DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0156156, hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of White et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0353304, hereinafter “White”); further in view of Jefferson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0288099, hereinafter “Jefferson”).
Claims 1, 8 ,and 15:
Zhang discloses a system (§ 0166, Line 1; Computing device 2600) comprising:
a communications interface (§ 0170, Lines 4-7; NIC 2622);
a non-transitory computer-readable medium (§ 0169, Lines 3-5; RAM 2608); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium (§ 0169, Lines 3-5; The chipset 2606 may provide an interface to a RAM 2608 used as the main memory in the computing device 2600), the one or more processors configured to execute processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to:
receive, from a client device by a conference provider, a request to join a first virtual space hosted by the conference provider, the first virtual space having a first plurality of members, the client device associated with a first member of the first plurality of members (§ 0061, Lines 4-7; When a user 210a-n becomes connected to the communication service 112, the connection management service 224 may receive, from a user 210a-n, data indicative of a request to join a particular virtual space);
receive, from the client device by the conference provider, a request to join a second virtual space hosted by the conference provider, the second virtual space having a second plurality of members, the first member being one of the second plurality of members (§ 0061, Lines 4-7; When a user 210a-n becomes connected to the communication service 112, the connection management service 224 may receive, from a user 210a-n, data indicative of a request to join a particular virtual space);
join the client device to the first and second virtual spaces, concurrently (§ 0044, Lines 11-12; A user 210a-n may join one virtual space at a time, or multiple virtual spaces at a time);
establish a first presence associated with the first member based on an interaction of the first member with the first virtual space, the first presence indicating whether the first member is present in the first virtual space and a first context indicating a location of the first member (§ 0067, Lines 1-7; Each of the users 210a-n may be associated with a status. The status may indicate the availability of the users 210a-n. For example, other users may see the status of a particular user and may gain an understanding of that user’s availability. A user’s status may indicate that they are available, idle/away, busy, or do not want to be disturbed) (§ 0069, Lines 3-7; The user’s status may indicate a location associated with that user. A user may be in a virtual space. That user’s status may indicate that they are available to communicate and that they are in that virtual space);
establish a second presence associated with the first member based on an interaction of the first member with the second virtual space (§ 0067, Lines 1-7; Each of the users 210a-n may be associated with a status. The status may indicate the availability of the users 210a-n. For example, other users may see the status of a particular user and may gain an understanding of that user’s availability. A user’s status may indicate that they are available, idle/away, busy, or do not want to be disturbed) (§ 0069, Lines 3-7; The user’s status may indicate a location associated with that user. A user may be in a virtual space. That user’s status may indicate that they are available to communicate and that they are in that virtual space);
provide a first indication of the first presence to the other members of the first plurality of members (§ 0045; Each virtual space may be implemented as a data structure and one or more software functions that track users, permission, any data that is exchanged between users 210a-n, and time associations of when users 210a-n associate (join the virtual space) and disassociate (leave the virtual space). In certain embodiments, each virtual space is associated with a calendar that indicates events or meetings associated with that virtual space) (§ 0049, Lines 6-8; If the user checks into a virtual space, other users may be able to see that the location of the user is in that particular virtual space); and
provide an indication of the second presence to the other members of the second plurality of members (§ 0045; Each virtual space may be implemented as a data structure and one or more software functions that track users, permission, any data that is exchanged between users 210a-n, and time associations of when users 210a-n associate (join the virtual space) and disassociate (leave the virtual space). In certain embodiments, each virtual space is associated with a calendar that indicates events or meetings associated with that virtual space) (§ 0049, Lines 6-8; If the user checks into a virtual space, other users may be able to see that the location of the user is in that particular virtual space).
Zhang does not appear to disclose the first context indicating a physical location of the first member and the second presence indicating whether the first member is present in the second virtual space and a second context indicating a physical location of the first member, the first and second presences maintained concurrently.
White discloses an intelligent agent wherein the second presence indicating whether the first member is present in the second virtual space (Abstract; An intelligent agent may assume a ghost presence in a meeting on behalf of a non-participant) and a second context (§ 0020, Lines 6-8; The digital agent represents and effectively attends (“second interaction”) the meeting (“second virtual space”) on behalf of the non-participating user), the first and second presences maintained concurrently (§ 0019, Lines 4-7; The simultaneous meeting presence may be employed when a user is invite to meetings occurring simultaneously (e.g., concurrent or parallel-in-time)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang’s system (which supports a user joining multiple virtual spaces simultaneously) by integrating the concept of a user’s presence in multiple concurrent meetings/sessions, as taught by White, in order to enhance the productivity of meetings taking place simultaneously (White, § 0002) (White, § 0018, Lines 1-5).
