Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 5-6, “exactly one pair of replacement contacts for said pixels” is claimed instead of “exactly one pair of replacement contacts for said pixel.”
Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeya et al. [US PGPUB 20210135047] in view of Guo et al. [US PGPUB 20190043842] and further in view of Lo et al. [US PGPUB 20200168585] (hereinafter Guo and Lo).
Regarding claim 1, Takeya teaches a method for producing a pixel array comprising:
- providing a substrate (110, Para 57) for a field-like arrangement of pixels (P, Para 57, Fig. 2) on the substrate and for electrical contacting of the pixels (Para 95), said substrate providing a set of primary contacts (122/132/142, Para 69, Fig. 2/3/4) for each pixel (Fig. 2/3), said set of primary contacts being for electrically contacting a group of LEDs (150/160/170) of said pixel (Fig. 4), said substrate also providing one pair of replacement contacts (124, Para 69, Fig. 2-4) for said pixels (Fig. 2-3),
- equipping each of the set of primary contacts of the pixel with a respective LED of the group of LEDs (Fig. 4), whereby the one pair of replacement contacts of the pixel is not equipped (Fig. 4),
- identifying a faulty LED or a faulty contact in the group of LEDs (Para 83, Fig. 6B-C), and
- equipping the one pair of replacement contacts with a replacement LED for the faulty LED or the faulty contact (Para 84, Fig. 6C-D).
Takeya does not specifically disclose that the LEDs in the pixel array are µ-LEDs; and
providing exactly one pair of replacement contacts for said pixels, wherein said exactly one pair of replacement contacts is configured to be selectively connected to any one of the color signal lines associated with the group of µ-LEDs of said pixel.
Referring to the invention of Guo, Guo teaches implementing different types of LEDs in a display device, wherein in an instance, a µ-LED is used (Para 41).
In view of such teaching by Guo, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Takeya comprise the teachings of Guo in order to improve efficiency and life time of the display device.
Referring to the invention of Lo, Lo teaches a pixel repair layout wherein the pixel comprises a set of primary contacts (154A-C, Para 34, Fig. 1F) and exactly one pair of replacement contacts (Fig. 4), wherein said exactly one pair of replacement contacts is configured to be selectively connected to any one of the color signal lines associated with the group of LEDs of said pixel (Para 45-47, i.e., depending on the faulty LED a contact window is formed to overlap with respective conductive line 112 and the a conductive structure is put in place, Fig. 1D-F).
In view of such teaching by Lo, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions at least based on the rationale of relying on teachings, suggestions, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention (MPEP 2143.I.G).
Regarding claim 2 modified in invention of Takeya teaches a method characterized in that the identifying the faulty µ-LED in the group of µ-LEDs and the equipping the one replacement contact with the replacement µ-LED for the faulty µ-LED are repeated until a respective replacement µ-LED is present in the pixel for each µ-LED identified as defective (Takeya, Para 75-84; although repetition is not detaiµ-LED by Takeya, it should be noted that the repetition is contingent on identifying defective µ-LEDs, thus at least in view of Takeya identifying a defective µ-LED and replacing it the limitation of the claim has been met).
Regarding claim 3, the modified invention of Takeya teaches a method characterised in that a µ-LED identified as faulty is not removed (Para 87).
Regarding claim 4, the modified invention of Takeya teaches a method characterised in that a µ-LED identified as faulty and the replacement µ-LED are intended to emit light of a same color (Para 84, Fig. 6C-D).
Regarding claim 5, the modified invention of Takeya teaches a method characterised in that thegroup of µ-LEDs comprises one or more sets of RGB µ-LEDs (Para 80, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, the modified invention of Takeya teaches a method characterised in that no replacement contact of the pixel is equipped with a respective replacement µ-LED, if no faulty µ-LED is found in the pixel (Para 83-84; where LEDs are replaced only when defect is identified).
Regarding claim 7, the modified invention of Takeya teaches a method characterised in that the set of primary contacts and/or the one pair of replacement contacts are configured for contacting a respective µ-LED or a respective replacement µ-LED on an anode side or on a cathode side or both on the anode side and the cathode side (Figs. 3-4/6; where contacts or electrodes of LEDs are referred to as anode and cathode).
