Detailed Action
This action is in response to the papers filed April 7, 2026.
Amendments
Applicant's response and amendments, filed April 7, 2026, is acknowledged. Applicant has cancelled Claims 2, 7-6, 8-15, 17-96, 99-132, 134-178, 181-184, 186-188, 190-195, and 198-434, and amended Claims 1, 3, 7, and 196.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, 179-180, 185, 189, and 196-197 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant has elected the following species, wherein:
i) the alternative disease is colon cancer, more specifically microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), as recited in Claims 98 and 133; and
ii) the alternative epitope and corresponding SEQ ID NO is KRAS_G12V MHC class I epitope SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK).
The prior alternative ChAdv vector structure species election is rendered moot in light of Applicant’s amendment to Claim 113 to require all three deletions.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, 179-180, 185, 189, and 196-197 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application is a continuation of PCT/US2020/058983 filed on November 4, 2020. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application provisional applications:
63/051,227 filed on July 13, 2020;
62/959,798 filed on January 10, 2020;
62/946,956 filed on December 11, 2019; and
62/930,460 filed on November 4, 2019,
under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant has filed an Information Disclosure Statement on April 7, 2026 that has been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed April 7, 2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires that each item of information in an IDS be identified properly. Each publication must be identified by publisher, author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, and date and place of publication. The date of publication supplied must include at least the month and year of publication, except that the year of publication (without the month) will be accepted if the applicant points out in the information disclosure statement that the year of publication is sufficiently earlier than the effective U.S. filing date and any foreign priority date so that the particular month of publication is not in issue.
See also MPEP 707.05(e) for electronic documents, including, but not limited to:
(D) reference to the unique Digital Object Identifier (DOI) number, or other unique identification number, if known.
Bibliographic information provided must be at least enough to identify the publication. author, title and date. For books, minimal information includes the author, title, and date. For periodicals, at least the title of the periodical, the volume number, date, and pages should be given.
NPL citations have been lined through for being defective of one or more requirements.
The signed and initialed PTO Forms 1449 are mailed with this action.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
1. The prior objection to the disclosure is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to the specification to provide the SEQ ID NO’s, which the Examiner finds persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. The prior rejection of Claim(s) 90 and 93-95 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
3. The prior rejection of Claim(s) 90 and 93-95, and 113 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Binder et al (U.S. 2015/0125465) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
4. The prior rejection of Claim(s) 90 and 113 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colloca et al (U.S. 2012/0027788) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
5. Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, and 179-180 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS).
With respect to Claims 1, 3, and 7, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00704]) whose genome encodes at least one promoter and at least one polyA sequence operably linked to an expression cassette encoding an antigen (e.g. [0013]).
Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises at least at least 30ug or 100ug, or 300ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00387-388]; Table 23).
With respect to Claim 179, Blair et al disclosed the composition is formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (e.g. [00375]).
With respect to Claim 180, Blair et al disclosed a kit comprising the composition and instructions for use (e.g. claim 76).
With respect to Claim 16, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises the self-amplifying alphavirus virus particles at a concentration of 1mg/ml (syn. 10ug srRNA vaccine/0.1ml; [00698]).
With respect to Claims 97-98 and 133, Blair et al disclosed wherein the tumor is colon cancer (e.g. [0019, 705]), and wherein the colon cancer tumor is microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), to wit, CT26 xenograft tumor model (e.g. [00705]), whereby CT26 is an art-recognized microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), and wherein the antigen encodes an epitope known or suspected to be presented by MHC class I on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. KRAS [00214].
Thus, Blair et al anticipate the claims.
Response to Amendment
Applicant admits “the currently claimed ranges are either overlapping or narrower ranges of those described in [00387-00388]” of Blair et al.
Applicant argues that Blair et al do not disclose with specificity the narrower range of 30ug or less.
Applicant’s argument(s) has been fully considered, but is not persuasive. The specification need not contain an example if the invention is otherwise disclosed in such manner that one skilled in the art will be able to practice it without an undue amount of experimentation. In re Borkowski, 422 F.2d 904, 908, 164 USPQ 642, 645 (CCPA 1970).
A reference contains an "enabling disclosure" if the public was in possession of the claimed invention before the date of invention. "Such possession is effected if one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the publication's description of the invention with his [or her] own knowledge to make the claimed invention." In re Donohue, 766 F.2d 531, 226 USPQ 619 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Blair et al disclosed the srRNA vaccine does of 10ug [0388] or 30ug [00722] (e.g. “30ug of….srRNA”), which provides specificity the narrower range of 30ug or less.
Thus, no undue experimentation is required.
