Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/10/2022 and 03/14/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Amendment
In response to Applicant’s amendments dated February 12, 2026, Examiner maintains the prior art rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. 103, and puts out new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed February 12, 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-2 and 4-17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. 103, beginning on Page 5, have been fully considered by the Examiner but are not persuasive. Regarding Claim 1, Applicant states Wang does not satisfy the measure of handling a battery power with respect to a distance between a temperature sensor and a location where temperature is being estimated. However, the properties of thermal capacity and thermal resistance disclosed by Wang (e.g., as used in Equations 1-6 of Wang) are contextual properties which depend on the particular configuration of matter participating within the route of thermal conduction, which includes the distance of that route. Applicant then states, on Page 6, that this manner of disclosure by Wang is generic. However, Applicant specification only elaborates on how distance affects the processing of temperature data in exactly this same manner (Paragraph [0020], “The thermal resistivity RT may reflect the thermal resistivity of one or more components on the respective thermal communication paths. For instance, the thermal resistivity RT may be affected by the housing/packing of the battery pack 124, the cooling and
ventilation of the battery, and the distance between the temperature sensor 158 and the cell tabs 154, 156.”). Claims 8 and 12 are not allowable.
Applicant then states, regarding Claim 1, on Page 7, “Examiner has rightfully admitted Wang does not disclose the ‘thermal resistance’ feature as claimed.” Although this may be technically correct in the prosecution to date, the combination with Yao does not alter the function of Wang. Yao merely clarifies the precise units that participate in the equation of the thermal model in a clearer manner. Examiner’s rejection has targeted a narrower definition of a thermal resistance than what is strictly necessary so as to address the claim language. Plainly, Wang refers to its coefficient as a measure of thermal capacity (e.g., Paragraph [0033], “Ctab is the thermal capacity of the tab”) and thus suffices for the claim language even without Yao’s teaching. Equations 1-6 of Wang are, with respect to their functions, mathematically equivalent to Equation 1 of Applicant specification, i.e., the equations can be merely rearranged to derive Wang’s equations from those of Applicant, as well as vis versa, permitting the additional nuance that Wang simultaneously solves multiple instances of the general formula in a system of equations. In Paragraph [0021-0022] of Applicant specification, Applicant’s equation is expressed in a units of Joules per Kelvin, which accords with the unit of seconds that is present in the thermal capacity disclosed by Wang, as described below in more detail for the rejection of Claim 1. In other words, Applicant’s claimed invention and Wang perform thermal modelling in essentially the same manner.
Following from this, Applicant misunderstands Examiner’s reasoning for using Yao when Applicant states, “Yao discloses the thermal resistance of a conductor. However, claim 1 as currently amended recites ‘a thermal resistance of a packaging of the battery’ which differentiates from Yao because the packaging of the battery is not a conductor.” Yao is merely relied upon for clarifying the derivation and management of the formula for Wang’s thermal model. The formula of interest is already essentially present within Wang. Finally, in the prior rejection, Rejman was introduced to clarify that the thermally relevant component, as pertains to the model of Wang, can constitute a packaging. Without altering the basic thrust of the rejection, Rejman is no longer relied upon and may now be found in the list of non-cited art. Claim 1 is not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 4 and 11,
Claims 4 and 11 each recite “the one or more components…” - however, no antecedent basis is given for this limitation. For the purpose of compact prosecution, Examiner is interpreting Claim 4 as merely being the first iteration of the limitation which is cancelled from Claim 1 in Applicant’s amendments dated February 12, 2026, and that Claim 11 similarly introduces limitation as well. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-9 and 12 are rejected as being unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) over Wang (US 20230013618 A1), newly of record, herein after referred to simply as Wang.
