DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) for rejected claims under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued in the remark that prior arts do not disclose during a video conference attended by one or more first participants located within a conference room and one or more second participants located outside of the conference room, determining, using a sensor within or external to the conference room, that an unauthorized person has entered the conference room, wherein the conference room is a physical space" and "wherein at least some of the media is from at least one second device of the one or more second devices."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Aaron US 2006/0101020 discloses, fig.1 0003, discloses the more participants 30 are managing security for a shared resource, e.g., a conference room, 10, office, lab or other premises, includes a reservation-based scheduler configured to accept user requests from multiple users for reservation of the resource., par 0018 These security devices may include, for example, an access control device, e.g., a keypad 12, and sensors located in the room 10, such as a motion detector 16. The security devices may also include sensors, e.g., a motion detector 16 and/or a video camera 14, located in areas proximate the conference room 10, such as a nearby hallway 20 in which an unauthorized party 40, i.e. unauthorized person, 0024 discloses FIG. 6, the system grants access to one or more authorized parties based on the reservation and the access criterion (block 650). A lurking party, e.g., a potential eavesdropper, i.e. unauthorized person, is detected (block 660 a motion detector 16). If the lurking meets a predetermined criterion, e.g., a time limit and/or identity criterion associated with the resource, an alarm or indicator is activated to inform the authorized party or parties of the presence of the lurking party. The authorized party or parties may then take actions, such as covering confidential documents, i.e. modifying the documents, suspending a presentation, or the like, to prevent accidental disclosure.
Aaron US 2006/0101020 discloses fig.1, 0017 a conference room 10. 0018 sensors located in the room 10, The security devices may also include sensors, e.g., a motion detector 16 and/or a video camera 14, located in areas proximate the conference room 10, such as a nearby hallway 20 in which an unauthorized party 40, e.g., an eavesdropper, may overhear conversations or receive other information presented in the conference room 10. 0022 a security sensor may detect an eavesdropper or other unauthorized party and, responsive to the detection, the system may provide visual and/or audio indications, which may enable authorized parties to initiate measures to protect confidential information. The system may have event logging capabilities and a corresponding ability to modify security (e.g., enhance and/or relax particular measures) based on events detected by security sensors. 0024 discloses FIG. 6, the system may also provide features for warning authorized users of potential security risks based on the reservation and inputs provided by sensor devices associated with the shared resource. The system accepts a shared resource reservation request (block 610). In response, the system establishes a reservation (block 620), associates a security configuration with the reservation (block 630), and establishes an access criterion (block 640). Subsequently, the system grants access to one or more authorized parties based on the reservation and the access criterion (block 650). A lurking party, e.g., a potential eavesdropper, is detected (block 660). If the lurking meets a predetermined criterion, e.g., a time limit and/or identity criterion associated with the resource, an alarm or indicator is activated to inform the authorized party or parties of the presence of the lurking party. The authorized party or parties may then take actions, such as covering confidential documents, suspending a presentation, or the like, to prevent accidental disclosure.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Varerkar et al US 2019/0147175
0030, discloses during two-party or multi-party video conferencing, i.e. more first participants , the in-person presence of an intruder in the physical spaces of a user participating in the video conference can disclose valuable information to the intruder. In order to prevent the disclosure of the valuable information and preserve privacy, the user might attempt to manually turn off the camera, mute the microphone and speaker, or minimize the application window, i.e. modifying the video conference, when the user has detected that an intruder has entered the vicinity of the user.
0032 discloses the device (e.g. a local device) can comprise one or more processors. The one or more processors can be configured to identify an intruder indicator, wherein the intruder indicator indicates that an intruder has been detected in a proximity of either the local device or a remote device in communication with the local device. The one or more processors can be further configured to activate one or more privacy filters at the local device. The one or more processors can be further configured to encode data, i.e. modifying the video conference, based on the one or more privacy filters. In this example, the device can detect the in-person presence of the intruder before the disclosure of valuable information has occurred. In addition, automatic activation of the privacy filters at the local device can ameliorate the difficulty of manually turning off the camera, muting the microphone and speaker, and minimizing the application window every time that the user detects the in-person presence of an intruder.
0033 discloses FIG. 1a, live video conferencing can occur between Person A and Person B. Person A can view the display 104a and Person B can view the display 102a. During live video conferencing between Person A and Person B, an Intruder, i.e. a participant located outside of the area,, can enter the physical proximity of Person B, i.e. within a conference room. When Person B detects the Intruder, Person B can attempt to manually turn off the camera, mute the microphone, mute the speakers, and minimize any open application windows. By manually turning off the camera, Person B can attempt to prevent Person A from receiving information about the Intruder. By manually muting the microphone, Person B can attempt to prevent Person A from hearing any conversation between Person B and the Intruder. By muting the speakers, Person B can attempt to prevent the Intruder from hearing the conversation between Person B and Person A. By minimizing any open application windows,, i.e. modifying the video conference, Person B can attempt to prevent the Intruder from receiving information about Person A and the shared content between Person B and Person A.
