DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 18 September 2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Communication on 20 June 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 19 September 2025 of Applicants’ amendments in which claims 1, 2, and 15 are amended and claim 14 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20200395418A1) in view Xu et al. (US20210375999A1) and Hack et al. (US20100090620A1).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches in Fig. 1 an electro-optical device comprising:
a first light-emitting element (203) including a first light-emitting region (region of 203) that is configured to emit light in a red wavelength range {¶0044, 0045; 203 within 10};
a second light-emitting element (204) including a second light-emitting region (region of 204) that is disposed at a position adjacent to the first light-emitting region (region of 203) in a first direction (vertical) and that is configured to emit light in a blue wavelength range {¶0044, 0045; 204 within 10};
a third light-emitting element (201, 202) including a third light-emitting region (region of 201, 202) that is disposed at a position adjacent to the first light-emitting region (region of 203) and the second light-emitting region (region of 204) in a second direction (horizontal) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical) and that is configured to emit light in a green wavelength range {¶0044, 0045; 201, 202 within 10};
a sum of the area of the first light-emitting region (region of 203) and the area of the second light-emitting region (region of 204) is equal to an area of the third light-emitting region (region of 201, 202) {Fig. 1}.
Han does not teach:
a first coloring layer that is provided overlapping the first light-emitting region in a plan view and that is configured to transmit the light in the red wavelength range;
a second coloring layer that is provided overlapping the second light-emitting region in the plan view and that is configured to transmit the light in the blue wavelength range;
a third coloring layer that is provided overlapping the third light-emitting region in the plan view and that is configured to transmit the light in the green wavelength range; and
a light-shielding portion including a first light-shielding portion that is provided in an island shape so as to divide the third light-emitting region into two portions along the first direction in the plan view and that is configured to block at least the light in the green wavelength range,
wherein the first light-shielding portion extends in the second direction to completely divide the third coloring layer into two separate portions respectively corresponding to the two portions of the third light-emitting region.
In an analogous art, Xu teaches in Figs. 6, 7, and 15:
a first coloring layer (e.g., leftmost 31) that is provided overlapping a first light-emitting region (e.g., region of leftmost 21) in a plan view and that is configured to transmit light in a red wavelength range {¶0047, 0062};
a second coloring layer (e.g., centermost 31) that is provided overlapping a second light-emitting region (e.g., region of centermost 21) in the plan view and that is configured to transmit light in a blue wavelength range {¶0047, 0062};
a third coloring layer (e.g., rightmost 31) that is provided overlapping a third light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost vertically-adjacent 21s in Fig. 7) in the plan view and that is configured to transmit light in a green wavelength range {¶0047, 0062}; and
a light-shielding portion (321) including a first light-shielding portion (portion of 321 disposed between rightmost vertically-adjacent 21s in Fig. 7) that is provided in an island shape (see Fig. 6} so as to divide the third light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost vertically-adjacent 21s in Fig. 7) into two portions (upper and lower portions in Fig. 7) along a first direction (horizontal, orientation may be rotated to vertical) in the plan view and that is configured to block at least the light in the green wavelength range {Figs. 6, 7, 15; ¶0057}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device based on the teachings of Xu, as identified above, so the light mixing problem of two adjacent pixel units occurring at the position of [the] black matrix … can be avoided and the natural light reflected at the position of the black matrix … can be prevented from being emitted by the absorption of the black matrix. Xu ¶0057. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., as identified above) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Xu) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A).
Han as modified by Xu does not teach wherein an area of the first light-emitting region is smaller than an area of the second light-emitting region.
In an analogous art, Hack teaches in Fig. 6 an area of a first light-emitting region (bottom-right subpixel of 620) is smaller than an area of a second light-emitting region (top-left subpixel of 620). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device as modified by Xu based on the teachings of Hack – such that an area of the first light-emitting region is smaller than an area of the second light-emitting region – so a device having a larger area may be run at a lower current than a similar device with a smaller area to emit the same amount of light, [t]he lower current may increase device lifetime, and thereby compensate for devices having a lower expected lifetime. Hack ¶0064.
