DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on October 30, 2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed October 30, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 under 35 USC § 102 and 16 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wienkamp WO 2021043970 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tertitski et al. US 8,692,151 B2 in view of Wienkamp WO 2021043970 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Tertitski discloses an apparatus (Col. 1, Lines 51-54) for manufacturing a display device (Col. 1, Lines 20-23), comprising: a stage (Fig. 1B, Ref. 104); a laser module disposed above the stage (Fig. 1A, Ref. 110) and configured to output a laser beam (Fig. 1A, Ref. 114); a scanner configured to receive the laser beam output from the laser module and irradiate the laser beam onto the stage (Fig. 1B, Refs. 122 and 108); and a controller (Fig. 1A, Ref. 106) configured to control the laser module to irradiate the laser beam to a processing position while moving both the scanner and the stage (Col. 3, Lines 47-51) in a first direction according to the processing position and a shape of a processing pattern (Col. 3, Lines 43-47) wherein the controller is configured to control the laser module to produce a spot trace by simultaneously controlling a translation movement of the scanner in the first direction (Col. 4, Lines 21-28 wherein the mirrors move the beam about one, two or three axes on the process object).
Tertitski does not expressly disclose wherein the controller is configured to control the laser module to produce a spot trace by simultaneously controlling a translation movement of the scanner in the first direction and a circular movement to form the processing pattern while the laser beam is irradiated.
Wienkamp teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the laser module to produce a spot trace by simultaneously controlling a translation movement of the scanner in the first direction (Para. 42) and a circular movement (Fig. 8) to form the processing pattern while the laser beam is irradiated (Para. 42) to move along any curve or point in space (Para. 42).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simultaneously move the scanner in a first direction and a circular movement to move along any curve or point in space (Wienkamp, Para. 42) and removing the need to constantly accelerate and decelerate the masses of the apparatus (Wienkamp, Para. 70).
Regarding claim 2, Tertitski discloses wherein the scanner performs, in the processing position, both a first movement of moving in the first direction at a first speed and a second movement of moving in a same shape as the shape of the processing pattern (Col. 4, Lines 53-58).
Regarding claim 3, Tertitski discloses wherein the stage moves in the first direction at the first speed when the scanner is disposed in the processing position (Col. 4, Lines 58-61).
Regarding claim 4, Tertitski discloses wherein the processing position includes a first processing position disposed in the stage and a second processing position spaced apart from the first processing position in the first direction (Fig. 4, Refs. 408).
Regarding claim 5, Tertitski discloses wherein when the scanner is located between the first processing position and the second processing position, the controller is configured to move both the stage and the scanner at a first speed in the first direction (Col. 3, Lines 43-55).
Regarding claim 6, Tertitski discloses wherein when the controller is configured to stop movement of the stage in the first direction when the scanner is located in the processing position (Col. 3, Lines 17-23 wherein the beam steering components work after beam location has been selected by the substrate support).
Regarding claim 7, Tertitski discloses wherein the scanner moves in a same shape as the shape of the processing pattern in the processing position (Col. 8, Lines 6-9).
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tertitski et al. US 8,692,151 B2 in view of Li WO 2020/069231 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Tertitski does not disclose wherein the laser module provides a first pulse signal including a plurality of first pulses to the controller, and the controller generates a second pulse signal including a second pulse synchronized with one of the plurality of first pulses, and outputs the second pulse signal to the laser module.
However in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein the laser module provides a first pulse signal including a plurality of first pulses to the controller, and the controller generates a second pulse signal including a second pulse synchronized with one of the plurality of first pulses, and outputs the second pulse signal to the laser module (Para. 34 wherein the controller uses pulse synchronization. A person of ordinary skill would alter the pulse synchronization to meet the user’s needs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a helical cutting motion with continuous movement (Li, Para. 45).
Regarding claim 9, Tertitski does not disclose wherein the laser module outputs the laser beam in synchronization with the second pulse of the second pulse signal.
However in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein the laser module outputs the laser beam in synchronization with the second pulse of the second pulse signal (Para. 34 wherein the controller uses pulse synchronization. A person of ordinary skill would alter the pulse synchronization to meet the user’s needs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a helical cutting motion with continuous movement (Li, Para. 45).
Regarding claim 10, Tertitski does not disclose wherein the laser module provides a first pulse signal including a plurality of first pulses to the controller, the controller generates a second pulse signal including a second pulse synchronized with one of the plurality of first pulses, and generates a third pulse signal including a plurality of third pulses by using the second pulse, and the third pulse signal is outputted by the laser module.
However in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein the laser module provides a first pulse signal including a plurality of first pulses to the controller, the controller generates a second pulse signal including a second pulse synchronized with one of the plurality of first pulses, and generates a third pulse signal including a plurality of third pulses by using the second pulse, and the third pulse signal is outputted by the laser module (Para. 34 wherein the controller uses pulse synchronization. A person of ordinary skill would alter the pulse synchronization to meet the user’s needs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a helical cutting motion with continuous movement (Li, Para. 45).
Regarding claim 11, Tertitski does not disclose wherein the laser module outputs the laser beam in synchronization with the third pulse of the third pulse signal.
However in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein the laser module outputs the laser beam in synchronization with the third pulse of the third pulse signal (Para. 34 wherein the controller uses pulse synchronization. A person of ordinary skill would alter the pulse synchronization to meet the user’s needs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a helical cutting motion with continuous movement (Li, Para. 45).
Regarding claim 12, Tertitski discloses a method for manufacturing a display device, comprising: moving a stage in a first direction (Col. 4, Lines 58-61); and irradiating a laser beam to a processing position while moving both a scanner and the stage in the first direction when the scanner is disposed in the processing position to form a processing pattern (Col. 4, Lines 53-58) wherein the controller is configured to control the laser module to produce a spot trace by simultaneously controlling a translation movement of the scanner in the first direction (Col. 4, Lines 21-28 wherein the mirrors move the beam about one, two or three axes on the process object).
