DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 5 January 2026 has been entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an overhead warehousing apparatus in Claims 11-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 11-12, 15, and 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, it is unclear if the die vessels are the same as the plurality of the die vessels; they are both plural die vessels. The various die vessel limitations are unclear if they are or are not subsets of other die vessels.
In Claim 8, it is unclear if the die vessels are the same as the plurality of the die vessels; they are both plural die vessels. The various die vessel limitations are unclear if they are or are not subsets of other die vessels.
In Claim 15, it is unclear if the die vessels are the same as the plurality of the die vessels; they are both plural die vessels. The various die vessel limitations are unclear if they are or are not subsets of other die vessels.
Regarding Claim 15, the phrase “tray-type die vessels” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations with the phrase “type” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(b)(III)(E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-9, 11-12, 15, 21-26, and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonora et al. (US 2010/0290872) (“Bonora872”) in view of Bonora et al. (US 2014/0262979) (“Bonora979”). Bonora872 discloses:
Claim 1: (para. [0055], “the container … can also hold any size or type of substrate.”; this can include die vessels/etc.);
at least one processor (“control circuits (not shown)”; “controller”; “microprocessor based controller”);
a conversion station comprising a robotic arm (within 131) communicatively coupled to the at least one processor and further comprising a die vessel container holding structure (118/etc.) for holding a first die vessel container that is configured to store a plurality of die vessels, and further comprising a die vessel holding structure (136/etc.), wherein the conversion station is configured to [remove] a selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies that are laterally spaced apart;
an in-port (FIG. 14, 117 and/or 134a) configured to receive the loaded die vessel containing the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the robotic arm to move the loaded die vessel from the conversion station to the in-port;
a processing tool (inside from 134a/134b/etc.) configured to process the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies;
an out-port (118 and/or 134b) configured to receive an empty die vessel for storing processed discrete semiconductor dies that are generated by processing the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies in the processing tool;
Claim 8: (para. [0055], “the container … can also hold any size or type of substrate.”; this can include die vessels/etc.);
at least one processor (“control circuits (not shown)”; “controller”; “microprocessor based controller”);
a conversion station comprising a robotic arm (within 131) communicatively coupled to the at least one processor and further comprising a die vessel container holding structure (118/etc.) for holding a first die vessel container that is configured to store and further comprising a die vessel holding structure (136/etc.), wherein the conversion station is configured to [removing] a selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies that are laterally spaced apart;
an in-port (FIG. 14, 117 and/or 134a) configured to receive the loaded die vessel containing the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the robotic arm to move the loaded die vessel from the conversion station to the in-port;
a semiconductor die processing tool (inside from 134a/134b/etc.) configured to process the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies;
an out-port (118 and/or 134b) configured to receive an empty die vessel for storing processed discrete semiconductor dies that are generated by processing the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies in the processing tool; and
a buffer region (FIG. 18, another of 149/150) configured to:
house a first subset of the die vessels;
move the empty die vessel from a buffer region to the output-port, wherein the buffer region is adjacent the processing tool;
load the processed discrete semiconductor die processed by the processing tool dies into the empty die vessel to convert the empty die vessel into a post-processing loaded die vessel; and
load the post-processing loaded die-vessel into a second die vessel container (para. [0074]/etc.);
Claim 9: wherein the robotic an is configured to move the resulting empty die vessel from the buffer region to the out-port in response to an indication of process completion from the semiconductor die processing tool (paragraph [0074]; capable of being done by human operator);
