DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/06/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau (US 20210099085) in views of Rainer et al. (US 10651731).
Regarding claim 1: A power converter, (i.e. figure 9) comprising:
a) a positive input terminal (i.e. + Vin terminal) and a negative input terminal (i.e. – input terminal or ground), configured to receive an input voltage (i.e. Vin);
b) a positive output terminal (i.e. + terminal Vo) and a negative output terminal (i.e. – input terminal or ground), configured to generate an output voltage (i.e. Vo);
c) a first power switch (i.e. S1) and a second power switch (i.e. S3), directly connected in series between the positive input terminal (i.e. + Vin terminal) and a first node (i.e. node connecting S7, S3, C2);
d) a third power switch (i.e. S2) and a fourth power switch (i.e. S5), directly connected in series between a second node (i.e. node connecting S5, S9, C3) and the negative input terminal (i.e. ground);
e) a first structure (i.e. C1) having a first terminal directly connected to a common terminal (i.e. terminal connecting S1, S3) of the first power switch (i.e. S1) and the second power switch (i.e. S3), and a second terminal directly connected to a common terminal (i.e. terminal connecting S2, S5) of the third power switch (i.e. S2) and the fourth power switch (i.e. S5), wherein the first structure (i.e. C1) is configured as a first energy storage element (i.e. element of C1);
f) a first switched capacitor circuit (i.e. S7, S8, C2, S4) coupled (i.e. electrically coupled) between the first node (i.e. node connecting S7, S3, C2) and the positive output terminal (i.e. + terminal Vo); and
g) a second switched capacitor circuit (i.e. C3, S9, S10, S6) coupled (i.e. electrically coupled) between the second node (i.e. node connecting S5, S9, C3) and the positive output terminal (i.e. + terminal Vo),
but does not specifically disclose wherein the first switched capacitor circuit comprises N first flying capacitors and N first inductors, and each of the N first inductors is coupled in series with a corresponding one of the N first flying capacitors; wherein the second switched capacitor circuit comprises N second flying capacitors and N second inductors, and each of the N second inductors is coupled to a corresponding one of the N second flying capacitors: and wherein resonant frequencies of the power converter in each operation interval of one operation cycle are the same, and the power converter accordingly operates in a resonant state.
Rainer et al. disclose a switched capacitor converter (i.e. figures 9-11) comprising the first switched capacitor circuit (i.e. Q1-Q6, Lres1-2, Lfly1, Cres1-2, Cfly1) comprises N first flying capacitors (i.e. Cres1-2, Cfly1) and N first inductors (i.e. Lres1-2, Lfly1), and each of the N first inductors (i.e. Lres1-2, Lfly1) is coupled in series with a corresponding one of the N first flying capacitors (i.e. Cres1-2, Cfly1); wherein the second switched capacitor circuit (i.e. Q11, Q12, Q13, Q14, Q7, Q8, Cres3-4, Lres3-4, Lfly2, Cfly2) comprises N second flying capacitors (i.e. Cfly2, Cres3-4) and N second inductors (i.e. Lres3-4, Lfly2), and each of the N second inductors (i.e. Lres3-4, Lfly2) is coupled to a corresponding one of the N second flying capacitors (i.e. Cfly2, Cres3-4): and wherein resonant frequencies of the power converter (i.e. frequency of power converter 930) in each operation interval of one operation cycle are the same (i.e. Cycle of Q1-8 and Q11-14, also see figure 3), and the power converter accordingly operates in a resonant state (i.e. state of the switching cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Lau’s invention with the converter as disclose by Rainer et al. to provide improved efficiency (lower loss of energy) of generating a respective output voltage.
Regarding claim 2: (i.e. figure 9) wherein there is no direct physical connection between the first node (i.e. node connecting S7, S3, C2) and the second node (i.e. node connecting S5, S9, C3).
Regarding claim 4: Lau disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose a first energy storage element coupled in series to a first magnetic element.
Rainer et al. disclose a switched capacitor converter (i.e. figure 2) comprising a first energy storage element (i.e. Cres1) coupled in series to a first magnetic element (i.e. Lres1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Lau’s invention with the converter as disclose by Rainer et al. to provide improved efficiency (lower loss of energy) of generating a respective output voltage.
6. Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau (US 20210099085) in views of Rainer et al. (US 10651731) and further in view of Rizzolatti et al. (US 20220224231).
Regarding claim 3: Lau discloses (i.e. figure 9) the first switched capacitor circuit (i.e. S7, S8, C2, S4) connected between the first node (i.e. node connecting S7, S3, C2) and the ground (i.e. ground) and the second switched capacitor circuit (i.e. C3, S9, S10, S6) connected between the second node (i.e. node connecting S5, S9, C3) and the ground (i.e. ground),
but does not specifically disclose the first switched capacitor circuit comprises: a) 2N+1 fifth power switches connected in series, wherein the 2N+1 fifth power switches are sequentially connected in series between the first node and a ground potential to form 2N first intermediate nodes, a Nth first flying capacitor is coupled between the first node and a 2Nth first intermediate node and an rth first flying capacitor is coupled between an rth first intermediate node and a (2N-r)th first intermediate node, wherein a Nth first intermediate node is coupled to the positive output terminal, and r is less than N, N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and
b) the second switched capacitor circuit comprises 2N+1 sixth power switches connected in series, wherein the 2N+1 sixth power switches are sequentially connected in series between the second node and the ground potential to form 2N second intermediate nodes, and a Nth second flying capacitor is coupled between the second node and a 2Nth second intermediate node, an rth second flying capacitor is coupled between an rth second intermediate node and a (2N-r)th second intermediate node, wherein a second terminal of the second switched capacitor circuit is configured as a Nth second intermediate node.
