DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 14 and 18, recite “an analog to digital (A/D) converter; a digital down converter (DDC); a frequency digital phase lock loop (dPLL); and a transmission line scaling module”. However, the claim fails to recite how these components are structurally or functionally connected to one another. Merely listing these elements without describing their interrelationship or collective function renders the scope of the claim unclear. It is not apparent how the components cooperate to achieve a particular result, nor is it clear whether they are arranged in a specific sequence, operate independently, or are part of integrated system.
As a result, one of the ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention with reasonable certainty, as required by §112(b).
Claims 2-13, 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being depended on claims 1, 14 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swank et al. (EP 1889279) in view of Hirase et al (JP 2010109889) and Ibuki et al. (US 2009/0058398) further in view of Watanabe (US 2005/0051869).
Regarding claim 1, Swank discloses a processing tool [figs. 3A-3B], comprising: a transmission line [4] sensor [10/12]; and a transmission line scaling module [page 5]. Swank does not explicitly disclose the transmission line sensor comprising a current loop, a voltage ring within the current loop, and a grounded guard ring surrounding the current loop such that the current loop is intervening between the voltage ring and the grounded guard ring: an analog to digital (A/D) converter; a digital down converter (DDC); a frequency digital phase lock loop (dPLL).
However, Hirase discloses [figs. 2, 6] signal processing with an analog to digital (A/D) [41] converter; a digital down converter (DDC) [42]; a frequency digital phase lock loop (dPLL) [45]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Swank as taught by Hirase in order to improve signal processing device. Swank in view of Hirase does not explicitly disclose the transmission line sensor comprising a current loop, a voltage ring within the current loop, and a grounded guard ring surrounding the current loop such that the current loop is intervening between the voltage ring and the grounded guard ring.
Ibuki discloses [fig. 15A] current/voltage detection [4] comprising a current loop [current detection wire 10], a voltage ring [30 connected to voltage conversion circuit 53, par. 164] within the current loop. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Swank in view of Hirase as taught in Ibuki in order to detect an alternating current (AC) voltage generated at a power transmission conductor. Swank in view of Hirase further in view of Ibuki does not explicitly disclose a grounded guard ring surrounding the current loop such that the current loop is intervening between the voltage ring and the grounded guard ring.
In the same endeavor, Watanable discloses [see fig. 10] a grounded guard ring [3, par. 0009] surrounding a current loop [current flows in the inductor 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Swank in view of Hirase further in view of Ibuki by incorporating a grounded guard ring as taught in Watanable such that the current loop is intervening between the voltage ring and the grounded guard ring in order to protect against the influence of the noise [par. 0006].
Regarding claim 2, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses [see fig. 2] wherein the A/D converter is configured to receive analog signals from the transmission line sensor and deliver digital signals to the DDC.
Regarding claim 3, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses [see fig. 6] wherein the frequency dPLL, the transmission line scaling module, and the DDC are communicatively coupled to each other.
Regarding claim 4, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses [fig. 3A] wherein the transmission line sensor comprises a voltage sensor [10, fig. 3A] and a current sensor [12].
Regarding claim 9, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses [figs. 2-4] wherein the DDC is configured to process a real component of a signal [I] from the transmission line sensor and an imaginary component of the signal [Q] from the transmission line sensor, and wherein the DDC is configured to combine the real component and the imaginary component into a complex signal.
Regarding claim 10, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses [figs. 2-4] wherein the transmission line scaling module includes a plurality of scaling factors, wherein the plurality of scaling factors are each configured to be multiplied by the complex signal.
Regarding claim 11, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses [fig. 6] wherein the dPLL feeds a frequency back to the DDC through a direct digital synthesis (DDS) module [AFC].
Regarding claim 12, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses wherein the transmission line scaling module outputs a voltage, a forward power, a reflected power, and a current [page 5].
Regarding claim 13, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses [see figs. 6 and 10] wherein the dPLL includes a feedback loop, wherein the feedback loop includes multiplying signals by a conjugate pair [AFC].
Regarding claim 14, Swank discloses a processing tool [figs. 3A-3B], comprising: a transmission line [4] sensor [10/12]; and a transmission line scaling module [page 5]. Swank does not explicitly disclose the transmission line sensor comprising a current loop, a voltage ring within the current loop, and a grounded guard ring surrounding the current loop such that the current loop is intervening between the voltage ring and the grounded guard ring: an analog to digital (A/D) converter; a digital down converter (DDC).
However, Hirase discloses [fig. 12] signal processing with an analog to digital (A/D) [101] converter; a digital down converter (DDC) [102]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Swank as taught by Hirase in order to provide improve signal processing device. Swank in view of Hirase does not explicitly disclose the transmission line sensor comprising a current loop, a voltage ring within the current loop, and a grounded guard ring surrounding the current loop such that the current loop is intervening between the voltage ring and the grounded guard ring.