Claim 11: wherein the robotic arm is configured to interface with an overhead warehousing apparatus (FIG. 12);
Claim 12: wherein the in-port and the out-port is within a work envelope of the robotic arm (implied in paragraph [0074] and FIG. 12);
Claim 15: (para. [0055], “the container … can also hold any size or type of substrate.”; this can include die vessels/etc.);
wherein the apparatus further comprises
at least one processor (“control circuits (not shown)”; “controller”; “microprocessor based controller”) and a conversion station comprising a robotic arm (within 131) communicatively coupled to the at least one processor and further comprising a die vessel container holding structure (118/etc.) for holding a first die vessel container that is configured to store a set of die vessels selected from the die vessels therein and further comprising a die vessel holding structure (136/etc.), wherein the conversion station is configured to extract a loaded die vessel that is selected from the set of die vessels out of the first die vessel container for further transport outside of the die vessel container, the loaded die vessel holding a selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies that are laterally spaced apart;
moving the loaded die vessel from the conversion station to an in-port (FIG. 14, 117 and/or 134a) employing the at least one processor and the robotic arm (para. [0074]/etc.);
processing the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies in a processing tool by transferring the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies employing the at least one processor and the robotic arm;
moving an empty die vessel to the out-port (118 and/or 134b); and
storing processed discrete semiconductor dies that are generated by processing the selected plurality of semiconductor dies into the empty die vessel, whereby the empty die vessel is converted into a fully loaded die vessel (FIG. 18, another of 149/150);
Claim 21: wherein the robotic arm and the at least one processor are configured to:
move the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies from the loaded die vessel to the semiconductor die processing tool for processing;
move the empty die vessel from a buffer region to the output-port, wherein the buffer region is adjacent the processing tool;
load the processed discrete semiconductor dies into the empty die vessel to convert the empty die vessel into a post-processing loaded die vessel;
load the post-processing loaded die-vessel into a second die vessel container; and
when the second die vessel container is fully loaded with the second plurality die vessels, transport the second die vessel container to an external system (paragraph [0074] and FIG. 12);
Claim 22: wherein the robotic arm comprises an end effector configured to secure a stack of die vessels, the end effector comprising:
a first surface configured to slide under a bottom wall of a lowest die vessel of the stack of die vessels; and
a pair of side gates configured to laterally support the stack of die vessels so as to prevent individual die vessels from sliding off the stack of die vessels during transit (paragraph [0074] and FIG. 12; 100a-100c/etc.);
Claim 23: wherein each receptacle of the respective plurality of receptacles comprises a plurality of corner portions and a respective protrusion along a respective one of the plurality of corner portions (100a-100c/etc.);
Claim 24: wherein: the at least one processor is configured to cause the robotic arm to move the first die vessel container to a die vessel container buffer after extracting the loaded die vessel;
the at least one processor is configured to track and record movement and processing history of each discrete semiconductor die through the system; and
the conversion station (122/123/etc.; FIG. 1) is configured to align the loaded die vessel prior to extraction from the first die vessel container (“control circuits (not shown)”; “controller”; “microprocessor based controller” imply this);
Claim 25: wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
cause the robotic arm to move the loaded die vessel to a transfer position adjacent to the semiconductor die processing tool; and
cause the processing tool to simultaneously extract all of the discrete semiconductor dies from the loaded die vessel into the semiconductor die processing tool (“control circuits (not shown)”; “controller”; “microprocessor based controller” imply this; FIG. 1/12);
Claim 30: wherein the system further comprises a buffer region of a warehousing apparatus located on a shelf attached to the semiconductor die processing tool, the buffer region being configured to store at least one of empty die vessels and die vessel containers and to provide the die vessels and the die vessel containers to the robotic arm (FIG. 18, another of 149/150).
