DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 2/26/2026 does not put the application in condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Grossmann (US Pub No. 2023/0108986)
Regarding Claim 1-4, and 7, Grossmann et al. teaches a light-receiving device [0007] comprising: a light-receiving layer between a pair of electrodes [0007], wherein the light-receiving layer comprises a hole-transport layer [0007, claim 39] and an active layer [0007], wherein the hole-transport layer [Claim 39] comprises a first organic compound [0098], and wherein the first organic compound is an aromatic monoamine compound or a heteroaromatic monoamine compound comprising at least one skeleton of biphenylamine, carbazolylamine, dibenzofuranylamine, dibenzothiophenylamine, fluorenylamine, and spirofluorenylamine [0098, the compound below meets the limitations of claim 4].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (US Pub No. 2021/0319957) in view of Wu (Tetrahedron 73 (2017) 4610-4615)
Regarding Claim 1-2, and 7, Nishimura et al. teaches a light-receiving device [Fig. 1, 0006] comprising: a light-receiving layer between a pair of electrodes [4 and 8, Fig. 1, 0006], wherein the light-receiving layer comprises a hole-transport layer [7, Fig. 1, 0006] and an active layer [6, Fig. 1, 0006], wherein the hole-transport layer [7, Fig. 1, 0006] comprises a first organic compound [0029, the figure below is what is taught by Nishimura et al.], and silent on wherein the first organic compound is an aromatic monoamine compound or a heteroaromatic monoamine compound comprising at least one skeleton of biphenylamine, carbazolylamine, dibenzofuranylamine, dibenzothiophenylamine, fluorenylamine, and spirofluorenylamine
Wu et al. teaches the use of DFA and TFA as efficient hole transport materials due to their excellent thermal stability [Abstract, and Scheme 1 on page 4611, bottom left of page].
Since Nishimura et al. teaches the use of a hole transport layer, it would have been obvious to modify the hole transport layer of Nishimura et al. with the DFA of Wu et al. in order to provide a hole transport material with excellent thermal stability [Abstract, and Scheme 1 on page 4611, bottom left of page].
Regarding Claim 2-3 and 5, within the combination above, Nishimura et al. is silent on general formula Gh-1, Gh-2, and Gh-4.
Wu et al. teaches the use of DFA and TFA as efficient hole transport materials due to their excellent thermal stability [Abstract, and Scheme 1 on page 4611, bottom left of page].
Since Nishimura et al. teaches the use of a hole transport layer, it would have been obvious to modify the hole transport layer of Nishimura et al. with the TFA of Wu et al. in order to provide a hole transport material with excellent thermal stability [Abstract, and Scheme 1 on page 4611, bottom left of page].
Regarding Claim 6, within the combination above, Nishimura et al. is silent on general formula Gh-5.
Wu et al. teaches the use of DFA and TFA as efficient hole transport materials due to their excellent thermal stability [Abstract, and Scheme 1 on page 4611, bottom left of page].
Since Nishimura et al. teaches the use of a hole transport layer, it would have been obvious to modify the hole transport layer of Nishimura et al. with the DFA of Wu et al. in order to provide a hole transport material with excellent thermal stability [Abstract, and Scheme 1 on page 4611, bottom left of page].
Regarding Claim 8, within the combination above, Nishimura et al. teaches wherein the light receiving layer further comprises an electron-transport layer [5, Fig. 1, 0006] comprising a second organic compound [0185-0186], and wherein the active layer [6, Fig. 1, 0006] is positioned between the electron transport layer [5, Fig. 1, 0006] and the hole transport layer [7, Fig. 1, 0006].
Regarding Claim 9, within the combination above, Nishimura et al. teaches wherein the second organic compound is a Pi-electron deficient heteroaromatic compound [0185-0186].
Regarding Claim 10, within the combination above, Nishimura et al. teaches wherein the second organic compound is any one of a metal complex comprising a quinoline skeleton, a metal complex comprising a benzoquinoline skeleton, a metal complex comprising an oxazole skeleton, a metal complex comprising a thiazole skeleton, an oxadiazole derivative, a triazole derivative, an imidazole derivative, an oxazole derivative, a thiazole derivative, a phenanthroline derivative, a quinoline derivative comprising a quinoline ligand, a benzoquinoline derivative, a quinoxaline derivative, a dibenzoquinoxaline derivative, a pyridine derivative, a bipyridine derivative, and a pyrimidine derivative [[0185-0186], at least a quinone compound].
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (US Pub No. 2021/0319957) in view of Wu (Tetrahedron 73 (2017) 4610-4615) as applied above in addressing claim 1, in further view of Sommer (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2007, 17, 1493–1500) and Kim (Journal of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry 33 (2016) 209–220)
Regarding Claim 11-12, within the combination above, Nishimura et al. is silent on the compounds of the claims for the active layer.
Sommer et al. teaches a compound used in the active layer of a solar cell which can provide improved power conversion efficiency [Abstract, and figure 1, page 1494, top of page]. Compound includes PvDMTPD-b-PPerAcr.
Since Nishimura et al. teaches the use of an active layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to replace the active layer of Nishimura et al. with the compound of Sommer et al. in order to provide a higher power conversion efficiency [Abstract, and figure 1, page 1494, top of page].
Kim et al. teaches an anthracene base polymer used for an active layer of solar cell [page 210, middle left of page]. The anthracene based compounds resulted in improved efficiency for the solar cells. The compound include the following [page 211, bottom of page, Scheme 1]:
Since modified Nishimura et al. teaches the use a active layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate the anthracene based compound of Kim et al. in the active layer of modified Nishimura et al. in order to provide higher efficiencies of the solar cells.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding the arguments about Grossmann et al., applicant argues about the light receiving layer, examiner notes Grossmann et al. teaches an electronic device consisting of a solar cell [0179, 0219] that utilizes a hole transport layer [0181] comprising the compound in claim 1 in para. 7. [See 0097-0098 in conjunction with para. 7] .
Furthermore, an emitting layer can act as a light receiving layer as many optoelectronic devices work in reverse. For example, OLEDs or LEDs typically injects electrical current to emit light. However, if that same device is exposed to light and connected to a circuit instead of a power source, the organic layers can absorb photons and generate an electrical current, essentially functioning as an organic photodiode or solar cell.
Therefore, a light emitting layer of a light-emitting device can technically function as a light-receiving layer. Just as they convert electrical current into light, the reverse photoelectric effect allows LEDs to absorb incoming photons and generate a measurable electrical current or voltage.
Regarding the arguments about Nishimura et al. and Wu et al., Wu et al. teaches the use of DFA and TFA as efficient hole transport materials due to their excellent thermal stability [Abstract, and Scheme 1 on page 4611, bottom left of page].
Since Nishimura et al. teaches the use of a hole transport layer, it would have been obvious to modify the hole transport layer of Nishimura et al. with the DFA or TFA of Wu et al. in order to provide a hole transport material with excellent thermal stability [Abstract, and Scheme 1 on page 4611, bottom left of page].
The combination relied upon the hole transport layers of each reference, specifically modifying the hole transport layer of Nishimura et al. with the DFA or TFA hole transport material of Wu et al. in order to provide excellent thermal stability. The entire device structure of Wu et al. was not relied upon for the combination.
Since the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to applicants to show otherwise. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728