Regarding claim 2, Han teaches in Fig. 1 an electro-optical device comprising:
a first light-emitting element (203) including a first light-emitting region (region of 203) that is configured to emit light in a red wavelength range {¶0044, 0045; 203 within 10};
a second light-emitting element (204) including a second light-emitting region (region of 204) that is disposed at a position adjacent to the first light-emitting region (region of 203) in a first direction (vertical) and that is configured to emit light in a blue wavelength range {¶0044, 0045; 204 within 10};
a third light-emitting element (201) including a third light-emitting region (region of 201) that is disposed at a position adjacent to the first light-emitting region (region of 203) in a second direction (horizontal) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical) and that is configured to emit light in a green wavelength range {¶0044, 0045; 201 within 10};
a fourth light-emitting element (202) including a fourth light-emitting region (region of 202) that is disposed at a position adjacent to the second light-emitting region (region of 204) in the second direction (horizontal) and that is configured to emit light in the green wavelength range {¶0044, 0045; 202 within 10};
wherein the first light-emitting element (203), the second light-emitting element (204), the third light- emitting element (201), and the fourth light-emitting element (202) are disposed in two rows and two columns in one pixel (200), and the first light-emitting element (203) and the fourth light-emitting element (202) are disposed diagonally with respect to an array direction of a plurality of pixels (200) included in a display area (10, 20) of the electro-optical device {¶0044},
a sum of the area of the first light-emitting region (region of 203) and the area of the second light-emitting region (region of 204) is equal to a sum of an area of the third light-emitting region (region of 201) and an area of the fourth light-emitting region (region of 202) {Fig. 1}.
Han does not teach:
a first coloring layer that is provided overlapping the first light-emitting region in a plan view and that is configured to transmit the light in the red wavelength range;
a second coloring layer that is provided overlapping the second light-emitting region in the plan view and that is configured to transmit the light in the blue wavelength range;
a third coloring layer that is provided overlapping the third light-emitting region and the fourth light-emitting region in the plan view and that is configured to transmit the light in the green wavelength range; and
a light-shielding portion including a first light-shielding portion that is provided in an island shape so as to overlap a region between the third light-emitting region and the fourth light-emitting region in the plan view and that is configured to block at least the light in the green wavelength range,
wherein the first light-shielding portion extends in the second direction to completely divide the third coloring layer into two separate portions respectively corresponding to the third light-emitting region and the fourth light-emitting region.
Xu teaches in Figs. 6, 7, and 15:
a first coloring layer (e.g., leftmost 31) that is provided overlapping a first light-emitting region (e.g., region of leftmost 21) in a plan view and that is configured to transmit light in a red wavelength range {¶0047, 0062};
a second coloring layer (e.g., centermost 31) that is provided overlapping a second light-emitting region (e.g., region of centermost 21) in the plan view and that is configured to transmit light in a blue wavelength range {¶0047, 0062};
a third coloring layer (e.g., rightmost 31) that is provided overlapping a third light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost and top 21 in Fig. 7) and a fourth light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost and bottom 21 in Fig. 7) in the plan view and that is configured to transmit light in a green wavelength range {¶0047, 0062}; and
a light-shielding portion (321) including a first light-shielding portion (portion of 321 disposed between rightmost vertically-adjacent 21s in Fig. 7) that is provided in an island shape so as to overlap a region between the third light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost and top 21 in Fig. 7) and the fourth light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost and bottom 21 in Fig. 7) in the plan view and that is configured to block at least the light in the green wavelength range {¶0057},
wherein the first light-shielding portion (portion of 321 disposed between rightmost vertically-adjacent 21s in Fig. 7) extends in a second direction (horizontal, orientation may be rotated to vertical) to completely divide the third coloring layer (e.g., rightmost 31) into two separate portions respectively corresponding to the third light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost and top 21 in Fig. 7) and the fourth light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost and bottom 21 in Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device based on the teachings of Xu, as identified above, so the light mixing problem of two adjacent pixel units occurring at the position of [the] black matrix … can be avoided and the natural light reflected at the position of the black matrix … can be prevented from being emitted by the absorption of the black matrix. Xu ¶0057. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., as identified above) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Xu) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A).
Han as modified by Xu does not teach an area of the first light-emitting region is smaller than an area of the second light-emitting region.
Hack teaches in Fig. 6 an area of a first light-emitting region (bottom-right subpixel of 620) is smaller than an area of a second light-emitting region (top-left subpixel of 620). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device as modified by Xu based on the teachings of Hack – such that an area of the first light-emitting region is smaller than an area of the second light-emitting region – so a device having a larger area may be run at a lower current than a similar device with a smaller area to emit the same amount of light, [t]he lower current may increase device lifetime, and thereby compensate for devices having a lower expected lifetime. Hack ¶0064.