Bonora872 does not directly show:
Claim 1: each of the die vessels being a tray or a boat, and each of the die vessels including a plurality of concave receptacles formed in a tray surface of the die vessel that are laterally spaced apart and configured to hold a respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies singulated from a semiconductor wafer such that each discrete semiconductor die within the respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies overlies, and directly contacts, a respective receptacle within the respective plurality of receptacles with a bottom surface of the discrete semiconductor die resting on the tray surface;
a plurality of the die vessels, the first die vessel container being one of a slotted die vessel container and a stackable die vessel container;
wherein the conversion station is configured to remove a stack of die vessels from the first die vessel container in an automated manner for further transport outside of the first die vessel container and to reinsert die vessels into the first die vessel container, a loaded one of the die vessels within the stack holding;
wherein the robotic arm comprises an end effector configured to secure the stack of die vessels, the end effector comprising a first surface configured to slide under a bottom wall of a lowest die vessel of the stack of die vessels and a pair of side gates configured to laterally support the stack of die vessels so as to prevent individual die vessels from sliding off the stack of die vessels during transit;
a die vessel carrier configured to house and secure a plurality of the die vessels within a defined enclosure, the die vessel carrier including securing features configured to rigidly maintain a fixed lateral and vertical position of each die vessel relative to the die vessel carrier during automated transport of the die vessel carrier to or from an external system;
Claim 8: each of the die vessels being a tray or a boat, and each of the die vessels including a plurality of concave receptacles formed in a tray surface of the die vessel that are laterally spaced apart and configured to hold a respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies singulated from a semiconductor wafer such that each discrete semiconductor die within the respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies overlies, and directly contacts, a respective receptacle within the respective plurality of receptacles with a bottom surface of the discrete semiconductor die resting on the tray surface;
a plurality of the die vessels, the first die vessel container being one of a slotted die vessel container and a stackable die vessel container;
wherein the conversion station is configured to remove a stack of die vessels from the first die vessel container in an automated manner for further transport outside of the first die vessel container and to reinsert die vessels into the first die vessel container, a loaded one of the die vessels within the stack holding;
wherein the robotic arm comprises an end effector configured to secure the stack of die vessels, the end effector comprising a first surface configured to slide under a bottom wall of a lowest die vessel of the stack of die vessels and a pair of side gates configured to laterally support the stack of die vessels so as to prevent individual die vessels from sliding off the stack of die vessels during transit;
a semiconductor die processing tool configured to process semiconductor dies in respective singulated forms as singulated from a semiconductor wafer, including the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies held in the concave receptacles of the loaded die vessel;
wherein the second die vessel container is configured to house and secure a plurality of the die vessels within a defined enclosure, the second die vessel container including securing features configured to rigidly maintain a fixed lateral and vertical position of each die vessel relative to the second die vessel container during automated transport of the second die vessel container to or from an external system;
Claim 15: each of the die vessels being a tray or a boat, and each of the die vessels including a plurality of concave receptacles formed in a tray surface of the die vessel that are laterally spaced apart and configured to hold a respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies singulated from a semiconductor wafer such that each discrete semiconductor die within the respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies overlies, and directly contacts, a respective receptacle within the respective plurality of receptacles with a bottom surface of the discrete semiconductor die resting on the tray surface;
a plurality of the die vessels, the first die vessel container being one of a slotted die vessel container and a stackable die vessel container;
wherein the conversion station is configured to remove a stack of die vessels from the first die vessel container in an automated manner for further transport outside of the first die vessel container and to reinsert die vessels into the first die vessel container, a loaded one of the die vessels within the stack holding;
wherein the robotic arm comprises an end effector configured to secure the stack of die vessels, the end effector comprising a first surface configured to slide under a bottom wall of a lowest die vessel of the stack of die vessels and a pair of side gates configured to laterally support the stack of die vessels so as to prevent individual die vessels from sliding off the stack of die vessels during transit;
a semiconductor die processing tool configured to process semiconductor dies in respective singulated forms as singulated from a semiconductor wafer, including the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies held in the concave receptacles of the loaded die vessel;
wherein the second die vessel container is configured to house and secure a plurality of the die vessels within a defined enclosure, the second die vessel container including securing features configured to rigidly maintain a fixed lateral and vertical position of each die vessel relative to the second die vessel container during automated transport of the second die vessel container to or from an external system;
Claim 26: wherein the plurality of concave receptacles of each of the die vessels are arranged in multiple rows and multiple columns across the tray surface so as to define a two-dimensional array of concave receptacles on the tray surface;
Claim 28: wherein the first die vessel container is the slotted die vessel container, and the slotted die vessel container comprises a plurality of vertically spaced slots,
each slot being configured to receive a respective one of the die vessels with vertical clearance between adjacent ones of the die vessels;
Claim 29: wherein the first die vessel container is the stackable die vessel container, the stackable die vessel container having interior walls configured to receive a stack of the die vessels arranged one on top of another without intervening slots.