0048 discloses Video data can include visual information that can be detected by a camera or a related sensor. Proximity data can include proximity information that can be detected by a proximity sensor. 0049 deactivating an application window, or deactivating any other sensor used in a device.
0054 discloses the device (e.g., a local device) can be configured to identify a level of intrusion in the proximity of the local device. The level of intrusion can be based on one or more of audio data, video data, proximity data, or other related data from a sensor.
0086 discloses the processor(s) 820 can include an intruder indicator module 822 configured to identify an intruder indicator, wherein the intruder indicator indicates that an intruder has been detected in a proximity of the user device. In one example, the intruder indicator module 822 can be configured to identify when an intruder is in the proximity of the user device based on the sensor data 812 received from the sensors 810. The processor(s) 820 can continually receive and process the sensor data 812 in order to detect intrusion. For example, the intruder indicator module 822 can monitor noise levels in the proximity of the user device based on the sensor data 812 (e.g., audio data), and the intruder indicator module 822 can detect intrusion when the noise levels in the proximity of the user device reach a certain threshold. In another example, the intruder indicator module 822 can monitor noise levels in the proximity of the user device based on the sensor data 812, and the intruder indicator module 822 can detect an intrusion when a spike in noise level occurs in the proximity of the user device.
0087 discloses the intruder indicator module 822 can visually monitor user actions that occur in the proximity of the user device based on the sensor data 812 (e.g., video data), and the intruder indicator module 822 can detect an intrusion when certain user actions occur in the proximity of the user device.
Par 0093 discloses the processor(s) 820 can include an encoding module 826 configured to encode data based on the one or more privacy filters. In one example, the encoding module 826 can be configured to encode data based on the one or more privacy filters at the user device 805 based on the sensor data 812 received from the sensors 810. The processor(s) 820 can continually receive and process the sensor data 812 in order to detect intrusion. The encoded data, i.e. modifying media of the video conference, can include one or more of, but is not limited to, audio data, video data, temperature data, photo sensor data, motion data, vibration data, proximity data,
Par 0072, and 0073 disclose deactivating an application window at the local device, or a combination thereof, If the timer is expired in operation 308 or if the intruder flag is false in operation 304, intruder detection can be identified in operation 330. In operation 334, if the number of faces or number of persons identified by the local device is greater than 1, then the local device can set the intruder flag to true, start the timer, and deactivate the display in operation 338. In operation 334, if the number of faces or number of persons identified by the local device is not greater than 1, then the local device can check the intruder flag in operation 344. In operation 344, if the intruder flag is set to false (346), then the local device can encode data in 320. The local device can communicate the encoded data for transmission from the local device to a remote device in operation 324. In operation 344, if the intruder flag is set to true (346), then the local device can reset the intruder flag, restore the initial state of the timer, and activate the display in operation 350. The local device can encode data in 320. The local device can communicate the encoded data for transmission from the local device to a remote device in operation 324.
Varerkar et al US 2019/0147175 does not explicitly disclose conference room, determining, using a sensor within or externa to the conference room, an unauthorized person has entered the conference room, wherein the conference room is a physical room.
However, Aaron US 2006/0101020 discloses fig.1, 0017 a conference room 10. 0018 sensors located in the room 10, The security devices may also include sensors, e.g., a motion detector 16 and/or a video camera 14, located in areas proximate the conference room 10, such as a nearby hallway 20 in which an unauthorized party 40, e.g., an eavesdropper, may overhear conversations or receive other information presented in the conference room 10. 0022 a security sensor may detect an eavesdropper or other unauthorized party and, responsive to the detection, the system may provide visual and/or audio indications, which may enable authorized parties to initiate measures to protect confidential information. The system may have event logging capabilities and a corresponding ability to modify security (e.g., enhance and/or relax particular measures) based on events detected by security sensors. 0024 discloses FIG. 6, the system may also provide features for warning authorized users of potential security risks based on the reservation and inputs provided by sensor devices associated with the shared resource. The system accepts a shared resource reservation request (block 610). In response, the system establishes a reservation (block 620), associates a security configuration with the reservation (block 630), and establishes an access criterion (block 640). Subsequently, the system grants access to one or more authorized parties based on the reservation and the access criterion (block 650). A lurking party, e.g., a potential eavesdropper, is detected (block 660). If the lurking meets a predetermined criterion, e.g., a time limit and/or identity criterion associated with the resource, an alarm or indicator is activated to inform the authorized party or parties of the presence of the lurking party. The authorized party or parties may then take actions, such as covering confidential documents, suspending a presentation, or the like, to prevent accidental disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varerkar US 2019/0147175 and Aaron US 2006/0101020.
