J.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817