DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 1/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-45 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 14-16 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2014/0154786, hereinafter Labarre.
Regarding claim 1, Labarre teaches an exothermic composite (abstract), comprising: a reactive material (RM) (paragraph [0089], exothermic chemicals) that undergoes an exothermic reaction upon contact with an oxidizer (paragraphs [0052]-[0056] and [0089]), and a phase-changing thermal storage material (PCM) (paragraph [0089]) having a phase change temperature (paragraph [0089]), wherein RM and PCM are intermixed with one another (paragraph [0089], homogenous mixture).
Regarding claim 2, Labarre teaches wherein RM comprises a metal or a metal alloy (paragraphs [0052]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Labarre teaches wherein RM comprises calcium oxide (paragraph [0053]) or iron (paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Labarre teaches wherein PCM comprises wax (paragraph [0089]) or a thermoplastic (paragraph [0089]).
Regarding claim 5, Labarre teaches wherein the composite, following contact with sufficient oxidizer (paragraphs [0052]-[0056]), maintains for a time interval a substantially isothermal temperature (TI1) (paragraph [0089]) that is sufficient to support a selected biological, physical, or chemical process (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)).
Regarding claim 6, Labarre teaches wherein TIl is from about 35 deg. C. to about 95 deg. C (paragraph [0089]).
Regarding claim 14, Labarre teaches wherein the oxidizer is water (paragraphs [0053]-[0054]) or oxygen (paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 15, Labarre teaches further comprising a removeable seal (paragraph [0085]) that separates RM from the oxidizer (paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 16, Labarre teaches wherein the exothermic reaction is initiated by removing a seal (paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 45, Labarre teaches a container comprising a composite according to claim 1 (paragraph [0089]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labarre in view of Goertz et al., “Multi-stage chemical heating for instrument-free biosensing”, ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces (2018) DOK: 10.1021/acsami.8b11611, hereinafter Goertz.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Labarre teaches wherein RM is denoted RMA (see supra), wherein PCM is denoted PCMA (see supra), wherein RMA and PCMA define a composite material ECA (see supra).
Labarre fails to teach wherein the composite comprises an additional phase-changing thermal storage material (PCMB) that has a phase change temperature that differs from the phase transition temperature of PCMA and the PCMB is at least partially enclosed within ECA.
Goertz teaches a multi-stage chemical heating device which utilizes multiple phase-change materials in partitions so that an automated nucleic acid amplification device can be created (Goertz, page 7, column 1, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an additional phase-change material inside one of the reaction chambers of Labarre which has a different phase change temperature because it would allow for an automated nucleic acid amplification device can be created (Goertz, page 7, column 1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Labarre teaches wherein RM is denoted RMA (see supra), wherein PCM is denoted PCMA (see supra), wherein RMA and PCMA define a composite material ECA (see supra).
Labarre fails to teach wherein the composite comprises an additional phase-changing thermal storage material (PCMB) that has a phase change temperature that differs from the phase transition temperature of PCMA and an additional reactive material RMB, and wherein (1) RMB and PCMB are intermixed with one another to form a composite ECB or (2) one of RMB and PCMB is interpenetrated with the other to form the composite ECB.
Labarre further teaches that optimization and use of multiple exothermic reaction chambers, the time needed to ramp up the temperature can be shortened (paragraph [0054]).
Goertz teaches a multi-stage chemical heating device which utilizes multiple phase-change materials in partitions so that an automated nucleic acid amplification device can be created (Goertz, page 7, column 1, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an additional phase-change material which has a different phase change temperature and an additional reactive material with the reactive material interpenetrated with the phase change material because it would allow for an automated nucleic acid amplification device can be created (Goertz, page 7, column 1, paragraph 2) and to achieve the ramp time required (paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Labarre teaches wherein ECB is at least partially enclosed within ECA or ECA is at least partially enclosed within ECB (see supra).
Regarding claim 11, modified Labarre teaches wherein PCMB has a phase change temperature in the range of from about 35 deg. C. to about 45 deg. C (Goetz, page 6, column 1, paragraph 1), and wherein PCMA has a phase change temperature in the range of from about 55 deg. C. and about 75 deg. C (Goetz, page 6, column 1, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 12, modified Labarre teaches wherein the composite, following contact with sufficient oxidizer, maintains for a time interval a substantially isothermal temperature TI2 that is sufficient to support a selected biological or chemical process (Goetz, page 5 column 2, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 13, modified Labarre teaches wherein TI2 is from about 35 deg. C. to about 98 deg. (Goetz, page 5 column 2, paragraph 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 1/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 14-16 and 45 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Labarre.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796