Regarding claim 15, Han teaches an electro-optical device comprising:
a first light-emitting element (203) including a first light-emitting region (region of 203) that is configured to emit light in a first wavelength range {¶0044, 0045; 203 within 10};
a second light-emitting element (204) including a second light-emitting region (region of 204) that is disposed at a position adjacent to the first light-emitting region (region of 203) in a first direction (vertical) and that is configured to emit light in a second wavelength range {¶0044, 0045; 204 within 10};
a third light-emitting element (201) including a third light-emitting region (region of 201) that is disposed at a position adjacent to the first light-emitting region (region of 203) in a second direction (horizontal) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical) and that is configured to emit light in a third wavelength range {¶0044, 0045; 201 within 10};
a fourth light-emitting element (202) including a fourth light-emitting region (region of 202) that is disposed at a position adjacent to the second light-emitting region (region of 204) in the second direction (horizontal) and that is configured to emit light in the third wavelength range {¶0044, 0045; 202 within 10};
wherein the first light-emitting element (203), the second light-emitting element (204), the third light-emitting element (201), and the fourth light-emitting element (202) are disposed in two rows and two columns in one pixel (200), and the first light-emitting element (203) and the fourth light-emitting element (202) are disposed diagonally with respect to an array direction of a plurality of pixels (200) included in a display area (10, 20) of the electro-optical device {¶0044},
a sum of the area of the first light-emitting region (region of 203) and the area of the second light-emitting region (region of 204) is equal to a sum of the area of the third light-emitting region (region of 201) and the area of the fourth light-emitting region (region of 202).
Han does not teach:
a first coloring layer that is provided overlapping the first light-emitting region in a plan view and that is configured to transmit the light in the first wavelength range;
a second coloring layer that is provided overlapping the second light-emitting region in the plan view and that is configured to transmit the light in the second wavelength range;
a third coloring layer that is provided overlapping the third light-emitting region and the fourth light-emitting region in the plan view and that is configured to transmit the light in the third wavelength range; and
a light-shielding portion including a first light-shielding portion that is provided in an island shape so as to overlap a region between the third light-emitting region and the fourth light-emitting region in the plan view and that is configured to block at least the light in the third wavelength range,
wherein the first light-shielding portion extends in the second direction to completely divide the third coloring layer into two separate portions respectively corresponding to the third light-emitting region and the fourth light-emitting region.
Xu teaches in Figs. 6, 7, and 15:
a first coloring layer (e.g., leftmost 31) that is provided overlapping a first light-emitting region (e.g., region of leftmost 21) in a plan view and that is configured to transmit light in a first wavelength range {¶0047, 0062};
a second coloring layer (e.g., centermost 31) that is provided overlapping a second light-emitting region (e.g., region of centermost 21) in the plan view and that is configured to transmit light in a second wavelength range {¶0047, 0062};
a third coloring layer (e.g., rightmost 31) that is provided overlapping a third light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost and top 21 in Fig. 7) and a fourth light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost and bottom 21 in Fig. 7) in the plan view and that is configured to transmit light in a third wavelength range {¶0047, 0062}; and
a light-shielding portion (321) including a first light-shielding portion (portion of 321 disposed between rightmost vertically-adjacent 21s in Fig. 7) that is provided in an island shape so as to overlap a region between the third light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost and top 21 in Fig. 7) and the fourth light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost and bottom 21 in Fig. 7) in the plan view and that is configured to block at least the light in the green wavelength range {¶0057},
wherein the first light-shielding portion (portion of 321 disposed between rightmost vertically-adjacent 21s in Fig. 7) extends in a second direction (horizontal, orientation may be rotated to vertical) to completely divide the third coloring layer (e.g., rightmost 31) into two separate portions respectively corresponding to the third light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost and top 21 in Fig. 7) and the fourth light-emitting region (e.g., region of rightmost and bottom 21 in Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device based on the teachings of Xu, as identified above, so the light mixing problem of two adjacent pixel units occurring at the position of [the] black matrix … can be avoided and the natural light reflected at the position of the black matrix … can be prevented from being emitted by the absorption of the black matrix. Xu ¶0057. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., as identified above) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Xu) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A).
