DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 15th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-8, and 15 remain pending in the application. Claims 9-14 have been cancelled by the Applicant. Claims 16-17 are newly added. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed August 14th, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Simonovic (US 20020044590 A1) fails to disclose the indicator particle with the irreversible property change of amended claims 1 and 15 stating on page 7 of the remarks filed December 15th, 2025 that there is “no concept that a particle could store information about a value encountered further upstream or that such information could be read out later at a different location downstream” and fails to disclose the sensor material of amended claims 1 and 15 stating on page 8 that, in Simonovic, “Only the shell changes, and even that only reversibly. This stands in contrast to the second particle variant in the claims, in which the sensor material itself is sensitive to the state variable and the protective cover controls the timing of exposure.”
As cited in the previous Office Action and restated below, Simonovic teaches in figures 1A, 4-5, and 8-9 and at least paragraphs 16, 58-61, 69, 78, 81 an indicator particle in a fluid (particle 12 with a signal that changes at a predetermined temperature, inserted into a batch or continuous stream) provided and designed for an irreversible property change of the indicator particle in response to a state variable (particle 12 comprises a luminescent implant surrounded by an opaque material that irreversibly melts when the interior of particle 12 reaches a predetermined temperature) as a clear function (melting of opaque material allows particle 12 to emit detectable signal) at the end of a certain time period after introduction to the fluid (particle 12 comprises inert insulating material that delays exposure of said particle to the fluid and time-temperature integrating device). Simonovic explicitly teaches that the indicator particle is detected at a detection point (particles are monitored at defined points L1 and L2) and monitored to evaluate the value and range of values of the state variable upstream (particles 12 emitting a detectable signal at L2 indicate an upstream state-variable change that occurred between L1 and L2.)
With regards to Applicant’s statement on page 7 of the remarks that “the amended claims now recite two particle variants”, Examiner finds that the language of amended claim 1 limits a singular variant that comprises the limitations as claimed. Claim 1 does not claim a first and second indicator particle variant, only “at least one indicator particle” with further limitations regarding “the indicator particle.” The present claims are interpreted and examined accordingly.
In response to the arguments of pages 7-8 of the Remarks, Simonovic explicitly teaches the particle being monitored at a first point L2 and then at L1. If a state change is detected at L2, then the particle is expressing a clear function of change that occurred upstream. Furthermore, Simonovic explicitly teaches property change being reversible. In the citation of Simonovic paragraph 62 stated on page 8 of the Applicant’s Remarks, Simonovic is explicitly disclosing that, once the threshold detected, melting function is irreversible and the resulting temperature detection signal emitted by the particle is conserved until a secondary threshold is met. The particle does not return to an original state, rather, it includes the ability to indicate multiple subsequent temperature thresholds. As explicitly stated by Simonovic, the primary melting melting-point detection is irreversible and additional state-sensitive sensor materials on the base body of the indicator particle that control the exposure time and occurrence of the irreversible property change. Support for this can be found in at least paragraph 62, paragraph 82 ( particles 12 further comprise an inert, insulating material to delay exposure to fluid.), and paragraphs 78- 81 (particle 12 can comprise carrier element 50, inoculum pack 52 and time-temperature integrating device 54).
Applicant argues that Mastrangelo (US 20130122301 A1) fails to disclose an irreversible property change, stating on page 9 of the present Remarks that the pressure-responsive particle deformation as taught by Mastrangelo “is fully reversible, and the pressure is measured continuously and in-situ.”
As cited in the previous Office Action and restated below, Mastrangelo explicitly teaches, in figures 1-2C and at least paragraphs 15-16, 60, and 63, particles (200) comprising thin non-diffusive diaphragm walls (walls 205, 210) enclosing an internal vacuum pressure creating a pressure gradient with respect to the external fluid (cavity 210). Mastrangelo does not teach that this is fully reversible. As disclosed by Mastrangelo, exposure to a pressure above a predetermined threshold will cause lasting damage to the walls and resulting in a deformation of the particle shape that will not be reversed by an equal decrease in pressure to below the threshold. Support for this can be found in at least paragraphs 15, 55 and 60-63.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, expanding the capability of Simonovic’s irreversible indicator particles with Mastrangelo’s teaching of mechanical load sensitivity would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2111.01).
