DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 06/16/2025 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment with respect to claims 1, 7-9, 11, 14-16, and 18 filed on 09/12/2025 have been fully considered for examination based on their merits. The previously presented claims 2, 4-5, 8, 10, 12-13and 19-20 have been considered. Claims 3, 6 and 17 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pages 12-16, filed 09/12/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-16 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of SAKOIKA.
Regarding Claim 1. The Applicant argues (see Remarks, pages 14-15) that none of the cited references disclose or suggest the amended claim limitations, “a plurality of first pixel…second pixel domains…first direction…second pixels”; “a first color filter…a color of the first color filter”; “a first microlens…the first pixels”, and “a second microlens…configured to operate white color filter” where “wherein the first pixel…alternatively disposed…intersecting the first direction”. The Applicant further argues that JUNG does not teach “alternating arrangement of first color filter domain having certain color filter corresponding to first color pixels and a second pixel domain operating as a white filter corresponding to pixels”. The Examiner agrees, and thus the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of SAKOIKA.
Regarding Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 7-16, and 18-20. The independent claims 11 and 16 and dependent claims, 2, 4-10, 12-15 and 18-20 follow similar arguments as Claim 1, upon further consideration, a new-grounds of rejection is made based on the prior-art mentioned above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun-Wei Cheng et al (hereinafter CHENG), US 20190132506 A1, further in view of Yoshinori Toumiya et al, (hereinafter TOUMIYA), US 20130015545 A1, further in view of Masanori Harasawa et al, (hereinafter HARASAWA), US 20150098007 A1, further in view of Jae-Kwan Seo et al, (hereinafter SEO), US 20200258928 A1, further in view of Ming-Chih Chang et al, (hereinafter CHANG), US 20060193054 A1, and further in view of Youji Sakioka et al, (hereinafter SAKIOKA), US 20170171470 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, CHENG teaches in Figure 16, an image sensor (IS10) comprising:
a substrate (200, support substrate) comprising a plurality of first pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) and plurality of a second pixel domains, (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) the first pixel domains and the second pixel domains being adjacent to each other in a first direction (annotated Figure 16), each of the plurality of first pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) comprising first pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]) and each of the plurality of second pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) comprising second pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]);
a first color filter (R/B/G) provided on a first surface (100a, semiconductor substrate, annotated Figure 16) of the substrate (200, support substrate) and vertically overlapping the first pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]), the first pixels corresponding to a color of the first color filter (R/B/G);
a first microlens (190A, first lenses, [0028]) provided on the first color filter (R/B/G) and each of the first pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]); and
a second microlens (190B, [0028]) provided on the first surface (100a, semiconductor substrate, annotated Figure 16) of the substrate (200, support substrate) and vertically overlapping at least a portion of each of the second pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]), the second microlens being configured to operate as a white color filter (Fig. 15, white sub-pixels of the sensing pixels, P, [0040]),
wherein a level difference between an uppermost part of the first microlens (annotated Figure 16) and an uppermost part of the second microlens (annotated Figure 16) is within about 2% of a maximum height of the first microlens ([0029]).
CHENG teaches in Figure 16, an image sensor (IS10) comprising a second microlens (190B) having a larger radius of curvature (annotated Figure 16) that has a second refractive index of the second microlens is greater than a first refractive index of the first microlens (190A) with smaller radius of curvature (annotated Figure 16) [See Gallegos et al, Lensmaker Equation1 in the footnote for the relation between refractive index and the radii of curvature of the lens].
CHENG does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein a second refractive index of the second microlens is greater than a first refractive index of the first microlens.
TOUMIYA teaches in Figure 2, an image sensor (1, state imaging device), wherein a second refractive index of the second microlens (21, inorganic microlens, [0055]) is greater (higher refractive index, [0055]) than a first refractive index of the first microlens (22, organic microlens, [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified CHENG to incorporate the teachings of TOUMIYA such that an image sensor, wherein a second refractive index of the second microlens is greater than a first refractive index of the first microlens. The higher refractive index of an inorganic microlens when compared to the lower refractive index of an organic microlens thus facilitate observation of the phase difference detection pixel in which as focal length of the light is set to be shorter than in the imaging pixel (TOUMIYA, [0055-0057]).
CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein a first surface of the flat part of the second microlens facing the first surface of the substrate is coplanar with a first surface of the first color filter facing the first surface of the substrate.
HARASAWA teaches in Figure 3, an image sensor (Fig. 1, 10, CMOS image sensor), wherein a first surface (56, dimming filter annotated Figure 3) of the second microlens (57) facing the first surface of the flat part (annotated Figure 3) of the substrate (51, semiconductor substrate) is coplanar (annotated Figure 3) with a first surface (annotated Figure 3) of the first color filter (55B) facing the first surface (annotated Figure 3) of the substrate (51).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA to incorporate the teachings of HARASAWA such that an image sensor, wherein a first surface of the second microlens facing the first surface of the flat part of the substrate is coplanar with a first surface of the first color filter facing the first surface of the substrate so that color mixing and dimming effects are optimized for efficient light transmission for the photoelectric conversion unit of the image sensor device (HARASAWA, [0062]).
Though HARASAWA teaches the second micro-lens having curved top surface of the lens part and flat part, however, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA and HARASAWA does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein the second microlens comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface; and a flat part between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed and comprise a same material.
SEO teaches in Figures 3A/3D, an image sensor (2), wherein the second microlens (600, micro-lens layer) comprises: a lens part (630, lens portion) having a curved top surface; and a flat part (610, fill portion) between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate (100a), wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed and comprise a same material ([0043], [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA and HARASAWA to incorporate the teachings of SEO such that an image sensor, wherein the second microlens comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface; and a flat part between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed and comprise a same material. The micro-lens may be provided on the gap-fill portion without any color filter thus simplify the fabrication of an image sensor, that may have reduced striation defects and may exhibit improved image properties (SEO, [0112]).
CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA and HARASAWA and SEO does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein the second microlens comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface; and a flat part between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed.
CHANG teaches in Figure 2G, an image sensor (optical device, [0032]), wherein the second microlens (Fig. 2G, 39, microlenses) comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface (Fig. 2G, 41, convex surface); and a flat part (Fig. 2G, 40, transparent lens body) between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate (Fig. 3, 24), wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed (annotated Figure 2G).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, and SEO to incorporate the teachings of CHANG such that an image sensor, wherein the second microlens comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface; and a flat part between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed, so that this enables fabrication of micro-lenses (39) on a substrate which are capable of use in a variety of applications (CHANG, [0032-0033]).
CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA and HARASAWA, SEO, and CHANG does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein the first pixel domains and the second pixel domains are alternatively disposed in the first direction and in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
SAKIOKA teaches in Figures 16 and 18, an image sensor (Fig. 1, solid-state imaging device, [0017]), wherein the first pixel domains (annotated Figure 18, red, green, green, blue are arrayed in the Bayer array the four local pixel units, 31, [0165]) and the second pixel domains (annotated Figure 18, one predetermined color (green for example in Fig. 18 or white for example in Fig. 16, [0153]) in all of the pixel units, 31, [0165]) are alternatively disposed in the first direction (annotated Figure 18) and in a second direction intersecting the first direction (annotated Figure 18).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, and CHANG to incorporate the teachings of SAKOIKA such that an image sensor, wherein the first pixel domains and the second pixel domains are alternatively disposed in the first direction and in a second direction intersecting the first direction, so that the pixel unit, 31 is formed of the four pixels as shown in Figure 18, but the pixel unit, 31 is formed of two pixels as shown in Figure 19, and therefore the microlens, 26 is also shared by the two pixels constituting the pixel unit, 31 (SAKOIKA, Figures 18/19, [0168]).
Regarding Claim 2, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 1.
TOUMIYA further teaches in Figure 2, the image sensor (1, state imaging device), wherein a difference between the first refractive index (refractive index of 1.8 to 2.0) of the first microlens (21, inorganic microlens made of SiN) and the second refractive index (refractive index of 1.4 to 1.5) of the second microlens (22, organic microlens made of acrylic resin) is in a range of about 0.30 to about 0.45 ([0063]).