Han as modified by Xu does not teach wherein an area of the first light-emitting region is smaller than an area of the second light-emitting region and equal to an area of the third light-emitting region, the area of the second light-emitting region is equal to an area of the fourth light-emitting region
Hack teaches in Fig. 6 an area of a first light-emitting region (bottom-right subpixel of 620) is smaller than an area of a second light-emitting region (top-left subpixel of 620) and equal to an area of a third light-emitting region (bottom-left subpixel of 620), the area of the second light-emitting region (top-left subpixel of 620) is equal to an area of a fourth light-emitting region (top-right subpixel of 620). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device as modified by Xu based on the teachings of Hack – such that an area of the first light-emitting region is smaller than an area of the second light-emitting region and equal to an area of the third light-emitting region, the area of the second light-emitting region is equal to an area of the fourth light-emitting region – such that an area of the first light-emitting region is smaller than an area of the second light-emitting region – so a device having a larger area may be run at a lower current than a similar device with a smaller area to emit the same amount of light, [t]he lower current may increase device lifetime, and thereby compensate for devices having a lower expected lifetime. Hack ¶0064.
Claim(s) 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Xu and Hack as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Motoyama et al. (US20180308915A1) and Koshihara (US20190035862A1).
Regarding claim 3, Han as modified by Xu and Hack teaches the electro-optical device according to claim 2, but Han does not teach further comprising:
a first relay electrode electrically coupled to a first pixel electrode included in the first light-emitting element;
a second relay electrode electrically coupled to a second pixel electrode included in the second light-emitting element;
a third relay electrode electrically coupled to a third pixel electrode included in the third light-emitting element;
a fourth relay electrode electrically coupled to a fourth pixel electrode included in the fourth light-emitting element; and
an insulating layer provided between the first pixel electrode and the first relay electrode, between the second pixel electrode and the second relay electrode, between the third pixel electrode and the third relay electrode, and between the fourth pixel electrode and the fourth relay electrode; wherein
the first pixel electrode includes a first contact portion electrically coupled to the first relay electrode via a first contact hole provided in the insulating layer,
the second pixel electrode includes a second contact portion electrically coupled to the second relay electrode via a second contact hole provided in the insulating layer,
the third pixel electrode includes a third contact portion electrically coupled to the third relay electrode via a third contact hole provided in the insulating layer,
the fourth pixel electrode includes a fourth contact portion electrically coupled to the fourth relay electrode via a fourth contact hole provided in the insulating layer, and
the first light-shielding portion overlaps one of the first contact portion or the second contact portion and one of the third contact portion or the fourth contact portion in the plan view.
In an analogous art, Motoyama teaches in Figs. 1-4:
a first relay electrode (contact below 12A) electrically coupled to a first pixel electrode (14) included in a first light-emitting element (10R/10G) {Fig.8; ¶0077, FIG. 8 illustrates a sectional configuration of the light emitting elements 10R, 10G, and 10B};
a second relay electrode (contact below 12A) electrically coupled to a second pixel electrode (14) included in a second light-emitting element (10G/10R) {Fig.8; ¶0077, FIG. 8 illustrates a sectional configuration of the light emitting elements 10R, 10G, and 10B};
a third relay electrode (contact below 12A) electrically coupled to a third pixel electrode (14) included in a third light-emitting element (upper 10B in Fig. 4) {Fig.8; ¶0077, FIG. 8 illustrates a sectional configuration of the light emitting elements 10R, 10G, and 10B};
an insulating layer (12) provided between the first pixel electrode (14) and the first relay electrode (contact below 12A), between the second pixel electrode (14) and the second relay electrode (contact below 12A), between the third pixel electrode (14) and the third relay electrode (contact below 12A) {Fig.8; ¶0077, FIG. 8 illustrates a sectional configuration of the light emitting elements 10R, 10G, and 10B};
wherein the first pixel electrode (14) includes a first contact portion (contact within 12A) electrically coupled to the first relay electrode (contact below 12A) via a first contact hole (12A) provided in the insulating layer (12) {Fig.8; ¶0077, FIG. 8 illustrates a sectional configuration of the light emitting elements 10R, 10G, and 10B},
the second pixel electrode (14) includes a second contact portion (contact within 12A) electrically coupled to the second relay electrode (contact below 12A) via a second contact hole (12A) provided in the insulating layer (12) {Fig.8; ¶0077, FIG. 8 illustrates a sectional configuration of the light emitting elements 10R, 10G, and 10B},
the third pixel electrode (14) includes a third contact portion (contact within 12A) electrically coupled to the third relay electrode (contact below 12A) via a third contact hole (12A) provided in the insulating layer (12) {Fig.8; ¶0077, FIG. 8 illustrates a sectional configuration of the light emitting elements 10R, 10G, and 10B},
a first light-shielding portion (portion of 24 separating 2B-1 and 2B-2) overlaps one of the first contact portion (contact within 12A) or the second contact portion (contact within 12A) and the third contact portion (contact within 12A) {Fig. 5.; ¶0065, first light-shielding portion 24-2: (1) overlaps the third contact portion 12A within 10B from a first oblique perspective with respect to a plan view and (2) overlaps the first/second contact portion 12A of 10R/10G through a second oblique perspective of the plan view}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device as modified by Xu and Hack based on the teachings of Motoyama, as identified above, to achieve both the wide opening and the wide viewing angle. Motoyama ¶0011. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., as identified above) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Motoyama) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A).
