Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 8, filed 06/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12, 14-18 and 20 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen (US 20120034849 A1) in view of Fukuda (US 20090239446 A1) for claims 1, 2, 4-14.
And Nabeya2 (JP 2015051501 A) in view of Fukashima (US 20100273405 A1) and Fukuda (US 20090239446 A1) for claims 15-18, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20120034849 A1) in view of Fukuda (US 20090239446 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses A carrier head (100) for a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus, comprising:
a carrier body (102 and 104);
a substrate mounting surface (110 and 500) coupled with the carrier body (See Para [0039] “The substrate backing assembly 110 includes a flexible membrane 500 with a lower surface 512 that can provide a mounting surface for a substrate 10.”);
an inner ring (200) having an inner diameter that is sized to receive and circumferentially surround a peripheral edge of a substrate positioned against the substrate mounting surface (See Para [0041] “Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, the inner ring 200 is an annular body that has an inner surface 210, an annular upper surface 220, an annular lower surface 230, and an outer surface 240. A lower region 212 of the inner surface 210, adjacent to the lower surface 230, can be a vertical cylindrical surface, and can be configured to circumferentially surround the edge of a substrate 10 to retain the substrate during polishing.”), the inner ring being characterized by an upper surface (220, See Fig. 3) that faces the carrier body and a bottommost surface opposite the upper surface (230, See Fig. 3);
an outer ring (400, which includes 430) disposed radially outward of the inner ring (See Fig. 2), wherein:
an inner diameter of the outer ring at a lowest surface of the outer ring is greater than an outer diameter of the inner ring at the bottommost surface such that the lowest surface of the outer ring is radially outward of and surrounds the bottommost surface of the inner ring (See Fig. 2 showing 430 surrounding the bottom surface 230 in the cross section); and
the outer ring is isolated from the substrate by the inner ring (See Fig. 2 showing 230 isolating 430 from the substrate holding portion 500); and
a downforce control actuator (300 and 350) disposed above the upper surface of the inner ring (See Fig. 2), wherein:
But does not explicitly disclose wherein the downforce control actuator is one of a plurality of downforce control actuators,
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is disposed at a discrete position about a circumference of the inner ring;
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is independently controllable; and
a contact area between each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators and the inner ring is no greater than 10 degrees.
However, Fukuda discloses a similar polishing head with a retaining ring (301) wherein the retaining ring comprises a plurality of downforce control actuators (301a-301L, See Fig.5)
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators (301a-301L) is disposed at a discrete position about a circumference of the inner ring (See Fig. 5 showing 301a-l at 12 discrete positions about the circumference);
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is independently controllable (See Para [0165] “In the second embodiment illustrated in FIGS. 4 and 5, since air pressures applied to the 12 sub-air bags are individually adjusted by the sub-pressure control mechanisms respectively provided to be associated therewith, the 12 pressing members 301a-301l can press the polishing pad 201 with independent supporting pressures, respectively.”); and
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the downforce control of Chen to be a plurality of downforce control actuators,
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is disposed at a discrete position about a circumference of the inner ring;
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is independently controllable; and
As doing so would allow for an operator to have better control over the polishing profile of the wafer and reducing the influence of rebound controls as discussed in Para [0008] of Fukuda.
Finally, Chen as modified does not disclose a contact area between each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators and the inner ring is no greater than 10 degrees.
However, Fukuda does disclose that the number of independent downforce control actuators is a predetermined amount and suggests that the 12 shown in Fig. 5 is an example amount, See Para [0164] “Specifically, the retainer ring 301 is made up of a predetermined number of independent pressing members which are sequentially arranged along the periphery of a wafer W and separated from each other by a predetermined angle along a plane which is passed by the center axis of the top ring 52'. In FIG. 5, the retainer ring 301 is made up of 12 independent pressing members 301a-301l which are sequentially arranged along the periphery of the wafer W, and separated from each other by 30.degree.” and further discloses that the downforce control actuators are evenly distributed about the circumference.