Regarding Claim 8,
Wang discloses the following limitations,
A method comprising: altering an amount of power output from a traction battery of a vehicle (Paragraph [0004], “The method further includes derating the power supplied to the load when the tab temperature is greater than or equal to a temperature limit. The load is at least one of an electric motor of a vehicle, and an electrical component of the vehicle.”)
according to a resistance of one or more cell tabs of battery cells of the traction battery, current passing through the one or more cell tabs, a temperature (Equations 1-3, and further, Paragraph [0004]“The method further includes predicting the tab temperature using a dynamic thermal model of a heat exchange process around the cell tab and current bus bar that is based on a current at the battery cell and the cell temperatures.” And paragraph [0048], “A tab generates heat due to the flow of electricity through it,”)
and a distance between a location at which the temperature is measured and the one or more cell tabs (Paragraph [0031], “The methods disclosed herein predict a temperature of the tab 304 based on temperature measurements obtained at different locations (i.e., Tmax, Tmin, etc.) of the battery module 206 a as well as battery current measurements. In various embodiments, the tab temperature is determined by solving a dynamic model or thermal model that uses the temperature measurements and current measurements” – the particular location of the temperature measurement is relevant to the model. See also Equations 1 through 3, which use a thermal capacity, the mathematical inverse of a thermal resistance, W/C° versus C°/W, alongside a second of units which is implicit in the equation, as the equation is with respect to time. A thermal capacity is distinguished from specific heat capacity in that the measure applies does not apply to a unit mass of the component, but is defined based on a context of a component, e.g., an amount of mass of the material. A specific heat capacity applies to a unit of mass, and requires further detailing to be used to describe temperature changes as a result of heat transfer. The thermal capacity of Wang in its equations is based on distances for the heat exchange and temperature gradients in question. See also, Paragraph [0003], “A cell temperature is measured at the battery cell, the battery cell including a tab for flow of current to and from the battery cell, wherein the cell temperature is obtained at a location away from the tab. A tab temperature for the tab is predicted from the cell temperature.”)
Regarding Claim 9,
Wang, as shown, discloses all the limitations of Claim 8. Wang further discloses the following limitations,
wherein the temperature is associated with at least one cell of the traction battery (Paragraph [0008], “The processor is further configured to predict the tab temperature using a dynamic thermal model of the battery cell based on a current at the battery cell and the cell temperature. In an embodiment, the tab is in thermal contact with a bus and the bus is in thermal contact with a heat sink, and the processor is further configured to determine a state of the battery cell using a dynamic thermal model, the dynamic thermal model including on a thermal heating of the tab, the bus and the heat sink due to the current through the tab” – the temperature under consideration is associated with the battery cell. The components are associated with the cell. And further, the battery overall is measured, Paragraph [0033], “Tmax is the temperature measured at first temperature sensor 308, Tmin is the temperature measured at the second temperature sensor 310,”).
Regarding Claim 12,
Wang discloses the following limitations,
A power system for a vehicle, comprising: a controller programmed to alter an amount of power output from a traction battery (Paragraph [0004], “The method further includes derating the power supplied to the load when the tab temperature is greater than or equal to a temperature limit. The load is at least one of an electric motor of a vehicle, and an electrical component of the vehicle.”)
according to a magnitude of current passing through a tab of a cell of the traction battery, a temperature, (Paragraph [0033], “Ctab is the thermal capacity of the tab 304, Cbus is the thermal capacity of the thermal bus 406 and Csink is the thermal capacity of the heat sink 408, I is the current flowing from the battery cell 302 through the tab 304 and the thermal bus 406, Rtab is the electrical resistance of the tab 304, and Rbus is the electrical resistance of the electrical bus 404. Ttab is the temperature of the tab 304” – a current through the tab is used, and temperature measurements are used.)
and a distance between the location at which the temperature is measured and the tab (Paragraph [0048], “A tab generates heat due to the flow of electricity through it, leading to the possibility of thermal damage to the battery cell when the tab temperature is too high. Due to the size and location of the tab, it is often impractical to provide a temperature sensor directly at the tab for monitoring purposes. The present invention therefore calculates a tab temperature of a battery cell or battery module of a battery pack without directly measuring the tab temperature by using temperatures obtained at non-tab locations of the battery module”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 10, 13-14 and 16 are rejected as being unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Wang, further in view of Yao (US 20040060916 A1), previously of record, herein after referred to simply as Yao.