Han, Xu, Hack, and Motoyama do not teach:
a fourth relay electrode electrically coupled to a fourth pixel electrode included in the fourth light-emitting element, and the fourth pixel electrode includes a fourth contact portion electrically coupled to the fourth relay electrode via a fourth contact hole provided in the insulating layer; and
the insulating layer is provided between the fourth pixel electrode and the fourth relay electrode.
However, as indicated above, Motoyama teaches a third relay electrode (contact below 12A) electrically coupled to a third pixel electrode (14) included in the third light-emitting element (upper 10B in Fig. 4).
In an analogous art, Koshihara teaches in Fig. 12 and paragraph [0063] that two sub pixels PxB1 and PxB2, which emit the same color light (as do the claimed third light-emitting element and fourth light-emitting element), have identical circuitry for supplying current to each of the two sub pixels PxB1 and PxB2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device as modified by Xu, Hack, and Motoyama based on the teachings of Koshihara – such that the third light-emitting element and fourth light-emitting element of Motoyama’s electro-optical device have identical circuitry in which: a fourth relay electrode is electrically coupled to a fourth pixel electrode included in the fourth light-emitting element, the fourth pixel electrode includes a fourth contact portion electrically coupled to the fourth relay electrode via a fourth contact hole provided in the insulating layer, and the insulating layer is provided between the fourth pixel electrode and the fourth relay electrode – for the purpose of supplying current to each of the two sub pixels PxB1 and PxB2. Koshihara ¶0063.
Regarding claim 4, Han as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara teaches the electro-optical device according to claim 3, but Han does not teach wherein the light-shielding portion overlaps the first contact portion, the second contact portion, the third contact portion, and the fourth contact portion in the plan view.
However, Koshihara teaches in paragraph [0072] that parts of the color filters 81 may overlap with each other. A skilled artisan would recognize that the effect of such overlap of the color filters (comprising red color filter 81R, green color filter 81G, and blue color filter 81B) would be to shield light in the regions of such overlap. And the skilled artisan would further recognize that such shielding of light produced by overlapping color filters (each passing light of a different color) would produce a similar/same effect of shielding as does Xu’s/Motoyama’s light-shielding portion.
Koshihara further teaches in Figs. 7, 12, and 13 and paragraph [0070] the light-shielding portion (81) overlaps the first contact portion (7aG), the second contact portion (7aR), the third contact portion (7B2), and the fourth contact portion (7B1) in the plan view. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara based on the further teachings of Koshihara – such that the light-shielding portion overlaps the first contact portion, the second contact portion, the third contact portion, and the fourth contact portion in the plan view – so that the variation in color change depending on the viewing angle caused by the color variation of the color filter 81 located in the +Y direction is suppressed. Koshihara ¶0098.
Regarding claim 5, Han as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara teaches the electro-optical device according to claim 4, but Han does not teach wherein
the first light-shielding portion includes
a first portion overlapping the second contact portion in the plan view,
a second portion overlapping the fourth contact portion in the plan view, and
a third portion that is provided between the first portion and the second portion in the plan view and that is coupled to each of the first portion and the second portion,
the light-shielding portion further includes a second light-shielding portion overlapping the first contact portion and the third contact portion in the plan view, and
the second light-shielding portion includes
a fourth portion overlapping the first contact portion in the plan view,
a fifth portion overlapping the third contact portion in the plan view, and
a sixth portion that is provided between the fourth portion and the fifth portion in the plan view and that is coupled to each of the fourth portion and the fifth portion.