As per claim 1, Varerkar disclose a method, comprising:
determining, during a video conference attended by one or more first participants located within a conference and one or more second participants located outside of the conference, determining, using a sensor within or external to the conference , that an unauthorized person has entered the conference ( 0030, discloses during two-party or multi-party video conferencing, i.e. more first participants , the in-person presence of an intruder in the physical spaces of a user participating in the video conference can disclose valuable information to the intruder. In order to prevent the disclosure of the valuable information and preserve privacy, the user might attempt to manually turn off the camera, mute the microphone and speaker, or minimize the application window, i.e. modifying the video conference, when the user has detected that an intruder has entered the vicinity of the user.
0032 discloses the device (e.g. a local device) can comprise one or more processors. The one or more processors can be configured to identify an intruder indicator, wherein the intruder indicator indicates that an intruder has been detected in a proximity of either the local device or a remote device in communication with the local device. The one or more processors can be further configured to activate one or more privacy filters at the local device. The one or more processors can be further configured to encode data, i.e. modifying the video conference, based on the one or more privacy filters. In this example, the device can detect the in-person presence of the intruder before the disclosure of valuable information has occurred. In addition, automatic activation of the privacy filters at the local device can ameliorate the difficulty of manually turning off the camera, muting the microphone and speaker, and minimizing the application window every time that the user detects the in-person presence of an intruder.
0033 discloses FIG. 1a, live video conferencing can occur between Person A and Person B. Person A can view the display 104a and Person B can view the display 102a. During live video conferencing between Person A and Person B, an Intruder, i.e. a participant located outside of the area,, can enter the physical proximity of Person B, i.e. within a conference room. When Person B detects the Intruder, Person B can attempt to manually turn off the camera, mute the microphone, mute the speakers, and minimize any open application windows. By manually turning off the camera, Person B can attempt to prevent Person A from receiving information about the Intruder. By manually muting the microphone, Person B can attempt to prevent Person A from hearing any conversation between Person B and the Intruder. By muting the speakers, Person B can attempt to prevent the Intruder from hearing the conversation between Person B and Person A. By minimizing any open application windows,, i.e. modifying the video conference, Person B can attempt to prevent the Intruder from receiving information about Person A and the shared content between Person B and Person A.
0048 discloses Video data can include visual information that can be detected by a camera or a related sensor. Proximity data can include proximity information that can be detected by a proximity sensor. 0049 deactivating an application window, or deactivating any other sensor used in a device.
0054 discloses the device (e.g., a local device) can be configured to identify a level of intrusion in the proximity of the local device. The level of intrusion can be based on one or more of audio data, video data, proximity data, or other related data from a sensor.
0086 discloses the processor(s) 820 can include an intruder indicator module 822 configured to identify an intruder indicator, wherein the intruder indicator indicates that an intruder has been detected in a proximity of the user device. In one example, the intruder indicator module 822 can be configured to identify when an intruder is in the proximity of the user device based on the sensor data 812 received from the sensors 810. The processor(s) 820 can continually receive and process the sensor data 812 in order to detect intrusion. For example, the intruder indicator module 822 can monitor noise levels in the proximity of the user device based on the sensor data 812 (e.g., audio data), and the intruder indicator module 822 can detect intrusion when the noise levels in the proximity of the user device reach a certain threshold. In another example, the intruder indicator module 822 can monitor noise levels in the proximity of the user device based on the sensor data 812, and the intruder indicator module 822 can detect an intrusion when a spike in noise level occurs in the proximity of the user device.
0087 discloses the intruder indicator module 822 can visually monitor user actions that occur in the proximity of the user device based on the sensor data 812 (e.g., video data), and the intruder indicator module 822 can detect an intrusion when certain user actions occur in the proximity of the user device.