Regarding Claim 1,
Wang discloses the following limitation,
A vehicle comprising: a battery including a plurality of cells connected via one or more cell tabs; a motor (Paragraph [0048], “The battery pack used in electric vehicles includes battery modules and battery cells which have tabs for flow of electricity.”
a controller programmed to, responsive to data describing a temperature of the one or more cell tabs exceeding a threshold, decrease power output from the battery to the motor (Paragraph [0004], “The method further includes derating the power supplied to the load when the tab temperature is greater than or equal to a temperature limit. The load is at least one of an electric motor of a vehicle, and an electrical component of the vehicle.”)
wherein the data includes parameters indicative of a cell temperature of one of the plurality of cells, a resistance of the one or more cell tabs, (Paragraph [0003], “A cell temperature is measured at the battery cell,” – the measured temperature is said to be indicative of the cell’s temperature, and is referred to as a cell temperature)
and a thermal [value] of a packaging of the battery (Paragraph [0033], “where Ctab is the thermal capacity of the tab 304, Cbus is the thermal capacity of the thermal bus 406 and Csink is the thermal capacity of the heat sink 408” – the thermal capacity of the equation is merely the mathematical inverse of thermal resistance. The heat sink is a portion of the housing. Equations 4-6, which are equivalent to Equations 1-3, note that Figures 3 and 5 both refer to battery module 206a. Figure 6 shows heatsink 604 is the outermost portion of the depicted module. Paragraph [0035], “Tab 504 provided a flow of current I and is in thermal contact with the bus bar 602 which is in thermal contact with a cooling plate of heat sink 604.”)
However, Wang does not disclose the following limitation,
thermal resistance
However, Yao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a thermal resistance can be used to solve a thermal model (Equation 5,
∆
T
j
=
T
R
∙
I
2
∙
R
, and further Paragraph [0032], “where “I” is the current inputted into conductor 118 and “R” is the resistance of conductor 118.” and Paragraph [0033], “Thermal resistance, TR, which is a characteristic of a conductor having fixed dimensions, can be determined as follows: TCR and R0 are known from equation (1) and, by performing wafer level measurements using system 100 in FIG. 1, the change in resistance, i.e. dR, for a given injected current can be measured by measuring device 108, from which the change in temperature, i.e. dT, is ascertained from equation (1)”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to have modified the thermal modeling of Wang with the equation of Yao, as the equations perform mathematically similar functions (relating an amount of current to a change in temperature), and thermal resistance is a known property of objects (Paragraph [0033], “Thermal resistance, TR, which is a characteristic of a conductor having fixed dimensions,). Furthermore, the combination is a simple substitution of elements, yielding results which are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 2,
The combination of Wang and Yao, as shown, teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Wang further discloses the following limitations,
wherein the thermal [value] is based on a distance between a location at which the cell temperature is measured and the one or more cell tabs at which the temperature is estimated (Paragraph [0031], “The methods disclosed herein predict a temperature of the tab 304 based on temperature measurements obtained at different locations (i.e., Tmax, Tmin, etc.) of the battery module 206 a as well as battery current measurements. In various embodiments, the tab temperature is determined by solving a dynamic model or thermal model that uses the temperature measurements and current measurements” – the particular location of the temperature measurement is relevant to the model. See also Equations 1 through 3, which use a thermal capacity, the mathematical inverse of a thermal resistance, W/C° versus C°/W. However, the coefficients of Wang imply a unit of seconds, as the temperature value is taken with respect to a time derivative. A thermal capacity is distinguished from specific heat capacity in that the measure applies does not apply to a unit mass of the component, but is defined based on a context of a component, e.g., an amount of mass of the material. A specific heat capacity applies to a unit of mass, and requires further detailing to be used to describe temperature changes as a result of heat transfer. The thermal capacity of Wang in its equations is based on distances for the heat exchange and temperature gradients in question.)
Yao further already teaches the following limitation,
wherein the thermal resistance is based on a distance (Paragraph [0033], “Thermal resistance, TR, which is a characteristic of a conductor having fixed dimensions,”)
Regarding Claim 5,
The combination of Wang and Yao, as shown, teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Wang further discloses the following limitations,
wherein the data further include a magnitude of current passing through the one or more cell tabs. (Paragraph [0033], “I is the current flowing from the battery cell 302 through the tab 304 and the thermal bus 406, Rtab is the electrical resistance of the tab 304,” and Paragraph [0048], “A tab generates heat due to the flow of electricity through it,”)
Regarding Claim 6,
The combination of Wang and Yao, as shown, teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Wang further discloses the following limitations,
wherein the data further include a product of the thermal [value] and resistance (Equations 1-3, the heat capacity appears on the other side of the resistance in each equation. Dividing each side by the heat capacity is mathematically equivalent to multiplying the electrical resistance by a thermal resistance, alongside a unit of seconds. Paragraph [0004], “The method further includes predicting the tab temperature using a dynamic thermal model of a heat exchange process around the cell tab and current bus bar that is based on a current at the battery cell and the cell temperatures.”)