As such it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the plurality of downforce control actuator such that a contact area between each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators and the inner ring is no greater than 10 degrees, as doing so would be both a matter of design choice, and a matter of duplication of parts. As going from 12 to 36 downforce control actuators would result in a separation of 10 degrees from each other, and because there is no evidence of record that the contact area of the plurality of down force actuators and the inner ring being no greater than 10 degrees would result in a difference in function of the device of Chen as modified. Further a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification.
Finally, Applicant has not established any criticality to the 10 degree contact area, stating in Para [0049] “The contact area for each downforce control actuator 314 may be less than or about 10 degrees of the circumference of the inner ring 308, less than or about 9 degrees, less than or about 8 degrees, less than or about 7 degrees, less than or about 6 degrees, less than or about 5 degrees, less than or about 4 degrees, less than or about 3 degrees, less than or about 2 degrees, less than or about 1 degree, less than or about 0.5 degrees, or less.”
Regarding Claim 2, Chen as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein:
a magnitude of downforce applied each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators to the discrete position of the inner ring is variable (See Fukuda Para [0165] discussing the individually controlled portions, specifically “In the second embodiment illustrated in FIGS. 4 and 5, since air pressures applied to the 12 sub-air bags are individually adjusted by the sub-pressure control mechanisms respectively provided to be associated therewith, the 12 pressing members 301a-301l can press the polishing pad 201 with independent supporting pressures, respectively.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein at least one downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is positioned proximate a trailing edge of the substrate (the downforce control actuators of Chen as modified is placed every 10 degrees about the circumference of the substrate and as such would be proximate to the trailing edge of the substrate).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses a magnitude of downforce applied by each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators to the discrete position of the inner ring is variable during a single polishing operation (See Fukuda Para [0165]- [0168] discussing the controller independently setting the pressure for each downforce control actuator 301).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators comprises a plunger (air bag 303 of Fukuda) that is in contact with the upper surface of the inner ring (301, See Fukuda Fig. 4); and a downforce applied by the plunger is driven by an air cylinder (See Para [0165] of Fukuda “Also, the second embodiment of the present invention comprises an air bag 303 comprised of 12 independent sub-air bags which can independently apply supporting pressures to 12 pressing members 301a-301l, respectively, and a pressure adjusting mechanism 304 comprised of 12 independent sub-pressure adjusting mechanisms for adjusting the pressures of the respective sub-air bags, instead of the single air bag 204 in FIG. 2”).
Regarding Claim 7, Chena as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein:
the substrate mounting surface comprises a flexible membrane (See Chen Para [0039] “The substrate backing assembly 110 includes a flexible membrane 500 with a lower surface 512 that can provide a mounting surface for a substrate 10.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein:
the outer ring has an inner surface that is disposed against an outer surface of the inner ring (See 430 contacting 230 in Chen Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen discloses carrier head for a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus, comprising:
a carrier body (100 and 102);
a substrate mounting surface (110 and 500) coupled with the carrier body (See Para [0039] “The substrate backing assembly 110 includes a flexible membrane 500 with a lower surface 512 that can provide a mounting surface for a substrate 10.”);
an inner ring (200) having an inner diameter that is sized to receive and circumferentially surround a peripheral edge of a substrate positioned against the substrate mounting surface (See Para [0041] “Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, the inner ring 200 is an annular body that has an inner surface 210, an annular upper surface 220, an annular lower surface 230, and an outer surface 240. A lower region 212 of the inner surface 210, adjacent to the lower surface 230, can be a vertical cylindrical surface, and can be configured to circumferentially surround the edge of a substrate 10 to retain the substrate during polishing.”), the inner ring being characterized by an upper surface (220) that faces the carrier body and a bottommost surface (230) opposite the upper surface (See Fig. 3 showing upper and bottommost surfaces);
an outer ring (400, including 430) disposed radially outward of the inner ring (See Fig. 2), wherein; an inner diameter of the outer ring at a lowest surface of the outer ring is greater than an outer diameter of the inner ring at the bottommost surface such that the lowest surface of the outer ring is radially outward of and surrounds the bottommost surface of the inner ring (See Fig 2 showing 430 outside and surrounding 230); and
the outer ring is isolated from the substrate by the inner ring (See Fig. 2 showing 230 isolating 430 from the substrate mounting surface 500), wherein a bottom surface of the outer ring is configured to contact a polishing pad (See Para [0056] “Like the inner ring, the lower surface 433 of the outer ring 400 can be brought into contact with a polishing pad. The lower surface 433 of the outer ring 400 can be smooth and wearable surface; the lower surface 433 is not configured to abrade the polishing pad.”); and
a downforce control actuator (350) disposed above the upper surface of the inner ring (200, See Para [0051] “The flexible membrane 300 is configured to be clamped above to a base assembly 104 and secured below to an annular inner ring 200, providing an annular chamber 350 above the inner ring. When the annular chamber 350 is pressurized, the flexible membrane provides an independently controllable load on the inner ring.”)
