Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-17, 21 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2020/0075395) in view of Chen et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2021/0305209).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a plurality of metal interconnections spaced apart over a substrate including a lower structure [fig. 6, interconnects 110 over substrate 100, [paragraph [0017] teaches substrate can contain transistor devices, which would be lower structures];
a first layer covering the plurality of the metal interconnections [fig. 6, 130];
a dielectric layer formed over the first hydrogen-containing layer [fig. 6, 142];
an air gap formed between neighboring metal interconnections inside the dielectric layer [fig. 6, 220]; and
a second hydrogen-containing layer formed over the dielectric layer [fig. 6, 180, paragraph [0027], SiCOH, HSQ, among others].
Wherein the first layer is in direct contact with the metal interconnections [fig. 3, 130 is in direct contact with 110]
Lin fails to teach the first layer is a hydrogen containing layer, instead teaching nitrogen doped silicon carbide or undoped silicon carbide among others [paragraph [0018]]. However, Chen teaches a interconnect liner layer in which HDP oxide is an alternative to silicon carbide [fig. 2b, 230, paragraph [0059]], applicants specification teaches that HDP formed oxide contains hydrogen [instant specification, paragraph [0023]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method of Lin by forming the first hydrogen containing layer to include HDP oxide. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lin in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using known suitable alternative materials to ensure a functional device and allow for reduced electrical resistance and improved electrical performance [Chen, paragraph [0066]]. Furthermore, art recognized suitability for an intended purpose has been recognized to be motivation to combine. MPEP 2144.07.
With respect to the first hydrogen containing layer serving as a hydrogen layer capable of directly supplying hydrogen to the metal interconnections, fig. 6 of Lin shows 130 directly on the metal interconnections and as taught above, Chen teaches HDP oxide which by applicants own admission contains hydrogen. Therefore, the layer 130 formed of HDP oxide is able to act as a hydrogen supply layer as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first hydrogen-containing layer is in direct contact with both sidewalls and a top surface of each of the metal interconnections [Lin, fig. 6, 130 is in direct contact with the tops and sides of 110].
Regarding claim 3, Lin in view of Chen discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first hydrogen-containing layer is formed linearly along the plurality of metal interconnections [Lin, paragraph [0018], 130 is formed conformally]
Regarding claim 4, Lin in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first hydrogen-containing layer and the second hydrogen-containing layer are dielectric materials including hydrogen [Lin paragraph [0027], 180 is a dielectric, SICOH or HSQ among others].
Regarding claim 5, Lin in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first and second hydrogen-containing layers include HDP oxide [Chen, fig. 2b, 230, paragraph [0059]].
With respect to the claim stating “the first and second hydrogen-containing layers” the transitional term “includes” is used which would leave it open ended. Being opening ended allows one of said layers or both to include HDP oxide but it is not required for both, see MPEP 2111.03 (I).
Regarding claim 6, Lin in view of Chen discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the dielectric layer is positioned at a higher level than a top surface of the first hydrogen-containing layer which is formed over the plurality of the metal interconnections [Lin, fig. 6, top surface of 142 is higher than top surface of 130].
Regarding claim 7, Lin in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer is formed to have a lower step coverage than the first hydrogen-containing layer [Lin, paragraphs [0018 and 0019], 130 has good step coverage, 140 has poor step coverage].
Regarding claim 11, Lin in view of Chen discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the lower structure includes a transistor, and the transistor is electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of the metal interconnections [Lin, paragraph [0017] 110/112 are electrically connected to transistors within 100].
Regarding claim 12, Lin teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a plurality of metal interconnections that are spaced apart over a substrate including a lower structure [fig. 6, interconnects 110 over substrate 100, [paragraph [0017] teaches substrate can contain transistor devices, which would be lower structures];
a first layer covering the plurality of the metal interconnections [fig. 6, 130];
a dielectric layer formed over the first hydrogen-containing layer between the metal interconnections and including an air gap [fig. 6, 142 containing air gap 220]; and
a second hydrogen-containing layer formed over the dielectric layer and the first hydrogen-containing layer [fig. 6, 180, paragraph [0027], SiCOH, HSQ among others].