Accordingly, amended claims 1 and 15 are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 lines 11-13 “the indicator particle is provided and designed for an irreversible property change in of an indicator property of the indicator particle in the presence of a specific indicator value of the at least one state variable in the fluid flow” is redundant. This limitation is previously stated in Claim 1 lines 3-6: “wherein the at least one indicator particle is provided and designed for an irreversible property change of an indicator property of the indicator particle in the presence of a specific indicator value of the at least one state variable in the fluid flow.”
Claim 1 lines 21-23 “the indicator particle is provided and designed for an irreversible property change in of an indicator property of the indicator particle as a clear function of the actual value at the end of a certain period of time after the indicator particle has been introduced into the fluid” is redundant. This limitation is previously stated in Claim 1 lines 3-6: “wherein the at least one indicator particle is provided and designed for an irreversible property change of an indicator property of the indicator particle […] as a clear function of the actual value at the end of a certain period of time after the indicator particle is introduced into the fluid.”
Claim 1 line 11 and line 21 “provided and designed for an irreversible property change in of an indicator property” contain a minor typographical error and should read “provided and designed for an irreversible property change in an indicator property” or “provided and designed for an irreversible property change of an indicator property” depending upon the Applicant’s discretion.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simunovic (US 20020044590 A1) further in view of Mastrangelo (US 20130122301 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Simunovic discloses (in at least figures 1A, 4-5, and 8-9, the description, and the claims) a method for determining an actual value and an actual value range of at least one state variable of a fluid in a fluid flow by means of at least one indicator particle introduced into the fluid (par. 16: “The method comprises: providing a particle having a signal that changes at a pre-determined temperature; inserting the particle into the batch or continuous stream; and detecting a signal change from the particle to thereby generate a temperature measurement for the batch or continuous stream”), wherein the at least one indicator particle is provided and designed for an irreversible property change of an indicator property of the indicator particle (fig.’s 4-5 and par. 78: shield material 16 of particles 12 loses shielding ability when the interior of particle 12 reaches a predetermined temperature, thereby allowing implant 14 of particle 12 to emit a detectable signal change indicating said temperature. See also par.’s 58-61: “switched-on” and “switched-off” states)
in the presence of a specific indicator value of the at least one state variable in the fluid flow (par.’s 16, 61, and 78: a predetermined temperature in a thermal process), and
as a clear function of the actual value at the end of a certain period of time after the indicator particle is introduced into the fluid (par.’s 16, 61, and 78: implant 14 of particle 12 emits clear detectable signal as a function of temperature. See also par. 69: signal changes are monitored for a predetermined length of time and fig.’s 4-5 and par. 81: particles 12 can comprise time-temperature integrating device to characterize the time-temperature profile of thermal system),
wherein the indicator particle is detected at a detection point, the indicator property of the indicator particle is evaluated and the actual value and the actual value range of the state variable upstream of the detection point is inferred from the indicator property (fig, 1A and par. 69: signal change from particles 12 in system 10 are monitored at defined points L1 and L2 for signal change indicating temperature values along the stream), wherein:
the indicator particle is provided and designed for an irreversible property change in of an indicator property of the indicator particle (fig.’s 4-5 and par. 78: shield material 16 of particles 12 loses shielding ability when the interior of particle 12 reaches a predetermined temperature, thereby allowing implant 14 of particle 12 to emit a detectable signal change indicating said temperature. See also par.’s 58-61: “switched-on” and “switched-off” states) in the presence of a specific indicator value of the at least one state variable in the fluid flow (par.’s 16, 61, and 78: a predetermined temperature in a thermal process) and wherein the indicator particle has a base body having a particle shell enclosing a cavity (fig.’s 4-5 and par.’s 68 and 78-79: carrier 50 and shielding 16 of particle 12), wherein a reference value is present in the cavity (par. 49) and the particle shell is provided and designed to irreversibly change and break the indicator property in the form of its shape when the value deviates from the reference value by a specific difference, and wherein the particle shell is provided and designed to irreversibly change and break the indicator property in the form of its shape for this purpose when the value deviates from a reference value (fig.’s 4-5 and par. 78: shield material 16 of particles 12 loses shielding ability when the interior of particle 12 reaches a predetermined temperature, thereby allowing implant 14 of particle 12 to emit a detectable signal change indicating said temperature. See also par.’s 58-61: “switched-on” and “switched-off” states), and wherein:
the indicator particle is provided and designed for an irreversible property change in of an indicator property of the indicator particle as a clear function of the actual value at the end of a certain period of time after the indicator particle has been introduced into the fluid (par.’s 16, 61, and 78: implant 14 of particle 12 emits clear detectable signal as a function of temperature. See also par. 69: signal changes are monitored for a predetermined length of time and fig.’s 4-5 and par. 81: particles 12 can comprise time-temperature integrating device to characterize the time-temperature profile of thermal system), wherein on the base body there is a sensor material which provides the indicator property and is state variable-sensitive (fig.’s 4-5 and par. 78: shield material 16 of particles 12 loses shielding ability when the interior of particle 12 reaches a predetermined temperature, thereby allowing implant 14 of particle 12 to emit a detectable signal change indicating said temperature. See also par.’s 58-61: “switched-on” and “switched-off” states), and wherein the base body is covered by a protective cover so that the base body or the sensor material is only exposed to the fluid after the certain period of time has elapsed after being introduced into the fluid (par. 82: particles 12 further comprise an inert, insulating material to delay exposure to fluid.).
Simunovic does not explicitly disclose wherein the state variable is a normal stress or a shear stress of the fluid.
Mastrangelo discloses an analogous art (fig’s 1-2C and par.’s 15-16: microparticle for use in measuring characteristics of fluid flow), wherein the state variable is a normal stress and a shear stress of the fluid and the indicator particle has a base body having a particle shell enclosing a cavity (fig.’s 2-2C and par. 60: particle 200 with cavity 215 bounded by thin diaphragm walls 205, 210), wherein a reference pressure is present in the cavity and the particle shell is provided and designed to irreversibly change and break the indicator property in the form of its shape when the normal stress deviates from the reference pressure by a specific pressure difference, and wherein the particle shell is provided and designed to irreversibly change and break the indicator property in the form of its shape for this purpose when the shear stress deviates from a reference tension (fig.’s 2b-2C: Cavity pressure P-I and external pressure P--O , par.’s 60-63: “The interior of the cavity is hermetically sealed at very low pressure hence acting as a vacuum reference. If the external pressure P--O of the particle is larger than the reference cavity pressure the diaphragms deflect thus changing their separation gap as in FIG. 2c. This gap can be measured optically.” See also par. 63: “the thickness and radius of the diaphragm can be adjusted to tune the specific pressure range of interest” ).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the particle shell, as taught by Mastrangelo, to be included in the indicator particle of Simunovic thereby expanding the capability of the particle such that it is sensitive to pressure changes in fluid environments where tensile and stress forces are the parameters of interest (Mastrangelo par.’s 11-13 and 16).
Regarding Claim 2: Simunovic in view of Mastrangelo discloses the method according to claim 1, and Simonovic further discloses the method wherein the at least one indicator particle is part of a large number of indicator particles which are introduced into the fluid, wherein the indicator value of the state variable for a first part of the indicator particles corresponds to a first indicator value and for a second part of the indicator particles corresponds to a second indicator value and the period of time corresponds to a first period of time for the first part of the indicator particles and to the second period of time for the second part of the indicator particles (par. 64: method detects the time and place within the system at which particles reach one of a number of predetermined temperatures. See also par. 64: “By monitoring the stream and the heat penetration into a single or into a plurality of simulated particles with pre-selected single-temperature range indicators, and by using multiple populations of such particles, each population designed, constructed and calibrated to a different temperature range, conservative process evaluation and validation can be achieved and documented in a simple, robust and reliable way.”).