Regarding Claim 4, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 1.
CHENG further teaches in Figure 16, the image sensor (IS10), wherein the maximum height of the first microlens (Uppermost part of the 1st microlens, 190A, annotated Figure 16) is substantially equal ([0029]) to a maximum height of the lens part of the second microlens (Uppermost part of the 1st microlens, 190B, annotated Figure 16).
Regarding Claim 5, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 1.
CHENG further teaches in Figure 16, the image sensor (IS10), wherein a second curvature (annotated Figure 16) of the second microlens (190B, second lenses, [0028]) is different from a first curvature (annotated Figure 16) of the first microlens (190A, first lenses, [0028]).
Regarding Claim 7, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 1.
SAKOIKA further teaches in Figures 16 and 18, the image sensor (Fig. 1, solid-state imaging device, [0017]), wherein the first color filter (annotated Figure 18, red, green, green, blue are arrayed in the Bayer array the four local pixel units, 31, [0165]) comprises a plurality of first color filters (Fig. 14, 25) spaced apart from each other with the second pixel domains (annotated Figure 18, one predetermined color (green for example in Fig. 18 or white for example in Fig. 16, [0153]) in all of the pixel units, 31, [0165]) interposed therebetween (annotated Figure 18), and
wherein the first color filters (Fig. 14, 25) have colors different from each other (annotated Figure 18).
Regarding Claim 8, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 1.
CHENG further teaches in Figure 16, the image sensor (IS10), wherein the first pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028], annotated Figure 16) included in the first pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) and the second pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028], annotated Figure 16) included in the second pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]).
SAKOIKA further teaches in Figures 18, the image sensor (Fig. 1, solid-state imaging device, [0017]), wherein the first pixels (annotated Figure 18; RGGB, Bayer array in the four local pixel units, 31, [0165]) included in the first pixel domains (annotated Figure 18, red, green, green, blue are arrayed in the Bayer array the four local pixel units, 31, [0165]) and the second pixels (annotated Figure 18; GGGG, or BBBB, or RRRR or WWWW, in all of the pixel units, 31, [0153], [0165]) included in the second pixel domains (annotated Figure 18, one predetermined color (green for example in Fig. 18 or white for example in Fig. 16, [0153]) in all of the pixel units, 31, [0165]) are provided in a 2x2 structure (annotated Figure 18), respectively.
Regarding Claim 9, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 1.
CHENG further teaches in Figure 16, the image sensor (IS10), wherein the first pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028], annotated Figure 16) included in the first pixel domain (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) and the second pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028], annotated Figure 16) included in the second pixel domain (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) are provided in a 4x4 structure, respectively.
SAKOIKA further teaches in Figures 18, the image sensor (Fig. 1, solid-state imaging device, [0017]), wherein the first pixels (annotated Figure 18; RGGB, Bayer array in the four local pixel units, 31, [0165]) included in the first pixel domains (annotated Figure 18, red, green, green, blue are arrayed in the Bayer array the four local pixel units, 31, [0165]) and the second pixels (annotated Figure 18; GGGG, or BBBB, or RRRR or WWWW, in all of the pixel units, 31, [0153], [0165]) included in the second pixel domains (annotated Figure 18, one predetermined color (green for example in Fig. 18 or white for example in Fig. 16, [0153]) in all of the pixel units, 31, [0165]) are provided in a 4x4 structure (annotated Figure 18), respectively.