Jefferson discloses context information may be collected such as determining the users physical location (§§ 0042 and 0045).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang and White’s first and second contexts (and by extension, the first and second presences) with Jefferson’s physical location in order to more accurately determine the willingness of a user to communicate with a watcher (Jefferson, § 0048, Lines 1-3) thru the addition of contextual awareness (Jefferson, § 0014, Lines 5-10).
The method of claim 1 is implemented by the system of claim 8 and is therefore rejected with the same rationale.
Regarding the “non-transitory computer readable medium” of claim 15, Zhang discloses computer-readable storage media storing instructions to implement the disclosed invention (§§ 0171 and 0175).
Claims 2, 9, and 16:
Zhang in view of White further in view of Jefferson further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to:
adjust the first presence to indicate that the first member is present in the first virtual space (“joins a different virtual space”); and adjust the second presence to indicate that the first member is not present in the second virtual space (“leaves a virtual space”) (Zhang, § 0071, Lines 14-20; User management service 225 may store data indicative of the location of each user 210a-n and may update/modify the data indicative of the location of each user 210a-n when the user’s location changes (e.g., the user leaves a virtual space and joins a different virtual space, etc.)).
Claims 3, 10, and 17:
Zhang in view of White further in view of Jefferson further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to:
adjust the first presence to indicate that the first member is not present in the first virtual space (“leaves a virtual space”); and adjust a second presence to indicate that the first member is present in the second virtual space (“joins a different virtual space”) (Zhang, § 0071, Lines 14-20; User management service 225 may store data indicative of the location of each user 210a-n and may update/modify the data indicative of the location of each user 210a-n when the user’s location changes (e.g., the user leaves a virtual space and joins a different virtual space, etc.)).
Claims 4, 11, and 18:
Zhang in view of White further in view of Jefferson further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to:
receive, from the client device, a request to join a conference attached to the first virtual space; join the client device to the conference (Zhang, § 0069, Lines 10-13; If user 210a wants to communicate with user 210b and sees that user 210b is available and in a particular virtual space, user 210a may join that virtual space and initiate a chat or video conference with the user 210b);
adjust the first presence based on joining the client device to the conference; update the first indication of the first presence based on the adjusting; and provide the updated first indication (Zhang, § 0068, Lines 3-4 and 8-11; A user’s status may indicate a period of time for which that status is applicable. The user management service 225 may automatically populate this time period based on, for example, a calendar associated with the user).
Claims 5, 12, and 19:
Zhang in view of White further in view of Jefferson further discloses wherein the client device is associated with a conference room, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to:
attach the conference room to the first virtual space; detect the first member within the conference room (Zhang, § 0069, Lines 10-13; If user 210a wants to communicate with user 210b and sees that user 210b is available and in a particular virtual space, user 210a may join that virtual space and initiate a chat or video conference with the user 210b); and
wherein the first (or second) presence is further based on the detecting (Zhang, § 0071, Lines 14-20; User management service 225 may store data indicative of the location of each user 210a-n and may update/modify the data indicative of the location of each user 210a-n when the user’s location changes (e.g., the user leaves a virtual space and joins a different virtual space, etc.)).
Claims 6, 13, and 20:
Zhang in view of White further in view of Jefferson further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to:
receive, from a second client device associated with a second member of the first virtual space, a request to interact with the first member; provide one or more interaction options; receive a selected interaction option (Zhang, § 0123, Lines 12-14; The user may need to obtain a permission from users who are already in bubble chats to join the bubble chats that are private); and responsive to receiving approval of the requested interaction from the first member, enable the requested interaction between the first and second members (See citation above. It follows that if the user obtains permission, then the user will be allowed to join the bubble chat).
Claims 7 and 14:
Zhang in view of White further in view of Jefferson further discloses wherein the first or second context indicates one or more of a calendar context, a time-of-day context, or a holiday context (Jefferson, §§ 0042-0044; Context information may be collected such as meetings recorded in Microsoft Outlook or checking the time of day either online or on a local clock).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 on pages 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As detailed in the rejection of claims 1, 8, and 15, Jefferson discloses the collection of contextual information including a user’s physical location for the purpose of enhancing a user’s presence with contextual awareness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0245162 (Deibler et al.) – Rich presence information for group members of a virtual space includes an online indicator as well as additional rich information that defines both the visual and operational context of each peer group member such as the user’s activity and virtual location.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0240493 (Hamlin et al.) – An end user’s presence and absence state include context such as physical location, time of day, environmental condition, etc.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0115502 (Van Wie et al.) – A user is able to see conversations and other interactions between communicants who are located in different physical spaces in a single view that allows the user to quickly learn who is meeting with whom and the context of those interactions (as defined by the virtual zone in which the meeting is occurring and the physical locations of the individual communicants).
/NAM T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455