Regarding Claim 3: Simunovic in view of Mastrangelo discloses the method according to claim 1, and Simonovic further discloses the method wherein the first part of the indicator particles and the second part of the indicator particles are introduced into the fluid simultaneously or in a time-delayed manner and at the same point of introduction or at spaced-apart points of introduction (fig. 1A and par. 69: particles 12 are inserted into pipe 20 in groups via infeed hopper 18. It is inherent that this insertion process can insert populations of particles simultaneously, time-delayed, at the same location, or spaced-apart), wherein the first part is provided with an unchangeable first identification independent of the respective indicator property and the second part is provided with an unchangeable second identification independent of the respective indicator property (par.’s 59 and 62: implants 14 of particles 12 have independent properties calibrated to their predetermined temperature value. If the implant 14 emits a light in the “switched-on” state, the light color of the light-emitting implant segment can be selected to identify the predetermined "switched-on" temperature. If the implant 14 produces a magnetic signal in the “switched-on” state, the Curie temperature of the ferromagnetic material can be selected to identify the predetermined "switched-on" temperature. ).
Regarding Claim 4: Simunovic in view of Mastrangelo discloses the method according to claim 1, and Simonovic further discloses the method wherein the at least one indicator particle is detected and the indicator property is evaluated without contact in the fluid or after the at least one indicator particle has been removed from the fluid (par. 64: non-contact detection).
Regarding Claim 5: Simunovic in view of Mastrangelo discloses the method according to claim 1, and Simonovic further discloses the method wherein if the property change does not occur, the indicator value is changed until the property change occurs, or if the property change occurs, the indicator value is changed until the property change does not occur, wherein from a first indicator value of the indicator value, at which the property change did not occur, and from a second indicator value of the indicator value at which the property change occurred, the actual value and the actual value range of the state variable is inferred (par.’s 58 and 60: system sensors to monitor state change signals from switched-on to switched-off (and vice versa) around predetermined temperature thresholds to infer selected ranges. See also fig.’s 8-9 and par. 85: the range of switch temperatures for particles corresponding to different predetermined temperatures).
Regarding Claim 6: Simonovic in view of Mastrangelo discloses the method according to claim 1, and Simonovic further discloses the method wherein at least one prediction value for the state variable is calculated using a model of the fluid flow and the movement of a particle in the fluid flow and is verified using the at least one indicator particle , wherein the model is adjusted to the actual value and the actual value range if the prediction value deviates from the actual value and actual value range determined by means of the at least one indicator particle (par.’s 55, 65, 68: “cold spot” monitoring involves combining the conservative temperature measurement with the conservative particle construction to ensure conservative/fast stream and conservative/slow heat penetration of the particles. See also par. 69: signal changes are monitored for particles along their trajectory through the pipe to verify that predetermined temperature thresholds and values are recorded onto a computer storage medium for analysis.).
Regarding Claim 7: Simunovic in view of Mastrangelo discloses (in at least figures 1A, 4-5, and 8-9, the description, and the claims) a method for operating a fluid-guiding device (fig. 1A and par. 66: thermal processing and monitoring system 10), wherein an actual value and an actual value range of at least one state variable of the fluid in a fluid flow present in the device is determined by means of at least one indicator particle introduced into the fluid, using the method according to claim 1 (par. 16: “The method comprises: providing a particle having a signal that changes at a pre-determined temperature; inserting the particle into the batch or continuous stream; and detecting a signal change from the particle to thereby generate a temperature measurement for the batch or continuous stream.” See also the rejection of claim 1 above.)
Regarding Claim 8: Simonovic in view of Mastrangelo discloses method according to claim 7, and Simonovic further discloses the method wherein if the actual value and the actual value range deviates from a previously determined actual value and actual value range and from a predicted value and predicted value range determined using a model of the fluid flow (par.’s 55, 65, 68: “cold spot” monitoring involves combining the conservative temperature measurement with the conservative particle construction to ensure conservative/fast stream and conservative/slow heat penetration of the particles. See also par. 69: signal changes are monitored for particles along their trajectory through the pipe to verify that predetermined temperature thresholds and values are recorded onto a computer storage medium for analysis.), a malfunction of the fluid-guiding device is recognized (par. 69: “The detection of the signal along this predetermined length is recorded by computer acquisition system 30 for graphical display, for printout in a word processing report, or for other review and evaluation by a user” and “Video and still cameras can be operatively connected to system 10 for automated activation upon detection of a signal or other desired event, and are optionally employed in an embodiment of system 10 comprise a transparent pipe sections or a view-port.” System 10 allows displays signal data for user analysis of potential malfunction events as claimed).
