DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings were received on 18 June 2026. These drawings are unacceptable.
The drawings are unacceptable and therefore objected to because:
The drawings contain figures or views that are not clearly separated. All views of the drawing must be clearly separated from one another. Furthermore, arrows cannot be used to connect different views. Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(h) and 1.84(r). See pages 1-3.
The drawing sheet numbering is formatted improperly. The drawing sheet numbering must be clear and larger than the numbers used as reference characters to avoid confusion. Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(t). See Page(s) 1-8.
The view numbering format is improper because the magnification of a portion of a view is not labeled as a separate view. When a portion of a view is enlarged for magnification purposes, the view and the enlarged view must each be labeled as separate views. Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(h). See Figure(s) 1.
The drawings contain deficient line quality. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(l). See Figure(s) 1-13.
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeh et al. (U.S. 2019/0393140).
Regarding Claim 1, Yeh et al., Figures 8b, discloses an integrated device package comprising:
a substrate having a first side and a second side opposite to the first side (substrate 10);
an electronic component mounted on the second side of the substrate (electronic component 11a);
a molding material disposed at least on the first side of the substrate, the molding material having an exterior surface facing away from the substrate (molding material 12/44); and
a conductive material disposed on the first side of the substrate and extending through the molding material (conductive material 45),
wherein the exterior surface of the molding material comprises laser grooves indicative of laser lapping (molding material 12/44. Please note that “laser lapping”, in light of the specification, is interpreted to mean removal by laser, not physical material. Therefore laser ablation, drilling, scanning, cutting, polishing, deflashing, etc. would read on laser “lapping” [0088]).
Regarding Claim 2, Yeh et al., Figure 8b, further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the conductive material protrude above the exterior surface of the molding material (conductive material 45).
Regarding Claim 3, Yeh et al., Figure 8b, further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, wherein the exterior surface of the molding material comprises a lower surface and a raised surface (molding material 44).
Regarding Claim 4, Yeh et al., Figures 8a and 8b, further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, wherein more than 50% of the total exterior surface comprises the laser grooves ([0088]).
Regarding Claim 5, Yeh et al., Figure 8b, further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, wherein the molding material comprises a first portion and a second portion, the first portion is disposed on the first side of the substrate and the second portion is disposed on the second side of the substrate, the first portion including the exterior surface, and the second portion having a second exterior surface facing away from the substrate (molding material 12/44).
Regarding Claim 8, Yeh et al., Figure 8b, further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, wherein the electronic component comprises an integrated device die, or a packaged device ([0029]).
Regarding Claim 9, Yeh et al., Figure 8b, further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, wherein the conductive material comprises a solder ball or a metal slug ([0086]).
10, Yeh et al., Figure 8b, further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, further comprising a second conductive material disposed on the second side of the substrate ([0027-0029]).
Regarding Claim 11, Yeh et al., Figure 8b, discloses an integrated device package comprising:
a substrate having a first side and a second side opposite to the first side (substrate 10);
an electronic component mounted on the first side (electronic component 45); and
a molding material disposed at least on the first side of the substrate, the molding material having an exterior surface facing away from the substrate (molding material 12/44),
wherein at least a portion of the electronic component is exposed through the molding material, and the exterior surface of the molding material comprises laser grooves indicative of laser lapping ([0088] Please note that “laser lapping”, in light of the specification, is interpreted to mean removal by laser, not physical material. Therefore laser ablation, drilling, scanning, cutting, polishing, deflashing, etc. would read on “laser lapping”), and
wherein a second electronic component is mounted on the second side (second electronic component 11a).
Regarding Claim 12, Yeh et al., Figure 8b, further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 11, wherein at least a portion of the electronic component protrudes above the exterior surface of the molding material (electronic component 45).
Regarding Claim 13, Yeh et al., Figure 8b, further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 11, wherein the exterior surface comprises a lower surface and a raised surface (molding material 12/44).
Regarding Claim 14, Yeh et al., Figures 8a and 8b, further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 11, wherein more than 50% of the second exterior surface comprises the laser grooves ([0088]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (U.S. 2019/0393140) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (U.S. 2015/0187607).
Regarding Claim 6, Yeh et al., Figure 8 does not explicitly disclose that the second exterior surface comprises laser grooves indicative of laser lapping. In the same field of endeavor Huang et al. discloses laser lapping molding compounds formed over the backs of electronic components to planarize said molding compound (Huang et al., molding material 304, electronic component 110, Figures 4-5 [0031]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to planarize and thin the molding compound over the second side of the substrate thereby forming the second exterior surface to comprise laser grooves indicative of laser lapping in The et al. in view of Huang et al., in order to increase processing yield (Huang et al., [0032],[0046].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (U.S. 2019/0393140) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weng et al. (U.S. 2011/0117700).
Regarding Claim 7, Yeh et al., Figure 8b, does not explicitly disclose wherein the conductive material comprises laser grooves indicative of laser lapping. In the same field of endeavor, Weng et al. discloses a package wherein a conductive material covered by a molding layer comprises laser grooves indicative of laser lapping (Weng et al., conductive material 706, Figure 7e, [0065-0066]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the conductive material comprise laser grooves indicative of laser lapping in Yeh et al. in view of Weng et al. in order to increase device density (Weng et al., [0031]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Zandra Smith, can be reached at 571-272-2429. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Abbigale Boyle
Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ABBIGALE A BOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899