Tertitski does not expressly disclose wherein the controller is configured to control the laser module to produce a spot trace by simultaneously controlling a translation movement of the scanner in the first direction and a circular movement to form the processing pattern while the laser beam is irradiated; outputting, by a laser module irradiating the laser beam, a first pulse signal including a plurality of first pulses; and when a moving distance of the scanner is equal to an irradiation interval of the laser beam in the processing position, generating a second pulse signal including a second pulse synchronized with one of the plurality of first pulses to provide the second pulse signal to the laser module.
Wienkamp teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the laser module to produce a spot trace by simultaneously controlling a translation movement of the scanner in the first direction (Para. 42) and a circular movement (Fig. 8) to form the processing pattern while the laser beam is irradiated (Para. 42) to move along any curve or point in space (Para. 42).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simultaneously move the scanner in a first direction and a circular movement to move along any curve or point in space (Wienkamp, Para. 42) and removing the need to constantly accelerate and decelerate the masses of the apparatus (Wienkamp, Para. 70).
However in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches outputting, by a laser module irradiating the laser beam, a first pulse signal including a plurality of first pulses; and when a moving distance of the scanner is equal to an irradiation interval of the laser beam in the processing position, generating a second pulse signal including a second pulse synchronized with one of the plurality of first pulses to provide the second pulse signal to the laser module (Para. 34 wherein the controller uses pulse synchronization. A person of ordinary skill would alter the pulse synchronization to meet the user’s needs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tertitski with Li to create a helical cutting motion with continuous movement.
Regarding claim 13, Tertitski discloses wherein the irradiating a laser beam to a processing position while moving both a scanner and the stage in the first direction when the scanner is disposed in the processing position to form a processing pattern further comprises stopping the stage when the scanner is located in the processing position (Col. 3, Lines 43-55).
Regarding claim 14, Tertitski discloses wherein the processing position includes a first processing position and a second processing position spaced apart from the first processing position in the first direction, and the irradiating a laser beam to a processing position while moving both a scanner and the stage in the first direction when the scanner is disposed in the processing position to form a processing pattern further comprises moving the scanner in the first direction when the scanner is located between the first processing position and the second processing position (Col. 3, Lines 43-55).
Regarding claim 15, Tertitski discloses wherein a moving speed of the scanner is equal to a moving speed of the stage (Col. 7, Lines 29-31).
Regarding claim 16, Tertitski discloses a method for manufacturing a display device, comprising: moving a stage in a first direction (Col. 4, Lines 58-61); and irradiating a laser beam to a processing position while moving both a scanner and the stage in the first direction when the scanner is disposed in the processing position to form a processing pattern (Col. 4, Lines 53-58).
Tertitski does not disclose outputting, by a laser module irradiating the laser beam, a first pulse signal including a plurality of first pulses; when a moving distance of the scanner is equal to an irradiation interval of the laser beam in the processing position, generating a second pulse signal including a second pulse synchronized with one of the plurality of first pulses; and generating a third pulse signal including a plurality of third pulses by using the second pulse signal and providing the third pulse signal to the laser module.
However in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches outputting, by a laser module irradiating the laser beam, a first pulse signal including a plurality of first pulses; when a moving distance of the scanner is equal to an irradiation interval of the laser beam in the processing position, generating a second pulse signal including a second pulse synchronized with one of the plurality of first pulses; and generating a third pulse signal including a plurality of third pulses by using the second pulse signal and providing the third pulse signal to the laser module (Para. 34 wherein the controller uses pulse synchronization. A person of ordinary skill would alter the pulse synchronization to meet the user’s needs).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to modify Tertitski with Li to create a helical cutting motion with continuous movement.
Regarding claim 17, Tertitski does not disclose wherein the laser module outputs the laser beam in synchronization with the plurality of third pulses of the third pulse signal.
However in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein the laser module outputs the laser beam in synchronization with the plurality of third pulses of the third pulse signal (Para. 34 wherein the controller uses pulse synchronization. A person of ordinary skill would alter the pulse synchronization to meet the user’s needs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a helical cutting motion with continuous movement (Li, Para. 45).
Regarding claim 18, Tertitski does not disclose wherein one of the plurality of third pulses is synchronized with the second pulse of the second pulse signal.
However in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein one of the plurality of third pulses is synchronized with the second pulse of the second pulse signal (Para. 34 wherein the controller uses pulse synchronization. A person of ordinary skill would alter the pulse synchronization to meet the user’s needs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a helical cutting motion with continuous movement (Li, Para. 45).
Regarding claim 19, Tertitski does not disclose wherein the second pulse signal includes a second pulse synchronized to another one of the plurality of first pulses, and an interval between the second pulses is equal to an irradiation repetition period of a group of the laser beams.
However in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein the second pulse signal includes a second pulse synchronized to another one of the plurality of first pulses, and an interval between the second pulses is equal to an irradiation repetition period of a group of the laser beams (Para. 34 wherein the controller uses pulse synchronization. A person of ordinary skill would alter the pulse synchronization to meet the user’s needs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a helical cutting motion with continuous movement (Li, Para. 45).
Regarding claim 20, Tertitski does not disclose wherein an interval between the plurality of third pulses is equal to an irradiation interval of the laser beam.
However in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein an interval between the plurality of third pulses is equal to an irradiation interval of the laser beam (Para. 34 wherein the controller uses pulse synchronization. A person of ordinary skill would alter the pulse synchronization to meet the user’s needs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a helical cutting motion with continuous movement (Li, Para. 45).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.B.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761