6. Claim(s) 196-197 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS).
With respect to Claim 197, Blair et al disclosed a method for stimulating an immune response in a subject, the method comprising the step(s) of:
i) administering to the subject 1x10^12 or less of the ChAdV expression system; and
ii) administering to the subject at least 10ug of the alphavirus expression system (e.g. Table 15, Groups 3-4; Table 23, Groups 4-6).
With respect to Claim 198, Blair et al disclosed wherein:
i) the ChAdV is the priming dose (syn. admin first); and
ii) the alphavirus is the boosting dose (syn. admin second) (e.g. Table 15, Groups 3-4; Table 23, Groups 4-6).
Thus, Blair et al anticipate the claims.
Response to Amendment
Applicant admits “the currently claimed ranges are either overlapping or narrower ranges of those described in [00387-00388]” of Blair et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. The prior rejection of Claims 90 and 93-96 under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
8. The prior rejection of Claims 90, 93-96, and 113 under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS), as applied to Claims 90 and 93-96 above, and in further view of Binder et al (U.S. 2015/0125465) and Colloca et al (U.S. 2012/0027788) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
9. Claims 97-98, 133, 185, and 189 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS), as applied to Claims 1, 3, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, and 179-180 above, and in further view of Rooney (WO 17/173321; of record in IDS).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art, and Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
With respect to Claims 1, 3, and 7, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00704]) whose genome encodes at least one promoter and at least one polyA sequence operably linked to an expression cassette encoding an antigen (e.g. [0013]).
Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises at least at least 30ug or 100ug, or 300ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00387-388]; Table 23).
Applicant admits “the currently claimed ranges are either overlapping or narrower ranges of those described in [00387-00388]” of Blair et al.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It is routine procedure to optimize component amounts to arrive at an optimal product that is superior for its intended use, since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See M.P.E.P. §2144.05(I).
With respect to Claims 97-98 and 133, Blair et al disclosed wherein the tumor is colon cancer (e.g. [0019, 705]), and wherein the colon cancer tumor is microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), to wit, CT26 xenograft tumor model (e.g. [00705]), whereby CT26 is an art-recognized microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), and wherein the antigen encodes an epitope known or suspected to be presented by MHC class I on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. KRAS [00214].
Blair et al do not disclose wherein the antigen encodes the KRAS_G12V MHC class I epitope SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK).
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, and with respect to Claims 185 and 189, Rooney is considered relevant prior art for having disclosed a vector comprising a promoter and a polyA sequence operably linked to a polynucleotide encoding MHC class I neoantigenic peptides (e.g. [0009, 284, 332, 486, 581]), wherein said vector may be a self-replicating RNA (e.g. [0014]), and wherein the neoantigenic peptide may be a KRAS G12V MHC class I neoantigen (pg 164, Table 2) comprising the epitopes of VVGAVGVGK (instant SEQ ID NO:19,779).
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
People of the ordinary skill in the art will be highly educated individuals such as medical doctors, scientists, or engineers possessing advanced degrees, including M.D.'s and Ph.D.'s. Thus, these people most likely will be knowledgeable and well-read in the relevant literature and have the practical experience in molecular biology, virology, and immunology. Therefore, the level of ordinary skill in this art is high.
"A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
The focus when making a determination of obviousness should be on what a person of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would have known at the time of the invention, and on what such a person would have reasonably expected to have been able to do in view of that knowledge. This is so regardless of whether the source of that knowledge and ability was documentary prior art, general knowledge in the art, or common sense. M.P.E.P. §2141.
The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (setting forth test for implicit teachings); In re Eli Lilly & Co., 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussion of reliance on legal precedent); In re Nilssen, 851 F.2d 1401, 1403, 7 USPQ2d 1500, 1502 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (references do not have to explicitly suggest combining teachings); and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (reliance on logic and sound scientific reasoning). See MPEP §2144.
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a first KRAS neoantigen epitope with a second KRAS neoantigen epitope comprising SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK) in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector with a reasonable expectation of success because the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. M.P.E.P. §2144.07 states "The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).” When substituting equivalents known in the prior art for the same purpose, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). M.P.E.P. §2144.06. An artisan would have been motivated to substitute a first KRAS neoantigen epitope with a second KRAS neoantigen epitope comprising SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK) in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector because Rooney disclosed a finite list of known KRAS neoantigen epitopes (e.g., pg 164, Table 2) to be expressed in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable options because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipate success, it is likely that product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, —USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925 .pdf).
With respect to Claim 179, Blair et al disclosed the composition is formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (e.g. [00375]).
With respect to Claim 180, Blair et al disclosed a kit comprising the composition and instructions for use (e.g. claim 76).
With respect to Claim 16, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises the self-amplifying alphavirus virus particles at a concentration of 1mg/ml (syn. 10ug srRNA vaccine/0.1ml; [00698]).