Wherein the first layer is in direct contact with the metal interconnections [fig. 3, 130 is in direct contact with 110]
Lin fails to teach the first layer is a hydrogen containing layer, instead teaching nitrogen doped silicon carbide or undoped silicon carbide among others [paragraph [0018]]. However, Chen teaches a interconnect liner layer in which HDP oxide is an alternative to silicon carbide [fig. 2b, 230, paragraph [0059]], applicants specification teaches that HDP formed oxide contains hydrogen [instant specification, paragraph [0023]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method of Lin by forming the first hydrogen containing layer to include HDP oxide. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lin in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using known suitable alternative materials to ensure a functional device and allow for reduced electrical resistance and improved electrical performance [Chen, paragraph [0066]]. Furthermore, art recognized suitability for an intended purpose has been recognized to be motivation to combine. MPEP 2144.07.
With respect to the first hydrogen containing layer serving as a hydrogen layer capable of directly supplying hydrogen to the metal interconnections, fig. 6 of Lin shows 130 directly on the metal interconnections and as taught above, Chen teaches HDP oxide which by applicants own admission contains hydrogen. Therefore, the layer 130 formed of HDP oxide is able to act as a hydrogen supply layer as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, Lin in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the air gap is positioned at a lower level than top surfaces of the plurality of the metal interconnections [Lin, fig. 6, at least a portion of the air gap 220 is positioned at a lower level than top surfaces of 110, the claim does not require all of the air gap to be positioned lower than the top of 110].
Regarding claim 14, Lin in view of Chen discloses the semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the first hydrogen-containing layer is formed linearly along the plurality of metal interconnections [Lin, paragraph [0018], 130 is formed conformally]
Regarding claim 15, Lin in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the first hydrogen-containing layer and the second hydrogen-containing layer are dielectric materials including hydrogen [Lin paragraph [0027], 180 is a dielectric, SICOH or HSQ among others].
Regarding claim 16, Lin in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first and second hydrogen-containing layers include HDP oxide [Chen, fig. 2b, 230, paragraph [0059]].
With respect to the claim stating “the first and second hydrogen-containing layers” the transitional term “includes” is used which would leave it open ended. Being opening ended allows one of said layers or both to include HDP oxide but it is not required for both, see MPEP 2111.03 (I).
Regarding claim 17, Lin in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the dielectric layer is formed to have a lower step coverage than the first hydrogen-containing layer [Lin, paragraphs [0018 and 0019], 130 has good step coverage, 140 has poor step coverage].
Regarding claim 21, Lin in view of Chen discloses the semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the lower structure includes a transistor, and the transistor is electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of the metal interconnections [Lin, paragraph [0017] 110/112 are electrically connected to transistors within 100].
Regarding claim 37, Lin in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the hydrogen in the first hydrogen-containing layer diffuses into a surface of the substrate through the metal interconnections [Chen, fig. 6 shows 130 directly on 110 and 100 in the same manner as claimed. The claim is drawn to a device structure not a method process. The device structure would be able to perform the diffusion process as claimed as this appears to be a functional limitation. See MPEP 2114, (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)). Additionally, the substrate and metal interconnections do not have hydrogen present as claimed, merely a diffusion step functionally able to happen].
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Chen as applied to claims 1-7, 11-17, 21 and 37 above, and further in view of Yu et al (US Pat. Pub. 2013/0075823) herein after Yu’823.
Regarding claim 8, Lin in view of Chen fails to teach the dielectric layer is TEOS and instead teaches OSG or Black Diamond among other materials. However, Yu’823 teaches a dielectric material with an air gap where TEOS is taught as an alternative material to OSG [fig. 2b, dielectric 170, air gap 287, paragraph [0024]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yu’823 into the method of Lin in view of Chen by forming the dielectric layer from TEOS. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lin in view of Chen in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using known suitable alternative materials to ensure a functional device. Furthermore, art recognized suitability for an intended purpose has been recognized to be motivation to combine. MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 18, Lin in view of Chen fails to teach the dielectric layer is TEOS and instead teaches OSG or Black Diamond among other materials. However, Yu’823 teaches a dielectric material with an air gap where TEOS is taught as an alternative material to OSG [fig. 2b, dielectric 170, air gap 287, paragraph [0024]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yu’823 into the method of Lin in view of Chen by forming the dielectric layer from TEOS. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lin in view of Chen in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using known suitable alternative materials to ensure a functional device. Furthermore, art recognized suitability for an intended purpose has been recognized to be motivation to combine. MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Chen as applied to claims 1-7, 11-17, 21 and 37 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pat. #6,399,476).