Ibuki discloses [fig. 15A] current/voltage detection [4] comprising a current loop [current detection wire 10], a voltage ring [30 connected to voltage conversion circuit 53, par. 164] within the current loop. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Swank in view of Hirase as taught in Ibuki in order to detect an alternating current (AC) voltage generated at a power transmission conductor. Swank in view of Hirase further in view of Ibuki does not explicitly disclose a grounded guard ring surrounding the current loop such that the current loop is intervening between the voltage ring and the grounded guard ring.
In the same endeavor, Watanable discloses [see fig. 10] a grounded guard ring [3, par. 0009] surrounding a current loop [current flows in the inductor 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Swank in view of Hirase further in view of Ibuki by incorporating a grounded guard ring as taught in Watanable such that the current loop is intervening between the voltage ring and the grounded guard ring in order to protect against the influence of the noise [par. 0006].
Regarding claim 15, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses [see figs. 6-7 and 10] wherein filters are provided before the transmission line scaling module, wherein complex signals pass through the filters.
Regarding claim 16, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses [see figs. 6 and 10] wherein the filters are finite impulse response (FIR) filters.
Regarding claim 17, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses wherein the transmission line scaling module outputs a voltage, a forward power, a reflected power, and a current [page 5].
Regarding claim 18, Swank discloses a processing tool [figs. 1, 3A-3B], comprising: a chamber [plasma reactor 40]; a plasma source [plasma] coupled to the chamber; ; and a signal processing module [22, fig. 1] for determining a frequency of a plasma generated by the plasma source, comprising a transmission line [4] sensor [10/12]; and a transmission line scaling module. Swank does not explicitly disclose the transmission line sensor comprising a current loop, a voltage ring within the current loop, and a grounded guard ring surrounding the current loop such that the current loop is intervening between the voltage ring and the grounded guard ring: an analog to digital (A/D) converter; a digital down converter (DDC); a frequency digital phase lock loop (dPLL).
However, Hirase discloses [figs. 2, 6] signal processing with an analog to digital (A/D) [41] converter; a digital down converter (DDC) [42]; a frequency digital phase lock loop (dPLL) [45]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Swank as taught by Hirase in order to provide improve signal processing device. Swank in view of Hirase does not explicitly disclose the transmission line sensor comprising a current loop, a voltage ring within the current loop, and a grounded guard ring surrounding the current loop such that the current loop is intervening between the voltage ring and the grounded guard ring.
Ibuki discloses [fig. 15A] current/voltage detection [4] comprising a current loop [current detection wire 10], a voltage ring [30 connected to voltage conversion circuit 53, par. 164] within the current loop. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Swank in view of Hirase as taught in Ibuki in order to detect an alternating current (AC) voltage generated at a power transmission conductor. Swank in view of Hirase further in view of Ibuki does not explicitly disclose a grounded guard ring surrounding the current loop such that the current loop is intervening between the voltage ring and the grounded guard ring.
In the same endeavor, Watanable discloses [see fig. 10] a grounded guard ring [3, par. 0009] surrounding a current loop [current flows in the inductor 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Swank in view of Hirase further in view of Ibuki by incorporating a grounded guard ring as taught in Watanable such that the current loop is intervening between the voltage ring and the grounded guard ring in order to protect against the influence of the noise [par. 0006].
Regarding claim 19, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses [figs. 2, 6] wherein the A/D converter is configured to receives analog signals from the transmission line sensor and deliver digital signals to the DDC.
Regarding claim 20, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses [figs. 2, 6] wherein the frequency dPLL, the transmission line scaling module, and the DDC are communicatively coupled to each other.
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swank et al. in view of Hirase et al. and Ibuki et al. further in view of Watanabe.
Regarding claim 5, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses all the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above. Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable does not explicitly disclose wherein the A/D converter is a dual A/D converter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize a well-known multiple ADC circuit would not have involved an inventive step and would not have produced an unexpected result, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 6, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable does not explicitly disclose wherein a second transmission line sensor; a second A/D converter; a second DDC; a second transmission line scaling module; and a second frequency dPLL. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize a well-known multiple transmission line sensor; A/D converter; DDC; transmission line scaling module; and frequency dPLL, would not have involved an inventive step and would not have produced an unexpected result, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 7, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses all the features with respect to claim 6 as outlined above. Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable does not explicitly disclose wherein a third transmission line sensor; a third A/D converter; a third DDC; and a third transmission line scaling module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize a well-known multiple transmission line sensor; A/D converter; DDC; transmission line scaling module, would not have involved an inventive step and would not have produced an unexpected result, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 8, Swank in view of Hirase and Ibuki further in view of Watanable discloses wherein the second frequency dPLL is communicatively coupled to the third DDC and the third transmission line scaling module.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 14 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/METASEBIA T RETEBO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836