Bonora979 shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: die vessels, each of the die vessels being a tray or a boat, and each of the die vessels including a plurality of concave receptacles formed in a tray surface of the die vessel that are laterally spaced apart (at least FIG. 5B) and configured to hold a respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies singulated from a semiconductor wafer (para. [0037]/[0094]/[0120]) such that each discrete semiconductor die within the respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies overlies, and directly contacts, a respective receptacle within the respective plurality of receptacles with a bottom surface of the discrete semiconductor die resting on the tray surface (trays T1/etc.; FIG. 7B; para. [0197]);
a plurality of the die vessels, the first die vessel container being one of a slotted die vessel container and a stackable die vessel container (at least FIG. 5B; slots for multiple trays in containers);
wherein the conversion station is configured to remove a stack of die vessels from the first die vessel container in an automated manner for further transport outside of the first die vessel container and to reinsert die vessels into the first die vessel container, a loaded one of the die vessels within the stack holding (FIG. 1C/etc. at 102/107/etc.);
wherein the robotic arm comprises an end effector (116) configured to secure the stack of die vessels, the end effector comprising a first surface configured to slide under a bottom wall of a lowest die vessel of the stack of die vessels and a pair of side gates configured to laterally support the stack of die vessels so as to prevent individual die vessels from sliding off the stack of die vessels during transit (trays T1/etc.; FIG. 7B; FIG. 5B);
a die vessel carrier configured to house and secure a plurality of the die vessels within a defined enclosure, the die vessel carrier including securing features configured to rigidly maintain a fixed lateral and vertical position of each die vessel relative to the die vessel carrier during automated transport of the die vessel carrier to or from an external system (C1/102/etc.; it is noted that Bonora 979 denotes C1 as two different structures);
Claim 8: die vessels, each of the die vessels being a tray or a boat, and each of the die vessels including a plurality of concave receptacles formed in a tray surface of the die vessel that are laterally spaced apart (at least FIG. 5B) and configured to hold a respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies singulated from a semiconductor wafer (para. [0037]/[0094]/[0120]) such that each discrete semiconductor die within the respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies overlies, and directly contacts, a respective receptacle within the respective plurality of receptacles with a bottom surface of the discrete semiconductor die resting on the tray surface (trays T1/etc.; FIG. 7B; para. [0197]);
a plurality of the die vessels, the first die vessel container being one of a slotted die vessel container and a stackable die vessel container (at least FIG. 5B; slots for multiple trays in containers);
wherein the conversion station is configured to remove a stack of die vessels from the first die vessel container in an automated manner for further transport outside of the first die vessel container and to reinsert die vessels into the first die vessel container, a loaded one of the die vessels within the stack holding (FIG. 1C/etc. at 102/107/etc.);
wherein the robotic arm comprises an end effector (116) configured to secure the stack of die vessels, the end effector comprising a first surface configured to slide under a bottom wall of a lowest die vessel of the stack of die vessels and a pair of side gates configured to laterally support the stack of die vessels so as to prevent individual die vessels from sliding off the stack of die vessels during transit (trays T1/etc.; FIG. 7B; FIG. 5B);
a semiconductor die processing tool configured to process semiconductor dies in respective singulated forms as singulated from a semiconductor wafer, including the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies held in the concave receptacles of the loaded die vessel (individual structures inside receptacles in trays T1/etc.);
wherein the second die vessel container is configured to house and secure a plurality of the die vessels within a defined enclosure, the second die vessel container including securing features configured to rigidly maintain a fixed lateral and vertical position of each die vessel relative to the second die vessel container during automated transport of the second die vessel container to or from an external system (C1/102/etc.; it is noted that Bonora 979 denotes C1 as two different structures);
Claim 15: die vessels, each of the die vessels being a tray or a boat, and each of the die vessels including a plurality of concave receptacles formed in a tray surface of the die vessel that are laterally spaced apart (at least FIG. 5B) and configured to hold a respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies singulated from a semiconductor wafer (para. [0037]/[0094]/[0120]) such that each discrete semiconductor die within the respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies overlies, and directly contacts, a respective receptacle within the respective plurality of receptacles with a bottom surface of the discrete semiconductor die resting on the tray surface (trays T1/etc.; FIG. 7B; para. [0197]);