Regarding claim 8, the modified invention of Takeya teaches a method characterised in that a respective µ-LED of the group of µ-LEDs or a respective replacement µ-LED is a part of a µ-LED module or a base module (Para 5, display device).
Regarding claim 9, the modified invention of Takeya teaches a method characterised in that an electrical contact for an identified, faulty µ-LED is disconnected (Para 87).
Regarding claim 11, the modified invention of Takeya teaches a method characterised in that all of the set of primary contacts of the pixel are equipped with µ-LEDs (Fig. 4, at least all equipped until the defective LEDs are detected and removed or are all equipped because instead of replacing defective LEDs they are left mounted but disconnected).
Regarding claim 12, Takeya teaches a pixel field comprising:
a substrate (110, Para 57) for a field-like arrangement of pixels (P, Para 57, Fig. 2) on the substrate and for electrical contacting of the pixels (Para 95),
the substrate providing a set of primary contacts (122/132/142, Para 69, Fig. 3/4) for at least one pixel (Fig. 2/3), the set of primary contacts of the pixel being adapted for electrical contacting of a group of LEDs (Fig. 4), the substrate also providing one pair of replacement contacts (124, Para 69, Fig. 2/3/4) for the at least one pixel (Fig. 2/3);
wherein the primary contacts of the pixel are equipped with the group of LEDs (Fig. 4),
wherein the group of LEDs comprises a faulty, deactivated LED (Para 83), and
wherein the one pair of replacement contacts is equipped with a replacement LED as a replacement for said faulty, deactivated LED (Para 83/87, where the faulty, deactivated LED is not removed).
Takeya does not specifically disclose that the LEDs in the pixel array are µ-LEDs, and
providing exactly one pair of replacement contacts for the at least one pixel,
wherein said exactly one pair of replacement contacts is configured to be selectively connected to any one of the color signal lines associated with the group of µ-LEDs of said pixel.
Referring to the invention of Guo, Guo teaches implementing different types of LEDs in a display device, wherein in an instance, a µ-LED is used (Para 41).
In view of such teaching by Guo, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Takeya comprise the teachings of Guo in order to improve efficiency and life time of the display device.
Referring to the invention of Lo, Lo teaches a pixel repair layout wherein the pixel comprises a set of primary contacts (154A-C, Para 34, Fig. 1F) and exactly one pair of replacement contacts (Fig. 4), wherein said exactly one pair of replacement contacts is configured to be selectively connected to any one of the color signal lines associated with the group of LEDs of said pixel (Para 45-47, i.e., depending on the faulty LED a contact window is formed to overlap with respective conductive line 112 and the a conductive structure is put in place, Fig. 1D-F).
In view of such teaching by Lo, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions at least based on the rationale of relying on teachings, suggestions, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention (MPEP 2143.I.G).
Regarding claim 13, the modified device of Takeya teaches the limitation of claim 12 upon which it depends.
The modified device of Takeya as disclosed in the rejection of claim 12 does not specifically disclose a pixel field characterised in that a number of occupied replacement contacts is different for at least two pixels.
Referring further to Guo’s invention, Guo teaches have the number of LEDs in pixels in certain area (central area) different from the number of LEDs in pixels in another area (peripheral area) (Para 56, Fig. 9).
In view of such teaching by Guo, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention further comprise the teachings of Guo at least based on the rationale of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.D) according to different application scenarios or different requirements (Guo, Para 56).
Regarding claim 14, the modified invention of Takeya teaches a display comprising a pixel field according to claim 12 (Abstract).
Regarding claim 15, the modified invention of Takeya teaches a display comprising a pixel array produced by the method of claim 1 (Abstract).
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bibl et al. [US PGPUB 20140367633] in view of Lo (hereinafter Bibl).
Regarding claim 1, Bibl teaches a method for producing a pixel array comprising:
- providing a substrate (102, Para 78) for a field-like arrangement of pixels (108, Para 77 –although referred to as subpixel, each of the subpixel can be rereferred to as a certain color pixel (e.g., red, blue, green pixel), Fig. 1A) on the substrate and for electrical contacting of the pixels (Para 60), said substrate providing a set of primary contacts (Fig. 1D, i.e., contacts for connectivity to electrodes 403/404 of LED 400, Para 76) for each pixel (Fig. 1D), said set of primary contacts being for electrically contacting a group of µ-LEDs (400, Para 76) of said pixel (Fig. 1D), said substrate also providing one pair of replacement contacts (not shown but in view of replacement site 401, Para 73, Fig. 1D) for said pixels (Fig. 1D),
- equipping each of the set of primary contacts of the pixel with a respective LED of the group of LEDs (Fig. 1D), whereby the one pair of replacement contacts of the pixel is not equipped (Fig. 1D).