Regarding Claim 15: Simunovic discloses (in at least figures 1A, 4-5, and 8-9, the description, and the claims) a device for determining an actual value and an actual value range of at least one state variable of a fluid in a fluid flow by means of at least one indicator particle introduced into the fluid (fig. 1A and par. 66: thermal processing and monitoring system 10), wherein the at least one indicator particle is provided and designed for an irreversible property change of an indicator property of the indicator particle (fig.’s 4-5 and par. 78: shield material 16 of particles 12 loses shielding ability when the interior of particle 12 reaches a predetermined temperature, thereby allowing implant 14 of particle 12 to emit a detectable signal change indicating said temperature. See also par.’s 58-61: “switched-on” and “switched-off” states)
in the presence of a specific indicator value of the at least one state variable in the fluid flow (par.’s 16, 61, and 78: a predetermined temperature in a thermal process), and
as a clear function of the actual value at the end of a certain period of time after the indicator particle into the fluid (par.’s 16, 61, and 78: implant 14 of particle 12 emits clear detectable signal as a function of temperature. See also par. 69: signal changes are monitored for a predetermined length of time and fig.’s 4-5 and par. 81: particles 12 can comprise time-temperature integrating device to characterize the time-temperature profile of thermal system),
wherein the device is provided and designed to detect the indicator particle at a detection point, to evaluate the indicator property of the indicator particle and to infer the actual value and the actual value range of the state variable upstream of the detection point from the indicator property (fig, 1A and par. 69: signal change from particles 12 in system 10 are monitored at defined points L1 and L2 for signal change indicating temperature values along the stream).
wherein the indicator particle is provided and designed for an irreversible property change in of an indicator property of the indicator particle (fig.’s 4-5 and par. 78: shield material 16 of particles 12 loses shielding ability when the interior of particle 12 reaches a predetermined temperature, thereby allowing implant 14 of particle 12 to emit a detectable signal change indicating said temperature. See also par.’s 58-61: “switched-on” and “switched-off” states) in the presence of a specific indicator value of the at least one state variable in the fluid flow (par.’s 16, 61, and 78: a predetermined temperature in a thermal process),
wherein the indicator particle has a base body having a particle shell enclosing a cavity (fig.’s 4-5 and par.’s 68 and 78-79: carrier 50 and shielding 16 of particle 12), wherein a reference value is present in the cavity (par. 49) and the particle shell is provided and designed to irreversibly change and break the indicator property in the form of its shape when the value deviates from the reference value by a specific difference, and wherein the particle shell is provided and designed to irreversibly change and break the indicator property in the form of its shape for this purpose when the value deviates from a reference value (fig.’s 4-5 and par. 78: shield material 16 of particles 12 loses shielding ability when the interior of particle 12 reaches a predetermined temperature, thereby allowing implant 14 of particle 12 to emit a detectable signal change indicating said temperature. See also par.’s 58-61: “switched-on” and “switched-off” states), and
wherein the indicator particle is provided and designed for an irreversible property change in of an indicator property of the indicator particle as a clear function of the actual value at the end of a certain period of time after the indicator particle has been introduced into the fluid (par.’s 16, 61, and 78: implant 14 of particle 12 emits clear detectable signal as a function of temperature. See also par. 69: signal changes are monitored for a predetermined length of time and fig.’s 4-5 and par. 81: particles 12 can comprise time-temperature integrating device to characterize the time-temperature profile of thermal system), wherein on the base body there is a sensor material which provides the indicator property and is state variable-sensitive (fig.’s 4-5 and par. 78: shield material 16 of particles 12 loses shielding ability when the interior of particle 12 reaches a predetermined temperature, thereby allowing implant 14 of particle 12 to emit a detectable signal change indicating said temperature. See also par.’s 58-61: “switched-on” and “switched-off” states), and wherein the base body is covered by a protective cover so that the base body or the sensor material is only exposed to the fluid after the specific period of time has elapsed after being introduced into the fluid (par. 82: particles 12 further comprise an inert, insulating material to delay exposure to fluid.).