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues secondary consideration that, as disclosed in [0711], the Dose level 1 (30ug) efficacy data suggest induction of disease control that is potentially more durable in an adjuvant-like context.
Applicant’s argument(s) has been fully considered, but is not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that a dose of 30ug is potentially more durable in an adjuvant-like context, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a dose of 30ug is potentially more durable in an adjuvant-like context) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Instant claims are directed to a product, not a method of use.
Applicant admits “the currently claimed ranges are either overlapping or narrower ranges of those described in [00387-00388]” of Blair et al.
Blair et al disclosed the srRNA vaccine does of 10ug [0388] or 30ug [00722] (e.g. “30ug of….srRNA”), which provides specificity the narrower range of 30ug or less.
Double Patenting
10. The prior rejection of Claim(s) 90, 93-95, and 113 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-7, 10, 13-15, and 19-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,747 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
11. The prior rejection of Claim(s) 93-96 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-7, 10, 13-15, and 19-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,747 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS), as applied to Claims 90, 93-95, and 113 above, and in further view of Binder et al (U.S. 2015/0125465) and Colloca et al (U.S. 2012/0027788) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
12. The prior rejection of Claim(s) 90, 93-95, and 113 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 16-41 of U.S. Patent No. 11,591,619 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
13. The prior rejection of Claim(s) 93-96 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 16-41 of U.S. Patent No. 11,591,619 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS), as applied to Claims 90, 93-95, and 113 above, and in further view of Binder et al (U.S. 2015/0125465) and Colloca et al (U.S. 2012/0027788) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
14. The prior rejection of Claim(s) 90 and 93-95 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,257 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
15. The prior rejection of Claim(s) 93-96 and 113 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,257 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS), as applied to Claims 90 and 93-95 above, and in further view of Binder et al (U.S. 2015/0125465) and Colloca et al (U.S. 2012/0027788) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s cancellation of the claims.
16. Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, and 179-180 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-57 of U.S. Patent No. 11,510,973 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
With respect to Claim 1, ‘973 claims RNA alphavirus expression vectors encoding an antigen expression cassette, wherein the antigen is presented by an MHC allele, e.g. MHC class I epitope, on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. colon cancer.
The ‘973 written description of the “alphavirus backbone” comprises elements for self-amplification (e.g. col. 28, lines 42-49).
‘973 does not claim a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00704]) whose genome encodes at least one promoter and at least one polyA sequence operably linked to an expression cassette encoding an antigen (e.g. [0013]).
Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises at least at least 30ug or 100ug, or 300ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00387-388]; Table 23).
Applicant admits “the currently claimed ranges are either overlapping or narrower ranges of those described in [00387-00388]” of Blair et al.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It is routine procedure to optimize component amounts to arrive at an optimal product that is superior for its intended use, since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See M.P.E.P. §2144.05(I).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of ‘973 comprising an alphavirus expression vector to further comprise lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating the self-amplifying alphavirus, wherein the composition comprises at least 10ug of said lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating said self-amplifying alphavirus, with a reasonable expectation of success because Applicant themselves previously disclosed and successfully demonstrated the ability to do so.
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, —USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925 .pdf).
With respect to Claim 179, ‘973 claims the composition is formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (e.g. claim 10).
Blair et al disclosed the composition is formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (e.g. [00375]).
With respect to Claim 180, ‘973 claims a kit (e.g. claim 12).
Blair et al disclosed a kit comprising the composition and instructions for use (e.g. claim 76).
With respect to Claim 16, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises the self-amplifying alphavirus virus particles at a concentration of 1mg/ml (syn. 10ug srRNA vaccine/0.1ml; [00698]).
With respect to Claims 97-98 and 133, ‘973 claims wherein the tumor is colon cancer (e.g. claim 8).
Blair et al disclosed wherein the tumor is colon cancer (e.g. [0019, 705]), and wherein the colon cancer tumor is microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), to wit, CT26 xenograft tumor model (e.g. [00705]), whereby CT26 is an art-recognized microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), and wherein the antigen encodes an epitope known or suspected to be presented by MHC class I on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. KRAS [00214].
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Instant claims are considered to be obvious variants of the patented ‘973 claims.
17. Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, 179-180, 185, and 189 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-57 of U.S. Patent No. 11,510,973 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS), as applied to Claims 1, 3, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, and 179-180 above, and in further view of Rooney (WO 17/173321; ; of record in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘973 discloses the antigen may be a KRAS antigen (e.g. col. 36, line 52; col. 77, line 56; col. 83, line 40).
Blair et al disclosed wherein the antigen encodes an epitope known or suspected to be presented by MHC class I on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. KRAS [00214].