Par 0093 discloses the processor(s) 820 can include an encoding module 826 configured to encode data based on the one or more privacy filters. In one example, the encoding module 826 can be configured to encode data based on the one or more privacy filters at the user device 805 based on the sensor data 812 received from the sensors 810. The processor(s) 820 can continually receive and process the sensor data 812 in order to detect intrusion. The encoded data, i.e. modifying media of the video conference, can include one or more of, but is not limited to, audio data, video data, temperature data, photo sensor data, motion data, vibration data, proximity data ),
modifying media of the video conference, output at one or more first devices within the conference room, to prevent exposure of the media to the unauthorized person, wherein modifying the media of the video conference comprises distorting audio content of the video conference at the one or more first devices and causing one or more second devices used by the one or more second participants to indicate the modification modifying of the media to the one or more second participants, wherein at least some of the media is from at least one second device of the one or more second devices; ( fig.1b Par 0072, and 0073 disclose deactivating, i.e. modifying, an application window at the local device, or a combination thereof, If the timer is expired in operation 308 or if the intruder flag is false in operation 304, intruder detection can be identified in operation 330. In operation 334, if the number of faces or number of persons identified by the local device is greater than 1, then the local device can set the intruder flag to true, start the timer, and deactivate the display in operation 338. In operation 334, if the number of faces or number of persons identified by the local device is not greater than 1, then the local device can check the intruder flag in operation 344. In operation 344, if the intruder flag is set to false (346), then the local device can encode data, i.e. modifying, in 320. The local device can communicate the encoded data for transmission from the local device to a remote device in operation 324.)and
restoring the media of the video conference at the one or more first devices based on a resolution event associated with the unauthorized person, wherein restoring the media of the video conference comprises undistorting the audio content at the one or more first devices and causing the one or more second devices to indicate the restoration of the media to the one or more second participants ( Par 0072, and 0073 disclose deactivating an application window at the local device, or a combination thereof, If the timer is expired in operation 308 or if the intruder flag is false in operation 304, intruder detection can be identified in operation 330. In operation 334, if the number of faces or number of persons identified by the local device is greater than 1, then the local device can set the intruder flag to true, start the timer, and deactivate the display in operation 338. In operation 334, if the number of faces or number of persons identified by the local device is not greater than 1, then the local device can check the intruder flag in operation 344. In operation 344, if the intruder flag is set to false (346), then the local device can encode data in 320. The local device can communicate the encoded data for transmission from the local device to a remote device in operation 324. In operation 344, if the intruder flag is set to true (346), then the local device can reset the intruder flag, restore the initial state of the timer, and activate the display in operation 350. The local device can encode data in 320. The local device can communicate the encoded data for transmission from the local device to a remote device in operation 324).
Varerkar et al US 2019/0147175 does not explicitly disclose conference room, determining, using a sensor within or externa to the conference room, an unauthorized person has entered the conference room, wherein the conference room is a physical room.
However, Aaron US 2006/0101020 discloses conference room, determining, using a sensor within or externa to the conference room, an unauthorized person has entered the conference room, wherein the conference room is a physical room.
( Aaron US 2006/0101020 discloses, fig.1 0003, discloses the more participants 30 are managing security for a shared resource, e.g., a conference room, 10, office, lab or other premises, includes a reservation-based scheduler configured to accept user requests from multiple users for reservation of the resource., par 0018 These security devices may include, for example, an access control device, e.g., a keypad 12, and sensors located in the room 10, such as a motion detector 16. The security devices may also include sensors, e.g., a motion detector 16 and/or a video camera 14, located in areas proximate the conference room 10, such as a nearby hallway 20 in which an unauthorized party 40, i.e. unauthorized person, 0024 discloses FIG. 6, the system grants access to one or more authorized parties based on the reservation and the access criterion (block 650). A lurking party, e.g., a potential eavesdropper, i.e. unauthorized person, is detected (block 660 a motion detector 16). If the lurking meets a predetermined criterion, e.g., a time limit and/or identity criterion associated with the resource, an alarm or indicator is activated to inform the authorized party or parties of the presence of the lurking party. The authorized party or parties may then take actions, such as covering confidential documents, i.e. modifying the documents, suspending a presentation, or the like, to prevent accidental disclosure. fig.1, 0017 a conference room 10. 0018 sensors located in the room 10, The security devices may also include sensors, e.g., a motion detector 16 and/or a video camera 14, located in areas proximate the conference room 10, such as a nearby hallway 20 in which an unauthorized party 40, e.g., an eavesdropper, may overhear conversations or receive other information presented in the conference room 10. 0022 a security sensor may detect an eavesdropper or other unauthorized party and, responsive to the detection, the system may provide visual and/or audio indications, which may enable authorized parties to initiate measures to protect confidential information. The system may have event logging capabilities and a corresponding ability to modify security (e.g., enhance and/or relax particular measures) based on events detected by security sensors. 0024 discloses FIG. 6, the system may also provide features for warning authorized users of potential security risks based on the reservation and inputs provided by sensor devices associated with the shared resource. The system accepts a shared resource reservation request (block 610). In response, the system establishes a reservation (block 620), associates a security configuration with the reservation (block 630), and establishes an access criterion (block 640). Subsequently, the system grants access to one or more authorized parties based on the reservation and the access criterion (block 650). A lurking party, e.g., a potential eavesdropper, is detected (block 660). If the lurking meets a predetermined criterion, e.g., a time limit and/or identity criterion associated with the resource, an alarm or indicator is activated to inform the authorized party or parties of the presence of the lurking party. The authorized party or parties may then take actions, such as covering confidential documents, suspending a presentation, or the like, to prevent accidental disclosure.).
