DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 20 October 2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the reference is not provided with an English translation or explanation of relevance. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings contain figures or views that are not clearly separated. All views of the drawing must be clearly separated from one another. Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(h). See pages 1-3.
The drawing sheet numbering is formatted improperly. The drawing sheet numbering must be clear and larger than the numbers used as reference characters to avoid confusion. Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(t). See Page(s) 1-8.
The view numbering format is improper because non-partial independent views are inexplicably designated alphanumerically instead of being consecutively numbered using Arabic numerals, leading to a confusing numbering scheme. Only partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter. The different views must otherwise be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1, independent of the numbering of the sheets and, if possible, in the order in which they appear on the drawing sheet(s). Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(u). See Figure(s) 1a-b and 2a-d.
The drawings contain deficient line quality. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(l). See Figure(s) 2a-d.
Figures 2a-d are photographs but do not show the invention more clearly than they can be done by India ink drawings and otherwise comply with the rules concerning such drawings. Furthermore, the photographs must be of sufficient quality so that all details in the photographs are reproducible in the printed patent. The Office will accept photographs in utility and design patent applications, however, if photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. For example, photographs or photomicrographs of: electrophoresis gels, blots (e.g., immunological, western, Southern, and northern), autoradiographs, cell cultures (stained and unstained), histological tissue cross sections (stained and unstained), animals, plants, in vivo imaging, thin layer chromatography plates, crystalline structures. If the subject matter of the application admits of illustration by a drawing, the examiner may require a drawing in place of the photograph. Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1).
The scale of the drawings are too small to adequately show sufficient detail in their current state or when reproduced. The scale to which a drawing is made must be large enough to show the mechanism without crowding when the drawing is reduced in size to two-thirds in reproduction. Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(k). See Figure(s) 2a-d.
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weng et al. (U.S. 2011/0117700).
Regarding Claim 1, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f and annotated Figure 7F below discloses an integrated device package comprising:
a substrate having a first side and a second side (substrate 700, second side A, first side B. Please note “side” can be left side/right side);
an electronic component mounted on the second side of the substrate (electronic component 208, second side A);
a molding material disposed at least on the first side of the substrate, the molding material having an exterior surface facing away from the substrate (molding material 712, first side B); and
a conductive material disposed on the first side of the substrate and extending through the molding material (conductive material 716/218, first side B),
wherein the exterior surface of the molding material comprises laser grooves indicative of laser lapping (molding material 712. Please note that “laser lapping”, in light of the specification, is interpreted to mean removal by laser, not physical material. Therefore laser ablation, drilling, scanning, deflashing, etc. would read on laser “lapping” [0065-0066]).
Regarding Claim 2, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the conductive material protrude above the exterior surface of the molding material (conductive material 218).
Regarding Claim 3, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, wherein the exterior surface of the molding material comprises a lower surface and a raised surface (molding material 712).
Regarding Claim 4, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, wherein more than 50% of the total exterior surface comprises the laser grooves ([0065-0066]).
Regarding Claim 5, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f and annotated Figure 7f above further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, wherein the molding material comprises a first portion and a second portion, the first portion is disposed on the first side of the substrate and the second portion is disposed on the second side of the substrate, the first portion including the exterior surface, and the second portion having a second exterior surface facing away from the substrate (molding material 712, substrate 700, first side B, second side A. Please note that the “sides” are not defined as non-coplanar surfaces and therefore the “side” of the substrate on the left and the ”side” of the substrate on the right can anticipate the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 6, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 5, wherein the second exterior surface comprises laser grooves indicative of laser lapping ([0065-0066]).
Regarding Claim 7, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f further discloses wherein the conductive material comprises laser grooves indicative of laser lapping ([0065-0066]).
Regarding Claim 8, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, wherein the electronic component comprises an integrated device die, or a packaged device ([0031]).
Regarding Claim 9, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, wherein the conductive material comprises a solder ball or a metal slug ([0061]).
10, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1, further comprising a second conductive material disposed on the second side of the substrate (second conductive material 706, second side A).
Regarding Claim 11, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f and annotated Figure 7f below discloses an integrated device package comprising:
a substrate having a first side and a second side (substrate 700, second side A, first side B);
an electronic component mounted on the first side (electronic component 716/218, first side B); and
a molding material disposed at least on the first side of the substrate, the molding material having an exterior surface facing away from the substrate (molding material 712),
wherein at least a portion of the electronic component is exposed through the molding material, and the exterior surface of the molding material comprises laser grooves indicative of laser lapping (electronic component 716/218, molding material 712, [0065-0066]. Please note that “laser lapping”, in light of the specification, is interpreted to mean removal by laser, not physical material. Therefore laser ablation, drilling, scanning, deflashing, etc. would read on “laser lapping”), and
wherein a second electronic component is mounted on the second side (second electronic component 208 or 706, second side A).
.
Regarding Claim 12, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 11, wherein at least a portion of the electronic component protrudes above the exterior surface of the molding material (electronic component 218).
Regarding Claim 13, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 11, wherein the exterior surface comprises a lower surface and a raised surface (molding material 712).
Regarding Claim 14, Weng et al., Figures 7d-7f further discloses the integrated device package of Claim 11, wherein more than 50% of the second exterior surface comprises the laser grooves ([0065-0066]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, the Applicant argues that the Weng reference fails to disclose “an electronic component mounted on the second side of the substrate” and “a conductive material disposed on the first side of the substrate” without further elaboration. However, the Weng reference discloses a substrate 700 with a first side B and a second side A, wherein an electronic component 208/218/716 is mounted on the second side B and a conductive material 706 is disposed on the first side B, as shown in annotated Figure 7F below. Therefore the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Zandra Smith, can be reached at 571-272-2429. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Abbigale Boyle
Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ABBIGALE A BOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899