DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Li et al. 20220100302 applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 20 recites “wherein each of the first through-parts and the second through-parts is entirely surrounded by the substrate” is new matter not supported by the applicant specification and drawings.
Applicant fig. 6 does not disclose “wherein each of the first through-parts and the second through-parts is entirely surrounded by the substrate” since the through-parts are not surrounded on the top and are not surrounded on the bottom by the substrate 110. As such the claims are new matter not worded in the specification and are not supported by the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. 20210012687 in view of LI et al. 20220100302 (Li302).
Regarding claim 1, figs. 1 and 6 of Li discloses a display panel comprising:
a substrate 1 including a first display area (area of layer 2 over region B (left) and A) and a second display area (area of layer 2 over region B (right) and A) connected to the first display area; and
light emitting diodes 2 (there exist more than 1 diode) disposed in the first display area and the second display area on the substrate,
wherein the substrate includes a folding area A folded about a folding axis (a-a’) extending in the first direction (Y-direction in fig. 1) and overlapping the first display area (A overlapping wit B + A area).
Li does not disclose that the substrate including first through-parts extending in a first direction and second through-parts extending in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction;
wherein each of the first through-parts has a uniform width in the second direction and a uniform length in the first direction,
wherein, in at least a portion of the display area, a first width of each of the first through-parts in the second direction is different from a second width of each of the second through-parts in the first direction; and
wherein each of the second through-parts has a uniform width in the first direction and a uniform length in the second direction, and wherein each of the first through-parts and the second through-parts is entirely surrounded by the substrate.
However, fig. 1 of Li302 disclose a stretchable display device includes a display area having stretchable display area wherein the display area comprising a substrate the substrate including first through-parts S3 extending in a first direction and second through-parts S3 extending in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction;
wherein each of the first through-parts has a uniform width in the second direction and a uniform length in the first direction,
wherein, in at least a portion of the display area, a first width of each of the first through-parts in the second direction is different from a second width of each of the second through-parts in the first direction; and
wherein each of the second through-parts has a uniform width in the first direction and a uniform length in the second direction, and wherein each of the first through-parts and the second through-parts is entirely surrounded by the substrate.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a display panel of Li further comprising wherein the substrate including first through-parts extending in a first direction and second through-parts extending in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction; wherein each of the first through-parts has a uniform width in the second direction and a uniform length in the first direction, wherein, in at least a portion of the display area, a first width of each of the first through-parts in the second direction is different from a second width of each of the second through-parts in the first direction; and wherein each of the second through-parts has a uniform width in the first direction and a uniform length in the second direction, and wherein each of the first through-parts and the second through-parts is entirely surrounded by the substrate such as taught by Li302 in order to form a stretchable display device.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 1 of Li302 discloses wherein the first through-parts and the second through-parts are alternately arranged in the first direction and the second direction.
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses wherein the second display area is disposed adjacent to the first display area in the second direction.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 1 of Li302 discloses wherein the first width of each of the first through-parts in the second direction is greater than the second width of each of the second through-parts in the first direction.
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses wherein the second display area is disposed adjacent to the first display area in the first direction and stretchable in the first direction.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 1 of Li302 discloses wherein a first width of each of the first through-parts in the second direction is smaller than a second width of each of the second through-parts in the first direction.
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses the second display area (as the second area can be divided into sub-area as claimed) includes: a second-first display area disposed adjacent to the first display area in the second direction;
a second-second display area disposed adjacent to the first display area in the first direction; and
a second-third display area disposed between the second-first display area and the second-second display area.
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to form a display panel comprising wherein a first width of each of the first through-parts formed in the second-third display area in the second direction is equal to a second width of each of the second through-parts formed in the second-third display area in the first direction in order to use the same processing steps.
Regarding claim 19, fig. 2 of Li302 discloses wherein the first through-parts and the second through-parts are formed through the substrate.
The resulting structure would have been one meeting the claimed invention.
Claims 5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Li302 in view of Chou et al. 20210027670.
Regarding claim 5, Li and Li302 disclose claim 3, but do not disclose wherein the folding area is spaced apart from the second display area.
However, fig. 1 of Chou discloses a display panel comprising a substrate includes a folding area (12b/AX) folded about a folding axis AX and extending in a first direction (across the page), and wherein the folding area overlaps a first display area (AA1/AA2) and spaced apart from a second display area AA3.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a display panel of Li and Li302 further comprising wherein the folding area overlaps the second display area such as taught by Chou in order to have flexibility of folding.
Regarding claim 8, Li and Li302 disclose claim 6, but do not wherein the folding area overlaps the second display area.
However, fig. 1 of Chou discloses a substrate includes a folding area (12B/14B) folded about a folding axis AX and extending in the first direction, and wherein the folding area overlaps each of a first display area AA1/AA2 and a second display area (AA4/AA3).