But does not explicitly disclose wherein the downforce control actuator is one of a plurality of downforce control actuators,
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is disposed at a discrete position about a circumference of the inner ring;
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is independently controllable; and
a contact area between each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators and the inner ring is no greater than 10 degrees.
However, Fukuda discloses a similar polishing head with a retaining ring (301) wherein the retaining ring comprises a plurality of downforce control actuators (301a-301L, See Fig.5)
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators (301a-301L) is disposed at a discrete position about a circumference of the inner ring (See Fig. 5 showing 301a-l at 12 discrete positions about the circumference);
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is independently controllable (See Para [0165] “In the second embodiment illustrated in FIGS. 4 and 5, since air pressures applied to the 12 sub-air bags are individually adjusted by the sub-pressure control mechanisms respectively provided to be associated therewith, the 12 pressing members 301a-301l can press the polishing pad 201 with independent supporting pressures, respectively.”); and
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the downforce control of Chen to be a plurality of downforce control actuators,
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is disposed at a discrete position about a circumference of the inner ring;
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is independently controllable; and
As doing so would allow for an operator to have better control over the polishing profile of the wafer and reducing the influence of rebound controls as discussed in Para [0008] of Fukuda.
Finally, Chen as modified does not disclose a contact area between each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators and the inner ring is no greater than 10 degrees.
However, Fukuda does disclose that the number of independent downforce control actuators is a predetermined amount and suggests that the 12 shown in Fig. 5 is an example amount, See Para [0164] “Specifically, the retainer ring 301 is made up of a predetermined number of independent pressing members which are sequentially arranged along the periphery of a wafer W and separated from each other by a predetermined angle along a plane which is passed by the center axis of the top ring 52'. In FIG. 5, the retainer ring 301 is made up of 12 independent pressing members 301a-301l which are sequentially arranged along the periphery of the wafer W, and separated from each other by 30.degree.” and further discloses that the downforce control actuators are evenly distributed about the circumference.
As such it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the plurality of downforce control actuator such that a contact area between each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators and the inner ring is no greater than 10 degrees, as doing so would be both a matter of design choice, and a matter of duplication of parts. As going from 12 to 36 downforce control actuators would result in a separation of 10 degrees from each other, and because there is no evidence of record that the contact area of the plurality of down force actuators and the inner ring being no greater than 10 degrees would result in a difference in function of the device of Chen as modified. Further a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification.
Finally, Applicant has not established any criticality to the 10 degree contact area, stating in Para [0049] “The contact area for each downforce control actuator 314 may be less than or about 10 degrees of the circumference of the inner ring 308, less than or about 9 degrees, less than or about 8 degrees, less than or about 7 degrees, less than or about 6 degrees, less than or about 5 degrees, less than or about 4 degrees, less than or about 3 degrees, less than or about 2 degrees, less than or about 1 degree, less than or about 0.5 degrees, or less.”