Varerkar and Aaron are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of conference between participants.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Varerkar to incorporate the teachings of Aaron and provide a physical conference room.
Doing so would provide protection for the content and conference room, thereby increasing the protection for the conference room.
As per claim 2. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the method of claim 1, Varerkar discloses wherein modifying the media of the video conference further comprises: blurring video content of the video conference (0032/0033 a device (i.e. a device used by a user, such as a desktop computer or work station, or a mobile device, such as a laptop computer, a tablet computer, or a smart phone, or other audio and/or video device) can be operable for secured user access. The device (e.g. a local device) can comprise one or more processors. The one or more processors can be configured to identify an intruder indicator, wherein the intruder indicator indicates that an intruder has been detected in a proximity of either the local device or a remote device in communication with the local device. The one or more processors can be further configured to activate one or more privacy filters at the local device. The one or more processors can be further configured to encode, i.e. blurring video content, data based on the one or more privacy filters. In this example, the device can detect the in-person presence of the intruder before the disclosure of valuable information has occurred. In addition, automatic activation of the privacy filters at the local device can ameliorate the difficulty of manually turning off the camera, muting the microphone and speaker, and minimizing the application window every time that the user detects the in-person presence of an intruder).
As per claim 3. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the method of claim 1, Varerkar discloses wherein determining that the unauthorized person has entered the conference room comprises: performing facial recognition against a video stream obtained from the one or more first devices to identify the unauthorized person(0044 Person B's device can be configured to activate the intruder indicator when a user is recognized in the proximity of the local device (i.e. Person B's device) who is not an authorized user. In an example, when the list of authorized users includes only Person B and Person D, and Person C is in the proximity of Person B's device, the intruder indicator can be activated. A user can be recognized using one or more of facial recognition, body recognition, gait recognition, voice recognition, or proximity recognition ); and determining that a list of authorized participants for the video conference omits the unauthorized person ( 0048 the intruder indicator can be activated or deactivated based on one or more of audio data, video data, or proximity data. Audio data can include auditory information that can be detected by a microphone or a related sensor. Video data can include visual information that can be detected by a camera or a related sensor. Proximity data can include proximity information that can be detected by a proximity sensor).
As per claim 4. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the method of claim 1,Aaron discloses wherein the resolution event corresponds to the unauthorized person being granted access to the video conference by a participant of the one or more first participants, the method comprising: responsive to determining that the unauthorized person has entered the conference room, prompting the participant at a device of the one or more first devices to indicate whether to grant the unauthorized person access to the video conference(Aaron US 2006/0101020 discloses, fig.1 0003, discloses the more participants 30 are managing security for a shared resource, e.g., a conference room, 10, office, lab or other premises, includes a reservation-based scheduler configured to accept user requests from multiple users for reservation of the resource., par 0018 These security devices may include, for example, an access control device, e.g., a keypad 12, and sensors located in the room 10, such as a motion detector 16. The security devices may also include sensors, e.g., a motion detector 16 and/or a video camera 14, located in areas proximate the conference room 10, such as a nearby hallway 20 in which an unauthorized party 40, i.e. unauthorized person, 0024 discloses FIG. 6, the system grants access to one or more authorized parties based on the reservation and the access criterion (block 650). A lurking party, e.g., a potential eavesdropper, i.e. unauthorized person, is detected (block 660 a motion detector 16). If the lurking meets a predetermined criterion, e.g., a time limit and/or identity criterion associated with the resource, an alarm or indicator is activated to inform the authorized party or parties of the presence of the lurking party. The authorized party or parties may then take actions, such as covering confidential documents, i.e. modifying the documents, suspending a presentation, or the like, to prevent accidental disclosure. fig.1, 0017 a conference room 10. 0018 sensors located in the room 10, The security devices may also include sensors, e.g., a motion detector 16 and/or a video camera 14, located in areas proximate the conference room 10, such as a nearby hallway 20 in which an unauthorized party 40, e.g., an eavesdropper, may overhear conversations or receive other information presented in the conference room 10. 0022 a security sensor may detect an eavesdropper or other unauthorized party and, responsive to the detection, the system may provide visual and/or audio indications, which may enable authorized parties to initiate measures to protect confidential information. The system may have event logging capabilities and a corresponding ability to modify security (e.g., enhance and/or relax particular measures) based on events detected by security sensors. 0024 discloses FIG. 6, the system may also provide features for warning authorized users of potential security risks based on the reservation and inputs provided by sensor devices associated with the shared resource. The system accepts a shared resource reservation request (block 610). In response, the system establishes a reservation (block 620), associates a security configuration with the reservation (block 630), and establishes an access criterion (block 640). Subsequently, the system grants access to one or more authorized parties based on the reservation and the access criterion (block 650). A lurking party, e.g., a potential eavesdropper, is detected (block 660). If the lurking meets a predetermined criterion, e.g., a time limit and/or identity criterion associated with the resource, an alarm or indicator is activated to inform the authorized party or parties of the presence of the lurking party. The authorized party or parties may then take actions, such as covering confidential documents, suspending a presentation, or the like, to prevent accidental disclosure).