‘973 does not claim wherein the antigen encodes the KRAS_G12V MHC class I epitope SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK).
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, and with respect to Claims 185 and 189, Rooney is considered relevant prior art for having disclosed a vector comprising a promoter and a polyA sequence operably linked to a polynucleotide encoding MHC class I neoantigenic peptides (e.g. [0009, 284, 332, 486, 581]), wherein said vector may be a self-replicating RNA (e.g. [0014]), and wherein the neoantigenic peptide may be a KRAS G12V MHC class I neoantigen (pg 164, Table 2) comprising the epitopes of VVGAVGVGK (instant SEQ ID NO:19,779).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a first KRAS neoantigen epitope with a second KRAS neoantigen epitope comprising SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK) in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector with a reasonable expectation of success because the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. M.P.E.P. §2144.07 states "The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).” When substituting equivalents known in the prior art for the same purpose, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). M.P.E.P. §2144.06. An artisan would have been motivated to substitute a first KRAS neoantigen epitope with a second KRAS neoantigen epitope comprising SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK) in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector because Rooney disclosed a finite list of known KRAS neoantigen epitopes (e.g., pg 164, Table 2) to be expressed in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable options because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipate success, it is likely that product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, —USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925 .pdf).
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Instant claims are considered to be obvious variants of the patented ‘973 claims.
18. Claim(s) 1, 3-, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, and 179-180 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,504,421 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
With respect to Claim 1, ‘421 claims RNA alphavirus expression vectors encoding an antigen expression cassette, wherein the antigen is presented by an MHC allele, e.g. MHC class I epitope, on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. colon cancer.
‘421 claims wherein the “alphavirus backbone” comprises elements for self-amplification (e.g. claim 7).
‘421 does not claim a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00704]) whose genome encodes at least one promoter and at least one polyA sequence operably linked to an expression cassette encoding an antigen (e.g. [0013]).
Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises at least at least 30ug or 100ug, or 300ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00387-388]; Table 23).
Applicant admits “the currently claimed ranges are either overlapping or narrower ranges of those described in [00387-00388]” of Blair et al.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It is routine procedure to optimize component amounts to arrive at an optimal product that is superior for its intended use, since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See M.P.E.P. §2144.05(I).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of ‘421 comprising an alphavirus expression vector to further comprise lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating the self-amplifying alphavirus, wherein the composition comprises at least 10ug of said lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating said self-amplifying alphavirus, with a reasonable expectation of success because Applicant themselves previously disclosed and successfully demonstrated the ability to do so.
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, —USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925 .pdf).
With respect to Claim 179, ‘421 claims the composition is formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (e.g. claim 19).
Blair et al disclosed the composition is formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (e.g. [00375]).
With respect to Claim 180, ‘421 claims a kit (e.g. claim 23).
Blair et al disclosed a kit comprising the composition and instructions for use (e.g. claim 76).
With respect to Claim 16, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises the self-amplifying alphavirus virus particles at a concentration of 1mg/ml (syn. 10ug srRNA vaccine/0.1ml; [00698]).
With respect to Claims 97-98 and 133, ‘421 claims wherein the tumor is colon cancer (e.g. claim 14).
Blair et al disclosed wherein the tumor is colon cancer (e.g. [0019, 705]), and wherein the colon cancer tumor is microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), to wit, CT26 xenograft tumor model (e.g. [00705]), whereby CT26 is an art-recognized microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), and wherein the antigen encodes an epitope known or suspected to be presented by MHC class I on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. KRAS [00214].
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Instant claims are considered to be obvious variants of the patented ‘421 claims.
19. Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, 179-180, 185, and 189 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,504,421 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS), as applied to Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, and 179-180 above, and in further view of Rooney (WO 17/173321; of record in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘421 discloses the antigen may be a KRAS antigen (e.g. col. 36, line 45; col. 78, line 35; col. 84, line 22).
Blair et al disclosed wherein the antigen encodes an epitope known or suspected to be presented by MHC class I on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. KRAS [00214].
‘421 does not claim wherein the antigen encodes the KRAS_G12V MHC class I epitope SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK).
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, and with respect to Claims 185 and 189, Rooney is considered relevant prior art for having disclosed a vector comprising a promoter and a polyA sequence operably linked to a polynucleotide encoding MHC class I neoantigenic peptides (e.g. [0009, 284, 332, 486, 581]), wherein said vector may be a self-replicating RNA (e.g. [0014]), and wherein the neoantigenic peptide may be a KRAS G12V MHC class I neoantigen (pg 164, Table 2) comprising the epitopes of VVGAVGVGK (instant SEQ ID NO:19,779).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a first KRAS neoantigen epitope with a second KRAS neoantigen epitope comprising SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK) in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector with a reasonable expectation of success because the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. M.P.E.P. §2144.07 states "The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).” When substituting equivalents known in the prior art for the same purpose, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). M.P.E.P. §2144.06. An artisan would have been motivated to substitute a first KRAS neoantigen epitope with a second KRAS neoantigen epitope comprising SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK) in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector because Rooney disclosed a finite list of known KRAS neoantigen epitopes (e.g., pg 164, Table 2) to be expressed in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable options because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipate success, it is likely that product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, —USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925 .pdf).