However, Koshihara teaches in paragraph [0072] that parts of the color filters 81 may overlap with each other. A skilled artisan would recognize that the effect of such overlap of the color filters (comprising red color filter 81R, green color filter 81G, and blue color filter 81B) would be to shield light in the regions of such overlap. And the skilled artisan would further recognize that such shielding of light produced by overlapping color filters (each passing light of a different color) would produce a similar/same effect of shielding as does Xu’s/Motoyama’s light-shielding portion.
Koshihara further teaches in Fig. 12 and paragraphs [0069] and [0070] the first light-shielding portion (left side of 81G) includes a first portion (top leftmost corner) overlapping the second contact portion (7aR) in the plan view, a second portion (bottom leftmost corner) overlapping the fourth contact portion (7B1) in the plan view, and a third portion (portion between top and bottom leftmost corners) that is provided between the first portion (top leftmost corner) and the second portion (bottom leftmost corner) in the plan view and that is coupled to each of the first portion (top leftmost corner) and the second portion (bottom leftmost corner), the light-shielding portion (81) further includes a second light-shielding portion (right side of 81G) overlapping the first contact portion (7aG) and the third contact portion (7B2) in the plan view, and the second light-shielding portion (right side of 81G) includes a fourth portion (top rightmost corner) overlapping the first contact portion (7aG) in the plan view, a fifth portion (bottom rightmost corner) overlapping the third contact portion (7B2) in the plan view, and a sixth portion (portion between top and bottom rightmost corners) that is provided between the fourth portion (top rightmost corner) and the fifth portion (bottom rightmost corner) in the plan view and that is coupled to each of the fourth portion (top rightmost corner) and the fifth portion (bottom rightmost corner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara based on the further teachings of Koshihara – such that the first light-shielding portion includes a first portion overlapping the second contact portion in the plan view, a second portion overlapping the fourth contact portion in the plan view, and a third portion that is provided between the first portion and the second portion in the plan view and that is coupled to each of the first portion and the second portion, the light-shielding portion further includes a second light-shielding portion overlapping the first contact portion and the third contact portion in the plan view, and the second light-shielding portion includes a fourth portion overlapping the first contact portion in the plan view, a fifth portion overlapping the third contact portion in the plan view, and a sixth portion that is provided between the fourth portion and the fifth portion in the plan view and that is coupled to each of the fourth portion and the fifth portion – so that the variation in color change depending on the viewing angle caused by the color variation of the color filter 81 located in the +Y direction is suppressed. Koshihara ¶0098.
Regarding claim 6, Han as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara teaches the electro-optical device according to claim 5, but Han does not teach wherein
a width of each of the first portion and the second portion in the first direction is larger than a width of the third portion in the first direction and
a width of each of the fourth portion and the fifth portion in the first direction is larger than a width of the sixth portion in the first direction.
However, Koshihara teaches in paragraph [0072] that parts of the color filters 81 may overlap with each other. A skilled artisan would recognize that the effect of such overlap of the color filters (comprising red color filter 81R, green color filter 81G, and blue color filter 81B) would be to shield light in the regions of such overlap. And the skilled artisan would further recognize that such shielding of light produced by overlapping color filters (each passing light of a different color) would produce a similar/same effect of shielding as does Xu’s/Motoyama’s light-shielding portion.
Moreover, as illustrated by Koshihara’s Fig. 12 the width of the light-emitting regions HaR, HaG, HaB1, and HaB2 narrow substantially in the x-direction (e.g., corresponding to Motoyama’s Y-direction and the claimed first direction) where the contact regions (e.g., 7aG, 7bG, 7aR, 7bR, 7B1, 7B2) are disposed. Thus, a skilled artisan would recognize that the overlap of color filters (e.g., 81G, 81R, 81B) in the contact regions may be expanded in the x-direction without significantly interfering with the passage of light through such color filters in light-emitting regions HaR, HaG, HaB1, and HaB2. This expansion would produce a circumstance in which a width of each of the first portion (top leftmost corner) and the second portion (bottom leftmost corner) in the first direction (x) is larger than a width of the third portion (portion between top and bottom leftmost corners) in the first direction (x) and a width of each of the fourth portion (top rightmost corner) and the fifth portion (bottom rightmost corner) in the first direction (x) is larger than a width of the sixth portion (portion between top and bottom rightmost corners) in the first direction (x).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara based on the further teachings of Koshihara – such that a greater overlap of the color filters occurs in the contact regions – because such greater overlap provides increased surface tension/adhesion that reduces the likelihood that the overlapping color filters will delaminate.
