DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 corresponding to claims 1-10 and 17-20 in the reply filed on 2/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 1 – 10 and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms/limitations: “flexible”, “efficient”, “mitigating wireless network load and reducing network latency”, “significantly reducing”, “accurate”, “effective” in claims 1 and 17; “optimal” in claim 3 are relative terms which renders the claims indefinite. The above recited terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination, the relative terms will be interpreted, with broadest and reasonable interpretation, as simply the function following the terms. For example, the limitation “flexible and efficient communication” will be interpreted as simply “configured for communication.” Similar interpretations will be applied to the other relative terms recited above. Subsequent dependent claims recite similar relevant terms and are analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 8 and 17 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jha et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0343241 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Jha discloses an intelligent cooperative perception (iCOOPER) system and method (Cooperative perception ¶ 15) for autonomous air vehicles (AAVs) (drones, UAVs, ¶ 304), comprising at least two AAVs (Vehicles 1352a and b, FIG. 13), each of the at least two AAVs being provided with at least one object detection sensor (Each equipped with sensors 1310, FIG. 13), and the at least two AAVs configured to perform:
an information-centric networking (ICN) scheme configured for flexible and efficient communications among the at least two AAVs and infrastructure sensors (Sensors 1310 and communication interface 1353 may be LTE/NR proximity service, WiFI based links, personal area network based on protocols including ZigBee, IPv6, etc. ¶ 317);
a deep reinforcement learning scheme including selecting sensory data to be transmitted, selecting data compression format, mitigating wireless network load, and reducing network latency (self-learning systems ¶ 14 Deep learning accelerators ¶ 335 machine learning ¶¶ 359, 430);
an efficient real-time compression scheme of 3D point cloud streams (3D LiDAR Point cloud ¶ 151) based on recurrent neural network (RNN) algorithms (AI accelerators, neural compute stick, neuromorphic hardware ¶ 359) and including significantly reducing data amount exchanged among the at least two AAVs, network load and delay while maintaining accurate cooperative perception; and
an effective point cloud fusion scheme including compensating network latency and accurately fusing sensed data from the at least two AAVs and the infrastructure sensors (3D Point cloud and data sensor fusion ¶¶ 151, 299, 302).
Regarding claim 2, Jha discloses the iCOOPER system, wherein the deep reinforcement learning scheme comprises a deep reinforcement learning-based adaptive transmission scheme latency (self-learning systems ¶ 14, adaptation entity ¶ 294, Deep learning accelerators ¶ 335 machine learning ¶¶ 359, 430).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Jha discloses the iCOOPER system and method, wherein the deep reinforcement learning-based adaptive transmission scheme includes dynamically determining an optimal transmission policy of real-time sensed data of a detected object based on the importance of the sensed data, location and trajectory of the detected object, and wireless network state (optimized for collective perception especially for the scenarios like presence of high density of same types/classes of objects ¶ 208).
Regarding claim 4, Jha discloses the iCOOPER system of, wherein the ICN scheme includes naming, publishing, requesting, retrieving and/or subscribing sensory data (Collective Perception Layer 104, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Jha discloses the iCOOPER system, wherein the ICN scheme includes naming and accessing sensory data based on sensed regions with multiple resolutions (151, FIG. 1 and Master Layers 201-208, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Jha discloses the iCOOPER system, wherein the 3D point cloud streams include sensory data of objects sensed by the at least one sensor (3D LiDAR Point cloud ¶ 151).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Jha discloses the iCOOPER system and method, wherein the at least one sensor includes one selected from a group consisting of LIDAR, stereo camera, and radar (¶ 36).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Jha discloses the iCOOPER system and method, wherein the effective point cloud fusion scheme including velocity vector estimation at a sender and network latency compensation at a receiver, the sender being a first AAV of the at least two AAVs and the receiver being a second AAV of the at least two AAVs (¶¶ 304-306).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jha et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0343241 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sharma et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/022003 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Jha is silent to the iCOOPER system, wherein the ICN scheme comprises a data preprocessing and naming scheme including organizing sensory data based on its region in an Octree structure with multiple resolutions. However, Sharma teaches 3D mapping of an environment around an autonomous vehicle (See Abstract). Vehicle sensors may gather data relating to the environment around the vehicles (¶ 16) and more specifically, the 3D map environment may be built based on a vehicle broadcast of a subset of an octree (¶ 59 and FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jha to comprise a data preprocessing and naming scheme including organizing sensory data based on its region in an Octree structure with multiple resolutions as taught by Sharma to enhance situational awareness and as a result, enhance vehicle safety (¶ 2).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jha et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0343241 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0232922 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches the iCOOPER system, wherein the deep reinforcement learning scheme comprises an Actor Critic neural network (Actor ensemble and the Critic neural network, See Abstract, ¶ 156; and applied in aircraft, UAVs ¶ 144).
It would have been obvious to modify Jha to wherein the deep reinforcement learning scheme comprises an Actor Critic neural network as taught by Zhang to optimize data processing (¶ 157).
Conclusion
/TYLER J LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663