DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamiya et al. (US 2004/0183366).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kamiya discloses a method for reducing unwanted vibrations in a friction brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-9), wherein the friction brake has at least one friction surface (see ¶ 0070, “disc brake”) and at least one brake lining (see ¶ 0071, “pad”) associated with the friction surface, and wherein the method comprises the following steps: a) mechanically pressing the brake lining against the friction surfacsee ¶ 0070, “a disc brake or drum brake that is driven by this motor”) with a clamping force in order to convert a braking request into a braking force (see ¶ 0070), and b) modulating a temporal fluctuation onto the clamping force in order to avoid or reduce unwanted vibrations (see ¶ 0070, “dither current is superimposed”), wherein the modulated fluctuation oscillates at a frequency of approximately 0.1 Hz to 250 Hz (see ¶ 0053, “1 kHz or lower”).
Regarding claim 2, Kamiya discloses that the clamping force remains substantially unchanged by the modulated fluctuation on average over time (see ¶ 0093).
Regarding claim 3, Kamiya discloses that the modulated fluctuation has a continuous curve (see ¶ 0055).
Regarding claim 5, Kamiya discloses that the frequency of the modulated fluctuation changes over time (see ¶¶ 0084-0086, 0093), and has alternating positive and negative chirps as the clamping force increases (see FIG. 6B).
Regarding claim 8, Kamiya discloses that the method further comprises the following steps: c) detecting a braking state which is susceptible to vibrations and in which unwanted vibrations can occur (see ¶¶ 0074-0082, 0094), and d) modulating the temporal fluctuation onto the clamping force when the braking state that is susceptible to vibrations is detected (see ¶ 0086).
Regarding claim 9, Kamiya discloses the detection of a braking state that is susceptible to vibrations includes evaluating a sensor signal from a sensor (see ¶¶ 0074-0082, 0090).
Regarding claim 10, Kamiya discloses that the evaluation of the sensor signal includes a determination of the frequency, amplitude and/or phase position of dominant unwanted vibrations in the friction brake (see ¶¶ 0074, 0075, 0091, 0094).
Regarding claim 11, Kamiya discloses that a curve of the modulated fluctuation is formed on the basis of the frequency, amplitude and/or phase position of one or more dominant unwanted vibrations in the friction brake (see ¶ 0084, 0090, 0091).
Regarding claim 13, Kamiya discloses a braking system for a land vehicle (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-9), comprising a controller (53), an energy source (see ¶ 0069, “current to be supplied”) and at least one friction brake (see ¶ 0070) with an associated actuator (55a-55d), wherein the actuator is designed to press a brake lining (see ¶ 0071, “brake pad”) of the friction brake against an associated friction surface of the friction brake with a clamping force (see ¶ 0071), wherein the energy source is designed to supply the actuator with energy (see ¶ 0069), and wherein the controller is designed to control the actuator (see ¶ 0069) to a) press the brake lining against the friction surface with a clamping force in order to convert a braking request into a braking force (see ¶ 0069), and b) modulate a temporal fluctuation onto the clamping force in order to avoid or reduce unwanted vibrations (see ¶ 0071), wherein the modulated fluctuation oscillates at a frequency greater than 0.1 Hz and of no more than 250 Hz (see ¶ 0053, “1 kHz or lower”).
Regarding claim 14, Kamiya discloses at least one friction brake is associated with a sensor (see ¶ 0095) which provides a sensor signal (see ¶ 0095), wherein the friction braksee ¶ 0095).
Regarding claim 15, Kamiya discloses that the friction brake is an electromechanical brake (see ¶ 0070).
Regarding claim 16, Kamiya discloses a program code comprising commands which, when executed by a controller (54), cause a braking system that includes at least one electromechanical friction brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-9; ¶ 0070, “a motor, and a disc brake or drum brake that is driven by this motor”) to carry out a method comprising: a) pressing the brake lining against the friction surfacsee ¶ 0070), and b) modulating a temporal fluctuation onto the clamping force in order to avoid or reduce unwanted vibrations (see ¶ 0070, “dither current is superimposed”), wherein the modulated fluctuation oscillates at a frequency greater than 0.1 Hz and of no more than 250 Hz (see ¶ 0053, “1 kHz or lower”).
Regarding claim 17, Kamiya discloses the braking system comprises the controller (53), an energy source (see ¶ 0069, “current to be supplied”) and at least one friction brake (see ¶ 0070) with an associated actuator (55a-55d), wherein the actuator is designed to press a brake lining (see ¶ 0071, “brake pad”) of the friction brake against an associated friction surface of the friction brake with a clamping force (see ¶ 0071), wherein the energy source is designed to supply the actuator with energy (see ¶ 0069), and wherein the controller is designed to control the actuator (see ¶ 0069).
Regarding claim 18, Kamiya discloses that the curve of the modulated fluctuation is a continuous substantially sinusoidal curve (see ¶ 0055).
