DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 7/2/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-45 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goertz et al., “Multi-stage chemical heating for instrument-free biosensing”, ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces (2018) DOK: 10.1021/acsami.8b11611, hereinafter Goertz in view of United States Application Publication No. 2014/0154786, hereinafter Labarre.
Regarding claim 1, Goertz teaches an exothermic composite (figure 1A), comprising: a reactive material (RM) (figure 1A, MRE Heater) that undergoes an exothermic reaction upon contact with an oxidizer (page 33044, column 2, paragraph 5), and a phase-changing thermal storage material (PCM) (figure 1A, encapsulated PCMs) having a phase change temperature (page 33044, column 2, paragraph 7), and wherein the exothermic composite is shaped so as to accept a reaction vessel inserted at least partially therein (figure 1A, the reaction vessels are inserted into the encapsulated PCMs).
Goertz fails to teach wherein RM and PCM are intermixed with one another.
Labarre teaches RM and PCM are intermixed with one another so that a stable temperature can be achieved during the reaction process depending upon the desired profile (Labarre, paragraph [0089]).
Examiner further finds that the prior art contained a device/method/product (i.e., the RM and PCM are intermixed) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of component(s) (i.e., the RM and PCR are separate) with other component(s) (i.e., the RM and PCM are intermixed), and the substituted components and their functions were known in the art as above set forth. An ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention could have substituted one known element with another (i.e., the RM and PCM are separate with them being intermixed), and the results of the substitution (i.e., controlling the temperature) would have been predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to substitute the separate components of RM and PCM of reference Goertz with the RM and PCM are intermixed of reference Labarre, since the result would have been predictable. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have intermixed the RM and PCM because it would allow for a stable temperature can be achieved during the reaction process depending upon the desired profile (Labarre, paragraph [0089]).
Regarding claim 2, Goertz teaches wherein RM comprises a metal or a metal alloy (figure 1A).
Regarding claim 3, Goertz teaches wherein RM comprises a magnesium-iron alloy (figure 1A).
Regarding claim 4, Goertz teaches wherein PCM comprises a salt hydrate (page 33044, column 2, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 5, Goertz teaches wherein the composite, following contact with sufficient oxidizer (page 33044, column 2, paragraph 5), maintains for a time interval a substantially isothermal temperature (TI1) (figure 3A) that is sufficient to support a selected biological, physical, or chemical process (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)).
Regarding claim 6, Goertz teaches wherein TIl is from about 35 deg. C. to about 95 deg. C (figure 3A).
Regarding claim 7, Goertz teaches wherein RM is denoted RMA (see supra), wherein PCM is denoted PCMA (see supra), wherein RMA and PCMA define a composite material ECA (see supra), and wherein the composite comprises an additional phase-changing thermal storage material (PCMB) that has a phase change temperature that differs from the phase transition temperature of PCMA (Goertz, page 7, column 1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 8, Goertz teaches wherein PCMB is at least partially enclosed within ECA (Goertz, page 7, column 1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 9, Goertz teaches an additional reactive material RM B, and wherein (1) RMB and PCMB are intermixed with one another to form a composite ECB or (2) one of RMB and PCMB is interpenetrated with the other to form the composite ECB (Goertz, page 7, column 1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 10, Goertz teaches wherein ECB is at least partially enclosed within ECA or ECA is at least partially enclosed within ECB (see supra).
Regarding claim 11, Goertz teaches wherein PCMB has a phase change temperature in the range of from about 35 deg. C. to about 45 deg. C (page 6, column 1, paragraph 1), and wherein PCMA has a phase change temperature in the range of from about 55 deg. C. and about 75 deg. C (page 6, column 1, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 12, Goertz teaches wherein the composite, following contact with sufficient oxidizer, maintains for a time interval a substantially isothermal temperature TI2 that is sufficient to support a selected biological or chemical process (page 5 column 2, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 13, Goertz teaches wherein TI2 is from about 35 deg. C. to about 98 deg. (page 5 column 2, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 14, Goertz teaches wherein the oxidizer is water (page 33044, column 2, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 15, Goertz teaches further comprising a removeable seal (paragraph [0085]) that separates RM from the oxidizer (page 33044, column 2, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 16, Goertz teaches wherein the exothermic reaction is initiated by removing a seal (page 33044, column 2, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 45, Goertz teaches a container comprising a composite according to claim 1 (figure 1A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 7/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 14-16 and 45 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Goertz and Labarre.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796