DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed on October 06, 2025. The application contains claims 1-41:
Claims 1-21 are cancelled
Claims 22-41 are newly added
Claims 22-41 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on October 06, 2025 have been fully considered and the objections and rejections are updated accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of the amendments to the claims, the 35 USC § 112 rejections to claims are withdrawn.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the term “embodiments” should be removed. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-27, 29, 31-37, 39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BICER et al. (US 20170357653 A1), in view of Stojanovic et al. (US 20160092475 A1), and in further view of Connolly et al. (US 20160055159 A1).
With regard to claim 22,
BICER teaches
a computer-implemented method (Abstract), comprising:
obtaining a dataset having a first data format, the dataset associated with a first user (Fig. 1; [0032]: receive table 10 of city data as input to method 11, where table 10 may also be in the form of comma-separated values (CSVs), i.e., "a first data format", and city corresponds to "a first user");
generating an atomized dataset by transforming the dataset from the first data format to an atomized data format (Fig. 1; [0032]: method 11 transforms table 10 to table 12, which is a list of enhanced RDF triples, i.e., "an atomized data format");
BICER does not teach
deriving, from the dataset, an inferred dataset attribute associated with a subset of data within the dataset;
causing presentation of a data arrangement overview interface summarizing a value of the inferred dataset attribute;
obtaining global dataset attribute data comprising a plurality of user-specific dataset attributes associated with a community of users;
determining a degree of relevancy between the first user and a second user from the community of users by comparing a value of the inferred dataset attribute to a value of a user-specific dataset attribute associated with the second user;
based on the degree of relevancy satisfying a relevance threshold, identifying the second user as a relevant collaborator; and
causing presentation of an identifier of the relevant collaborator in an activity feed portion of a user interface.
Stojanovic teaches
deriving, from the dataset, an inferred dataset attribute associated with a subset of data within the dataset (Fig. 3B; [0077]-[0079]; [0081]: profile engine 326 may compute a pattern metric (e.g., a statistical frequency of different patterns in the data) for each of the different patterns identified in the data, wherein a metric pattern corresponds to “an inferred dataset attribute”);
causing presentation of a data arrangement overview interface summarizing a value of the inferred dataset attribute (Fig. 5C; [0119]: column profile 564 displays a summary of metric values calculated for a particular column 562, for example, the values in Min Length and Max Length correspond to "a value of the inferred dataset attribute");
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BICER to incorporate the teachings of Stojanovic to derive, from the dataset, an inferred dataset attribute associated with a subset of data within the dataset and cause presentation of a data arrangement overview interface summarizing a value of the inferred dataset attribute. Doing so would output a number of metrics and pattern information about each identified column, and can identify schema information in the form of names and types of the columns to match the data as taught by Stojanovic ([0062]).
BICER and Stojanovic do not teach
obtaining global dataset attribute data comprising a plurality of user-specific dataset attributes associated with a community of users;
determining a degree of relevancy between the first user and a second user from the community of users by comparing a value of the inferred dataset attribute to a value of a user-specific dataset attribute associated with the second user;
based on the degree of relevancy satisfying a relevance threshold, identifying the second user as a relevant collaborator; and
causing presentation of an identifier of the relevant collaborator in an activity feed portion of a user interface.
Connolly teaches
obtaining global dataset attribute data comprising a plurality of user-specific dataset attributes associated with a community of users ([0049]: the social networking system 140 maintains a global set of characteristics including a specified number of characteristics and specified types of characteristics. [0037]: example characteristics of a content item include attributes of a user who posted the content item to the social networking system, information describing additional social networking system users that interacted with the content item, or a combination of user-specific and global user attributes);
determining a degree of relevancy between the first user and a second user from the community of users by comparing a value of the inferred dataset attribute to a value of a user-specific dataset attribute associated with the second user; based on the degree of relevancy satisfying a relevance threshold, identifying the second user as a relevant collaborator (Fig. 4; [0065]-[0067]: identify additional users 415 as users having at least a threshold number or percentage of characteristics matching or similar to attributes associated with the user, wherein a number or percentage of characteristics associated with the user corresponds to "a value of the inferred dataset attribute" while a number or percentage of characteristics associated with an additional user corresponds to "a value of a user-specific dataset attribute"); and
causing presentation of an identifier of the relevant collaborator in an activity feed portion of a user interface (Fig. 4; [0071]: communicate 435 the selected one or more content items from the social networking system 140 to a client device 110 for presentation to the user along with an identifier associated with the selected additional user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BICER and Stojanovic to incorporate the teachings of Connolly to obtain global dataset attribute data comprising a plurality of user-specific dataset attributes associated with a community of users, determine a degree of relevancy between the first user and a second user from the community of users by comparing a value of the inferred dataset attribute to a value of a user-specific dataset attribute associated with the second user, based on the degree of relevancy satisfying a relevance threshold, identify the second user as a relevant collaborator, and cause presentation of an identifier of the relevant collaborator in an activity feed portion of a user interface. Doing so would overcome the drawback of a user being presented with content items or additional users in which the user may have minimal interest. If a social networking system presents the user with content items or users in which the user is uninterested, the user may discourage the user from interacting with the social networking system as taught by Connolly ([0003]).