Rizzolatti et al. disclose a converter (i.e. figure 13) comprising the first switched capacitor circuit (i.e. left circuit) comprises: a) 2N+1 fifth power switches (i.e. left switches) connected in series, wherein the 2N+1 fifth power switches are sequentially connected in series between the node and a ground potential to form 2N first intermediate nodes (i.e. nodes of left circuit), a Nth first flying capacitor (i.e. left capacitors) is coupled between the first node and a 2Nth first intermediate node and an rth first flying capacitor is coupled between an rth first intermediate node and a (2N-r)th first intermediate node (i.e. nodes of left circuit), wherein a Nth first intermediate node is coupled to the positive output terminal (i.e. +), and r is less than N, N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and
b) the second switched capacitor circuit (i.e. right circuit) comprises 2N+1 sixth power switches (i.e. right circuit) connected in series and, wherein the 2N+1 sixth power switches are sequentially connected in series between the node and the ground potential to form 2N second intermediate nodes (i.e. nodes of right circuit), and a Nth second flying capacitor (i.e. right capacitors) is coupled between the second node and a 2Nth second intermediate node, an rth second flying capacitor is coupled between an rth second intermediate node and a (2N-r)th second intermediate node, wherein a second terminal of the second switched capacitor circuit is configured as a Nth second intermediate node (i.e. see configuration of figure 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the circuit of Lau’s invention with the converter as disclose by Rizzolatti et al. to improve performance of power conversion via implementation of multiple flying capacitors.
Regarding claim 6: Lau discloses the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose switching states of the first to the fourth power switches and each of the fifth and the sixth power switches are controlled, such that the output voltage is equal to 1/(2*(N+1)) of the input voltage.
Rizzolatti et al. disclose a converter (i.e. figure 13) comprising switching states of the first to the fourth power switches and each of the fifth and the sixth power switches (i.e. switches of left circuit) are controlled, such that the output voltage (i.e. voltage provided by controlling the switched capacitor circuit) is equal to 1/( 2*(N+1)) of the input voltage (i.e. Vin).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the circuit of Lau’s invention with the converter as disclose by Rizzolatti et al. to improve performance of power conversion via implementation of multiple flying capacitors.
7. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau (US 20210099085) in views of Rainer et al. (US 10651731), Rizzolatti et al. (US 20220224231) and Lai et al. (US 20210257907) and further in views of Yan et al. (US 20190280618).
Regarding claim 5: Lau discloses the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the first magnet element is directly connected to the common terminal of the third power switch and the fourth power switch, and the first energy storage element is direly connected to the common terminal of the first power switch and the second power switch.
Yan et al. disclose a voltage converter (i.e. figure 10) comprising the first magnet element (i.e. Laux) is directly connected to the common terminal (i.e. SW3) of the third power switch (i.e. Q3) and the fourth power switch (i.e. Q4), and the first energy storage element (i.e. Cfly) is direly connected to the common terminal (i.e. SW1) of the first power switch (i.e. Q1) and the second power switch (i.e. Q2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Lau’s invention with the converter as disclose by Yan et al. to minimize switching loss and allows for smaller magnetic components and faster response time.
8. Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau (US 20210099085) in views of Rainer et al. (US 10651731), Webb et al. (US 20200099302) and Rizzolatti et al. (US 20220224231) and further in view of Rainer et al. (US 10651731).
Regarding claim 7: Lau discloses the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose duty ratios of the first to the fourth power switches, the first N fifth power switches and the first N sixth power switches are respectively equal to 1/(N+1), switching states of the first power switch and the third power switch are the same, and switching states of the second power switch and the fourth power switch are the same, wherein the first power switch and the second power switch are under phase-shifted control, and a phase difference between turn-on moments of the first and second power switches is 360°/(N+1).
However, Webb et al. discloses (i.e. figure 9) duty ratios of the first to the fourth power switches, the first N fifth power switches and the first N sixth power switches are respectively equal to 1/(N+1) (i.e. see duty ratio of PWM signal of switches M1-8), switching states of the first power switch and the third power switch are the same, and switching states of the second power switch and the fourth power switch are the same (i.e. see switching cycle for PWM 1/3; M2/4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the circuit of Lau’s invention with the switching signal as disclose by Webb et al.’s invention to greatly improved efficiency when compared with a single-phase 7-switch ZIV converter.