a plurality of the die vessels, the first die vessel container being one of a slotted die vessel container and a stackable die vessel container (at least FIG. 5B; slots for multiple trays in containers);
wherein the conversion station is configured to remove a stack of die vessels from the first die vessel container in an automated manner for further transport outside of the first die vessel container and to reinsert die vessels into the first die vessel container, a loaded one of the die vessels within the stack holding (FIG. 1C/etc. at 102/107/etc.);
wherein the robotic arm comprises an end effector (116) configured to secure the stack of die vessels, the end effector comprising a first surface configured to slide under a bottom wall of a lowest die vessel of the stack of die vessels and a pair of side gates configured to laterally support the stack of die vessels so as to prevent individual die vessels from sliding off the stack of die vessels during transit (trays T1/etc.; FIG. 7B; FIG. 5B);
a semiconductor die processing tool configured to process semiconductor dies in respective singulated forms as singulated from a semiconductor wafer, including the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies held in the concave receptacles of the loaded die vessel (individual structures inside receptacles in trays T1/etc.);
wherein the second die vessel container is configured to house and secure a plurality of the die vessels within a defined enclosure, the second die vessel container including securing features configured to rigidly maintain a fixed lateral and vertical position of each die vessel relative to the second die vessel container during automated transport of the second die vessel container to or from an external system (C1/102/etc.; it is noted that Bonora 979 denotes C1 as two different structures);
Claim 26: wherein the plurality of concave receptacles of each of the die vessels are arranged in multiple rows and multiple columns across the tray surface so as to define a two-dimensional array of concave receptacles on the tray surface (rows and columns in trays T1/etc.);
Claim 28: wherein the first die vessel container is the slotted die vessel container, and the slotted die vessel container comprises a plurality of vertically spaced slots,
each slot being configured to receive a respective one of the die vessels with vertical clearance between adjacent ones of the die vessels (in C1/etc.; there is clearance to allow multiple vessels inside the die vessel container);
Claim 29: wherein the first die vessel container is the stackable die vessel container, the stackable die vessel container having interior walls configured to receive a stack of the die vessels arranged one on top of another without intervening slots (in C1/etc.);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of making more dies available for processing to increase processing efficiency of the dies (para. [0003]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bonora872 as taught by Bonora979 and include Bonora979’s similar device having:
Claim 1: each of the die vessels being a tray or a boat, and each of the die vessels including a plurality of concave receptacles formed in a tray surface of the die vessel that are laterally spaced apart and configured to hold a respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies singulated from a semiconductor wafer such that each discrete semiconductor die within the respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies overlies, and directly contacts, a respective receptacle within the respective plurality of receptacles with a bottom surface of the discrete semiconductor die resting on the tray surface;
a plurality of the die vessels, the first die vessel container being one of a slotted die vessel container and a stackable die vessel container;
wherein the conversion station is configured to remove a stack of die vessels from the first die vessel container in an automated manner for further transport outside of the first die vessel container and to reinsert die vessels into the first die vessel container, a loaded one of the die vessels within the stack holding;
wherein the robotic arm comprises an end effector configured to secure the stack of die vessels, the end effector comprising a first surface configured to slide under a bottom wall of a lowest die vessel of the stack of die vessels and a pair of side gates configured to laterally support the stack of die vessels so as to prevent individual die vessels from sliding off the stack of die vessels during transit;
a die vessel carrier configured to house and secure a plurality of the die vessels within a defined enclosure, the die vessel carrier including securing features configured to rigidly maintain a fixed lateral and vertical position of each die vessel relative to the die vessel carrier during automated transport of the die vessel carrier to or from an external system;
Claim 8: each of the die vessels being a tray or a boat, and each of the die vessels including a plurality of concave receptacles formed in a tray surface of the die vessel that are laterally spaced apart and configured to hold a respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies singulated from a semiconductor wafer such that each discrete semiconductor die within the respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies overlies, and directly contacts, a respective receptacle within the respective plurality of receptacles with a bottom surface of the discrete semiconductor die resting on the tray surface;
a plurality of the die vessels, the first die vessel container being one of a slotted die vessel container and a stackable die vessel container;