With regard to claim 23,
As discussed regarding claim 22, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
Stojanovic further teaches
the computer-implemented method of claim 22, wherein deriving the inferred dataset attribute comprises analyzing a column of data within the dataset to automatically infer a datatype or a data classification for the column ([0084]-[0085]: profile engine 326 can analyze data statistically to characterize the content of large quantities of data, and can provide global statistics about the data and a per-column analysis of the data's content. Column-specific statistics may include data type and subtype).
With regard to claim 24,
As discussed regarding claim 22, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
BICER further teaches
the computer-implemented method of claim 22, wherein generating the atomized dataset comprises storing the atomized dataset in a triplestore, the atomized data format comprising a graph data structure storing data as triples (Fig. 5, 11, and 12; [0044]: transform the set of denormalized records 41 into a set of new RDF triples 53, and the new RDF triples can be transformed into a RDF graph, shown in FIG. 12).
With regard to claim 25,
As discussed regarding claim 22, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
Stojanovic further teaches
the computer-implemented method of claim 22, wherein the value of the inferred dataset attribute summarized in the data arrangement overview interface comprises a statistical characteristic of the subset of data, the statistical characteristic including at least one of a mean, a minimum value, a maximum value, or a standard deviation ([0084]-[0085]: the profile engine 326 can provide global statistics about the data and a per-column analysis of the data's content. For example, numeric data can be analyzed statistically, including, e.g., N, mean, maximum, minimum, standard deviation, etc.).
With regard to claim 26,
As discussed regarding claim 22, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
Stojanovic further teaches
the computer-implemented method of claim 22, further comprising, responsive to a user interaction with the data arrangement overview interface, causing presentation of an interactive overlay window comprising additional summary characteristics for the subset of data (Fig. 5C; [0119]: the user can select the particular column on the user's client device and the corresponding column profile 564 can be displayed as shown in Fig. 5C).
With regard to claim 27,
As discussed regarding claim 22, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
Stojanovic further teaches
the computer-implemented method of claim 22, wherein determining the degree of relevancy comprises calculating a relevancy score based on the comparison, and wherein the relevance threshold is a minimum relevancy score ([0112]: knowledge service 310 can provide a confidence score for a given pattern match. A threshold can be set in recommendation engine 308 such that matches having a confidence score greater than the threshold are applied automatically).
With regard to claim 29,
As discussed regarding claim 22, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
BICER further teaches
the computer-implemented method of claim 22, wherein the activity feed portion of the user interface includes a user interface element configured to, upon activation, initiate a process to link the atomized dataset with a second dataset associated with the relevant collaborator (Fig. 1; [0032]: link the output table 12 with other city linked data 13. Using an UI element to trigger this taught function is obvious and within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention).
With regard to claim 31,
As discussed regarding claim 22, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
Connolly further teaches
the computer-implemented method of claim 22, wherein the user-specific dataset attribute associated with the second user is an inferred dataset attribute derived from a second dataset associated with the second user (Fig. 4; [0065]-[0067]: identify additional users 415 as users having at least a threshold number or percentage of characteristics matching or similar to attributes associated with the user, wherein a number or percentage of characteristics associated with an additional user is “an inferred dataset attribute derived from” the additional user profile, i.e., “a second dataset associated with the second user”).