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Instant claims are considered to be obvious variants of the patented ‘421 claims.
20. Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, 179-180, 185, and 189 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 8-9, 11-12, and 14-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,747 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
With respect to Claim 1, ‘747 claims self-amplifying RNA alphavirus expression vectors encoding an antigen expression cassette, wherein the antigen is presented by an MHC allele, e.g. MHC class I epitope, on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. colon cancer.
‘747 does not claim a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00704]) whose genome encodes at least one promoter and at least one polyA sequence operably linked to an expression cassette encoding an antigen (e.g. [0013]).
Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises at least at least 30ug or 100ug, or 300ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00387-388]; Table 23).
Applicant admits “the currently claimed ranges are either overlapping or narrower ranges of those described in [00387-00388]” of Blair et al.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It is routine procedure to optimize component amounts to arrive at an optimal product that is superior for its intended use, since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See M.P.E.P. §2144.05(I).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of ‘747 comprising an alphavirus expression vector to further comprise lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating the self-amplifying alphavirus, wherein the composition comprises at least 10ug of said lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating said self-amplifying alphavirus, with a reasonable expectation of success because Applicant themselves previously disclosed and successfully demonstrated the ability to do so.
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, —USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925 .pdf).
With respect to Claim 179, ‘747 claims the composition is formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (e.g. claim 19).
Blair et al disclosed the composition is formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (e.g. [00375]).
With respect to Claim 180, ‘747 claims a kit (e.g. claim 23).
Blair et al disclosed a kit comprising the composition and instructions for use (e.g. claim 76).
With respect to Claim 16, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises the self-amplifying alphavirus virus particles at a concentration of 1mg/ml (syn. 10ug srRNA vaccine/0.1ml; [00698]).
With respect to Claims 97-98 and 133, ‘747 claims wherein the tumor is colon cancer (e.g. claim 14).
Blair et al disclosed wherein the tumor is colon cancer (e.g. [0019, 705]), and wherein the colon cancer tumor is microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), to wit, CT26 xenograft tumor model (e.g. [00705]), whereby CT26 is an art-recognized microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), and wherein the antigen encodes an epitope known or suspected to be presented by MHC class I on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. KRAS [00214].
With respect to Claims 185 and 189, ‘747 claims wherein the neoantigenic cassette comprises SEQ ID NO:65 (e.g. claim 9), whereby peptide the KRAS G12V MHC class I neoantigen comprising the epitopes of VVGAVGVGK (instant SEQ ID NO:19,779) is inherently present in SEQ ID NO:65.
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Instant claims are considered to be obvious variants of the patented ‘747 claims.
21. Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, and 179-180 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,591,619 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This rejection is necessitated by the decision of the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in Pfizer Inc. v Teva pharmaceuticals USA Inc., 86 USPQ2d 1001, at page 1008 (March 2008), which indicates that there is no patentable distinction between claims to a product and a method of using that product disclosed in the specification of the application and that the preclusion of such a double patenting rejection under 35 USC 121 does not apply where the present application is other than a divisional application of the patent application containing such patentably indistinct claims.
With respect to Claim 1, ‘619 claims a method of stimulating an immune response in a subject, the method comprising the step(s) of administering to said subject a first antigen expression system and a second antigen expression system (e.g. claims 1 and 13-15), wherein the first antigen expression system is a ChAdV and the second antigen expression system is a self-amplifying RNA.
‘619 does not claim a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00704]) whose genome encodes at least one promoter and at least one polyA sequence operably linked to an expression cassette encoding an antigen (e.g. [0013]).
Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises at least at least 30ug or 100ug, or 300ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00387-388]; Table 23).
Applicant admits “the currently claimed ranges are either overlapping or narrower ranges of those described in [00387-00388]” of Blair et al.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It is routine procedure to optimize component amounts to arrive at an optimal product that is superior for its intended use, since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See M.P.E.P. §2144.05(I).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of ‘619 comprising an alphavirus expression vector to further comprise lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating the self-amplifying alphavirus, wherein the composition comprises at least 10ug of said lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating said self-amplifying alphavirus, with a reasonable expectation of success because Applicant themselves previously disclosed and successfully demonstrated the ability to do so.
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, —USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925 .pdf).