wherein the conversion station is configured to remove a stack of die vessels from the first die vessel container in an automated manner for further transport outside of the first die vessel container and to reinsert die vessels into the first die vessel container, a loaded one of the die vessels within the stack holding;
wherein the robotic arm comprises an end effector configured to secure the stack of die vessels, the end effector comprising a first surface configured to slide under a bottom wall of a lowest die vessel of the stack of die vessels and a pair of side gates configured to laterally support the stack of die vessels so as to prevent individual die vessels from sliding off the stack of die vessels during transit;
a semiconductor die processing tool configured to process semiconductor dies in respective singulated forms as singulated from a semiconductor wafer, including the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies held in the concave receptacles of the loaded die vessel;
wherein the second die vessel container is configured to house and secure a plurality of the die vessels within a defined enclosure, the second die vessel container including securing features configured to rigidly maintain a fixed lateral and vertical position of each die vessel relative to the second die vessel container during automated transport of the second die vessel container to or from an external system;
Claim 15: each of the die vessels being a tray or a boat, and each of the die vessels including a plurality of concave receptacles formed in a tray surface of the die vessel that are laterally spaced apart and configured to hold a respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies singulated from a semiconductor wafer such that each discrete semiconductor die within the respective plurality of discrete semiconductor dies overlies, and directly contacts, a respective receptacle within the respective plurality of receptacles with a bottom surface of the discrete semiconductor die resting on the tray surface;
a plurality of the die vessels, the first die vessel container being one of a slotted die vessel container and a stackable die vessel container;
wherein the conversion station is configured to remove a stack of die vessels from the first die vessel container in an automated manner for further transport outside of the first die vessel container and to reinsert die vessels into the first die vessel container, a loaded one of the die vessels within the stack holding;
wherein the robotic arm comprises an end effector configured to secure the stack of die vessels, the end effector comprising a first surface configured to slide under a bottom wall of a lowest die vessel of the stack of die vessels and a pair of side gates configured to laterally support the stack of die vessels so as to prevent individual die vessels from sliding off the stack of die vessels during transit;
a semiconductor die processing tool configured to process semiconductor dies in respective singulated forms as singulated from a semiconductor wafer, including the selected plurality of discrete semiconductor dies held in the concave receptacles of the loaded die vessel;
wherein the second die vessel container is configured to house and secure a plurality of the die vessels within a defined enclosure, the second die vessel container including securing features configured to rigidly maintain a fixed lateral and vertical position of each die vessel relative to the second die vessel container during automated transport of the second die vessel container to or from an external system;
Claim 26: wherein the plurality of concave receptacles of each of the die vessels are arranged in multiple rows and multiple columns across the tray surface so as to define a two-dimensional array of concave receptacles on the tray surface;
Claim 28: wherein the first die vessel container is the slotted die vessel container, and the slotted die vessel container comprises a plurality of vertically spaced slots,
each slot being configured to receive a respective one of the die vessels with vertical clearance between adjacent ones of the die vessels;
Claim 29: wherein the first die vessel container is the stackable die vessel container, the stackable die vessel container having interior walls configured to receive a stack of the die vessels arranged one on top of another without intervening slots;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of making more dies available for processing to increase processing efficiency of the dies.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonora872 in view of Bonora979 and Iseri (JP 2004-25427 A). Bonora872 discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above; and
Claim 2: a buffer region configured to store a subset of the die vessels (FIG. 18, another of 149/150);
Claim 3: wherein the buffer region is located on top of the semiconductor die processing tool (FIG. 12).
Bonora872 does not directly show:
Claim 2: wherein the out-port comprises a pass out-port, a fail out-port, and
a reprocess out-port, wherein the robotic arm is configured to move the empty die vessel from the buffer region to one of the pass out-port, the fail out-port, and the reprocess out-port;
Claim 32: wherein the out-port of the semiconductor die processing tool comprises a pass out-port, a fail out-port, and a reprocess out-port, each of the pass out-port, the fail out-port, and the reprocess out-port being configured to require a die vessel positioned at the respective out-port to receive individually processed semiconductor dies from the semiconductor die processing tool.