Regarding Claim 10, Chen as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 9 and in addition discloses wherein:
the plurality of downforce control actuators are spaced apart at regular intervals about the circumference of the inner ring (As modified in the rejection of claim 9, the downforce control actuators are spaced at 10 degree intervals).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 9 and in addition discloses wherein:
a magnitude of downforce applied to the upper surface of the inner ring is different for at least one of the plurality of downforce control actuators (See Fukuda Para [0165] “For example, the pressing member 301a is provided with a sub-air bag and sub-pressure adjusting mechanism associated therewith, such that an air pressure supplied to the sub-air bag is controlled by this sub-air pressure adjusting mechanism to independently control the supporting pressure of the pressing member 301a. In the second embodiment illustrated in FIGS. 4 and 5, since air pressures applied to the 12 sub-air bags are individually adjusted by the sub-pressure control mechanisms respectively provided to be associated therewith, the 12 pressing members 301a-301l can press the polishing pad 201 with independent supporting pressures, respectively.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 9 and in addition discloses wherein:
the plurality of downforce control actuators are disposed in an annular pattern (See Fig. 5 of Fukuda showing the plurality of downforce control actuators disposed in an annular patten).
And suggests but does not explicitly disclose wherein the annular pattern is concentric with a motor of the carrier head (See Fig. 6 Showing the polishing head 403 rotating, and Para [0172] discusses that this rotation is driven by a motor “The polishing head 403 is supported by a mechanism (not shown) which has an electric motor as an actuator for rotations in directions indicated by arrows G, H, I in FIG. 6 and for swinging movements in the vertical direction and horizontal direction.” ).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a motor would be rotating the polishing head in the embodiments of the chemicals mechanical polishing apparatus, and as the downforce control actuator are disposed annularly around the drive shaft of the motor, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date that the annular pattern of the downforce control actuators would be concentric with the motor for the carrier head.
Claim(s) 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over hen (US 20120034849 A1) in view of Fukuda (US 20090239446 A1) as modified in claim 9 and further in view of Lau (US 20170274497 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 9 but does not explicitly teach wherein:
at least some of the plurality of downforce control actuators are inactive during a given polishing operation.
However, Lau also teaches a different embodiment, which explicitly teaches multiple pressure chambers (400) acting providing downforce on a polishing pad (See Para [0036]) that are capable of remaining inactive, (See Para [0036] “Another degree of relative movement of the polishing pad assembly 125 may be provided by a pressure chamber 400 provided in the housing 305. The pressure chamber 400 may be bounded by a bearing cap 405 and a flexible membrane 410 coupled to the polishing pad assembly 125. Compressed fluids, such as clean dry air, may be provided to the pressure chamber 400 via a fluid inlet 415 that is in fluid communication with the pressure chamber 400 by a plenum 420 positioned laterally relative to the pressure chamber 400. The plenum 420 may be bounded by surfaces of the housing 305 and the flexible membrane 410. The volumes of the pressure chamber 400 and the plenum 420 may be fluidly separated from a volume 425 between the flexible membrane 410 and the housing base 315 such that fluids are contained therein and/or the volume 425 is at a pressure lower than a pressure of the plenum 420 (as well as the plenum 420 (e.g., at ambient or room pressure, or slightly above room pressure). Fluids provided to the plenum 420 provide a downforce to the polishing pad assembly 125 by applying a controllable force against the flexible membrane 410. The downforce may be varied as needed such that movement of the polishing pad assembly 125 is provided or controlled in the Z direction.” Holding plenum at ambient or room pressure would result in no downforce being applied same as deactivating a plenum).
It would be obvious to one obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify carrier head of Chen in view of the Lau to obtain a pressure distribution that does not have to be uniformed, including having one or more of the downforce control actuators are inactive during a given polishing operation, as allowing one or more of the downforce actuators would allow an operator a larger degree of control over the polishing operation allowing for the polishing of the wafer into a specific shape as desired or to provide greater degree of material removal at different local areas of the wafer (See Para [0006]-[0008] of Lau).
