DETAILED ACTION
2. This Final office action is in response to application 17/743,954, amendment and remarks filed on 11/07/2025. Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are currently amended and claim 2 is cancelled by Applicant. Claims 1 and 3-20 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 11/07/2025 have been fully considered. The rejection of claims 1, 3-5, and 11-15 are withdrawn. With respect to claims 6-10 and 16-20, the amendment and remarks filed 11/07/2025 are not persuasive. Examiner’s response to Applicant’s remarks filed 11/07/2025 appears below:
4a. With respect to independent claim 6, and similarly recited independent claim 16, Applicant asserts, with reference to Kim’s Figure 4, that Kim does not disclose a conductive structure laterally between a plurality of conductive lines and in direct physical contact with a pair of the plurality of lines, as now recited in claims 6 and 16, respectively. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
4b. With respect to independent claim 6, and similarly recited independent claim 16, Examiner points out that Fig 6 of Kim discloses a plurality of conductive lines P21 and P22 with a conductive structure P11 laterally between conductive lines P21 and P22 as shown in Fig 6, where vias V1 and V2 physically connect conductive structure P11 to conductive lines P21 and P22. Therefore, KIM clearly discloses a conductive structure laterally between a plurality of conductive lines and in direct physical contact with a pair of the plurality of lines, as now recited in claims 6 and 16, respectively. Thus, Examiner maintains the rejections of independent claims 6 and 16, as Applicant’s amendment and remarks are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 6-7, 16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM (US PG Pub No. 2019/0122984).
7. With respect to independent claim 6, KIM teaches:
An integrated circuit structure (integrated circuit, Abstract; see semiconductor package, para 77), comprising:
a plurality of conductive lines along a direction and spaced at a same interval (see tracks of conductive layers, Abstract; conductive patterns, para 5; see conductive patterns and conductive layers, para 23 see conductive tracks in parallel on first conductive layer, and conductive patterns running along same direction, para 5; see conductive pattern along the track, para 29; tracks spaced apart each at regular intervals, para 30; see conducive patterns P21 and P22 of Fig 6 which are spaced apart, para 57); and
a conductive structure laterally between and in direct physical contact (see vias which connect lateral pattern P11 and conductive lines P21 and P22, Fig 6, para 57-58; see conductive structure/pattern P11 which is positioned laterally between conductive lines/patterns P21 and P22, see Fig 6 and para 57-58) with a pair of the plurality of conductive lines (laterally between conductive lines/patterns P21 and P22, see Fig 6 and para 57-58; see conductive patterns aligned with tracks, para 5; see conductive patterns aligned with track and between first and second conductive patterns, para 5).
8. With respect to claim 7, KIM teaches:
The integrated circuit structure of claim 6, wherein the conductive structure is in a location that violates a design rule of the plurality of conductive lines (see pitch between tracks determined according to design rules, para 30; conductive patterns in locations of design rule violation, para 30; conductive pattern may violate distance rules, para 59).
9. With respect to independent claim 16, KIM teaches:
A computing device (integrated circuit and package, Abstract; see semiconductor package, para 77), comprising:
a board (see board, IC package, para 77); and
a component coupled to the board, the component including an integrated circuit structure (see integrated circuit as a component in package, para 77), comprising:
a plurality of conductive lines along a direction and spaced at a same interval (see tracks of conductive layers, Abstract; conductive patterns, para 5; see conductive patterns and conductive layers, para 23 see conductive tracks in parallel on first conductive layer, and conductive patterns running along same direction, para 5; see conductive pattern along the track, para 29; tracks spaced apart each at regular intervals, para 30); and
a conductive structure laterally between and in direct physical contact ((see vias which connect lateral pattern P11 and conductive lines P21 and P22, Fig 6, para 57-58; see conductive structure/pattern P11 which is positioned laterally between conductive lines/patterns P21 and P22, see Fig 6 and para 57-58) with a pair of the plurality of conductive lines (see conductive patterns aligned with tracks, para 5; see conductive patterns aligned with track and between first and second conductive patterns, para 5).
10. With respect to claim 19, KIM teaches:
The computing device of claim 16, wherein the component is a packaged integrated circuit die (integrated circuit, Abstract; see semiconductor package, para 77; see board, IC package, para 77; see integrated circuit as a component in package, para 77).