In the embodiment of Fig. 1D, Bibl does not specifically disclose
- identifying a faulty LED or a faulty contact in the group of LEDs, and
- equipping the one pair of replacement contacts with a replacement LED for the faulty LED or the faulty contact, and
providing exactly one pair of replacement contacts for the at least one pixel,
wherein said exactly one pair of replacement contacts is configured to be selectively connected to any one of the color signal lines associated with the group of µ-LEDs of said pixel.
However, in the embodiment of Fig. 2B-C, Bibl teaches identifying a faulty LED (400X, Fig. 2B/C, Para 79) or a faulty contact in the group of LEDs (Fig. 2B/C), and
- equipping the one pair of replacement contacts (i.e., contacts at repair site 401, Para 79) with a replacement LED for the faulty LED or the faulty contact (Para 79).
In view of such further teaching by Bibl, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fig. 1D/2B/C at least based on the rationale of using known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way using (MPEP 2143.I.C); i.e., to maintain desired luminance of the pixel.
Referring to the invention of Lo, Lo teaches a pixel repair layout wherein the pixel comprises a set of primary contacts (154A-C, Para 34, Fig. 1F) and exactly one pair of replacement contacts (Fig. 4), wherein said exactly one pair of replacement contacts is configured to be selectively connected to any one of the color signal lines associated with the group of LEDs of said pixel (Para 45-47, i.e., depending on the faulty LED a contact window is formed to overlap with respective conductive line 112 and the a conductive structure is put in place, Fig. 1D-F).
In view of such teaching by Lo, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions at least based on the rationale of relying on teachings, suggestions, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention (MPEP 2143.I.G).
Regarding claim 2 modified in invention of Bibl teaches a method characterized in that the identifying the faulty µ-LED in the group of µ-LEDs and the equipping the one replacement contact with the replacement µ-LED for the faulty µ-LED are repeated until a respective replacement µ-LED is present in the pixel for each µ-LED identified as defective (Para 79; although repetition is not detailed by Bibl, it should be noted that the repetition is contingent on identifying defective µ-LEDs, thus at least in view of Bibl identifying a defective µ-LED and replacing it the limitation of the claim has been met).
Regarding claim 3, the modified invention of Bibl teaches a method characterised in that a µ-LED identified as faulty is not removed (Fig. 2C)
Regarding claim 4, the modified invention of Bibl teaches a method characterised in that a µ-LED identified as faulty and the replacement µ-LED are intended to emit light of a same color (Fig. 2C; in view of the repair occurring with the same color pixel).
Regarding claim 6, the modified invention of Takeya teaches a method characterised in that no replacement contact of the pixel is equipped with a respective replacement µ-LED, if no faulty µ-LED is found in the pixel (Para 79; where LEDs are replaced only when defect is identified).
Regarding claim 7, the modified invention of Bibl teaches a method characterised in that the set of primary contacts and/or the one pair of replacement contacts are configured for contacting a respective µ-LED or a respective replacement µ-LED on an anode side or on a cathode side or both on the anode side and the cathode side (Figs. 1D; where contacts or electrodes of LEDs are referred to as anode and cathode).
Regarding claim 8, the modified invention of Bibl teaches a method characterised in that a respective µ-LED of the group of µ-LEDs or a respective replacement µ-LED is a part of a µ-LED module or a base module (Para 60, display panel).
Regarding claim 11, the modified invention of Bibl teaches a method characterised in that all of the set of primary contacts of the pixel are equipped with µ-LEDs (Fig. 1D).
Regarding claim 15, the modified invention of Bibl teaches a display comprising a pixel array produced by the method of claim 1 (Para 60).
Claims 9, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bibl in view of Lo and further in view of Takeya.