Claim(s) 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over hen (US 20120034849 A1) in view of Fukuda (US 20090239446 A1) as modified in claim 9 and further in view of Parkhe (US 20140263176 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen discloses all the limitations 9 but does not explicitly teach wherein:
a magnitude of downforce applied by each of the plurality of downforce control actuators is between 0 lbs. and 10 lbs.
However, Parkhe teaches a polishing apparatus utilizing a loading of approximately 10 pounds of force to perform a polishing operation (See Para [0055] “A loading of approximately 10 pounds of force to approximately 75 pounds of force may be applied during one or more early stages of the second polishing procedure.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the force of the downforce control actuators would be a matter of routine optimization, as one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to experiment and optimize to find an appropriate amount of force to apply to the wafer during grinding operation in order to achieve the desired grinding profile (See MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Claim(s) 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeya2 (JP 2015051501 A) in view of Fukashima (US 20100273405 A1) and Fukuda (US 20090239446 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Nabeya2 teaches A method of polishing a substrate, comprising:
flowing a polishing slurry from a slurry source to a polishing pad (See Para [0019] “A polishing liquid supply nozzle (not shown) is provided above the polishing table 100, and a polishing liquid (slurry) is supplied onto the polishing pad 101 on the polishing table 100 by this polishing liquid supply nozzle.”);
polishing a substrate atop the polishing pad (See Para [0019] “As shown in FIG. 1, the polishing apparatus includes a polishing table 100 and a top ring 1 that holds a substrate, such as a semiconductor wafer, which is an object to be polished, and presses it against a polishing surface on the polishing table.”); and
applying a localized downforce to one or more discrete locations of an inner ring that retains the substrate within a carrier head while polishing the substrate (See Para [0031] “Then, by adjusting the pressure of the fluid supplied to each pressure chamber 5, 6, 7, and 9, the pressing force pressing the semiconductor wafer W against the polishing pad 101 is adjusted for each region of the semiconductor wafer, and the pressing force with which the retaining ring 3 presses the polishing pad 101 is adjusted, until the surface of the semiconductor wafer reaches a predetermined state (e.g., a predetermined film thickness).”)
The inner ring comprises an upper surface and a bottom most surface (See Annotated figure A).
The carrier head comprises an outer ring disposed radially outward of the inner ring (See Annotated Figure A)
wherein the one or more discrete locations are proximate a trailing edge of the substrate (See Para [0015] “According to the present invention, even if there is variation in the amount of elongation of the membrane in the circumferential direction, the retaining ring pressure chamber that generates the retaining ring surface pressure is divided into multiple chambers in the circumferential direction, and the pressure distribution of the retaining ring is changed by independently controlling the pressure of each divided pressure chamber, thereby making the polishing pressure applied to the substrate uniform in the circumferential direction and ensuring a uniform polishing profile in the circumferential direction.” And see figure 2 showing 9 on the circumference in relation to 4, which the wafer is attached to, (see Para [0026], Examiner notes that the location of the pressure chambers in relation to the wafer in Nabeya2 is consistent with the locations disclosed in applicants’ disclosure, Examiner further
notes that as the substrate of the instant invention and reference are circular, “trailing edge” is being interpreted as an outer edge or near the circumference).
But does not explicitly disclose the inner ring having an inner diameter, sized to receive and circumferentially surround a peripheral edge of a substrate positioned against the substrate mounting surface,
an inner diameter of the outer ring at a lowest surface of the outer ring is greater than an outer diameter of the inner ring at the bottommost surface such that the lowest surface of the outer ring is radially outward of and surrounds the bottommost surface of the inner ring;
the outer ring is isolated from the substrate by the inner ring;
the localized downforce is applied using at least one downforce control actuator of a plurality of downforce control actuators;
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is independently controllable; and
a contact area between each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators and the inner ring is no greater than 10 degrees.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nabeya to have a plurality of downforce control actuators as suggested by figure 8 of Nabeya as doing so would allow for uniform force to be applied to all sides of the wafer applying an even polishing.