Regarding claim 19, Kamiya discloses that the modulated fluctuation oscillates at a frequency of approximately 3 Hz to 70 Hz (see ¶ 0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya et al. (US 2004/0183366), as applied to claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 6, Kamiya does not disclose that an amplitude of the modulated fluctuation is at most 50% of the clamping force.
However, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” (See MPEP 2144.05.II.A) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
In the present case, Kamiya recognizes that changing the amplitude of the modulated fluctuation is a result-effective variable (see ¶¶ 0085, 0086). Kamiya further recognizes that “a required braking force based on each target current is secured” (see ¶ 0093). Therefore, it would have been a matter of routine experimentation to optimize the modulated fluctuation to at most 50% of the clamping force to reduce noise generated by the brake (see ¶¶ 0085, 0086) while maintaining a required braking force based on each target current (see ¶ 0093).
Regarding claim 20, Kamiya does not disclose that an amplitude of the modulated fluctuation is at most 35% of the clamping force.
However, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” (See MPEP 2144.05.II.A) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
In the present case, Kamiya recognizes that changing the amplitude of the modulated fluctuation is a result-effective variable (see ¶¶ 0085, 0086). Kamiya further recognizes that “a required braking force based on each target current is secured” (see ¶ 0093). Therefore, it would have been a matter of routine experimentation to optimize the modulated fluctuation to at most 35% of the clamping force to reduce noise generated by the brake (see ¶¶ 0085, 0086) while maintaining a required braking force based on each target current (see ¶ 0093).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya et al. (US 2004/0183366), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Continental (WO 2009/024454) (machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 7, Kamiya does not disclose that an amplitude of the modulated fluctuation changes as the clamping force increases.
Continental teaches a method for reducing unwanted vibrations in a friction brake (see ¶ 0010), wherein an amplitude of a modulated fluctuation changes as the clamping force increases (see ¶¶ 0017, 0033).
It would have been obvious to configure Kamiya such that an amplitude of a modulated fluctuation changes as the clamping force increases, as taught by Continental, to effectively damp the vibrations generated as the braking force increases.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya et al. (US 2004/0183366), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Masuda (US 2016/0129895).
Regarding claim 12, Kamiya discloses a friction brake pair having a first and a second friction brake (55a, 55b), wherein the first and the second friction brake are each operated with the method for reducing unwanted vibrations according to claim 1 (see ¶ 0093).
Kamiya does not disclose that the respective modulated fluctuations have an antiphase curve.
Masuda teaches a method of braking a friction pair (see ¶ 0028) wherein respective modulated fluctuations have an antiphase curve (see ¶ 0028).
It would have been obvious to operate the modulated fluctuations of respective wheels of Kamiya such that modulated fluctuations have an antiphase curve so that the fluctuations cancel each other, thereby providing a constant braking force for the vehicle (see Masuda, ¶ 0028).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ying (US 2019/0001943) discloses superimposing a “ripple braking signal” on a braking signal in the range of about 50-200 Hz (see ¶¶ 0018, 0020) to eliminate a wheel hop condition (see ¶ 0021).
Karpenko (US 9,821,781) discloses applying a sinusoidal waveform having a frequency of 100 Hz (see col. 10, lines 22-26) to modulate a braking force (see col. 1, lines 30-34) to correct or compensate for a brake pad misalignment and/or other non-ideal characteristics and relationships between braking components within the brake assembly that may cause erratic, fluctuating, and/or unstable frictional engagement between braking components within the brake assembly, thereby reducing or eliminating the poor braking performance and brake pedal feel that would have otherwise occurred (see col. 11, lines 57-65).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01-Jul-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1 as being anticipated by Kamiya (US 2004/0183366), Applicant argues that “Kamiya does not disclose modulating a temporal fluctuation onto the clamping force itself, as required by claim 1” because “Kamiya discloses superimposing a dither current onto an electrical motor control signal” (see Amendment, pages 6-7). Kamiya, however, discloses that “[c]orresponding to the target current onto which the dither current is superimposed, as shown in FIG. 6B, a piston thrust F that is generated by the brake driving actuators 55a to 55d and pushes a brake pad will include a thrust F1 a force level of which is proportional to the target current I1, having fluctuation the size and cycle of which correspond to the amplitude 2.∆.i and the cycle τ of the dither current” (see ¶ 0071). Thus, Kamiya explicitly discloses that the clamping force is temporally fluctuated (see ¶ 0071; FIG. 6).
Applicant further argues that “[t]he purpose of this modulation, as recited in claim 1, is ‘to avoid or reduce unwanted vibrations’ in the friction brake” and that “Kamiya’s dither current is applied to an electrical signal to prevent stick-slip in the motor actuator itself, which is a fundamentally different technical problem and solution” (see Amendment, page 7). Contrary to Applicant’s assertion, Kamiya never “discloses” a stick-slip problem. Rather, Kamiya explicitly disclose that the purpose of the invention disclosed therein is to “suppress and prevent noise” (see ¶ 0007) that is a result of a “self-excited vibration” (see ¶ 0013). Thus, the technical problem and solution of Kamiya is fundamentally the same as that of the present application.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
July 20, 2026