Regarding Claim 11, CHENG teaches in Figure 16, an image sensor (IS10) comprising:
a substrate (200, support substrate) comprising a plurality of first pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) and plurality of a second pixel domains, (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) the first pixel domains and the second pixel domains being adjacent to each other in a first direction (annotated Figure 16), each of the plurality of first pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) comprising first pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]) and each of the plurality of second pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) comprising second pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]);
a first color filter (R/B/G) provided on a first surface (100a, semiconductor substrate, annotated Figure 16) of the substrate (200, support substrate) and vertically overlapping the first pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]), the first pixels corresponding to a color of the first color filter (R/B/G);
a first microlens (190A, first lenses, [0028]) provided on the first color filter (R/B/G) and each of the first pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]); and
a second microlens (190B, [0028]) provided on the first surface (100a, semiconductor substrate, annotated Figure 16) of the substrate (200, support substrate) and vertically overlapping at least a portion of each of the second pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]), the second microlens being configured to operate as a white color filter (Fig. 15, white sub-pixels of the sensing pixels, P, [0040]),
wherein a second width (annotated Figure 16) of the second microlens (190B, second lenses, [0028]) is greater (annotated Figure 16) than a first width (annotated Figure 16) of each of the first microlenses (190A, first lenses, [0028]), a second microlens (190B) having a larger radius of curvature (annotated Figure 16) that has a second refractive index of the second microlens is greater than a first refractive index of the first microlens (190A) with smaller radius of curvature (annotated Figure 16) [See Gallegos et al, Lensmaker Equation2 in the footnote for the relation between refractive index and the radii of curvature of the lens].
CHENG does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein a second refractive index of the second microlens is greater than a first refractive index of the first microlens.
TOUMIYA teaches in Figure 2, an image sensor (1, state imaging device), wherein a second refractive index of the second microlens (21, inorganic microlens, [0055]) is greater (higher refractive index, [0055]) than a first refractive index of the first microlens (22, organic microlens, [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified CHENG to incorporate the teachings of TOUMIYA such that an image sensor, wherein a second refractive index of the second microlens is greater than a first refractive index of the first microlens. The higher refractive index of an inorganic microlens when compared to the lower refractive index of an organic microlens thus facilitate observation of the phase difference detection pixel in which as focal length of the light is set to be shorter than in the imaging pixel (TOUMIYA, [0055-0057]).
CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein a first surface of the flat part of the second microlens facing the first surface of the substrate is coplanar with a first surface of the first color filter facing the first surface of the substrate.
HARASAWA teaches in Figure 3, an image sensor (Fig. 1, 10, CMOS image sensor), wherein a first surface (56, dimming filter annotated Figure 3) of the second microlens (57) facing the first surface of the flat part (annotated Figure 3) of the substrate (51, semiconductor substrate) is coplanar (annotated Figure 3) with a first surface (annotated Figure 3) of the first color filter (55B) facing the first surface (annotated Figure 3) of the substrate (51).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA to incorporate the teachings of HARASAWA such that an image sensor, wherein a first surface of the second microlens facing the first surface of the flat part of the substrate is coplanar with a first surface of the first color filter facing the first surface of the substrate so that color mixing and dimming effects are optimized for efficient light transmission for the photoelectric conversion unit of the image sensor device (HARASAWA, [0062]).
Though HARASAWA teaches the second micro-lens having curved top surface of the lens part and flat part, however, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA and HARASAWA does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein the second microlens comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface; and a flat part between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed and comprise a same material.
SEO teaches in Figures 3A/3D, an image sensor (2), wherein the second microlens (600, micro-lens layer) comprises: a lens part (630, lens portion) having a curved top surface; and a flat part (610, fill portion) between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate (100a), wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed and comprise a same material ([0043], [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA and HARASAWA to incorporate the teachings of SEO such that an image sensor, wherein the second microlens comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface; and a flat part between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed and comprise a same material. The micro-lens may be provided on the gap-fill portion without any color filter thus simplify the fabrication of an image sensor, that may have reduced striation defects and may exhibit improved image properties (SEO, [0112]).
CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA and HARASAWA and SEO does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein the second microlens comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface; and a flat part between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed.
CHANG teaches in Figure 2G, an image sensor (optical device, [0032]), wherein the second microlens (Fig. 2G, 39, microlenses) comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface (Fig. 2G, 41, convex surface); and a flat part (Fig. 2G, 40, transparent lens body) between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate (Fig. 3, 24), wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed (annotated Figure 2G).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, and SEO to incorporate the teachings of CHANG such that an image sensor, wherein the second microlens comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface; and a flat part between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed, so that this enables fabrication of micro-lenses (39) on a substrate which are capable of use in a variety of applications (CHANG, [0032-0033]).
CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA and HARASAWA, SEO, and CHANG does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein the first pixel domains and the second pixel domains are alternatively disposed in the first direction and in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
SAKIOKA teaches in Figures 16 and 18, an image sensor (Fig. 1, solid-state imaging device, [0017]), wherein the first pixel domains (annotated Figure 18, red, green, green, blue are arrayed in the Bayer array the four local pixel units, 31, [0165]) and the second pixel domains (annotated Figure 18, one predetermined color (green for example in Fig. 18 or white for example in Fig. 16, [0153]) in all of the pixel units, 31, [0165]) are alternatively disposed in the first direction (annotated Figure 18) and in a second direction intersecting the first direction (annotated Figure 18).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, and CHANG to incorporate the teachings of SAKOIKA such that an image sensor, wherein the first pixel domains and the second pixel domains are alternatively disposed in the first direction and in a second direction intersecting the first direction, so that the pixel unit, 31 is formed of the four pixels as shown in Figure 18, but the pixel unit, 31 is formed of two pixels as shown in Figure 19, and therefore the microlens, 26 is also shared by the two pixels constituting the pixel unit, 31 (SAKOIKA, Figures 18/19, [0168]).
Regarding Claim 12, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 11.
CHENG further teaches in Figure 16, the image sensor (IS10), wherein a level difference between an uppermost part of each of the first microlenses (annotated Figure 16) and an uppermost part of the second microlens (annotated Figure 16) is within about 2% of a maximum height of each of the first microlenses ([0029]).
Regarding Claim 13, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 11.
TOUMIYA further teaches in Figure 2, the image sensor (1, state imaging device), wherein a difference between the first refractive index (refractive index of 1.8 to 2.0) of each of the first microlenses (21, inorganic microlens made of SiN) and the second refractive index (refractive index of 1.4 to 1.5) of the second microlens (22, organic microlens made of acrylic resin) is in a range of about 0.30 to about 0.45 ([0063]).
Regarding Claim 14, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 11.
CHENG further teaches in Figure 16, the image sensor (IS10), wherein the image sensor further comprising:
a pixel separation pattern (140, deep trench isolations, [0020], annotated Figure 16) in the substrate (200 support substrate), the pixel separation pattern (140, deep trench isolations, [0020]) separating the first pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028], annotated Figure 16) and the second pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028], annotated Figure 16); and
a light-shield pattern (160, light shielding layer) on the first surface (100a, semiconductor substrate, annotated Figure 16) of the substrate (200 support substrate),
wherein the light-shield pattern (160, light shielding layer) is on the pixel separation pattern (140, deep trench isolations, [0020]) between the first pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028], annotated Figure 16) of the first pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) and is not on the pixel separation pattern (140, deep trench isolations, [0020]) between the second pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028], annotated Figure 16) of the second pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]).
Regarding Claim 15, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 11.
SAKOIKA further teaches in Figures 16 and 18, the image sensor (Fig. 1, solid-state imaging device, [0017]), wherein the first color filter (annotated Figure 18, red, green, green, blue are arrayed in the Bayer array the four local pixel units, 31, [0165]) comprises a plurality of first color filters (Fig. 14, 25) spaced apart from each other with the second pixel domains (annotated Figure 18, one predetermined color (green for example in Fig. 18 or white for example in Fig. 16, [0153]) in all of the pixel units, 31, [0165]) interposed therebetween (annotated Figure 18), and
wherein the first color filters (Fig. 14, 25) have colors different from each other (annotated Figure 18).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG, in view of TOUMIYA, further in view of HARASAWA, further in view of SEO, further in view of CHANG, further in view of SAKOIKA, and further in view of Tomohiko Asatsumat et al, (hereinafter ASATSUMAT), WO 2021124964 A1.
Regarding Claim 10, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 1.
CHENG further teaches in Figure 16, the image sensor of (IS10) wherein, when viewed in a plan view, each of the first microlens (190A, first lenses, [0028]) and the second microlens (190B, second lenses, [0028]) has a square shape or rectangular shape (annotated Figure 11).
CHENG as modified by SAKOIKA, TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO and CHANG does not teaches the image sensor of claim 1, wherein, when viewed in a plan view, each of the first microlens and the second microlens has a hexagonal shape or an octagonal shape.