Iseri shows a similar device having:
Claim 2: wherein the out-port comprises a pass out-port, a fail out-port, and
a reprocess out-port, wherein the robotic arm is configured to move the empty die vessel from the buffer region to one of the pass out-port, the fail out-port, and the reprocess out-port (Iseri discloses multiple ports that imply that many different types of ports are obvious to have in a system);
Claim 32: wherein the out-port of the semiconductor die processing tool comprises a pass out-port, a fail out-port, and a reprocess out-port, each of the pass out-port, the fail out-port, and the reprocess out-port being configured to require a die vessel positioned at the respective out-port to receive individually processed semiconductor dies from the semiconductor die processing tool (Iseri discloses multiple ports that imply that many different types of ports are obvious to have in a system);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of maximizing the usefulness of the system due to the utilization of alternative ports. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bonora872 and Bonora979 as taught by Iseri and include Iseri’s similar device having:
Claim 2: wherein the out-port comprises a pass out-port, a fail out-port, and
a reprocess out-port, wherein the robotic arm is configured to move the empty die vessel from the buffer region to one of the pass out-port, the fail out-port, and the reprocess out-port;
Claim 32: wherein the out-port of the semiconductor die processing tool comprises a pass out-port, a fail out-port, and a reprocess out-port, each of the pass out-port, the fail out-port, and the reprocess out-port being configured to require a die vessel positioned at the respective out-port to receive individually processed semiconductor dies from the semiconductor die processing tool;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of maximizing the usefulness of the system due to the utilization of alternative ports.
Claim(s) 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonora872 in view of Bonora979 and Gonzalez (US 2017/0170037; Filed: Dec. 30, 2015). Bonora872 discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Bonora872 does not directly show:
Claim 30: wherein the system further comprises a buffer region of a warehousing apparatus located on a shelf attached to the semiconductor die processing tool, the buffer region being configured to store at least one of empty die vessels and die vessel containers and to provide the die vessels and the die vessel containers to the robotic arm;
Claim 31: wherein the first die vessel container comprises a radio- frequency identification (RFID) tag adhered to a surface of the first die vessel container, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtain, from the RFID tag, information identifying semiconductor dies that are held in the die vessels stored in the first die vessel container;
Gonzalez shows a similar device having:
Claim 30: wherein the system further comprises a buffer region of a warehousing apparatus located on a shelf attached to the semiconductor die processing tool, the buffer region being configured to store at least one of empty die vessels and die vessel containers and to provide the die vessels and the die vessel containers to the robotic arm (para. [0035]/[0042]/[0065] suggest this);
Claim 31: wherein the first die vessel container comprises a radio- frequency identification (RFID) tag adhered to a surface of the first die vessel container, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtain, from the RFID tag, information identifying semiconductor dies that are held in the die vessels stored in the first die vessel container (para. [0035]/[0042]/[0065] suggest this);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of facilitating loading or unloading of the dies from the die vessel carrier (para. [0014]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bonora872 and Bonora979 as taught by Gonzalez and include Gonzalez’s similar device having:
Claim 30: wherein the system further comprises a buffer region of a warehousing apparatus located on a shelf attached to the semiconductor die processing tool, the buffer region being configured to store at least one of empty die vessels and die vessel containers and to provide the die vessels and the die vessel containers to the robotic arm;
Claim 31: wherein the first die vessel container comprises a radio- frequency identification (RFID) tag adhered to a surface of the first die vessel container, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtain, from the RFID tag, information identifying semiconductor dies that are held in the die vessels stored in the first die vessel container;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of facilitating loading or unloading of the dies from the die vessel carrier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose that each of the concave receptacles has a substantially rectangular outline with corner regions adjacent to pin holes, and wherein a rotatable pin is configured to be disposed in a pin hole and to contact a top surface of a semiconductor die in the respective concave receptacle to secure the semiconductor die during transport in combination with the rest of the claim limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 10-15, filed 5 January 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11-12, 15-18, and 20-25 under Bonora872 and Bonora979 (et alia) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bonora872, Bonora979, Gonzalez, et al.
Re. p. 15 and the interview paragraph, there was no Sonora reference on the interview summary or in the rejections above. US 2014/0262979 was identified as Bonora979 above, not identified as Sonora.
Many of the new claim limitations are found in Bonora979 FIG. 7B at L1/T1/etc. as identified in the interview and/or rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652