As per claim 5. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the method of claim 1, Varerkar discloses wherein the resolution event corresponds to the unauthorized person leaving the conference room, the method comprising: processing a video stream obtained from the one or more first devices to determine that the unauthorized person has left the conference room (0037 a device (e.g. a local device) can receive a recorded video or audio. In an example, the local device can receive a recorded educational lecture online in which the lecture can include audio or video content. In this example, the local device can be configured to identify an intruder indicator, wherein the intruder indicator indicates that an intruder has been detected in a proximity of the local device. The local device can be further configured to activate one or more privacy filters at the local device. The local device can be further configured to encode data based on the one or more privacy filters. The local device can receive the recorded educational lecture from a website, a personal area network, a local area network, or any other wireless or wired connection. ).
As per claim 6. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the method of claim 1, Varerkar discloses wherein causing the one or more second devices to indicate the modifying of the media to the one or more second participants comprise: transmitting a message to the one or more second devices to indicate a modification of the media of the video conference at the one or more first devices (0035 FIG. 1b, live video conferencing can occur between Person A and Person B. Person A can view the display 104b and Person B can view the display 102b. During live video conferencing between Person A and Person B, an Intruder, can enter the physical proximity of Person B. In this example, the device used by Person B for live video conferencing with Person A (i.e. Person B's device) can be configured to detect the Intruder in the proximity of Person B's device. Person B's device can be configured to identify an intruder indicator, wherein the intruder indicator indicates that an intruder has been detected in a proximity of Person B's device. Person B's device can be configured to activate one or more privacy filters at Person B's device. Person B's device can be configured to encode data based on the one or more privacy filters).
As per claim 7. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the method of claim 1, Varerkar discloses comprising: recording, within an audit log associated with the video conference, data indicative of the unauthorized person and the modifying of the media of the video conference(0036 live video conferencing among more than two people, live or recorded video blogging, online gaming, or any other application in which audio information or video information is received by one or more people or transmitted by one or more people to another person or people. [0037] In one example, a device (e.g. a local device) can receive a recorded video or audio. In an example, the local device can receive a recorded educational lecture online in which the lecture can include audio or video content. In this example, the local device can be configured to identify an intruder indicator, wherein the intruder indicator indicates that an intruder has been detected in a proximity of the local device. The local device can be further configured to activate one or more privacy filters at the local device. The local device can be further configured to encode data, i.e. modifying, based on the one or more privacy filters. The local device can receive the recorded educational lecture from a website, a personal area network, a local area network, or any other wireless or wired connection).
As per claim 8. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the method of claim 1, Varerkar discloses comprising: authenticating access to the video conference, by at least one participant of one or both of the one or more first participants or the one or more second participants, using a list of authorized participants for the video conference( claim 17 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: authenticate a user based on an audio sample, a video sample, or a proximity sample. [0063] In one example, a user can be authenticated by one or more of an audio sample, a video sample, or a proximity sample. [0064] In one example, the local device can be configured to identify an authorized user based on one or more of facial recognition, body recognition, gait recognition, voice recognition, or proximity recognition. In another example, the local device can be configured to identify an intruder based on one or more of facial recognition, body recognition, gait recognition, voice recognition, or proximity recognition).
As per claim 9. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the method of claim 1, Aaron discloses wherein determining that the unauthorized person has entered the conference room comprises detecting the unauthorized person within a perceptible media range of the conference room(0024 FIG. 6, the system may also provide features for warning authorized users of potential security risks based on the reservation and inputs provided by sensor devices associated with the shared resource. The system accepts a shared resource reservation request (block 610). In response, the system establishes a reservation (block 620), associates a security configuration with the reservation (block 630), and establishes an access criterion (block 640). Subsequently, the system grants access to one or more authorized parties based on the reservation and the access criterion (block 650). A lurking party, e.g., a potential eavesdropper, is detected (block 660). If the lurking meets a predetermined criterion, e.g., a time limit and/or identity criterion associated with the resource, an alarm or indicator is activated to inform the authorized party or parties of the presence of the lurking party. The authorized party or parties may then take actions, such as covering confidential documents, suspending a presentation, or the like, to prevent accidental disclosure).