ASATSUMAT teaches in Figure 7, the image sensor (100, unit pixel) of claim 1, wherein, when viewed in a plan view ([0079]), each of the first microlens (151, first on-chip lens, [0079]) and the second microlens (152, second on-chip lens, [0079]) has a hexagonal shape or an octagonal shape (annotated Figure 7).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and SAKOIKA to incorporate the teachings of ASAZUMA such that the image sensor, wherein, when viewed in a plan view, each of the first microlens and the second microlens has a hexagonal shape or an octagonal shape. The pixel design factors of chip lenses such as size and shape are essential to collect incident light on to the photoelectric conversion element which in turn determines the size of one pixel pitch when the pixels are arranged in an array (ASATSUMAT, Figure 7, [0072]).
Claim(s) 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG, in view of TOUMIYA, further in view of HARASAWA, further in view of SEO, further in view of CHANG, further in view of HongKi Kim et al (hereinafter KIM), US 20200083268 A1, and further in view of SAKOIKA.
Regarding Claim 16, CHENG teaches in Figure 16, an image sensor (IS10) comprising:
a substrate (200, support substrate) having a first surface (100a, semiconductor substrate, annotated Figure 16) and a second surface (100a, semiconductor substrate, annotated Figure 16) that are opposite to each other, the substrate comprising a plurality of first pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]), and a plurality of second pixel domain (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]), the first pixel domains and the second pixel domains being adjacent to each other in a first direction (annotated Figure 16), each of the first pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) comprising first pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]) and each of the second pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) comprising second pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]);
a pixel separation pattern (140, deep trench isolations, [0020]) provided in the substrate (100a, semiconductor substrate)) and separating the first pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]) and the second pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]);
a photoelectric conversion region (110a/110b, image sensing units, [0028]) in each of the first pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) and the plurality of second pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]);
an impurity region (p-type/n-type doped regions, [0014]) that are in each of the first pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]) and the second pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]), and are adjacent to the first surface (100a, semiconductor substrate, annotated Figure 16) of the substrate (200, support substrate);
a device isolation pattern (120, shallow trench isolations, [0014]) provided on one side of one of the impurity region (p-type/n-type doped regions, [0014]), and the pixel separation pattern (140, deep trench isolations, [0020]) penetrating the device isolation pattern (120, shallow trench isolations, [0014]);
a gate electrode (NAND/NOR gates as logic circuit, [0015]) provided on the first surface (100a, semiconductor substrate, annotated Figure 16) of the substrate (200, support substrate);
a gate dielectric pattern (dielectric layers, [0016]) provided between the gate electrode (NAND/NOR gates as logic circuit, [0015]) and the substrate (200, support substrate);
a wiring layer (130, interconnect layer, [0016]) provided on the second surface (130, interconnect layer, [0016]) of the substrate (200, support substrate), the wiring layer (130, interconnect layer, [0016]) comprising a dielectric layer (dielectric layers, [0016]) and wiring lines (130, interconnect layer, [0016]) in the dielectric layer (dielectric layers, [0016]);
a backside dielectric layer ([0018]) on the second surface (100a, semiconductor substrate, annotated Figure 16) of the substrate (200, support substrate);
a first color filter (R/G/B, [0028]) provided on the backside dielectric layer ([170, [0022]) and vertically overlapping the first pixel domains (P arrays annotated Figure 16, [0028]), the first pixels corresponding to a color of the first color filter (R/G/B, [0028]);
a first microlens (190A, first lenses, [0028]) provided on the first color filter (R/G/B, [0028]) and being on each of the first pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]);
a second microlens (190B, second lenses, [0028]) provided on the backside dielectric layer ([170, [0022]) and vertically overlapping at least a portion of each of the second pixels (P, sensing pixels, [0028]), the second microlens being configured to operate as a white color filter (Fig. 15, white sub-pixels of the sensing pixels, P, [0040]),
wherein a level difference between an uppermost part of the first microlens (annotated Figure 16) and an uppermost part of the second microlens (annotated Figure 16) is within about 2% of a maximum height of the first microlens ([0029]), and
CHENG teaches in Figure 16, an image sensor (IS10) comprising a second microlens (190B) having a larger radius of curvature (annotated Figure 16) that has a second refractive index of the second microlens is greater than a first refractive index of the first microlens (190A) with smaller radius of curvature (annotated Figure 16) [See Gallegos et al, Lensmaker Equation3 in the footnote for the relation between refractive index and the radii of curvature of the lens].