With regard to claim 32,
BICER teaches
a system (Fig. 13) comprising:
a memory (Fig. 13: memory 1328) including executable instructions; and
a processor (Fig. 13: processing unit 1316) configured to execute the instructions, the instructions comprising:
obtaining a dataset having a first data format, the dataset associated with a first user (Fig. 1; [0032]: receive table 10 of city data as input to method 11, where table 10 may also be in the form of comma-separated values (CSVs), i.e., "a first data format", and city corresponds to "a first user");
generating an atomized dataset by transforming the dataset from the first data format to an atomized data format (Fig. 1; [0032]: method 11 transforms table 10 to table 12, which is a list of enhanced RDF triples, i.e., "an atomized data format");
BICER does not teach
deriving, from the dataset, an inferred dataset attribute associated with a subset of data within the dataset;
causing presentation of a data arrangement overview interface summarizing a value of the inferred dataset attribute;
obtaining global dataset attribute data comprising a plurality of user-specific dataset attributes associated with a community of users;
determining a degree of relevancy between the first user and a second user from the community of users by comparing a value of the inferred dataset attribute to a value of a user-specific dataset attribute associated with the second user;
based on the degree of relevancy satisfying a relevance threshold, identifying the second user as a relevant collaborator; and
causing presentation of an identifier of the relevant collaborator in an activity feed portion of a user interface.
Stojanovic teaches
deriving, from the dataset, an inferred dataset attribute associated with a subset of data within the dataset (Fig. 3B; [0077]-[0079]; [0081]: profile engine 326 may compute a pattern metric (e.g., a statistical frequency of different patterns in the data) for each of the different patterns identified in the data, wherein a metric pattern corresponds to “an inferred dataset attribute”);
causing presentation of a data arrangement overview interface summarizing a value of the inferred dataset attribute (Fig. 5C; [0119]: column profile 564 displays a summary of metric values calculated for a particular column 562, for example, the values in Min Length and Max Length correspond to "a value of the inferred dataset attribute");
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BICER to incorporate the teachings of Stojanovic to derive, from the dataset, an inferred dataset attribute associated with a subset of data within the dataset and cause presentation of a data arrangement overview interface summarizing a value of the inferred dataset attribute. Doing so would output a number of metrics and pattern information about each identified column, and can identify schema information in the form of names and types of the columns to match the data as taught by Stojanovic ([0062]).
BICER and Stojanovic do not teach
obtaining global dataset attribute data comprising a plurality of user-specific dataset attributes associated with a community of users;
determining a degree of relevancy between the first user and a second user from the community of users by comparing a value of the inferred dataset attribute to a value of a user-specific dataset attribute associated with the second user;
based on the degree of relevancy satisfying a relevance threshold, identifying the second user as a relevant collaborator; and
causing presentation of an identifier of the relevant collaborator in an activity feed portion of a user interface.
Connolly teaches
obtaining global dataset attribute data comprising a plurality of user-specific dataset attributes associated with a community of users ([0049]: the social networking system 140 maintains a global set of characteristics including a specified number of characteristics and specified types of characteristics. [0037]: example characteristics of a content item include attributes of a user who posted the content item to the social networking system, information describing additional social networking system users that interacted with the content item, or a combination of user-specific and global user attributes);
determining a degree of relevancy between the first user and a second user from the community of users by comparing a value of the inferred dataset attribute to a value of a user-specific dataset attribute associated with the second user; based on the degree of relevancy satisfying a relevance threshold, identifying the second user as a relevant collaborator (Fig. 4; [0065]-[0067]: identify additional users 415 as users having at least a threshold number or percentage of characteristics matching or similar to attributes associated with the user, wherein a number or percentage of characteristics associated with the user corresponds to "a value of the inferred dataset attribute" while a number or percentage of characteristics associated with an additional user corresponds to "a value of a user-specific dataset attribute"); and
causing presentation of an identifier of the relevant collaborator in an activity feed portion of a user interface (Fig. 4; [0071]: communicate 435 the selected one or more content items from the social networking system 140 to a client device 110 for presentation to the user along with an identifier associated with the selected additional user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BICER and Stojanovic to incorporate the teachings of Connolly to obtain global dataset attribute data comprising a plurality of user-specific dataset attributes associated with a community of users, determine a degree of relevancy between the first user and a second user from the community of users by comparing a value of the inferred dataset attribute to a value of a user-specific dataset attribute associated with the second user, based on the degree of relevancy satisfying a relevance threshold, identify the second user as a relevant collaborator, and cause presentation of an identifier of the relevant collaborator in an activity feed portion of a user interface. Doing so would overcome the drawback of a user being presented with content items or additional users in which the user may have minimal interest. If a social networking system presents the user with content items or users in which the user is uninterested, the user may discourage the user from interacting with the social networking system as taught by Connolly ([0003]).