As per claim 10, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 1.
As per claim 11. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, Varerkar discloses wherein the operations for determining that the unauthorized person has entered the conference room comprise: determining identifying information associated with the unauthorized person ( 0029 [0029] In a business office setting, privacy is important to maintain in order to protect the confidentiality of a company's information. However, privacy at the data level and the network level might not be adequate to prevent unauthorized communication of confidential information. For example, the in-person presence of an intruder in the physical spaces of a user conducting a live video stream application can disclose confidential information to the intruder.); and determining that a list of authorized participants for the video conference omits the unauthorized person ( 0032 a device (i.e. a device used by a user, such as a desktop computer or work station, or a mobile device, such as a laptop computer, a tablet computer, or a smart phone, or other audio and/or video device) can be operable for secured user access. The device (e.g. a local device) can comprise one or more processors. The one or more processors can be configured to identify an intruder indicator, wherein the intruder indicator indicates that an intruder has been detected in a proximity of either the local device or a remote device in communication with the local device. The one or more processors can be further configured to activate one or more privacy filters at the local device. The one or more processors can be further configured to encode data based on the one or more privacy filters. In this example, the device can detect the in-person presence of the intruder before the disclosure of valuable information has occurred. In addition, automatic activation of the privacy filters at the local device can ameliorate the difficulty of manually turning off the camera, muting the microphone and speaker, and minimizing the application window every time that the user detects the in-person presence of an intruder).
As per claim 12. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, Varerkar discloses wherein the operations for restoring the media of the video conference at the one or more first devices comprise: determining that the unauthorized person has left the conference room( 0029 [0029] In a business office setting, privacy is important to maintain in order to protect the confidentiality of a company's information. However, privacy at the data level and the network level might not be adequate to prevent unauthorized communication of confidential information. For example, the in-person presence of an intruder in the physical spaces of a user conducting a live video stream application can disclose confidential information to the intruder. 0035 the video conferencing can occur between Person A and Person B. Person A can view the display 104b and Person B can view the display 102b. During live video conferencing between Person A and Person B, an Intruder, can enter the physical proximity of Person B. In this example, the device used by Person B for live video conferencing with Person A (i.e. Person B's device) can be configured to detect the Intruder in the proximity of Person B's device. Person B's device can be configured to identify an intruder indicator, wherein the intruder indicator indicates that an intruder has been detected in a proximity of Person B's device. Person B's device can be configured to activate one or more privacy filters at Person B's device. Person B's device can be configured to encode data based on the one or more privacy filters).
As per claim 13. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, Varerkar discloses the operations comprising: generating record data indicating a timestamp at which the determination that the unauthorized person has entered the conference room is made(0091 the processor(s) 820 may receive the sensor data 812 from the sensors 810, and the processor(s) 820 can delete the sensor data 812 after a defined period of time. Thus, the sensor data 812 can be stored on the processor(s) 820 for a limited duration of time. In one example, the processor(s) 820 can receive the sensor data 812 and process the sensor data 812 to determine whether an intrusion event has occurred. When the sensor data 812 does not indicate an occurrence of an intrusion, that sensor data 812 can be deleted from the processor(s) 820. ); and storing the record data in connection with a recording of the video conference (0037 a device (e.g. a local device) can receive a recorded video or audio. In an example, the local device can receive a recorded educational lecture online in which the lecture can include audio or video content. In this example, the local device can be configured to identify an intruder indicator, wherein the intruder indicator indicates that an intruder has been detected in a proximity of the local device. The local device can be further configured to activate one or more privacy filters at the local device. The local device can be further configured to encode data based on the one or more privacy filters. The local device can receive the recorded educational lecture from a website, a personal area network, a local area network, or any other wireless or wired connection) .
As per claim 14. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, Varerkar discloses wherein the operations for determining that the unauthorized person has entered the conference room comprise: detecting the unauthorized person within a perceptible media range external to the conference room; and triggering an exposure prevention mechanism to prevent access to the media of the video conference from within the perceptible media range( 0037 a device (e.g. a local device) can receive a recorded video or audio. In an example, the local device can receive a recorded educational lecture online in which the lecture can include audio or video content. In this example, the local device can be configured to identify an intruder indicator, wherein the intruder indicator indicates that an intruder has been detected in a proximity of the local device. The local device can be further configured to activate one or more privacy filters at the local device. The local device can be further configured to encode data based on the one or more privacy filters. The local device can receive the recorded educational lecture from a website, a personal area network, a local area network, or any other wireless or wired connection and 0044 Person B's device can be configured to activate the intruder indicator when a user is recognized in the proximity of the local device (i.e. Person B's device) who is not an authorized user. In an example, when the list of authorized users includes only Person B and Person D, and Person C is in the proximity of Person B's device, the intruder indicator can be activated. A user can be recognized using one or more of facial recognition, body recognition, gait recognition, voice recognition, or proximity recognition).