Regarding claim 9, Lin in view of Chen fails to teach a passivation layer over the second hydrogen-containing layer. However, Kim teaches interconnects spaced apart with air gaps between and a passivation over the dielectric and air gaps [fig. 5, interconnects 106, air gaps 114, dielectric 112, passivation 116].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the method of Lin in view of Chen by forming a passivation layer over the second hydrogen-containing layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lin in view of Chen in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of preparing the underlying structure for contact pads and further interconnections [Kim, column 5, lines 26-34].
Regarding claim 19, Lin in view of Chen fails to teach a passivation layer over the second hydrogen-containing layer. However, Kim teaches interconnects spaced apart with air gaps between and a passivation over the dielectric and air gaps [fig. 5, interconnects 106, air gaps 114, dielectric 112, passivation 116].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the method of Lin in view of Chen by forming a passivation layer over the second hydrogen-containing layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lin in view of Chen in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of preparing the underlying structure for contact pads and further interconnections [Kim, column 5, lines 26-34].
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Chen and Kim as applied to claims 9 and 19 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2022/0320327), herein after Kim’327.
Regarding claim 10, Lin in view of Chen and Kim teaches a passivation layer and forming pads and interconnections in said passivation layer, they fail to teach the passivation layer includes silicon nitride. However, Kim’327 teaches a device with a passivation layer including etch stop layers formed of silicon nitride in a interconnection process [figs. 11-16, passivation 160, etch stop 591, paragraph [0099] teaches silicon nitride etch stop layers].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim’327 into the method of Lin in view of Chen and Kim by forming an etch stop layer of silicon nitride as part of the passivation layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lin in view of Chen and Kim in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of protecting the structures below during an interconnection process of etching and forming.
Regarding claim 20, Lin in view of Chen and Kim teaches a passivation layer and forming pads and interconnections in said passivation layer, they fail to teach the passivation layer includes silicon nitride. However, Kim’327 teaches a device with a passivation layer including etch stop layers formed of silicon nitride in an interconnection process [figs. 11-16, passivation 160, etch stop 591, paragraph [0099] teaches silicon nitride etch stop layers].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim’327 into the method of Lin in view of Chen and Kim by forming an etch stop layer of silicon nitride as part of the passivation layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lin in view of Chen and Kim in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of protecting the structures below during an interconnection process of etching and forming.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Lin and Chen fails to disclose or suggest a first hydrogen-containing layer that is a dielectric material including hydrogen and which serves as a hydrogen supply layer capable of directly supplying hydrogen to the metal interconnections. However, this is not persuasive as explained above layer 130 of Lin is directly in contact with the metal interconnects 110, the combination of Lin and Chen would allow a hydrogen containing layer to be in direct contact with the metal interconnects and any direct contact would allow the layer to be capable of serving as a supply of hydrogen. Applicant also argues that HDP oxide of Chen cannot be used in Lin as they layer 130 of Lin is a barrier layer to prevent diffusion. However, this is not persuasive as the layer 130 of Lin is also taught as an etch stop layer [Lin, paragraph [0018] which HDP oxide can function as. Broadly an etch stop layer is a layer which protects layers below during processing as it has a different etch rate than layers near it being processed. Additionally, evidence from cited art, Oh et al (US Pat. Pub. 2004/0248361), teaches the use of HDP oxide as an etch stop layer in a semiconductor device [paragraph [0023]].
Furthermore, Applicant argues that the barrier of Lin would no longer contain hydrogen if it were present due to curing steps performed device formation and any such hydrogen would yield delamination or blistering at the interface between 110 and 142. However, this is not persuasive as Lin teaches the layer 130 can be a silicon carbide among other materials [Lin, paragraph [0018]] while Chen also teaches silicon carbide or HDP oxide as taught above [Chen, paragraph [0059]. HDP oxide and silicon carbide are used as alternatives to one another in semiconductor device fabrication, art recognized suitability for an intended purpose has been recognized to be motivation to combine. MPEP 2144.07.
Finally, applicant argues that the barrier layer of Lin is a diffusion barrier while the liner of Chen is an isolation liner and these layers differ significantly in their intended purpose and it would not be obvious to replace a barrier with an isolating liner. However, this is not persuasive as explained above, the layer 130 of Lin is taught also to be an etch stop layer [Lin, paragraph [0018]], which HDP oxide can function as (see evidence two paragraphs prior). Additionally, the overlap in materials cited for Lin and Chen allowed HDP oxide to be considered a suitable alterative material for the layer of Lin.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN M PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2899