With respect to Claim 179, those of ordinary skill in the art would have immediately understood that it is axiomatic that the composition is formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Blair et al disclosed the composition is formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (e.g. [00375]).
With respect to Claim 180, Blair et al disclosed a kit comprising the composition and instructions for use (e.g. claim 76).
With respect to Claim 16, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises the self-amplifying alphavirus virus particles at a concentration of 1mg/ml (syn. 10ug srRNA vaccine/0.1ml; [00698]).
With respect to Claims 97-98 and 133, Blair et al disclosed wherein the tumor is colon cancer (e.g. [0019, 705]), and wherein the colon cancer tumor is microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), to wit, CT26 xenograft tumor model (e.g. [00705]), whereby CT26 is an art-recognized microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), and wherein the antigen encodes an epitope known or suspected to be presented by MHC class I on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. KRAS [00214].
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Instant claims are considered to be obvious variants of the patented ‘619 claims.
22. Claim(s) 97-98, 133, 185, and 189 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,591,619 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS), as applied to Claims 1, 4, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, and 179-180 above, and in further view of Rooney (WO 17/173321; of record in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘619 discloses the antigen may be a KRAS antigen (e.g. col. 34, line 6).
Blair et al disclosed wherein the antigen encodes an epitope known or suspected to be presented by MHC class I on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. KRAS [00214].
‘619 does not claim wherein the antigen encodes the KRAS_G12V MHC class I epitope SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK).
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, and with respect to Claims 185 and 189, Rooney is considered relevant prior art for having disclosed a vector comprising a promoter and a polyA sequence operably linked to a polynucleotide encoding MHC class I neoantigenic peptides (e.g. [0009, 284, 332, 486, 581]), wherein said vector may be a self-replicating RNA (e.g. [0014]), and wherein the neoantigenic peptide may be a KRAS G12V MHC class I neoantigen (pg 164, Table 2) comprising the epitopes of VVGAVGVGK (instant SEQ ID NO:19,779).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a first KRAS neoantigen epitope with a second KRAS neoantigen epitope comprising SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK) in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector with a reasonable expectation of success because the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. M.P.E.P. §2144.07 states "The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).” When substituting equivalents known in the prior art for the same purpose, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). M.P.E.P. §2144.06. An artisan would have been motivated to substitute a first KRAS neoantigen epitope with a second KRAS neoantigen epitope comprising SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK) in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector because Rooney disclosed a finite list of known KRAS neoantigen epitopes (e.g., pg 164, Table 2) to be expressed in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable options because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipate success, it is likely that product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, —USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925 .pdf).
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Instant claims are considered to be obvious variants of the patented ‘619 claims.
23. Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, and 179-180 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,257 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This rejection is necessitated by the decision of the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in Pfizer Inc. v Teva pharmaceuticals USA Inc., 86 USPQ2d 1001, at page 1008 (March 2008), which indicates that there is no patentable distinction between claims to a product and a method of using that product disclosed in the specification of the application and that the preclusion of such a double patenting rejection under 35 USC 121 does not apply where the present application is other than a divisional application of the patent application containing such patentably indistinct claims.
With respect to Claim 1, ‘257 claims a method of stimulating an immune response in a subject, the method comprising the step(s) of administering to said subject a first antigen expression system and a second antigen expression system (e.g. claims 1 and 13-15), wherein the first antigen expression system is a ChAdV and the second antigen expression system is a self-amplifying RNA.
‘257 does not claim a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00704]) whose genome encodes at least one promoter and at least one polyA sequence operably linked to an expression cassette encoding an antigen (e.g. [0013]).
Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises at least at least 30ug or 100ug, or 300ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00387-388]; Table 23).
Applicant admits “the currently claimed ranges are either overlapping or narrower ranges of those described in [00387-00388]” of Blair et al.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It is routine procedure to optimize component amounts to arrive at an optimal product that is superior for its intended use, since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See M.P.E.P. §2144.05(I).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of ‘257 comprising an alphavirus expression vector to further comprise lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating the self-amplifying alphavirus, wherein the composition comprises at least 10ug of said lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating said self-amplifying alphavirus, with a reasonable expectation of success because Applicant themselves previously disclosed and successfully demonstrated the ability to do so.
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, —USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925 .pdf).
With respect to Claim 179, those of ordinary skill in the art would have immediately understood that it is axiomatic that the composition is formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Blair et al disclosed the composition is formulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (e.g. [00375]).
With respect to Claim 180, Blair et al disclosed a kit comprising the composition and instructions for use (e.g. claim 76).
With respect to Claim 16, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises the self-amplifying alphavirus virus particles at a concentration of 1mg/ml (syn. 10ug srRNA vaccine/0.1ml; [00698]).