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Bibl teaches the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
The modified invention of Bibl teaches a method characterised in that an electrical contact for an identified, faulty µ-LED is disconnected.
(Referring to the invention of Takeya, Takeya teaches a pixel repair method wherein faulty LEDs are deactivated instead of removing them (Para 87).
In view of such teaching by Takeya, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Bibl comprise the teaching of Takeya at least based on the rationale of using known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way using (MPEP 2143.I.C), wherein such method prevents issue such as affecting structural integrity of the device and/or introduction of contaminants in the device.
Regarding claim 12, Bibl teaches a pixel field comprising:
a substrate (102, Para 78) for a field-like arrangement of pixels (108, Para 77 –although referred to as subpixel, each of the subpixel can be rereferred to as a certain color pixel (e.g., red, blue, green pixel), Fig. 1A) on the substrate and for electrical contacting of the pixels (Para 60),
the substrate providing a set of primary contacts (Fig. 1D, i.e., contacts for connectivity to electrodes 403/404 of LED 400, Para 76) for at least one pixel (Fig. Fig. 1D), the set of primary contacts of the pixel being adapted for electrical contacting of a group of µ-LEDs (Fig. 1D, Para 76), the substrate also providing one pair of replacement contacts (not shown but in view of replacement site 401, Para 73, Fig. 1D) for the at least one pixel (Fig. 1D);
wherein the primary contacts of the pixel are equipped with the group of µ-LEDs (Fig. 1D).
In the embodiment of Fig. 1D, Bibl does not specifically disclose wherein the group of µ-LEDs comprises a faulty, deactivated µ-LED,
wherein the one pair of replacement contacts is equipped with a replacement µ-LED as a replacement for said faulty, deactivated µ-LED, and
providing exactly one pair of replacement contacts for the at least one pixel,
wherein said exactly one pair of replacement contacts is configured to be selectively connected to any one of the color signal lines associated with the group of µ-LEDs of said pixel.
However, in the embodiment of Fig. 2B-C, Bibl teaches wherein the group of LEDs comprises a faulty LED (400X, Para 79), and
wherein the one pair of replacement contacts is equipped with a replacement LED as a replacement for said faulty LED.
In view of such further teaching by Bibl, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fig. 1D/2B/C at least based on the rationale of using known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way using (MPEP 2143.I.C); i.e., to maintain desired luminance of the pixel.
Referring to the invention of Takeya, Takeya teaches a pixel repair method wherein faulty LEDs are deactivated instead of removing them (Para 87).
In view of such teaching by Takeya, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Bibl comprise the teaching of Takeya at least based on the rationale of using known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way using (MPEP 2143.I.C), wherein such method prevents issue such as affecting structural integrity of the device and/or introduction of contaminants in the device.
Referring to the invention of Lo, Lo teaches a pixel repair layout wherein the pixel comprises a set of primary contacts (154A-C, Para 34, Fig. 1F) and exactly one pair of replacement contacts (Fig. 4), wherein said exactly one pair of replacement contacts is configured to be selectively connected to any one of the color signal lines associated with the group of LEDs of said pixel (Para 45-47, i.e., depending on the faulty LED a contact window is formed to overlap with respective conductive line 112 and the a conductive structure is put in place, Fig. 1D-F).
In view of such teaching by Lo, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions at least based on the rationale of relying on teachings, suggestions, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention (MPEP 2143.I.G).
Regarding claim 14, the modified invention of Takeya teaches a display comprising a pixel field according to claim 12 (Para 60).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bibl in view of Lo and Takeya and further in view of Guo et al. [US PGPUB 20190043842] (hereinafter Guo).
Regarding claim 13, the modified device of Bibl teaches the limitation of claim 12 upon which it depends.
The modified device of Bibl as disclosed in the rejection of claim 12 does not specifically disclose a pixel field characterised in that a number of occupied replacement contacts is different for at least two pixels.
Referring further to Guo’s invention, Guo teaches have the number of LEDs in pixels in certain area (central area) different from the number of LEDs in pixels in another area (peripheral area) (Para 56, Fig. 9).
In view of such teaching by Guo, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention further comprise the teachings of Guo at least based on the rationale of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.D) according to different application scenarios or different requirements (Guo, Para 56).
Conclusion
/ISMAIL A MUSE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812