CHENG does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein a second refractive index of the second microlens is greater than a first refractive index of the first microlens.
TOUMIYA teaches in Figure 2, an image sensor (1, state imaging device), wherein a second refractive index of the second microlens (21, inorganic microlens, [0055]) is greater (higher refractive index, [0055]) than a first refractive index of the first microlens (22, organic microlens, [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified CHENG to incorporate the teachings of TOUMIYA such that an image sensor, wherein a second refractive index of the second microlens is greater than a first refractive index of the first microlens. The higher refractive index of an inorganic microlens when compared to the lower refractive index of an organic microlens thus facilitate observation of the phase difference detection pixel in which as focal length of the light is set to be shorter than in the imaging pixel (TOUMIYA, [0055-0057]).
CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein a first surface of the flat part of the second microlens facing the first surface of the substrate is coplanar with a first surface of the first color filter facing the first surface of the substrate.
HARASAWA teaches in Figure 3, an image sensor (Fig. 1, 10, CMOS image sensor), wherein a first surface (56, dimming filter annotated Figure 3) of the second microlens (57) facing the first surface of the flat part (annotated Figure 3) of the substrate (51, semiconductor substrate) is coplanar (annotated Figure 3) with a first surface (annotated Figure 3) of the first color filter (55B) facing the first surface (annotated Figure 3) of the substrate (51).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA to incorporate the teachings of HARASAWA such that an image sensor, wherein a first surface of the second microlens facing the first surface of the flat part of the substrate is coplanar with a first surface of the first color filter facing the first surface of the substrate so that color mixing and dimming effects are optimized for efficient light transmission for the photoelectric conversion unit of the image sensor device (HARASAWA, [0062]).
Though HARASAWA teaches the second micro-lens having curved top surface of the lens part and flat part, however, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA and HARASAWA does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein the second microlens comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface; and a flat part between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed and comprise a same material.
SEO teaches in Figures 3A/3D, an image sensor (2), wherein the second microlens (600, micro-lens layer) comprises: a lens part (630, lens portion) having a curved top surface; and a flat part (610, fill portion) between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate (100a), wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed and comprise a same material ([0043], [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA and HARASAWA to incorporate the teachings of SEO such that an image sensor, wherein the second microlens comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface; and a flat part between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed and comprise a same material. The micro-lens may be provided on the gap-fill portion without any color filter thus simplify the fabrication of an image sensor, that may have reduced striation defects and may exhibit improved image properties (SEO, [0112]).
CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA and HARASAWA and SEO does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein the second microlens comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface; and a flat part between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed.
CHANG teaches in Figure 2G, an image sensor (optical device, [0032]), wherein the second microlens (Fig. 2G, 39, microlenses) comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface (Fig. 2G, 41, convex surface); and a flat part (Fig. 2G, 40, transparent lens body) between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate (Fig. 3, 24), wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed (annotated Figure 2G).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, and SEO to incorporate the teachings of CHANG such that an image sensor, wherein the second microlens comprises: a lens part having a curved top surface; and a flat part between the lens part and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the lens part and the flat part are integrally formed, so that this enables fabrication of micro-lenses (39) on a substrate which are capable of use in a variety of applications (CHANG, [0032-0033]).
CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO and CHANG does not teach an image sensor comprising a floating diffusion region that are in each of the first pixel domain and the second pixel domain, and are adjacent to the first surface of the substrate; wherein a gate spacer provided on a sidewall of the gate electrode.