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a display panel of Li and Li302 further comprising wherein the folding area overlaps the second display area such as taught by Chou in order to have flexibility of folding.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 6C of Li discloses further comprising pixel circuits disposed on the substrate and connected to the light emitting diodes, respectively
In addition, fig. 1 of Chou discloses wherein the second display area includes: an overlapping area AA4 overlapping the folding area (12b/14b) and a non-overlapping area spaced apart from the folding area AA3.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to form a display panel comprising wherein a first pixel circuit connected to a first light emitting diode disposed in the non-overlapping area and disposed in the non-overlapping area, and a second pixel circuit connected to a second light emitting diode disposed in the overlapping area and disposed in the first display area that is disposed adjacent to the overlapping area in order to form a driving circuit for each of the desired area as claimed.
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Li302 in view of Wu et al. 20200133335 in view of Kim et al. 20220214852.
Regarding claim 20, figs. 1 and 6 of Li discloses display device comprising:
a display panel including a first display area (area of layer 2 over region B (left) and A) and a second display area (area of layer 2 over region B (right) and A) connected to the first display area;
wherein the display panel includes a folding area A folded about a folding axis (a-a’) extending in the first direction (Y-direction in fig. 1) and overlapping the first display area (A overlapping wit B + A area).
Li does not disclose that the substrate including first through-parts extending in a first direction and second through-parts extending in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction;
wherein each of the first through-parts has a uniform width in the second direction and a uniform length in the first direction,
wherein, in at least a portion of the display area, a first width of each of the first through-parts in the second direction is different from a second width of each of the second through-parts in the first direction; and
wherein each of the second through-parts has a uniform width in the first direction and a uniform length in the second direction, and wherein each of the first through-parts and the second through-parts is entirely surrounded by the substrate.
However, fig. 1 of Li302 disclose a stretchable display device includes a display area having stretchable display area wherein the display area comprising a substrate the substrate including first through-parts S3 extending in a first direction and second through-parts S3 extending in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction;
wherein each of the first through-parts has a uniform width in the second direction and a uniform length in the first direction,
wherein, in at least a portion of the display area, a first width of each of the first through-parts in the second direction is different from a second width of each of the second through-parts in the first direction; and
wherein each of the second through-parts has a uniform width in the first direction and a uniform length in the second direction, and wherein each of the first through-parts and the second through-parts is entirely surrounded by the substrate.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a display panel of Li further comprising wherein the substrate including first through-parts extending in a first direction and second through-parts extending in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction; wherein each of the first through-parts has a uniform width in the second direction and a uniform length in the first direction, wherein, in at least a portion of the display area, a first width of each of the first through-parts in the second direction is different from a second width of each of the second through-parts in the first direction; and wherein each of the second through-parts has a uniform width in the first direction and a uniform length in the second direction, and wherein each of the first through-parts and the second through-parts is entirely surrounded by the substrate such as taught by Li302 in order to form a stretchable display device.
Li and Li302 do not disclose of a supporter disposed under the display panel and including a hinge overlapping a folding axis, a first support part spaced apart from the second display area, and a second support part overlapping the second display area; and a housing accommodating the display panel and the supporter, and including a first housing overlapping the first support part, and a second housing overlapping the second support part.
However, Wu discloses a display device comprising:
a display panel including a first display area DR1 and a second display area DR2 disposed adjacent to the first display area in a first direction and stretchable in the first direction (across the page of fig. 3, see fig. 1 and fig. 4 showing OP making it stretchable);
a supporter 226 (par [0041]) disposed under the display panel and including a hinge (par [0029]) overlapping a folding axis,
a first support part 266 (on left of fig. 3) spaced apart from the second display area, and
a second support part 266 (on right of fig. 3) overlapping the second display area.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a display device of Li and Li302 comprising a supporter disposed under the display panel and including a hinge overlapping a folding axis, a first support part spaced apart from the second display area, and a second support part overlapping the second display area such as taught by Wu in order to form a rigid structure for the display device.
LI and Li302 and Wu do not disclose of a housing accommodating the display panel and the supporter, and including a first housing overlapping the first support part, and a second housing overlapping the second support part.
However, fig. 1B of Kim disclose a display device comprising a housing accommodating a display panel including a first housing overlapping the first display area 140, and a second housing overlapping the second display area.
Note forming a housing of Kim to the structure of Li and Li302 would result in a housing accommodating the display panel and the supporter, and including a first housing overlapping the first support part, and a second housing overlapping the second support part.
As such it would have been obvious to form a display device of Li and Li302 and Wu further comprising a housing accommodating the display panel and the supporter, and including a first housing overlapping the first support part, and a second housing overlapping the second support part such as taught by Kim in order to protect the display device.
Regarding claim 21, the resulting structure would have been one wherein the second support part or the second housing is configured to guide stretching and contraction of the second display area of the display panel in the first direction.
Regarding claim 22, fig. 2 of Li302 wherein the first through-parts S3 and the second through-parts S3are formed through the substrate.
As such it would have been obvious to form a display device comprising wherein the first through-parts and the second through-parts are formed through the substrate in order to form a stretchable display device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893