However, Fukashima discloses a similar substrate holding device for polishing, including a carrier head (1) with an inner ring (408) having an inner diameter, sized to receive and circumferentially surround a peripheral edge of a substrate positioned against the substrate mounting surface (See Para [0074] “the retainer ring 3 comprises a ring member 408 disposed at an outer peripheral portion of the top ring body 2 and configured to hold a peripheral edge of the semiconductor wafer”), an inner diameter of the outer ring (440 forms the outer ring, See Fig. 6) at a lowest surface of the outer ring is greater than an outer diameter of the inner ring at the bottommost surface (See Fig. 6 showing inner surface of outer ring 440 contacting the outer surface of the inner ring 408) such that the lowest surface of the outer ring is radially outward of and surrounds the bottommost surface of the inner ring (See Fig. 6 as noted above) the outer ring is isolated from the substrate by the inner ring (See Fig. 6);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the outer ring to be fitted over the inner ring such that an inner diameter of the outer ring at a lowest surface of the outer ring is greater than an outer diameter of the inner ring at the bottommost surface such that the lowest surface of the outer ring is radially outward of and surrounds the bottommost surface of the inner ring as Fukashima teaches that doing so improves the rigidity of the inner ring, suppressing deformation. See Fukashima Para [0113] “The retainer ring 3 will be further described with reference to FIG. 6. As shown in FIG. 6, a metal ring 440 made of SUS or the like is fitted over the lower ring member 408b. Since the metal ring 440 made of SUS or the like is fitted over the lower ring member 408b, the lower ring member 408b has an improved rigidity. Thus, even if a temperature of the ring member 408 increases due to the sliding contact between the ring member 408 and the polishing surface 101a, thermal deformation of the lower ring member 408b can be suppressed.”
Additionally, Fukuda discloses a similar polishing head with a retaining ring (301) Wherein the localized downforce is applied using at least one downforce control actuator of a plurality of downforce control actuators(301a-301L, See Fig.5 and Para [0165] “Also, the second embodiment of the present invention comprises an air bag 303 comprised of 12 independent sub-air bags which can independently apply supporting pressures to 12 pressing members 301a-301l, respectively, and a pressure adjusting mechanism 304 comprised of 12 independent sub-pressure adjusting mechanisms for adjusting the pressures of the respective sub-air bags, instead of the single air bag 204 in FIG. 2.”);
Each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is independently controllable (See Para [0165] of Fukuda cited above).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the downforce control of Nabeya to be a plurality of downforce control actuators such that each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is independently controllable,
each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators is disposed at a discrete position about a circumference of the inner ring;
As doing so would allow for an operator to have better control over the polishing profile of the wafer and reducing the influence of rebound controls as discussed in Para [0008] of Fukuda.
Finally, Nabeya as modified does not disclose a contact area between each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators and the inner ring is no greater than 10 degrees.
However, Fukuda does disclose that the number of independent downforce control actuators is a predetermined amount and suggests that the 12 shown in Fig. 5 is an example amount, See Para [0164] “Specifically, the retainer ring 301 is made up of a predetermined number of independent pressing members which are sequentially arranged along the periphery of a wafer W and separated from each other by a predetermined angle along a plane which is passed by the center axis of the top ring 52'. In FIG. 5, the retainer ring 301 is made up of 12 independent pressing members 301a-301l which are sequentially arranged along the periphery of the wafer W, and separated from each other by 30.degree.” and further discloses that the downforce control actuators are evenly distributed about the circumference.
As such it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the plurality of downforce control actuator such that a contact area between each downforce control actuator of the plurality of downforce control actuators and the inner ring is no greater than 10 degrees, as doing so would be both a matter of design choice, and a matter of duplication of parts. As going from 12 to 36 downforce control actuators would result in a separation of 10 degrees from each other, and because there is no evidence of record that the contact area of the plurality of down force actuators and the inner ring being no greater than 10 degrees would result in a difference in function of the device of Chen as modified. Further a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification.