Simunovic does not explicitly disclose wherein the state variable is a normal stress or a shear stress of the fluid.
Mastrangelo discloses an analogous art (fig’s 1-2C and par.’s 15-16: microparticle for use in measuring characteristics of fluid flow), wherein the state variable is a normal stress and a shear stress of the fluid and the indicator particle has a base body having a particle shell enclosing a cavity (fig.’s 2-2C and par. 60: particle 200 with cavity 215 bounded by thin diaphragm walls 205, 210), wherein a reference pressure is present in the cavity and the particle shell is provided and designed to irreversibly change and break the indicator property in the form of its shape when the normal stress deviates from the reference pressure by a specific pressure difference, and wherein the particle shell is provided and designed to irreversibly change and break the indicator property in the form of its shape for this purpose when the shear stress deviates from a reference tension (fig.’s 2b-2C: Cavity pressure P-I and external pressure P--O , par.’s 60-63: “The interior of the cavity is hermetically sealed at very low pressure hence acting as a vacuum reference. If the external pressure P--O of the particle is larger than the reference cavity pressure the diaphragms deflect thus changing their separation gap as in FIG. 2c. This gap can be measured optically.” See also par. 63: “the thickness and radius of the diaphragm can be adjusted to tune the specific pressure range of interest” ).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the particle shell, as taught by Mastrangelo, to be included in the indicator particle of Simunovic thereby expanding the capability of the particle such that it is sensitive to pressure changes in fluid environments where tensile and stress forces are the parameters of interest (Mastrangelo par.’s 11-13 and 16).
Regarding Claim 16: Simunovic in view of Mastrangelo discloses the indicator particle according to claim 1, and Simonovic further discloses wherein a base body is used on which a plurality of sensor elements and/or sensor regions are formed on the base body, wherein a first part of the sensor elements or sensor regions made of the sensor material and a second part of the sensor elements or sensor regions consists of a sensor material that is different from the sensor material (fig.’s 4-5 and par.’s 78-81: particle 12 can comprise carrier element 50, inoculum pack 52 and time-temperature integrating device 54).
Regarding Claim 17: Simunovic in view of Mastrangelo discloses the indicator particle according to claim 1, and Simonovic further discloses wherein the sensor elements and/or sensor regions are covered by the protective cover with different cover thicknesses (par. 82: particles 12 further comprise an inert, insulating material to delay exposure to fluid. See also par. 56: “The particles can be of uniform wall thickness, size and shape, or can vary in wall thickness, size or shape.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes:
Heidrich (US 20180246137 A1) discloses the method according to at least claims 1-3
Bluemner (US 20150107507 A1) discloses the method according to at least claims 1-4, 6-9, the indicator particle according to claim 9 wherein the state variable is a normal stress and/or shear stress of the fluid, and the device according to claim 15.
De Brey (US 3842791 A) discloses the discloses the method according to at least claims 1-4, 6-9, the indicator particle according to claim 9 wherein the state variable is a normal stress and/or shear stress of the fluid, and the device according to claim 15.
Bedingfield (US 20080200865 A1) discloses the discloses the method according to at least claims 1-4, 6-9, the indicator particle according to claim 9 wherein the state variable is fluid temperature, and the device according to claim 15.
Davis (US 20070044572 A1) discloses the discloses the method according to at least claims 1-4, 6-10, the indicator particle according to claim 9 wherein the state variables include fluid temperature and normal stress and/or shear stress of the fluid, and the device according to claim 15.
Kiel (US 6275284 B1) the discloses the method according to at least claims 1-4, 6-10, the indicator particle according to claim 9 wherein the state variables include fluid temperature and normal stress and/or shear stress of the fluid, and the device according to claim 15.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVAN MANCINI/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855 2/20/26