With regard to claim 33,
As discussed regarding claim 32, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
Stojanovic further teaches
the system of claim 32, wherein deriving the inferred dataset attribute comprises analyzing a column of data within the dataset to automatically infer a datatype or a data classification for the column ([0084]-[0085]: profile engine 326 can analyze data statistically to characterize the content of large quantities of data, and can provide global statistics about the data and a per-column analysis of the data's content. Column-specific statistics may include data type and subtype).
With regard to claim 34,
As discussed regarding claim 32, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
BICER further teaches
the system of claim 32, wherein generating the atomized dataset comprises storing the atomized dataset in a triplestore, the atomized data format comprising a graph data structure storing data as triples (Fig. 5, 11, and 12; [0044]: transform the set of denormalized records 41 into a set of new RDF triples 53, and the new RDF triples can be transformed into a RDF graph, shown in FIG. 12).
With regard to claim 35,
As discussed regarding claim 32, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
Stojanovic further teaches
the system of claim 32, wherein the value of the inferred dataset attribute summarized in the data arrangement overview interface comprises a statistical characteristic of the subset of data, the statistical characteristic including at least one of a mean, a minimum value, a maximum value, or a standard deviation ([0084]-[0085]: the profile engine 326 can provide global statistics about the data and a per-column analysis of the data's content. For example, numeric data can be analyzed statistically, including, e.g., N, mean, maximum, minimum, standard deviation, etc.).
With regard to claim 36,
As discussed regarding claim 32, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
Stojanovic further teaches
the system of claim 32, further comprising, responsive to a user interaction with the data arrangement overview interface, causing presentation of an interactive overlay window comprising additional summary characteristics for the subset of data (Fig. 5C; [0119]: the user can select the particular column on the user's client device and the corresponding column profile 564 can be displayed as shown in Fig. 5C).
With regard to claim 37,
As discussed regarding claim 32, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
Stojanovic further teaches
the system of claim 32, wherein determining the degree of relevancy comprises calculating a relevancy score based on the comparison, and wherein the relevance threshold is a minimum relevancy score ([0112]: knowledge service 310 can provide a confidence score for a given pattern match. A threshold can be set in recommendation engine 308 such that matches having a confidence score greater than the threshold are applied automatically).
With regard to claim 39,
As discussed regarding claim 32, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
BICER further teaches
the system of claim 32, wherein the activity feed portion of the user interface includes a user interface element configured to, upon activation, initiate a process to link the atomized dataset with a second dataset associated with the relevant collaborator (Fig. 1; [0032]: link the output table 12 with other city linked data 13. Using an UI element to trigger this taught function is obvious and within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention).
With regard to claim 41,
As discussed regarding claim 32, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
Connolly further teaches
the system of claim 32, wherein the user-specific dataset attribute associated with the second user is an inferred dataset attribute derived from a second dataset associated with the second user (Fig. 4; [0065]-[0067]: identify additional users 415 as users having at least a threshold number or percentage of characteristics matching or similar to attributes associated with the user, wherein a number or percentage of characteristics associated with an additional user is “an inferred dataset attribute derived from” the additional user profile, i.e., “a second dataset associated with the second user”).
Claims 28 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BICER et al. (US 20170357653 A1), in view of Stojanovic et al. (US 20160092475 A1), and in further view of Connolly et al. (US 20160055159 A1) and ADAMI et al. (US 20180032327 A1).
With regard to claim 28,
As discussed regarding claim 22, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly do not teach
the computer-implemented method of claim 22, wherein the obtained dataset is a restricted dataset, the method further comprising transmitting authorization data to permit the deriving of the inferred dataset attribute from the restricted dataset.