KIM teaches in Figure 4, an image sensor ([0005]) comprising a floating diffusion region (FD, [0029]) that are in each of the first pixel domain (PX, unit pixels, [0029]) and the second pixel domain, (PX, unit pixels, [0029]) and are adjacent to the first surface (100a, semiconductor substrate, annotated Figure 16) of the substrate (200, support substrate); wherein a gate spacer (annotated Figure 4) provided on a sidewall of the gate electrode (TG, Transfer gate, [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO and CHANG to incorporate the teachings of KIM such that an image sensor comprising a floating diffusion region that are in each of the first pixel domain and the second pixel domain, and are adjacent to the first surface of the substrate, so that the presence of floating diffusion region, FD to store the cumulative charges that are generated by the photoelectric conversion device PD within the photoelectric conversion layer of an image sensor; wherein a gate spacer provided on a sidewall of the gate electrode to provide a critical role in the reliability of the image sensor device (KIM, Figure 4, [0029-0030], [0047]).
CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA and HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and KIM does not explicitly disclose an image sensor, wherein the first pixel domains and the second pixel domains are alternatively disposed in the first direction and in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
SAKIOKA teaches in Figures 16 and 18, an image sensor (Fig. 1, solid-state imaging device, [0017]), wherein the first pixel domains (annotated Figure 18, red, green, green, blue are arrayed in the Bayer array the four local pixel units, 31, [0165]) and the second pixel domains (annotated Figure 18, one predetermined color (green for example in Fig. 18 or white for example in Fig. 16, [0153]) in all of the pixel units, 31, [0165]) are alternatively disposed in the first direction (annotated Figure 18) and in a second direction intersecting the first direction (annotated Figure 18).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, and KIM to incorporate the teachings of SAKOIKA such that an image sensor, wherein the first pixel domains and the second pixel domains are alternatively disposed in the first direction and in a second direction intersecting the first direction, so that the pixel unit, 31 is formed of the four pixels as shown in Figure 18, but the pixel unit, 31 is formed of two pixels as shown in Figure 19, and therefore the microlens, 26 is also shared by the two pixels constituting the pixel unit, 31 (SAKOIKA, Figures 18/19, [0168]).
Regarding Claim 18, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, KIM, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 16.
SAKOIKA further teaches in Figures 16 and 18, the image sensor (Fig. 1, solid-state imaging device, [0017]), wherein the first color filter (annotated Figure 18, red, green, green, blue are arrayed in the Bayer array the four local pixel units, 31, [0165]) comprises a plurality of first color filters (Fig. 14, 25) spaced apart from each other with the second pixel domains (annotated Figure 18, one predetermined color (green for example in Fig. 18 or white for example in Fig. 16, [0153]) in all of the pixel units, 31, [0165]) interposed therebetween (annotated Figure 18), and
wherein the first color filters (Fig. 14, 25) have colors different from each other (annotated Figure 18).
Regarding Claim 19, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, KIM, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 16.
CHENG further teaches in Figure 16, the image sensor (IS10), wherein a width (annotated Figure 16) of the pixel separation pattern (140, deep trench isolations, [0020]) increases in a direction from the first surface (100a, semiconductor substrate, annotated Figure 16) of the substrate (200, support substrate) toward the second surface (100a, semiconductor substrate, annotated Figure 16) of the substrate (200, support substrate).
Regarding Claim 20, CHENG as modified by TOUMIYA, HARASAWA, SEO, CHANG, KIM, and SAKOIKA teaches the image sensor of claim 16.
CHENG further teaches in Figure 16, the image sensor, wherein a second width (annotated Figure 16) of the second microlens (190B, second lenses, [0028]) is greater (annotated Figure 16) than a first width (annotated Figure 16) of each of the first microlenses (190A, first lenses, [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20070153104 A1 – Figure 3A-C
Statement of Relevance – Color pixel array with light efficient cell variations.
US 20130083214 A1 – Figure 20
Statement of Relevance – Back color filter (396) are different from the front color filter (395).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812
1 Jillian Gallegos et al, Lensmaker’s Equation - [Updated 2023 Jul 8]. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2024 Jan. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK594278/).
2 Jillian Gallegos et al, Lensmaker’s Equation - [Updated 2023 Jul 8]. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2024 Jan. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK594278/).
3 Jillian Gallegos et al, Lensmaker’s Equation - [Updated 2023 Jul 8]. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2024 Jan. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK594278/).