Yao further already teaches the following limitation,
a product of the thermal resistance and resistance (Equation 5,
∆
T
j
=
T
R
∙
I
2
∙
R
, Thermal resistance can be multiplied by electrical resistance)
Regarding Claim 10,
Wang, as shown, discloses all the limitations of Claim 8. Wang further discloses the following limitations,
altering the power output according to a thermal [value] of one or more components other than the one or more tabs and cells of the traction battery (Paragraph [0033], “where Ctab is the thermal capacity of the tab 304, Cbus is the thermal capacity of the thermal bus 406 and Csink is the thermal capacity of the heat sink 408” – While the thermal capacity and temperatures of these components is associated with an internal cell temperature, and indicative of such, it is distinct from a temperature of a cell in it of itself. When detailing a cell temperature in it of itself, Wang describes a maximum and minimum temperature of the battery overall, measured by sensors, Paragraph [0033], “Tmax is the temperature measured at first temperature sensor 308, Tmin is the temperature measured at the second temperature sensor 310,”)
However, Wang does not disclose the following limitation,
thermal resistance
However, Yao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a thermal resistance can be used to solve a thermal model (Equation 5,
∆
T
j
=
T
R
∙
I
2
∙
R
, and further Paragraph [0032], “where “I” is the current inputted into conductor 118 and “R” is the resistance of conductor 118.” and Paragraph [0033], “Thermal resistance, TR, which is a characteristic of a conductor having fixed dimensions, can be determined as follows: TCR and R0 are known from equation (1) and, by performing wafer level measurements using system 100 in FIG. 1, the change in resistance, i.e. dR, for a given injected current can be measured by measuring device 108, from which the change in temperature, i.e. dT, is ascertained from equation (1)”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to have modified the thermal modeling of Wang with the equation of Yao, as the equations perform mathematically similar functions (relating an amount of current to a change in temperature), and thermal resistance is a known property of objects (Paragraph [0033], “Thermal resistance, TR, which is a characteristic of a conductor having fixed dimensions,). Furthermore, the combination is a simple substitution of elements, yielding results which are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 13,
Wang, as shown, discloses all the limitations of Claim 12. Wang further discloses the following limitations,
wherein the controller is further programmed to alter the amount according to a thermal [value] of one or more components other than the one or more tabs and cells of the traction battery (Paragraph [0033], “where Ctab is the thermal capacity of the tab 304, Cbus is the thermal capacity of the thermal bus 406 and Csink is the thermal capacity of the heat sink 408” – the bus and heat sink are components other than the cell tabs and cells.)
However, Wang does not disclose the following limitation,
thermal resistance
However, Yao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a thermal resistance can be used to solve a thermal model (Equation 5,
∆
T
j
=
T
R
∙
I
2
∙
R
, and further Paragraph [0032], “where “I” is the current inputted into conductor 118 and “R” is the resistance of conductor 118.” and Paragraph [0033], “Thermal resistance, TR, which is a characteristic of a conductor having fixed dimensions, can be determined as follows: TCR and R0 are known from equation (1) and, by performing wafer level measurements using system 100 in FIG. 1, the change in resistance, i.e. dR, for a given injected current can be measured by measuring device 108, from which the change in temperature, i.e. dT, is ascertained from equation (1)”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to have modified the thermal modeling of Wang with the equation of Yao, as the equations perform mathematically similar functions (relating an amount of current to a change in temperature), and thermal resistance is a known property of objects (Paragraph [0033], “Thermal resistance, TR, which is a characteristic of a conductor having fixed dimensions,). Furthermore, the combination is a simple substitution of elements, yielding results which are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 14,
The combination of Wang and Yao, as shown, teaches all the limitations of Claim 13. Wang further discloses the following limitation,
wherein the one or more components include a packaging of the traction battery (Paragraph [0033], “where Ctab is the thermal capacity of the tab 304, Cbus is the thermal capacity of the thermal bus 406 and Csink is the thermal capacity of the heat sink 408” – the thermal capacity of the equation is merely the mathematical inverse of thermal resistance. The heat sink is a portion of the housing. Equations 4-6, which are equivalent to Equations 1-3, note that Figures 3 and 5 both refer to battery module 206a. Figure 6 shows heatsink 604 is the outermost portion of the depicted module. Paragraph [0035], “Tab 504 provided a flow of current I and is in thermal contact with the bus bar 602 which is in thermal contact with a cooling plate of heat sink 604.”)