Regarding claim 7, Han as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara teaches the electro-optical device according to claim 5, but Han does not teach wherein
the light-shielding portion further includes
a third light-shielding portion that is provided between the first portion and the fourth portion in plan view and that is coupled to each of the first portion and
the fourth portion and a fourth light-shielding portion that is provided between the second portion and the fifth portion in the plan view and that is coupled to each of the second portion and the fifth portion.
However, Koshihara teaches in paragraph [0072] that parts of the color filters 81 may overlap with each other. A skilled artisan would recognize that the effect of such overlap of the color filters (comprising red color filter 81R, green color filter 81G, and blue color filter 81B) would be to shield light in the regions of such overlap. And the skilled artisan would further recognize that such shielding of light produced by overlapping color filters (each passing light of a different color) would produce a similar/same effect of shielding as does Xu’s/Motoyama’s light-shielding portion.
Koshihara further teaches in Fig. 12 the light-shielding portion (81) further includes a third light-shielding portion (top side of 81G) that is provided between the first portion (top leftmost corner) and the fourth portion (top rightmost corner) in plan view and that is coupled to each of the first portion (top leftmost corner) and the fourth portion (top rightmost corner) and a fourth light-shielding portion (bottom side of 81G) that is provided between the second portion (bottom leftmost corner) and the fifth portion (bottom rightmost corner) in the plan view and that is coupled to each of the second portion (bottom leftmost corner) and the fifth portion (bottom rightmost corner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara based on the further teachings of Koshihara – such that the light-shielding portion further includes a third light-shielding portion that is provided between the first portion and the fourth portion in plan view and that is coupled to each of the first portion and the fourth portion and a fourth light-shielding portion that is provided between the second portion and the fifth portion in the plan view and that is coupled to each of the second portion and the fifth portion – so that the variation in color change depending on the viewing angle caused by the color variation of the color filter 81 located in the +Y direction is suppressed. Koshihara ¶0098.
Regarding claim 8, Han as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara teaches the electro-optical device according to claim 6, but Han does not teach wherein
the light-shielding portion further includes
a third light-shielding portion that is provided between the first portion and the fourth portion in the plan view and that is coupled to each of the first portion and the fourth portion and
a fourth light-shielding portion that is provided between the second portion and the fifth portion in the plan view and that is coupled to each of the second portion and the fifth portion.
However, Koshihara teaches in paragraph [0072] that parts of the color filters 81 may overlap with each other. A skilled artisan would recognize that the effect of such overlap of the color filters (comprising red color filter 81R, green color filter 81G, and blue color filter 81B) would be to shield light in the regions of such overlap. And the skilled artisan would further recognize that such shielding of light produced by overlapping color filters (each passing light of a different color) would produce a similar/same effect of shielding as does Xu’s/Motoyama’s light-shielding portion.
Koshihara further teaches in Fig. 12 the light-shielding portion (81) further includes a third light-shielding portion (top side of 81G) that is provided between the first portion (top leftmost corner) and the fourth portion (top rightmost corner) in plan view and that is coupled to each of the first portion (top leftmost corner) and the fourth portion (top rightmost corner) and a fourth light-shielding portion (bottom side of 81G) that is provided between the second portion (bottom leftmost corner) and the fifth portion (bottom rightmost corner) in the plan view and that is coupled to each of the second portion (bottom leftmost corner) and the fifth portion (bottom rightmost corner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara based on the further teachings of Koshihara – such that the light-shielding portion further includes a third light-shielding portion that is provided between the first portion and the fourth portion in plan view and that is coupled to each of the first portion and the fourth portion and a fourth light-shielding portion that is provided between the second portion and the fifth portion in the plan view and that is coupled to each of the second portion and the fifth portion – so that the variation in color change depending on the viewing angle caused by the color variation of the color filter 81 located in the +Y direction is suppressed. Koshihara ¶0098.
Regarding claim 9, Han as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara teaches the electro-optical device according to claim 7, but Han does not teach wherein
a width of each of the first portion and the fourth portion in the second direction is larger than a width of the third light-shielding portion in the second direction and
a width of each of the second portion and the fifth portion in the second direction is larger than a width of the fourth light-shielding portion in the second direction.