With respect to Claims 97-98 and 133, Blair et al disclosed wherein the tumor is colon cancer (e.g. [0019, 705]), and wherein the colon cancer tumor is microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), to wit, CT26 xenograft tumor model (e.g. [00705]), whereby CT26 is an art-recognized microsatellite-stable colorectal cancer (MSS-CRC), and wherein the antigen encodes an epitope known or suspected to be presented by MHC class I on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. KRAS [00214].
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Instant claims are considered to be obvious variants of the patented ‘257 claims.
24. Claim(s) 97-98, 133, 185, and 189 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,257 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS), as applied to Claims 1, 3, 7, 16, 97-98, 133, and 179-180 above, and in further view of Rooney (WO 17/173321; of record in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘257 discloses the antigen may be a KRAS antigen (e.g. col. 36, line 52; col. 78, line 49; col. 84, lines 37).
Blair et al disclosed wherein the antigen encodes an epitope known or suspected to be presented by MHC class I on the surface of a tumor cell, e.g. KRAS [00214].
‘257 does not claim wherein the antigen encodes the KRAS_G12V MHC class I epitope SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK).
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, and with respect to Claims 185 and 189, Rooney is considered relevant prior art for having disclosed a vector comprising a promoter and a polyA sequence operably linked to a polynucleotide encoding MHC class I neoantigenic peptides (e.g. [0009, 284, 332, 486, 581]), wherein said vector may be a self-replicating RNA (e.g. [0014]), and wherein the neoantigenic peptide may be a KRAS G12V MHC class I neoantigen (pg 164, Table 2) comprising the epitopes of VVGAVGVGK (instant SEQ ID NO:19,779).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a first KRAS neoantigen epitope with a second KRAS neoantigen epitope comprising SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK) in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector with a reasonable expectation of success because the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. M.P.E.P. §2144.07 states "The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).” When substituting equivalents known in the prior art for the same purpose, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). M.P.E.P. §2144.06. An artisan would have been motivated to substitute a first KRAS neoantigen epitope with a second KRAS neoantigen epitope comprising SEQ ID NO:19,779 (VVGAVGVGK) in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector because Rooney disclosed a finite list of known KRAS neoantigen epitopes (e.g., pg 164, Table 2) to be expressed in a tumor antigen vaccine expression vector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable options because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipate success, it is likely that product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, —USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925 .pdf).
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Instant claims are considered to be obvious variants of the patented ‘257 claims.
25. Claim(s) 196-197 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,747 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘747 claims a method of stimulating an immune response in a subject, the method comprising the step(s) of administering to said subject a first antigen expression system and a second antigen expression system (e.g. claims 1, 8, and 12), wherein the first antigen expression system is a ChAdV and the second antigen expression system is a self-amplifying RNA.
‘747 does not claim wherein the composition comprising ChAdV virus particles comprises 1x10^12 or less ChAdV virus particles.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Blair et al is considered relevant prior art for having disclosed a composition comprising 1x10^12 or less ChAdV virus particles (e.g. [00387]) whose genome encodes at least one promoter and at least one polyA sequence operably linked to an expression cassette encoding an antigen (e.g. [0013]).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of ‘747 comprising a ChAdV expression vector to comprise 1x10^12 or less ChAdV virus particles with a reasonable expectation of success because Applicant themselves previously disclosed and successfully demonstrated the ability to do so.
‘747 does not claim a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00704]) whose genome encodes at least one promoter and at least one polyA sequence operably linked to an expression cassette encoding an antigen (e.g. [0013]).
Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises at least at least 30ug or 100ug, or 300ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00387-388]; Table 23).
Applicant admits “the currently claimed ranges are either overlapping or narrower ranges of those described in [00387-00388]” of Blair et al.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It is routine procedure to optimize component amounts to arrive at an optimal product that is superior for its intended use, since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See M.P.E.P. §2144.05(I).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of ‘747 comprising an alphavirus expression vector to further comprise lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating the self-amplifying alphavirus, wherein the composition comprises at least 10ug of said lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating said self-amplifying alphavirus, with a reasonable expectation of success because Applicant themselves previously disclosed and successfully demonstrated the ability to do so.
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, —USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925 .pdf).
With respect to Claim 198, Blair et al disclosed wherein:
i) the ChAdV is the priming dose (syn. admin first); and
ii) the alphavirus is the boosting dose (syn. admin second) (e.g. Table 15, Groups 3-4; Table 23, Groups 4-6).
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Instant claims are considered to be obvious variants of the patented ‘747 claims.