As per claim 15, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 15.
As per claim 16, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 2.
As per claim 17. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the apparatus of claim 15, Aaron discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: prompt the one or more first participants and the one or more second participants to authorize the unauthorized person to access the media of the video conference(0017 A shared resource management system 100 includes a reservation-based scheduler 110 that is configured to receive and arbitrate requests for reservation of a shared resource, in this example, a conference room 10. As shown, the scheduler 110 is configured to support calendar interfaces 32 at user terminals 30. The calendar interfaces 32 are configured to convey reservation requests from users at the terminals 20 and to convey them to the scheduler 110, which responsively generates a resource usage schedule 122. The scheduler 110 also supports display of schedule-related information as part of the arbitration process (e.g., resource availability) by the calendar interfaces 32. And 0022 FIG. 4, security of the shared resource is managed based on the reservation and associated security configuration (block 440). As shown, the security configuration may be modified (block 470) responsive to a sensor input (block 450) and/or a user input (block 460). For example, a security sensor may detect an eavesdropper or other unauthorized party and, responsive to the detection, the system may provide visual and/or audio indications, which may enable authorized parties to initiate measures to protect confidential information. In some embodiments, the system may have event logging capabilities and a corresponding ability to modify security (e.g., enhance and/or relax particular measures) based on events detected by security sensors. For example, if the system detects an increased number of eavesdropping events for a particular location and/or at a particular time of day, the system may modify the security associated with use of a resource at particular times and/or for particular types of reservations. In some embodiments, a user may wish to modify security associated with a particular reservation after the reservation made and/or in situ. A user may, for example, wish to raise the security level of a reservation when confidential matters arise during the reserved event).
As per claim 18. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the apparatus of claim 15, Aaron discloses wherein the media is output in an original state at the one or more second devices while the modified media is output at the one or more first devices ( fig.2, par 0019 the system 200 includes scheduler and security controller applications 216, 218 that execute on an operating system 212 of the computer 210, e.g., as program code configured to support shared resource management applications such as those described above with reference to FIG. 1. It will be appreciated that the operating system 212 may provide computing, input/output, and other functions needed to support interactions of the scheduler and security controller applications 216, 218 with the security devices 220 and the terminals 30. It will be further appreciated that functions of the applications 216, 218 and the operating system 212 may be provided on a single device or distributed across multiple computing devices).
As per claim 19. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the apparatus of claim 15, Aaron discloses wherein the sensor is a camera having a field of view including a window of the conference room and, to determine that the unauthorized person has entered the conference room, the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: detect, within a video stream obtained from the camera having a field of view including a window of the conference room, the unauthorized person through the window of the conference room(0022 FIG. 4, security of the shared resource is managed based on the reservation and associated security configuration (block 440). As shown, the security configuration may be modified (block 470) responsive to a sensor input (block 450) and/or a user input (block 460). For example, a security sensor may detect an eavesdropper or other unauthorized party and, responsive to the detection, the system may provide visual and/or audio indications, which may enable authorized parties to initiate measures to protect confidential information. In some embodiments, the system may have event logging capabilities and a corresponding ability to modify security (e.g., enhance and/or relax particular measures) based on events detected by security sensors. For example, if the system detects an increased number of eavesdropping events for a particular location and/or at a particular time of day, the system may modify the security associated with use of a resource at particular times and/or for particular types of reservations. In some embodiments, a user may wish to modify security associated with a particular reservation after the reservation made and/or in situ. A user may, for example, wish to raise the security level of a reservation when confidential matters arise during the reserved event).
As per claim 20. Varerkar and Aaron discloses the apparatus of claim 15, Varerkar discloses wherein, to determine that the unauthorized person has entered the conference room, the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: perform facial recognition against a video stream obtained from the one or more first devices to determine identifying information associated with the unauthorized person; and output the identifying information to the one or more first devices (0044/0064 Person B's device can be configured to activate the intruder indicator when a user is recognized in the proximity of the local device (i.e. Person B's device) who is not an authorized user. In an example, when the list of authorized users includes only Person B and Person D, and Person C is in the proximity of Person B's device, the intruder indicator can be activated. A user can be recognized using one or more of facial recognition, body recognition, gait recognition, voice recognition, or proximity recognition, etc. [0177] In one example of the at least one machine readable storage medium, the machine readable storage medium further comprises instructions that when executed perform the following: identifying an authorized user based on one or more of facial recognition, body recognition, gait recognition, voice recognition, or proximity recognition; or identifying an intruder based on one or more of facial recognition, body recognition, gait recognition, voice recognition, or proximity recognition. ).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496