However, Koshihara teaches in paragraph [0072] that parts of the color filters 81 may overlap with each other. A skilled artisan would recognize that the effect of such overlap of the color filters (comprising red color filter 81R, green color filter 81G, and blue color filter 81B) would be to shield light in the regions of such overlap. And the skilled artisan would further recognize that such shielding of light produced by overlapping color filters (each passing light of a different color) would produce a similar/same effect of shielding as does Xu’s/Motoyama’s light-shielding portion.
Moreover, as illustrated by Koshihara’s Fig. 12 the width of the light-emitting regions HaR, HaG, HaB1, and HaB2 narrow substantially in the y-direction (e.g., corresponding to Motoyama’s X-direction and the claimed second direction) where the contact regions (e.g., 7aG, 7bG, 7aR, 7bR, 7B1, 7B2) are disposed. Thus, a skilled artisan would recognize that the overlap of color filters (e.g., 81G, 81R, 81B) in the contact regions may be expanded in the y-direction without significantly interfering with the passage of light through such color filters in light-emitting regions HaR, HaG, HaB1, and HaB2. This expansion would produce a circumstance in which a width of each of the first portion (top leftmost corner) and the fourth portion (top rightmost corner) in the second direction (y) is larger than a width of the third light-shielding portion (top side of 81G) in the second direction (y) and a width of each of the second portion (bottom leftmost corner) and the fifth portion (bottom rightmost corner) in the second direction (y) is larger than a width of the fourth light-shielding portion (bottom side of 81G) in the second direction (y).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara based on the further teachings of Koshihara – such that a greater overlap of the color filters occurs in the contact regions – because such greater overlap provides increased surface tension/adhesion that reduces the likelihood that the overlapping color filters will delaminate.
Regarding claim 10, Han as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara teaches the electro-optical device according to claim 8, but Han does not teach wherein
a width of each of the first portion and the fourth portion in the second direction is larger than a width of the third light-shielding portion in the second direction and
a width of each of the second portion and the fifth portion in the second direction is larger than a width of the fourth light-shielding portion in the second direction.
However, Koshihara teaches in paragraph [0072] that parts of the color filters 81 may overlap with each other. A skilled artisan would recognize that the effect of such overlap of the color filters (comprising red color filter 81R, green color filter 81G, and blue color filter 81B) would be to shield light in the regions of such overlap. And the skilled artisan would further recognize that such shielding of light produced by overlapping color filters (each passing light of a different color) would produce a similar/same effect of shielding as does Xu’s/Motoyama’s light-shielding portion.
Moreover, as illustrated by Koshihara’s Fig. 12 the width of the light-emitting regions HaR, HaG, HaB1, and HaB2 narrow substantially in the y-direction (e.g., corresponding to Motoyama’s X-direction and the claimed second direction) where the contact regions (e.g., 7aG, 7bG, 7aR, 7bR, 7B1, 7B2) are disposed. Thus, a skilled artisan would recognize that the overlap of color filters (e.g., 81G, 81R, 81B) in the contact regions may be expanded in the y-direction without significantly interfering with the passage of light through such color filters in light-emitting regions HaR, HaG, HaB1, and HaB2. This expansion would produce a circumstance in which a width of each of the first portion (top leftmost corner) and the fourth portion (top rightmost corner) in the second direction (y) is larger than a width of the third light-shielding portion (top side of 81G) in the second direction (y) and a width of each of the second portion (bottom leftmost corner) and the fifth portion (bottom rightmost corner) in the second direction (y) is larger than a width of the fourth light-shielding portion (bottom side of 81G) in the second direction (y).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han’s electro-optical device as modified by Xu, Hack, Motoyama, and Koshihara based on the further teachings of Koshihara – such that a greater overlap of the color filters occurs in the contact regions – because such greater overlap provides increased surface tension/adhesion that reduces the likelihood that the overlapping color filters will delaminate.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Xu and Hack as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Koshihara.
Regarding claim 11, Han as modified by Xu and Hack teaches the electro-optical device according to claim 2, but Han does not teach wherein the light-shielding portion is constituted by a stack of the first coloring layer, the second coloring layer, and the third coloring layer.
However, Koshihara teaches in paragraph [0072] that parts of the color filters 81 may overlap with each other. A skilled artisan would recognize that the effect of such overlap of the color filters (comprising red color filter 81R, green color filter 81G, and blue color filter 81B) would be to shield light in the regions of such overlap. And the skilled artisan would further recognize that such shielding of light produced by overlapping color filters (each passing light of a different color) would produce a similar/same effect