Regarding Claim 16,
The combination of Wang and Yao, as shown, teaches all the limitations of Claim 13. Wang further discloses the following limitations,
wherein the magnitude, the current, and the distance are indicative of a temperature of the tab (Paragraph [0033], “Eqs. (1)-(3) can be solved using temperature measurements in order to determine the tab temperature Ttab.”)
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Wang and Yao as applied to Claims 1 and 13 above, further in view of He (US 20150291055 A1), previously of record, herein after referred to simply as He.
Regarding Claim 4,
The combination of Wang and Yao teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. However, Wang does not disclose the following limitation,
wherein the one or more components include a ventilation system of the battery
However, He, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that a vehicle car battery can have a ventilation system, which is considered as part of its thermal model (Paragraph [0020], “The battery pack 114 may be heated and/or cooled using a thermal management system. The thermal management system may include an air cooling system 142, or cooling arrangement, (shown in FIG. 1) such as a fan, an air conditioned air flow, and/or vehicle cabin air.” and Paragraph [0022], “The thermal energy is either transferred outside the battery pack 114 through heat transfer by the cooling system 142 or the battery pack 114 absorbs the thermal energy, thus increasing the battery pack temperature.”) which can augment a coolant system (Paragraph [0021], “The air flow temperature, coolant flow rate and coolant temperature may also be adjusted in response to the temperature.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to have modified the coolant system of Wang, as previously modified by Yao, so as to include the ventilation system of He, as this augments the thermal regulation of a vehicle battery (Paragraph [0021], “The air flow temperature, coolant flow rate and coolant temperature may also be adjusted in response to the temperature.”). Furthermore, the combination is a simple substitution of elements, yielding results which are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 15,
Wang, as shown, discloses all the limitations of Claim 13. However, Wang does not disclose the following limitation,
wherein the one or more components include a ventilation system of the traction battery
However, He, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that a vehicle car battery can have a ventilation system, which is considered as part of its thermal model (Paragraph [0020], “The battery pack 114 may be heated and/or cooled using a thermal management system. The thermal management system may include an air cooling system 142, or cooling arrangement, (shown in FIG. 1) such as a fan, an air conditioned air flow, and/or vehicle cabin air.” and Paragraph [0022], “The thermal energy is either transferred outside the battery pack 114 through heat transfer by the cooling system 142 or the battery pack 114 absorbs the thermal energy, thus increasing the battery pack temperature.”) which can augment a coolant system (Paragraph [0021], “The air flow temperature, coolant flow rate and coolant temperature may also be adjusted in response to the temperature.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to have modified the coolant system of Wang, as previously modified by Yao, so as to include the ventilation system of He, as this augments the thermal regulation of a vehicle battery (Paragraph [0021], “The air flow temperature, coolant flow rate and coolant temperature may also be adjusted in response to the temperature.”). Furthermore, the combination is a simple substitution of elements, yielding results which are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to Claim 8 above, further in view of He.
Regarding Claim 11,
Wang, as shown, discloses all the limitations of Claim 8. However, Wang does not disclose the following limitation in full,
wherein the one or more components include a packaging of the traction battery or a ventilation system of the traction battery
However, He, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that a vehicle car battery can have a ventilation system, which is considered as part of its thermal model (Paragraph [0020], “The battery pack 114 may be heated and/or cooled using a thermal management system. The thermal management system may include an air cooling system 142, or cooling arrangement, (shown in FIG. 1) such as a fan, an air conditioned air flow, and/or vehicle cabin air.” and Paragraph [0022], “The thermal energy is either transferred outside the battery pack 114 through heat transfer by the cooling system 142 or the battery pack 114 absorbs the thermal energy, thus increasing the battery pack temperature.”) which can augment a coolant system (Paragraph [0021], “The air flow temperature, coolant flow rate and coolant temperature may also be adjusted in response to the temperature.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to have modified the coolant system of Wang so as to include the ventilation system of He, as this augments the thermal regulation of a vehicle battery (Paragraph [0021], “The air flow temperature, coolant flow rate and coolant temperature may also be adjusted in response to the temperature.”). Furthermore, the combination is a simple substitution of elements, yielding results which are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Wang and Yao as applied to Claims 1 and 17 above, further in view of Pressman (US 20220289030 A1), previously of record, herein after referred to simply as Pressman.