26. Claim(s) 196-197 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-41 of U.S. Patent No. 11,591,619 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘619 claims a method of stimulating an immune response in a subject, the method comprising the step(s) of administering to said subject a first antigen expression system and a second antigen expression system (e.g. claims 1 and 13-15), wherein the first antigen expression system is a ChAdV and the second antigen expression system is a self-amplifying RNA.
‘619 does not claim wherein the composition comprising ChAdV virus particles comprises 1x10^12 or less ChAdV virus particles.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Blair et al is considered relevant prior art for having disclosed a composition comprising 1x10^12 or less ChAdV virus particles (e.g. [00387]) whose genome encodes at least one promoter and at least one polyA sequence operably linked to an expression cassette encoding an antigen (e.g. [0013]).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of ‘619 comprising a ChAdV expression vector to comprise 1x10^12 or less ChAdV virus particles with a reasonable expectation of success because Applicant themselves previously disclosed and successfully demonstrated the ability to do so.
‘619 does not claim a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00704]) whose genome encodes at least one promoter and at least one polyA sequence operably linked to an expression cassette encoding an antigen (e.g. [0013]).
Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises at least at least 30ug or 100ug, or 300ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00387-388]; Table 23).
Applicant admits “the currently claimed ranges are either overlapping or narrower ranges of those described in [00387-00388]” of Blair et al.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It is routine procedure to optimize component amounts to arrive at an optimal product that is superior for its intended use, since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See M.P.E.P. §2144.05(I).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of ‘619 comprising an alphavirus expression vector to further comprise lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating the self-amplifying alphavirus, wherein the composition comprises at least 10ug of said lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating said self-amplifying alphavirus, with a reasonable expectation of success because Applicant themselves previously disclosed and successfully demonstrated the ability to do so.
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, —USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925 .pdf).
With respect to Claim 198, Blair et al disclosed wherein:
i) the ChAdV is the priming dose (syn. admin first); and
ii) the alphavirus is the boosting dose (syn. admin second) (e.g. Table 15, Groups 3-4; Table 23, Groups 4-6).
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Instant claims are considered to be obvious variants of the patented ‘619 claims.
27. Claim(s) 196-197 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,257 in view of Blair et al (WO 18/098362; Applicant’s own work; of record in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘257 claims a method of stimulating an immune response in a subject, the method comprising the step(s) of administering to said subject a first antigen expression system and a second antigen expression system (e.g. claims 1 and 4-5), wherein the first antigen expression system is a ChAdV and the second antigen expression system is a self-amplifying RNA.
‘257 does not claim wherein the composition comprising ChAdV virus particles comprises 1x10^12 or less ChAdV virus particles.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Blair et al is considered relevant prior art for having disclosed a composition comprising 1x10^12 or less ChAdV virus particles (e.g. [00387]) whose genome encodes at least one promoter and at least one polyA sequence operably linked to an expression cassette encoding an antigen (e.g. [0013]).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of ‘257 comprising a ChAdV expression vector to comprise 1x10^12 or less ChAdV virus particles with a reasonable expectation of success because Applicant themselves previously disclosed and successfully demonstrated the ability to do so.
‘257 does not claim a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Blair et al disclosed a composition comprising at least 10ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00704]) whose genome encodes at least one promoter and at least one polyA sequence operably linked to an expression cassette encoding an antigen (e.g. [0013]).
Blair et al disclosed a composition comprises at least at least 30ug or 100ug, or 300ug of lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating a self-amplifying alphavirus (e.g. [00387-388]; Table 23).
Applicant admits “the currently claimed ranges are either overlapping or narrower ranges of those described in [00387-00388]” of Blair et al.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It is routine procedure to optimize component amounts to arrive at an optimal product that is superior for its intended use, since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See M.P.E.P. §2144.05(I).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of ‘257 comprising an alphavirus expression vector to further comprise lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating the self-amplifying alphavirus, wherein the composition comprises at least 10ug of said lipid nanoparticles (LNP) encapsulating said self-amplifying alphavirus, with a reasonable expectation of success because Applicant themselves previously disclosed and successfully demonstrated the ability to do so.
It is proper to "take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also Id. At 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, —USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925 .pdf).
With respect to Claim 198, ‘257 claims wherein:
i) the ChAdV is the priming dose (syn. admin first); and
ii) the alphavirus is the boosting dose (syn. admin second) (e.g. claims 4-5).
Blair et al disclosed wherein:
i) the ChAdV is the priming dose (syn. admin first); and
ii) the alphavirus is the boosting dose (syn. admin second) (e.g. Table 15, Groups 3-4; Table 23, Groups 4-6).
The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR, and the teachings of the cited prior art provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Instant claims are considered to be obvious variants of the patented ‘257 claims.
Conclusion
28. No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KEVIN K. HILL
Examiner
Art Unit 1638
/KEVIN K HILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638