ADAMI teaches
the computer-implemented method of claim 22, wherein the obtained dataset is a restricted dataset, the method further comprising transmitting authorization data to permit the deriving of the inferred dataset attribute from the restricted dataset ([0078]-[0079]: the dataset access control module 107 facilitate the protection from unauthorized access to the datasets stored in the relational database. The content stored on the DSB is restricted by an authentication and session management mechanism, wherein transmitting authorization data in order to gain access to the restricted dataset is inherently taught).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly to incorporate the teachings of ADAMI to transmit authorization data to permit the deriving of the inferred dataset attribute from the restricted dataset. Doing so would allow or deny the access to the dataset to a specific user in accordance with the permission given to that user as taught by ADAMI ([0078]).
With regard to claim 38,
As discussed regarding claim 32, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly do not teach
the system of claim 32, wherein the obtained dataset is a restricted dataset, the method further comprising transmitting authorization data to permit the deriving of the inferred dataset attribute from the restricted dataset.
ADAMI teaches
the system of claim 32, wherein the obtained dataset is a restricted dataset, the instructions further comprising transmitting authorization data to permit the deriving of the inferred dataset attribute from the restricted dataset ([0078]-[0079]: the dataset access control module 107 facilitate the protection from unauthorized access to the datasets stored in the relational database. The content stored on the DSB is restricted by an authentication and session management mechanism, wherein transmitting authorization data in order to gain access to the restricted dataset is inherently taught).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly to incorporate the teachings of ADAMI to transmit authorization data to permit the deriving of the inferred dataset attribute from the restricted dataset. Doing so would allow or deny the access to the dataset to a specific user in accordance with the permission given to that user as taught by ADAMI ([0078]).
Claims 30 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BICER et al. (US 20170357653 A1), in view of Stojanovic et al. (US 20160092475 A1), and in further view of Connolly et al. (US 20160055159 A1) and WU et al. (US 20130318070 A1).
With regard to claim 30,
As discussed regarding claim 22, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly do not teach
the computer-implemented method of claim 22, wherein obtaining the dataset is responsive to an operation instruction received in a high-level programming language, the method further comprising transforming the operation instruction into a graph-related data instruction to access the dataset when stored in the atomized data format.
WU teaches
the computer-implemented method of claim 22, wherein obtaining the dataset is responsive to an operation instruction received in a high-level programming language, the method further comprising transforming the operation instruction into a graph-related data instruction to access the dataset when stored in the atomized data format (Abstract; Fig. 1A; [0025]: receive a database query (e.g., an SQL query) from an application, the query being in a first query language format, then convert the query into a SPARQL query format and submit the converted query to a SPARQL endpoint. The SPARQL endpoint processes the SPARQL query (e.g., by accessing an RDF repository), and sends back the query results).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly to incorporate the teachings of WU to obtain the dataset responsive to an operation instruction received in a high-level programming language and transform the operation instruction into a graph-related data instruction to access the dataset when stored in the atomized data format. Doing so would process a native database query using through a gateway service in order to access a SPARQL endpoint that uses the resource description framework (RDF) language as taught by WU ([0008]).
With regard to claim 40,
As discussed regarding claim 32, BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly teach all the limitations therein.
BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly do not teach
the system of claim 32, wherein obtaining the dataset is responsive to an operation instruction received in a high-level programming language, the method further comprising transforming the operation instruction into a graph-related data instruction to access the dataset when stored in the atomized data format.
WU teaches
the system of claim 32, wherein obtaining the dataset is responsive to an operation instruction received in a high-level programming language, the instructions further comprising transforming the operation instruction into a graph-related data instruction to access the dataset when stored in the atomized data format (Abstract; Fig. 1A; [0025]: receive a database query (e.g., an SQL query) from an application, the query being in a first query language format, then convert the query into a SPARQL query format and submit the converted query to a SPARQL endpoint. The SPARQL endpoint processes the SPARQL query (e.g., by accessing an RDF repository), and sends back the query results).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BICER and Stojanovic and Connolly to incorporate the teachings of WU to obtain the dataset responsive to an operation instruction received in a high-level programming language and transform the operation instruction into a graph-related data instruction to access the dataset when stored in the atomized data format. Doing so would process a native database query using through a gateway service in order to access a SPARQL endpoint that uses the resource description framework (RDF) language as taught by WU ([0008]).
Conclusion
/XIAOQIN HU/Examiner, Art Unit 2168
/CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168