Regarding Claim 7,
The combination of Wang and Yao, as shown, teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. However, Wang does not disclose the following limitation,
wherein the data further include a parameter indicative of a coefficient of thermal decay of the one or more cell tabs
However, Pressman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the use of a thermal decay coefficient in evaluating heat exchange of a battery (Paragraph [0081], “With respect to the thermal loss of the bus bar, this thermal loss may be related to a thermal time constant of the bus bar”). Pressman further teaches, redundantly, that a housing can be thermally modelled (Paragraph [0031], “The energy storage module includes an exterior housing 204 with a thermal management apparatus 206 disposed on, coupled with, and/or integrally formed with the housing.” and Paragraph [0041], “thermal gradients may be known or expected gradients within a housing of the energy storage apparatus, between housings of nearby energy storage apparatuses, etc.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to have modified the thermal model of Wang with the thermal time constant of Pressman, as this improves the ability to determine anomalous readings (Paragraph [0082], “If the temperature is changing faster or slower than expected and the temperature of other (e.g., similar) busbars is changing as expected, this may indicate a fault”). Further, the combination could be performed using known methods, yielding results which are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 17,
The combination of Wang and Yao, as shown, teaches all the limitations of Claim 13. However, Wang does not disclose the following limitation,
wherein the controller is further programmed to alter the amount according to a parameter indicative of a coefficient of thermal decay of the one or more cell tabs
However, Pressman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the use of a thermal decay coefficient in evaluating heat exchange of a battery (Paragraph [0081], “With respect to the thermal loss of the bus bar, this thermal loss may be related to a thermal time constant of the bus bar and an instantaneous wattage of the bus bar while current is conducted via the bus bar.”). Pressman further teaches, redundantly, that a housing can be thermally modelled (Paragraph [0031], “The energy storage module includes an exterior housing 204 with a thermal management apparatus 206 disposed on, coupled with, and/or integrally formed with the housing.” and Paragraph [0041], “thermal gradients may be known or expected gradients … between housings of nearby energy storage apparatuses, etc.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to have modified the thermal model and battery control of Wang with the thermal time constant of Pressman, as this improves the ability to determine anomalous readings (Paragraph [0082], “If the temperature is changing faster or slower than expected and the temperature of other (e.g., similar) busbars is changing as expected, this may indicate a fault and may present itself in the busbar measurement or cell temperature estimation.”). Further, the combination could be performed using known methods, yielding results which are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
Titus (US 20200376983 A1), previously of record, discloses to reduce a power to protect a battery from overheating (Paragraph [0055]). Kim (US 20190190092 A1), previously of record, discloses to estimate a battery temperature using measurements of battery tabs (Paragraph [0038]). Rejman (US 20110027641 A1), previously of record, discloses that a battery may have a housing with particular thermal properties (Paragraph [0005-0009]). Zhao (US 20210384559 A1), previously of record, discloses effectively the same equation as Wang, but rewritten in terms of a thermal resistance (Paragraph [0012], Equation 2,
R
t
) and further, newly cited in this respect, redundantly discloses that a thermally modelled component may be a housing (Paragraph [0074]). Obasih (US 20220109200 A1), newly of record, discloses that a heat sink may be a portion of a battery housing (Paragraph [0072], “In one implementation, a battery module housing includes a heat sink completely embedded within the housing. The embedded heat sink allows the battery module housing to more efficiently absorb thermal energy from battery cells contained in the housing.”). Mori (US 20220158285 A1), newly of record, discloses the distance-dependent nature of a thermal resistance (Paragraph [0040], “Here, a distance H1 between the tab 12 and the tab 13 is set such that thermal resistance between the tab 12 and the tab 13 at an intersecting portion P1 where the tab 12 and the tab 13 intersect each other is sufficiently smaller than thermal resistance of the tab 12 and the tab 13.”).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.L.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665