Finally, Applicant has not established any criticality to the 10 degree contact area, stating in Para [0049] “The contact area for each downforce control actuator 314 may be less than or about 10 degrees of the circumference of the inner ring 308, less than or about 9 degrees, less than or about 8 degrees, less than or about 7 degrees, less than or about 6 degrees, less than or about 5 degrees, less than or about 4 degrees, less than or about 3 degrees, less than or about 2 degrees, less than or about 1 degree, less than or about 0.5 degrees, or less.”
Annotated Figure A (Figure 12 of Nabeya2)
Regarding Claim 16, Nabeya2 teaches all the limitations of claim 15 and in addition teaches wherein:
applying the localized downforce comprises pressurizing an air cylinder coupled (see figure 2, 9 and 8 form an air cylinder See Para Nabeya [0029] “A retainer ring pressure chamber 9 is also formed directly above the retainer ring 3 by an elastic membrane 8” and, additionally See Para [0165] of Fukuda discussing the use of air bags) with a plunger to press the plunger against an upper surface of the inner ring (see Para [0030] of Nabeya, additionally the pressing members 301a-301b work as plungers in conjunction with the air bags, See Para [0165]).
Regarding Claim 17, Nabeya2 teaches all the limitations of claim 15 and in addition teaches further comprising:
adjusting a magnitude of downforce applied to at least one of the one or more discrete locations while the substrate is being polished (See Para [0030] “In the top ring 1 configured as shown in FIG. 2, as described above, the first pressure chamber 5 is formed in the center of the top ring body 2, and the second pressure chamber 6 and the third pressure chamber 7 are formed concentrically in sequence from the center toward the outer periphery, and the pressures of the fluids supplied to the first pressure chamber 5, the second pressure chamber 6, the third pressure chamber 7 and the retaining ring pressure chamber 9 can be independently adjusted by pressure controllers provided in the pressure lines of each pressure chamber.” and “With this structure, the pressure with which the semiconductor wafer W is pressed against the polishing pad 101 can be adjusted for each region of the semiconductor wafer, and the pressure with which the retainer ring 3 presses against the polishing pad 101 can also be adjusted.”).
Regarding Claim 18, Nabeya2 teaches all the limitations of claim 15 and in addition teaches wherein:
a magnitude of the localized downforce is constant throughout a duration of the polishing. (See Para [0037] “Here, taking into consideration the fact that the ease with which the membrane stretches varies when a certain constant pressure is applied to the inside of the membrane, the amount of stretch of the membrane is measured at predetermined ranges in the radial direction of the membrane.”)
Regarding Claim 20, Nabeya2 teaches all the limitations of claim 15 and in addition teaches further comprising: determining a difference between a target polishing profile and an actual polishing profile; and adjusting the localized downforce for at least one of the one or more discrete locations of the inner ring based on the difference (see Para [0053] indicating that the CMP apparatus detects difference during polishing and adjusts to compensate for said differences “As shown in Figures 13(a) to (c), when the retaining ring pressure chamber is divided into three or six, just as in the method of tilting with a shim described above, it is confirmed which phase has the maximum or minimum tendency for bulging when the membrane is attached, and the pressure in the retaining ring pressure chamber is controlled so that the retaining ring surface pressure is small, for example, in the range where the bulge is small, i.e., the polishing rate is small, and conversely, the pressure in the retaining ring pressure chamber is controlled so that the retaining ring surface pressure is large, i.e., in the range where the bulge is large, i.e., the polishing rate is large. This is the case where the polishing rate of the edge portion of the substrate increases when the surface pressure of the retainer ring is small, but the opposite tendency can also occur if the polishing process is different, so the above relationship between magnitude is not limited to this example.”).
Conclusion
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723