DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant provided two arguments in response to office action. The first argument is dielectric spacers 128 of Tran do not fill "a majority of space between the adjacent gates" as required by claim 1. The second argument is dielectric material 180 does not appear to fill a remaining space on the first dielectric material and between the adjacent gates as required by claim 1.
In response, using terminology such as "majority of space" is considered a term of degree that is not defined with "reasonable certainty". Without a clear definition in the specification, a person of ordinary skill in the art might not know whether this means >50%, >60%, or some other threshold. However, on its own, it is subjective as to what constitutes a majority of space. Therefore, since the terminology is not defined, and there is hardly any space between adjacent gates, Examiner concluded dielectric material 128 fills a “majority” of space in Tran.
Further, the terminology "enclosing the first dielectric material... and filling a remaining space" leads to a circular definition, particularly since the "majority" is not precisely defined. If the "first dielectric material" is truly described as "filling a majority" and then the second material fills the "remaining" space, there is no gap left for the second material to occupy, or the boundaries between "majority" and "remaining" are impossible to define definitively. Therefore, since dielectric material 180 occupies the space not filled by dielectric material 128, Examiner concluded dielectric material 180 fills a “remaining space” and “encloses” dielectric material 128 in Tran.
Furthermore, the terminology “enclosing" the first material suggests a completely encapsulated structure. If the first material touches the adjacent gates, the second material cannot fully "enclose" it on all sides. This creates a contradiction between "enclosing" and "between the adjacent gates."
Claim 1 fails to inform a person skilled in the art about the scope of the invention with reasonable certainty. Ideally, the specification should provide specific numerical ranges for the "majority"; clear figures showing that "enclosing" refers only to the exposed surfaces rather than 360-degree encapsulation; and a clear definition of where the "remaining space" begins. However, the claims, specification, and drawings do not clearly describe the scope of the invention with reasonable certainty.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments do not overcome the rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second dielectric material is coplanar with a top of the fin channels and the plurality of gates (new claim 21) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings do not show tops of fin channels 208, 302 coplanar with the second dielectric material 312, 522 and the plurality of gates 306, 416. In Figure 4D, second dielectric material 312 appears to be coplanar with only the gate(s) 416. In Figure 5C, second dielectric material 522 appears to be coplanar with only the gate(s) 516.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is no description that the second dielectric material is coplanar with a top of the fin channels and the plurality of gates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0312722 (Lee) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0236869 (Tran).
Lee discloses (Fig. 6)
1. (Previously Presented) A memory device 100, comprising:
a fin channel 112 on a semiconductor substrate 110;
a plurality of gates 130 disposed on the fin channel 112, the plurality of gates 130 separated from the fin channel 112 by one or more gate dielectrics 120; and
an inter-gate dielectric structure 140 / 142 between adjacent gates 130, wherein the inter-gate dielectric structure 140 / 142 includes a first dielectric material 140 (SiN).
Lee fails to disclose
filling a majority of space between the adjacent gates, and a second dielectric material different from the first dielectric material enclosing the first dielectric material between the adjacent gates and filling a remaining space on the first dielectric material and between the adjacent gates.
Tran teaches (Figs. 3a-3j)
A memory device, comprising:
an inter-gate dielectric structure 128 / 180 between adjacent gates 325, wherein the inter-gate dielectric structure 128 / 180 includes a first dielectric material 128 filling a majority of space between the adjacent gates 325, and a second dielectric material 180 different from the first dielectric material 128 ([0030]-[0039]) enclosing the first dielectric material 128 between adjacent gates 325 and filling a remaining space on the first dielectric material 128 and between the adjacent gates 325.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an inter-gate dielectric structure including first and second dielectric materials in Lee. The motivation would be using well-known materials to serve as a first contact level and selecting the material based on routine optimization for a highly compact memory cell and a high density cross-bar memory array configuration to be achieved as taught by Tran ([0064], [0079]). See MPEP 2144.05.
Tran teaches
2. The memory device of claim 1, wherein the first dielectric material 128 and the second dielectric material 180 include different chemistry (different materials).
Tran teaches
3. The memory device of claim 1, wherein the first dielectric material 128 and the second dielectric material 180 include different densities (different materials).
Tran teaches
4. The memory device of claim 1, wherein the first dielectric material 128 includes an oxide, and wherein the second dielectric material 180 includes a nitride ([0030]-[0039]).
Further, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one dielectric material for the other in Lee based on their suitability for an intended purpose as taught by Tran. See MPEP 2144.06.
Lee discloses
5. (Previously Presented) The memory device of claim 1, wherein the at least one gate dielectric 120 is further layered on sides of the gates 325.
Lee discloses ([0043]-[0045])
7. (Previously Presented) The memory device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of gates 130 include metal gates.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Tran as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0027261 (Chiang).
The modified device of Lee fails to teach
6. (Previously Presented) The memory device of claim 1, wherein silicon nitride is further layered on sides of the gates over the at least one gate dielectric.
Chiang teaches Figs. 8B, 9A
A memory device, comprising:
wherein silicon nitride 614 is further layered on sides of the gates 500 / 900 over the one or more gate dielectrics 612 ([0025]-[0027]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further layer SiN over the gates in Lee. The motivation would be SiN is well-known in the art as taught by Chiang. See MPEP 2144.03.
Claim(s) 21 is/are, to the extent taught and understood rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Tran as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0175163 (Cartier).
The combination of references fails to teach
21.(New) The memory device of claim 1, wherein the second dielectric material is coplanar with a top of the fin channels and the plurality of gates.
Cartier teaches
A memory device comprising:
wherein dielectric material 13c is coplanar with a top of the fin channel 10 and the gate 16 /17.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a coplanar dielectric layer in the modified device of Lee. The motivation would be for self-alignment to define openings precisely and provide electrical isolation as shown in Cartier ([0002], [0026]). Also, to precisely manage the device's electrical characteristics, specifically by controlling the active channel area and reducing unwanted parasitic capacitance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2020/0381531 (Chung), 2018/0076031 (Yan), 2016/0240630 (Seong), 2016/0365440 (Suk), U.S. Patent No. 9,614,040 (Balakrishnan) teach a memory device having a fin channel and multiple dielectric layers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893