11. With respect to claim 20, KIM teaches:
The computing device of claim 16, wherein the component is selected from the group consisting of a processor, a communications chip, and a digital signal processor (see KIM: dynamic array, functional chips as part of chip package, para 170-175).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 9 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US PG Pub No. 2019/0122984) in view of Becker et al. (US PG Pub No. 2011/0161909).
14. With respect to claim 9, KIM fails to teach:
The integrated circuit structure of claim 6, wherein a location of the plurality of conductive lines is fabricated using a masked lithography process.
However, Becker teaches:
The integrated circuit structure of claim 6, wherein a location of the plurality of conductive lines is fabricated using a masked lithography process (see layer conductive structures manufactured using a optimized lithographic process, para 130-132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated Becker’s use of masked lithography into the invention of KIM because: (1) KIM’s use of masks suggests a lithography process for the addition of conductive structures, (2) Becker suggests that masked lithography can be used for conductive traces and tracks that will not need to be changed and/or cannot be edited during a circuit editing process.
15. With respect to claim 17, KIM fails to teach:
The computing device of claim 16, further comprising: a memory coupled to the board.
However, Becker teaches:
The computing device of claim 16, further comprising: a memory coupled to the board (see Becker: see memory region as part of circuit package, para 172).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated Becker’s use memory for providing information/data on configuration of the chip architecture, which would provide an advantage to KIM by enabling KIM to store data on chip architecture and configuration details.
16. With respect to claim 18, while KIM fails to teach the limitations below, Becker teaches:
The computing device of claim 16, further comprising: a communication chip coupled to the board (see Becker: dynamic array, functional chips as part of chip package, para 170-175).
(for motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 17).
17. Claim(s) 8 and 10 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US PG Pub No. 2019/0122984) in view Gu et al. (US PG Pub No. 2005/0227484).
18. With respect to claim 8, Kim fails to teach:
The integrated circuit structure of claim 6, wherein a location of the conductive structure is fabricated using a maskless lithography process.
However, Gu teaches:
The integrated circuit structure of claim 6, wherein a location of the conductive structure is fabricated using a maskless lithography process (see editing circuit without need to modify lithography mask, para 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated Gu’s circuit editing process into the invention of KIM/Becker for at least the following reason(s): Gu’s circuit editing process allows for changes to circuitry without having to re-create a circuit or reproduce a new mask, which is advantageous in the art because new circuit and mask production costs additional time and money.
19. With respect to claim 10, Kim fails to teach:
The integrated circuit structure of claim 6, wherein the conductive structure is fabricated by an inline circuit edit process.
However, Gu teaches:
The integrated circuit structure of claim 6, wherein the conductive structure is fabricated by an inline circuit edit process (see circuit editing process, para 8-9, 33, 56; creating a new conductive structure in space between conductors, para 56; see editing circuit without need to modify lithography mask, para 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated Gu’s circuit editing process into the invention of KIM/Becker for at least the following reason(s): Gu’s circuit editing process allows for changes to circuitry without having to re-create a circuit or reproduce a new mask, which is advantageous in the art because new circuit and mask production costs additional time and money.
Allowable Subject Matter
20. Claims 1, 3-5 and 11-15 are allowed over the prior art of record.
21. With respect to independent claims 1 and 3-5, the prior art made of record fails to teach the combination of steps recited in claim 1, including the following particular combination of steps as recited in claim 1, as follows:
a white space track included within the plurality of line tracks, the white space track having a width along a second direction greater than a width of an individual one of the plurality of line tracks, the second direction orthogonal to the first direction; and
a conductive structure along the white space track, wherein the conductive structure comprises a conductive line over a pair of conductive vias, and wherein the conductive line of the conductive structure has a width along the second direction greater than a width of an adjacent one of the plurality of conductive structures along the second direction.
22. With respect to independent claims 11-15, the prior art made of record fails to teach the combination of steps recited in claim 11, including the following particular combination of steps as recited in claim 11, as follows:
a white space track included within the plurality of line tracks, the white space
track having a width along a second direction greater than a width of an individual one of the plurality of line tracks, the second direction orthogonal to the first direction; and
a conductive structure along the white space track, wherein the conductive
structure comprises a conductive line over a pair of conductive vias, and wherein the
conductive line of the conductive structure has a width along the second direction greater than a width of an adjacent one of the plurality of conductive structures along the second direction.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUCHIN PARIHAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851