Rainer et al. disclose a converter comprising the first power switch and the second power switch are under phase-shifted control, and a phase difference between turn-on moments of the first and second power switches is 360°/(N+1) (i.e. Col. 7, lines 61 through Col. 8, lines 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the circuit of Lau’s invention with the converter as disclose by Rainer et al. to reduce switching losses and provides reasonably good power conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 8: Lau discloses the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose switching states of a (2N+1)th fifth power switch and the second power switch are complementary, switching states of a (2N-n+1)th fifth power switch and a nth fifth power switch are complementary, switching states of a (2N+1)th sixth power switch and the third power switch are complementary, and switching states of a (2N-n+1)th sixth power switch and a nth sixth power switch are complementary, wherein n is less than or equal to N.
However, Webb et al. discloses (i.e. figure 9) switching states of a (2N+1)th fifth power switch and the second power switch are complementary, switching states of a (2N-n+1)th fifth power switch and a nth fifth power switch are complementary, switching states of a (2N+1)th sixth power switch and the third power switch are complementary, and switching states of a (2N-n+1)th sixth power switch and a nth sixth power switch are complementary, wherein n is less than or equal to N (i.e. see duty ratio of PWM signal of switches M1-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the circuit of Webb et al.’s invention with the switching signal as disclose in figure 9 of Webb et al.’s invention to greatly improved efficiency when compared with a single-phase 7-switch ZIV converter.
9. Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau (US 20210099085) in views of Rainer et al. (US 10651731) and further in view Yan et al. (US 20190280618).
Regarding claim 21: Lau discloses the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the first magnetic element is directly connected to the common terminal of the third power switch and the fourth power switch, and the first energy storage element is direly connected to the common terminal of the first power switch and the second power switch.
Yan et al. disclose a converter (i.e. figure 10) comprising the first magnetic element (i.e. Laux) is directly connected to the common terminal of the third power switch and the fourth power switch, and the first energy storage element (i.e. Cfly) is direly connected to the common terminal of the first power switch and the second power switch.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the circuit of Lau’s invention with the converter as disclose by Yan et al., because the efficiency of the hybrid converter circuit can be further improved if zero-voltage switching (ZVS) action of the switches is used in the circuit operation.
Regarding claim 22: Lau discloses the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the first magnetic element is directly connected to the first energy storage element at a common terminal thereof.
Yan et al. disclose a converter (i.e. figure 10) comprising the first magnetic element (i.e. Laux) is directly connected to the first energy storage element (i.e. Cfly) at a common terminal thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the circuit of Lau’s invention with the converter as disclose by Yan et al., because the efficiency of the hybrid converter circuit can be further improved if zero-voltage switching (ZVS) action of the switches is used in the circuit operation.
Regarding claim 23: Lau discloses the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose wherein no other power switches are directly connected to the first magnetic element and the first energy storage element at the common terminal thereof.
Yan et al. disclose a converter (i.e. figure 10) comprising wherein no other power switches (i.e. see configuration of figure 10) are directly connected to the first magnetic element (i.e. Laux) and the first energy storage element (i.e. Cfly) at the common terminal thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the circuit of Lau’s invention with the converter as disclose by Yan et al., because the efficiency of the hybrid converter circuit can be further improved if zero-voltage switching (ZVS) action of the switches is used in the circuit operation.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments filed 10/06/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Lau in view of Rainer does not disclose or suggest: a first switched capacitor circuit coupled between the first node and the positive output terminal, and including N first flying capacitors and N first inductors, and each of the N first inductors is coupled im series with a corresponding one of the N first flying capacitors; a second switched capacitor circuit coupled between the second node and the positive output terminal, and including N second flying capacitors and N second inductors, and each of the N second inductors is coupled to a corresponding one of the N second flying capacitors; and where resonant frequencies of the power converter in each operation interval of one operation cycle are the same, and the power converter accordingly operates in a resonant state, as presently claimed in claim 1”
The Examiner disagrees, because Rainer discloses (i.e. figures 3 and 9-1, equivalent shows in parentheses) the first switched capacitor circuit (i.e. Q1-Q6, Lres1-2, Lfly1, Cres1-2, Cfly1) comprises N first flying capacitors (i.e. Cres1-2, Cfly1) and N first inductors (i.e. Lres1-2, Lfly1), and each of the N first inductors (i.e. Lres1-2, Lfly1) is coupled in series with a corresponding one of the N first flying capacitors (i.e. Cres1-2, Cfly1); wherein the second switched capacitor circuit (i.e. Q11, Q12, Q13, Q14, Q7, Q8, Cres3-4, Lres3-4, Lfly2, Cfly2) comprises N second flying capacitors (i.e. Cfly2, Cres3-4) and N second inductors (i.e. Lres3-4, Lfly2), and each of the N second inductors (i.e. Lres3-4, Lfly2) is coupled to a corresponding one of the N second flying capacitors (i.e. Cfly2, Cres3-4): and wherein resonant frequencies of the power converter (i.e. frequency of power converter 930) in each operation interval of one operation cycle are the same (i.e. Cycle of Q1-8 and Q11-14, also see figure 3), and the power converter accordingly operates in a resonant state (i.e. state of the switching cycle).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nguyen Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838